(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of Hartford County, Connecticut : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families"

: 



Imw 



\Ui\ ' IflHiM 



II'" 






i 1 1 1 1 j i j 1 1 1 * ! * n 3 1 

i r i 

1 i IH / i i 7 ' 1 ' ' n < ) I 
lf'>T«5«vSj«vs9 It'll 

i nlli \ if J \l\ii I s 5 1 

Ifl'^ltlfl filial (J4 




; ' 1 

■ 



■ ' ' 


■ 


8111111! 


t ill 1 





ii«l 



ill! 

ill 

ilk 



• ii 



RICKS COLLEGE LRC 




404 00266 7464 



R'CKS COLLEGE 

OMID 0. McKAY LIBRARY 

REXBURG. IDAHO 83440 



°ATE QUE 







Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 
Brigham Young University-Idaho 



http://archive.org/details/commemorativebio12jhbe 



jy 



^ 



COMMEMORATIVE 



BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



OF 



HARTFORD COUNTY, 



CONNECTICUT, 



CONTAINING 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE 
CITIZENS, AND OF MANY OF THE EARLY SETTLED FAMILIES. 



?4- 2. 



ILLUSTRATED. 



CHICAGO: 

J. H. BEERS & CO. 
1901. 



^ 

^ 



HON. JAMES HENRY ANDREWS, a promi- 
nent representative of the agricultural interests of 
Farmington, is engaged in farming on the old home- 
stead, which lias been in the possession of the family 
for over two centuries. The first to locate here was 
John Andrews, who, in 1672, was one of the eight v- 
four proprietors of the town of Farmington. lie 
was a plain, unassuming fanner, of good common 
sense, and was highly respected in his community. 
He united with the Congregational Church of Farm- 
ington, May 9, 1658. To him and his wife Mary 
were horn nine children: Mary, John, Hannah, 
Abraham, Daniel, Joseph, Rachel, Stephen and Ben- 
jamin. 

(II) Benjamin Andrews, the second in direct 
descent to our subject, was married May 26, 1682, 
to Mary Smith, and on Jan. 3, 1686, they united 
with the church. She died in January, 1707, and on 
June 14, 1710, he married Miss Dorcas Wetmore, 
who died Dec. 4, 17 16. For his third wife he mar- 
ried Sarah . His children were: Benjamin, 

John, Mary, Stephen, Daniel, Samuel, Johannah 
and James. 

(III) James Andrews, horn Aug. 1, 1700, was 
married Dec. 9, 17^0, to Elizabeth Gillct, of Suf- 
field, Conn., and died July 18, 1761. He had two 
children: Elijah, horn Dec. 6, 1731 ; and Benja- 
min, horn June 5, 1734- 

(IV) Elijah Andrews, a goldsmith, was horn 
Dec. 6, 1731, and was married Aug. 4, l/6l, to 
Sarah Thompson, a daughter of Timothy Thomp- 
son. She was horn in Avon June 14, 174 1, and died 




yJtffL^ytx^t^. 



C^& 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



781 



Jan. 14, 1814; he died Sept. 28, 1803. In their 
family were five children : James, Lucy, Samuel, 
Sarah and Beulah. 

(V) James Andrews, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born Nov. 22, 1762, and followed farm- 
ing throughout life, near or on the old homestead 
where the family was first founded in Farmington. 
He was one of the brave men who fought so val- 
iantlv for the independence of the Colonies during 
the Revolutionary war. On March 13, 1791, he 
married Eunice Gillette, of Northington, who was 
born Jan. 19, 1768, and died July 12, 1831 ; he died 
May 31, 1845. To them were born nine children: 
Eveline, Fanny, Romeo, Anion, George, Lydia, Eve- 
lina, Sally and James L. 

(VI) Anion Andrews, the father of our subject, 
was born on his father's farm March 18, 1798, and 
became a prosperous farmer, owning and operating 
some of the land belonging to the founder of the 
family in Farmington. He was married May 2, 
1827, to Roxana Goodhue, of Avon, who was born 
Sept. 30, 1803, a daughter of David and Abigail 
(Winchell) Goodhue. She united with the Con- 
gregational Church of Farmington in March, 1829, 
and her husband joined the same in June, 1843. He 
died at his home Aug. 22, 1869, honored and re- 
spected by all who knew him ; she departed this life 
in April, 1872. They had six children, of whom 
James Henry, our subject, is the eldest; Lydia, born 
in 1831, died when only six weeks old; Jane Eliza- 
beth was born Feb. 10, 1833 ; Caroline Fidelia was 
born Oct. 18, 1834; Ellen Sophia, born May 13, 
1837, was married Sept. 8, 1862, to George D. Wil- 
son ; and Franklin A., born Jan. 5, 1839, was mar- 
ried Dec. 1, 1862, to Jennie Bulkley. 

(VII) James H. Andrews, the subject of this 
sketch, was born Nov. 7, 1828, and was educated 
in the Waterville District school, Farmington. He 
was married Oct. 8, 1861, to Miss Helen Maria 
Bulkley, who was born April 11, 1839, a daughter of 
Charles and Helen (Woodruff) Bulkley, of Avon, 
Hartford county. Three children were born of this 
union: Marian Bulkley, Sept. II, 1862; Frederick- 
Henry, Sept. 4, 1865 ; and George Franklin, Nov. 26, 
1867. On Nov. 29, 1894, Frederick H. married Car- 
rie Moore, of Illinois, and they have three children, 
George Henry, Raymond Bulkley and Harold 
Frederic. Miss Marian B. Andrews completed her 
education at the Flartford Public High School, and 
for several terms has been teacher in Hartford 
county. 

Mr. Andrews resides on the old homestead of 
his father, and in connection with farming has fol- 
lowed mechanical pursuits. He has been engaged 
in the manufacture of wagon hubs and spokes in 
Avon, and at present is interested in the cider and 
vinegar business with his two sons. He takes a deep 
and commendable interest in public affairs, as every 
true American citizen should, and capably repre- 
sented Farmington in the State Legislature in 1859. 
As a progressive and public-spirited citizen he gives 
his support to every enterprise which he believes will 



prove of public benefit. He is a sincere and con- 
sistent Christian, and has been an active member of 
the Farmington Congregational Church since 1858. 
His wife united with the church at East Avon the 
same year, and in 1863 transferred her membership 
to the Farmington church. Our subject was greatly 
interested in the publication of the "Andrews Me- 
morial." 

REV. THOMAS H. SHANLY, for more than 
two years parish priest of St. Joseph's Catholic 
Church at Poquonock, won, during his residence in 
that town, the esteem of all classes of people, ir- 
respective of sect or creed. In addition to the duties 
of this parish he had charge of the Catholic Mission 
at Windsor, St. Gabriel's, and his untiring efforts 
for the promotion of the spiritual welfare of the 
members of both his little flocks had most grati- 
fying results. As an orator Father Shanly pos- 
sesses more than ordinary force and eloquence, and 
his well stored mind, genial disposition and fine 
executive ability show rare qualifications for his 
sacred calling. The following brief history of his 
career will be of interest, not only to his present 
parishioners, but to future generations of devout 
adherents of the faith. 

Father Shanly was born Dec. 23, i860, at Marys- 
ville, Yuba county, California, a son of John and 
Elizabeth (Seery) Shanly, natives of Ireland. 
When our subject was about six years old his par- 
ents removed to Waterbury, Conn., where they still 
reside, and his education was begun in the public 
schools of that village. Later he attended St. 
Charles College, at Ellicott City, Md., having made 
an early decision to enter the priesthood, and on 
leaving that institution he took a course in the 
Theological Seminary connected with St. Bona- 
ventura's College, at Allegany, N. Y. In 1866 he 
was ordained by the learned Bishop S. V. Ryan, 
of Buffalo, and his first assignment to duty was as 
assistant to Father Creden, at Moosup, Conn. Be- 
ginning his labors there on Nov. 1, 1886, he re- 
mained until May 12, 1889, when he was appointed 
assistant at St. Francis Church, in New Haven, 
where he spent nine years. In February, 1898, he 
received an appointment to his late charge, and on 
March 23, 1900, he was appointed to the church 
at Westport, which he is now serving. 

REV. JOSEPH TOY (deceased) was a native 
of England, yet a biographical history of Simsbury 
would be incomplete without a sketch of his life 
work. No man had at heart a closer interest in 
the welfare of the town than he, when he was a 
resident thereof. He was extremely conscientious, 
a grand and noble man ; was successful in business, 
and amassed a fortune, but could always find time 
to abandon the pursuit. of wealth to fill some pulpit 
or to address a meeting. His church work was far 
more pleasant to him than business, and he left to 
his posterity a good name, more valuable by far 
than his worldly possessions. 



782 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Joseph Toy was born in the town of Camborne, 
Cornwall, England, in April, 1808, the youngest of 
ten children that blessed the marriage of Robert 
and Ann (Hosking) Toy, and was the only member 
of the family to come to the United States. He was 
quite young when he lost his parents. His oppor- 
tunities for attending school were rather limited, 
but his intellect was keen, and as he had a great 
relish for study the means for gratifying this laud- 
able ambition was furnished him by a gentleman who 
had taken an interest in him, and who gave him 
the free use of his library. Of this privilege he 
eagerly availed himself, and was so studious that he 
qualified himself for teaching school, a vocation he 
followed some years, and was then ordained as a 
local preacher in the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
being endowed with great oratorical powers; he 
preached many months in England. 

Mr. Toy was first married to Jane Osier, who was 
born in Falmouth, England, Aug. 1, 1802, and 
was a daughter of Benjamin Osier. To this mar- 
riage were born five children, whose names will 
be given farther on. While still a young man, Mr. 
Toy was employed by Bickford, Smith & Davy, fuse 
manufacturers, at Tucking Mill, in Cornwall, who 
had a branch in the United States. In 1839 ^ r - 
Toy brought his wife and three English-born chil- 
dren to this country, in order to fill an important 
position in the fuse factory at East Weatogue, in 
the town of Simsbury, which factory was conducted 
by Bacon, Bickford & Co. Fire destroyed this 
plant, and the firm, removing to Simsbury, resumed 
business under the name of Toy, Bickford & Co., 
Mr. Toy having been admitted into partnership at 
East Weatogue, on the withdrawal of Mr. Bacon ; 
they held to the last-mentioned style until the death 
of Mr. Toy, in April, 1887. The children born to 
the first marriage of Mr. Toy were named : Mary, 
who was born in England, and was married to Rev. 
J. W. Dodge, of Newburyport, Mass. ; Joseph, born 
in England July 23, 1830, who recruited Company 
H, 1 2th Conn. V. I., mostly in the vicinity of Sims- 
bury, was commissioned captain, and died June 21, 
1862, at Carrollton, La., his remains being brought 
home and interred at Simsbury, where he had been 
in business with his father ; Susan, now the wife of 
R. H. Ensign, of Simsbury ; Anna J., the first of the 
children born in the United States, married to L. 
S. Ellsworth, of Simsbury; and Julia, the wife of 
Rev. C. H. Buck, of the Alethodist Church, of Bris- 
tol, Conn. Mrs. Jane Toy passed awav July 27, 1848, 
a devout Methodist, and was buried at Simsbury. 

Mr. Toy for his second wife married Mrs. Sarah 
G. Merritt, whose maiden name was Humphrey, 
and who was born Oct. 25, 1817, and died Sept. 
24. 1881, the mother of the following children: 
William W., who died when an infant; George B. 
D., born March 18, 1852, died March 25, 1881 ; and 
Sarah Jane, the wife of Charles A. Ensign, of Tariff- 
ville, whose sketch appears elsewhere. The third 
wife of Mr. Toy was Miss Mary Seymour, daugh- 
ter of Chester and Sabra (Ensign) Seymour, of 



whom more may be found elsewhere, and to this 
union one child, Josephine, was born Jan. 19, 1884. 
Mrs. Mary Toy is still a resident of Simsbury. She 
is a member of Abigail Phelps Chapter, D. A. R., 
and of the Colonial Dames. 

In politics Mr. Toy took but little interest until 
the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion, when 
his sympathies were strongly with the Republican 
party, as he was a bitter foe to slavery, but he was 
never active in that party's partisan work, contenting 
himself with voting, and working for good men 
for office. Although he was never regularly con- 
nected with the Conference, he frequently was called 
upon to fill vacancies in the Methodist pulpit, was 
one of the founders of the church of that denomina- 
tion at Simsbury, and was a liberal contributor to- 
ward its support and active in its work. He was 
a well-preserved gentleman, and up to within a few 
years of his death attended to his business affairs 
personally. He delighted in addressing bodies of 
young men, and always had attentive listeners, and 
he was, all in all, a bright example of the self-made 
man, who deserved the admiration and emulation 
of his younger companions. ' 

CHESTER SEYMOUR (deceased) was in his 
lifetime one of the well-known and highly respected 
citizens of Simsbury, where during the earlier por- 
tion of his life, before he was stricken by disease 
and became an invalid, he carried on an extensive 
carriage making business. He was born in Hart- 
ford, Dec. 24, 1824, of the best New England an- 
cestry, being a direct descendant of one of the first 
settlers of the colony, Richard Seymour, to whom 
also Origin Seymour, Horatio Seymour, of New 
York, and Gov. Thomas H. Seymour, of Connecti- 
cut, trace their lineage. His grandfather, Asa Sey- 
mour, married a daughter of William Dennison, of 
New London, who traced his ancestry to John 
Brewster. 

Chester Seymour, the father of our subject, was 
a brother of the late Mrs. D. F. Robinson, of Hart- 
ford. The mother of our subject was Florida 
Mather, a lineal descendant of Rev. Richard Mather, 
the father of Increase Mather, and the grandfather 
of Rev. Cotton Mather. 

Chester Seymour, our subject, was gifted with 
a keen, active mind and unusual energy of char- 
acter. He was also generous, tender hearted and 
unselfish. He took a deep interest in public affairs, 
and was twice elected to the Legislature,in 1858 from 
Simsbury, and in 1868 from East Granby. From 
1850 to i860 he carried on carriage building at 
Simsbury, and later removed to a farm in East 
Granby, which he had purchased. He married 
Miss Sabra Ensign, a native of Simsbury, who was 
born Aug. 18, 1826, daughter of Moses and Martha 
(Whiting) Ensign, and the children born to this 
union were as follows: Frank C, of the Seymour 
Manufacturing Co., Chicago; Mary, widow of Jo- 
seph Toy, living at Simsbury; Moses, a farmer of 
East Granby; W r illiam A., of Boston, an employe 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



783 



of the railway mail service ; and Lucius H., a farmer 
of East Granby. 

Our subject died March 4, 1895, after twenty- 
two years of illness and physical helplessness. He 
had been stricken March 12, 1873, with a severe 
attack of cerebro-spinal meningitis, from which he 
was a sufferer, in the helpless condition in which 
it left him, until death. His widow, an estimable 
lady, who yet survives, resides in Simsbury. Mr. 
Seymour was well known and a man of much more 
than ordinary intellect. At his death he left a name 
highly honored and his family is a credit even to 
a citizen of his excellent character. He was fear- 
less, open and sincere in word and deed. He hated 
with the intensity of his nature all cant and insin- 
cerity, and the dreary platitudes of religious com- 
monplace. His soul was in perpetual revolt against 
much that passes for religion, but for religion it- 
self, pure and undefiled, there was a large place 
in his mind and heart. He had many friends, and 
was a most congenial companion. He was es- 
pecially a great friend of little children, who were 
attracted to him, and whose innocence of mind and 
heart in turn attracted him. 

REV. FREDERICK W. HARRIMAN, M. A. 
Few citizens of Windsor have worked as assidu- 
ously and effectively for the promotion of the best 
interests of the community as has the honored rec- 
tor of Grace Episcopal Church, whose history is 
briefly outlined below. While giving to the work 
of his parish zealous attention, which has pro- 
duced most gratifying results, he has entered with 
hearty sympathy into various movements that aim 
at the general welfare of the people, and in more 
than one instance his suggestion has sown the seed 
and his influence fostered the growth of projects 
which cannot fail to be of permanent value. 

Mr. Harriman comes of good Colonial stock, 
and is a descendant of Jasiel Harriman, a well- 
known citizen of Sandwich, N. H., who was born 
in 1727, and died in 1802. 

James Harriman, the great-grandfather of our 
subject, was born in 1769, and died in 1848. He 
married Sarah Eaton, and their son, Rev. Jesse 
Harriman (1793-1873), was a Methodist minister, 
and for many years a member of the Maine Con- 
ference. His wife, Sophia (Hilton), was a daugh- 
ter of Moral Hilton (1755-1840), of Wiscasset, 
Maine, a soldier in the Revolutionary army. 

Rev. Frederick Durbin Harriman, the father of 
our subject, was born in 1823, and died in 1897. 
He was a man of fine mental ability and rare spirit- 
uality, and for many years was a prominent clergy- 
man in the Episcopal Church. From 185 1 to 1853 
he was a rector of the church at Crawfordsville, 
Ind., but his later years were spent in Connecticut as 
corresponding secretary of the Societv for the In 
crease of the Ministry, his headquarters being at 
Hartford. As a descendant of a Revolutionary hero 
he became identified with the Connecticut Society of 
the Sons of the American Revolution, and through- 



out his life he gave his influence to the support of all 
movements which seemed worthy. He married Miss 
Mary Jones Bostwick, daughter of the Rev. Will- 
iam Warner Bostwick (1797-1845), an Episcopal 
clergyman of western New York and a descendant 
of the Bostwicks of Cheshire, England, who settled 
in Stratford, Conn., in 1668, the line of descent be- 
ing traced through Nathaniel (1699-1756), Arthur 
1 729-1802), and William (1765-1825). Mr. Bost- 
wick married Mary Lewis, daughter of Uzias 
Lewis (2), of Litchfield, Conn., a descendant of 
George Lewis (or Lewes), one of the first settlers 
of Barnstable, Mass., where he died in 1662-3. 
Airs. Bostwick was also a descendant of Theophilus 
Eaton, first governor of the New Haven Colony, his 
daughter, Hannah, having married William Jones, 
the deputy governor, by whom she had a son, Isaac, 
the father of Timothy, the father of Isaac, the father 
of Mary Jones, who became the wife of Ozias 
Lewis (2). 

Rev. Frederick William Harriman was born 
Nov. 22, 1852, in Crawfordsville, Ind., during his 
father's pastorate there, but has passed nearly all 
his life in Connecticut, having been educated in 
the Rectory school, Hamden ; the high school, Hart- 
ford ; Trinity College, and Berkeley Divinity School. 
He taught the classics for one year in the Episco- 
pal Academy at Cheshire. On May 31, 1876, he 
was ordained deacon in the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, by Bishop Williams, and on June 7, 1877, 
he was ordained to the priesthood by the same 
bishop. For a few months he assisted his father, 
who was then corresponding secretary of the So- 
ciety for the Increase of the Ministry. From April 
I, 1877, to Feb. 1, 1879, ne was assistant minister 
in St. Andrew's Church, Meriden; from Feb. 1. [879, 
to April 1, 1880, rector of St. James', Winsted; 
from April 1, 1880, to March 1, 1886, rector of 
Trinity Church, Portland ; and has been rector of 
Grace Church, Windsor, ever since. In addition to 
this last rectorship he supervised the missionary 
work in two counties, as archdeacon of Hartford, 
from April 18, 1893, to Nov. 14, 1896; was secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Church Scholarship So- 
ciety, from June 13, 1893, to June 12, 1894; was as- 
sistant secretary of the Diocese of Connecticut from 
June 10, 1890, to June II, 1895; and has been sec- 
retary of the Diocese since the date last mentioned. 
Since locating in Windsor he has done much effect- 
ive work in the cause of education, having served as 
a school visitor from September, 1887, to October, 
1888; and again from Oct. 7, 1889, to Oct. 3, 1898, 
being chairman of the board for nine years. He 
was secretary of the building committee when the 
Third district erected the "Roger Ludlow School," 
1893-94, and proposed the name, which was adopted 
on its completion. He has been a member of the Pub- 
lic Library committee ever since its beginning in 
1888, was elected a Junior Fellow of Trinity College 
four times, for the years from 1889 to 1901 ; and is a 
member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the Psi 
Upsilon Fraternity, and the Colt Trust Association. 



784 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Mr. Harriman takes a deep interest in the history 
and welfare of "Ancient Windsor," and in his ad- 
dress at the unveiling of a stone to commemorate 
the Plymouth party who built the first house in 
Windsor in 1633, he proposed the erection of a 
substantial building- for the Public Library, to be 
also a memorial to the settlers and soldiers of the 
town. 

On Oct. 19, 1882, Mr. Harriman married Cora 
Elizabeth, daughter of Charles A. Jarvis, of Port- 
land, Connecticut, and granddaughter of Dr. George 
O. Jarvis, and of Sylvester Gildersleeve. She is a 
descendant of John Jarvis, elder brother of the 
second bishop of Connecticut, and, through him, of 
William Jarvis, one of the first settlers of Hunting- 
ton, Long Island. Through her grandmother, Mrs. 
George O. Jarvis, whose maiden name was Phila- 
mela Marshall, she traces her descent from Capt. 
Samuel Marshall, of \\ indsor, who was killed in the 
"Swamp Fight," in 1675, during King Philip's war; 
while other lines of her ancestry connect her with 
early Windsor settlers, including the Grant, Porter 
and Gibbs families. 

HON. FREDERICK WELLES, for many years 
a leading resident of Glastonbury, is a worthy rep- 
resentative of a family which has been prominent in 
the history of the country from an early day. He 
is a direct descendant of Gov. Thomas Welles, who 
died in 1660, and is of the fifth generation in descent 
from Samuel Welles, a noted man in his day. Gid- 
eon Welles, a member of President Lincoln's cabi- 
net, was a second cousin of our subject. The family 
has been identified with Glastonbury for more than 
two hundred years. 

Joseph Welles, our subject's grandfather, was 
born November 9, 175ft, a son °f Captain Sam- 
uel and Lucy (Kilbourn) Welles. He died 
September 7, 1808, leaving a fair competence, 
gained by an extensive trade with the West 
Indies. His brother Samuel was in partnership 
with him in this business, and for many years they 
were engaged in sending hay and horses to the 
islands, bringing back rum and molasses. Joseph 
Welles also conducted the "Welles" hotel at Glas- 
tonbury, to meet the demands of the stage travel of 
those days. He was an out-spoken man, somewhat 
stern in manner, but was much respected in the com- 
munity. He married Susannah House, born Oct. 
9, 1756, daughter of Benoni and Susannah (Hollis- 
ter) House. She survived him and married Gad 
Talcott, of Hebron, Conn., where her death oc- 
curred April 6, 1826. Joseph and Susannah Welles 
had the following children : Susannah, born April 
3, 1780; Joseph and Leonard (twins), born April 
15, 1781 ; Leonard (2), our subject's father; Joseph, 
born March 31, 1784, who settled in Ohio; Lucy, 
born Feb. 6, 1786; Clarissa, born March 3, 1787: 
and Lucy, born Nov. 21, 1790. 

Leonard Welles was born in Glastonbury April 
28, 1782, and as his health was poor in early life he 
spent much of his time at his father's hotel. He 



also taught school for a time, but after his marriage 
to Miss Sally Sellew, which occurred Oct. 13, 1804, 
he engaged in farming. He located at the corner 
of Main street and Naubuc avenue, where Miss 
Alice Goodrich now resides, and by his industry and 
close attention to business made a good > income, 
though he was never considered a rich man,. To 
politics he gave but little heed, but he affiliated with 
the Whig and Republican parties on national issues. 
He lived to the good old age of ninety years, keep- 
ing his health and faculties almost to the last, and 
when seventy years old he drove a wagon with two 
yoke of cattle and a horse for forty davs in suc- 
cession, between Glastonbury and Hartford, taking 
fifty hundred-weight of tobacco and bringing back a 
load of lumber. He was fond of his home and 
family, and to each of his boys he gave $500 as they 
came of age, their remarkable financial success being 
a source of great pride to him in later years. In 
religious faith he was a Congregationalist, and as a 
citizen he was held in high esteem. He died at his 
homestead Jan. 19, 1873. His wife, who died Nov. 
5, 1859, was born Nov. 15, 1784, daughter of John 
and Sally (Smith) Sellew. Her twin sister, Nancy, 
married Norman Hubbard, of Glastonbury. Our 
subject was the youngest of a family of six chil- 
dren, and is now the only surviving member. Of 
the others: (1) Oswin, born Jan. 19, 1809, was a 
pioneer tobacco packer of Glastonbury^ and the most 
successful man of his day in his town. As a young 
man he learned the cabinet-maker's trade and en- 
gaged in the manufacture of tubs, pails, chairs and, 
later, cigar boxes, but seeing the possibilities in the 
tobacco business he began dealing in that commodity, 
both in leaf and in cigars. A shrewd business man 
financially, he was also generous, and his affection 
for his family was shown in his treatment of his 
brothers, whom he took into partnership, all of them 
becoming wealthy men. He was a remarkable man 
in many ways, and it was characteristic of him to 
never hurry, yet always be on tme. He married 
(first) Miss Sarah A. Goodrich, of Portland, Conn., 
(second) Miss Helen Penfield, (third) Miss Kate 
Coffin. He died Aug. 9, 1879, in Hartford, where 
he had lived some years previous, enjoying the fruits 
of a highly successful life. He had seven sons, but 
only one, Cassius, lived to maturity ; he died at 
thirty-nine years of age. (2) Nancy, born Sept. 6, 
181 1, married Joseph Edwards Goodrich, of Port- 
land, and died Dec. 20, 1891, in Glastonbury. (3) 
John S., born Feb. 13, 1814, was a tanner at East 
Haddam, Conn., until 1856, when he removed to 
Glastonbury and became associated with his broth- 
ers in the tobacco business, accumulating a large 
property. He married Maria H. Chapman, of East 
Haddam, Conn., and his death occurred Dec. 29, 
1888. (4) Leonard T., born Feb. 23, 1818, died 
Sept. 11, 1879. He married Lucy Carter. (5) 
Henry, born Oct. 24, 1821, died Jan. 17, 1853, in 
Glastonbury. He married Delia Bartholomew, of 
Wallingford, Connnecticut. 

Our subject was born in Glastonbury Feb. 13, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



785 



1825, and was educated there, attending the com- 
mon schools until the age of twelve, and a select 
school for five years following. He was reared to 
work, gaining valuable practical ideas from his fa- 
ther, and as a hoy he began to plan for business life, 
the success of his brothers in the tobacco business 
naturally inclining him to that line of effort. His 
brother Oswin employed him for three years at $1.50 
per dav, and in 1856 he became a member of the 
firm of O. Welles & Co., with which he remained 
thirteen years, until in 1869 he engaged in buying 
tobacco on his own account. In 1884 he retired, but 
he still grows tobacco, partly as a pastime, having 
always been interested more or less in that work. 
He has had a larger experience with tobacco than 
any other man in Glastonbury, and is considered one 
of the best judges of the weed in this State. Mr. 
Welles' business methods have always been straight- 
forward, his word being as good as his bond, and 
while he pays every penny of obligation, he expects 
the same upright dealing in return. In 1870 he 
completed his present home, a comfortable and com- 
modious dwelling, which is tastefully and even luxu- 
riously furnished, although he and his wife are 
averse to display. He is fond of good horses, and 
some fine specimens are usually to be found in his 
stables. In politics he is a Republican, of Whig 
antecedents, and at one time he represented his 
town in the State Legislature, but he has preferred 
business to public life. When the Grange was or- 
ganized in Glastonbury he became a member, and 
since 1849 ne ^ as Deen identified with the Congrega- 
tional Church at Glastonbury, declining, however, 
to hold office in the Society. 

On Dec. 9, 1846, Mr. Welles was married at 
Glastonbury to Miss Catherine Saltonstall Welles, 
and they have passed more than fifty years of happy 
wedded life, their Golden Wedding having been 
suitably observed in 1896. Both are well-preserved 
in mind and body, and their geniality has enabled 
them to keep in touch with younger generations to a 
marked degree. Mrs. Welles was born in Glaston- 
bury May 17, 1826, daughter of Dorrance and Ame- 
lia (Goodrich) Welles, attended the schools of the 
third district and later a select school in Glaston- 
bury and a private school at Portland, Conn., and 
for some time taught school at $1.50 per week, 
"boarding 'round" among the patrons, after the cus- 
tom of that day. She united with the Congrega- 
tional Church at Glastonbury in 1845, an ^ nas a '~ 
ways been a sympathetic helpmeet to her husband 
in the varied duties of life. Two children have 
blessed their union: (1) Sarah A., born Jan. 1, 
1854, married H. J. Curtis, of Hartford, and has 
two children : Alice Louise, who graduated from 
the Hartford Public High School, and is now at- 
tending Smith College, Northampton, Mass. ; and 
Mary Bertha, who graduated from the Hartford 
Public High School in June, 1899. (2) Harriet A., 
born Sept. 21, 1856, married S. P. Turner, of Glas- 
tonbury, and has one child, Isabelle Benton, who is 
a graduate of Steel's Select School, Hartford. 

50 



Mrs. Whiles is a descendant of Gov. Thomas 
Welles, the line being traced as follows : Gov. 
Thomas Welles (died in 1660) ; Samuel (died in 
1675) ; Samuel (1660-1731) ; Thomas (1693-1767) ; 
Jonathan (1732-1792) ; Gurdon (1773-1852) ; Dor- 
rance (1799-1887). Dorrance Welles, born May 3, 
1799, married Amelia Goodrich, born in 1802, and 
they died Dec. 25, 1887, and June 12, 1877, respect- 
ively. He was a Republican in political sentiment, 
and a great worker for the success of his party, but 
he newer sought office. In 1844 he joined the Con- 
gregational Church, to which his wife also belonged. 
They had three children : Catherine S., wife of 
Frederick Welles ; Mary, who resides with our sub- 
ject and wife; and Alsop, born February 4, 1829, 
who died March 28, 1892. The last-named mar- 
ried Augusta M. Brown, of Essex, by whom he had 
no children. After her death, which occurred in 
1 861, he wedded Cynthia Payne, of Portland, who 
died in 1892, and by wdiom he had two children, 
Henry B. and Amy. He was a farmer by occu- 
pation. 

JUDGE RALPH MORGAN GRANT, who is 

one of the prominent young attorneys of South 
Windsor, and who, though scarcely past thirty years 
of age, has been honored by election to several re- 
sponsible judicial and public offices, is a son of 
Sheldon J. Grant, whose sketch appears elsewhere 
in this volume, and a representative of one of the 
oldest families of the State. 

Ralph M. Grant was born May 11, 1868. on the 
farm of his father in the town of South Windsor, 
near Wapping, and received his early education in 
District No. 7, completing the course in the high 
school at Hartford, from which he was graduated 
in 1887. He was president of the debating club of 
the school. In 1888 Mr. Grant entered the Fresh- 
man class at Wesleyan University, Middletown, 
Conn., and completed the course of study with the 
class of 1892, graduating with A. B. Throughout 
his course he maintained a high standing in his 
studies, especially in mathematics, history and po- 
litical economy, and he was always identified with 
college interests, being chosen by his classmates 
in his Junior year as one cf the editors of the Olla 
Podrida, the annual literary publication of the Uni- 
versity. In his Senior vear he was one of the par- 
ticipants in a class debate on the free coinage of 
silver. His university course completed, Mr. Grant 
entered the law office of Judge William J. McCon- 
ville, of Hartford, and read law for two years, 
meantime qualifying as a notary public. He was 
admitted to the 'Bar in 1894, and immediately en- 
gaged actively in the practice of law. In the fall 
of 1898 he opened an office in the Sage Allen build- 
ing, No. 902 Main street, Hartford, which he has 
since maintained, devoting Monday and Saturday 
of each week to his business in South Windsor, his 
office then being at East Windsor Hill. Our sub- 
ject's legal practice has been interrupted partially 
by the assumption of judicial duties, to which he 



786 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL .RECORD. 



has been called by the franchises of his fellow 
townsmen. He was elected in the fall of 1894 judge 
of the probate court of the district of East Windsor, 
and served two years. About the time of his elec- 
tion he removed to East Windsor Hill where he 
now resides. In 1895 he was elected town clerk 
and town treasurer of South Windsor, and to these 
offices he has been continuously re-elected ever since. 
Judge Grant was again elected probate judge in the 
fall of 1898, and is now filling the duties of that 
office. Ever since the fall of 1892 he has served as 
justice of the peace. 

Judge Grant was married, May 1, 1895, to Miss 
L. Lillian Shepard, of Melrose Highland, Mass., 
and to them three children have been born, Lloyd 
S., Thane C. and Miriam H. In politics Judge 
Grant is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, also of the Royal Arcanum, and 
in college days was an active member of the D. K. 
E. fraternity. Judge Grant is a member of the 
Congregational Church, and is superintendent of the 
Sabbath school. He is prominent in social, public 
and legal circles, and by the earnestness and force 
of his character is winning wide recognition 
throughout Hartford county. 

JOHN MADISON MORSE. The Windsor 
Locks Journal, of which the subject of this brief 
biography is editor and publisher, has become a 
recognized factor in local progress, its advocacy of 
beneficial measures winning the approval of the 
best classes of people, irrespective of party. The 
paper was established April 30, 1880, by the late 
S. T. Addis, who conducted it until a short time 
previous to his death, on Feb. 25, 1896. When 
-failing health compelled him to relinquish, it he sold 
it to Mr. Morse, the transfer being made Dec. 13, 
1895, and under its present able management it is 
constantly gaining in reputation. 

Mr. Morse comes of good New England stock, 
and was born Jan. 8, 1866. at Springfield, Mass. 
His father, James G. Morse, for many years held 
a responsible position in the mechanical department 
of the Springfield Republican. During his boyhood 
John M. Morse attended school in his native city, 
and after the death of his father, in 1876, at Chester, 
Mass.. where he also assisted his grandfather, 
Loring Otis, in farm work. At the age of seven- 
teen he went to Thompsonville, Conn., to learn the 
printer's trade, in the office of the Thompsonville 
Press, and soon after remaining there twelve years 
he opened a job printing office at Windsor Locks, 
which he conducted successfully for two years be- 
fore buying the Journal. 

On Dec. 31, 1895, Mr. Morse was married, in 
the Congregational church at Enfield, Conn., to 
Miss Sara Moody Means, daughter of the late Rev. 
George Jarvis Means, of Augusta, Maine. While 
Mr. Morse and his accomplished wife are much es- 
teemed socially, he is not identified with any fraternal 
organizations. They are both members of the Con- 
gregational Church of Windsor Locks. 



PROF. EDGAR H. PARKMAN, a well known 
and popular educator, who is now serving as Princi- 
pal of the high school of Enfield, was born in North 
Brookfield, Worcester county, Mass., Aug. 28, 
1862, and is a son of Charles and Caroline C. 
(Shumway) Parkman, also natives of Worcester 
county, Mass., and of English and French Hugue- 
not descent. 

Mr. Parkman's paternal grandfather was Eb- 
enezer Parkman, a farmer of North Brookfield, 
Mass., and a son of Ebenezer Parkman, whose fa- 
ther, Rev. Ebenezer Parkman, was a clergyman 
of the Congregational Church and a descendant of 
the Parkmans, ship owners of Boston, Mass. Francis 
Parkman, the historian, is also a direct descendant 
of this family. The maternal grandfather of Mr. 
Parkman was Alpheus Shumway, a native of Stur- 
bridge, Mass., and a farmer by occupation. His 
ancestors, who were French Huguenots, came from 
the Isle of Wight, and settled in the eastern part of 
Massachusetts at an early date. Some of the same 
name were among "the first settlers of Sturbridge, 
Massachusetts. 

Charles Parkman, our subject's father, is a 
farmer, and still a resident of North Brookfield, 
Mass., in which town Prof. Parkman was reared, 
receiving his early education in the district schools 
of his native place. At the age of thirteen he en- 
tered the town high school and was graduated in 
1879, at the head of his class. He then became a 
student in the old academy at Monson, Mass., and 
after completing his preparation for college taught 
for a few years in the Massachusetts public schools., 
after which he took the full classical course in 
Amherst College, graduating from the latter insti- 
tution in 1889. In the fall of that year he located 
in Thompsonville, Conn., having been elected Prin- 
cipal of the Enfield Public High School, and so 
acceptable and satisfactory have his services proven 
that he has been continuously re-elected. He is a 
thorough and competent instructor, and has met 
with excellent success in his chosen profession. 

On Dec. 23, 1890, Prof. Parkman married Miss 
Cora M. Fellows, a daughter of Frank and Eliza 
(Gilbert) Fellows, of Belchertown, Mass., and to 
them have been born three children, namely : Doro- 
thy Gilbert, Cora Eleanor and Deane Winthrop. 
Mrs. Parkman's mother is a lineal descendant of 
both Sir Walter Raleigh and Sir Humphrey Gil- 
bert, of early Colonial fame. The Professor and 
his wife are members of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Thompsonville. He is a member of the 
Amherst Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the Massa- 
chusetts Beta Chapter of the Phi Delta Thcta So- 
ciety ; belongs to Doric Lodge No. 94, F. & A. 
M., of Thompsonville, of which he is now worship- 
ful master; and is an associate member of Samuel 
Brown Post No. 56, G. A. R., of the same place, his 
father having served one year in the Civil war as a 
member of Company F, 4_2cl Mass. A'. I. Pro- 
fessionally he is a member of the Western (Mass.) 
Head Masters' Club, and at this writing a member 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



787 



of the executive committee of the Connecticut Clas- 
sical and High School Teachers' Association. Po- 
litically Prof. Parkman is a stanch Republican. 
Mrs. Parkman's father was also a soldier of the 
Civil war, serving three years in the Signal Corps, 
and both of the Professor's great-grandfathers were 
among the number of those who so valiantly fought 
for the independence of the Colonies during the 
Revolution. 

LUCIEN B. LOOMIS comes of good old pio- 
neer stock, being of the eighth generation in descent 
from Joseph Loomis, who was born in England in 
1590, and came in 1639 to Windsor, where his 
death occurred Nov. 25, 1658. 

(II) Deacon John Loomis, son of the pioneer, 
was born in England in 1622, and accompanied his 
father to this country. On Oct. II, 1640, he was 
admitted to Windsor Church, in which he became 
an active and influential worker. 

(III) Sergt. Daniel Loomis, son of Deacon 
John, was born June 16, 1657, and died June 25, 
1740. He married (first) Mary Ellsworth, daugh- 
ter of Josiah Ellsworth, and (second) wedded Han- 
nah Drake, a widow. 

(IV) Benjamin Loomis, the next in the line of 
descent, was born Feb. 7, 1699, to his father's first 
marriage, and died Jan. 2, 1763. He married 
Joanna Alford, and had six children: Joanna, Ben- 
jamin, Tabitha, Benjamin (2), Rachel and Sera j ah. 

(V) Serajah Loomis, our subject's great-grand- 
father, was born Dec. 4, 1740, and died in 181 1. 
He built a house in Windsor, the timber for which 
was cut at New Hartford and rafted down the Farm- 
ington river, and it is still standing, well-preserved. 
Serajah Loomis married Sybil Loomis, and they 
had four sons : Nider, Ira, Asher and Horace. 

(VI) Asher Loomis, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born April 4, 1772, in the house men- 
tioned above, and died in March, 1819. For some 
years he was engaged in business in Winsted, Conn., 
as a tanner and shoemaker. On Oct. 5, 1796, he 
was married, in Winsted, to Rosinda Cook, a native 
of that town, and they had one son, Roman W., 
and five daughters: Minerva (Mrs. Wrisley) ; 
Sarah, who married a Mr. Smith, of Winsted ; Alma 
(deceased), who never married; Nancv (Mrs. 
Moses Loomis) ; and one who died in childhood. 

(VII) Roman W. Loomis, our subject's father, 
was born Sept. 2, 1801, in the house built by Sera- 
jah Loomis, and was reared in Windsor, his educa- 
tion being secured in the local schools. When a 
young man he taught school successfully, and for 
a time he was a private tutor in the family of a 
Mr. Williams, in Virginia. History, ancient and 
modern, always interested him greatly, and when 
the Loomis genealogy was being prepared he sup- 
plied much of the data. For years he led the choir 
of the Congregational Church at Windsor. Politi- 
cally he was first a Whig and then a Republican, 
but he never sought or held office. While be was 
reared a farmer bov, he learned the shoemaker's 



trade in early life, and at times he followed that busi- 
ness in Windsor and elsewhere. After his marriage, 
in October, 1834, Mr. Loomis located at the old 
homestead with his father, later removing to our 
subject's present farm, where he died in 1883. 1 lis 
wife, whose maiden name was Ann G. Barber, was 
born Jan. 12, 1797, a daughter of Gideon Barber, 
She died Dec. 16, 1867, and her remains rest beside 
those of her husband in the cemetery in Windsor. 
( )ur subject was the elder of two sons'; the younger, 
Arthur II., born July 3, 1842, died June 16, 185-'. 

« VIII) Lucien B. Loomis was born Dec. 6, 1835, 
at the old homestead, and first attended school in the 
Stony Hill District of Windsor. Among his early 
teachers were Miss Frances Loomis, Edward Allyn, 
and Mr. and Mrs. E. N. Phelps. On completing 
an elementary course in the common schools he was 
sent to Windsor Academy, while in the summer 
season he assisted his father in farm work and in 
shoemaking. He remained at home until his mar- 
riage, June 2, 1863, when he settled at his present 
farm. For twenty-eight years, from 1862 to [890, 
he manufactured brick in addition to following gen- 
eral farming. The former industry was a leading 
business in Windsor, and at one time, when taking 
brick to Hartford, he counted twenty-four Mike of 
oxen in one line hauling sled loads of brick to that 
city. From boyhood he has been a firm supporter 
of the principles of the Republican party. His first 
presidential vote was cast for .Abraham Lincoln, as 
he was just one month too young to vote for Fre- 
mont. 

In 1863 Mr. Loomis married Miss Maria J. 
Woodward, of Mansfield, Tolland Co., Conn., who 
died leaving no children. His second wife, whose 
maiden name was Abby H. Marcy, was born March 
2, 1843, at Ashford, Windham Co., Conn., and 
married (first) C. B. Knox, of South Manchester, 
Conn., now deceased. 

WILLIAM H. LAWRENCE, D. D. S. (de- 
ceased ) , late a prominent dentist of Thompsonville 
and Suffield, was' born in Louisville, Ky., in May, 
T854, and spent the early part of his life in that 
State. Later, after studying dentistry, he practiced 
his profession in New York City for fourteen years, 
and still later he located in Hartford, where he was 
connected with a dental association until, in 1889, 
he opened an office in Suffield. After locating in Suf- 
field he had branch offices in Windsor and Thomp- 
sonville, opening an office in the last named village 
in 1891, but his increasing business in later years 
compelled him to give up the Windsor office and de- 
vote bis whole time to Thompsonville and Suffield. 
He was an artist in his profession, and bis genial 
ways and careful attention to the needs of his pa- 
tients gained for him an enviable reputation as a 
dentist, and secured for him an extensive practice. 

Dr. Lawrence was a member of Apollo Lodge, 
F. & A. M. ; Washington Chapter, R. A. \I.; Ly- 
man Council, O. U. A. M., of Suffield: Asnuntock 
Lodge, EC. P., of Thompsonville; Putnam Phalanx, 



7»8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of Hartford ; was also an Odd Fellow, and a member 
of the Order of Foresters. He was a member of 
the Grand Lodge of Knights of Pythias, and was 
district deputy grand chancellor of the Fleventh dis- 
trict at the time of his death. The interest taken 
in Pythianism by Dr. Lawrence was an active one.. 
To him can be credited the institution of Gideon 
Granger Lodge, of Suffield, and the work already 
accomplished in forming lodges at Warehouse Point 
and Windsor Locks. He was a man of character, 
lived up to the true principles of brotherly love, and 
those who knew him well enjoyed the pleasures of 
his company at all times. His genial presence was 
felt in the lodge room, where his devotion to the 
order he represented was echoed by words of wis- 
dom and love for his fellowmen. In his noble heart 
he carried the true principles of fraternity ; he prac- 
ticed its teachings in his walks in life ; and ever by 
word and deed made his efforts an example of what 
fraternity teaches. To have known Dr. Lawrence 
was to like him. As a friend and brother he shone 
pre-eminent, and his charities were conducted in 
that unostentatious manner that becomes a knight 
and a true man. His kindly ways are sadly missed 
in his home and the various organizations in which 
he was interested. He died Jan. 8, 1899. 

ALMOND JOEL CUTTING, D. D. S., a prom- 
inent and successful dentist of Southington, was 
born in Shrewbury, Mass., Sept. 21, 1856. a son 
of Joel and Susan (Kennan) Cutting, natives of 
Holden, Mass., and of English and Irish descent. 
The father, a shoemaker by trade, is now a resident 
of Amherst, Mass., and is engaged in his vocation. 
During the Civil war he served for two years in 
the 32d Mass. V. I. 

Dr. Cutting grew to manhood in his native State. 
Although possessing an ardent love for books and 
education, circumstances prevented him going far- 
ther than the public schools, and he worked on a 
farm most of the time until eighteen years of age, 
when he spent a season in his father's shop, and later 
accepted a position as attendant irt the State Retreat 
for the Insane. During this period he decided to 
take up his present profession. In 1876 he began 
the study of dentistry in Worcester, Mass., and two 
years later located at Barre, Mass., where he con- 
tinued his studies. In 1884 he was graduated from 
the dental department of the University of Mary- 
land, standing at the head of his class, and receiv- 
ing honorable mention in the final examinations. In 
July, of the same year, he located in Southington, 
where he has since been in active and successful 
practice. 

On July 21. 1878, Dr. Cutting was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Lizzie J. Ballou, a daughter of 
Hiram Ballou, of Pelham, Mass., and of the chil- 
dren born to them one is now living, Mabel L. For 
his second wife the Doctor married Miss Sarah E. 
Bell, daughter of Charles Bell, of Plantsville, Con- 
necticut. 

Dr. Cutting is an active member of the Meth- 



odist Episcopal Church, and has been superintend- 
ent of the Sunday-school since 1885. He is also a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
the Order of United American Mechanics, and the 
Sons of Veterans. He has belonged to the Con- 
necticut State Dental Association since 1889, and 
in May, 1898, was elected its president. Dr. Cut- 
ting's personal magnetism is felt by all his patients 
who trust themselves to his treatment, and he enjoys 
a large and lucrative practice. He has ever been 
interested and identified with the public affairs of 
his town, all of which receive his hearty co-opera- 
tion, and politically he is a stanch advocate of Pro- 
hibition. 

WTNTHROP BUCK was one of the oldest 
and most respected citizens of Wethersfield, where he 
was born on the old Buck homestead Dec. 16, 1816. 
His family is not only among the most esteemed, 
but also among the oldest and most influential in 
Wethersfield, in the records of which town they 
enjoy the distinction of having been among the 
early settlers. In fact, the Bucks were among the 
early pioneers of Connecticut, and may be ranked 
among that advance guard whose members, from 
religious conviction and through sturdy manhood, 
aided in making New England what it is to-day — 
the mother of colleges and the fountain head of 
sturdy and aggressive patriotism. 

The first one bearing the family name to settle 
in Wethersfield was Emanuel Buck. At that time, 
if tradition be correct, he was young, strong and 
fearless, and his name appears on the record in 
connection with those of Henry and Enoch Buck, 
who are supposed to have been his brothers. There 
is little question that the family is of English origin. 
Emanuel was born in 1623, and settled at Wethers- 
field in 1645. He seems to have been a leading citi- 
zen in the young settlement, becoming a landowner, 
and being made a freeman and elected constable in 
1669. He was one of three men (the other two 
being Georsre Riley and Samuel Boardman, also of 
Wethersfield) who were granted the privilege of 
building a sawmill at what was then known as 
"Pine Stave Swamp," but is now the site of New- 
ington. He was twice married, was the father of 
a large family, and died at Wethersfield an old 
man. His first wife was Sarah Deming, and his 
second — to whom he was united on April 17, 1658 
— was Mary Kirby, who was born in Middletown, 
a daughter of John and Elizabeth Kirby, and died 
Jan. 12, T7T2. The fruit of the first marriage con- 
sisted of three children: Ezekiel, born on Jan. 
1, 1650; John, born in November, 1652; and Jona- 
than, born April 8, 1655. The second wife bore him 
seven children: Mary, born Jan. 1. 1659; David, 
April 13, 1667; Sarah, April 1, 1669; Hannah, 
April 12, 1671 ; Elizabeth, Jan. 4, 1676; Thomas, 
Tune to. T678: and Abigail, Aug. 1, 1682. David, 
Emanuel Buck's eldest son and second child by his 
second marriage, was a farmer of Wethersfield, in 
which town he was born, and where he died Sept. 



,**, 






KPi $% 


"*^B 






^■k^ 



^fr^^C^L y&^*<#- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



789 



30, 1728 (or 1738). As were his ancestors, so was 
he, a man of quick intelligence, unassuming man- 
ners and unassailable integrity, beloved by his 
friends and honored by all. On June 14, 1690, he 
married Elizabeth Hubbard, whose father was 
Daniel Hubbard, of Guilford. She was born in 
1 066, and died March 25, 1735. She was the mother 
of ten children: Elizabeth, born Feb. 16, 1691 ; 
Ann, April 25, 1693; Daniel, Sept. 13, 1695; David, 
March 13, 1698; Mary, Sept. 9, 1700; Josiah, Jan. 
16, 1703; Joseph, April 5, 1705 (died Sept. 14, 
1 717) ; John, July 18, 1707 (died March 9, 1726) ; 
Eunice, Dec. 19, 1710; and Mabel, June 5, 1712. 

Josiah Buck, lineal descendant of the first Win- 
throp, and great-grandfather of the present gentle- 
man of that name, was a farmer, as had been his 
ancestors for several generations. He passed his 
life at Wethersfield without ostentation, yet with 
a native kindliness of heart and deed fostered and 
stimulated by Christian faith. He died Feb. 8, 
1793. His wife, Ann Deming, was born at Weth- 
ersfield May 28, 171 1, daughter of Charles and 
Ann (Wickham) Deming. Charles Deming was 
a son of Jonathan and Sarah Deming, and a grand- 
son of John Deming, who married Honour Tread. 
Mrs. Buck's maternal grandparents were Thomas 
and Sarah (Churchill) Wickham. She married 
Josiah Buck on May 28, 1731, and died March 9, 
1772, having borne her husband seven children: 
Ann, born Feb. 26, 1732; Mary, Oct. 31, 1733; 
Elizabeth, April 7, 1735; Prudence, Dec. 15, 1737; 
Josiah, April 23, 1742 (he cfied Oct. 16, 1807; 
Daniel, June 13, 1744; and Mabel, March 22, 1748 
(she married Justus Riley, and died May 28, 1843, 
at the age of ninety-five years). 

Daniel Buck, the sixth of this family, and the 
grandfather of Winthrop Buck, was born at the old 
Wethersfield homestead. He was a farmer and a 
fisherman. His holdings of land were large, and he 
was a slave owner as well. He was a man of in- 
fluence, and was one of several in Wethersfield 
who responded to the call in 1776, being in the 
service for six days. He built two fine houses on 
the homestead farm, which are yet in a good state 
of preservation, and was very successful in its 
management. He died Jan. 6, 1808. On Dec. 3, 
J 77S> at New London, he married Sarah Saltonstall, 
who was born June 15, 1754, and died Nov. 19, 
1828. Her father, Gurdon Saltonstall, was a son 
of Gov. Gurdon Saltonstall and his wife, Jerusha 
Richards, and a lineal descendant of Sir Richard 
Saltonstall, one of the first settlers of Watertown, 
Mass. Gurdon Saltonstall married Rebecca Win- 
throp, a daughter of John Still and Ann (Dudley) 
Winthrop and granddaughter of Hon. Wait Still 
and Joseph Dudley. Daniel Buck and his wife were 
the parents of seven children : Ann was born and 
died in 1776. Gurdon, the eldest son, was born 
Dec. 30, 1777, and on April 30, 1805, married Sus- 
anna Manwaring, of New York; he died Aug. 4, 
1852. The second son, Daniel, born Oct. 27, 1779, 
was a merchant. He and his brother, Dudley, 



were together in trade at Hartford and also owned 
a line of propellers to New York. He died at Po- 
quonock Jan. 19, i860. He was twice married, 
his first wife being Julia Mitchell, a daughter of 
Hon. Stephen Mix Mitchell, of Wethersfield. The 
marriage took place Oct. 14, 1805, and the young 
wife died Oct. 7, 1807. Subsequently Mr. Buck 
married Elizabeth, a daughter of Ezekiel Belden. 
She was born Jan. 10, 1784, and died March 3, 
1887, aged 103 years. Charles, the third son, was 
born March 21, 1782. He married Catherine Brad- 
ford, of New York, where he lived until his death, 
June 5, 1858. The fourth son, Winthrop, was 
born Dec. 9, 1784. He was the father of Winthrop 
Buck, and a brief account of his life will be given 
in a succeeding paragraph. Ann, the second of that 
name, was born Oct. 12, 1786, and died Feb. 6, 
1788. Dudley, the seventh and youngest child, 
was, as has been said, a partner of his brother, 
Daniel, in the general merchandise business at 
Hartford. He was born Jan. 25, 1789. He was 
twice married, first on Sept. 25, 1827, to Hetty G. 
Hempstead, a daughter of John Hempstead. She 
died June 12, 1834, and on Sept. 13, 1837, he was 
united to Martha C, a daughter of Nathaniel 
Adams. He was the father of Dudley Buck, the 
eminent musician and composer, and died May 8, 
1867. 

Winthrop Buck, above named as the father of 
our subject, passed his entire life upon the farm, 
although, like his father, he also followed the call- 
ing of a fisherman. Although he enjoyed the ad- 
vantage of attendance upon the district schools he 
may be said to have been chiefly self-educated, 
having been a judicious reader and close observer. 
His home was on the farm where his son, Henry, 
now lives, and he was one of the largest owners 
of realty in Wethersfield. He was a Whig until that 
party was merged into the Republican, after which 
he was affiliated with the latter. His religious 
views were broad, but he was upright in his life, 
honorable in his dealings, domestic in his tastes 
and habits, and deservedly popular and influential 
in the community in the midst of which he lived 
from his infancy until his death, which occurred 
Aug. 19, 1862. He was twice married. Eunice H. 
Parsons, of Amherst, Mass., was his first wife, 
their marriage being solemnized Jan. 9, 1812. She 
died Aug. 4 of the same year, seven months after 
becoming a bride, at the early age of twenty-four. 
On Dec. 28, 1814, Mr. Buck married Eunice Mose- 
ly, who was born Oct. 8, 1793, and passed away 
Aug. 24, 1862, five days after her husband. She 
was a daughter of Dr. Abner and Eunice (Wells) 
Moselv. Her father was a Yale graduate, and a 
son of Joseph Mosely and his wife Hooeful Rob- 
bins. Mrs. Buck's maternal great-grandfather was 
William Wells, who married Jerusha Merrick, of 
Glastonbury. Eight children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Buck. The eldest, Martha, born Nov. 26, 
1815, died Aug. 12, iqoo, unmarried. She made 
her home with her brother, Henry. Notwithstand- 



790 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ing her advanced age her intellect was clear and 
vigorous and she possessed a refinement and culture 
which adorned her declining years and made her 
doubly beloved. (2) Winthrop, born Dec. 16, 
1816. died July 28, 1900, aged eighty-three years 
and seven months. (3) Eunice, born Dec. 31, 
1819, died March 12, 1897. (4) Maria was born 
Jan. 30, 1 82 1, and married Edmund Howe on Feb. 
3, 1856. He died at Hartford April 23, 1857, and 
she survived him until Dec. 8, 1894. (5) Robert 
was born March 8, 1823. He married, on Christ- 
mas day, 1857, Lucena M., a daughter of Jonathan 
Emerson, of Lebanon, N. H. She died June 7, 
1859. and on Aug. 5, i860, he married' Helen 
Frances Jones, a daughter of Elisha L. Jones, of 
St. Albans, Y.t. Robert Buck died at Hartford Aug. 
16, 1881. (6) Roswell Riley, born Oct. 21. 1826, 
married Maria Catherine Barnes, of Buffalo, X. 
Y., Nov. 8, 1866, and after marriage removed to 
that city, where his wife's father. Dr. Joseph Barnes, 
resided. (7) Catherine Mosely was born Feb. 1, 
1833, and on Nov. 16, 1866, became the wife of 
John Buckingham, of Chicago, who died Aug. 21, 
188 1. (8) Henry, the eighth and youngest of the 
children, was born Dec. 6, 1834. He married, Nov. 
30, 1875, Theresa, a daughter of George and Har- 
riet Whiting ( Bradley) Robinson. 

Winthrop Buck was educated at the district 
schools and academy of Wethersfield and the Hart- 
ford public high school Francis Fellows being then 
principal of the last named institution. After leav- 
ing school he was offered and accepted a position 
as teacher at Middletown, but ill health compelled 
him to cancel his engagement. He remained upon 
his father's farm, with his parents, until he was 
twentv-eight years old, when he bought what was 
then known as the B. D. Buck farm, opposite the 
homestead. On making this purchase he was forced 
to go into debt, and some idea of the degree of 
prosperity which attended his efforts may be gath- 
ered from the fact that he subsequently invested 
over $20,000 in real estate. In addition to general 
and dairy farming he cultivated tobacco success- 
fully, besides dealing largely in fish. He became 
one of YYethersfield's most prosperous as well as 
most popular citizens, was progressive and public- 
spirited, sagacious and farseeing, intelligent and 
well-read, modest and unassuming. He was a hard 
worker and always keenly alive to the demands of 
business, yet he found time for recreation, for the 
cultivation of domestic tastes and for the enter- 
tainment of the many friends whom he made 
through his genial, kindly disposition and his un- 
swerving integrity. He was one of the oldest men 
in the town, only one of his old schoolmates, James 
Stanley Grisuold, yet living. 

On Dec. 24, 1845, Mr. Buck married Charlotte 
Woodhouse, who was born at Wethersfield Oct. 
19. 181Q, a daughter of Sylvester and Sarah ( Har- 
riss ) Woodhouse. [An extended historv of the 
Woodhouse familv may be found on another page.] 
Mrs. Buck died Jan. 15, 1896. The issue of the 



marriage was two sons. (1) Edward Winthrop 
was born Feb. 28, 1847, was educated at the Weth- 
ersfield common schools and at the high school in 
Hartford, and at the age of eighteen entered the 
office of the Travelers Insurance Co., of Hartford. 
On Sept. 12, 1876, he married Abbie B., daughter of 
Reuben and Olive Barber Osborn, and to them have 
been born three children: Winthrop, Sept. 2, 1878 
(who graduated from Yale in the class of 1900) ; 
Edward Osborn, June 25, 1883; and Helen Dudley, 
July 2, 1888. Mr. Buck is a Republican and a 
member of the Congregational Church in Hart- 
ford. (2) Louis Dudley, born Aug. 13, 1850, mar- 
ried Laura, a daughter of Samuel O. Church, of 
Massachusetts, and lived upon the homestead, where 
he died March 19, 1887. His widow resides in 
Chicago. He was the father of three children, 
Charlotte, Mary C. and Louise Dudley. 

ROBERT JOHNSTON VANCE is of Scotch 
descent, his grandparents having been members of 
the little band of sons of "Auld Scotia," who origi- 
nated what has now become the flourishing and well- 
known carpet industry at Thomosonville. He him- 
self is a son of John and Elizabeth (Johnston) 
Yance, and was born in the City of New York on 
March 15, 1854. His preliminary education was 
received at the public schools of that city, and com- 
pleted at the high school in New Britain, to which 
place he removed while he was yet a small bov. On 
leaving school he entered the employ of the Stanley. 
Rule & Level Company, and later was off ere '1 and 
accepted the position of paymaster for the New 
Britain Knitting Co. 

Mr. Yance's natural bent, however, was toward 
journalism, and at the early age of twenty-two years 
he founded the New Britain Observer. In 1887 
this paper was consolidated with the New Britain 
Herald, Mr. Yance assuming editorial control, and 
the new publication taking the name of the New 
Britain Herald. To his chosen profession he 
brought ability of a rare order, and under his able 
management the Herald has become a positive 
influence, not only in Hartford county, but also 
throughout the entire State. While still retaining 
his chair as editor, Mr. Yance, during' the years 
1888-90, also filled the position of staff correspond- 
ent for the New York Sun at W r ashin^ton. Not- 
withstanding the exacting duties of a successful pro- 
fessional career, he has found time to travel exten- 
sively both in this countrv and in Europe, and to 
discharge with signal ability and fidelity the duties 
attaching to various positions of financial trust. He 
has been treasurer of the Herald Publishing- Co.. 
I and held the same office in the New Britain Electric 
Light Co., from the date of the organization of that 
corporation until it passed under a new executive 
control. 

In politics, Mr. Yance has always been an ardent 
and consistent Democrat. For fifteen vears he was 
a member of the State central committee of his 
party, and was a delegate to the National conven- ' 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



791 



tions of 1888 and 1892, at St. Louis and Chicago, 
respectively. He has also been prominent in public 
life. From 1878 to 1887 he served as city clerk of 
New Britain; in 1886 he was elected a member of 
the Connecticut General Assembly; and in 1887-88 
represented his district in the Lth United States 
Congress. From 1893 to 1805 ne was State Labor 
Commissioner, and in 1896 was elected mayor of 
New Britain. To every position which he has 
filled, in either private or public life, he has brought 
the capability resulting from rare talent, joined to 
the integrity which proceeds from a high sense of 
honor. He is widely known throughout Connecti- 
cut, and, while warmly liked by the people of his 
own city, is held in high esteem by public men 
throughout the State, without regard to party 
affiliation. 

Mr. Vance is a member of the Masonic Order 
and of the I. O. O. F. He was married, Jan. 24, 
1890, to Miss Matilda O'Connor, of Alabama, and 
three children have been born to this union, Agnes, 
Johnston and Robert Cummings. 

CHARLES BRADLEY COWLES, who is 
actively identified with the business interests of 
Southington as agent for the Hartford Life In- 
surance Co. in Plantsville, was born in Southington, 
Sept. 12, 1840. His father, Charles Augustus 
Cowles, was born Jan. 1, 1808, and was married 
Sept. 24, 1839, to Mrs. Delia Victoria (Stedman) 
Bradley, widow of Charles Bradley. The children 
born to them were Charles B. ; Frederick A. ; Jane 
L., wife of Royal C. Mix ; Walter A. ; William H. ; 
Julia A., wife of Alfred N. Parmalee; and Fanny 
M. The father acquired a competence in trade 
in the South, became a large land owner in the vi- 
cinity of Plantsville, Conn., and was extensively 
engaged in farming. He died in Plantsville, June 
6, 1873. 

Addison Cowles, the paternal grandfather of our 
subject, was born in Southington Feb. 17, 1770, 
and was married Feb. 24, 1800, to Phebe, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Jesse Cole. He lived in Plantsville 
Center, where his wife died March 13, 1824, aged 
forty-six years, and his death occurred Feb. 23, 
1828. His father, Ashbel Cowles, was born in 
Southington, Sept. 29, 1740, and was married April 
29, 1769, to Rhoda Lee, daughter of Jared and 
Rhoda (Judd) Lee. He lived west of Plantsville 
cemetery. He was an extensive reader, possessed a 
very retentive memory and was well versed in his- 
torical dates. He held several offices, serving as 
constable for years, first selectman in 1792, and also 
held the military rank of captain. .lie died Sept. 
19, 181 5. He was a son of Josiah Cowles, who 
was born in Farmington, Nov.. 20, 1716, and was 
married Nov. 11, 1739, to Jemima Dickinson. Soon 
after marriage he located in what is now the town 
of Southington, where he bought land extensively. 
His wife died Oct. 19, 1746, and he was again mar- 
ried, Nov. 22, 1748, his second union being with 
Mary, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Pynchon) 



Scott, of Southington. He was a man of great 
energy, took a leading part in church and society 
matters, held several important town offices, and held 
the military rank of captain. He was the father of 
eighteen children, and his descendants are numer- 
ous and scattered. Josiah Cowles died June 6, 1793. 
His father, Thomas Cowles, was born in Farming- 
ton, Feb. 4, 1686, and was married Jan. 6, 1714, to 
Martha Judd, eldest daughter of Thomas and Sarah 
(Freeman) Judd, of Waterbury. He resided in 
Farmington, where he died March 11, 1751. His 
father, Samuel Cowles, was born in Farmington, 
March 17, 1661, and was married, May 12, 1685, to 
Rachel Porter. He lived in Farmington until about 
1 7 16, when he removed to Kensington, where he 
died Oct. 14, 1748. He was a son of Samuel 
Cowles, who was born in 1639, and was married, 
Feb. 14, 1660, to Abigail, daughter of Timothy Stan- 
lex-, of Hartford. They made their home in Farm- 
ington, and he was one of the eighty-four proprie- 
tors of that town in 1672. He died April )J, [691. 
His father, John Cole, was one of the first settlers of 
Hartford, but soon after 1640 he located in Farm- 
ington, and while residing there was induced to 
change his name to Cowles, in order to avoid the 
inconvenience of being taken at times for another 
John Cole, living in the same place. From that time 
the descendants of his eldest son, Samuel, have 
spelled the name Cowles. John Cole was a farmer, 
and a deputy to the General Court in 1053 and 1654. 
In 1662 he removed to Hadley, Mass., where he died 
in September, 1675. His wife, Hannah, died in 
Hartford, March 6, 1683, aged seventy years. 

Charles B. Cowles, whose name begins this arti- 
cle, grew to manhood in Plantsville, and was pro- 
vided with excellent educational advantages, attend- 
ing Prof. Glendenning's Boarding School, Stam- 
ford, and Lewis Academv, Southington. At the 
breaking out of the Civil war, in 1861, he joined the 
boys in blue as color bearer of Company 1, 12th 
Conn. V. I., for three years' service, and re-enlisted 
at New Iberia, La., with his regiment, in [863. For 
two years he was detailed on detached duty, recruit- 
ing and taking recruits to the front. After three 
years and eleven months of service, he was honorably 
discharged at Hartford. Returning home, he 
engaged in merchandising in Plantsville for three 
years, then spent several years in farming, and for 
the past twenty years has represented the Hartford 
Life Insurance Co. He is a wide-awake, enterpris- 
ing business man, and has met with well deserved 
success in his undertakings. 

On Jan. 15, 1808, Mr. Cowles was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Carolina V. Moss, a daughter of 
Aaron and Abigail ( Hitchcock) Moss, of Milldale, 
and they have three children: Lillian Moss; Ed- 
ward Aaron; and Emily Moss, who married Nelson 
( .. Landon, and has one daughter, Lucy Elizabeth. 
Mr. Cowles' political support is given to the men 
and measures of the Republican party, and he is a 
member of Trumbull Posl No. [6, G. A. K. Mrs. 
Cowles is a member of the Daughters of the Ameri- 



792 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



can Revolution, being' eligible to membership in that 
order through her great-grandfather, Amasa Hitch- 
cock, who was a lieutenant in the Revolutionary war. 

AUSTIN F. WILLIAMS (deceased) was at 
one time a prominent business man of New York 
City, but much of his life was spent in Hartford 
county. He was born in East Hartford, Feb. 26, 
1805, a son of Ozias and Anna Williams, and his 
education was obtained in the schools of that place. 

At the age of eighteen years Mr. Williams came 
to Farmington, where he clerked in a drug store for 
a time, and later engaged in the lumber business, 
with an office in Plainville, Conn. Subsequently he 
was interested in the wholesale dry-goods business 
in New York City, first as a member of the firm of 
Williams & Abbey, later Williams & Camp, and 
finally Williams, Bruce & Clark. During the Civil 
war he was connected with the freedman's bureau, 
and later with that department in Washington, D. 
C. His last years were spent in Farmington, where 
he died in 1885, honored and respected by all who 
knew him. In all places and under all circumstan- 
ces he was loyal to truth, honor and right, justly 
valuing his own self-respect as infinitely more pref- 
erable than wealth, fame and position. In 1828 he 
married Miss Jennette Cowles, a daughter of Timo- 
thy and Catherine (Deming) Cowles, and to them 
were born four children. One son and one daugh- 
ter died in infancy ; Anna M. Treadwell died in 
1892, leaving no children; Mrs. Catherine Deming 
Vorce is the only survivor. The wife and mother 
died in 1871. 

Allen Dunning Vorce, son-in-law of our sub- 
ject, was born in Penn Yan, N. Y., and is of French 
descent, his paternal great-grandfather having been 
a native of France. He is now a dealer in antique 
porcelains and curios in New York, but throughout 
his business career he has been interested in several 
different enterprises. By trade he is a jeweler. At 
one time he was connected with the Treasury Depart- 
ment at Washington, D. C, was in the banking busi- 
ness in New York, and later engaged in the picture 
business in Hartford, Connecticut. 

Mr. and Mrs. Vorce have four children, of 
whom (1) Amy Clare is the eldest. (2) Clarence 
Browning, a civil engineer of Hartford, married Vir- 
ginia Osborn, of New Haven, Conn., and they have 
one child, Virginia. (3) Walter Herbert married 
Mabel Newell, of Rochester, N. Y., and they have 
one child, Catherine Newell ; he is now superintend- 
ent of the signal department of the New York 
Central railroad from Syracuse to Lewiston, N. Y. 
(4) Jennette Cowles completes the family. 

GEORGE HENRY GOODWIN (deceased), 
late of Burnside, was a worthy representative of the 
old and honored family whose name he bore. He 
was born April 7, 1826, in Burnside, in the house 
occupied by the late lamented Henry L. Goodwin, 
and was a son of George and Maria (Kingsbury) 
Goodwin. 



The ancestry of the Goodwin family in America 
can be traced to Ozias Goodwin, who arrived at 
Boston Harbor, Mass., Sept. 16, 1632, from Eng- 
land. The ancestry of Ozias Goodwin in England 
has been traced directly to the Goodwins of East 
Anglia, whose names appear among the records of 
Norwich, England, as early as 1238. Rev. Augus- 
tus Jessopp, a distinguished English antiquarian, 
says of this Goodwin family: "To the Gothic 
theme (guda) belongs the element 'Good,' and the 
meaning of the name Goodwin will stand for 'good 
friend' or 'God's friend.' They who can boast of 
forefathers known a thousand years ago as emphat- 
ically the trusty friends on whose words and in 
whose fidelity men could rely without misgiving, 
or, on the other hand, well-known as men whose 
earnestness, reverence and devotion mark them 
above others as the friends of the Most High, with 
the fear of God and the love of God before their 
eyes, need not look for progenitors whom the ca- 
price of kings may have selected for titular distinc- 
tion, or the fortunes of war may have tossed into 
eminence and the sports of battle enriched. They 
assuredly have noble blood in their veins." 

With Ozias Goodwin and his wife Mary, or 
about the same time, there came also to America, in 
the ship "Lion," William Goodwin and his wife 
Susannah. William Goodwin was a man of means, 
but Ozias was less fortunate in worldly possessions, 
and he came to Hartford county, Conn., with the 
Braintree company, and became the founder of the 
Goodwin family of Hartford, which has given to 
the United States many distinguished citizens, 
among whom were two United States district at- 
torneys, Judge Doll Goodwin, of Detroit, and 
Stephen Austin Goodwin, of Chicago, the former ap- 
pointed to office by President Jackson, the latter by- 
President Lincoln. James Goodwin, the millionaire, 
and James J. Goodwin, formerly a parter of Pier- 
pont Morgan, belong to the same family. 

George Goodwin, the grandfather of the de- 
ceased, was born Jan. 7, 1757, in Hartford, and was 
one of the publishers of the Hartford Courant, which 
became one of the most famous newspapers of New 
England. He was a "brainy" man, of noble bearing 
and countenance, and a leading citizen. He mar- 
ried Mary Edwards, who was a member of the 
Jonathan Edwards family, and was an only daugh- 
ter of Richard and Mary (Butler) Edwards, of 
Hartford. To George and Mary (Edwards) Good- 
win were born twelve children : Elizabeth, Richard 
Edward, Oliver, George, Jason (died in infancy), 
Jason (2), (who also died young), Charles, Henry, 
Jeremiah, Jason (3), a daughter (name not known), 
and Edward. 

George Goodwin, mentioned above as a son of 
George, the fourth in the family, was born in Hart- 
ford April 23, 1786, graduated from Yale College 
in 1806, and was afterward engaged in the grocery 
business in Hartford, under the firm name of Hud- 
son & Goodwin until 181 5, when the partnership was 
dissolved and re-formed under the firm stvle of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



793 



"George Goodwin & Son, Mr. Goodwin still continu- 
ing at the head of the firm and at the same time 
managing the Courant. George Goodwin some 
years later came to Burnside, where he was the pio- 
neer paper manufacturer, and where he passed the 
remainder of his life, dying Feb. 8, 1878. His re- 
mains were interred in the Old North cemetery at 
Hartford. 

To George Goodwin and Maria Kingsbury 
were born nine children, namely: Maria K., who 
was married to Henry Pitkin, a son of Cap- 
tain John Pitkin, of East Hartford ; Elizabeth, 
who died young; Andrew K., who died sin- 
gle, after reaching maturity: Elizabeth (2), who 
also died single ; Ellen, who was married to Thomas 
S. Williams, lived in Auburndale, and there died ; 
Mary E., who became the wife of William S. Wil- 
liams, and died in Glastonbury; George H., the sub- 
ject of this biography ; Susan Leavitt, who was mar- 
ried to Henry L. Goodwin, and died within a year 
after she was wedded ; and Harriet Talcott, now 
living in Hartford. 

George H. Goodwin was educated in the com- 
mon schools of Burnside and the East Hartford 
Academy, and then assisted in his father's paper- 
mill until 1862, during which period he erected the 
dwelling now occupied by his widow. On Aug. 22, 
1862, he enlisted in Company A, Twenty-fifth Con- 
necticut Volunteer Infantry. In 1863 he was pro- 
moted to first sergeant, and was wounded at Irish 
Bend. La., April 14, of the same year. He remained 
with his regiment until it was mustered out, Aug. 
26, 1863, and then re-enlisted, was commissioned 
first lieutenant, and appointed regimental quarter- 
master of the Twenty-ninth Colored Infantry. While 
holding this position he was wounded in the knee- 
pan, which w r ound rendered him permanently lame, 
but the pain of which he uncomplainingly bore the 
remainder of his life. He was honorably dis- 
charged from the service, and was mustered out Oct. 
24, 1865, after which he was employed, on his re- 
turn to Hartford, by the ./Etna Life Insurance Co. 
until 1872, and then by the Travelers Insurance Co. 
until his death, which occurred, after a short illness 
from pneumonia, Dec. 17, 1893. 

Mr. Goodwin first married, June 3, 1868, Mary 
Merrow Pitkin, who died Aug. 14, 1875, without 
issue. On Oct. 18, 1876, he married Miss Mary 
T>. Skinner, daughter of Dwight T. and Sarah ( Sey- 
mour) Skinner. This marriage was blessed with 
three children: George, born Aug. 25, 1878; Mary 
Edwards, born Jan. 24, 1883 ; and William H., born 
Dec. 29, 1885. 

In politics Mr. Goodwin was a Republican. In 
Tiis society affiliations he was a member of Orient 
Lodge No. 62, F. & A. M. ; D. C. Rodman Post, G. 
A. R., of East Hartford; and of the Law & Order 
League. He was a deacon in the First Congrega- 
tional Church of East Hartford, was one of its most 
influential members, and a liberal contributor to its 
support. 

From the "East Hartford Congregational Church 



History" of 1893 the following extract is made: 
"Of Deacon Goodwin, whose activity made him 
carry his years so lightly, it needs a more eloquent 
voice than mine to speak. He has wielded for so 
long a time such an influence for good, and his true 
and upright life, and earnest, self-sacrificing labors 
of love for his beloved church, none of us can ever 
appreciate. In every department he was ready to 
lend a helping hand with untiring devotion, and to 
spend his strength for its welfare. His was a na- 
ture of rare sturdiness and yet gentleness ; always 
courteous, always devout, and fearless and unflinch- 
ing for the right. His counsels will be missed not 
less than his activity. It is a cause for thanksgiv- 
ing that we have had the privilege of his life among 
us for so many years." 

ABEL PECKHAM, Jr. (deceased), was born in 
Stonington, New London Co., Conn., Sept. 12, 
1835, and descended from one of the oldest of New 
England's Colonial families, which, as the name indi- 
cates, was of English origin. 

Peleg Peckham, grandfather of Abel, our sub- 
ject, was a native of Rhode sland, and farmed all his 
life in Hopkinton, Washington Co., that State. His 
son Abel, father of Abel, our subject, was born 
July 1, 1806, and grew to manhood at Hopkinton, 
and early learned the trade of shipwright, at which 
he worked at Point Judith. R. I., until he turned 
his attention to farming. He married, at Charles- 
town, R. I., Feb. 13, 1830, Rebecca Healy, who was 
born April 23, 1809, the result of the union being 
two children: .William Franklin, born in Charles- 
town, Dec. 15, 1831; and Abel, our subject. The 
parents had, early in the thirties, come to Connecti- 
cut, where the father engaged in farming near 
South Stonington until' 1840, when he removed his 
family to Hampden county, Mass., and purchased 
a farm in Blandford, which farm he cultivated until 
1849, when he moved to Otis, Berkshire county. 
There he remained until 1865, when he returned to 
North Blandford, and in 1870 came to Suffield, 
Conn., bought a small farm, and here died Aug. 12, 
1878. At each of these removes Mr. Peckham sold 
one farm and bought another, but was too shrewd 
a man to lose money in any of his trades. In poli- 
tics he was a Democrat, and in Otis served as town 
assessor and selectman. He was a member of tne 
Methodist Episcopal Churcli, was temperate, hard- 
working and truthful, and was respected by all who 
knew him. His widow, also a consistent Methodist, 
died at the home of her son, William F., in Suffield, 
Dec. 20, 1890. 

Abel Peckham, Jr., the subject of this sketch, 
attended the district schools of Blandford and Otis, 
and, being fond of study, later went to the academy 
at Wilbraham, Mass. Upon his return he ac- 
cepted positions as school teacher in the district 
schools of Otis Center and West Otis, and this voca- 
tion he followed several terms ; he then served as 
school visitor and committee for the examination 
of teachers. He engaged in farming at Blandford 



794 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



for seven years, then removed to Florence, Hamp- 
shire Co., Mass., and for one year followed merchan- 
dising and butchering. In 1873 he came to Suffield, 
bought a farm of fifty-six acres, from Silas Clark — 
the Abijah Remington farm — and engaged in culti- 
vating the usual products of the neighborhood. A 
few years prior to his death he was attacked with 
pneumonia, which degenerated into consumption, 
and this ended in his death. May 28, 1878. His 
remains were interred in the Suffield cemetery, and 
he left relatives and friends who sincerely deplored 
his departure from their midst. He was a sincere 
and devout member of the Congregational Church, 
and died in the conviction of a blessed immortality. 
In politics he was a Democrat, but never was an 
office seeker. 

Mr. Peckham was married, at North Bland ford, 
Mass., Nov. 12, 1859, t0 Miss Julia A. Gibbs, born 
Aug. 15, 1841, daughter of Bradner S. ( iibbs, and a 
native of Blandford. and to this union three chil- 
dren were born:. Edwin L. and William Horace, 
born in Otis, Mass.: and Carrie R., in Blandford, 
Mass. Edwin L. died in Florence, Mass., at the age 
of eleven years. William Horace was educated 
in the district school and the Connecticut Literary 
Institute, at Suffield. under Prof. Shores, and since 
his father's death has farmed the homestead, to 
which he has added twenty-three acres through his 
skill and industry, and now owns seventy-nine acres. 
He has been successful as a tobacco grower, dairy- 
man and farmer, has made many improvements on 
the old farm, and has made it one of the best of its 
size in the county. In politics he is a Democrat, 
and a sound one. He is a member of the Congre- 
gational Church. The brother, sister and mother 
all make their home together on the homestead 
farm. 

Elijah Gibbs, grandfather of Mrs. Julia A. Peck- 
ham, lived and died in Blandford, Mass., a farmer. 
To this marriage, with Fanny Morton, were born 
ten children: Eli, who settled in Pennsylvania; 
Levi and Lucias, of Monterey, Mass. ; Henry, a mer- 
chant of the Keystone State ; Dwight and Israel, 
farmers of Blandford, Mass. ; Bradner S., father of 
Mrs. Peckham; Betsey Ann, who was married to 
Curtis Deming, of New Boston, Mass. ; Mrs. ( )rville 
Gibbons ; and Fannie, who was married to Smith 
Marcy, and became the mother of Dr. Marcy, of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

Bradner Stuart Gibbs, father of Mrs. Peckham, 
passed his life on the homestead, and died Aug. 19, 
1888. His widow died Dec. 10, 1890. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and a man of established hon- 
esty. To his marriage, with Sarah Demming, at 
Sandisfield, Mass., were born seven children: John 
H. ; Julia Ann, Mrs. Peckham ; Jane : Emogene, wife 
of Charles Loomis, of Leeds, Mass. ; Elijah, of West- 
held ; Marietta, wife of Russell Gibbs, of Bland- 
ford ; and Albert, who is a farmer in the last-named 
town. The Gibbs family were among the first set- 
tlers of Blandford, and the first male child born in 
Blandford was a member thereof. 



LEVI CLINTON VIETS. In time to come 
this volume will acquire added value as a repos- 
itory of records whose historical significance will 
then be fully appreciated, and the efforts made by 
this generation to preserve such data as is still ob- 
tainable concerning their ancestry will be grate- 
fully acknowledged by posterity. 

The Viets family, of which this honored citizen 
of East Granby is one of the oldest living repre- 
sentatives, has already compiled and printed in 
pamphlet form an account of earlier generations, 
Francis H. Viets, A. B., taking charge of the work, 
assisted effectively by our subject. From this in- 
teresting compilation we learn that the family is 
descended from Dr. John Viets, or Viett, a native 
of German)-, and a man of fine ability and unusual 
education for that day. He was born probably 
about 1665, and it is believed that his marriage 
occurred in New York. In 1710 his name appears 
on the town records of Simsbury, Hartford county, 
as a newly admitted citizen; on Jan. 5, 171 1, he re- 
ceived a deed of about twelve acres of land from the 
heirs of John Griffin. It appears from these and 
other writings that he signed the name Viett (the 
various spellings of the name among different 
families in Germany affording a wide individual 
choice), but after his death his sons signed it 
Vietts, which would indicate that it had previously 
been pronounced thus, and that the original form 
may have been Vietz. The present simple mode 
was adopted about 175 1 , and may now be consid- 
ered as fully authorized. Dr. Viets resided on the 
west side of the mountain, in Simsbury, in what is 
now the Falls school district of East Granby. Here 
he cultivated his farm and practiced medicine, but 
on account of the condition of the country at that 
time, and the poverty naturally attending the new 
settlement, he was not as successful as he had an- 
ticipated in his profession, and thought of returning 
to his native country. In 1713 he mortgaged his 
farm for the sum of £10. At this time there was 
a linseed-oil mill on the estate, which he probably 
erected not long before. In 1723, a short time be- 
fore his death, he received a grant of eighty-two 
acres of land from the town of Simsbury. Dr. 
Viets died of a fever when about fifty-eight years 
of age, and three surviving records concur in giv- 
ing the date of his death as Nov. 18. 1723. The 
name of his wife was Catharine, according to two 
surviving records. Of her maiden surname we 
have no record, but there is a tradition that it was 
Meyers. Her gravestone in Simsbury bears the 
following inscription: "Catherine Vets, ye wife 
of Dct. John Vets, died March 5, 1734, AL. 68." 
The inscription differs in date from the town 
record of Simsbury, and the family record kept by 
her son, Henry Viets, which states that — Cathar- 
ine, wife of Dr. John Viets, had four children in 
the following order : Catharine married a Mr. 
Hoskins, of Windsor; Henry, born 1709, died April 
2 - l 779> John, born Nov. 3, 1712, married Lois 
Phelps, died April 8, 1777; and Mary (or Mercy) 
married a Mr. Gough or Goff. At the death of 



\ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



(95 



their father Henry and John were thrown at an 
early age upon their own efforts. By their indus- 
try and ability they acquired considerable estate. 

(II Henry Viets was for a time employed in 
the copper mines in Simsbury, but soon turned his 
attention to farming, and became the owner of an 
extensive estate in the northern part of Simsbury. 
His homestead ■ is now the property and place of 
residence of his descendant, James H. Viets.. Henry 
Viets died April 2, 1779. His first wife, Margaret, 
died Sept. 28, 1750. He married, for his second 
wife, Magaret Austin, of Windsor, who was born 
in 1712, and died Oct. 14, 1783. His children by 
his first wife were: Henry, born Jan. 24, 1737, died 
Feb. 5, 1824; Margaret, born May 9, 1739, died 
Sept. 22, 1782; Luke, born June 17, 1743. died ( )ct. 
2I > 1 757> accidentally shot at Becket, Mass., while 
hunting; David, born Feb. 18, 1745, died Nov. 3, 
1815; Jonathan, born Sept. 26, 1750, died Feb. 17, 
l &i7- By his second wife he had one son, James, 
born Aug. 28, 17^2, died Dec. 23, 1827. 

Capt. John Viets, brother of Henry, was also 
for a time employed in the copper mines, and after- 
ward became a farmer and an extensive trader. 
His estate lay on the western slope of the Green- 
stone Mountain, and his homestead is now in the 
possession of his descendant, Virgil E. Viets. 
When, at the breaking out of the Revolution, New- 
gate- prison was established, John Viets was ap- 
pointed keeper, He married, Dec. 12, 17.^4, Lois 
Phelps, daughter of Nathaniel Phelps. She was 
born March 10, 1718, and died Nov. 12, 1810, while 
his death occurred April 8, 1777. They had ten 
children: John, born March 2, 1736, died Sept. 27, 

1765, married Elizabeth Phelps; Roger, born 
March 9, 1737, A. B. Vale College, 1758, died Aug. 
15, 181 1 ; Seth, born May 26, 1740, died 1823, mar- 
ried Ruth Smith; Eunice, born Nov. 24, ,1742, 
married Elisha Griswold (her son, Alexander Viets 
Griswold, was born in Simsbury, Conn., April 22, 

1766, died in Boston, Mass., Feb. 15, 1843 '■> bishop of 
the Eastern diocese of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church in the United States, from 181 1 to 1843; 
became presiding bishop in 1836. A "Life of Bishop 
Griswold" was written by the Rev. J. S. Stone, 
D. D.) ; Lois, born Jan. 29, 1744, married Jona- 
than Buttles; Abner is mentioned below; Cathar- 
ine, born Aug. 7, 1749, died April 14, 1756; Dan 
was born July 2, 1751 ; Rosannah, born May 13, 
1755, married Eleazer Rice; Luke, born June 6, 
1759. died Feb. 25, 1835. 

(Ill) Capt. Abner Viets, our subject's grand- 
father, was born in Simsbury Feb. 15, 1747, and 
died in Granby, July 27, 1826. His farm, now in 
the town of East Granby, is owned by our subject. 
His wife, Mary Viets, born June 27, 175 1, died 
Sept. 4, 1825. Their children were: Abner, born 

June 29, 1772, married Sarah , died Nov. 

18, 1825; Mary, born May 18, 1774, married Henry 
Viets, died April 7, 1805; Benoni, born Feb. 13, 
1777, married Esther Dewey, died Feb. II, 1852; 
Samuel, born Jan. 17, 1779, married Susan Pratt, 
died March 6, 1814; Eunice, born Dec. 2y, 1780, 



married Enoch Kellog, died (date not given) ; 
Dan, born Oct. 17, 1783, married Beulah Phelps, 
died Dec. 20, 1866; Annis, born March 11, 1785, 
married a Mr. Rudd ; Levi is mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth, born April 30, 1790, married Russell 
Loomis ; Apollos, born July 25, 1794, died aged 
about twenty-one. Capt. Abner Viets was a suc- 
cessful man financially, and in addition to general 
farming he was extensively interested in stock rais- 
ing. Politically he was a Federalist and was active 
in public affairs, serving some time as captain in 
the State militia. His mental gifts were superior, 
and he became especially well-informed on legal 
principles, his skill in unraveling problems of that 
nature causing him to be frequently employed as a 
lawyer. 

(IV) Levi Viets, the father of our subject, 
was born in Simsbury June 15, 1786. and received 
a good common-school education. He was one of 
the most successful farmers in East Granby, and 
resided throughout his life on the home farm, with 
the exception of five years which he spent with his 
uncle Luke. He owned and operated over 300 
acres of land, and was one of the pioneer tobacco 
raisers in that section. As a citizen he was well- 
known in the community and much respected, and 
although he never took an active part in public 
matters he was a stanch supporter of the old Whig 
party. He was a member of the Episcopal Church, 
while his estimable wife was for many years act- 
ively identified with the North Granbv Congrega- 
tional Church. He died Dec. 22, 1857, while his 
son, Levi C, was in the West, and his remains now 
rest in the East Granby cemetery. He married 
Sarah Dibble, who was born April 10, 1792, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Benjamin Dibble, and died Sept. 15, 
1852. They had two children: Levi Clinton, our 
subject, and Richard Benjamin, who was born 
April 23, 1830, and died July 24, 1863, after, a long 
sickness. 

(V) Levi Clinton Viets was born Jan. 17, 1827, 
in East Granby (then Granby), and during boy- 
hood attended the district schools of the neighbor- 
hood, with three terms in select schools in Granby 
and four in the Connecticut Literary Institute, in 
Suffield. His instruction in the English branches 
was thorough and accurate, Profs. Burnett and 
Gallop being among the teachers whose assistance 
he recalls with most hearty appreciation, and even 
in his youth he was considered one of the best 
mathematicians in this section. In April, 1851, at 
their father's request, Levi C. and his brother, Rich- 
ard B., took charge of his (father's) farm and oper- 
ated it for rive years. In April, [856, our subject 
went west and traveled much in Iowa, Minnesota 
and Nebraska, by steamboat and mail coach. At 
Dakota City, Neb., he resided four years and en- 
gaged in farming and in the real estate business. 
On Dec. 25, i860, he returned to Granby, having 
been gone about five years, and found his brother 
in such poor health that he went to work with 
him or* the ol 1 farm. For the first twelve years after 
his brother's death our subject expended most of 



796 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



his earnings in improvements and new buildings 
on his farm, but for the last twenty-four years he 
has put his money into stock investments, which 
have paid better than the farm, and by judicious in- 
vestments and careful management of his inher- 
itance he has accumulated a substantial competence, 
but he is not now much engaged in farming. Dur- 
ing all of his life, besides operating the farm, he 
has done considerable business in wood and lum- 
ber. 

Mr. Viets' library is one of the best in East 
Granby, and he is well-informed upon the topics 
of the time. His religious views are extremely 
broad and liberal, but he attends the Episcopal 
Church and contributes to its support. Political 
life has no charms for him, and on one occasion, 
when elected selectman of East Granby, he de- 
clined to serve. In early life he was a Whig and 
later he became a Republican, but the Free-Trade 
issue led him into the Democratic party, with 
which he has since affiliated. His unassuming 
manners and genuine kindliness have made him 
many friends, and socially he is connected with the 
Grange at East Granby, and with St. Mark's Lodge 
No. 91, F. & A. M., of Granby, of which lodge 
he was one of the charter members. 

HON. ALPHEUS D. CLARK (deceased). 
One of the noted regiments of the Army of the Po- 
tomac was the 14th Conn. V. L, known as the 
"Fighting Fourteenth," and the subject of this 
sketch, for many years a well-known resident of 
East Glastonbury, was distinguished for his sol- 
dierly qualities even in such company. He was one 
of the few privates who rose to the rank of captain, 
and his promotion was made solely upon merit, after 
examination before the United States Military 
Board at Washington. Capt. Clark's career as a 
business man and public-spirited citizen also shows 
his natural ability as a leader, and in 1898-99 he 
served as representative from his town in the State 
Legislature. 

Our subject belonged to an old Connecticut fam- 
ily, and his grandfather, Pelatiah Clark, was for 
many years engaged in farming in Haddam, Mid- 
dlesex county; he spent his last days at Middle- 
town, in the home of his son Alfred. Alfred Clark 
was born in Haddam, the youngest of a large family 
of children, and received a district school education. 
He followed farming as an occupation, with the ex- 
ception of two years spent in working in a brass 
foundry. His wife, Christina S. Clark, was a 
daughter of Ebenezer and Mary Clark, and they had 
nine children, as follows : Mary married Levi 
Clark ; Alpheus D. is mentioned more fully below ; 
Jeannette married Alfred L. Morgan, of Middle- 
town ; Smith married Loretta Spencer, and settled 
in Durham, Conn., where he was a well-known 
farmer and school teacher ; John B. married Sa- 
mantha Nettleton, and settled on a farm in Dur- 
ham ; Emil P. married George W. Tuttle, a me- 
chanic of Meriden ; Whitney P. married Mary 



Camp, and resides on a farm in Durham ; and Ru- 
etta and Frances both died in infancy. 

Alpheus D. Clark was born in Middletown Feb. 
7, 1836, and attended a district school, also a select 
school taught by Daniel H. Chase. His parents 
died when he was sixteen years old, and he was 
obliged to make his own way in life, his first em- 
ployment being as a farm hand. This he followed 
for three months, receiving sixteen dollars a month, 
which was considered good wages at that time ; but 
he was a good worker and had an excellent knowl- 
edge of farming for one of his years. He then 
found work in the shops of the Russell Manufactur- 
ing Co., of Middletown, remaining until winter, 
when he taught a district school. For some time 
he taught in winters and farmed in summers, and 
about i860 he went to work in the Maromas quar- 
ries, where he was employed until his enlistment, 
from Middletown, in Company B, 14th Conn. V. I., 
under Capt. E. W. Gibbons -and Col. Dwight Morris. 
He entered for three years, and was with the Army 
of the Potomac two years, taking part in many fierce 
engagements. In 1864 he passed a most creditable 
examination before the military board, and was ap- 
pointed captain of Company D, 122nd U. S. Colored 
Infantry, with which he remained until being mus- 
tered out at Corpus Christi, Texas, Jan. 17, 1866. 

On returning home Capt. Clark located at East 
Glastonbury, engaging in the stone business with 
his father-in-law, Mr. Hentze, under the name of 
Hentze & Clark. They continued together for 
twenty years, and in 1882 our subject also began 
the manufacture of paper, under the name of the 
Roaring Brook Paper Mfg. Co. In 1895 he re- 
tired from business, and spent the remainder of his 
days in ease at his attractive farm in Glastonbury. 
On March 18, 1858, he was married to Miss Mary 
Hentze, a native of Middletown, and they had two 
children : ( 1 ) Elisha P., who married Isabelle r\. 
Weir, and resided on the farm with our subject; he 
has one child, Chester H. (2) Flora M., wife of 
Lewis Krebs,. died April 18, 1899; she left no chil- 
dren. The mother of these children died Dec. 29, 
1897, and the Captain was again married, this time 
on April 24, 1899, to Miss Ellen A. House, of Glas- 
tonbury. In politics Capt. Clark was a Republican, 
and he served as tax collector, school visitor and 
justice of the peace for many years. During his 
term in the Legislature he served on the committee 
on Judicial Nomination. In early life he was a 
member of the Congregational Church, and later he 
united with the Methodist Episcopal Church, in 
which he was a prominent worker, as have also been 
his family. He was a member of Drake Post No. 4, 
G. A. R., of South Manchester, and his United 
States commission from Adjt.-Gen. Thomas gave 
him the highest rank of any G. A. R. man in the 
town. His death, on May 9, 1900, was widely and 
sincerely mourned. 

George S. and W r eltha J. (Warner) House, Mrs. 
Clark's parents, were natives of East Glastonbury 
and Marlboro, respectively. He was a farmer by 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



797 



occupation. Their family consisted of four chil- 
dren: Herbert, of East Hartford; Ellen A. (Mrs. 
Clark ) ; and Wilbur W. and Lillie, both deceased. 
The father passed away in January, 1892, the mother 
in June, 1893. Both were members of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. 

HON. SAMUEL T. WELDEN, the present 
representative from the town of Simsbury in the 
State Legislature, is a man who may truly be said 
to be the architect of his own fortune, and in making 
bis way to success has shown rare ability and energy. 
Beginning his career as a boy in a factory, he has 
succeeded in gaining a firm stand in business cir- 
cles, and enjoys a large trade in builders' hardware, 
stoves, agricultural implements and similar com- 
modities, and also conducts the most extensive 
greenhouses in his locality. The following account 
of his life and character will be read with interest, 
and cannot but convey a helpful lesson. 

Mr. Welden was born April 5, 1858, in New 
York City, son of Samuel Welden, and in the pater- 
nal line he is a descendant of an English family. 
Thomas Welden, his grandfather, a native of Eng- 
land, was one of the founders of Stonefield, Canada, 
and he and his wife reared a large family of chil- 
dren, eight sons and one daughter: John, William, 
Richard, Samuel, Reuben, James, Thomas, Freder- 
ick and Ann ; all married but Frederick, and had 
•children. Only three of the brothers are now living, 
Reuben, James and Frederick, in Canada. They 
are engaged in the lumber business, which they 
have followed throughout life, staying in the woods 
all winter getting out timber, which is sent to Mon- 
treal in large rafts in the spring. John, William, 
Richard and Samuel left Canada when quite young, 
settling in New York City, and all engaged in dock 
building, which was quite a business at that time. 
William died in Brooklyn, N. Y., about a year ago. 
Of the children of John, Frederick resides in Long 
Island City, N. Y. ; George is in the West, and 
Ellen died in Canada three years ago. 

Samuel Welden, our subject's father, was born 
in 1830 in the town of Cheltenham. England, and 
in his youth accompanied his father to Canada. 
When a young man he left home without any defi- 
nite plans, but finally located in New York and 
served an apprenticeship to the dock builder's trade, 
which he followed many years. He was married 
there, on April 10, 1855, to Miss Nancy McGirr, 
and in 1867 he became a naturalized citizen of the 
United States. His death occurred Feb. 26, 1872, 
after a long illness, and as his savings had been 
exhausted his widow found it a difficult task to care 
for their three children and her niece. Anna McGirr, 
daughter of Robert McGirr. Our subject, the 
eldest of her children, was then fourteen years old, 
and was able to render effective aid to his mother, 
who decided to remove to Simsburv, where her 
sister, Mrs. Martha McNulty, resided, and better 
opportunities for employment could be found. Soon 
after her arrival she took a position in a fuse fac- 



tory, where our subject was also employed, and 
later she became a nurse in the family of Joseph 
Toy. After the death of Mrs. Toy she' returned to 
the factory, and thus, by her strenuous efforts, her 
little family was kept together, and the vounger 
children educated and trained to useful trades. Will- 
iam Reuben, the second son, attended the Hartford 
Public High School two years, and served an appren- 
ticeship of four years as a machinist with Pratt & 
Whitney, of Hartford. He is now an expert 
machinist, and resides in New York City. George 
Frederick, the youngest son, took a course in Mc- 
Lean's Seminary, Simsbury, and after learning the 
machinist's trade with Pratt & Whitney entered the 
employ of the Ensign Bickford Co., of Simsburv. 

Mrs. Nancy (McGirr) Welden, of whose cour- 
age and ability her sons are justly proud, was born 
in Londonderry, Ireland, and died April 8, 1885. 
She passed away without warning, being engaged 
at the time in assisting some other ladies in reno- 
vating the interior of the Methodist parsonage at 
Simsbury. Her constitution was remarkably strong, 
as was shown by her years of hard toil, and in her 
stern integrity and sound common sense she gave 
evidence of her descent from good Scotch-Irish 
ancestry. For many years she was a consistent 
member of the Congregational Church, and both by 
precept and example she trained her boys to honesty 
and uprightness. Her ancestors for several genera- 
tions were residents of County Donegal, Ireland, 
and her grandfather, John McGirr, died there, leav- 
ing a large family. Her grandmother, whose 
maiden name was Rebecca Robison, afterward 
crossed the Atlantic with a son, Robert, who located 
first in Canada and later in New York City, where 
she died at the age of ninety, her remains being 
interred in Greenwood cemetery. 

William McGirr, father of Mrs. Nancy Welden, 
was born about 1800 in County Donegal, and was 
married there to Nancy Neshit. a native of the same 
locality. By occupation he was a weaver, and in 
1839 came to the United States for his health, which 
was greatlv benefited by the change. Having 
decided to remain, he sent for his family, and on 
July 4, 1841, they arrived in New York City, where 
he has been staving with his brother Robert. For 
many years be was engaged in business as a stone 
mason, and in laving flagging, and his death oc- 
curred in New York in April, [852. He was an 
honest, hard-working man, and an excellent citizen, 
and he and his estimable wife, who survived him 
two years, were members of the Presbyterian Church 
at the corner of Grand and Merc) streets, New 
York. Of their nine children, Ellen married John 
Johnston, and resides in Wisconsin, where they were 
pioneers; Rebecca died in New York at the age of 
twentv-two years, unmarried: Martha, widow of 
Alexander McXultv, resides at Simsburv, Conn.; 
Sarah married George Corran. and died in Wiscon- 
sin; Nancv, our subject's mother, was fifth in the 
order of birth: Catherine died in Ireland in child- 
hood; Robert died in Wisconsin; William, who 



798 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



served in the Civil war with the rank of orderly ser- 
geant, was a contractor for years, and is now a 
farmer at Upper Macopin, N. J. ; George, the only 
one of the children born in America, served in the 
Union army during the Rebellion, and now lives 
in the West. 

Our subject attended the public schools of New 
York City until he was fourteen, but from that time 
he was compelled to carry on his studies alone, while 
helping to support the family. He is a close, keen 
observer, and his reading has given him a wide 
range of information, his conversation making a 
stranger suppose him to be a college graduate. His 
manner in speaking is deliberate and effective, and 
had he been prepared for a profession in his youth 
he would doubtless have met with marked success. 
His unvarying courtesy has been a strong factor in 
his advance to his present enviable position in life, 
and he has hosts of friends, won by his sterling 
qualities of character. After coming to Simsbury 
he worked for fifteen vears for the firm known as the 
Ensign Bickford Co., beginning in a humble capac- 
ity, and rising to a position of responsibility. He 
then engaged in business on his own account, pur- 
chasing his present hardware store and greenhouse 
"from the estate of C. A. McLean. As both enter- 
prises were then carried on in a small way, he de- 
voted his attention to building them up, and through 
his able management they have developed to an 
extent seldom seen in towns of the size of Sims- 
bury. As a florist he has made a decided success 
with his house plants and cut flower specialties, his 
trade extending over a large territory. Politically 
he is a Republican, but for the first few years after 
attaining his majority he supported the Prohibi- 
tion party. In the fall of 1898 he was elected to 
the Legislature, where he served with credit. So- 
cially he and his wife are prominent, and they are 
identified with Epworth League circles and the work 
of the Methodist Church in Simsbury, in which Mr. 
Welden is steward and trustee. He is also active 
in the Masonic Fraternity, being a member of St. 
Mark's Lodge, No. 36, F. & A. M., at Simsbury, 
and the Chapter, R. A. M., at Collinsville. His 
wife, formerly Miss Harriet A. Case, is a daughter 
of Ralph and Mary Annie Case, and was born at 
Livonia, N. Y., where her family is well known. 
The only child of this union, Alice M., died in 
infancy. 

HON. D. W. MACK. It is a noteworthy fact 
that the scions of the old pioneer families are taking 
the lead in the manifold activities of modern life, the 
hardy stock being in no way deteriorated by the 
added culture and refinement of later generations. 

The subject of this sketch, who is one of the 
most prominent citizens of Windsor, can trace his 
descent in different lines from several of the oldest 
families in America, and by his ability and personal 
worth lie does credit to his ancestry. Among the 
historic personages with whom he can claim blood 
relationship are Ethan Allen, the hero of Ticondc- 



roga, and Peregrine White, the first white child 
born in America, while several of his ancestors 
served as soldiers in the Revolutionary army. In 
the direct paternal line he is descended from Andrew 
Mack, a Hessian soldier, who was captured at Ticon- 
deroga, and imprisoned for a time in the old New- 
gate prison, in this county; when released he joined 
the Continental army and fought gallantly on the 
side of freedom until the independence of the Colo- 
nies was acknowledged. He then settled upon a farm 
in the town of Windsor, where he died July 7, 1839, 
aged eighty-nine; his wife, Sally Pease, of Enfield, 
this county, died Jan. 23, 1833, at the age of eighty. 
They had four sons who lived to adult age : Will- 
iam, our subject's grandfather; Andrew, known as 
Col. Andrew ; James, who served in the war of 
1812, and died while on the way home from New 
Orleans ; and Henry, of whom no definite account 
has been preserved. 

Col. Andrew Mack was born March 9, 1780, at 
the old home in Windsor, and, after receiving a 
somewhat limited education, went to sea, where he 
passed through all grades up to that of master of a 
ship. He circumnavigated the globe three times, 
but in 1808 he gave up his sea-faring life, bringing 
with him on his last trip a flock of Merino sheep, 
one of the first brought to this country, from Spain. 
He disembarked at New Haven, but took his flock 
to a farm near Cincinnati, where for many years he 
was engaged in sheep breeding. He was one of 
the owners of the first woolen-mill in Ohio, being 
associated with William H. Plarrison (afterward 
President of the United States), Lewis Corneal, 
Nicholas Longworth and other prominent men of 
that day, but through indorsing a note of a New 
Orleans merchant he lost all his means and was 
obliged to begin life anew. He opened the "Man- 
sion House" in Cincinnati, which became a favorite 
headquarters for army officers, Gen. Andrew Jack- 
son being a frequent guest. During the war of 
1812 Andrew Mack organized a body known as 
"minute men of Cincinnati," which was part of the 
First Ohio Regiment of Militia, and of which he 
was made colonel. After the close of the war he 
served as representative and State senator of 
Ohio, and was also levee commissioner. After 
Jackson's election, in 1828, one of his first 
thoughts was of what he could do for his friend 
A Tack. He came to Mack's hotel in Cincinnati, and 
said: "Andrew, would you take an office? I can 
give vou a good one in Michigan." Mr. Mack said 
"it would be acceptable." "Well," said Old Hick- 
ory, "you can be governor of the Territory of Michi- 
gan or customs collector of the port of Detroit." 
After some consideration the Colonel decided that 
both his modesty and means inclined him towards 
the collectorship, to which he was appointed, to suc- 
ceed Louman Beecher. He held the office ten years, 
and as in those days it yielded less than $1,000 per 
annum to its incumbent, he decided to supplement 
his income, taking charge of the "Mansion House" 
at Detroit, of which he was landlord for three vears. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



F99 



In 183 1 he, in company with ten others, all leading 
Democrats, organized a company, and on May 5, 
1 83 1, they issued the first copy of the Democratic 
Free Press, Detroit. For some years the Gazette 
had been the only Democratic sheet in the Terri- 
tory, but it was burned out in 1830, and the Journal, 
although professedly independent, but with Whig 
leaning, had been pouring hot shot into the admin- 
istration, so the Free Press organized to offset its 
opposition. In 1832 cholera broke out in Detroit, 
being brought by soldiers from the steamer "Henry 
Clay," en route to take part in the Black Hawk war, 
but Col. Mack took in every soldier that applied at 
his hotel, although it cost him the loss of many of 
his regular guests. At one time he was mayor of 
Detroit, and in 1839 he was elected to the Legisla- 
ture of Michigan. He was a man of striking per- 
sonality, resembling pictures of "Red Jacket," the 
Indian chief, and was over six feet tall, with broad 
shoulders and firm muscles. He died July 12, 1854, 
and of his children only one son survived him, 
Charles A. Mack. He also had an adopted daugh- 
ter, Cornelia, who married Jacob Strader, a well- 
known and wealthy steamboat owner of Cincinnati, 
Ohio. Charles A. Mack was for many years an offi- 
cer in the United States Revenue service, and died 
in Detroit in 1864. 

William Mack, our subject's grandfather, was 
born May 31, 1783, in Windsor, and also served in 
the war of 18 12. By occupation he was a farmer, 
his home being in the town of Windsor, where he 
died June 15, 1862, at the ag"e of seventy-nine years. 
He was a Democrat in politics, and for many years 
was an active member of the Congregational Church. 
On May 22, 1804, he was married to Charlotte Allen, 
who was born July 30, 1784, and died Nov. 2, 1857, 
and the remains of both now rest in the cemetery at 
Windsor. Charlotte Allen was a near relative of 
Ethan Allen, of Revolutionary fame. Her father, 
George Allen, a highly respected resident of Wind- 
sor, died Oct. 16, 1835, aged seventy-nine, and her 
mother, Saborah Case, of Simsbury, died April 22, 
1840, at seventy-eight years of age. To William 
and Charlotte (Allen) Mack came nine children : 
Charlotte, born Aug. 3, 1806, married William Per- 
kins, and died May 23, 1836, in East Hartford; 
Elizabeth, born April 8, 1808, died Jan. 18, 1810; 
William, our subject's father, is mentioned more 
fully below; Andrew, born June 4, 1812, died Jan. 
26, 1876, at Chaplin, Conn., where he had followed 
farming; George A., born July 23, 181 5, married 
Eliza M. Reynolds, Nov. 29, 1837, and died May 4, 
1898, in Windsor; Henry, born March 1, 1818, died 
in childhood; Ruth, born March 5, 1819, married 
Lucius S. Merritt, of Windsor; Hezekiah, born 
April 19, 1821, was a farmer by occupation, and died 
in Windsor in 1898; Griswold, born Sept. 21, 1829, 
was accidentally killed in Sanilac, Mich., by a fall 
from a trestle. (For some years he was employed 
in the lumber business by Mr. Imlay, formerly of 
Windsor, with whom he went to Michigan). 

Hon. William Mack, the father of our subject, 



was a native of Windsor, born May 14, 18 10, and 
was educated in the common schools of the town. 
When about fourteen years old he secured employ- 
ment in a brick yard, where his faithfulness and 
steady habits soon won him promotion. Knowing 
that he had to make his own way in the world he 
saved his earnings, and at one time he worked six 
months at $12.50 per month, and only spent two 
dollars. As a young man he engaged in brick- 
making on his own account, and at present he is 
the oldest manufacturer in Windsor in that line. 
He is also interested in farming, and although he 
has been an industrious worker all his life, he is 
remarkably well-preserved, each day during the 
summer of 1898 finding him busy at some task. As 
a citizen he is much esteemed, and at times he has 
taken an active part in political affairs, although he 
often avoided official responsibilities. In his early 
years he was a Democrat, having voted for Jackson, 
but since the organization of the Republican party 
he has been a stanch supporter thereof, having been 
the first representative ever elected on that ticket to 
the State Legislature from the town of Windsor. 
His able services in that body during the Civil war 
established him still more firmly in the confidence 
of the people. 

At the age of twenty-six Mr. Mack married Miss 
Sarah M. Ware, who died June 30, 1890, her re- 
mains being interred in Windsor. They had the 
following children: William R., brick manufac- 
turer and farmer, and a resident of Windsor ; Henry 
C, a farmer and brick maker of Windsor; Warren, 
who died aged nine years; Sarah M., who died when 
one year old ; Charles N., a member of the New 
Haven police force; D. W., our subject; Willard \\ ., 
who died at the age of sixteen, from typhoid fever ; 
Sarah M., now Mrs. Elisha Cobb, of Windsor ; and 
Frederick W., who married Miss Vernelia Case, of. 
Bloomfield, and resides in Windsor. 

Mrs. Sarah M. (Ware) Mack was a lady of unu- 
sual gifts of mind and heart, and was especiall" 
noted for her retentive memory, even in old age. 
For many years she was identified with the Con- 
gregational Church, but later she united with the 
Methodist Church. Her father, Daniel Ware, came 
from Massachusetts, and for some time lived on a 
farm in the town of Enfield, but his remains are 
buried in Windsor. Her paternal grandfather, 
Sergt. Daniel Ware, who served in the Revolution- 
ary army as a first sergeant, was also interred at 
Windsor. Her mother, Sarah (White), was a 
daughter of William White, also a Revolutionarv 
soldier, and a direct descendant of Peregrine White. 
Mrs. Sarah Mack was the youngest in a large fam- 
ily of children, as follows: William, a joiner by 
trade, who died in Windsor; Alfred, a jeweler, who 
died in Windsor Locks ; Amanda, who married 
Alonzo Reynolds, and died in Windsor Locks; \u- 
relia, who married John Hillyer, and died in St. 
Paul, aged eighty years; Lucinda, Mrs. Henry Hos- 
kins, of East Granbv : Emefine (deceased), who 
never married; and Sarah, our subject's mother. 



800 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Hon. D. W. Mack was born Jan. 6, 1847, anc l 
after a course in the district schools and the acad- 
emy at Windsor he attended Bryant & Stratton's 
Business College, at Hartford, graduating in 1866. 
When not in school he was kept busy at home, either 
in farming or at brick making, and as he grew 
older he gradually relieved his father of much of 
the active work of management. On Nov. 17, 1882, 
he was appointed railway postal clerk between Bos- 
ton and New York, on the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford railroad, and this position he held until 
May 23, 1887, when he was removed for political 
reasons. His ability was not called in question, as 
is proved by the fact that he was afterward recalled 
for extra work, and served acceptably as long as 
there was need of his help. On leaving the govern- 
ment service he became a traveling salesman for the 
\Y. H. Sweeney Manufacturing Co., of New York 
City, his route covering New York, Pennsylvania 
and the New England States. Later he spent three 
years as secretary and treasurer of the Fowler & 
Miller Printing Co., of Hartford, but he afterward 
returned to the W. H. Sweeney Co., for whom he 
has traveled from the Atlantic coast to the Rocky 
Mountains, his ability bringing large financial re- 
turns. Politically he has always been a Republi- 
can, and for fifteen years he was chairman of the 
town committee, while at various times he has served 
in other offices, including that of representative in 
the State Legislature, to which he was elected In 
1879. His public spirit has been shown in many 
ways, and on the reorganization of the local fire 
company he was chosen captain. For about twelve 
years he was the leader of the Windsor Cornet Band, 
a notably successful organization, and for five years 
he was chief trumpeter of Company K, 1st Conn. X. 
G., in which his military ardor made him a valued 
member. Socially he and his family are promi- 
nent, and he attends the Methodist Church. He be- 
longs to the Masonic lodge at Windsor, and for 
years was active in the Good Templars' Society, serv- 
ing in all the offices. He helped to organize Wind- 
sor Grange No. 3, of which he was secretary for 
some time, and his influence is freely given to vari- 
ous progressive movements in the community. In 
1872 he built a handsome and substantial residence 
at the corner of Prospect and Mill streets, Windsor, 
and it is there that his genial nature and cultivated 
taste may be best seen and apDreciated. An interest- 
ing collection of curios bears witness to his wide 
travels and observing eyes, and the house is adorned 
by some fine specimens of his work in taxidermy, 
in which he has acquired more than ordinary skill 
through his own efforts. 

On June 30, 1873, Mr. Mack was married in 
Poquonock to Miss Elizabeth P. Rowles, and six 
children have blessed the union : Clara L., born 
July 28, 1874, died in Windsor, March 2, 1885 ; 
Daniel R., burn Dec. 30, 1876, died Feb. 5, 1878; 
Miss Florence E., born May 14, 1879, is at home; 
Daniel W., born April 30, 1882, died March 25, 



1883; Clinton L., born July 9, 1885; and Louis P.,. 
born Feb. 9, 1889. 

Mrs. Mack is a native of Lawrenceburg, Tenn., 
but was educated in Boston, her fine mental abili- 
ties fitting her to grace any position in life. For 
some years previous to her marriage she taught 
school in Hartford and elsewhere, and in rearing her 
clever and intelligent family of children her gifts 
as a teacher have been of service. She was born 
May 19, 1847, daughter of Dr. William Penn 
Rowles, and granddaughter of William Rowles and 
his wife Elizabeth (Penn), a lineal descendant of 
William Penn. The Rowles family is of good 
Southern stock, Rowlesburg, W. Va., having been 
named in their honor, and previous to the Civil war 
they were very wealthy. Dr. William P. Rowles 
was born at Harper's Ferry in 1792, and died at 
Lawrenceburg, Tenn., at the age of fifty years. A 
considerable part of his life was spent in study, he 
having taken a college course and being admitted 
to the Bar in Tennessee, and at one time editing a 
paper in Gallatin, Tenn. He served as surgeon dur- 
ing the Mexican war and afterwards wrote a book 
on that campaign. His wife, Clarissa (Griswold), 
was of the sixth generation in America of that well- 
known family, and traced her descent from Edward 
Griswold, of Kenilworth, England, through George, 
John, Isaac, Isaac, Cyrus, to Isaac, her great-grand- 
father; Isaac (2), her grandfather (who married 
Christiana Holcomb), and Cyrus, her father (who 
married Parmelia Niles). Dr. Rowles and his wife 
had five children, two of whom died in childhood, 
the others being Theodosia, who died at eighteen 
years of age; Elizabeth P., now Mrs. Mack; and 
Louisa, widow of George W. Fowler, of Hartford. 

_ LINCOLN E. CROSBY (deceased) was all his 
life an active citizen of Glastonbury, and in the pur- 
suit of his numerous interests became well known 
in business, public, social and religious circles, for 
his life was not one of limited usefulness. 

Mr. Crosby was born April 10, 1840, in Addi- 
son, town of Glastonbury, son of Edwin Crosby, who 
is fully spoken of elsewhere. His early education, 
acquired in the district schools, was supplemented 
by two terms of study at Wesleyan Academy, Wil- 
braham, Mass., and at this time the energetic ambi- 
tion characteristic of all Mr. Crosby's actions had 
already begun to display itself, for he earned the 
money to pay for his tuition. When sixteen years 
of age he entered his father's mill, where he learned 
finishing, afterward taking charge of that depart- 
ment until his enlistment, July 31, 1862, for service 
in the Civil war. He became a private in Company 
A, 21 st Conn. V. I., and was soon promoted to cor- 
poral. After about one year's service he was dis- 
charged on account of disability, his weight having 
been reduced to ninety pounds ; he was in action at 
the battle of Gettysburg. As soon as able, after his 
return from the army, Mr. Crosby became interested 
in the mills as a member of the company, of which 





J^- 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



801 



he became superintendent and treasurer after his 
father's health failed. In this connection he was 
active in the business until 1888, when, while on a 
business trip, he had a paralytic stroke, and he never 
recovered sufficiently to resume his former duties, 
though he still retained his interest in the mills. He 
passed away Aug. 25, 1890, deeply and sincerely 
lamented by the many friends he had drawn about 
him in the course of his helpful and active career. 

On Jan. 4, 1864, Mr. Crosby married Miss Sarah 
E. Strong, who was born Dec. 11, 1841, in Gilead, 
Conn., daughter of Edwin W. and Sarah (Staples) 
Strong. Four children blessed this union, born as 
follows: Edwin H., Oct. 23, 1871 ; Grace A., Oct. 
28, 1875; Eva A., Dec. 7, 1877; and Florence B., 
Jan. 13, 1881. All attended Wesleyan Academy, 
Wilbraham, Mass., the two younger daughters grad- 
uating, Eva in 1897, and Florence in 1898. The 
son is now in the newspaper business, being editor 
of the Glastonbury Bulletin; on Aug. 18, 1896, he 
married Ethel L. Clark, of Portland, Conn., and they 
have had two children, Lincoln Luzerne and Pris- 
cilla Alden. Grace A. is at. home. Eva A. is teach- 
ing. Florence B. took the vocal course at the Acad- 
emy, and since April, 1899, has sung in the First 
Baptist Church of Hartford. 

In political sentiment Mr. Crosby was a Repub- 
lican, and though not a politician in any sense was 
deeply concerned in the welfare of his town and 
county, held various minor offices wth his customary 
efficiency, and ably represented his district in the 
Legislature (one term, 1880-81). From boyhood he 
was united with the M. E. Church, in which he was 
specially active as a Sunday-school worker, serving 
seventeen years as superintendent of the Sunday- 
school. He always gave liberally of his time and 
means to the advancement of its interests and relig- 
ious affairs generally. Fraternally Mr. Crosby was 
a Freemason. 

HON. SILAS W. CLARK (deceased). One of 
those grand old men who give stability and. worth 
to the fabric of society passed away when, on a 
March morning in 1899, the spirit fled from Silas 
W. Clark. He had attained the age of eighty-four 
years and seven months, and his fatal illness lasted 
but two months, prior to which he was one of Suf- 
field's most sterling characters. For fifty years he 
had lived in the community, successfully engaged in 
farming, and his name was a household word for 
probity and honor. 

Mr. Clark was born in Washington, near the 
town of Pittsfield, Berkshire Co., Mass., July 22, 
1 8 14, a member of one of the oldest families of 
New England. Silas Clark, his grandfather, was a 
native of Lebanon, Conn., was a landholder and 
farmer, was noted for his industry and integrity, 
as well as his public spirit, and passed his entire life 
in his native town. Silas Clark, his son, and father 
of our subject, was also a native of Lebanon, and 
was reared to manhood on his father's farm, in the 
meantime learning the shoemaker's trade. He was 

51 



a well-read young man, kept himself well posted as 
to current events, and was, withal, industrious and 
frugal in his habits. 

While stdl a young man Silas Clark, the young- 
er, mounted his horse, the only piece of property he 
could call his own, bade farewell to the parental 
roof, and rode to Berkshire county, Mass., where 
he settled in Washington. In that town he worked 
at his trade until he had saved sufficient from his 
earnings to purchase a small farm, which he culti- 
vated in the summer, continuing at shoemaking in 
winter for several years, until he eventually, by 
economy and unceasing toil, was able to buy for 
himself upward of one thousand acres of land, on 
which he engaged quite extensively in breeding 
horses, cattle and sheep, for which he found a 
ready market in New York. He waxed wealthy, 
and won the respect of all who knew him. He was 
moreover a very popular and quite public-spirited, 
and at one time raised a company of militiamen 
at Pittsfield, of which he was elected captain, and 
which was incorporated into the State's service. 
Although he took an active part in local politics as 
a Whig, he never sought nor would accept public 
office; and while he fully lived up to the Golden 
Rule, he was very liberal in his religious views. 

Capt. Silas Clark was united in marriage, at 
Westneld, Mass., to Miss Sally King, a native of 
the town, and a member of one of the oldest fam- 
ilies of the county. To this marriage were born 
five children, in the following order: Henry, who 
died in Pittsfield, Mass. ; Andrew, who died in 
April, 1899, in Suffield, Conn.; Mary Ann, deceased 
wife of Charles Hathaway; Silas W., the subject 
of this article; and Nathan, who died in Suffield. 
Conn. The father of this family died on his farm 
in Washington in 1852, he and his wife being 
among the most highly respected residents of Berk- 
shire county. 

Silas W. Clark passed his early days on his 
father's farm, ably assisting in its care and cultiva- 
tion during the summer months. The winter 
months he passed at the district school, receiving a 
fair education, but he is chiefly self-taught, as he 
devoted much time to study after quitting school 
for good. He assiduously aided his father until he 
was twenty-seven years of age, when he was pre- 
sented by the latter with a one-hundred-acre tract 
of land,' on which he lived eight years, devoting 
his attention to general farming, dairying and 
stockraising. He made extensive improvements on 
his place, but in 1849 disposed of it by sale and 
came to Suffield, Conn., where he purchased an 
eighty-acre tract, known as the Remington place, 
near Hastings Hill, on which he resided until 1875, 
extensively engaged in the raising of tobacco, for 
some of which he received as high as fort}- cents 
per pound. He made many improvements upon 
the place, including a fine dwelling, barns, tobacco 
sheds, etc., but sold out at a fair profit and settled 
on the place of seventy-five acres which he occupied 
at the time of his death, known as the Henry Sikes 



802 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



farm. Here, for twenty-three years, he was en- 
gaged in general farming and dealing in live stock. 

In 1843 ^ r - Clark was united in marriage, at 
Washington, Berkshire, Co., Mass., to Miss Louisa 
Emaline Thompson, and to the union were born 
three children : Evelyn King, wife of Francis E. 
Hastings, of Suffield, and the mother of one child, 
Grace L. ; Amanda, married to Fred A. King, of 
Thompsonville, Conn. ; and Louise, A., wife of 
Henry B. Russell, a journalist and author. 

Rufus Thompson, father of Mrs. Clark, was a 
native of Simsbury, Conn., where he passed his boy- 
hood days, then went to Columbia, same State, 
where he learned house-carpentering, and later set- 
tled in Washington, Mass., where he assisted in 
building the first church erected in that town, and 
also worked on other structures. He eventually 
settled down to farming, passing the remainder of 
his life in Washington and died greatly respected 
by the entire community. In politics he was a 
Whig, and he was a truly Christian gentleman. 
Mr. Thompson married Miss Atria Miller, a native 
of Washington, and a daughter of Isaac and Affia 
(Hillyer) Miller, the latter of whom was a daugh- 
ter of Capt. James Hillyer, of Revolutionary fame. 
To Rufus Thompson and wife were born six chil- 
dren, in the following order: Marilla, who died 
young; Philo Erastus, also deceased; Amanda, 
who was married to Isaac Holmes, of Washington, 
and both of whom are now deceased; Horace, who 
died in Pittsfield ; Louisa E., wife of Mr. Clark, 
our subject, and one child that died in infancy. The 
mother of this family died July 9, 1826, a devout 
member of the Congregational Church and a truly 
good woman, and her remains lie interred at Wash- 
ington. 

Mrs. Clark died at her home May 22, 1900, 
after a distressing illness of six months. She was 
a lady of refinement, kind and generous, and a sin- 
cere Christian. For fifty-six years she led a happy 
and contented married life, and faithfully aided her 
husband in all his endeavors to advance his for- 
tunes. 

Mr. Clark died at his home in Suffield, March 
5, 1899,, his death resulting from a stomach trou- 
ble which had continued for about two months. 
His death was a severe shock to a wide circle of 
friends and acquaintances. With the aid of his life 
partner he made a success in life, backed by good 
sense, strict honesty and a business tact. He was a 
genial and hospitable gentleman, and an interesting 
conversationalist. As a Republican he took great 
interest in local affairs, served his adopted town 
three years as selectman, and in 1882 was elected 
to the State Legislature, in which he served a term 
with much credit to himself and to the entire satis- 
faction to his constituents. He was a stockholder 
in the Suffield Water Works, also in the Suffield 
Creamery, and was a stockholder and director in 
the National Bank of Suffield. He was likewise a 
member of the Suffield Congregational Church, in 
which he held positions as trustee and member of 



the building committee. In all the years of his resi- 
dence at Suffield he never missed an annual meet- 
ing of the Congregational Church except that held 
during his fatal illness. He was recognized by the 
congregation as one of the most liberal contribu- 
tors to its support. As a business man his word 
was never impugned, and as a citizen he was hon- 
ored by all as being truly public-spirited and gen- 
erous. 

ELISHA ROOT (deceased). Only those lives 
are worthy of record that have been potential factors 
in the public progress, in promoting the general wel- 
fare or advancing the educational or moral inter- 
ests of the community. Mr. Root was ever faith- 
ful to his duties of citizenship, and by the success- 
ful conduct of his business interests not only pro- 
moted his individual success, but also advanced the 
general prosperity. 

This in his lifetime well-known and honored 
resident of the town of East Granby, was born in 
Southwick, Mass., Feb. 11, 1815, and was the son 
of Elisha and Ann (Kellogg) Root, farming people 
of that section, in whose family were four children : 
Anna ; Eliza ; Elisha, who died in infancy ; and Eli- 
sha, the subject of this sketch- 
On attaining man's estate Mr. Root was mar- 
ried, in East Granby, Nov. 18, 1840, to Miss Cyn- 
thia S. Alderman, the ceremony being performed 
by Rev. Mr. Hemmingway. Mrs. Root was born 
April 4, 1819, and was a representative of an old 
and prominent New England family, of English ori- 
gin. Her grandfather, Epapiphras Alderman, was 
born in Simsbury, Hartford Co., Conn., Dec. 14, 
1760, and was a son of Daniel Alderman, who was 
born in 1738, and died in Hartford July 18, 1790. 
At the age of sixteen years the former was drafted 
for service in the Revolutionary war, but the father 
found a substitute for his son. He devoted his life 
to agricultural pursuits, and became quite an exten- 
sive land owner and farmer. His younger years 
were passed in Simsbury, but later he made his 
home in Granby town, where his death occurred, 
his remains being interred in the East Granby ceme- 
tery. He was an Episcopalian in religious faith, 
and late in life became a supporter of the Demo- 
cratic party. He married Miss Chloe Hayes, of 
Simsbury, who was born March 13, 1762, and they 
became the parents of the following children : Chloe, 
born May 20, 1782, married Suman Holcomb; Al- 
mira, born Jan. 26, 1784, married Ebenezer S. Hol- 
comb; Daniel T. was born Dec. 22, 1785; Cornelia, 
born Feb. 22, 1788, married Benjamin Holcomb; 
Lydia, born April 19, 1790, married Gramson Hol- 
comb; Harvey, Mrs. Root's father, was next in the 
order of birth; Sarah, born Aug. 20, 1794, married 
a Mr. Fox; Harriet, born Aug. 27, 1796, married 
Albert Hedges, of Westfield, Mass.; Norman, born 
Sept. 13, 1798, married Hattie Moore, of Chester, 
Mass; Eliza, born Sept. 16, 1800, married Mosely 
Noble; Flora, born Dec. 1, 1802, married S. R. B. 
Lewis, of Westfield, Mass.; Cynthia, born Nov. I, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



803 



1805, married a Mr. Miller; Esther, born March 20, 
1808, married a Mr. Hodges, of Granville, Mass. ; 
and Orpha, born in 1810, married a Mr. Glazier, 
and after his death wedded a Mr. Hodges. 

Harvey Alderman, Mrs. Root's father, was born 
April 22, 1792, in the town of Granby, received a 
common-school education and throughout life fol- 
lowed the occupations of farming and stock deal- 
ing. In 1827 he removed to East Granby, where 
he spent the remainder of his days. He took a very 
prominent and influential part in public affairs, and 
at one time represented the town of Granby in the 
State Legislature, besides holding other local offices 
of honor and trust. In politics he was first a Whig, 
later a Democrat. He was broad-minded and liberal 
in his views, and was well known and much re- 
spected in the community where he so long made his 
home. He was united in marriage with Miss Sarah 
Holcomb, who was born in 17Q6, a daughter of 
Asahel Holcomb, Jr., and a granddaughter of Asa- 
hel Holcomb, Sr. Eleven children were born of 
this union : Mary, who died unmarried ; Martha, 
who married Milo M. Owen (both are now de- 
ceased) ; Solomon F., deceased; Cynthia S., now 
Mrs. Root ; Laura, deceased wife of Luke Bush ; 
Chloe H., widow of Henry Remington ; James Har- 
vey, a resident of East Granby ; Allan, a farmer of 
East Granby ; Esther, who died unmarried ; Brai- 
nard L., a resident of West Suffield ; and Ellen, 
widow of Saurine Loomis, of West Suffield. Upon 
the old home farm in East Granby, the father died 
in 1875, at the age of eighty-three years, the mother 
in 1888, at the extreme old age of ninety-two, and 
both were buried in East Granby. 

Mr. Root, our subject, on leaving 1 home, removed 
to Westfield, Mass., where he engaged in farming 
and butchering for twenty years with marked suc- 
cess. He started out in life for himself in limited 
circumstances, but by industry, perseverance, good 
management, and the able assistance of his estima- 
ble wife, he became the possessor of a comfortable 
competence. In 1863 he came to the town of East 
Granby and purchased the Hillyer farm of seventy- 
five acres. Here for eighteen years he successfully 
engaged in tobacco raising and general farming, and 
by his honorable, upright life gained the confidence 
and esteem of all with whom he came in contact. He 
was a well educated man and quite a reader ; in poli- 
tics was a Whig, later a Republican, but cared noth- 
ing for the honors or emoluments of public office. 
Rather liberal in his religious views, he was yet a 
strong advocate of temperance, and did all in his 
power to abolish the liquor traffic and destroy the 
evils of strong drink, as a faithful member of the 
Blue Ribbon organization, he was untiring in his 
efforts to promote its interests. He was very do- 
mestic in his tastes ; to him there was truly "no 
place like home," and he found his greatest enjoy- 
ment in the companionship of his wife and chil- 
dren. He was one of nature's noblemen, and the 
world is certainly better for his having lived. He 



passed away July 29, 1881, and was laid to rest in 
East Granby cemetery. 

Mr. and Mrs. Root became the parents of two 
children: (1) Mary A., born Oct. 3, 1841, is a 
well-educated lady, and possesses considerable artis- 
tic taste along various lines; she is now the wife of 
LeRoy J. Northrup, of Cheshire, Mass., and has 
one son. George. (2) Charles E., born July 16, 1849, 
is also well educated, and now operates the home 
farm, making a specialty of tobacco culture ; he mar- 
ried Nellie laylor, and they have one child, Elisha, 
attending school. Mrs. Root was educated in the 
public schools of Granby, and also at Westfield, 
Alass., and later she successfully engaged in teach- 
ing school for five years, in both Westfield and 
Southwick, Mass. She was a lady of culture and 
refinement, beloved and respected by all who had 
the pleasure of her acquaintance. During her girl- 
hood she united with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, but in her later years held membership in 
the Congregational Church of East Granby. For 
many years she was a teacher in the Sunday-school, 
had charge of the Bible class for over half a century, 
and was a true and earnest Christian, a faithful 
worker in her Master's vineyard. She was called 
from earth April 9, 1900. 

COL. E. N. PHELPS, a gallant ex-soldier of 
the Civil war, and at present a noted civil engineer 
of Windsor, was born Feb. 9, 1826, in the house he 
now occupies, and is the younger of the two chil- 
dren born to Samuel and Emily (Newberry) Phelps, 
the former of whom was born near the Colonel's 
house, on what is known as the "island," at 
Windsor. 

Samuel Phelps was born July 25, 1791, and was 
a son of George and Anna T. (Fitch) Phelps, 
the latter being a daughter of James Fitch, a teacher 
and surveyor, and well known as Capt. Fitch. To 
George and Anna T. Phelps were born five children : 
James L., Walter, Samuel, Rhoda and Theresa. 
Samuel, father of the Colonel, was reared on his 
father's farm, and was educated mainlv by his grand- 
father, who was a graduate of Yale. To his mar- 
riage with Miss Newberry were born two children : 
Ellsworth N. died at the age of five years, from 
lockjaw, which was caused by a scratch on his ankle 
by a pitch-fork while playing in the barn; the 
younger being the subject of this sketch. Samuel 
Phelps had been very active in church matters until 
Parson Rowland was deposed, when he became less 
attentive, but was always a good Christian man. 
He was quiet and reticent, was a constant reader of 
the Scriptures, was kind, fond of his home, but a 
strict disciplinarian, and was an interesting conver- 
sationalist. He died May 3, 185 1, his widow on 
Dec. 26, 1870. 

E. N. Phelps, our subject, was reared on the 
home farm, his birthplace, and was educated pri- 
marily at the "Stony Hill" school. He later at- 
tended academies at Windsor, East Hampton, W'il- 



804 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



braham and Ellington, and at the age of nineteen 
years taught his first term of school, beginning at 
Ellington, receiving a recompense of $18 per month, 
and "boarding around." This vocation he followed 
five winters, teaching in his home district, the Bell 
district, also at Windsor Locks, and was quite suc- 
cessful. 

Mr. Phelps married at Windsor, Nov. 25, 1850, 
Miss Lucy A. Marshall, a native of the town, born 
Nov. 14, 1827, a daughter of Warren and Elizabeth 
(Wolcott) Marshall, she being the only survivor of 
seven children. Elizabeth Wolcott was a daughter 
of Dr. Christopher Wolcott, a renowned practitioner 
at Windsor, and a granddaughter of Dr. Alexan- 
der Wolcott, who also practiced at Windsor, and 
was a very prominent and distinguished man in his 
day. Dr. Alexander Wolcott was a son of Gov. 
Roger Wolcott, of Connecticut, who was a son of 
Simon, son of Henry, one of the first settlers of 
Windsor, and the progenitor of the family in Amer- 
ica. Mrs. Lucy A. Phelps was prepared for teach- 
ing at Windsor, and for several terms taught in 
that town and New Hartford. At marriage Mr. 
and Mrs. Phelps located on the farm of the former's 
parents, and this has since been their home. To 
their union have been born two children : Samuel 
E., postmaster at Windsor, married to Adella J. Fil- 
ley, who has borne him one child, Adda E. ; and 
Annie M., now Mrs. Hugh Harbison, of Hartford, 
and the mother of three children, Lucy A., Hugh, 
Jr., and Alexander W. 

On Aug. 18, 1862, E. N. Phelps enlisted in Com- 
pany A, 22nd Conn. V. I. and was at once elected 
captain of the company. Between the hours of two 
and nine P. M. he recruited 130 men, and was 
offered a commission as colonel, but this he declined, 
and was then commissioned lieutenant-colonel by 
Gov. Buckingham, which commission he accepted. 
He was in the Shenandoah Valley when Gen. Sheri- 
dan made his famous twenty-mile ride, and was 
quite close to him as he passed by. While in the 
field Col. Phelps was commissioned, or detailed, to 
take the votes of the men of the regiment for the 
Presidential election, then pending, and at the close 
of his nine-months' term of service he returned to 
Windsor. 

In politics Col. Phelps was first a Whig, later a 
Republican, and has held many offices, including 
those of selectman, justice of the peace, grand juror, 
representative, etc. In religion he is an Episcopa- 
lian, and freely contributes to the maintenance of 
his church. As a surveyor Col. Phelps has been 
fifty-five years in active service, having been pre- 
pared for the profession at Easthampton. He was 
assistant civil engineer on the Connecticut River 
railroad, when first built from Springfield to North- 
ampton, and has surveyed all over Hartford county, 
establishing some verv important lines that neces- 
sitated a search of records as far back as 1700. He 
at one time succeeded in putting back into the juris- 
diction of Suffield 102 acres that had for 175 years 
been in the jurisdiction cf Granby town. This 



was a very important proceeding, and added greatly 
to his reputation. He has established lines that the 
younger school of engineers has pronounced impos- 
sible, and he is known by the courts as a man who 
can give a most comprehensive descrintion of civil 
engineering wherever found. As a larmer, since 
twenty-five years of age Col. Phelps has had much 
of his work done by hired help, under his personal 
instruction. 

Col. Phelps is well preserved for his age, his 
form is erect and straight as an arrow, his intellect 
as bright as ever it was, and his humor as jovial as 
that of a school boy. He is known all over his 
town, county and State, and wherever he goes he 
is greeted as a friend, and with the most courteous, 
respect. 

FRANKLIN WHEELER, A. B., A. M., M. D. 

One of the most exacting of all the higher lines of 
occupation to which a man may lend his energies 
is that of the physician. A most scrupulous prelim- 
inary training is demanded and a nicety of judg- 
ment little understood by the laity. Then again the 
profession brings its devotees into almost constant 
association with the sadder side of life — that of 
pain and suffering — so that a mind capable of great 
self-control and a heart responsive and sympa- 
thetic are essential attributes of him who would 
essay the practice of the healing art. Thus when 
professional success is attained in any instance it 
may be taken as certain that such measure of suc- 
cess has been thoroughly merited. Among the most 
successful physicians of Hartford county is Dr. 
Wheeler, who has been engaged in practice in and 
around Farmington for almost half a century. 

A native of this county, the Doctor was born in 
the town of Avon, May 16, 1827, and belongs to 
one of its oldest and most honored families, his 
great-grandfather, Joel Wheeler, having been a 
resident of Avon. His grandfather, Amos Wheeler, 
was born there, and there made his home through- 
out life, engaged in agricultural pursuits. He gave 
the land for the Congregational church and cem- 
etery in that town. He married Miss Helen Wood- 
ruff, and to them were born eight children : Seth ; 
Luther; Emma, wife of Evelin Woodford; Daniel; 
Nancy, wife of Ellsworth Thompson ; Leonard ; 
Elizabeth, wife of John Kimball ; and Amos. 

Seth Wheeler, father of our subject, was born 
and reared in Avon, and attended school there, but 
completed his education at the old academy in 
Farmington. For a short time he was a clock ped- 
dler. In early life he imported mules for the West 
India trade, and subsequently he traveled through- 
out the South as a salesman for the Wheeler & 
Wilson Sewing Machine Company. He was ciuite 
a prominent and influential man in his community. 
and was called upon to serve as judge of probate 
in Avon, at which place his death occurred. Re- 
ligiously he was a member of the Congregational 
Church. In Avon he married Miss Harriet Wood- 
ford, a native of that town, and they became the 
parents of two children: Franklin, our subject; and 





~n~cvujSlt~i h^&^x^JM.MA. 




u 





COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



805 



Helen, who was born in September, 1830, and died 
in infancy. 

Franklin Wheeler was reared in his native town 
and at the age of twelve years became a student at 
Dr. Simeon Hart's boarding school in Farming- 
ton. In 1843 ne entered Yale College, where he 
pursued a classical course, graduating in 1847, an( l 
where later he received his A. M. degree. He then 
entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons, in 
New York City, from which he was graduated in 
1852. For one year thereafter he engaged in prac- 
tice in Avon, at the end of that time coming to 
Farmington, where he has since made his home 
and prosecuted his profession, having built up an 
excellent practice. He is probablv the oldest phy- 
sician in the western part of the county, and is one 
of the charter members of both the Hartford 
County and Connecticut State Medical Societies. 
He has been oresident of the Farmington Savings 
Bank since 1891, and prior to that time served as 
its vice-president. Dr. Wheeler is a fine, well-pre- 
served old gentleman, one who commands the re- 
spect and esteem of all with whom he comes in con- 
tact, and his circle of friends and acquaintances is 
extensive. Religiously he is a member of the Ec- 
clesiastical Society at Farmington. 

Dr. Wheeler married Miss Emily Cowles, a 
daughter of William L. Cowles, and now occupies 
the old home built by Jonathan Cowles over one 
hundred vears ago. Mrs. Wheeler died Tulv 22, 
1889. 

HON. JOHN THOMPSON, a veteran of the 
Civil war, is a prominent resident of Tolland 
county, but as his farm in the town of Ellington 
extends "over the line" into the town of East Wind- 
sor he may be claimed as a citizen there. His fam- 
ily has been more or less closely identified with East 
Windsor from an early period, and, in fact, is well- 
known throughout the State, many of its members 
having served in public office or been prominent in 
other lines. 

Mr. Thompson was born Jan. 11, 1840, on his 
present homestead, a son of John and Anna E. 
(Ellsworth) Thompson, of whom farther mention 
is made elsewhere, and is one of a family of nine 
children. His brother, E. F. Thompson, is now 
a leading agriculturist of the town of East Windsor. 
The family is of Scottish origin, and has been iden- 
tified with Connecticut for nearly two hundred 
years, our subject's ancestors having been among 
the early settlers of East Windsor. William and 
Margaret Thompson, natives of Scotland, left their 
early home in 17 16, with their family of seven chil- 
dren, setting out for New England. They first went 
to Ireland, however, and while there the father was 
taken sick and died. Before death he advised his 
wife to continue the journey, and in 1718 she came 
with her family to this country. Samuel, one of 
the sons, was the progenitor of the Thompsons of 
East Windsor. His son, James, was the father of 
John McKnight Thompson, who was the father of 



John, and grandfather of the gentleman whose 
name introduces this article. 

During his youth our subject attended the com- 
mon schools near his home and the high school at 
Ellington, and at the age of twenty-one he took 
charge of the homestead, where he has continued to 
reside. On Aug. 25, 1862, he enlisted in Company 
F, 25th Conn. V. I., in which he served as first 
corporal, and was wounded in his first engage- 
ment, the battle of Irish Bend, La., April 14, 1863, 
a minie ball passing through his right jaw. From 
April until August, 1863, he was under treatment 
in a field hospital, also at the Institute Hospital in 
New Orleans, and on Aug. 26, 1863, he received 
an honorable discharge at Hartford. On his re- 
turn home he resumed the management of the farm, 
but as time passed his attention was given to other 
interests and the place is now operated by his son. 
It is a fine estate of 200 acres, upon which he has 
made substantial improvements, keeping fully 
abreast of modern agricultural methods. He is 
president of the Ellington Creamery, and is con- 
nected with other enterprises, being the director of 
the Patrons Mutual Fire Insurance Co., for Tolland 
county. His sound judgment on business matters 
is valued by his associates, and of late years his 
time has been largely occupied with duties as a pub- 
lic official. In 1885 he was elected, on the Repub- 
lican ticket, to the State Legislature, and was again 
so honored in 1895, while in 1897 he was elected 
county commissioner of Tolland county, in which 
office he has served since July 1, of that year. 
Among other responsible offices which he has held 
we mav mention several years 'of service as select- 
man of the town of Ellington ; two years as a 
member of the State Board of Agriculture ; and 
two years as county auditor, in 1895 and 1896. He 
is a leading worker in the Patrons of Husbandry, 
having served two years as master of Ellington 
Grange, also first master of East Central Po- 
mona Grange for two years from the date of its or- 
ganization. Mr. Thompson is a member of the 
Congregational Church at Ellington, and unites 
with Burpe Post No. 71, G. A. R., at Rockville. 

On Feb. 10, 1870, our subject married Miss 
Amanda J. Bancroft, daughter of Bisseli and Jo- 
anna (Morton) Bancroft, of Warehouse Point, and 
four children have blessed the union: (1) Morton 
E. has charge of the homestead. (2) Lizzie M. mar- 
ried B. F. Pinney, of Somers, Conn. (3) Royal W. 
is the private secretary of Senator Joseph R. Haw- 
ley, of Hartford, Conn. (4) Emery J. is quarter- 
master's clerk on board the United States steamer 
"Chester." He was at Porto Rico during the war 
with Spain, and is now stationed at Havana. 

HON. J. CLEVELAND CAPEN, of Bloom- 
field, descends from an ancient Xew England fam- 
ily, of English origin, which settled in America in 
[628. In that year Barnard Capen and six sons 
came from Dorchester, England, and founded the 



806 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



town of Dorchester, Mass., and many of the de- 
scendants of these pilgrims are still numerous in 
the city of Boston and vicinity. 

Josiah Capen, a lineal descendant of Barnard, 
and the grandfather of J. Cleveland Capen, was 
born in Braintree, Mass., Aug. 8, 1772, came to 
Hartford, Conn., and in 1797 married Miss Betsey 
Wadsworth, who was born in Hartford, Aug. 3, 
1776. They first made their home on Front street, 
later removing to what is now known as Windsor 
avenue, and still later to Charlestown, Mass. To 
their marriage children were born as follows : 
Josiah, Jan. 8, 1798; Henry, May 14, 1799; Sally, 
Dec. 16, 1800; Joshua, Dec. 8, 1802; Mary, April 
12, 1804; Eliza, March 26, 1806 (all born in Hart- 
ford) ; Abigail, March 6, 1808, and Samuel T., 
Dec. 13, 1810, (born in Charlestown, Mass.). The 
mother of these was a descendant of William Wads- 
worth, of Cambridge, Mass., the founder of the 
family in New England, who located there in 1632, 
and in Hartford, Conn., in 1636. For his second 
wife he married Eliza Stone,' and it was their third 
child, Joseph W., born in 1648, who hid the Charter 
in the historic oak. Joseph W. Wadsworth mar- 
ried (first) Elizabeth Barnard, and their eldest 
child, Joseph W., born in 1682, married Johanna 
Hovey. Their eldest child Joseph, born in 1707, 
married Elizabeth Cook ; and the second of this 
union, Joseph W., born in 1738, married Jerusha 
Marsh, Betsey, our subject's grandmother, being 
one of their children. Joseph W. Wadsworth 
served in the Revolutionary war, being a captain 
in Washington's Life Guards, so that our subject 
is eligible for membership in the Sons of the Revo- 
lution. 

Josiah Capen, father of J. Cleveland Capen, was 
born on Front street, at that time the residence 
site of many of Hartford's most prominent citizens. 
In 1807 he removed with his father to Charles- 
town, Mass., where he secured an education in the 
common schools, the family returning later to Hart- 
ford, Conn. On June 5, 1820, Josiah Capen and 
his brother Henry bought of Aaron Cook about 
four and one-half acres of land on the Windsor 
road (now Windsor avenue), it being the land that 
includes Capen street and the corner of the avenue 
mentioned. In 1824 they bought land of Thomas 
Marvin; in 1826, of James E. Marsh; in 1827, of 
Moses Dickinson ; in 1829, of Allyn Goodwin ; in 
183 1, of William Sheldon and of Nathan X. Loomis ; 
in 1834, of John Bowles; in 1836, of Henry Utley, 
and in 1840, of William Harden. Henry died 
March 19, 1840. In 1850 Josiah Capen owned 
about one hundred acres on Capen street and vicin- 
ity, and opened Capen and Clark streets, and later 
Barbour and Martin streets, as he owned land on 
both sides, excepting at the north and west ends. 
Josiah Capen continued in the real-estate business 
and in farming at Hartford until 1867, dividing up 
his farm and selling it in building lots, and in 1868 
he sold his homestead, and removed to Bloomfield ; 
he purchased the H. B. Case farm for $26,000, and 



died here Aug. 3, 1884. He had lived in the house 
he had erected on the Cook property in Hartford 
from 1820, and this building stood until 1898, when 
it was torn down. 

Josiah Capen was united in marriage April 3, 
1839, at Hartford, with Miss Jane Spencer, a native 
of the city, born Jan. 12, 1818, a daughter of John 
and Olive (Rogers) Spencer, and to this marriage 
were born three children, John Spencer (who died 
in infancy), J. Cleveland and George F. 

J. Cleveland Capen was born April 28, 1843, hi 
the old Capen residence at the corner of Capen 
street and Windsor avenue, Hartford, Conn. He 
was educated at the Arsenal school, the public 
school on High street, the Hartford high school, 
and at Trinity College. For a short time he held 
a position in the Pension office, but in 1868 came 
to Bloomfield with his father. In 1873 he mar- 
ried Miss Alice L. Burr, daughter of Martin Burr, 
of Bloomfield, and this union has been blessed with 
three children: Lottie M., Robert S. and George C. 

J. Cleveland Capen and his brother, George F., 
own and conduct a farm of over two hundred acres 
at Bloomfield, all in one body, on which they grow 
over 200 tons of hay each season, as well as large 
quantities of tobacco, and at different times have 
bought tobacco and packed it for maiket. They 
have also dealt largely in live stock, and at one time 
were in the sales stable business with E. F. Kenyon, 
on Albany avenue, Hartford, in some years selling 
as many as 500 horses. From their farm they sup- 
plied Portland quarries with horses and oxen, and 
in one year they sold about $25,000 worth of oxen. 
They have a fine half-mile trotting-track on their 
farm, and usually keen a horse-trainer, as they pos- 
sess a stable of fast animals that have won many 
hard-contested races on the tracks of Connecticut. 
Their herd of cows is also quite extensive. 

In politics J. Cleveland Capen is a Democrat, and 
is very popular with his party as well as with the 
public at large. He has held many town offices, 
including those of selectman (many times), member 
of the board of relief, school visitor, etc. ; from 1876 
until 1879 he was a representative in the State Leg- 
islature, and in 1893 a candidate for the State Sen- 
ate. In his societary relations he has been more than 
usually prominent and useful. He has been presi- 
dent of the Hartford County Agricultural Society, 
and vice-president of the Connecticut State Agri- 
cultural Society, also a member of the State Board of 
Agriculture, a delegate to the Farmers' National 
Congress held at Sedalia, Mo., in 1891, as well as to 
the Congress held at Savannah, Ga., in 1893. For 
many years he has been a director of the Connecti- 
cut Stock Breeders Association ; treasurer of the 
Connecticut Farmers Lnion ; director of the New 
England Tobacco Growers Association, also a direc- 
tor of the Hartford Driving Club, and has filled 
many other positions of trust and responsibility. 

Hon. George F. Capen was born in Hartford, 
Conn., Sept. 30, 1846, was educated in the common 
schools of that city, came t^ Bloomfield with his 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



807 



father in 1868, and has been here ever since, con- 
nected in business with his brother, J. Cleveland 
Capen. He has been ever chaw of office, but served 
as representative in 1884, and was placed on the 
Committee on Agriculture by Speaker Simonds, in 
this position performing his duties most admirably. 
He is considered to be one of the best judges of live 
stock in the State, and has probably bought and sold 
more pairs of fine working oxen than any other man 
within its limits. 

In 1868 George F. Capen married Miss Mary J. 
Chapin, daughter of Hollis T. and Sarah (Dickin- 
son) Chapin, and to this union was born one child, 
who died at the age of three and one-half years. 

That the two brothers and thei" wives stand at 
the head of the social circles of Bloomfield it is 
hardly necessary to add. and their prominent posi- 
tion as business men sufficiently indicates their en- 
terprising spirit and untarnished reputation. 

HON. GEORGE LUKE VIETS, a prosperous 
agriculturist of the town of East Granby, is one of 
its most highly-respected citizens, the sturdy quali- 
ties of his pioneer ancestry being well-exemplified in 
his character and career. As a representative in 
the State Legislature, and in other positions of public 
trust, he has served with faithfulness and efficiency, 
while in his successful business career he has won 
the confidence of the community by his upright 
methods. 

As a genealogical review of the Viets family ap- 
pears elsewhere, we need onlv indicate here the line 
of our subject's descent from Dr. John Viets, a 
pioneer settler of Simsbury, through Capt. John 
Yiets and his wife, Lois Phelps ; Luke Viets, who 
married Keziah Phelps ; Luke Viets, who married 
Abigail Phelps ; and Henry W. Viets, father of our 
subject. 

Henry W. Viets was born Sept. 2, 1809, at the 
old homestead at Copper Hill, Simsbury (now East 
Granby), near Newgate. He received a good com- 
mon-school education, and in early manhood en- 
gaged in farming, but his death, on Aug. 20, 1841, 
cut short his useful life at the age of thirty-two, his 
remains being interred in East Granby cemetery. 
He was an excellent citizen, industrious and thrifty, 
and was much esteemed in the community. In 
politics he affiliated with the Democratic party, but 
his inclination did not point to official life. On Nov. 
24, 1 83 1, he married Miss Lucia L. King, who was 
born March 13, 18 13, a daughter of Horatio King. 
Of their four children: (1) William Ansel, born 
July 29, 1833, is a farmer in East Granby town; 
he married Miss Sarah F. Alderman, and has had 
three children, Chloe Marietta, born Jan. 21, i860; 
Charles Palmer, June 2, 1863 ; and Alice Elizabeth, 
June 28, 1874. (2) George L., our subject, is men- 
tioned more fully below. (3) Marietta Louisa, 
born Sept. 11, 1837, married George Griswold. (4) 
Henrietta Elizabeth, born Sept. 6, 1839, married 
George Owen, and died July 10, 1867. The mother, 
who is now the wife of James Osborne, resides in 



West Suffield, and is held in high esteem by a large 
circle of friends, having been for many years a de- 
vout and faithful worker in the Methodist Church. 

Our subject was born Sept. 6, 1835, at the old 
farm near Newgate, and was only six years old 
when he lost his father's care. The district schools 
near his home afforded him his only opportunities 
for instruction, and at an early age he was hired out 
at small wages to do farm work. He continued his 
labors as a farm hand until 1865, when he settled 
upon the Bates property, and engaged in business on 
his own account, raising general crops and giving 
especial attention to dairying, tobacco-growing, and 
stock raising. Through reading and observation his 
naturally keen mind has gained a wide knowledge 
of men and affairs. He takes an intelligent interest 
in all public movements, being active in the work of 
East Granby Grange, and in the local Republican 
organization, of which he is a leading member. At 
times he has served as town assessor and member 
of the board of relief, while in 1896 he was elected 
to the Legislture, where he did effective work, spe- 
cially as a member of the Committee on New Coun- 
ties and County Seats. 

On April 11, 1865, Mr. Viets was married, in 
East Granby, to Miss Virginia G. Bates, who was 
born Feb. 8, 1845, a daughter of Anson and Louise 
(Garnett) Bates, well-known citizens of that local- 
ity. Four children have brightened our subject's 
home: (1) Ella Louise, born Dec. 28, 1867, died 
Sept. 24, 1886. (2) Miss Georgie Bates, born Nov. 
21, 1870, is a graduate of McLean Seminary, at 
Simsbury, and the Normal School at New Britain, 
and is now a successful teacher at Montclair, N. J. 
(3) Clara Marietta, born Jan. 7, 1878, and (4) Ber- 
tha M., born July 15, 1882, are at home. The family 
is identified with the Presbyterian Church, and the 
daughters are prominent in social life, their culture 
and refinement fitting them for the best circles. ( >n 
July 6, 1889, the beloved wife and mother passed 
away, and her mortal remains now rest in the Fast 
Granby cemetery. 

CAPT. WILLIAM HENRY HEATH (de- 
ceased) was a leading business man of this section, 
and his name became well known along the Con- 
necticut river in connection with the River Trans- 
portation Co., of which he was the head for many 
years. While he was remarkably successful from 
a material standpoint, his intelligence and public 
spirit brought him into active co-operation with 
his fellow citizens in various movements of the 
dav, in which he could always he relied upon to 
take an advanced stand, his influence being cast 
on the side of progress. 

The Captain was born Dec. 16, 1803, at Ware- 
house Point, upon a farm, and the greater portion 
of his life was spent there. His father, Capt. 
Stephen Heath, who gained his title by service in 
the State militia, owned a large amount of land in 
that locality, and was the founder of the River 
Transportation Co., having perceived the advantage 



808 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



to the growing commerce of that day of having a 
regular line of boats for carrying merchandise up 
and down the Connecticut river. 

As a boy our subject attended the common 
schools of East Windsor, and his education was com- 
pleted with a course in Amherst College. He then 
engaged in business with his father, and on the 
death of the latter he entered the firm of Abbe 
Woodward & Co., in the Transportation Co., of that 
name, and managed the real-estate left by his father. 
For some years previous to his death, on Jan. 29, 
1889, he lived in retirement at the old homestead. 
His interest in local progress was manifested in many 
ways, and he was active in religious work as a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, while from the 
date of the organization of the Republican party 
he gave his support to its doctrines, and in 1863 he 
served ably as a representative of the town of 
East Windsor in the State Legislature. 

On Nov. 11, 1824, Capt. Heath married Miss 
Elizabeth S. Bartlett, who died in November, 1869, 
and Nov. 8, 1870, he married her sister, Miss Ade- 
line Bartlett, who survived him, residing at the 
homestead until her death, Feb. 22, 1899. She was 
much esteemed in the community for her excellent 
qualities of mind and heart, and was a devout mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church. Capt. Heath 
had eight children, all by the first marriage: Fran- 
cis died in July, 1887; Jane E. married Waldo M. 
Johnson,of Detroit, Mich. ; Elisha S. resides in Balti- 
more, Md. ; Julia T. is the widow of John M. Booth, 
of the town of Enfield, Hartford county; Helen 
died in infancy ; Helen M. married Franklin Moore, 
of Detroit, Mich. ; Carrie, widow of Dr. Studley, 
of New York, married James Ryan, and resides 
at Appleton, Wis.; and Charles L., a deputy sheriff 
of Hartford county, resides at Warehouse Point. 

CHARLES R. HART (deceased) was one of 
Hartford's most prominent business men, and for 
over forty years was identified with extensive mer- 
cantile interests. Coming from an old and honored 
ancestry, he well maintained the prestige of his 
name, and by his upright life won the personal es- 
teem of his fellow citizens. 

Mr. Hart was of the ninth generation of his 
family in this country, being a descendant of (1) 
Stephen Hart, who was born about 1605, in Brain- 
tree, County of Essex, England, and came to Mas- 
sachusetts Bay about the year 1632. Deacon Hart 
and his first wife were constituent members of the 
church in Farmington, Conn., in 1652. He had 
been a deacon of Rev. Thomas Hooker's Church at 
Cambridge, Mass., and, when his pastor formed a 
colony at Hartford, Conn., he became a leading 
member of the new community, holding the office 
of deacon in the church, and taking an active part 
in the progressive movements of his day. In 1672 
he was one of the eighty-four proprietors of the 
town of Farmington, in which he was prominent 
both socially and politically. In 1635 he was one 
of the original proprietors of Hartford. His house 



lot was on the west side of what is now Front street, 
near where Morgan street crosses it, and there is a 
tradition that ttie town was called from the ford he 
discovered and used in crossing the Connecticut 
river at low water, and so, from "Hart's ford," it 
soon came to be called and written "Hartford." 
He died in March, 1682. 

(II) Thomas Hart, youngest of the children 
born to Deacon Stephen Hart, was born in 1643. 
He married Ruth, who was born October 24, 1649, 
at Windsor, Conn., daughter of Anthony Hawkins, 
of Farmington. Thomas Hart was a captain in the 
militia, 1695 ; deputy to the General Court, 1690 to 
1706; speaker, 1700 to 1706; justice, 1698 to 1706. 
John Hooker and he were the two prominent men 
of the town. 

(III) Deacon Thomas Hart, second son of 
Capt. Thomas Hart, was born in April, 1680, at 
Farmington, Conn., and Dec. 17, 1702, married 
Mary, daughter of John Thompson, of Farmington. 
He removed to Kensington, Conn., and became the 
most prominent man in that society. His first wife 
died in October, 1763, and Jan. 11, 1764, at the 
age of eighty-four, he married Mrs. Elizabeth 
Norton, widow of Isaac Norton, of Berlin, Conn. 
He died Jan. 29, 1773, aged ninety-three years. 

(IV) Deacon Elijah Hart, of New Britain, 
Conn., third son of Deacon Thomas Hart, was born 
June 18, 171 1, at Kensington, Conn., and became a 
lifelong farmer. On Dec. 26, 1734, he married 
Abigail Goodrich, who was born Dec. 14, 1714, a 
daughter of Allen Goodrich. He located in New 
Britain, and he and his wife became constituent 
members of the first church organized there, April 
19, 1758. He died Aug. 3, 1772; his widow passed 
away in Simsbury, Conn., at the home of her daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Eno, Jan. 21, 1809, aged ninety-five. 

(V) Deacon Elijah Hart, son of the above and 
great-great-grandfather of the late Charles R. 
Hart, was born bept. 26, 1735, in Kensington, Conn. 
With his parents he became a constituent member 
of the church in New Britain, 1758, and led the 
singing therein. He was of strictly puritanical 
habits, a farmer by occupation and possessor of 
considerable property. On May 11, 1757, he mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of Ebenezer Gilbert. He died 
Dec. 10, 1800, his wife on Sept. 22, 1809. 

(VI) Deacon Elijah Hart, son of the above, and 
great-grandfather of tne late Charles R. Hart, was 
born May 7, 1759, at New Britain, Conn. He was 
a large farmer and an extensive manufacturer of 
cornmeal for the West Indies trade. On March 
18, 1778, he enlisted in the Revolutionary army for 
three years, and was present at the surrender of 
Burgoyne. On Dec. 21, 1780, he married Anna 
Andrews, who was born Sept. 6, 1760, a daughter 
of Hezekiah Andrews. Deacon Hart died from 
the effects of a bee's sting Aug. 4, 1827, his widow 
passing away Dec. 2, 1835. 

(VII) Jesse Hart, son of the above and grand- 
father of our subject, was born in New Britain, 
Conn., April 20, 1789, and became a respected citi- 
zen of that town. For many years he was engaged 




cAa/J&.MtiJ^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



809 



in business there as a blacksmith, having learned 
the trade under Orrin Lee in Hartford. On April 
5, 18 10, he married Lucina Cowdry, who was born 
Sept. 17, 1788, a daughter of Asa Cowdry, of Hart- 
land, Conn., and they had two children: Art emus 
Ensign, a sketch of whom follows ; and Lucina, 
born Dec. 3, 1821, who married John H. Good- 
win, and died May 16, 1885. Jesse Hart died in 
New Britain Feb. 21, 1825, his widow in Paris, 
France. 

(VIII) Artemus Ensign Hart, father of the 
late Charles R. Hart, was born Feb. 11, 1812, in 
New Britain, Conn., and was reared at the old home- 
stead, which occupied the site of the present Con- 
gregational parsonage. He built a house in New 
Britain on Washington street, which was used as 
the Episcopal parsonage. He was a man of re- 
tiring and unpretentious nature and a devout mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, his excellent 
qualities of character making him a valued citi- 
zen. By occupation he was a jeweler, and after 
carrying on that trade for some years at Newington 
he removed to Hartford and later to West Hart- 
ford, where he died in 1884, his remains being 
taken to New Britain for interment. On Aug. 24, 
1836, he married Ann Elizabeth Clark, who was 
born Dec. 7, 1816, a daughter of Abel and Catherine 
(Eckerst) Clark, of Litchfield, Conn., well-kno'wn 
residents of that section. Children as follows were 
born to Artemus E. and Ann E. Hart : Virginia 
Veeder, now Mrs. Charles J. Smith, of Hartford'; 
Charles R., subject of this sketch; Artemus Elijah, 
a banker of Hartford, a sketch of whom appears 
elsewhere; Lucina, who died in infancy; Ann Eliz- 
abeth, who married (first) Charles Macken, of 
New York, and (second) Alfred Huber, of Paris; 
Henry L., deceased ; and Joseph C, of the Pratt 
Street Bank, Hartford. 

(IX) Charles R. Hart, the suoject proper of 
this memoir, was born June 17, 1840, at the old 
home in New Britain, and was educated in the 
schools of that town. Instead of taking a college 
course he chose an active business career, and in 
1857 he came to Hartford, where he entered the 
store of Joab H. Hubbard as clerk, beginning or 
very small wages. He proved admirably adapted 
to the business, being courteous and attentive, and 
readily acquiring a knowledge of the minute de- 
tails that escape the notice of many. As time passed 
he was enabled, through a judicious management of 
his resources, to engage in business on his own 
account, and so well did he succeed that he ac- 
cumulated a substantial fortune. He resided in 
Hartford until January 6, 1897, when he removed 
to Windsor, having purchased the Hutchison estate 
on Windsor Heights, known as "Broadview." The 
residence was thoroughly remodeled and fitted with 
all conveniences known to city homes, and now, 
with its spacious, well-kept grounds, it is one of 
the finest and most pleasantly located suburban resi- 
dences around Hartford. In private life Mr. Hart 
was known as a kind and generous man, but he 
avoided all publicity in his benefactions. His in- 



tegrity was never questioned, and in matters of 
opinion he was always ready to concede the rights 
of others, never seeking to change anyone's ideas 
to correspond with his own. For many years he 
was a member of Christ Church, Hartford, to which 
he contributed liberally. He died Nov. 22, 1898, at 
his home in Windsor, and among the many testi- 
monials to his worth which the sad event brought 
out we may quote the following from the "Carpet 
Review :" 

"Charles R. Hart, president of the Charles R. 
Hart Co., of Hartford, died at his home in Wind- 
sor, of pneumonia, on the 22d ult., after an illness 
of about a week's duration. He was born in New 
Britain, Conn., in 1840. In 1857 he went to Hart- 
ford and found employment in the dry-goods store 
of J. H. Hubbard. Subsequently he was employed 
by Talcott & Post. From there he went to Sugden 
& Co., in the old Catlin block, at the corner of Main 
and Asylum streets. The business relations be- 
tween Mr. William E. Sugden, the senior member 
of the firm, and Mr. Hart, which began at that 
time, have been continued until now. Mr. Hart 
was soon taken into partnership, and the firm con- 
tinued under the same name until the admission 
into partnership of Lent. B. Merriam, when the 
name was changed to Hart, Merriam & Co., Mr. 
Suyden remaining in the firm, but the younger men 
taking more direct charge of the active business 
work, in 1888 the firm was changed to Charles 
R. Hart & Co., owing to the retirement of Mr. 
Merriam. The house was incorporated in 1897 as 
the C. R. Hart Company, the members of the cor- 
poration being W. E. Sugden, Charles R. Hart, 
Samuel A. Bacon and Grovenser W. Curtis, Mr. 
Hart being macie president; G. W. Curtis, vice- 
president; Mr. Sugden, treasurer; and S. A. Bacon, 
secretary. 

"The company moved a few weeks ago into its 
handsome quarters in the new Sage & Allen build- 
ing. Mr. Hart was a thirty-second-degree Mason. 
He was active in municipal politics, for a number 
of years serving in tne court of common council 
from the old First ward. In 1884 he was appointed 
a member of the board of water commissioners by 
Mayor Morgan G. Bulkeley, and received a re-ap- 
pointment three years later from Mayor Bulkeley. 
He leaves a widow and one daughter." 

The "Connecticut Courant," Nov. 28, 1898, in 
an extended review of Mr. Hart's many noble final- 
ities, said : "Charles R. Hart, head of the Charles 
R. Hart Co., and one of Hartford's leading busi- 
ness men, died at his home in Windsor last evening 
of asthma, from which he had been a sufferer for 
years. Mr. Hart was one of the original Wide 
Awakes, and was a member of the Veteran Asso- 
ciation of the Hartford City Guard, having serve' 1 
a term in the active company soon after the Civil 
war. He was a thirty-second-degree Mason and a 
member of Sphinx Temple, A. A. ( ). X. M. S. He 
was an earnest Republican in politics, and a few 
vears ago was an active force in politics. In 
the death of Mr. Hart Hartford has suffered a 






810 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



severe loss in a philanthropic sense and from a 
progressive standpoint. Mr. Hart's personality was 
a strong feature. He was a bright, active busi- 
ness man, and very genial in his business and per- 
sonal relations." 

On April 4, 1866, Mr. Hart was married, in 
Christ Church, Hartford, to Miss Ellen M. Wood- 
ruff, and two children blessed the union: (1) 
Charles R. died in infancy. (2) Edith W., born 
Sept. 21, 1869, was educated at the Hartford Fe- 
male Seminary, and married Charles A. Blake, a 
well-known business man of Taunton, Mass., and 
a member of one of the best families of that town. 
For some time he was engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness at Hartford, but at present is at the head of 
the Hartford branch of banking house of Lewis A. 
May & Co., of New York. He resides with his 
wife's mother in Windsor. Mr. and Mrs. Blake 
had one son, deceased in infancy. 

Mrs. Ellen M. (Woodruff) Hart was born in 
Hartford Feb. 9, 1843, a daughter of O. D. Wood- 
ruff, a prominent citizen. Her mother, Mary J. 
Crosby, was a daughter of William and Rachel 
Crosby, of West Hartford, and a sister of Erastus 
Crosby, at one time president of the First National 
Bank of Hartford. Mrs. Hart was graduated from 
the Hartford Female Seminary, on Pratt street, 
class of '61, and is cultured and intelligent, her fine 
social gifts making her beautiful home, "Broad- 
view," the center of a gracious hospitality. 

MOSES McKEE (deceased) was for many 
years a leading agriculturist of the Farmington 
Valley, and his successful life furnishes an example 
worthy of emulation, his prosperity having been 
gained by useful industry without the sacrifice of 
honor and integrity. 

Mr. McKee was a representative of the Scotch- 
Irish race, which has given so many enterprising and 
successful men to America, and was born in County 
Antrim, Ireland, the son of William and Esther 
(Money) McKee, both of whom were natives of 
Scotland. They were members of the Presbyter- 
ian Church, and industrious, upright citizens, the 
father being a farmer by ocupation. Of their large 
family of children several settled in Canada, while 
John, Joseph and Moses engaged in agriculture 
in the Farmington Valley. 

Our subject received a limited education in his 
native land, and at the age of eighteen came to 
America in a sailing vessel, landing in Canada, 
where he remained for a short time. On crossing the 
line into the United States he spent some time in 
New York State, but he was still a young man when 
he came to Connecticut and found employment as 
a laborer among the farmers of the Farmington 
Valley. When he had accumulated enough money 
to buy a homestead for himself he settled in that 
locality, engaging in general farming, dairying, 
stock raising and tobacco growing. After some 
years he bought the Gillett farm, a fine estate of 
300 acres near Avon, and there he made many im- 



provements. He was an active member of the 
Congregational Church in Farmington, and by both 
example and precept he taught the value of a 
temperate life, devoted to duty. In politics he was 
a Republican. He died at his farm Dec. 4, 1889, 
and his remains were interred in the cemetery at 
Farmington. 

Mr. McKee's first wife, Eveline (Andrews), 
was a native and lifelong resident of Farmington. 
For his second wife, he married Sarah Miller, of 
Avon, daughter of John Miller, and granddaugh- 
ter of Ebenezer Miller. She died in 1897, deeply 
mourned by her many friends, whose respect and 
esteem had been gained by her Christian character. 
Moses and Sarah McKee had four children: (1) 
William J., a farmer of Farmington, married Caro- 
line Wilson, and has three children, Allen, Will- 
iam J. and Albert. (2) Moses, a real estate agent 
and broker in New York, married (first) Georgia 
Chesebro, of New York, and (second) Marion 
Miller; he has three children, George Chesebro, 
Florence and Margurete. (3) Miss Esther M. 
was educated in the district schools and in the female 
seminary at New Britain, and resides on the home- 
stead. (4) Joseph A., a prominent lawyer of Louis- 
ville, Ky., was a soldier in the recent war with 
Spain. 

HON. SYLVESTER DAVID ROCKWELL, 
a prominent business man of Warehouse Point, is 
deservedly popular among his fellow townsmen, 
and has served on the board of selectmen longer 
than any other man in East Windsor town, being 
first selectman for fifteen years. 

Mr. Rockwell comes of good New England 
stock, his ancestors having settled in Massachusetts 
at an early day. Jabez Rockwell, his grandfather, 
was born and reared in Massachusetts, where he 
learned the cooper's trade, and on coming to Hart- 
ford county, Conn., he located at Warehouse Point. 
He was a man of excellent standing in the commun- 
ity, and for manv years was a leading member of the 
Episcopal Church. 

Samuel W. Rockwell, our subject's father, was 
born in Warehouse Point Jan. 2, 1799, and died in 
1857. As he grew to manhood he became an ex- 
pert cooper under his father's instruction. His es- 
timable wife, whose maiden name was Harriet 
Hitchcock, passed away April 23, 1883. They had 
a family of five children : ( 1 ) Harriet E., born 
March 29, 1822, married George Filley, and died 
teb. 28, 1850. (2) Samuel A., born April 26, 
1824, was a sea-faring man and died at sea in June, 
1846. (3) Mary L, born Aug. 7, 1826, married 
Christopher B. Pelton, and died April 15, 1872. 
(4) John J., born April 17, 1829, is a resident of 
Springfield, Mass. (5) Sylvester D., our subject, 
is the youngest. 

Sylvester D. Rockwell was born Nov. 21. 1833, 
in Litchfield county, Conn., but has lived most of 
his life in the town of East Windsor. At nine 
years of age he began working for his board and 




qf ^rifax/iui^jee 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



811 



clothes,. spending three years on a farm in Windsor 
and four years in East Windsor. He was then 
employed at ten dollars per month by Edmond 
Watson, of East Windsor Hill, with whom he re- 
mained six months, and from that time until he 
reached the age of twenty-two he was engaged 
in raising tobacco by the pound. Going to Wiscon- 
sin, he spent six months in that State, and after his 
return to Warehouse Point he began raising to- 
bacco for Buckley P. Barber at three cents per 
pound. He continued with Mr. Barber six years, 
being superintendent of the farm during tne last 
three years, and for two years was employed by 
Col. Phelps. By that time he had accumulated 
sufficient capital to warrant his venturing into busi- 
ness for himself, and he bought sixteen acres of 
land in Warehouse Point village, where he has 
since been successfully engaged in growing tobacco. 
In 1869 he opened a coal yard, which he still con- 
ducts, and lie is regarded as one of the most suc- 
cessful self-made men of his town. For many years 
he lias been an active worker in the local Repub- 
lican organization, his ability and popularity mak- 
ing him a leader in tlie party councils. The first 
office he ever held was that of grand juror; for 
sixteen years he has served as selectman ; was col- 
lector of taxes in 1891 ; and in 1880 and 1896 he was 
elected to the State Legislature, his efficient service 
in that body reflecting lasting credit upon him. 
Mr. Rockwell has always taken an interest in edu- 
cational matters, and was for about fifteen years 
treasurer of School District No. 5, town of East 
Windsor. In religious faith he is a Methodist, and 
for thirty-five years he has been a class leader in the 
church at Warehouse Point. 

On Jan. 9, 1859, Mr. Rockwell for his first wife 
married Miss Lydia Hendrick, who died July 17, 
1863, and their only child, Dexter Hendrick, died 
in infancy. On Sept. 20, 1865, he married Miss 
Chloe G." Phillips, who died July 18, 1866. On 
March 17, 1868, he was again married, this time to 
Miss Flavia Pease, by whom he has had three chi'- 
dren : Olin S., born Feb. 24, 1869, is superintendent 
of the Chucy Mills at Windsor Locks ; Raymond' 
S.. born Feb. 15, 1877. is a resident of Enfield; and 
Alice, born Jan. 18, 1879, is the wife of Ralph M 
Weston, of Springfield. Massachusetts. 

HON. ELIHU BURR CASE, of Bloomfield, 
was born in Simsbury (now Bloomfield), Hartford 
county, in the Duncaster district, Feb. 23, 1830, 
and is a son of Elihu Hiram and Nancy (Wood- 
ward) Case. 

Hezekiah Case, grandfather of Elihu B. Case, 
was a native of Simsbury, Conn., and some time 
prior to 1799 settled in the eastern part of that town, 
which is now known as Bloomfield. He first mar- 
ried Miss Cynthia Eno (grandmother of our sub- 
ject), and to this union were born two children: 
Hezekiah Hart, father of Curtis Hart and W r illiam 
G. Case, of whom mention will be made farther on, 
and Elihu Hiram, father of our subject. By his 
second marriage, to Susan Adams, he had two 



daughters and one son. Hezekiah Case was a 
highly-respected farmer and influential citizen, was 
warden of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church at North 
Bloomfield, in politics was a Democrat, and at one 
time served as representative in the State Legisla- 
ture from the Simsbury district. 

Ehhu Hiram Case, father of our subject, was 
educated in the district school of Bloomfield, and 
was a farmer from boyhood. He first married Miss 
Nancy Woodward, and their union was blessed with 
five children : Hiram Bidwell, deceased ; Amelia, 
widow of Alden Cadwell, of West Hartford ; Delia 
(twin of Amelia), deceased; Emeline, who first 
married Eli Cheesbro, by whom she had two chil- 
dren, Alfred C. and Elva, and after Mr. Cheesbro's 
death became the wife of Daniel H. Webster, by 
whom she also had two children, William and Ida; 
and Ehhu Burr, the subject of this memoir. Mrs. 
Nancy Case was called away in 1840, and Air. Case 
afterward married Emeline Evans ; she bore him 
one son, Hezekiah E., who married Mary Pagan, 
and has a family of three children, Harry, Louise 
and Nellie. Air. Case was in politics a Democrat. 
He died June 23, 1872, a faithful member of St. 
Andrew's Episcopal Church, and a highly-respected 
citizen. 

Hon. Elihu Burr Case was reared in Bloomfield 
and was educated in the district school, the Sims- 
burv Academv, the Suffield Institute and the El- 
lington Institute ; he began his business life as a 
teacher in the home school and also taught in West 
Hartford and in Canton, Conn. He married, at 
Simsbury, Jan. 1 1, 1857, Miss Mariette W. Wilcox, 
daughter of Jeffrey Wilcox, and to this marriage 
have been born three children: (1) Miron J., book- 
keeper for the Pope Alanufacturing Co., at Hartford, 
was married to Alartha Johnson, who has borne him 
one son and one daughter; (2) Janie L., wife of 
George H. Fitch, of Windsor; and (3) Burton O., 
of Chicago, married to Aliss AlcRoy. Elihu B. 
Case, has for many years been engaged in farming in 
Bloomfield, and has been very successful in all his 
undertakings. Mrs. Case takes much pleasure in 
taxidermic work. In politics Mr: Case is a Demo- 
ocrat, has held most of the town offices, and in 1874 
was the choice of his party to represent it in the 
State Legislature. He has been clerk of St. An- 
drew's Episcopal Church for thirty-seven years, 
and stands very high in the esteem of his immediate 
friends and the public in general. 

Hon. Curtis Hart Case, son of Hezekiah Hart 
Case, was born in the town of Simsbury (now 
Bloomfield) April 7, 1823. The father was born in 
the same town Nov. 7, 17QS, was reared a farmer, 
and married, Jan. 22, 1822, Rosabella Pinney, who 
was born May 4, 1800. To this union were born 
four children, in the following order: Curtis H. ; 
Elizabeth R., bom July 30, 1826, married to F. A. 
Latimer Sept. 18, 1850, and now deceased ; Cynthia 
Ann, born June 26, 1829, who died Sept. 24, 1834; 
and William G., born Aug. 12, 1834. and married, 
Jan. 27, 1863, to Venelia H. Todd. Hezekiah Hart 



812 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Case was in politics a Democrat, held all the minor 
town offices, and was in every way a useful citizen. 
His wife was called away from him May 15, 1864, 
and he himself passed away May 29, 1876, a con- 
sistent member of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church. 

Hon. Curtis H. Case passed his early school 
days in the Duncaster District of Bloomfield, and 
also attended school at Granby and Suffield, Conn., 
and Westfield, Mass. He was reared to manhood 
on his father's farm, and married, June 10, 185 1, 
Eliza Hoskins, daughter of Noah Hoskins, and 
granddaughter of Asa Hoskins. Mr. and Mrs. C. 
H. Case have adopted, as their own son, Alfred C, 
who married Abigail Hoskins, and has five chil- 
dren, Eliza N., Emma J., A. Curtis, Edmund E. 
and John Asa. To Elva M., the adopted daughter 
of Curtis H. Case, and wife of Everett Kenyon, 
were born seven children : Elva Estelle, Mabel A., 
Everett Seth, Lottie, Nettie, Jessie and May. Mr. 
and Mrs. Case are members of the Congregational 
Church of Bloomfield, and in politics Mr. Case is a 
Democrat. As such he has served as selectman 
and in the minor town offices, and also one term in 
the State Legislature. His social standing is nec- 
essarily high, as he and family are classed among 
the oldest and most respected residents of the town. 

William G. Case, M. D., the younger brother of 
Hon. Curtis H. Case, was educated elementarily in 
the Duncaster District of Bloomfield, and early be- 
came a school teacher in his native county. In 
1861 he entered the medical department at Yale, 
and in 1862 entered the hospital at New Haven, 
and further pursued his studies under Surgeon 
Jewett. He has confined his practice to the vicinity 
of his home farm, however, on which he has lived 
the greater portion of his life. To his marriage, 
at Wallingford, with Miss Venelia H. Todd, have 
been born three children: George H. ; Venelia R., 
wife of Frederick W. Mack, and Delia A., who 
died at the age of seven months. Mrs. Mack, a 
highly accomplished lady, has published a volume 
entitled "Grange Poems," which contains forty-five 
of her exquisite productions, and which was copy- 
righted in 1891 and issued in 1892. The Doctor is 
a member of Hiram Lodge No. 98, F. & A. M., at 
Bloomfield. He has a large collection of antiques 
and historical works, and is considered one of the 
best read men of the county. 

The Case family is classed among the oldest 
settlers of Simsbury, as John Case, the progenitor 
of this family, resided there over two centuries 
ago, and his remains were interred there in 1633. 

GEORGE WATSON HUBBARD (deceased), 
late assistant secretary of the yEtna Life Insurance 
Company, of Hartford, was for the long period of 
twenty-eight years closely and efficiently identified 
with the growing business of that corporation. 

Born March 24, 1841, in the town of Bloomfield. 
Mr. Hubbard was the only son of Joab Hiram and 
Fidelia (Cadwell) Hubbard, and a descendant of a 
sturdy New England family. (1) George Hubbard, 



the emigrant ancestor of the Bloomfield branch of 
the Hubbards, to which our subject belonged, was 
born in 1601, probably in southeastern England. His 
name first appears of record in this country in 1639, 
in a list of early settlers of Hartford, who came over- 
land from the vicinity of Boston during the years 
1635 and 1636, and located the towns of Windsor, 
Hartford and Wethersfield, Conn., and Springfield, 
Mass. George Hubbard married, in 1640, Eliza- 
beth Watts. He moved to Mattabessett (afterward 
called Middletown) in 1650, and died there in 1684. 
From him our subject is a descendant in the eighth 
generation, the line of his descent being through 
Samuel, John, John (2), John (3), Joab and Joab 
Hiram. 

(II) Samuel Hubbard, son of George, the emi- 
grant, born in 1648, in Hartford, married, in 1673, 
Sarah Kirby. Mr. Hubbard died in Hartford in 
1732. 

(III) John Hubbard, son of Samuel, born in 
1691, in Hartford, married, in 1715, Agnes (Spen- 
cer) Humphreys. He settled about 1721 on the 
east side of Talcott Mountain, in the town of Sims- 
bury, and about 1740 removed to that part of Wind- 
sor that afterward became Bloomfield, dying there 
in 1775. 

(IV) John Hubbard (2), son of John, born in 
1 72 1, in Hartford, married Hannah Cadwell, and 
lived in what is now Bloomfield ; he died in 1760. 

(V) John Hubbard (3), son of John (2), born 
in 1748, in Windsor, Conn., married, in 1775, Su- 
sannah Wells, and lived in Bloomfield. He was a 
member of the State Legislature in t8io; lie died 
in 1830. 

(VI) Joab Hubbard, son of John (3), born in 
1777, married, in 1804, Ruth Brown, who was born 
in 1783. They lived and died in Bloomfield. Their 
children were: Joab Hiram is mentioned below; 
Ruth S., born about 1809, died in 1824; Franklin, 
born about 18 10, was a most highly respected farmer 
of Bloomfield, and died in Hartford in 1886; Ann 
E., who never married, died in 1900; Langdon re- 
moved to Huron City, Mich., and died in 1892 ; 
Marilla (1) and Marilla (2) both died young; Wat- 
son is a resident of Sandusky, Ohio ; Susan V. and 
Jeannette are residents of Hartford. 

(VII) Joab Hiram Hubbard, son of Joab, and 
the father of our subject, was born about 1806, in 
the town of Bloomfield. He married Fidelia Cad- 
well, and their only son was George Watson. The 
father during the latter years of his life was a dry- 
goods merchant in Hartford, and he was an esteemed 
and respected citizen of the community. 

George Watson Hubbard, the subject proper of 
this sketch, came with his parents on their removal 
to Hartford, when he was twelve years of age, and 
here completed his education in the public schools 
of the city. After his school days were over he 
passed a period engaged in mercantile life, and in 
1865, at the age of twenty-four, entered the employ 
of the ^Etna Life Insurance Co., in whose service 
he spent the rest of his life — a period of over twenty- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



813 



eight years — during which time he proved himself 
a most capable man in his several departments. For 
some fifteen years he was chief clerk, and then ad- 
vanced to the assistant secretaryship of the com- 
pany — a new office created some years prior to Mr. 
Hubbard's death, and for which he was particu- 
larly well adapted, owing to his familiarity with 
every detail of the large business. The writer of 
the obituary notice of Mr. Hubbard states that "he 
was a man of singularly even temperament, of do- 
mestic tastes, exemplary character and habits, and 
an earnest member of Christ Church, of which he 
was one of the vestrymen." 

Mr. Hubbard was a good financier, possessing 
sound business judgment, and by habits of in- 
dustry, diligence and careful investment accumu- 
lated considerable property. He carried a life in- 
surance of about $25,000, in the ^Etna, Equitable 
Life Assurance Society of New York, Mtuual Ben- 
efit Life Insurance Co., of Newark, N. J., and other 
companies. In his political views he was a Re- 
publican, but he had no taste for public life. For 
a number of years prior to his death he had been 
treasurer of the Hartford County Horticultural So- 
ciety. For years he has resided on Wethersfield 
avenue, but some two years before he died trans- 
ferred his home to West Hartford. He was an ex- 
cellent citizen. 

On Dec. 8, 1880, Mr. Hubbard was married 
to Miss Elizabeth Gay, born Feb. 14, i860, daugh- 
ter of Joseph C. and Elizabeth G. (Wells) Sisson, 
and the union was blessed with children as follows : 
Helen May, born May 3, 1882; Elizabeth Fidelia, 
born May 24, 1884; and Margarie, born Aug. 26, 
1890. The father died Oct. 13, 1893, and the 
mother passed away March 28, 1897. 

On the day of Mr. Hubbard's funeral the offices 
of theyEtna Life Insurance Co. were closed out of 
respect to the deceased, and his fellow associates in 
business attended the funeral in a body. The 
funeral services were held at Mr. Hubbard's late 
home in West Hartford, Rev. J. P. Faucon, as- 
sistant rector of Christ Church, officiating. The 
honorary pallbearers were : Warden George Ellis, 
representing Christ church ; Secretary Joel L. Eng- 
lish and Cashier Charles F. Gilbert, of the Aetna 
Life Insurance Co. ; and Charles T. Wells, for- 
merly of the ^Etna Life Insurance Co., an intimate 
personal friend of Mr. Hubbard. 

MRS. ELIZABETH GAY SISSON, of West 
Hartford, comes of distinguished ancestry. Her 
father, George Wells, was born in Hartford Sept. 
18, 1797, and was the second son of Ashbel and 
Mary (Hopkins) Wells. His paternal grandfather 
was "Ashbel Wells, Sr., and his maternal grand- 
father was Thomas Hopkins, a prominent sea cap- 
tain of his day. All were of English descent. 

Ashbel Wells, Jr., was a clerk in the commissary 
department of Gen. Washington's army during the 
Revolutionary war, and subsequently was a promi- 
nent and extensive West India merchant of Hart- 



ford. He died Sept. 4, 1819, at the age of sixty- 
one years, and, being very generally respected, his 
death was looked upon as a public calamity in the 
community where he had so long been engaged in 
business. 

George Wells, father of Mrs. Sisson, left his 
native city at the age of seventeen years, and went 
as far west as Albany, N. Y. He obtained em- 
ployment as a shoemaker at Little Falls and Utica, 
X. Y., and finally located in Le Roy, that State, 
where he worked at his trade for a year and a half. 
By way of the Great Lakes he traveled from Buffalo 
to Brownhelm, Ohio, where he arrived June 18, 
1818, and there he took up fifty acres of land on the 
lake shore, later increasing his property until he 
had one hundred acres. He erected thereon a log 
house in which he lived for nineteen years, de- 
voting a part of his time to farming and the re- 
mainder to his trade. In 1837 he sold that place, 
with the intention of moving farther west, but finally 
purchased a farm of 125 acres in the same locality, 
on which he made his home until his death. He 
cleared and improved both farms. He was an 
earnest and active member of the Congregational 
Church, and was an ardent Republican in politics. 

On March 22, 1825, George Wells married 
Miss Maria Butler, of West Hartford, who was 
born Feb. 19, 1803, and died June 28, 1866. His 
death occurred April 11, 1881. Mrs. Wells' father, 
Jonathan Butler, was a resident of West Hartford, 
where he followed farming throughout life. He 
was born Oct. 28, 1769, and died Dec. 3, 1855. 
His father, Zaccheus Butler, also a resident of 
Hartford, was born in 1743, and died March 21, 
1791. Jonathan Butler was married, Jan. 25, 1795, 
to Miss Elizabeth Gay, of Sharon, Conn., who was 
born March 1, 1768, and died Feb. 19, 1843. Tne y 
had six children, the eldest of whom, Epaphrus, 
was born Feb. 9, 1796; William Gay, born Sept. 
29, 1799, went to Michigan; Eliza, born Feb. 4, 
1801, died Nov. 12, 1879; Maria, the mother of 
Mrs. Sisson, was the next in order of birth; George, 
born Oct. 6, 1805, resided in West Hartford; and 
Nathan, born Oct. 13, 1807, died Nov. 8, 1878. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Wells were born seven children: 
George Butler, born Feb. 17, 1826; Nathan Porter. 
Aug. 27, 1828; Elizabeth Gay, our subject, Sept. 
7, 1831; Charles Hopkins. Oct. 16, 1833; Mary 
Maria, wife of Benjamin F. Nye, July 13, [835; 
Abigail Skinner, deceased wife of F. H. Bacon, 
Sept. 13, 1837; and Thomas Gallaudet, Feb. 7, 1847. 
The last named was killed in the battle of South 
Mountain during the Civil war. 

When five years old Mrs. Sisson came to West 
Hartford to visit her grandparents, an uncle and 
an aunt, and she remained with them from that time 
until her marriage. She began her education in the 
North Division school, and later attended Miss 
Cosset's private school, on High street, and a pri- 
vate school in East Hartford, receiving a good 
training, such as was afforded by the seminaries 
and high schools of her day. On March 19, 1857, 



814 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



she was united in marriage with Joseph C. Sisson, a 
farmer of West Hartford, who was born in 183 1, 
and died June 26, 1861. His parents, Daniel Lee 
and Elizabeth (Chapman) Sisson, were born, reared 
and married in Westerly, R. I., later resided in 
Bloomfield, Conn., and in 1827, came to West Hart- 
ford, where they spent the remainder of their lives. 
The father took an active part in town affairs, 
served as justice of the peace, and was a member 
of the Baptist Church. He died in 1842. In his 
family were nine children : Eliza Ann ( Mrs. Wads- 
worth J, deceased; Albert Lee, deceased, who was 
in the butcher business in Hartford; Minerva (Mrs. 
Gridley), deceased; Abigail, wife of B. S. Bishop, 
of West Hartford ; Franklin, also a resident of 
West Hartford ; Thomas, a druggist, of the firm 
of T. Sisson & Co., Hartford; Joseph C, deceased 
husband of our subject; and James Henry and Alice, 
who died in childhood. 

To Joseph C. and Elizabeth G. (Wells) Sisson 
came two children : Anna Elizabeth, who was born 
Feb. 4, 1858, and died Jan. 24, i860; and Elizabeth 
Gay, who was born Feb. 1, i860, and on Dec. 8, 
1880, married George W. Hubbard, whose sketch 
appears above. Mr. Hubbard died Oct. 13, 1893, 
and Mrs. Hubbard passed away March 28, 1897. 

HIRAM W. ADAMS, the well-known live- 
stock breeder and dealer of North Bloomfield, was 
born in the town of Bloomfield, July 14, 1833, and 
descends from one of the a ery old families of New 
England, who trace their lineage through more 
than three hundred years back to England, and that 
of this immediate family may be traced in this coun- 
try from 1645 down to the present time, as follows: 

George Adams, a glover, and his wife, Frances, 
came from England in 1645, and settled in Water- 
town, Mass., Nov. 4, 1664. He sold his house and 
land to John Chenery, and moved to Cambridge 
Farms, now Lexington, but was killed by the fall of 
a rock at Watertown, Oct. 10, 1696, leaving an 
estate valued at £61, 13s., 3d., with his son Daniel 
as sole executor. The births of only two of his chil- 
dren are on record, although it is certain that he had 
six at least: John, born April 6, 1645, died young; 
George, born m 1647, married Martha Fiske, June 
10, 1O84; Daniel, born in 1652, settled in Simsbury, 
Conn ; John, born March 6, 1657, moved to Sims- 
bury, where he married Abigail Pinney, Dec. 6, 
1677, moved to Enfield in 1697, and then to Col- 
chester, where he died Nov. 22, 1732 ; Samuel set- 
tled in Simsbury also, and there married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Luke Hill ; Mary was baptized in Wa- 
tertown, Nov. 21, 1686. 

Daniel Adams, of Windsor, son of George, mar- 
ried Mary Pinney, Sept. 20, 1677, settled in Sims- 
bury, and became the father of eleven children ; 
Daniel, born in 1678, died Jan. 11, 1713; Sarah was 
married Feb. 22, 1704, to Thomas Stevens; Samuel, 
who married Elizabeth Read July 2, 1713, died in 
April, 1772; Joseph, born in 1685, married Mary 
Case, April 30, 1719, and died March 26, 1741 ; 



Thomas, born in 1689, married Martha Buttolph 
Dec. 25, 1712, and died Feb. 24, 1784; Benjamin, 
born in 1695, (first) married Rachel Case, March 
25, 1712, and (second) married Louise Griswold, 
May 27, 1734, and died Oct. 3, 1770; Thankful, 
born March 4, 1697, died Feb. 21, 1699; Mercy, 
born Jan. 16, 1698, was married to Daniel Porter, 
Jan. 27, 1712; Mary, born Jan. 16, 1698, died March 
29, 1700; Ephraim, born May 25, 1701, married 
Ruth Beaman, May 5, 1726; and Thankful married 
Robert Westland, May 17, 1721. The father of 
this family was called from earth Nov. 17, 1713. 

Joseph Adams, son of Daniel, and mentioned 
above as having been born in 1685, died Alarch 26, 
1741. He married, April 30, 1719, Mary Case, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Holcomb) 
Case, of Terry's Plains. She was born Aug. 23, 
1696, a sister of Rachel Case, wife of Benjamin 
Adams, the brother of Joseph, and died in Septem- 
ber, 1784, the mother of two children : Joseph, born 
Sept. 16, 1722, died in 1775; Matthew, born Aug. 
21, 1724, died March 9, 1764. 

Matthew Adams, son of Joseph, married Susan- 
nah, daughter of William and Mehitable Eno, to 
which union were born four children, viz. : Mat- 
thew, April 9, 1746, died Sept. 24, 1776; Susannah, 
Oct. 29, 1747, died Aug. 19, 1835; William, Nov. 
2, 1752, died Feb. 14, 181 1; and Abel, April 30, 
1756, died March 29, 1829. 

Capt. William Adams, son of Matthew, married 
Rosabella, daughter of Francis and Elizabeth 
Loomis, of Simsbury; she died July 2, 1802, the 
mother of the following-named children : William 
was born Oct. 14, 1778; Rosabella, born June 4, 
1780, married Origen Pinney May 2, 1799, and died 
Aug. 25, 1857; Asenath, born Sept. 21, 1783, mar- 
ried Joseph Pinney, and died Nov. 21, 1864; Susan- 
nah, born May 1, 1785, married Henry Case, and 
died Aug. 22, 1865; Cyrena, born May 19, 1789, 
married Martin Mitchelson, April 25, 1809; and 
Savilla, the youngest child, is married to Philetus 
Goddard. The father of this family, Capt. William 
Adams, died Feb. 14, 181 1. 

Abel Adams, brother of Capt. William Adams, 
married Rosene Cossett, who was born May 30, 
1 759> a daughter of Rene and Phebe (Hillyer) 
Cossett, and who died Oct. 25, 1827, the mother of 
ten children: Betsey, July 17, 1778 — died Jan. 27, 
1828; Rosannah, Feb. 2, 1780 — died March 26, 
1833; Abel, Jan. 3, 1781— died Oct. 15, 1856; Am- 
brose, Dec. 17, 1783 — died Feb. 19, i860; Homer, 
March 29, 1788 — died Sept. 16, 1805; Phebe, Dec. 
2 3> l 7&9 — died Nov. 16, 1872; Lurana, Oct. 14, 
1790 — died Sept. 12, i860; Orphia Cossett, Feb. 
17, 1793 — died June 27, 1867; Ruth, March 2^, 
1796 — died Nov. 19, 1866; and Virgil, Jan. 25, 1798 
— died April 26, 1849. The father of these chil- 
dren, Abel Adams, was one of the soldiers sent from 
Connecticut after the Lexington massacre, and 
joined the army near Boston. He enlisted May 
9> I 775> m Capt. Abel Pettibone's company, Second 
Connecticut Continentals, under Col. Joseph 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



815 



Spencer, and served until honorably discharged, 
Dec. 1 8, 1775 ; in 1776 he enlisted in Capt, Ephraim 
Adams' company, Eleventh Connecticut Militia, 
and marched to Westchester ; returning to his farm 
in North Bloomfield, he died there, and there is a 
marble slab to his memory in St. Andrew's cemetery. 

William Adams, son of Capt. William Adams, 
was a lifelong resident of Bloomfield, was a farmer, 
and for many years kept a tavern. Born in 1778, 
he married, May 2, 1798, Miss Electa Roberts, 
who died Oct. 15, 1847, the mother of nine children, 
born as follows: William, Oct. 10, 1799; Hiram, 
May 22, 1801 ; Byron, Feb. 23, 1803 ; Chester, Feb. 
23, 1805 ; Watson, April 23, 1807 ; Tudor, April 
30, 1809; Caroline Electa, Dec. 4, 1812; Edwin 
R, April 11, 181 5 ; and James, Aug. 26, 18 17. The 
father of this family died July 24, 1822. 

Hiram Adams, son of William and father of 
Hiram Watts Adams, passed his boyhood days at 
his father's tavern in Simsbury, now in Bloomfield, 
and was educated in the South Scotland district 
school. He kept store and tollgate at North Bloom- 
field several years, and married, June 12, 1823, Miss 
Catherine Adams, daughter of Ambrose Adams, and 
granddaughter of Capt. Abel Adams. To this mar- 
riage were born seven children : Electa C, widow 
of Horton Cornish, of Hartford ; Mary, deceased 
wife of Linville J. Hall, chaplain in the State prison 
at Wethersfield ; Eliza C, widow of Wooster B. 
Seymour, of Hartford ; Hiram W. ; Amelia D., 
widow of Henry W. Whiting, of New Britain ; 
Byron D., deceased ; and Ashbel S., deceased. Mrs. 
Adams died in October, 1853, and Mr. Adams mar- 
ried, Jan. 1, 1856, Lydia S. Butler. In politics Mr. 
Adams was a Democrat. In religion he was first 
an Episcopalian, but later united with the Baptist 
Church at Tariffville, of which his wife was a mem- 
ber, and in this faith he died March 8, 1866. 

Hiram W. Adams passed his school-boy days in 
North Scotland school district, Hartford county, 
and in Perth Amboy, N. J. At the age of eighteen 
years he started peddling through the states of New 
York, Ohio and Michigan, and in 1858, about six 
years later, returned to Bloomfield with a drove 
of twenty-two horses, and also in the summer of 
the same year, drove 3,000 sheep from Ohio. He 
next conducted a grocery and also a carriage re- 
pository in Hartford for twenty-five years, being 
the first to engage in the latter business in that 
city, and for twenty-one years there made a con- 
tinuous residence, his grocery being at the corner of 
Main and Pleasant streets. 

In the spring of 1883 Mr. Adams returned to 
North Bloomfield, and this has since been his per- 
manent home. Here he engaged in handling Cana- 
dian horses up to 1894, since when he has devoted 
his attention to trading in horses from the West, 
being now, as he has been in the past, the leader 
in this special line of live stock dealing. 

Mr. Adams was united in marriage, at East 
Granby, Conn., Feb. 16, 1859, w ^h Miss Jane F. 
Griswold, a daughter of Elihu Griswold, who de- 



scended from one of the oldest families of New 
England, and of which further mention will shortly 
be made. To the felicitous union of Mr. and Mrs. 
Adams has come one daughter, Bertha Jane, whose 
birth occurred July 31, 1861, and who was mar- 
ried, March 27, 1883, to Jeffery O. Phelps, of Hart- 
ford. To Mr. and Mrs. Phelps has been born, May 
25, 1886, one son, Jeffery O.. Jr. Mr. Adams is 
a Freemason; he was an alderman in Hartford, 
has been a selectman in Bloomfield, and has ever led 
an active, a progressive and a useful life, replete 
with beneficial results to himself, his family and his 
hosts of warm-hearted and unfeignedly sincere 
friends. 

Elihu Griswold, father of Mrs. Jane F. Adams, 
and a son of Alexander and Alice (Bascom) Gris- 
wold, was born in East Granby, Dec. 20, 1799, and 
there died in July, 1882. He was one of the town's 
most prominent and influential citizens, was one of 
its progressive farmers, for several terms repre- 
sented his district in the State Legislature, as a 
Democrat, and also served in all the town offices ; 
he died a devoted member of the Baptist Church 
at East Granby. To his marriage, with Miss Mary 
Olmstead, a daughter of Timothy and Rhoda 
(Loomis) Olmstead, of his own town, were born 
three children; Jane Frances (Mrs. Adams), June 
22, 1834; Mary Alice, who died April 2, 1842, at 
the age of sixteen months ; and Timothy Wolcott, 
born March 17, 1843, an d &\so deceased. 

A brief summary of the Griswold family antece- 
dents may be given as follows : Edward and Matthew 
Griswold came from Kenilworth, Warwickshire, 
England, in 1639, in company with the Rev. Huits 
party, and settled in Windsor, Conn. Although they 
had owned property in Kenilworth, it is not known 
that the city was their birthplace, and it is claimed 
that they belonged to the ancient family of Solihull 
near by, and as such were entitled to the use of the 
family coat of arms, but of this there is no positive 
proof. However, it is certain that the immigrant 
brothers were men of education and property, 
and, after their arrival in the Colony, were al- 
ways saluted as "Mr.," the equivalent of "gentle- 
man," in contradistinction to yeoman or tradesman. 
Both brothers, though young when they arrived, 
speedily allied themselves with the highest social 
element of Windsor, took positions of commanding 
influence and became prominent in local affairs, be- 
ing chosen to fill the offices of governor and lieu- 
tenant governor of the State many times. Besides 
if it be a principle of heredity that the character- 
istics, physical and mental, of a strongly marked 
ancestry, are reproduced in the descendants, then 
it may be inferred that the original Griswolds of 
New England were high minded, intelligent and 
Christian gentlemen, as these characteristics are 
fully developed in the present generation. 

HON. FREDERICK ALEXANDKR KIN< i. a 
substantial agriculturist and citizen of South Wind- 
sor, has descended from one of the old and promi- 



81(5 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



nent families of New England, being in the seventh 
generation from Capt. John King, of Northampton, 
.Mass., the line of his descent being through Thomas, 
Thomas (2), Zebulon, Alexander and Benoni Ol- 
cott King. 

(I) Capt. John King, the emigrant ancestor, 
was born in 1629 in Northampton, England. At the 
age of sixteen years, in 1645, he came to America, 
locating in Northampton, Mass. He married, in 
1656, Sarah, daughter of Deacon William Horton, 
theirs being the second marriage celebrated in the 
town. The town granted him a homestead on King 
street. At his suggestion, or in honor of him, it is 
thought, the town took its name. He was a tanner 
by trade, an estimable member of the Church and 
community, often serving as selectman. His wife 
died in 1683, and he subsequently married Sarah, 
widow of Jacob Mygatt, and daughter of William 
Whiting. Capt. King died in 1703, and his second 
wife passed away in 1705. 

(II) Thomas King, son of Capt. John King, 
the emigrant, was born in 1662; his third wife died 
in 171 1, the year in which he died. 

(III) Thomas King (2), son of Thomas King 
[no record given]. 

(IV) Zebulon King, son of Thomas King (2), 
born in 1717, married, in 1743, Keziah Loomis. She 
died in 1782, and he died in 1793. He located in 
what is now South Windsor, Connecticut. 

(V) Alexander King, son of Zebulon King, born 
in 1749, married, in 1781, Abigail Olcott. She died 
in 1837, he died in 1831. Alexander King served 
as a soldier during the Revolutionary war. In June, 
1776, he was commissioned, by Jonathan Trumbull, 
ensign of a company raised to join the Continental 
army, and was again commissioned Oct. 16, 1777, 
by Gov. Trumbull, as an ensign in the 19th Regi- 
ment of Militia. 

(VI) Benoni Olcott King, the father of Hon. 
Frederick Alexander King, of South Windsor, was 
born Aug. 26, 1799. He married Nov. 12, 1827, 
Lucina Sadd, born Jan. 3, 1802, daughter of Noah 
Sadd. Mr. King was an industrious and prosper- 
ous farmer throughout his lifetime, and one of the 
substantial men of Hartford county. He was a 
representative from his town to the General As- 
sembly of the State in 1846 — the first from the 
town of South Windsor. He was a practical business 
man, possessed of good judgment and held the es- 
teem and respect of his fellow townsmen, as did also 
his wife, who was a descendant of Thomas Sadd,who 
was among the early settlers of East Windsor. Mr. 
King died Oct. 15, 1854, and Mrs. King on Oct. 
13, 1858. To them were born four children: Mar- 
tha C, born in 183 1, resides near the old homestead ; 
Frederick Alexander, born Dec. 4, 1833, is men- 
tioned farther on; Celia M., born in 1840, married, 
in 1870, Leonidas D. Chandler, a substantial farmer 
of South Windsor; and Catharine M., born in 
1836, married, in 1870, William H. Cogswell, of 
Ellington, Conn., and died in 1875. 

(VII) Frederick Alexander King, son of the 



late Hon. Benoni Olcott King, was born Dec. 4, 
1833, in what is now South Windsor, and was 
reared on his father's farm, remaining at home 
until his marriage. In boyhood he attended the pub- 
lic schools of the town, and also received private 
instruction. In 1870 he purchased what was known 
as the old Wolcott homestead, to which he removed 
after his marriage, and which has since been his 
home. This farm now comprises some one hundred 
acres, in addition to which he owns several other 
tracts, the greater part of the home farm being 
bottom land on the Connecticut river, over which the 
spring freshets annually leave a rich alluvial de- 
posit, greatly enriching it and rendering it self-sup- 
porting, and the best meadow or grass land to be 
found anywhere in the world. Mr. King is one 
of the few farmers of Hartford county who is not 
burdened with the great expense of fertilizing, his 
land lying in this particular locality being effectually 
fertilized by this annual overflow of the river ; and 
he is the only farmer who takes entire advantage 
of these natural conditions. He owns one of the 
best-improved farms in South Windsor, and is en- 
gaged in general farming and stock raising. He 
also grows some tobacco. As an agriculturist he 
ranks with the best of the county, and as a man 
and citizen he has the respect and esteem of his 
fellow men. 

A man of the people, enterprising and public 
spirited, one in whom the people of his town have 
confidence, and who has successfully managed his 
own affairs, Mr. King has many times been called 
to positions of public trust and honor, and has as 
often discharged their duties with efficiency and 
fidelity. Though a Democrat in his political affil- 
iations it is a notable fact, and to his credit, that 
he has had the support of both parties through his 
public service. He was elected town clerk and 
treasurer in 1863, and held those positions for a 
number of years. He was elected to the office of 
probate judge in 1867, and in 1878 was a represent- 
ative in the General Assembly. He was chosen 
selectman of his town in 1881 and again in 1887, 
holding the office in all some eight years, and then 
declining further service. He also for some years 
was a member of the high school committee of the 
town. 

On May 8, 1873, Mr. King was married to Miss 
Ellen L. Vibbert, and their home has been blessed 
with children as follows : Mabel D., Olcott F., Kath- 
erine L. and Mattie E. 

HON. MARO SPAULDING CHAPMAN, 
manufacturer, of Manchester and Hartford, has long 
been one of the promient business men and citizens 
of the Capital City and of the State. 

A representative of one of Connecticut's early 
and prominent families, Mr. Chapman was born 
Feb. 13, 1839, in East Haddam, Conn., son of Na- 
thaniel and Harriet (Talcott) Chapman, and a de- 
scendant in the seventh generation from (I) Rob- 
ert Chapman, who was born in England, says tradi- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



817 



tion, in 1616. He came from Hull, England, to 
Boston in 1635, and on to Saybrook that same year. 
In 1642 he married Ann Bliss. He died in 1687. 
That he was a man of influence in the town of Say- 
brook is evident from the fact that for many years 
he held the office of town clerk, and clerk of Oyster 
River Quarter, and filled many other important sta- 
tions. For many years he was commissioner of 
Saybrook, and was elected as their deputy to the 
General Court forty-three times, and assistant nine 
times. He was therefore a member of the Legis- 
lature of the State at more sessions than any other 
man, from the settlement of Saybrook to the present 
time. The Colony records also show that each of 
his three sons were representatives to the Legisla- 
ture : The eldest, twenty-two sessions ; the second, 
eighteen sessions ; the third, twenty- four sessions. 
It appears from the records of Saybrook that Rob- 
ert Chapman was a very large land holder in the 
towns of Saybrook and East Haddam. He also 
owned a large tract in Hebron. He settled him- 
self on a tract of land in Oyster River, about two 
miles west of Saybrook fort, which has descended 
in the line of the youngest son of each family, 
never having been bought or sold, and is now oc- 
cupied by Robert Chapman, a lineal descendant of 
Robert Chapman, the emigrant. 

The line of our subject's descent from tins 
Robert Chapman is through Robert (2), Robert 
(3), Caleb, Caleb (2), and Nathaniel. 

(II) Robert Chapman (2), son of Robert, the 
emigrant, born in 1646, at Saybrook, married (first) 
in 1671 Sarah Griswold. He was long in public 
life, having represented the town in the Legislature 
eighteen sessions, was commissioner and surveyor 
of the town, and otherwise prominent. He was a 
large land owner. His death occurred in 1711. 

(III) Robert Chapman (3), son of Robert (2), 
born in 1675, was one of the first settlers of East 
Haddam. His death occurred in 1760. His wife's 
name was Mary. 

(IV) Caleb Chapman, son of Robert (3), born 
in 1704, at East Haddam, married in 1731 Elizabeth 
Church. 

(V) Caleb Chapman (2), son of Caleb, born in 
1732, in East Haddam, married (second), in 1775, 
Hannah Brown, of Chatham. He died in 1805. 

(VI) Nathaniel Chapman, son of Caleb, born in 
in 1787, in East Haddam, married (first) May 13, 
1819, Philoxa Cone, who died Sept. 7, 1823, leaving 
no issue. Mr. Chapman later married Harriet Tal- 
cott. He was occupied as a tanner and farmer in 
East Haddam. His children were : Frederick T., 
born in 1825; Mary P., in 1827; John P., in 1829; 
Nathaniel O., in 1833; William H., in 1835; Mary 
S., Feb. 13, 1839; and James B., in 1840. 

Maro S. Chapman, our subject, attended the 
public schools of East Haddam and also a private 
school there. From the age of eighteen he was a 
clerk for three years in a store in Manchester 
Green, Hartford county. The stirring scenes of 186T 
aroused his patriotism, and, feeling that his coun- 

52 



try needed his services, he left the counting room, 
and on Nov. 20, 1861, enlisted, becoming a private 
in Company C, 12th Conn. V. I., the "Charter Oak" 
regiment, of which Hon. Henry C. Deming, at that 
time mayor of Hartford, became colonel. The 
command became a part of Gen. Butler's division. 
Young Chapman bore an honorable part in the cam- 
paign and varied experiences of his company and 
regiment for a year and a half, then returned to 
civil life. Since the close of the war (1865) he has 
been engaged primarily in the manufacture of en- 
velopes, identified with the Plimpton Manufacturing 
Co., of Hartford, and since 1874 has been superin- 
tendent of the United States Stamped Envelope 
Works, of the same city. In order that the reader 
may get an idea of the magnitude of this business 
under the superintendency of Mr. Chapman we 
give an outline of the history of the concern with 
which he has been connected. 

The Plimpton Alanufacturing Co., which was 
the outgrowth of a business started by Linus B. 
Plimpton in 1865, was organized in 1873 for the 
manufacture of envelopes, paper, papeteries and 
printing. In 1886 the company built a factory on 
Pearl street for their own exclusive use, constructed 
of brick, and with four floors above the basement, 
each containing 17,000 square feet. It is lighted 
by electricity, furnished with automatic fire ex- 
tinguishers, and thoroughly provided with modern 
appliances for the economical dispatch of business. 
The works have a capacity of three million envel- 
opes per day, and besides are fully equipped for 
job-printing and book-binding. In 1874 the com- 
pany put in a bid for making stamped envelopes for 
the government, and obtained the prize. With 
them in the contract was joined the Morgan En- 
velope Co., of Springfield, Mass., and the associa- 
tion was merged in the Hartford Manufacturing 
Co., in 1898. At each successive letting, with the 
exception of the year 1894 the contract has con- 
tinued to fall to these parties as the lowest bidders. 
Since the transfer of the manufacture to Hartford 
(1874) the annual output of government stamped 
envelopes has risen from one hundred and fifty 
million to over six hundred million. From the he- 
ginning Mr. Chapman has had immediate super- 
vision of the business, which is carried on in a build- 
ing by itself, while the Post Office Department has 
an agent of its own under the same roof to look- 
after its interests, and to superintend the shipments 
to postoffices throughout the country on order from 
Washington. The business is now carried on un- 
der the name of the Hartford Manufacturing Co., 
of which Mr. Chapman is general manager and 
secretary and treasurer, and he has shown great 
executive ability and decision of character in this 
work. He is also vice-president of the Plimpton 
Manufacturing Co. 

Mr. Chapman originated and is president of 
the Plartford, Manchester & Rockville Tramway 
Co. With his own resources he built, equipped 
and turned over the road to the stockholders in 



M> 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



complete running order, and now owns a controlling 
interest in same. It is regarded by those who are 
qualified to express an opinion as being- in every 
respect a model. During the year 1896, under the 
same conditions, he extended the line six miles to 
Talcottville, and in 1897 to Rockville, and built a 
complete power plant to furnish electricity both 
for the system and for lighting the town of Man- 
chester. For twelve years, up to 1897, he was presi- 
dent of the Hartford Manilla Co., which had a 
flourishing mill at Burnside. 

Politically Mr. Chapman is a stanch Republi- 
can. For thirty years he has been a member of 
the town committee, and for upward of fifteen years 
was its chairman. He is an admirable debater, and 
a clear and forcible speaker, having the faculty of 
presenting his views with great clearness, and in 
convincing style. He has been a number of times 
honored by his fellow townsmen with places of 
trust and responsibility, represented his town in 
the Legislature in 1882, and was senator from the 
Second Senatorial District in 1884-85. While a 
member of the House he was chairman of the com- 
mittee on cities and boroughs, and in the Senate 
was chairman of the committee on railroads. At 
the Republican State Convention held in New 
Haven Sept. 5, 1900, Mr. Chapman was unani- 
mously chosen Presidential Elector for the First 
Congressional District, comprising the counties of 
Hartford and Tolland. For a decade and more 
past Mr. Chapman was chairman of the Road and 
Bridge Commission of the town of Manchester. 
He is a member of the lodges of both the Masonic 
Fraternity and Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows at Manchester, and of Drake Post, G. A. R., 
Manchester, of which he was commander for ten 
years. 

Mr. Chapman has been twice married. In 1861 
he wedded Lucy W. Woodbridge, of Manchester, 
who died in 1869, leaving one child, Jennie P., now 
the wife of E. S. Ela, editor and publisher of the 
Manchester Herald. In 1871 Mr. Chapman mar- 
ried Helen C. Robbins, of Manchester, and the union 
has been blessed with two children : Helen G. and 
Mary O. 

HON. ROSWELL H. PHELPS. The Phelps 
family has held such a distinguished place in the 
history of this section that the following account 
of the branch represented by this well-known citi- 
zen of East Grariby, now serving as Judge of Pro- 
bate, will be of more than ordinary interest. He 
is of the tenth generation in direct descent from 
William Phelps, who was born in 1699, in Tewks- 
bury, England, and came to America in 1630 with 
two brothers, Richard and George. After a few 
years residence in Massachusetts this noted pio- 
neer came to Hartford county, settling in Windsor 
in 1635, and land owned by him is still in the pos- 
session of his descendants in that town. 

(II) Joseph Phelps, son of William, was born 
in England, accompanied his father to America in 



childhood, and settled at Simsbury, where his re- 
maining years were spent. 

(Ill) Joseph Phelps, the next in the line of 
descent, was born at Simsbury in 1667. 

(I\ ) Joseph Phelps, who was born at Sims- 
bury in 1689, made his home 1710 in what is now 
East Granby, and was the progenitor of the branch 
of the family now residing in that town, a portion 
of the land acquired by him being still in the pos- 
session of his descendants. 

(V) Joseph Phelps, the next in descent, was 
born after his father's removal to East Granby, 
in 1 716. 

(VI) Joseph Phelps, through whom the line 
of descent is continued, was born in East Granby, 
in 1742, and died aged twenty-six years. 

(VII) Capt. Roswell Phelps, our subject's great- 
grandfather, was born in East Granby, in 1764, and 
died in 1805. He owned a large tract of real estate 
in the town, and was one of its most prominent 
citizens. During the Revolutionary war he served 
as a private soldier, and his title was subsequently 
earned by service as captain of the Fourth Com- 
pany, 1 8th Regiment Connecticut Militia, his com- 
mission being signed by Gov. Trumbull in October, 
1799. He married Chloe Holcomb, and had three 
children : Roswell Homer, who is mentioned be- 
low ; Orson P., from whom many of the name 
in this section are descended ; and Chloe, who mar- 
ried Seth Thompson. 

(VIII) Roswell Homer Phelps, the grandfather 
of our subject, was born in 1788 at the old home- 
stead in East Granby, and by occupation was an 
agriculturist. Throughout his life he was held 
in high esteem for his sterling qualities of char- 
acter, although his preference for a quiet life kept 
him from accepting official honors of any kind. 
He was a large man, weighing about 260 pounds, 
and his robust constitution carried him to an ad- 
vanced age, his death occurring Nov. 19, 1881. 
In religious faith he was a Congregationalist, and 
politically he affiliated first with the Whig and later 
with the Republican party, being a firm supporter 
of the Government during the war. In 181 1 he 
married Lydia Gay, who was born in 1790, and died 
Oct. 27, 1826, her remains being interred in the 
old cemetery in East Granby by the side of her 
husband. The Gay family is of pioneer stock, 
and her father, Sergeant Richard Gay, was a prom- 
inent resident of East Granby. Of the children 
of Roswell Homer and Lydia Phelps, only one, 
Richard H., lived to adult age. 

(IX) Hon. Richard H. Phelps, father of our 
subject, was born June 27, 1813, in East Granby, 
and after attending the schools of District Xo. 2, 
of that town, he pursued the higher branches in 
Rev. Mr. Hemingway's select school, at W T est Suf- 
field. Although reared to farm life he found it 
uncongenial and, as a young man, turned his at- 
tention to teaching. Later he engaged in the dry- 
goods business in Hartford, where for several years 
he conducted two stores. He removed in 1847 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



319 



to Windsor, Conn., and in 1863 to Seneca Falls, 
N. Y., and four years later he went to Mil ford, 
Del., where he spent about seven years. While 
there he was commissioned as justice of the peace 
by Gov. Salisbury, of Delaware, and officiated with 
marked ability in many trials. In 1874 he returned 
to East Granby to spend his remaining years, and 
his death occurred there Oct. 15, 1885. In poli- 
tics he was a stanch Democrat, and at various 
times he held office, his services as representative 
from Windsor and Granby in the State Legisla- 
ture demonstrating his powers as a party leader. 
In 1 85 1 he was made county commissioner, his 
commission being signed by Gov. Thomas Seymour, 
and he also served as Judge of Probate in Windsor 
and as director of the Connecticut State Prison, as 
well as in other positions of responsibility. His 
able "History of Newgate, of Connecticut" is the 
only authentic history of that old institution ever 
published, and although it passed through several 
editions it is now rare and is eagerly sought for, 
time only increases its value. On Oct. 22, 1840, 
Mr. Phelps was married in Windsor to Miss Mind- 
well B. Griswold, a native of that town, born Aug. 
26, 1 8 14. She belonged to a well-known family, 
and her father, Buckland Griswold, and grand- 
father, Abiel Griswold, were each wealthy and 

rominent citizens of Windsor in their time. She 

ed Oct. 8, 1854, and Mr. Phelps afterward mar- 
ried Mrs. Julia E. Babcock, who was born in Wind- 
- r, April 23, 1822, a daughter of Lemuel and Nancy 
Welch, and is now living at the homestead in East 
Granby, where she is much respected for her ex- 

llent traits. There were no children by this sec- 
1 marriage. Our subject was the eldest in the 

mily of three children born to Richard H. and 
Mindwell B. Phelps. (2) William G., formerly 

successful dentist at Galena, Md., died in 1888. 
1 [e married Edith C. Foulk, who survived him with 
two children, both born at Milford, Del., Roswell 
Foulk, now the only male representative of this 
branch of the family bearing the name of Phelps, 
a bright, promising young man, a graduate of Am- 

rst College, and now in Harvard College, and 
Edith M.. a student in the Medical Department of 
B ston University, who possesses rare mental gifts, 
and will doubtless attain success in her chosen pro- 
3 i Alline L.,only sister of our subject, mar- 
1 the late George rloff, of Philadelphia, and has 
two children, both natives of Lincoln, Del., Laura E., 

intellectual ability and force of ehar- 

' an unusual order, is a graduate of the High 

and Normal schools at Philadelphia, and licensed 

ach anywhere in that city: and Henry I 'help 

ng with his widowed moth< 
R N H. Phelps bom at the old home 

ad in East Granby which he still calls his hom 
th< • rtion of his time beinj • ent ther< 

he has never married and set up a separ 
•lishment. After completing a cours tudy 

• ublic schc ; Windsor to nded Wind- 
ademy, then c Prof. Standish. 



In early manhood he began teaching, and in 1866, 
after several terms of successful work in Connect- 
icut and Delaware went to California, and for two 
years taught in the vicinity of Sacramento, receiv- 
ing one hundred dollars per month. In those days 
California had a school system far in advance of 
that of any other State in the far West, and the 
Judge's high standing in the rigid examinations 
reilected great credit upon him. On his return to 
the East he was connected for some years with the 
Continental Life Insurance Co., with headquarters 
in Hartford, and in the meantime he studied short- 
hand, becoming so expert as to be employed as a 
reporter in the Legislature during two sessions. 
Since that time he has had considerable experience 
in journalistic work, being associated with the 
Hartford Times as a legislative reporter, also with 
the Insurance Journal, Hartford; and his abilities 
were also appreciated by Mark Twain, who 
made him his private secretary during the writing 
of the famous book "On The Mississippi Twenty 
Years After," traveling up and down the whole 
stretch of the Mississippi. Having acquired a com- 
fortable competence, which he has judiciously in- 
vested and increased, the Judge has been able to 
secure the advantages of travel and a generous 
course of reading, while his native ability and re- 
finement have given him entrance to the best class 
of people everywhere. His ancestry entitles him 
to membership in the Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, and he takes much interest 
in its work. Although no artistic training was 
given him in youth, his talent for painting has been 
shown in a number of excellent specimens which 
have received much praise, and doubtless, if he had 
devoted his attention to art, he would have made 
a name for himself in that line of effort. He is 
one of the chief tax-payers in his town, and all his 
varied business investments receive his personal at- 
tention, occupying quite fully the time left from his 
official duties. In 1896 he was chosen to his 1 (Tr- 
ent post of Probate Judge, and so free from all 
partisan bias was the movement which resulted in 
his election that he may truly be said to have been 
the choice of the entire community. 1 lis able, faith-. 
ful and efficient work lias fully justified the con- 
fidence of the people, which was confirmed by his 

almost unanimous re-election to the Probate Judge- 
ship in 1898. 

II' )\\ LEMUEL ST( >UGHT< >.\. -I- d. 
Ninety-one years of life filled with useful effort. 

- 

and crowned with the respect and 1 m of In- f< 
low citizens, was the lot of this honored resident 
of East Windsor, lie was one of the most n 
spected and influential residents of 1m- section 1 f 

the State, and his distinguished services in publi 
life. ;i - well as his personal worth, make the follow- 
ing history of era! hit . not only to t! 

rs of the present 'lay, but to future historians 
of thi :tion. 

Mr. Stought< m can ! pioneer 




820 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






ing of the sixth generation in descent from (I) 
Thomas Stoughton, a native of England, who came 
to America about 1630, and soon afterward lo- 
cated in Hartford county, in the old town of 
Windsor. 

(Ii) John Stoughton, son of Thomas, was the 
first of the family to locate upon the farm occupied 
by our subject in East Windsor, which has descended 
from father to son now through six generations. 

(III) Nathaniel Stoughton, our subjects great- 
grandfather, followed agriculture at the homestead 
throughout life. 

(IV) Lemuel Stoughton, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born at the old farm and made his home 
there. 

(V) John Stoughton, our subject's father, was 
born at the homestead Feb. 2, 1772, and died Sept. 
19, 1841. Only one of his family now survives, 
Hon. John Stoughton, of New Britain, who has at- 
tained the age of eighty-six. One daughter, Mrs. 
Grant, late of South Windsor, died May 24, 1900, 
at the age of ninety years. 

(VI) Lemuel Stoughton was born March 4, 
1808, on the farm where he always made his home, 
and was educated in the common schools of the town 
and the academy at East Windsor. He remained 
under the parental roof until 1841, when he pur- 
chased a part of the old homestead and improved 
the tract for a permanent home. He owned 120 
acres of land and for years was quite extensively 
engaged in tobacco growing, his farm being con- 
sidered one of the best in the town. Mr. Stoughton 
was always interested in politics, first as a Whig and 
later as a Republican, having joined the latter party 
on its organization, and at one time or other held 
nearly every office in the gift of his fellow towns- 
men. He served six years as assessor and seven as 
selectman, and in 1845-46 was elected a member of 
the Legislature, while in 1865 and again in 1866 he 
was elected to the State Senate, from the old Sec- 
ond district, his able services commanding the ap- 
proval of his constituents. He was the Senate chair- 
man of the committee on agriculture. Always 
deeply interested in the welfare of his town and 

.State, he gave his support and influence readilv to 
any movement which promised to benefit his fellow 
men. In disposition benevolent and generous, he 
was universally beloved, and his advice, especially 
in business matters, was frequently sought by the 
younger generation, and given with a spirit which 
displayed his genuine sympathy and interest. His 
death, on April 27, 1899, was widely mourned. 
For many years he was a leading member of the 
First Congregational Church of East Windsor, and 
his family hold an enviable social position. 

In 18*41 Mr. Stoughton married Miss Hannah 
Blodgett, of East Windsor, who died April 27, 1850, 
and of their three children, Lemuel, Hannah and 
Oliver, none are now living. On Dec. 4, 185 1, he 
married Miss Mary Moody, of Granby, Mass., 
daughter of Thomas Hovey and Hannah Montague 
(Ferry) Moody, and by this union there were also 



three children : Susan, deceased ; Lemuel, mentioned, 
below ; and Miss Lucy W., who resides at the old 
home. 

Lemuel Stoughton was born May 12, 1865, 
and received his early education in the public schools, 
of the home neighborhood, later taking a course 
in the academy at St. Johnsburg, Vt, from which 
he was graduated in the class of '83. He has al- 
ways followed farming and now has control of the 
old homestead, to which he has succeeded. On 
March 20, 1894, he married Kate Louise, daughter 
of Chauncey B. Ellsworth, whose sketch appears 
elsewhere. They have two children, Mary Louise 
and Lemuel Ellsworth. 

ISAAC BROADHEAD (deceased) was one of 
Hartford county's most valued citizens, and through- 
out his long and successful business career he gave 
his support only to enterprises and interests which 
were calculated to promote the general welfare. 
While he had but a limited education, according to 
present standard, his native abilities enabled him to 
make his way to an honorable position in social, po- 
litical and commercial life, and with better advan- 
tages in youth he might well have attempted any 
line of effort with a certainty of success. 

Mr. Broadhead was a descendant from an old 
English family, the first of the name to settle in 
America having Leen Capt. Dan Broadhead, of the 
British army, who accompanied the force sent by 
King Charles II. in 1664 against the Dutch in New 
York. During the caniDaign his company was with 
Col. Nichols' regiment. After the surrender of the 
Colony he settled in Ulster county, N. Y., and on 
Sept. 14, 1665, he was appointed to the chief com- 
mand of the militia of that county. He died there 
in 1667. His wife, Ann Lye, accompanied him to 
America, their home having been in Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, previously, and their descendants are now 
among the best citizens of Ulster county. Daniel 
S. Broadhead, our subject's father, was born in 
Ldster county, and became a blacksmith by trade. 
He married Miss Sarah Wright, a native of Glas- 
tonbury, and a member of the familv in whose honor 
Wright's Island was named. 

Our subject, who was one of a large family of 
children, was born 111 Ulster county July 30, 181 5, 
and first attended school in his native town. Later 
he studied in a select school at Glastonbury, which 
occupied the site of the present residence of Arthur 
Douglas, and among his teachers there were William 
Wright and a Miss Spring, daughter of Rev. Mr. 
Spring, of East Hartford. On leaving school he 
was employed in the tannery owned bv David Hub- 
bard, father-in-law of Deacon James B. Williams, 
but although he had gained some knowledge of 
the business in Ulster county, his wages were very 
small. For some time they were paid once a year, 
and during the panic of 1837 he was paid in farm 
produce. He had learned in Ulster county better 
methods of tanning than were known to his new 
employer, and after a time the latter took him 





Mm 





'aaC : 







COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



821 



Into partnership, giving him an opportunity to bring 
his knowledge of the business into profitable 
use. In 1854 Mr. Broadhead formed a part- 
nership with Edward Hubbard, a nephew of 
David Hubbard, and engaged in the manu- 
facture of a superior kind of leather for sad- 
dles, made of hogskin, and tanned to a light color. 
For some time they had a large trade with Cuba, 
the payments being made entirely in gold, and after 
the outbreak of the Civil war the demand for their 
product was constant, the material being made 'into 
saddles by Smith & Borne, of Hartford. During 
this busy period our subject worked in the tannery as 
bard as any of his men, if not harder, and at all 
times his characteristic thoroughness in attending 
to the details of the business was a main factor in 
the success of the enterprise. He was a kind em- 
ployer, and some of his men remained with him for 
over twenty years. He continued in the tanning 
business until 1887, when he retired to enjoy a well- 
earned rest, and his death occurred May 15, 1895. 
his remains being interred at Glastonbury. 

Mr. Broadhead's business enterprises were varied 
in character, and for some years he was a director 
in the Goodrich Brothers Banking Company, of 
Fairbury, Neb., and the Red River Valley Banking 
Company, of Fargo, N. Dak. With P. H. Good- 
rich he was mainly instrumental in having the Hart- 
ford and Glastonbury electric railway to Glastonbury 
built by the railway company in the face of strong 
opposition from many who now realize its conven- 
ience. He and Mr. Goodrich drove to East Hart- 
ford and rode into Glastonbury on the first car that 
came over the line, and he was on the first car that 
went into South Glastonbury. Mr. Broadhead was 
of a sympathetic nature, as was evidenced by the 
many kindnesses shown the motor-men and con- 
ductors on the trolley cars that passed his door, and 
on cold winter mornings he used to serve them with 
hot coffee and food, being known by them as the 
"good Samaritan." He was very unassuming in 
manner, being easily approached by all, and his 
genuine kindliness won him the warm regard of all 
classes in the community. Among the most es- 
teemed friends of his later vears was John Muir, 
one of the leading tanners of Scotland, whom he 
met in 1868, while on his way to England to study 
methods of coloring. His active work in politics 
as a member of the Republican party also brought 
him many congenial friendsmps, and for many years 
he was regarded as a leading adviser of the organi- 
zation in this section. He held numerous town 
offices, and in 1870, represented Glastonbury in the 
Legislature, that being the last session held in the 
old State house in Hartford. He was one of the 
"Harrison Veterans," and in 1840 went to Boston 
to help celebrate the victory of Harrison, and he 
was also a member of the "Wide Awakes" of Glas- 
tonbury when that organization was in existence. 
As a boy he united with the Congregational Church 
in Ulster county, and in later life he was one of the 
chief supporters and deacon of the church in Glas- 



tonbury. Mr. Broadhead had a remarkably fine 
physique, being more than six' feet in height, with 
broad shoulders, and his health was excellent, while 
his faculties seemed unimpaired by the passing 
years. His ability to endure hardship and arduous 
work enabled him to push to a successful conclusion 
tasks which would have daunted others of less 
strength of mind and body, and with his firm will 
and keen, shrewd mentality he could not fail to be a 
leader in any line of work which he undertook. 

Mr. Broadhead was very domestic in his habits, 
his home being the chief center of interest, notwith- 
standing his activity in business and public life. On 
Jan. 24, 1843, ne married Miss Damaris St. Clair, 
daughter of Matthew and Hannah (Green) St. 
Clair, highly esteemed residents of Ellington, Conn. 
Their only child, Miss Julia Wright Broadhead, re- 
sides with her mother at the home built by our sub- 
ject in 1870. 

JUDGE EDWARD H. DEMING. Honored and 
esteemed by all, there is no man in Farmington 
who occupies a more prominent position in business 
and public affairs than the subject of this sketch, 
who is now creditably serving as probate judge of 
Farmington and Plainville. As a business man he 
has been enterprising, energetic and always abreast 
of the times, and has been rewarded by an ample 
fortune. 

Mr. Deming was born in Northampton, Mass., 
July 14, 1857, but is a representative of an old 
and prominent family of this county. Many years 
ago his great-grandfather, John Deming, and his 
brother, Chauncey, were leading merchants of 
Farmington, and were also interested in the West 
India trade. The grandfather, Samuel Deming, 
made his home in Farmington, his residence stand- 
ing next to the town hall, and was a farmer by 
occupation. He was a rabid Abolitionist. He mar- 
ried Miss Catharine Lewis, and to them were born 
six children: John, Susan, Frederick, Chauncey, 
Catharine and Caroline. The family held member- 
ship in the Congregational Church. 

John Deming, father of or subject, was born, 
reared and educated in Farmington, but later made 
his home in Northampton, Mass., where he was en- 
gaged in the manufacture of farming implements. 
While there he served as a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Legislature, in 1857. The folloying year 
he returned to Farmington, where he continued 
to manufacture agricultural implements until his 
removal to Glen Eyre, Pike county, Penn., in 1869. 
He engaged in the manufacture of furniture and 
in mercantile business there, and practically owned 
the entire town. His last days were spent in Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., where he died in 1894, at the age of 
sixty-eight years. He married Miss Catherine Mix 
Williams, a daughter of Rev. Joshua Williams, of 
Cromwell, Conn., and a granddaughter of 'Squire 
John Mix. The latter was an ensign in the 5th 
Battalion of Wadsworth's Brigade, under command 
of Col. William Douglas, during the Revolutionary 



822 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



war, and was a prominent member of the Society 
of the Cincinnati, serving as secretary of the Con- 
necticut branch. He was also quite prominent in 
political affairs, and was judge of probate ten years ; 
town clerk thirty-two years ; and a member of the 
General Assembly twenty-six years. To John 
Deming and wife were born six children : Annie, 
a resident of Hoboken, N. J., and wife of T. R. 
Ennis ; Samuel Lewis, who died at the age of eight- 
een years; Edward Hooker, our subject; Elizabeth, 
a resident of Brooklyn ; John Mix, who is in the 
creamery busiess in Warwick, N. Y. ; and Harry 
Williams, agent for the Liverpool and London 
and Globe Insurance Co., in Xew York City. 

Judge Deming was reared in Farmington until 
the removal of the family to Glen Eyre, Penn., and 
attended Deacon E. L. Llart's private school. At 
the age of fourteen he commenced clerking in his 
father's store at Glen Eyre, and there acquired a 
good practical knowledge of mercantile pursuits. 
Returning to Farmington, in 1884, he purchased 
the store of Chauncey Rowe, which he conducted 
alone until 1892, when F. L. Scott was admitted 
to a partnership in the business. Their establish- 
ment would do credit to a place much larger than 
Farmington, and they enjoy a large and constantly 
increasing trade. Judge Deming has been a director 
of the Farmington Savings Bank since 1889, and is 
now a member of the loaning committee. 

At Hawley, Penn., our subject was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Belle Plum, a daughter of M. 
Plum, of that place, and they have two children : 
Edward Hooker, Jr., and May Atkinson. The 
Judge is a member of the Country Club, also of the 
Society of Sons of the American Revolution. In 
his political views he is an ardent Republican, and 
by his party he has been honored with several offices, 
having served as selectman five years and as first 
selectman three years of that time ; chairman of the 
school committee ten years; and judge of probate 
two terms. He has discharged his official duties 
with a promptness and fidelity worthy of all com- 
mendation, and is thoroughly identified in feeling 
with the growth and prosperity of his town and 
county. 

HON. ELISHA GILLETT MORTOX, for- 
merly representative in the State Legislature from 
the town of East Windsor, is one of the leading 
citizens of his locality. For many years he has 
been identified with agriculture interests, his large 
estate near East Windsor being managed success- 
fully on modern scientific principles, and he is also 
active and influential in local affairs, having served 
in the most important offices in the gift of his fel- 
low townsmen. 

Mr. Morton comes of good old Connecticut 
stock, and his great-grandfather, John Morton, was 
a resident of East Windsor. Capt. Elisha Morton, 
his grandfather, was a native of East Windsor, 
and followed farming at the present homestead. 
He was prominent in the public affairs of the day, 



and his title was gained by service as an officer in 
the State Militia. 

Elisha G. Morton, Sr., the father of our subject, 
was born in 1801, in what is now South Windsor, 
and died in 1875. Soon after his first marriage 
he took charge of the farm, and his life was de- 
voted chiefly to its management and cultivation, 
although his duties as a citizen were always per- 
formed with fidelity. Pie first married Miss Mabel 
Thompson, who died in 1846, and his second union 
was with Miss Clarissa A. Tarbox, who passed 
away on Thanksgiving Day, 1895. By the first 
union he has seven children : Elizabeth E. became 
the wife of Francis H. Granger; Cornelia is the 
wife of Thomas Archer; Elisha G. is our subject; 
Thompson died at the age of eight years; Carlos 
died when two and one-half years old ; two died 
in infancy, James H. when two years and five months 
old, and James H. (2) when nine months old. 

Elisha G. Morton was born Sept. 19, 1837, at 
the old Morton farm, and was educated in the 
common schools of the neighborhood and the high 
school at Windsor Hill. He was reared to farm 
work, and at the age of twenty-four assumed the 
management of the homestead, where he has al- 
ways resided. Altogether he owns 200 acres of 
land, the homestead comprising 120 acres, and in 
addition to general farming he is extensively en- 
gaged in the dairy business, tobacco-growing and 
the raising of peaches. He is a member of the 
local Grange, and is active in religious work as a 
member of the First Congregational Church of 
East Windsor, of which he has been treasurer for 
seven years. He is a trustee of the First Eclesias- 
tical Society of East Windsor, a position he has 
held since 1880. His sound judgment and well- 
proven integrity make him an excellent official, 
and among other positions he has served four 
terms (of one year each) on the township board 
of relief. In 1890 he was chosen second selectman, 
with S. Terry Wells and George A. Ellis, and in 
1896 he was again elected to the board of select- 
men, with Mr. Ellis and Henry W. Allen. In 1892 
he was elected to the Legislature, on the Repub- 
lican ticket, and his able and faithful service fully 
justified the confidence of his constituents. 

HON. WILLIAM H. THOMPSON, a vener- 
able and highly respected citizen of East Windsor, 
deserves prominent mention among these mem- 
oirs, as the activities of his long life have made 
him a recognized factor in many of the progres- 
sive movements of his locality. 

Mr. Thompson was born Oct. 1, 1813, at his 
present homestead, and is a member of a well- 
known family of East Windsor, his great-grand- 
father, Samuel Thompson, having been a leading 
resident of the town. James Thompson, his grand- 
father, was a native of East Windsor, and made his 
home upon the farm where William H. was born 
and now lives. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



823 



Col. William Thompson, the father of our sub- 
ject, was born at the homestead in 1763, and died 
there in 1829, at the age of sixty-six years. He 
was a prominent man in his day, and his title of 
colonel was gained by service as an officer in the 
cavalry militia. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Tamar Holton, lived to the age of eighty-six. Of 
their thirteen children, six died in childhood, the 
others all living beyond the allotted limit of three- 
score years and ten : Elizabeth, who married 
George Beebe, of Feeding Hills, Mass., died at the 
age of ninety-one; Mary A. (Mrs. Winthrop 
Allen) died at eighty-five; Henrietta (Mrs. Alfred 
Allen) was in her eightieth year at the time of her 
death; Margaret M. (Mrs. David T. Smith) was 
in her eighty-ninth year; Tamar (Mrs. William T. 
Morrison) was in her eighty-first year; and Sarah 
E. (Mrs. James G. Harper) was over eighty. 

Our subject, who was the youngest in the fam- 
ily, is now the only survivor. He was reared at 
the homestead, his education being obtained in the 
common schools of the town and the high school 
.at Ellington, Conn., and on completing his course 
of study he engaged in farming. For some years 
he had charge of the homestead, and at the time of 
his marriage he purchased the place, engaging ex- 
tensively in tobacco culture and also carrying on 
general farming. He sold his farm in 1899, and 
now lives retired. At various times he has been 
■employed in responsible positions under the United 
States revenue department. He was assistant as- 
sessor of the Warehouse Point distillery for nearly 
two years ; United States storekeeper of the Gow- 
<ly distillery, at Melrose, three years ; and for three 
years held the same position at the Scitico dis- 
tillery. Politically he is a Republican, and he has 
served four years as assessor and four as select- 
man of the town of East Windsor, while in 1861 
and 1862 he represented the town in the State 
Legislature. For more than fifty years he, with 
his wife, has been a member of the First Congre- 
gational Church at Broad Brook, in which he holds 
the office of deacon, and was superintendent of the 
Sunday-school over thirty years. He is often 
called the father of that Society, as he has done 
more to sustain it than any other member, his 
time and means having been freely given to the 
cause. 

On Jan. 26, 1836, Mr. Thompson married Miss 
Huldah Chapin. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson had no 
issue, but brought up several children of both sexes, 
two of whom were virtually adopted. Mrs. Thomp- 
son died Nov. 20, 1897, in her seventy-ninth year, 
after more than sixty-one years of happy wedded 
life. She was active in church work, giving liber- 
ally of her means, and at her death leaving a gen- 
erous legacy for the church at Broad Brook. 

HON. MARTIN DARSEY. foreman of the 
saltpetre refinery of the Hazard Powder Co., at 
Hazardville, has for almost half a century been a 
faithful and trusted employe of that company, and 



is one of the leading and representative citizens of 
that place. He was born in County Tipperary, 
Ireland, Nov. 9, 1831, a son of Thomas and Mary 
(Dalton) DArsey. The father took an active part 
in the Irish rebellion of 1848, and was compelled 
to flee the country, a reward of $1,500 being offered 
for his arrest. He located in Northampton, Mass., 
where he engaged in farming until his death, which 
occurred in 1852. Our subject followed him to 
this country in 1849, an d m 1851 he was joined by 
his wife and the remainder of the family. The 
children were Martin ; James ; Mary, wife of Nicho- 
las McGrath; Bridget, wife of William Fitzgib- 
bons; John; Michael; and Katherine. 

In October, 1852, Martin DArsey located in 
the village of Hazardville, town of Enfield, Hart- 
ford county, and entered the employ of the Hazard 
Powder Co., with which he has since been con- 
nected. For several years he served as outside fore- 
man of the works, and since 1873 has been super- 
intendent of the saltpetre refinery, a position he has 
filled in a most capable and satisfactory manner. 

Mr. D'Arsey was married, May 13, 1854, to 
Miss Mary Dunnigan, a daughter of Thomas Dun- 
nigan, of County Meath, Ireland, and to them were 
born five children who reached years of maturity : 
Sarah, wife of D. J. Donahoe, of Middletown, 
Conn. ; Thomas F. ; Martin L., deceased ; Kather- 
ine E., wife of Patrick F. Houlihan ; and also 
Mary J., who died in infancy. The family are all 
communicants of the Catholic Church, of which out- 
subject has been a trustee the past eighteen years, 
and are held in high regard by all who know them. 
Politically Mr. D'Arsey is an ardent Republican. 
He has most creditably filled the offices of constable 
and grand juror; represented Enfield town in the 
State Legislature in the session of 1887, and is one 
of the Hazardville fire commissioners. 

HON. EDWIN FRANKLIN THOMPSON, a 
prosperous agriculturist of the town of East Wind- 
sor, is a man whose influence is a recognized factor 
in the business, political and social movements of 
that locality. He is a worthy representative of a 
family which has been prominent in this county 
from an early period, and traces his ancestral line 
to William and Margaret Thompson, natives of Scot- 
land, from whom the majority of the Thompsons 
in Hartford and Tolland counties are descended. 

According to family tradition it was about the 
year 1716 that William and Margaret Thompson 
"started from Scotland for America, but for some 
cause, now unknown, they stopped in Ireland, where 
William died. His last request was that his wife 
and family should come to America, and about 171X 
they embarked in a sailing vessel hound for New 
England. The voyage was a long one and when the 
provisions of the emigrants were exhausted starva- 
tion seemed certain. A prayer meeting was held on 
board and Divine help asked in the emergency. As 
the worshipers arose from their knees they realized 
that their prayers were heard and answered, for the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



825 



Lee, with whom he continued for a year and a half. 
For the next four months he conducted another 
shop in the same place, which he had purchased, 
and at the end of this time Mr. Cone, the man with 
whom he learned his trade, made him an offer and 
he returned to his first shop. In 1855 he became a 
partner in the business, which had grown to large 
proportions, and included the manufacturing of car- 
riages, wagons, etc., and this relationship continued 
until Mr. Cone's demise, in 1889, when his son, 
Ralph Cone, assumed his interest. Mr. Wadsworth 
retained his connection with the business until Jan- 
uary, 1899, when he sold out his share to his partner, 
Ralph Cone, and retired to enjoy the competence 
which had come to him through the passing years. 
As a partner in this large and prosperous concern 
Mr. Wadsworth gained a wide acquaintance 
throughout the county and State, and by an un- 
broken record of honor in all his transactions, an 
integrity unassailable, and an unusual degree of 
business ability and judgment, won a position 
among his business associates which it is not always 
the lot of even the successful man to attain. His 
prosperity was the direct result' of hard work and 
application to daily duty, together with a faculty for 
good management, a combination of valuable quali- 
ties which could not fail of recognition and reward. 

But it was not alone as a business man that Mr. 
Wadsworth displayed his executive ability and other 
qualifications of a leader among men. His useful- 
ness as a public servant was early recognized by his 
fellow citizens in his own town and county, for in 
1855 he was elected clerk and treasurer of the town 
of Manchester, which honored him with re-election 
every two years without opposition from either 
political party for forty-three years, and he resigned 
in 1898 on account of poor health, which was also 
the cause of his retirement from business cares. He 
held these offices forty-three years and four months, 
probably longer than any other incumbent in the 
State, a record which needs no comment. On 
March 6, 1899, on his retirement from office, the 
citizens of Manchester presented him with a valuable 
gold watch and chain, as a token of respect and 
kindlv regard. In 1861 Mr. Wadsworth served as 
member of the State Legislature from his district, 
and in 1872 was the choice of his fellow citizens for 
the State Senate, distinguishing himself in his ser- 
vice in both Houses by rare fidelity to the wishes of 
his constituency, and a loyal regard for the welfare 
of his community. His political support has been 
given to the Republican party in State and National 
affairs. In 1849 Mr. Wadsworth received first 
commission as justice of the peace, in which office he 
was retained continuously for forty-five years, being 
disqualified only by age, in this as in every other 
trust retaining and strengthening the confidence of 
his fellow men for faithful discharge of his duties. 

Mr. Wadsworth was married, in 1844, to Miss 
'Anna J. Dean, by whom he had two daughters : 
Mary Lavone, who died in March, 1849, and Annie 
L., \\\\o lives at home. Mrs. Wadsworth passed 



away Sept. 2, 1849, an d on Nov. 18, 1850, Mr. 
Wadsworth wedded Miss Hannah F. Lamb. To 
this union also came two children, Adda L., who 
died in 1879, and Herbert C, who is now in the em- 
ploy of the Hartford Fire Insurance Co. Mr. 
Wadsworth is actively identified with the work of 
the Congregational Church, of which he has been a 
member for forty years. Fraternally he is a Free- 
mason, holding membership with Manchester Lodge 
No. 73, F. & A. M. 

HON. HARRISON WOODFORD, a member 
of the well-known firm of H. & E. H. Woodford, 
lumber manufacturers of Avon, is a leading citizen 
and a worthy representative of one of the honored 
pioneer families of that section. The first of the 
name to come to America was Thomas Woodford, 
from whom our subject is descended through Jo- 
seph (1), Joseph (2), who married Lydia Smith, 
Joseph (3), Isaac, Asaph and Harvey. 

Joseph Woodford (3) was born in 1705 in the 
town of Farmington, at Nod (now Avon), and died 
in 1786. In 1728 he married Sarah North, of Ber- 
lin, Conn., who died in 1783. Of their children, 
Sarah, born in 1731, died in childhood. Joseph, 
born in 1732, was a soldier in the Revolution- 
ary war, a deacon in the Church and a captain of 
militia. Martha married Thomas Andrews in 1752. 
Lydia was married in 1753 to Thomas Andrews, 
above mentioned. Hannah, born in 1731, was mar- 
ried in 1756 to Percy Marshall. Sarah was born 
in 1 741. Lois was married in 1767 to Samuel 
North, son of Deacon Isaac North, of Wethersfield. 
Susan, born in 1746, died in childhood. Eunice 
was married in 1772 to Seth North, of Kensington. 

Isaac Woodford, the next in the line of descent, 
was born in 1753 and passed his life in agricultural 
pursuits. In 1774 he married Sarah Fuller, who 
died in 1822, aged sixty-eight, and in 1829 he mar- 
ried a Mrs. Sedgwick. He had the following chil- 
dren : Isaac, born in 1774, was married in 1794 to 
Statira Coles, of Danbury. Hulda, born in 1777, was 
married in 1793 to Nathan Clark. Darius was born 
in 1779, Cynthia, in 1781, Asaph, in 1784. Syl- 
vester, born in 1787, married Diana Tilbutson, of 
Canada, N. Y. Sylvester, born 1787, married 1812, 
Betsy Wheeler. Rimanta, born in 1792, married 
Betsy Hart. Terah, born in 1794, was married in 
1820 to Minerva Potter. Sarah, born in 1797, was 
married in 1813 to Chancy Wheeler. A child, born 
in 1801, died in infancy. 

Asaph Woodford, our subject's grandfather, was 
born in Avon, in 1784, and followed farming as 
an occupation in connection with lumbering. He 
was a successful business man and a highly-es- 
teemed citizen, and for many years was a leading 
member of the Congregational Church. In politics 
lie was a Whig. He died Feb. tt, 1859, and his 
wife. Almira ( Potter), died March 23, 1857, their 
remains being buried at West Avon. They had a 
large family of children, as follows: Luther; Ed- 
ward; Henry; Julius; Franklin; Harvey; Ephraim ; 



826 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Emaline, who married (first) Frank Deming and 
(second) Thomas Porter; Julia, who married a Mr. 
Washburn, of Farmington; Lucy, who died Feb. 
2, 1831, in childhood; and a son who died in in- 
fancy. 

Harvey Woodford, our subject's father, was 
born in 1814, and received a good common-school 
education. He taught school several terms, and 
later was engaged in general farming and tobacco 
growing, stock raising and dairying, owning a tract 
of one hundred acres, on which he made many 
improvements. He was a successful man, hon- 
orable and honored in his methods of business, and 
was much respected. Politically he was a Whig 
and then a Republican, but did not seek office, and 
he was identified with the Congregational Church. 
His wife, Alma Chidsey, a most estimable woman, 
was born in Avon, a daughter of Jacob and Martha 
Chidsey. Five children were born of this union : 
Martha (deceased) married Joseph Linden, of Can- 
ton; Fidelia married (first) Charles Upson and 
(second) Edmund Woodford of Bristol; Harrison, 
our subject, was the next in order of birth; Charles 
resides in West Haven ; and Ernest H. resides on 
the homestead, and is a partner in the firm. The 
father and mother both died at the homestead, he 
in 1888, she in 1890, and were buried in West 
Avon. 

Our subject was born Jan. 11, 1841, in West 
Avon, and received his education in the district 
school and the high school at Avon. He remained 
with his parents until the breaking out of the Civil 
war, when, on Aug. 11, 1861, he enlisted at Hart- 
ford, in Company L 18th Conn. V. I., under Col. 
Beach and Capt. Drake. He participated in the bat- 
tles of Antietam, Suffolk, Fredericksburg and Plym- 
outh, and was appointed corporal in April, 1862. 
Later he was taken prisoner, and after six months' 
confinement in Andersonville prison was sent to 
Florence, where his feet were frozen. He was 
paroled and sent to Annapolis, Md., and then to a 
hospital in New Haven, and recovered after un- 
dergoing untold torture. On his return home he 
engaged in farming and tobacco raising on the home- 
stead, and in the lumber business with his brother, 
his present partner in the planing and saw mills at 
Avon. He has built a fine home for himself, and 
made other improvements and his farm of 200 
acres is in an excellent state of cultivation. Like 
all of his family he belongs to the Congregational 
Church, and he is also an active member of the G. 
A. R. He is a stanch Republican, and has served 
as selectman and a member of the Legislature in 
1874, and none in the town are more popular than 
he, his genial manner and honorable character hav- 
ing won him a host of friends. 

In 1896 Mr. Woodford was married in Avon 
to Miss Minnie Case, a native of the Meadow Plain 
District, Simsbury, a daughter of Samuel Case, 
and a granddaughter of Horatio G. Case, of 
Meadow Plain. She died in 1895, after a life 
marked by earnest Christian faith, and her remains 



rest in the cemetery at West Avon. Mr. Wood- 
ford married (second) Mrs. Ellen Woodford Allen, 
daughter of William Watson Woodford, and widow 
of Harvey P. Allen. Our subject has had four chil- 
dren, all by the first marriage : William G., foreman 
in the planing-mill, married Grace Allen, of Avon ; 
Harlan W. and Ruth L. are at home; and Mar- 
guerite died in childhood. 

Mrs. Woodford is also a descendant of Thomas 
Woodford, the pioneer, and was born in Avon, 
where she received a district and high school educa- 
tion. Later she was graduated from the Normal 
School at New Britain, and for several years taught 
school successfully. She was married (first) to 
Harvey P. Allen, who died leaving two children: 
Grace W., a graduate of McLean Seminary and a 
successful teacher, married William G. Woodford ; 
Miss Marion Orelia is at home. Mrs. Woodford 
was the only child of William Watson Woodford, 
and his wife Julia Ann (Goodrich). Her father, 
who was born in 181 3, was a well-known agricult- 
urist of Avon, and was held in high esteem as a 
citizen. Her grandfather, Sfelah Woodford, was 
born in Avon in 1764, and died in 1841. He was 
married in 1785 to Sarah Hutchinson, and had the 
following children: Orris, born in 1788, was mar- 
ried in 1810 to Lucy Thompson; Sophia, born in 
1790, was married to Amos Phelps; Delinda, born 
in 1792, was married in 1815 to G. Sperry; Harriet, 
born in 1794, died in 1799; Minerva, born in 1798, 
was married in 1819 to Samuel Bishop. Evelyn, 
born in 1802, was married in 1827 to Emma 
Wheeler; Harriet (2), born in 1804, was married 
in 1825 to Seth Wheeler. 

HON. CHARLES DENNIS BARNES is one 
of the most prominent and influential citizens of 
Southington, a leader in business and political cir- 
cles. Many of the important enterprises and busi- 
ness interests of the town bear the impress of his 
individuality, and owe not a little of their success 
to his ability and capable powers of management. 

Mr. Barnes was born in Southington, Jan. 12, 
1843, a son of Dennis and Caroline (Sage) Barnes. 
The father was also born, reared and educated in 
Southington, and was for several years a boat owner, 
running a line of boats on the New Haven & 
Northampton canal. He was born in 1818, and died 
in 1844. He was a son of Asa Barnes, Jr., who 
was born July 22, 1771. and married Polly W. 
Woodruff. His father, Asa Barnes, Sr., was born 
Aug. 24, 1745, and married Oct. 30, 1765, Phebe 
Adkins, daughter of Luther Adkins. Asa Barnes, 
Sr., lived in the southwestern part of Southington, 
where he kept a tavern, was very popular in his 
business and was known as Landlord Barnes. The 
officers of the French army made his house their 
headquarters while encamped for a time on French 
Hill, and he gave a ball in honor of his guests, 
which at the time created some excitement. His 
parents were Stephen and Martha (Wheadon) 
Barnes, who moved from Branford, Conn., to South- 




m 



O/JmJ 




Wrr< 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



827 



ington during its early settlement. Here the for- 
mer died March 27, 1777, the latter March 18, 1773, 
and she was the first person buried in Plantsville 
cemetery. Stephen Barnes was a son of Stephen 
and Mary Barnes, who are supposed to have moved 
to Bran ford from Long Island. 

The early life of our subject was passed in Con- 
necticut and New York, and after completing his 
education at the Meriden high school, he served an 
apprenticeship to the carpenter's trade. During the 
Civil was he manifested his patriotism by enlisting, 
June 22, 1862, becoming a private in Company r_>, 
15th Conn. V. I., and later was promoted to the 
rank of sergeant. He participated in the battles 
of Fredericksburg, Ya., and Edenton Road, N. C. ; 
the siege of Suffolk, N. C. ; and the battle of Kings- 
ton, N. C, where he was wounded and taken pris- 
oner, May 8, 1865, being sent to Libby prison. A few 
days later he was paroled and honorably discharged 
from the service at Annapolis, Md., in June, 1865. 

On his return to Southington Mr. Barnes re- 
sumed work at his trade, and was thus employed 
until 1872, when he took charge of the shipping de- 
partment of the Peck, Stow & Wilcox Bolt Works, 
remaining there two years. He then embarked in 
the shoe business on his own account, and was suc- 
cessfully engaged in that line of trade until 1895. 
In 1881 he established what is known as the South- 
ington Lumber & Feed Co., and was made manager 
and treasurer on its incorporation. In 1889 he was 
elected a director and vice-president of the South- 
ington National Bank, and in 1890 was elected 
president, which office he still holds. He was also 
elected a director and member of the loaning com- 
mittee of the Southington Savings Bank, in 1875, 
and vice-president of the same in 1898. He is a di- 
rector of the Soutiiington Cutlery Co., and for a 
number of years has been president of the Oak 
Hill Cemeterv Association. 

On Sept. 27, 1865, Mr. Barnes was united in 
marriage with Miss Sarah H. Hamlin, daughter of 
Amos and Mary (Bull) Hamlin, of Southington. 
By that union he had one son, Frank H. For his 
present wife he married Margaret H. Taylor, a 
daughter of James Barton and Jane (Harper) 
Taylor, of Winchester, Virginia. 

Mr. Barnes' public service covers a period of 
nearly thirty years, beginning in 1873, when he 
was elected to the board of selectmen and made 
a grand juror. From 1874 to 1896 he served con- 
tinuously, with the exception of one year, as town 
clerk, registrar and treasurer of the school fund, 
declining further re-election to those offices. When 
the borough of Southington was formed he was 
named as warden upon the only ticket in the field, 
an honor which he also declined, but was per- 
suaded to become one of the burgesses, and served 
for two years as chairman of the committee on 
Sewers, Highways and Streets. As a member from 
Southington on the "dead-lock session" of the 
Legislature, in 1891, he served as clerk of the 
committee on Appropriations, and in 1893 was 



House chairman of the same and a member of the 
committee on Banks. In 1898 he was elected to a 
third term, and is now House chairman on Appro- 
priations. In politics Mr. Barnes has always been 
a stanch Republican, and his opinion and advice 
are continually sought on questions of importance 
to his town and county. He was one of the or- 
ganizers of Trumbull Post, No. 16, G. A. R., of 
Southington ; was its first commander ; and is also 
a member of the Armv and Navy Club of Con- 
necticut ; the Merchants Club of Southington ; and 
of the First Congregational Church. 

SHELDON KINNEY (deceased) was for 
many years prominently identified with the agri- 
cultural and business interests of the town of 
Windsor, and was one of its highly esteemed and 
honored citizens. He was born in Winsted, Conn., 
March 30, 1817, a son of Sheldon Kinney, Sr., a 
native of New Preston, Conn. His grandfather, 
Pari Kinney, married a Miss Hine, and his great- 
grandfather, who also bore the name of Pari, mar- 
ried a Miss Sheldon. On his mother's side he was 
a descendant of the Farrens, who were among the 
first settlers of East Haven, Connecticut. 

Our subject was one of a family of five chil- 
dren who reached adult age, was reared in Win- 
sted, and received such an education as the schools 
of his time afforded. During his youth he learned 
the molder's trade at New Hartford, but the work 
being too heavy, he was compelled to give it up. 
He was then engaged in the butcher business with 
his father for some years, and did much in the way 
of cattle buying and droving, it being customary in 
those days when buying cattle in New York State 
to drive them across the country to their destina- 
tion. He also followed merchandising in Winsted 
for some time. 

In November, 1847, in the town of Windsor, 
Mr. Kinney married Miss Eliza A. Phelps, who 
was born July 27, 1820, on a farm adjoining the 
place where she lately lived, and died March 10, 
1900. She came from one of the oldest and most 
highly respected families of the town. She was 
also related to many of the most prominent fami- 
lies of Hartford county, among which are many 
men of note and others who bore an active part in 
the Revolutionary war. Her parents were Hiram 
and Laura A. (Griswold) Phelps, and she traced 
her ancestry back through the following: Timothy 
and Ruth (Wilson) Phelps; Timothy and Marga- 
ret (Gillett) Phelps; Cornelius and Sarah (Mans- 
field) Phelps; Lieut. Timothy and Alary (Gris- 
wold) Phelps; and William and Mary (Dover) 
Phelps. William Phelps, just mentioned, was the 
progenitor of the family in America, and was one 
of the first settlers of Windsor. Mrs. Kinney was 
the youngest daughter in a family of five children 
who reached years of maturity, and was reared on 
the farm of her birth. By her marriage to our sub- 
ject she became the mother of two children : Timo- 
thy P., of Windsor, commission agent for fertilizers 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



829 



against the Indians. He proved to be a brave and 
gailant officer, always ready to bear more than his 
own share in any perilous adventure, in 1670, 
while accompanying a party in pursuit of the flee- 
ing savages, he was severely wounded in the thigh. 
He died at Wethersfield, Dec. 2, 1713, deeply 
mourned by the people whose faithful, spiritual 
guide and counselor he had been for many years, 
hie was a man of scholarly attainments and an ac- 
complished linguist, beloved by his friends, and re- 
spected by all who knew his worth. He was the 
father of six children : Catherine, Dorothy, Charles, 
Peter, Edward and John. Catherine was born in 
1660, and married Richard Treat, Aug. 20, 1704; 
Dorothy was born in 1662, and became the wife of 
Thomas Treat on July 6, 1693 ; Charles, born in 
1663 ; Peter, born in 1664, married Rebecca Talcott; 
John was the husband of Patience Prentice. 

Edward Bulkley, the fifth child and third son 
of Rev. Gershom Bulkley, was born in 1673. He 
married Dorothy Prescott, who was a daughter of 
Jonathan Prescott, of Concord, Mass. He died at 
Wethersfield, Aug. 27, 1747. He was the father of 
a large family. His eldest son, Charles, was born 
March 27, 1703, and married Mary Sage, of Middle- 
town. Elizabeth, his first daughter, was born Jan. 
24, 1705, and became Mrs. Joseph Smith. Sarah 
(Mrs. Joseph Stow) was born Feb. 8, 1707. Re- 
becca was born Feb. 22, 1709, and married Thomas 
Trent. Peter, born March 19, 171 1, died in in- 
fancy. Peter (2) was born almost exactly twelve 
months later, having come into the world March 
17, 1712; he married Abigail Curtis. Gershom, the 
sixth child, married Thankful Belding; he was 
born July 29, 1714. Dorothy, born Sept. 11, 1716, 
married Thomas Curtis, of Rocky Hill. The next 
child, Jonathan, was born in 17 18, and became 
the husband of Abigail Williams. Abigail, the 
ninth child, came into the world in 1720, and be- 
came the wife of John Marsh. The tenth and 
youngest of the family was Lucy, who was born 
in 1725, and married Charles Butler. 

Jonathan Bulkley, the fifth son and eighth child 
of Edward, the date of whose birth is mentioned 
above, married Abigail Williams Nov. 13, 1746. 
They were the parents of thirteen children, whose 
names, with respective dates of their birth, were 
as follows: Eleanor, Nov. 11, 1747; Stephen, Dec. 
19, 1749; Edmund, Dec. 7, 1851 ; John, Nov. 3, 
1853, died July II, 1770; Frederick, Aug. 27, 1855, 
died Jan. 20, 1777; a son, June 25, 1758, died un- 
named; Jonathan, May 10, 1759, married to Mary 
Edwards June 16, 1787; Lydia, May 9, 1761 ; a 
stillborn daughter, May 4, 1762; Moses, Feb. 7, 
1764; Dorothy, April 8, 1766, died Aug. 18 fol- 
lowing; Burrage, Aug. 9, 1767; and Dorothy (2), 
June 17, 1770. 

Stephen Bulkley, the eldest son of this familv, 
and a direct lineal ancestor of Edward J. Bulkley, 
was twice married. His first wife was Martha 
Marsh. She died April 20, 1804. and Sept. 16, 
1805, ne married Susan Riley. Stephen Bulkley 



died in May, 1813. The fruit of his first marriage 
was eight children, as follows: Honor, born May 
5, 1774, was married to Daniel Edwards, Jr., of 
Midaletown, Nov. 16, 1795; Stephen, born April 
18, 1776, died Sept. 29, 1779; Catherine, born Oct. 
J 5> l 77&> clie d Oct. 11, 1799; Gate, born Sept. 2, 
1 780, married Zenas Edwards, Dec. 7, 1800; Stephen 
(2), born March 30, 1785; Allen, July 19, 1786; 
Frederick, June 1, 1792; and a daughter (who died 
unnamed), Dec. 18, 1796. To Stephen Bulkley, Sr., 
and Susan Riley, his second wife, two children 
were born; Burrage, Dec. 22, 1805, and Waite, on 
March 4, 1807. 

Frederick Bulkley, above named, grandfather of 
Edward J. Bulkley, received a common-school ed- 
ucation, and later learned the trade of a blacksmith, 
at Rocky Hill. From that town he removed to 
Wethersfield, where he built and opened a shop on 
Broad street. In addition to his work at his shop 
he carried on general farming and stock raising. 
He passed his life in Wethersfield, where he died 
Sept. 24, 1850. He was a Democrat, although 
never seeking office, and a member of the Congre- 
gational Church. He was a good citizen ; a modest, 
unassuming man, of simple tastes and democratic 
habits. In his domestic life he was affectionate and 
kind, and in his relations with his fellow men liberal 
and upright. He was elected selectman of the 
town, and held various other offices of minor im- 
portance. On Oct. 6, 1814, he married Nancy Riley, 
who was born at Wethersfield, Julv 16, 1792, and 
died there Dec. 24, 1857. Six children were born 
of this marriage: Martha, Oct. 15, 1815 (died un- 
married April 1, 1870) ; Julia and Jane (twins), 
Jan. 2, 1819 (the former died Feb. 21, 1890, the 
latter on May 27, 1888) ; Nancy R., Dec. 30, 1822 
(died Jan. 24, 1888) ; Stephen (the father of Ed- 
ward J. Bulkley), May 6, 1825 ; and Kate E., April 
27,, 1834. Julia died unmarried, and Jane became 
the wife of Walter Edwards. Nancy R. married 
Benjamin H. Tower, Jan. 3, 1865 ; and Kate E. was 
united, Nov. 20, 1870, to John Warner, a promi- 
nent farmer, and resides on Broad street, Wethers- 
field. 

Stephen Bulkley, the fifth child and only son, 
attended the Wethersfield district schools, but his 
broader education was obtained in the school of 
experience. He was a successful farmer, and one 
of the first tobacco growers in Wethersfield. For 
several years he was a large buyer of tobacco for 
a New York firm. He was a capable and success- 
ful business man, and held in high esteem alike 
for his sagacity and integrity. Prior to the out- 
break of the Civil war he was a Democrat, but after 
that date he affiliated with the Republican party. 
In religious faith he was an Episcopalian. His fel- 
low townsmen over and over again testified their 
appreciation of his capability and their confidence 
in his probity by electing him to positions of honor 
and trust. In addition to holding several minor 
offices, he served as selectman during the war of the 
Rebellion, and was elected to the Legislature in 



830 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1883. He was a public-spirited citizen, and always 
a stanch supporter of popular education. He died 
June 21, 1891. His wife was Prudence, a daugh- 
ter of John Warner, of Wethersfield, in which town 
she was born, and where she died, November 29, 
1887. The date of their marriage was Jan. 23, 
1850, and the issue consisted of nine children: 
Fannv R., born Nov. 2, 1850, who married John 
Hanmer, Jan. 28, 1874; Alice May, born April 9, 
1852; Prudence Warner, born Jan. 24, 1854, for- 
merly a school teacher in Wethersfield; Frederick, 
born Feb. 8, 1856, died Feb. 2, i860; Edward J.; 
Stephen, born Jan. 4, 1861, now a druggist in Brook- 
lyn, N. Y. ; "Charles and Chester (twins), born 
April 25, 1864 (Charles is a merchant in Wethers- 
field, Chester died Oct. 27, 1867) ; and Robert R., 
born Sept. 9, 1866, living at home. 

Edward J. Bulkley was born April 23, 1858. 
His early education was acquired at the public 
schools of Wethersfield, and also at the South 
school, in Hartford. He grew up on his father's 
farm, and for about a year, while yet a young 
man, worked as a clerk in Hartford, and also as 
assistant cashier for Brown & Thompson. Return- 
ling to Wethersfield he began farming in earnest, 
and this has been the occupation of his life. In 
addition to general and dairy farming he has de- 
voted much attention to tobacco culture, being the 
most extensive grower in the town. He has in- 
herited his father's sound sense and good judg- 
ment, and is to-day one of the foremost and most 
successful young business men of Wethersfield. 
He is endowed with immense native energy, to 
which is joined pertinacity of purpose and high 
moral courage. He is popular in the community, 
where his ability commands admiration, and his 
moral worth insures respect. He is genial and 
whole-souled, true to his friends and charitable 
toward all. He is treasurer of the school board, 
and in 1898 was elected a representative to the Leg- 
islature, on the Republican ticket, serving during 
his term in the House as member of the committee 
on Appropriation, a very important committee. He 
is a member of the Wethersfield Grange. 

On April 28, 1886, at Wethersfield, Mr. Bulkley 
married Miss Jennie Sage, who was born at Middle- 
town July 3, 1863, a daughter of Franklin Sage, of 
New York. Mrs. Bulkley is a cultured lady, hos- 
pitably inclined. To this union one child has been 
born, Rachel Eugenie, who is a pupil in the high 
school. Mr. and Mrs. Bulkley are communicants of 
the Episcopal Church, of which he is junior warden. 

JOHN FLAVEL BUCKLAND (deceased) was 
for many years a leading citizen of the town of East 
Windsor, and his life and character afforded an 
example worthy of emulation. Beginning his ca- 
reer as a poor boy, he made his own way to finan- 
cial success, while at the same time he fulfilled to 
the utmost his high ideals of citizenship, lending his 
influence to help forward the right solution of the 
problems of his day. 



Mr. Buckland came of good old Vermont stock, 
and his family was identified for many years with 
Tunbridge, that State. His father, Ashbell Buck- 
land (born Nov. 14, 1771) married Ruth Mosley 
(born March 23, 1772), and they had nine chil- 
dren as follows: David W. (who died in infancy), 
David H., Harriet, Sophronia, Joseph, John F. (our 
subject), Asenath, Ruth, and William. 

John F. Buckland was born April 12, 1797, in 
Tunbridge, Vt., where he remained until twelve 
years old. Even at that early age the necessity for 
securing his own livelihood was impressed upon 
him, and when a friend who had located in Ware- 
house Point, Conn., secured him a position there, 
he walked all the way from Tunbridge, carrying 
his worldly possessions in a small bundle tied up in 
a handkerchief. He was employed in Gen. Jenk's 
distillery until 1828, and in the meantime he pur- 
chased and improved the farm near Warehouse 
Point which is now owned and occupied by his only 
child, Mrs. Mary L. Arnold. During the remainder 
of his life his attention was devoted largely to to- 
bacco culture and general farming. From time to 
time he invested in other real estate, and at his 
death, which occurred Oct. 28, 1864, he left a large 
estate. Politically he w T as a Republican, and as a 
public-spirited citizen he was keenly interested in 
local affairs. Throughout his life he was strictly 
temperate, and his deep reverence for religion was 
manifested in his daily conduct and conversation. 
Every morning and evening prayer was offered in 
his home and a chapter read from the Bible, and 
for years he was a leading member of the First 
Congregational Church at Scantic. 

On May 19, 1824, Mr. Buckland married Miss 
Lucinda Bancroft, an estimable woman, who was 
born in East Windsor, Conn., Jan. 13, 1796, daugh- 
of John Bancroft, and granddaughter of Deacon 
John Bancroft, who made guns for the Revolution- 
ary army. She died Jan. 9, 1871, leaving the mem- 
ory of a lovable character and devout Christian 
life. 

Mrs. Mary L. Arnold, who was born at the 
homestead, April 14, 183 1, is a lady of unusual abil- 
ity. She is much respected in the community, and is 
identified with St. John's Episcopal Church at 
Warehouse Point. On Dec. 8, 1867, she married 
Joseph Arnold, a native of Haddam, Conn., who 
was at one time a merchant in New York City and 
later a salesman in the silk department of A. T. 
Stewart's store. After his marriage he took charge 
of the homestead, where he passed away Sept. 29, 
1887. He was active and influential in local poli- 
tics as a member of the Democratic organization, 
served as tax collector in East Windsor town for a 
time, and in 1879 was elected to the State Legis- 
lature. 

HON. ELWIN F. MERRIMAN, present rep- 
resentative from Avon to the State Legislature, 
is one of the most enterprising citizens of his town, 
and has been a leading agriculturist of this part of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



831 



Hartford county since his removal here in 1888. Mr. 
Merriman is a native of the town of Litchfield, 
Litchfield Co., Conn., horn March 17, 1859, a son 
of Joseph Merriman and a grandson of John A. 
Merriman. 

John A. Merriman was horn in New York State 
in 1800, and in an early day removed to Litchfield, 
Conn., whre he spent the remainder of his days, 
engaged in general farming and raising working 
cattle. He also did teaming between Litchfield 
and New Haven. He married a Miss Cable, and they 
had fourteen children, four of whom died young, 
and the other ten lived without a death among 
them for over fifty years : Harlow, the eldest, was 
a resident of Falls Village, Conn. ; Lucy is the 
widow of Lewis Perkins, and lives in Litchfield ; 
Hiram is a resident of Springfield, Mass. ; Julia 
(deceased) was the wife of Samuel McNeil, of 
Danbury ; John lives in Unionville, Conn. ; Robert 
made his home in Wisconsin, but died in Union- 
ville, while on a visit; Joseph is the father of our 
subject; Charles is a resident of Litchfield, where 
he has served as first selectman for many years : Sa- 
rah is the wife of Julius Treadway; and Louise 
married William Ford. The parents of this family 
both died in Litchfield county, where they are 
buried. Mr. Merriman was a Democrat in politics. 

Joseph Merriman was born May 3, 1834, in the 
town of Litchfield, where he received his education 
in the district schools. He has been one of the 
most active citizens of his town, all of his early 
manhood was spent in doing teaming with oxen, 
and for many years he served acceptably as road 
maker and supervisor, while for some years he had 
charge of the town farm, giving general satisfac- 
tion in discharging the duties of that incumbency. 
At present he is successfully engaged in dairying 
and general farming in Litchfield, where he is 
highly respected for his substantial worth. He has 
been active in the ranks of the Democratic party 
as a stanch supporter of the principles of that or- 
ganization, but he has never been a politician in the 
sense of office-seeker. In Plainville, Conn., he 
was married to Miss Catharine Bradley, a native 
of that town, daughter of Isaac Bradley, and six 
children were born to them: Martha, who is the 
wife of Henry Judd, a farmer of Middlebury ; Elwin 
F. ; Isaac, a farmer of Litchfield ; Lena, wife of 
Jay Gilbert, of Litchfield ; Katie, wife of Birdsey 
Atwood, of Thomaston, Conn., and Una, who died 
young. Mr. and Mrs. Merriman are earnest mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Up to the age of thirteen years Elwin F. Merri- 
man lived at home, assisting his parents on the farm, 
and attending the district schools nearby. Since that 
time he has been practically self-supporting, for 
he commenced to work out among other farmers, 
at first receiving ten dollars a month for his ser- 
vices ; but he did not give up the idea of obtaining 
a good education, and he continued to go to school 
during the winter time as opportunity offered, 
studying for a time at Litchfield Academy. He 



taught school for six terms near his old home, and 
was engaged thus in connection with farming up 
to the age of twenty-two years, when he came to 
Hartford county, locating first in Unionville. For 
five years after his removal here he was engaged 
in teaming, and he then embarked in the express 
business on his own account, running a wagon be- 
tween Hartford and Unionville. Meeting with 
fair success in this enterprise, he continued thus 
for two years, in 1888 removing, to West Avon, 
where he purchased the William Smith farm, on 
which he has ever since resided. He carries on gen- 
eral farming, and believes in extensive farming, and 
and keeps on his forty-acre farm about thirty head 
of stock, peddling the milk in Unionville. Mr. Mer- 
riman has prospered to an unusual degree since 
his settlement in Avon town, and he fully deserves 
all the success which has come to him, for he has 
earned the way to his present high position, and 
may well be called a self-made man, one "to whom 
the community can point as an example of industry 
and intelligent effort. He has always had the repu- 
tation of being a straightforward man in all his deal- 
ings, and by his able management of his own af- 
fairs and strict integrity has won the confidence of 
his fellow citizens in Avon, who have shown their 
appreciation of his worth in many substantial ways. 
Not long after settling here he was elected town 
assessor, in which office he served faithfully ; was 
acting school visitor for three years, and he has 
since been called upon to serve as member of the 
board of relief and as first selectman of the town. 
In 1898 he was chosen to represent his district in 
the State Legislature, and he is now serving. 
Though he is comparatively a new resident of the 
town, Mr. Merriman has by his upright life made 
a place for himself among its reliable and most 
respected citizens, as is evidenced by the many hon- 
ors he has received at the hands of his fellow citi- 
zens, and he is to be congratulated upon the posi- 
tion he has reached while still in his prime. His 
political support is given to the Democratic party. 
Mr. Merriman was married, in 1880, to Miss 
Louise Osborn, daughter of James Osborn, of Litch- 
field, and they had one child, Raymond, who died 
at the age of twelve years. Mrs. Merriman died 
Sep. 4, 1884, and was buried in Unionville; she was 
an earnest Christian woman, in religious connection 
holding membership with the Episcopal Church. 
In 1885 Mr. Merriman was married, in Unionville, 
to Miss Mary Porter, daughter of Major and Mary 
(Thompson) Porter, both of whom died when Mrs. 
Merriman was but two years of age. This union 
has also been blessed with two children : Grace 
Isabel, born April 17, 1893, now attending school, 
and Louis Porter, a sturdy little fellow, born Sept. 
16, 1899. Mr. and Mrs. Merriman are active mem- 
bers of the M. E. Church, in which he now holds 
the office of steward. They are popular among 
their neighbors, havng many friends in Avon who 
enjoy their pleasant society and esteem them for 
their genuine worth. 



832 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



EDWARD ANSON HUBBARD (deceased), 
late of Glastonbury, was a descendant in the eighth 
generation from (I) George Hubbard, likely a 
native of Essex or Surrey, England, whence he 
emigrated to New England in 1633, locating first 
at Watertown, Mass., later in Wethersfield, Gonn., 
and still later in Milford, and finally in Guilford, 
Conn., removing to this latter point prior to 1650. 
He had married Mary, daughter of John and Anne 
Bishop. She died at Guilford in 1675 and he passed 
away there in 1683. From this emigrant George 
Hubbard, of Guilford, Edward A. Hubbard's line 
of descent is through John, John (2), Ephraim, 
Jonathan, David and Norman Hubbard. 

(II) John Hubbard, son of George, of Guil- 
ford, born in England about 1630, was brought to 
this country in about 1633. He married, about 
1648-49, Alary Merriam, formerly of Concord, 
Mass. He lived at Hadley, where five of his chil- 
dren were born, then at Hatfield, where he died 
in 1702. 

(III) John Hubbard (2), son of John, born in 
Wethersfield, Conn., in 1655, married, in about 
1676, Alary, daughter of Thomas Wright, and later 
settled in Glastonbury, where he died in about 1748. 
He was a large land owner and a man of prom- 
inence, serving a number of years in the Legis- 
lature. 

( IV) Ephraim Hubbard, son of John (2), born 
in 1695 in Glastonbury, Conn., married Mary Lord, 
who died in 1772. He was a well-to-do farmer, 
a deacon in the church, and died in Glastonburv in 
1780. 

1 V ) Jonathan Hubbard, son of Ephraim, born 
in Glastonbury in 1720, married (second) Widow 
Sarah (Smith) Forbes. He died in Glastonbury 
in 1806, and second wife died there in 1781. 

(VI) David Hubbard, son of Jonathan, born 
in Glastonbury in 1758, married, in 1783, Jemima 
Chamberlain, who died in 1838. David Hubbard 
was a deacon in the church. He served in the 
militia in the war of the Revolution. 

(ATI) Norman Hubbard, son of (VI) David 
and Jemima Hubbard, was born in 1787 in Glaston- 
bury, and died in 1854, a lifelong zealous and lib- 
eral supporter of the Congregational Church. He 
married (first) I\ancy Sellow, and to this union 
were born five children: (1) Sarah, born in 1815, 
married Martin Keeney; (2) Sereno, born in 1816, 
died in 1864; he married Maria Dodd, of Hartford, 
and had two children, Elizabeth and Clarence, of 
whom Elizabeth married George Lee and had one 
son, Frank; (3) Harriet, born in 1819, married 
Norman Spencer, and died in January, 1871, leav- 
ing four children, Norman, Sarah, Harriet and 
Charles; (4) Edward A. is the subject of this 
sketch; (5) Norman, born in 1825, died unmarried 
at the age of twentv vears. 

(VIII) Edward A. Hubbard, son of (VII) 
Norman and Nancy (Sellew) Hubbard, was born 
May 3, 1822, in Glastonbury, and received his edu- 
cation at the common schools of the district, which 
was supplemented with a course of study at the 



Westfield (Mass.) Academy. His father being a 
tanner, young Edward assisted in the work of cij 
tannery, remaining under the parental roof until 
he became of age. On the death of his father, in 
1854, Edward A. formed a partnership with Isaac 
Broacinead, a practical tanner, Mr. Hubbard fur- 
nishing the capital and acting as business manager 
of the concern. They built a new tannery, and in 
partnership carried on a successful business up to 
the death of Mr. Hubbard, in 1871, at which time 
Mr. Broadhead purchased the interest of the de- 
ceased and continued the business alone. 

On Feb. 8, i860, Edward A. Hubbard was united 
in marriage with Miss Charlotte Hunt, who was 
born May 21, 1828, at Vernon, Tolland Co., Conn., 
a daughter of Capt. Oliver and Roxanna (Smith) 
Hunt. Capt. Hunt was born in Vernon, Conn., a 
son of Oliver and Jerusha (Simons) Hunt, highly 
respected farming people, who had a family of four 
children: Laura, (Capt.) Oliver, Rebecca and 
Mary. To Capt. Oliver and Roxanna Hunt were 
born eight children : ( 1 ) Fidelia Clark became the 
wife of Capt. Bela Abbott ; both are now deceased. 
(2) Philinda is the deceased widow of Elijah 
Payne. (3) Roxanna, deceased, was the wife of 
C. A. Risley. (4) Oliver married (first) Roselle 
Chapman, and (second) Harriet Fuller; he is now 
living retired at Galesburg, 111. (5) Eliza Ann 
is deceased. (6) Caroline Mary married Leander 
Smith; both are deceased. (7) Charlotte (Mrs. 
F. A. Hubbard) comes next in the order of birth. 
(8) Chester Smith, the youngest, is deceased. 
Capt. Oliver Hunt was by occupation a farmer and 
tanner ; was a captain in the State troops, a Whig 
and Republican in politics and served in the State 
Legislature two terms. He was a member of no 
church, though a liberal contributor to all denom- 
inations. 

To Edward A. and Charlotte (Hunt) Hubbard 
were born two daughters: (1) Charlotte Hunt, 
born Dec. 15, i860, was educated at Hartford 
(Conn.) Female Seminary and Bordentown, N. J.; 
she is now the wife of Lewis W. Ripley, a sketch 
of whom appears elsewhere. (2) Mary Amelia, 
born May 4, 1863, graduated from the Hartford 
Public High School ; she was married, May 4, 1886, 
to Dr. Gideon C. Segur, of Hartford, Conn., and 
has a family of six living children : Raymond Hub- 
bard, Charlotte Hubbard, Marjorie Hubbard, Gerald 
Hubbard, Malcolm Cundall and Katharine Hunt ; 
there were two other children, Edward Hubbard 
and Donald Cundall, both of whom died in infancy. 
Mrs. Hubbard is a lady of culture and refinement, 
and after the death of her husband she made her 
home for a time in Hartford in order to give her 
two daughters the benefit of a good city education, 
returning in 1898 to a home in Glastonbury, where 
she now resides. Her life has been full of useful- 
ness, and in the evening of her days, which she is 
enjoying in ease and comfort, she can look over the 
past vears with the consciousness of duties well 
performed. 

The late Edward A. Hubbard had a wide busi- 



-CORD. 


















ii 






I 



- 

■ . ah, 






- 
at t] 

■ 
; ith a the 



■ 

: 

I 

I 

I 

I 
- 

■ 



lis father I 



■ 

^rental roof until 
the dea fathe 

a partnersl 

ibbard 
.- 

- 

Conn., 
Lth) 
... a 

■ 

Elijah 

) Ros 
■ is - 
. iza Ann 
.eander 

f birth. 

ter and 
a Wl 

. the State 

utor t< all denom- 

Hubbard 

Hunt. 
Hartf 

\". J. ; 
, a skel 

id Hub- 

rd, Gerald 

nt : 

infancy. 

le her 

i 

retui here 

ail- 
which 

k over the 
well 





y ck 




Y, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



883 



ness acquaintance in the United States and Europe, 
his business career and his home life being alike- 
above reproach, and he had the warm regard of 
many personal friends, while at the same time he 
was ever faithful to all trusts, whether of a public 
or private nature, reposed in him. He was a stanch 
friend of advanced educational methods, a promoter 
and supporter of the Glastonbury Free Academy, 
and a liberal contributor to all enterprises intended 
to help the building up of society. A prominent 
member of the Congregational Church, he was a 
pure-minded Christian, a great student of the Bible 
and an earnest worker in the cause of humanity. 
A strong Republican in politics, he was nevertheless 
no office seeker, though frequently urged by his 
friends to accept nomination. His domestic and 
social life was full of tenderness and sympathy for 
others, and filled with unostentatious acts of charity, 
particularly among the poor and needy, deeds that 
were known at the time only to himself and the 
recipients of his bounty. He died universally be- 
loved and respected, and left the heritage of a good 
name. 

HON. JAMES HATHAWAY VIETS. The 
Yiets family has held a prominent place in this sec- 
tion from pioneer times, and the personal history 
of this venerable and highly-esteemed resident of 
East Granby, can have no better introduction than 
the following brief review of his ancestry; The 
thrift, enterprise and public-spirit which have 
marked his conduct throughout his long and useful 
career are characteristic of the family, and its mem- 
bers have made themselves honorable reputations in 
various callings, many of the name in Hartford 
county being engaged in agricultural pursuits. 

The name is probably of German origin, as it 
occurs in various forms in different localities in 
the "Fatherland," and Dr. John Viets, the progeni- 
tor of the family in this section, who settled in 
Simsbury in 1710, spelled the name Viett. After 
his death his sons used the spelling Vietts, which 
would indicate that the name was pronounced in 
that w,ay, and it is surmised that at an earlier period 
it may have been written Vietz. The presenl spell- 
ing was adopted about 1750. Dr. John Viets is 
said to have been well-educated, having prepared 
for the medical profession in Germany, but the in- 
formation concerning his early life is meagre and 
is in some instances conflicting. According to the 
best authority he was born probably about 1665, 
and there is little doubt that on coming to America 
he landed in New York, where his marriage may 
have occurred. His name appears in the records 
of Simsbury as early as 1710, when he was admitted 
as a citizen, and on January 5, 171 1, he received a 
deed for twelve acres of land from the heirs of John 
Griffin. This was located on the west side of the 
mountain, being now included in the town of East 
Granby. For some time he followed farming there 
in connection with his medical practice. The early 
settlers were too poor and possibly too hardy and 
£3 



healthy to furnish a good income for a physician, 
and it seems that he thought at one time of return- 
ing to his native land. In 1713 he mortgaged his 
farm for ten pounds sterling, and as there was 
then a linseed oil mill on the place it is probable 
that he had built it. In 1723 he received a grant of 
eighty-two acres of land from the town, and his 
death occurred soon afterward (Nov. 18, 1723), 
from a fever. Tradition says that his wife's name 
was Catharine Meyers, but on her tombstone in 
Simsbury it is given as "Camon Vets, ye wife of 
Dct. John Vets." She died on the 5th or 6th day of 
March, 1734, at the age of sixty-eight. Of their 
four children, Catharine married Mr. Hoskins, of 
Windsor; Henry, born 1709, died April 2, 1779; 
John, born Nov. 3, 1712, married Lois Phelps, and 
died April 8, 1777; and Mary or Mercy married Mr. 
Gough or Goff. 

Henry Viets, our subject's great-grandfather, 
was but a boy when his father died, and he and his 
brother John had to make their own way in life. 
For a time he was employed in the copper mines in 
Simsbury, but later became a farmer in the north- 
ern part of the town, where he secured an extensive 
estate. He died April 2, 1779. His first wife, Mar- 
garet, died Sept. 28, 1750, and his second wife, Mar- 
garet Austin, of Windsor, who was born in 1712, 
died October 14, 1783. By his first marriage he had 
five children: Henry, born Jan. 24, 1737, died Feb, 
5, 1824; Margaret, born May 9, 1739, died Sep. 22, 
1782; Luke, born June 17, 1743, died (Jet. 21, 1757, 
having been accidentally shot at Becket, Mass., 
while limiting; David, born Feb. 18, 1745, (iied Nov. 
3, 1815 ; Jonathan, born Sept. 26, 1750, died Feb. 17, 
1837. By his second wife he had one son, James, 
born Aug. 28, 1752, died Dec. 23, 1827. 

Capt. James Viets, our subject's grandfather, 
was a farmer by occupation, and his improvements 
on Ids old homestead at Copper Hill included a 
substantial dwelling-house, built in 1797. i Ie owned 
a large tract of land at Colbrook, and for many years 
made a specialty of dairying. He was a consistent 
member of the Episcopal Church. Politically he 
supported the views of Jefferson. As a good citi- 
zen he took an active part in public affairs, and 
his title was gained by service as an officer in tbe 
State militia. His death occurred December 23, 
1827, at the homestead on Copper Hill, and his re- 
mains were interred at Turkey Hill cemetery. His 
wife Elizabeth Brown, usually called "Betsey" 
among her friends, was born in Nova Scotia and 
died Feb. 23, 1837. She was an Episcopalian in re- 
ligious faith, and her daily life gave proof of her de- 
votion. They had four children, of whom our sub- 
ject's father, Festus Viets, was the youngest. (1) 
Betsey, born Sept. 6, 178 r, married Robert Lliurcli, 
and died Feb. 6, 1871. (2) Horace, born March 
-7 I 7%3> died Jan. 10, 1870. (3) Achsah, born June 
28, 1785, married Oliver Griffin, and died Dec. 
17, 1869. 

Festus Yiets was born June 12, 1790, at Copper 



834 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Hill, and was educated in the local schools during 
his youth. Like his ancestors he turned his. atten- 
tion to farming, and he and his brother Horace 
owned over four hundred acres of land, i he home- 
stead on Copper Hill was much improved under his 
management, and his fondness for home life and 
care for the comfort of his family were shown in 
many ways. While he was a steadfast Democrat in 
politics, he never sought or held public office, but his 
activity in church work gave him especial promi- 
nence among the Methodists of his locality. He 
died Sept. 24, 1874, and was buried at Copper Hill 
M. E. cemetery. His wife, Maria Hathaway, was 
born in Suffield, June 24, 1802, a daughter of 
Ebenezer Hathaway, and died September 2j, i860. 
Our subject was the eldest in a family of ten chil- 
dren: Harriet Maria, born Sept. 3, 1826, married 
Henry Griffin; Candace Eliza, born Aug. 2, 1828, 
married Linus Hayes ; Philo Horace was born Aug. 
12, 1830; Adaline Jael, born Dec. 13, 1832, died 
March 2^, 1839; Lamira Jane, born Jan. 27, 1835, 
married Willis L. Hayes; Daniel Benjamin, born 
March 19, 1838, died March 2, 1839; Annis Susan, 
born January 28, 1840, died Sept. 26, 1842; William 
Dixon was born May 17, 1842; and Jason Rush- 
more was born Jan. 17, 1846. 

James H. Viets was born Aug. 21, 1824, and has 
always made his home at his present farm, which 
was once occupied as a homestead by his great- 
grandfather. It contains 150 acres of excellent land, 
and he has raised tobacco extensively in connection 
with general farming. In 1876 he made extensive 
alterations on the old homestead, converting it into 
quite a modern residence. Some years ago he re- 
tired from active labor, and is spending the after- 
noon of life in quiet enjoyment of the fruits of past 
toil. His ability and unswerving fidelity to any 
trust reposed in him have made him the choice of 
his fellow-townsmen for various offices, and he is 
regarded as one of the foremost Democrats of the 
locality. For three terms he held the office of select- 
man, and he has also served as school visitor and 
in other minor positions, while in 1862 he was elect- 
ed to the State Legislature, where he took a worthy 
part in the work of the session, being placed on 
several important committees. Like his ancestors, 
he has done much to forward the cause of religion, 
and for years he has served as trustee, steward or 
treasurer of the M. E. Church at Copper Hill. 

On Oct. 11, 1849, Mr. Viets married Miss 
Marilla Hayes, who was born June 17, 1827, daugh- 
ter of Dudley and Naoma (Rose) Hayes. Of the 
five children born to this union three are living, 
and their education has been the chief care of their 
parents. James Duane, born Feb. 20, 1853, is a 
produce dealer at Springfield, Mass. ; Ella M., born 
Dec. 11, 1854, died April 27, 1856; Horace, born 
Dec. 22, 1862, is at home; Nora Belle, born June 
17, 1865, died unmarried; Samuel D., born Feb. 
19, 1868, is a grain merchant at Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 



PATRICK MOORE (deceased) was for many 
years one of the most highly-respected citizens of 
Lchmsville, and an extensive and successful con- 
tractor with the Collins Co. at that place. A na- 
tive of Ireland, he was born in Ennis, County Clare, 
March 14, 1833, and was one of a family of thirteen 
children, whose parents, Michael and Mary (Lam- 
bert) Moore, were also natives of Ennis, and worthy 
members of the Catholic Church. 

Our subject received but a limited education in 
the schools of his native land, but through his own 
efforts he became a well informed man. He was 
reared on the home farm, and like many of his 
fellow countrymen his whole desire was to become 
a citizen of this "land of the free and home of the 
brave." In 1850, a year or two after the great fam- 
ine in Ireland, Mr. Moore took passage on a sailing 
vessel and crossed the Atlantic, landing in New 
York. He came at once to Collinsville, Conn., 
where he obtained employment with the Collins Co., 
in the axe department, under Peter Myers. Wish- 
ing to secure a better position, he left there at the 
end of two years and went South, locating in Savan- 
nah, Ga., where he became connected with the cot- 
ton industry. On his return North he again spent 
two years with the Collins Co., and then went to 
Douglass, Mass., where he was employed as an 
axe polisher for one year. Returning to Collins- 
ville, he became a contractor in the knife-handle de- 
partment, where he remained until the fall of 1898, 
when he retired from active business to spend his 
remaining days in ease and retirement. He was 
one of the largest contractors with the Collins Co., 
and won the respect and confidence of those who 
worked under him as well as of his employers. In 
1887 he took up his residence in the town of Bur- 
lington, where he purchased a small place, on which 
he made many improvements, and there he made his 
home until called from this life, Jan. 17, 1899. 
He was taken ill with the grippe, which devel- 
oped into pneumonia, and from the effects of the lat- 
ter disease he died. His remains were interred in the 
Catholic cemetery at Collinsville. 

Mr. Moore was first married, Aug. 28, 1853, at 
New Britain, to Miss Eliza Hannon, also a native of 
Ennis, Ireland, who died Aug. 18, 1864, at the 
early age of thirty-three years, and was buried in 
the same cemetery. The children born of this union 
were as follows: Mary Jane, born July 13, 1854. 
died Sept. 2, 1855 ; Elizabeth, born Oct. 2^, 1855. is 
now the wife of Edward Flanary, of Bridgport; 
Thomas, born Nov. 25, 1857, died Nov. 6, 1858; 
Marv, born April 25, 1859. died Aug. 22, i860; 
Thomas, born Dec. 21, i860, died Oct. 16, 1861 ; 
Mary, born Nov. 21, 1862, died Aug. 28, 1863; and 
James and Lucy (twins) were born June 20, 1864 
(the former died Sept. 21, 1864, and the latter on 
Aug. 17, 1864). 

On Oct. 6, 1864, Mr. Moore married Miss El- 
len Rocke, who was also born in Ennis, Ireland, 
and came to this country in 1857. She is still a resi- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



835 



dent of Burlington, and is a lady of genial dispo- 
sition, who has proved a devoted wife and mother. 
Bv his second marriage Mr. Moore had seven chil- 
dren : James Michael, born Sept. 28, 1869, re- 
sides at home; Bridget Mary, b. Jan. 30, 1871, d. 
Aug. 4, 1871 ; Patrick, b. Feb. 21, 1872, d. Oct. 9, 
1897: Anthony Joseph, born April 6, 1875, obtained 
his literary education in the district schools and in 
the high school of Collinsville, and at Holy Cross 
College, Worcester, Mass., and prepared himself for 
the medical profession, spent three years at Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College, New York City, has since 
graduated from the Maryland Medical College, of 
Baltimore, in medicine and is now a practicing physi- 
cian; Thomas C, born Dec. 11, 1876, died Dec. 
I, 1879; Ellen, born Dec. 8, 1878, died March 13, 
ib8o; and Katherine, born Nov. 23, 1880, is a young 
lady of talent and culture, who graduated from the 
Collinsville high school in 1898, and has also re- 
ceived a good musical education. 

Mr. Moore was independent in politics, casting 
his first vote for Abraham Lincoln and his last 
one for William Jennings Bryan. He was one of the 
best known and most highly esteemed citizens of 
Collinsville, and had a host of warm friends through- 
out the community. He was a devout member of the 
Catholic Church, was noted for his piety, and was 
instrumental in organizing the church in Collins- 
ville. He gave liberally toward the construction 
of the church edifice, and contributed freely of his 
means at all times toward advancing the causes of 
education and Christianity. His charity was un- 
bounded, and the poor and needy always found in 
him a friend. 

HON. JOHN P. LEWIS, a representative and 
prominent citizen of Farmington, was born in Win- 
sted, Litchfield Co., Conn., Nov. 23, 1836, son of 
Joseph Blackleach Lewis, and grandson of Joseph 
and Sarah (Blackleach) Lewis. His grandfather 
was a Revolutionary soldier. For his second wife 
Joseph Lewis married Mrs. Hannah Petterson, and 
to her first marriage were born five children, who 
grew to maturity: Anna, Joseph B., David, Re- 
becca and Frederick. 

Joseph B. Lewis, father of our subject, was 
born in Stratford, Conn., in March, 1794, and 
throughout life followed the carpenter's trade. He 
was a well-read man, and in religious faith was a 
Universalist. In early life he worked in the Whit- 
ings Clock Factory, in Winsted, and at that place 
he erected a brick house, on North Main street, 
but he finally came to Unionville, where his death 
occurred in 1886. He became quite well-to-do, 
owning a farm of 200 acres in the Scotts Swamp 
District, and another in the town of Burlington, 
Hartford county. Joseph B. Lewis first married 
Miss Julia Shelton, who was born in 1798, and died 
in Winsted, Conn., leaving three children : Fred- 
erick, who died in Ohio ; Gideon Hall, who died in 
Virginia; and Juliette, who died in Winsted, Conn. 



For his second wife he married Miss Cordelia Ann 
Cumrhings, who was born in 1800, and died in 
Unionville, in 1878. By that union he had four 
children: Julia, deceased; John P., our subject; 
Jeanette, who was born in Burlington in 1840, and 
is now the widow of T. A. Chidsey, and a resi- 
dent of Waterbury, Conn.; and Emily, deceased, 
who was born in Burlington in 1844, and married 
Mark Stone, of that place. 

The boyhood and youth of our subject were 
passed in Burlington and Farmington, where he 
attended school, and after his education was com- 
pleted he engaged in agricultural pursuits on the 
home farm until twenty-five years of age. After 
marriage he settled on his present farm, where he 
carries on general agriculture and lumbering. In 
Weathersfield, Vt., he was united in marriage with 
Miss Frances M. North, and to them were born 
four children: (1) Jeanette M., born in 1865, is 
now the wife of Arthur T. Brown, of Sag Harbor, 
N. Y., and thev have three children, Lewis Nathan, 
Almira Frances and Lurania. (2) Eleanor M., 
born in 1868, married Walter Woodruff, and lived 
for a time in Bristol and later in Waterbury, Conn. 
They have one son, James Lewis. (3) George J., 
born in 1871, married Harriet B. Page, and has 
one daughter, Eleanor. (4) Edna E., born in 1873, 
is the wife of Louis L. Gaylord, of Hartford. 

Mr. Lewis has been honored with many offices 
of public trust, acting as selectman, justice of the 
peace, and chairman of the board of assessors at 
the present time. He was a member of the State 
Legislature in 1876, at which time he served on the 
committee for building the new capitol, and in 
1895, he again represented Farmington in that body, 
being elected on the Democratic ticket. He has 
served as appraiser of estates for the probate courts 
of Farmington, Bristol and Burlington ; also as 
appraiser in foreclosure proceedings for the differ- 
ent savings banks in this vicinity ; and was appointed 
by the superior court chairman of the commission 
to adjust the land damages between the Bristol 
Water Co., and parties owning land in Bristol, 
Plymouth, etc. He was connected with the Stand- 
ard Rule Co., and has been a director in several 
corporations in Unionville. Mr. Lewis is a strong 
and active Democrat. As a public-spirited citizen 
he gives his support to every measure which he 
believes will prove of public benefit. 

MOSES WILLIAMS BECKLEY (deceased). 
for many years a prominent citizen of Southington, 
was born in New Britain, Hartford Co., Conn., June 
8, 1828, and was a son of Moses W. and Mary W. 
(Cornwall) Beckley, both also natives of Hart- 
ford county, the former born in Rocky Hill, Oct. 
7, 1791, the latter in New Britain July 12, 1798. 
In 1830 they located in Southington, where the 
father purchased a small tract of land on the 
Meriden road, and where he kept a harness shop 
for many years. He died Sept. 27, 1868. His 



83G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



children were Sarah, wife of Francis Lewis; Will- 
iam, who married Rebecca Maynard ; Eunice, wife 
of John Gridley; Caroline, wife of Edwin Stan- 
nard ; and Moses W. 

Our subject was only two years old when 
brought by his parents to Southington, and here he 
was reared to manhood, obtaining his educa- 
tion in the public schools near his boyhood home 
and Lewis Academy. At the age of eighteen he 
entered the employ of the Peck-Smith Co., and 
retained his connection with them and their suc- 
cessors in business up to the time of his death. 
By patient and faithful devotion to his duties he 
worked his way upward until he became secretary, 
treasurer and one of the directors of one of the 
largest hardware manufacturing companies in the 
State, and, in addition to supporting his parents 
in their declining years he acquired a property which 
to one of his frugal habits, might be considered 
a handsome competence. As a business man he 
was laborious and careful, and gave close attention 
to all the little details of his affairs. While treas- 
urer of the Peck, Stow & W r ilcox Co., and disburs- 
ing from $80,000 to $100,000 per month, his cash 
account always balanced correctly. In his moral, 
intellectual and social life, he manifested the same 
characteristic carefulness. He was never a talker, 
but exceedingly well read, and his criticisms on 
men and public affairs were always shrewd and 
reaching. Mr. Beckley never made a public pro- 
fession of religion, yet those who were most famil- 
iar with him would be surprised at the freedom 
of his incidental remarks upon religious subjects, 
and at his general agreement with the commonly 
received tenets of the Evangelical faith. Politi- 
cally he was identified with the Democratic party, 
and socially affiliated with Friendship Lodge, Xo. 
$$, F. & A. M., and Triune Chapter, No. 40, R. A. 
M. He died February 10, 1875, honored and re- 
spected by all who knew him. 

On June 2, 1865, Mr. Beckley married Miss 
Elizabeth Piatt, a daughter of Joseph P. and Het- 
tie Ann (Thompson) Piatt, of Southington, and 
granddaughter of Gideon and Lydia (Sperry) 
Piatt, of Middlebury. By this union four children 
were born : Grace E. ; Charles W. ; Alice L., wife of 
Paul C. Woodruff; and Bertha T. 

DANIEL BLISH, an honored and respected 
resident of Marlboro, as well as one of the most 
substantial citizens of that place, is a worthy de- 
scendant of an old family. 

Mr. Blish traces his ancestry back to Abraham 
Blish, the first of the name in this country, and the 
first account we have of him is in Duxbury, Mass., 
where, in November, 1637. he bought of Richard 
More a house a^nd tract of land comprising twenty 
acres and known as the "Eagle's Nest." He re- 
moved to Barnstable, on Cape Cod, soon after the 
town, which was a part of the Plymouth Colony, 
was laid off, about 1641, becoming one of its first 
settlers, and there died Sept. 7, 1683. He resided 



ii. the western part of the town known as "Great 
Marshes," and the homestead there was owned by 
him and his descendants for over 200 years. He 
was a man of importance and influence in the town 
and held many offices of trust. His descendants are 
now scattered throughout the United States, and 
the family has been well represented in the wars 
of this country, including the Revolution, the French 
and Indian war and the war of 181 2. 

Joseph Blish, of Barnstable, Mass., son of Abra- 
ham, married Anne Hull, daughter of Tristram 
Hull, who was fined several times for harboring 
Quakers who had been driven out of the towns to 
starve. Rev. Thomas Hull, father of Tristram 
Hull, was one of the early ministers of Barnstable 
and was silenced as a preacher because he pro- 
tested against the treatment which the Colonists 
gave to the Quakers. 

Tristram Blish, son of Joseph, came from Barn- 
stable to Connecticut in 1725, and was one of the 
early settlers of Colchester. He married Anne 
Fuller, through whom our subject traces his de- 
scent from Edward Fuller, of the "Mayflower" pil- 
grims. He is also a lineal descendant of Dr. Mat- 
thew Fuller, who was one of the leading spirits 
of his time in Barnstable, and of Rev. John Lath- 
rop, the first minister of Barnstable, who is still 
honored in the town. 

David Blish, grandfather of Daniel Blish, was 
probably the first of the name in Marlboro, but the 
authenticity of this is not known. He served as 
a soldier in the Revolution. He lived on the farm 
where Daniel Blish now resides, and which was 
originally part of the town of Glastonbury, Marl- 
boro having been formed in 1803 from the towns 
of Glastonbury, Colchester and Hebron. He fol- 
lowed the primitive methods of farming then in 
use, and here he died, his remains being buried in 
Marlboro.. By his wife, Mary, he had eight chil- 
dren, whose names and dates of birth are as fol- 
lows : David, Sept. 16, 1753; Zeruiah, June 3, 1758; 
Rebecca, May 13, 1760; Thomas, Sept. 13, 1762; 
Chauncey, Sept. 21, 1764; Sarah, April 10, 1767; 
Aaron, Oct. 21, 1768; and Roger, May 23, 1770. 

Roger Blish, the youngest of the above men- 
tioned family, was the father of Daniel Blish. He 
was born in the house which stood opposite our 
subject's present home, and which was later de- 
stroyed by fire. He married Miss Demis Hosford, 
a native of Marlboro, and a daughter of Daniel 
Hosford, a farmer of that town. He died in De- 
cember, 1857, preceded by his wife, who died in 
February of the same year. In the family of this 
worthy couple were the following children: Har- 
riet, born July 7, 1795, died young; Amelia, born 
June 14, 1797, married Henry Brainard, a hotel- 
keeper of Willimantic, Conn. ; Prudence, born 
April 5, 1799, married Howell Root, a farmer, and 
lived in Marlboro; Augustus, born Aug. 20, 1801, 
married Delight Buell, and followed farming in 
Marlboro; Aaron,- born Nov. 3, 1803, married 
Eunice Clark, of Salem, and followed farming;. 




Qs^J^c ~&C<a 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



837 



Chauncey, born Dec. 4, 1807, married Esther Slate, 
and lived in Marlboro; Mary, born Sept. 25, 1810, 
married George Talcott Lord, a farmer of the same 
town; Harriet (2), born Aug. 9, 1812, married 
William Carrier, who lived in Marlboro until after 
the death of his wife, and then removed to New 
York State; Zeruiah, born July 17, 1814, married 
Isaac Buell, and lived in Marlboro; and Daniel, our 
subject, completes the family. The father was a 
member of the Congregational Church, and was one 
of the substantial citizens of the town in his day. 
In political sentiment he was a Whig, and he was 
quite prominent in public affairs, serving as member 
of the Legislature and in various minor offices. 
Daniel Blish was born Oct. 28, 181 7, on the 
farm he now occupies, and during his boyhood re- 
ceived a common-school education, among his teach- 
ers being Chauncey Root, Buckley Hollister, a Mr. 
Jones and David Phelps. His entire life has been 
spent on the old homestead with the exception of 
eight months he passed in Willimantic, engaged 
in teaming between that place and Norwich when 
the two towns were comparatively small and before 
the railroads were built. At the time he was about 
twenty-six years of age. He then returned home, 
and as his father was growing old and in poor 
health he managed the farm for him. During his 
earlier years he also did general teaming. After his 
father's death he took complete charge of the place, 
and in its operation has met with marked success. 
1 he place now comprises some 200 acres. 

On Sept. 17, 1856, Mr. Blish was united in 
marriage with Miss Fanny Maria Howe, who was 
born in Glastonbury July 29, 1827, a daughter of 
Elisha and Fanny (Arnold) Howe, the father a 
native of Glastonbury, the mother of East Hart- 
ford. Elisha Howe was a cooper by trade, and 
owned and operated a farm. He died in 1859. a 
faithful member of the Congregational Church. His 
political allegiance was given to the Whig partv. 
( )f his familv of four children — one son and three 
daughters — Fanny Maria became the wife of our 
subject. Eliza I. and Mary Ann are deceased. 
Henry H., who died May 10, 1900, worked at the 
cooper's trade during his younger days, but made 
farming his life work; he married Sophia Bidwell, 
of Manchester. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Blish were born four 
children : Frank Hosford, born Aug. 9, 1857, mar- 
ried Nellie Cunningham, of Halifax. N. S., and lives 
in Marlboro. Lizzie Howe died young. Fannie 
Arnold is at home. Frederick Thomas married 
Edna Hollister, of Manchester, and has one child, 
Frederick T., born Oct. 1, 1898; he is now engaged 
in the hardware business in Manchester. 

Politically Mr. Blish was originally a Whig and 
is now a stanch Republican, but has been too busilv 
engaged in agricultural pursuits to care for politi- 
cal honors, and has had very little to do with politics, 
though he has consented to hold a few town offices 
and has served in the State Legislature. Upright 
and honorable in an the relations of life, he has 



met with well-deserved success in his labors, and 
has reared a family who, like their parents, com- 
mand the respect and esteem of all who know them. 
Like his forefathers he has been a faithful attendant 
of the Congregational Church. 

HON. KYRAN O'NEILL, a highly-esteemed 
resident of Broad Brook, is a self-made man whose 
industry, thrift and sound judgment do credit to 
his race. 

Mr. O'Neill was born in April, 1832, in John- 
stown, County Kilkenny, Ireland, where his people 
have had their home for many years. His parents, 
John and Elizabeth (Henderson) O'Neill, had a 
family of eight children, six of whom became resi- 
dents of the United States. John, the eldest, came 
to this country in 1848, and died in Rockville, 
Conn., in 1851 ; Kyran and Julia came to America 
in 1850. The father died in 1840, and in 1852 the 
mother and three of the children — James (a resi- 
dent of Windsorville), Martin and Andrew (both 
now deceased) — came to America, settling in Wind- 
sorville, Conn. Mrs. O'Neill died at Broad Brook, 
April 25, 1888. 

Until he reached the age of eighteen our sub- 
ject remained at the old home, but m 1050 he came 
to America on a sailing vessel, landing at New 
York City after a voyage which would seem long 
and tedious in comparison with the speedy trips 
now made in the great ocean liners. For some 
time he resided in Rockville, Conn., being employed 
in what is now the Florence Woolen Mills, and in 
1853 he settled at Broad Brook. For four and 
one-half years he worked as a spinner in the Broad 
Brook mills, and then engaged in the hotel busi- 
ness in that vi.lage, continuing thus until 1861. 
The next five years he was in the hotel business in 
Brooklyn, N. Y., and on his return to Broad Brook 
resumed that business, which he carried on success- 
fully for many years. He also engaged in the to- 
bacco industry, both as grower and buyer, and he 
has owned and cultivated different farms in his 
vicinity. At times he has been interested exten- 
sively in real estate, some of his farms having proved 
profitable investments when judiciously disposed of, 
but at present he is living in retirement. In poli- 
tics lie is a strong Democrat, and in 1879 he was 
elected on that ticket to the State Legislature. In 
religious faith he is a Catholic, and he and his fam- 
ily are leading members of the church at Broad 
Brook. 

In 1861 Mr. O'Neill married Miss Mary Shau- 
nessy, who died in May, 1879, and of their five 
children none lived to maturity. In January, 1885, 
he married Miss Maggie E. Coleman, and three 
children have blessed the union : Julia, William 
(deceased) and Maggie. 

HON. JOHN A. REEVE. Burlington Probate 
Judge and Town Clerk, was born in New Haven, 
Conn., July 20, 1859. 

Mr. Reeve's father, William P. Reeve, was a 



838 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






native of Linton, Cambridgeshire, England, where 
he received an excellent education, and also learned 
the trade of miller. He followed the same in his 
native land, and also engaged in bookkeeping there. 
He was married there to Jane Frances Bocock, a 
native of Upend, Cambridgeshire, and a daughter 
of Robert Bocock. She was a member of the 
Catholic Church, with which her husband afterward 
united, though in early life he was connected with 
the Church of England. In 1856, with their fam 
ily, they came to the United States, and first lo- 
cated at Williamsburg, Brooklyn, N. Y., where the 
father found employment. From there thev re- 
moved to New Haven, Conn., where he worked at 
his trade in the mills, and he was later engaged in 
the milling business in Middletown for six years. 
In 1866 he located in New Britain, where he was 
also engaged in milling for a short time, and then 
returned to New Haven, where he lived for three 
years. During the following three and one-half 
years he was engaged in bookkeeping in New Brit- 
ain, and in 1873 came to Burlington, where he pur- 
chased a tract of twenty-seven acres of land, known 
as the Elton farm. Here he engaged in farming 
and stock raising up to the time of his death, which 
occurred in 1878. Air. Reeve was a consistent mem- 
ber of the Catholic Church, and a Democrat in poli- 
tics, but never an office seeker. The wife and mother 
was tenderly cared for by our subject until she, 
too, was called to her final rest, in 1895. She was 
a devout Catholic, and a devoted wife and mother. 
The remains of both were interred in the Catholic 
cemetery at Collinsville. In their family were six 
children : William, a machinist of Hartford, who 
died Dec. 23, 1899; Elizabeth, who died in infancy; 
Thomas, a resident of Los Angeles, Cal. ; Samuel, 
a resident of Burlington, Conn. ; Mary Jane, who 
died young ; and John A. All were born in Eng- 
land with the exception of our subject. 

During his boyhood and youth John A. Reeve 
was a student in the schools of New Haven and 
Middletown, and also attended the high school of 
New Britain. He came with his parents to Bur- 
lington, and after his father's death took charge 
of the home farm, to which he has added until he 
now has a valuable and well-improved place of 
150 acres. He also has a large tract of timber 
land, and is successfully engaged in lumbering, gen- 
eral farming, stock raising and dairying. He has 
made many improvements which add greatly to the 
value and attractive appearance of his place. 

In 1894, in the Collinsville Catholic Church, Mr. 
Reeve was married by Father Quinn to Miss Annie 
Lovett, a native of Canterbury, Conn., and a daugh- 
ter of Leonard Lovett. She is a lady of refinement, 
a graduate of Willimantic (Conn.) State Normal 
School, and is a consistent member of the Catholic 
Church, to which Mr. Reeve also belongs. They 
have three children, Arthur John, Henry Francis 
and Edward Hermon. 

Mr. Reeve is a leader in the ranks of the Demo- 



cratic party in his community, and on his party 
ticket was elected to the State Legislature in 1887, 
which position he filled in a most creditable and 
acceptable manner. He was elected clerk of the 
town of Burlington in 1882, and in that capacity 
has served the people faithfully and well for eight- 
een years. He has also been Probate Judge since 
1894, and has been tax collector, and a member of 
the board of relief. He is a whole-souled, genial 
gentleman, popular with all classes, and has proved 
a most efficient and trustworthy official. 

AMASA LOOMIS (deceased). No better test 
of personal merit can be found than that of daily 
life, and when years of business dealings have left 
a man the full respect of his fellow citizens one 
may conclude that he has shown himself worthy 
of their approbation. The subject of this sketch, 
late a venerable resident of Simsbury, was a man 
most esteemed where best known, his firmness in 
"holding to the right as he sees it commanding the 
confidence of even opponents. 

Mr. Loomis was born June 14, 182 1, at Salem, 
New London Co., Conn., a descendant of a well- 
known pioneer family of Windsor, of whom an 
account is given elsewhere. A first cousin, Col. 
Francis Loomis, was once lieutenant-governor of 
Connecticut, and another cousin, Prof. Eiias Loomis, 
is a member of the faculty of Yale Codege. His 
grandfather, John Loomis, married a Miss Harris, 
and resided 111 Windsor. 

Guy Loom.s, our subject's father, was a well- 
to-do farmer of Salem, where he died, Nov. 25, 
1857. His wife, whose maiden name was Abigail 
Chapman, lived to the advanced age of eighty- 
three years, her death occurring in i860. Our 
subject was the youngest of a family of six chil- 
dren, all now deceased : Abigail married Col. 
Frank Jones, and died in Salem; Alfred went to 
California in early manhood, but returned to Con- 
necticut, and lived to old age; Sophia married 
Hamilton Chapman, and died in Norwich, Conn. ; 
Nelson, who died in Philadelphia at the age of 
eighty-four, retired from business at thirty-three, 
with a large fortune, and for many years was prom- 
inent in the Presbyterian Church, and was elder 
for thirty years; Elijah, a farmer by occupation, 
died in Salem. 

Our subject remained at home until he reached 
the age of eighteen, his education being obtained 
in the district schools near by. He then entered 
the employ of his brother Nelson, who was a pub- 
lisher and jobber of books, and carried on business 
extensively through agents in different parts of the 
country, and for several years our subject delivered 
and collected for the firm, handling large amounts 
of money, and traveling over much of the country. 
On Jan. 5, 1845, ne was married, in East Lyme, 
Conn., to Miss Nancy D. Chappell, who was born 
Aug. 17, 1822, daughter of Daniel and Hannah 
(Loomis) Chappell, of East Lyme. They located 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



839 



in Salem, but as his business then called him away 
from home they did not go to housekeeping until 
ten years after marriage. Later Mr. Loomis gave 
up traveling, bought a farm at Salem, and in 1866 
he sold out and removed to Tariffville, where he 
engaged in the tobacco business, buying extensively, 
and also growing the weed. At' different times 
he was associated with his brother-in-law, Ariel 
Mitchelson, but after a time he abandoned the to- 
bacco business, simply because conscience would 
not permit him to continue in a line of work which 
produced such bad effects on the young. For 
some years he followed mercantile business, being 
one of the best known merchants of Tariffville, but 
in about 1896 he sold out and retired. He ac- 
quired a comfortable competence, his securities be- 
ing regarded as "gilt-edged," and owned several 
valuable properties in Tariffville. He was one of 
the first depositors with the Hartford Trust Co., 
and ever after continued to transact business through 
them. In all his dealings he made it a rule to pay 
cash, not a penny of indebtedness being held against 
him, and his success reflected the more credit upon 
him when it is remembered that he started in life 
practically without capital. Until recent years he 
enjoyed excellent health, and his jovial disposition 
not only enabled him to get the best of life as he 
went along, but brought pleasure to a wide circle 
of friends. Politically he was a Republican for 
many years, but became a Prohibitionist from prin- 
ciple. Although he neared his eightieth milestone, 
passing away July 23, 1900, one dollar would cover 
the entire liquor bill of his life. He was promi- 
nent in religious work as a member of the Con- 
gregational Church of Salem, to which his widow 
also belongs, and for more than half a century of 
happy wedded life they maintained consistent Chris- 
tian lives. Of their two children, (1) Ida Salina, 
born March 20, 1852, married Samuel Penfield 
Bolles, of Hartford, and died July 5, 1878. Her 
only child, George L., born June 25, 1878, died 
when ten months old. (2) Joel O., born April 24, 
1854, is a druggist in Hartford. He married Miss 
Nellie R. Coe, of Tariffville, and has three children, 
all living, Ida C, now Mrs. Frederick Davis, of 
New Haven ; Katie ; and Nellie M. Ida C. has 
two children, Ruth Loomis and Harold Coe, our 
subject's great-grandchildren. 

HON. MATTHEW C. WOODFORD. Promi- 
nent among the enterprising business men of Union- 
ville is the subject of this review, who has. for 
several years successfully conducted a general store 
at that place. The prosperity that has come to 
him is certainly well-merited, as in him are em- 
braced the characteristics of unbending integrity, 
unabated energy and industry that never flags. 
He is also public-spirited, and thoroughly interested 
in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual 
and material welfare of his town and county. 

Mr. Woodford is a native of Hartford county, 



born in Burlington Aug. 5, 1837, and is a son of 
Corydon Woodford, and grandson of John Wood- 
ford, both natives of Avon. The latter was fa- 
miliarly known as Major Woodford. He married 
Belinda Hart, a daughter of Deacon Ard Hart, of 
Burlington, and had four children: Corydon, Or- 
son, Antoinette and John, all now deceased. The 
father, grandfather and great-grandfather of Major 
Woodford bore the name of John. Corydon Wood- 
ford was reared in West Avon, and there attended 
school. He was engaged in farming, and also car- 
ried on mercantile pursuits for twenty-five years 
in Collinsville and Avon, while he also served as 
postmaster at West Avon for fifteen years. Po- 
litically he was a stanch Republican, and on his 
party ticket was elected selectman and assessor of 
his town. Religiously he was a consistent member 
of the Congregational Church. He married Miss 
Sylvia W'oodruff, a daughter of Alanson Wood- 
ruff. She died in 1889, and he in 1887, in Union- 
ville. 

The primary education of our subject, acquired 
in the public schools of Collinsville, was supple- 
mented by a course in the high school of that place, 
and later he graduated from the New Britain Nor- 
mal school. At the age of eighteen he commenced 
teaching, and for six years he devoted his atten- 
tion almost exclusively to that profession, being 
principal of the high school at East Hampton. He 
also taught in Newington, Burlington and Avon, 
Conn. ; since then he has taught twelve or fifteen 
terms of winter school. 

On June 9, 1861, Mr. Woodford purchased a 
store in Harwinton, Conn., which he conducted 
for five years, and was acting school visitor there, 
while he filled the same office in Avon for ten 
years. In Harwinton he married Miss Helen M. 
Beach, a daughter of Hon. Moses Beach, judge of 
probate. In 1866 he returned to Avon, where he 
bought a farm and engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits for some years, and for twelve years he car- 
ried on a store in West Avon. In 1889 he became 
connected with the Upson Nut Co., in whose office 
he remained for two years, and in 189 1 he opened 
the general store at Unionville, which he con- 
ducted with marked success, having by fair and 
honorable dealing built up a good trade, until 
March 28, 1899, when he was succeeded by Ed- 
ward T. Thompson. Mr. Woodford is receiver for 
the Upson & Hart Co., of Unionville, manufactur- 
ers of cutlery and hardware. In business circles 
he stands high, and is also quite prominent in pub- 
lic affairs. Pie was a member of the State Legis- 
lature in 1867; has been selectman for three or 
four years since that time; was town clerk in 
1869 and 1870, and judge of probate for ten years, 
in all of which positions he served with credit to 
himself and to the entire satisfaction of all con- 
cerned. Religiously he is an active member of the 
Congregational Church, and treasurer of the So- 
ciety. 



840 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



HENRY SIDNEY PEASE (deceased), who in 
his lifetime was a well-known lumber dealer of 
Thompsonville, was for a third of a century promi- 
nently identified with the business interests of that 
place. Energy, close application, perseverance and 
good management — these are the elements that en- 
tered into his business career and crowned his efforts 
with prosperity. 

Mr. Pease was born in the town of Enfield, 
Nov. 27, 1847, and was of the eighth generation 
from Robert and Marie Pease, the progenitors of 
the family in Salem, Mass., and Enfield town. Rob- 
ert Pease is supposed to have been a son of Robert 
and Margaret Pease, of Great Baddow, County of 
Essex, England. He sailed from the port of Ips- 
wich, England, in the ship "Francis," in April, 
1634, and landed at Boston. He located in Salem, 
Mass., where he died in 1644. His son, John 
Pease, was born in England in 1630, and came with 
the family to the New World in 1634. He first 
married Mary Goodell, daughter of Robert Goodell, 
of Salem, Mass., and for his second wife wedded 
Ann Cummings, daughter of Isaac Cummings, of 
Topsfielcl, Mass. He settled as a yeoman in that 
part of Salem known as Northfield, and his name 
is found frequently in the Essex county and Salem 
records as grantee, grantor or witness to deeds, 
overseer of mills, constable, etc. About 1682 he 
became a resident of the town of Enfield, Hart- 
ford Co., Conn., where he died suddenly July 8, 
1689. His son, Deacon Isaac Pease, was born in 
Salem, July 15, 1672, and was married in 1691 to 
Mindwell Osborn. They located in the northeast- 
ern part of Enfield town, where he appears to have 
been an extensive land holder, and he was also 
among the first to hold the office of deacon in the 
Congregational Church in the town. He died June 
9, 1 73 1. Ezekiel Pease, son of Isaac, was born in 
Enfield June 20, 17 10, and on reaching man's es- 
tate married Harriet, daughter of Henry Chandler, 
an early settler of Enfield. By occupation Ezekiel 
Pease was a tailor and school teacher, and for fif- 
teen vears he served as town clerk, being known 
by the title of Master Pease or Clerk Pease. He 
made his home in the eastern part of Enfield town, 
where he died in 1799. His son, Isaac Pease, was 
born in that town Jan. 7, 1752, and first married 
Submit Spencer, daughter of Hezekiah Spencer, of 
Somers. His second wife was Mrs. Rachel 
(Brooks) Williams. He located in the eastern 
part of Enfield town, at Scitico, and there died in 
1820. His son, Isaac Pease, the grandfather of 
our subject, was born in Enfield town March 27, 
1778, and was a clothier by trade. In early life 
he removed to Long Meadow, Mass., but later re- 
turned to Enfield, where he departed this life Nov. 
1, 1836. His wife, Elizabeth, was a daughter of 
Col. Asaph Terry, of Enfield. 

Theodore Pease, our subject's father, was born 
at East Long Meadow, Mass., Jan. 22, 1815, and 
in early manhood went to Somers, but shortly after- 



ward came to Enfield, where for many years he was 
engaged in the manufacture of tinware, and also 
dealt in stoves, sending peddlers out over the county. 
Prior to this time he had been interested in the gro- 
cery business, and also in the clothing, boot and 
shoe trade, and later gave his attention to the lum- 
ber business. He met with a fair degree of suc- 
cess in his undertakings, and had the confidence 
and respect of his business associates and fellow 
citizens. He died in Thompsonville, Jan. 4, 1892. 
His first wife, the mother of our subject, was Eva- 
line Killam, of Enfield, and after her death he wed- 
ded Julia E. Steele. 

Henry S. Pease, whose name introduces this 
sketch, was the fifth child and second son in the 
family of six children born of his father's 'first 
union, and always made his home in the town of 
Enfield. He received a good public-school and 
academic education, and began his business career 
about 1866 as a member of the firm of T. Pease & 
Sons, the partnership existing up to the formation 
of the T. Pease & Son Company. On the death of 
the father, in 1892, the business was divided, but 
two years later our subject again embarked in the 
lumber trade, which he continued to carry on with 
good success. 

In 1869 Henry S. Pease was united in marriage 
with Miss Carrie S. Van Horn, a daughter of Syl- 
vester Van Horn, of Thompsonville. Although 
not a member of any religious denomination Mr. 
Pease attended the Universalist Church, and gave 
to the support of all ; socially he was a Master 
Mason, politically a Republican. His life was such 
as to warrant the trust and confidence of the busi- 
ness world, for he ever conducted all transactions 
on the strictest principles of honor and integrity. 
His devotion to the public good remains unques- 
tioned, and arose from a sincere interest in the wel- 
fare of his fellow men. He passed from earth 
July 12, 1900. 

AMON BRADLEY, one of the oldest and most 
prominent citizens of Southington, was born in that 
town Feb. 20, 1812, and traces his ancestry back to 
Isaac and Elizabeth Bradley, of Branford, Conn. 
The name of Isaac Bradley first appears on the 
Branford records in 1674, where he is mentioned 
as a "sojourner at New Haven," and the town 
granted him a house lot of two acres at Canoe 
Brook. In 1683 he removed to East Haven, where 
he died Jan. 12, 171 3, aged sixty-two years, and 
his. wife died Jan. 3, 1713. aged fifty-six years. 

Samuel Bradley, son of Isaac, was born in 1686, 
and was married, Jan. 17, 171 5, to Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Robinson, of East Haven. 

Daniel Bradley, son of Samuel, and the grand- 
father of our subject, was married, Nov. 28, 175 1 . 
to Sarah Judd, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah 
(Hollister) Judd, of Glastonbury. She died Nov. 
19, 1764, after giving birth to her sixth child, the 
father of our subject, by reason of which he was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



841 



called Ichabod. In 1774 these children became 
heirs to a large property from the grandfather, 
Benjamin Judd. Daniel Bradley was again married, 
Feb. 12, 1767, his second union being with Mehit- 
abel Hemingway, of East Haven. He lived in 
East Haven until 1779, when he removed to South- 
ington, where he subsequently purchased a large 
farm, and there made his hbme until 1798, when 
he removed to Litchfield. 

Ichabod Bradley, father of our subject, was born 
in East Haven Nov. 10, 1764, and was married, 
Nov. 27, 1788, to Miss Abigail Moore. The founder 
of the Moore family in the New World was Deacon 
John Moore, who settled in Dorchester, Mass., in 
1630, and removed to Windsor, Conn., with the 
first settlers, about 1635. He frequently served as 
juror, and was deputy to the General Court from 
Windsor in 1662, 1665, 1667 and 1674. He lived 
in that part of Windsor now known as Simsbury, 
and died Sept. 18, 1677. His son, John Moore, was 
born in Windsor Dec. 5, 1645, and died there. On 
Sept. 21, 1664, he married Hannah Goffe, who died 
April 4, 1697, and on Dec. 17, 1701, he married 
Martha Farnsworth. His son, John Moore, was 
born in Windsor June 26, 1665, and married Abi- 
gail Strong. Their son, John, the grandfather of 
Mrs. Ichabod Bradley, was born March 21, 1694, 
and died at Lake George, N. Y., Aug. 12, 1758. 
On Dec. 2, 1724, he married Abigail Stoughton, a 
daughter of Capt. Thomas and Abigail (Edwards) 
Stoughton ; the latter was a sister of Rev. Timothy 
Edwards, the father of the celebrated Dr. Jonathan 
Edwards. Roswell Moore, the father of Airs. Brad- 
ley, was born in East Windsor Mav 17, 1728, and 
located in that part of Farmington now known as 
Southington, June 30, 1775. He married Desire 
Dunham, daughter of Gideon Dunham, formerly 
of Martha's Vineyard. He died Dec. 13, 1794. In 
1779 Ichabod Bradley came with his father to South- 
ington, where he successfully engaged in farming 
throughout the remainder of his life. He died Oct. 
13, 1832, aged sixty-eight years, and his wife April 
1, 1832, aged sixty-three. Their children were 
Polly, wife of Benjamin Andrews; Wyllys, who 
married Fanny Stedman ; Roswell, who married 
Julia Newell; William, who married Sarah Gilbert; 
Diadamia, wife of Julius Hart; Hial, who married 
Eliza Gilbert ; Charles, who married Delia Sted- 
man ; and Anion, our subject, who is the only sur- 
vivor of the family. 

Amon Bradley was reared upon a farm, and re- 
ceived a good common-school and academic edu- 
cation. He continued to work upon the old home- 
stead until his twentieth year, and then engaged 
in general merchandising in Southington for about 
two years, after which he spent two winters in the 
South, traveling as a peddler of dry goods and 
Yankee notions through Virginia and North Caro- 
lina. In 1835 he again embarked in general mer- 
chandising, and continued in that business until 
1866, for some years having Merritt N. Wood- 
ruff as a partner, the firm name being Amon Brad- 
ley & Co. Mr. Bradley has represented the ^tna 



Fire Insurance Co. in Southington for oyer forty 
years, and there are few enterprises in the town 
that he is not interested in, but since his retire- 
ment from merchandising, in 186G, he has given 
his principal attention to his real estate interests. 
He has acquired a handsome property through 
economy, thrift and perseverance, and has become 
one of the prosperous and substantial citizens of the 
community. 

On Oct. 9, 1836, Mr. Bradley married Miss 
Sylvia Barnes, of Southington, and to them were 
born three children : Franklin B. ; Alice B., de- 
ceased wife of Norman A. Barnes; and Emma M., 
wife of Edward S. Yeomans. Truman Barnes, 
Mrs. Bradlev's father, was born April 23, 1783, 
and was a prominent farmer of Southington. He 
was married, Jan. 3, 1805, to Lowly Barrett, a 
daughter of William and Ruth (Coggswell) Bar- 
rett. His father, Jonathan Barnes, was born Feb. 
2, 1 73 1, and was married, Aug. 4, 17^7, to Eliza- 
beth Woodruff, daughter of Hezekiah and Sarah 
(Macon) Woodruff, of Southington. Jonathan 
Barnes lived on East street for some time, but later 
removed to Kensington road. His parents were 
Stephen and Martha (Wheadon) Barnes, of Bran- 
ford, who at an earlv day removed to Southington, 
where he died March 27, 1777, and his wife March 
18, 1773, she being the first one interred in Plants- 
ville cemetery. Stephen Barnes was a son of 
Stephen and Mary Barnes,early settlers of Branford, 
Conn., formerly of Long Island. 

There are few men in Southington that have 
done more for its commercial interests and its 
growth and development than Mr. Bradley. When 
the Lewis Academy was erected he was one of 
the building committee, and by Lis zeal and enter- 
prise he, with others, promoted the carse and se- 
cured the charter of the Southington Savings I Sank, 
of whose first board of directors he was a member, 
having continued as such to the present time. Po- 
litically he has always been a stanch Democrat. 
He was postmaster of Southington for twelve years, 
and represented the town in the State Legislature 
in 1863, 1864 and 1866. He is the oldest living 
Freemason in the place, having joined Friendship 
Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M., of Southington, about 
1850, and he is honored and respected wherever 
known. 

HON. AMOS DOWN BRIDGE, a prominent 
and influential citizen of Enfield, and one of the 
leading business men of Hazardville, has shown 
in his successful career that he has the ability to 
plan wisely and execute with energy, a combina- 
tion which, when possessed by men in any walk 
of life, never fails to effect notable results. 

Mr. Bridge was born in Milton, County of Kent, 
England, Aug. 27, 1838, a son of John and Mary 
(Prickett) Bridge, who came to America in 1842 
and located in Enfield, Hartford Co., Conn. The 
father was employed as a packer at the Hazard 
Powder Mills about three years, and for the fol- 
lowing four years was engaged in the fish and 



812 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



yeast business in Thompsonville. About 1850 he 
erected the store in Hazardville now occupied by 
E. C. Allen, and engaged in general merchandising 
there until 1870, when he retired from active busi- 
ness to enjoy a well-earned rest. He was born 
July 3, 1800, and died April 21, 1873, while his 
wife was born Sept. 10, 1802, and died Jan. 15, 
1871. Of the nine children born to them, seven 
reached years of maturity : George ; John W. ; 
Ruth, wife of Rev. Henry D. Adams; Amos D. ; 
Ephraim ; Ebenezer ; and Stephen. 

Our subject was reared in Enfield, and was edu- 
cated in the common schools, and the Connecticut 
Literary Institute, at Suffield. He began life for 
himself as a clerk in a general store, serving in that 
capacity four years. He then entered the employ 
of the Hazard Powder Co., as office boy, and worked 
his way steadily upward until he became "chief clerk 
for that corporation, with which he remained for 
eighteen years. In 1875 he embarked in the manu- 
facture of keys for the same company, and carried 
on that business for ten years. Later he operated 
a sawmill, which he still owns, has conducted a 
gristmill since 1888, and has been extensively en- 
gaged in the lumber business since 1878. He is 
a large land holder, owning upwards of 1,200 acres 
in Enfield, Somers, Suffield, Windsor Locks and 
Longmeadow. He has done a large business as a 
contractor, erecting numerous dwellings and other 
buildings in Hazardville and vicinity; is an ex- 
tensive builder of Macadam roads in Connecticut, 
Rhode Island and Massachusetts; and built and 
owns the Hazardville Water Works. In these vari- 
ous enterprises he furnishes employment to 125 
men. thus materially promoting the welfare of the 
community. He is a surveyor of some note, and 
has made special surveys for maps of Hazardville, 
the Hazard Powder Works, and the Shaker settle- 
ment the most accurate made. He keeps thirty 
horses, and does the principal teaming for the 
Hazard Powder Co. Mr. Bridge has been re- 
markably successful in his undertakings, and in care- 
fully studying the plans and methods he has fol- 
lowed we see evidence of an ability for manage- 
ment and execution seldom equaled. A man of 
keen perceptions, of great sagacity, of unbounded 
enterprise, his power nevertheless lies to a great 
extent in that quality which enables him to suc- 
cessfully control men and affairs. 

On Feb. 24, 1859, ^ r - Bridge was united in 
marriage with Miss Elizabeth Gordon, daughter of 
William and Jean (Bauchop) Gordon, of Enfield, 
and to them have been born eight children: H. 
Stephen; Allen G. ; Anne (wife of Lincoln H. 
Randall), William A., Homer E., Emily G., Mary 
L., and Charles A. They also have two adopted 
children : William G. Holford and Jean P. Hol- 
ford. 

Mr. Bridge is an active and prominent member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which he has 
served as trustee and classleader. He affiliates with 



the Republican party, and is prominently identi- 
fied with public affairs, serving as auditor of ac- 
counts in Enfield town for twenty years, assessor 
seventeen years, selectman one year, a member of 
the board of relief several terms, a member of the 
Enfield school board ten years, and representative 
of the Third District in the State Senate during 
the session of 1891-92. 

HON. EDMUND HALLADAY, a prominent 
citizen of Suffield, and one of the best-known busi- 
ness men of that place, is a native of the town, born 
May 8, 1852, and descends from one of the oldest 
and most reputable of its families. 

Walter Halladav, the first bearing the family 
name to settle in Suffield, came from his birthplace, 
near Boston, Mass., in 1673, locating in Springfield, 
Mass., of which Suffield was then a part, and there 
engaged in farming until his decease. He mar- 
ried Catherine Hunter, and to their union were born 
five children : Mary, Samuel, Sarah, Ebenezer and 
Aaron. 

Aaron Halladav, great-grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this memoir, was born in Suffield, where he 
passed his entire life, engaged in farming. He 
married Naomi Smith, who bore him eight children, 
in the following order : Moses, Aaron, Nathaniel 
(or Nathan), Naomi, Walter, Ruth, Horace Smith 
and Persis. Aaron Halladav, the father, was an 
extensive land owner ?.nd one of Suffield's most 
progressive and respected citizens ; he was a good 
and pious gentleman, and died in the faith of the 
Congregational Church, to which he had been reared 
from childhood. 

Moses Halladav, eldest son of Aaron, and grand- 
father of our subject, was born on his father's farm, 
was reared to a knowledge of all the complexities 
of agriculture, and was also in his younger days 
taught the carpenter's trade. He married Mary 
Tobin, a native of Suffield, and by her became the 
father of four children : Edmund T., Timothy R., 
James C. and Mary Maria. The last named still 
survives, at the age of ninety-four years, and is the 
widow of Cornelius Flower, of Feeding Hills, 
Hampden Co., Mass. Moses Halladay and his wife 
were both called from earth many years ago, and 
their remains rest in peace in the cemetery at Suf- 
field. 

Edmund Tobin Halladav, father of our subject, 
was born on the old Halladay homestead in Suffield, 
was educated in the public schools, and in his ap- 
proach of manhood's years was taught the tiade of 
wheelwright, which trade he followed with unvary- 
ing success for several years. Later he settled 
down to the cultivation of tobacco and general 
farming, in which he was equally successful, and 
with good reason, as he was the owner of one of 
the largest farms in the township — in fact, the farm, 
which comprised 500 acres, extended into Hampden 
county, Mass., to the northward. In politics Ed- 
mund T. Halladay was a Whig, and in religion a 






^/T'^^z.^ 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



843 



Baptist, and his prominence in both Church and 
political circles necessarily gave him a pre-eminent 
standing with his fellow citizens, but he never 
availed himself of his popularity as a means for 
seeking public office. The first marriage of Mr. 
Halladay was with Caroline Noble, a native of 
Suffield, and to this union were born four children : 
Horace, who died in 1896; Calvin, of Lima, Ohio, 
who died May 2, 1900 ; Albert, a farmer of Suffield, 
Conn. ; and George K., of Xenia, Ohio. Mrs. Caro- 
line Halladay died on the home farm, and for his 
second wife Mr. Halladay wedded Clarissa Kendall, 
also a native of Suffield, and a daughter of Simon 
and Elizabeth (Kent; Kendall, and this union was 
blessed with three children : Caroline Elizabeth, who 
died at the age of eighteen years ; Clara, who mar- 
ried Dr. J. K. Mason, of Suffield, and died Feb. 
6, 1876, leaving one daughter; and Edmund, whose 
name appears at the head of this biography. Ed- 
mund T. Halladay was called away when the sub- 
ject of this sketch was but six months old. Mrs. 
Clarissa Halladay still survives, being an inmate of 
our subject's home. She descends from one of the 
very old families of New England, both her 
great-grandfather and grandfather on her mother's 
side having taken part in the struggle for American 
independence ; she is a lady of refinement, as well 
as advanced educational attainments, and before her 
marriage was a school teacher. She is truly a de- 
vout Christian, and though her husband died five 
years after marriage, has reared her children in re- 
spectability and g-entility. 

Edmund Halladay, of whom this sketch treats 
principally, was trained from infancy to manhood 
under the care of his tender Christian mother. His 
primary education, obtained in the district schools, 
was supplemented by an attendance at the Connecti- 
cut Literary Institute, of Suffield, under Principals 
Bond, Shores and Andrews. He finished his edu- 
cation at Hillside Academy, under Dr. Fitch, and 
after returning home engaged in the tobacco busi- 
ness with Henry P. Kent, for three years. In 
1873 ne settled down to farming on the old home- 
stead, and up to the present time has devoted his 
attention to the cultivation of tobacco and to farm- 
ing in general, utilizing a tract of ninety acres, on 
which he has made extensive and substantial im- 
provements, erecting tobacco sheds, barns and other 
necessary structures. He is very prominent, also, 
in the leading public affairs of his town, and is a 
decidedly public-spirited and progressive citizen. 
He is secretary and treasurer of the Electric Light 
Co., of Suffield, is a stockholder in and director of 
the same, and was a promotor of the Suffield water 
works, in which he is likewise a stockholder. 

In politics Mr. Halladay is a stanch Republi- 
can, and under the auspices of his party has filled 
many positions of honor and trust. For three years 
he served as constable, and for three years as as- 
sessor of Suffield, and in 1884 was elected by his 
party to the State Legislature, in which august body 
he served with marked ability on the committee on 



Cities and Boroughs. In 1886 he was elected as se- 
lectman of Suffield, and for ten consecutive years 
was re-elected, thus serving eleven years, during 
which period he was honored with the position of 
chairman of the board. It was during his incum- 
bency of this office that the first stone road in the 
town was constructed, and altogether there were 
completed twentv miles of road of the same material ; 
seven iron bridges were also constructed ; and 
through his influence the schools were greatlv in- 
creased, appropriations for that purpose reaching the 
sum of $14,000, the first of which, for $5,200, was 
made in 1886, the year in which Mr. Halladay be- 
came a member of the board. 

in 1879 the marriage of Mr. Halladay with Miss 
Eloise L. Warner, a native of Suffield, and a daugh- 
ter of Charles C. Warner, was solemnized, in Suf- 
field, and to the union have been born three chil- 
dren : Clarissa J., a graduate of the Suffield high 
school; and Marjorie and Helen K, attendants at 
the graded school, where they are making rapid 
advance in their studies. The family worship at the 
Baptist Church, of which they are all consistent 
members, Mr. Halladay being also a member of 
the church committee. In his fraternal society re- 
lations Mr. Halladay stands high in the Masonic 
Order, being a member of Apollo Lodge No. 
59, F. & A. M. ; Washington Chapter No. 30, 
R. A. M.; Suffield Council No. 23, R. & S. M. ; 
Washington Commanderv No. 1, Iv. T., all of 
Suffield; and Sphinx Temple, A. A. O. N. M. 
S., of Hartford; as well as of the O. U. A. M., Ly- 
man Council, and Gideon Granger Lodge, K. of P., 
both of Suffield. He is also a member of the State 
Board of Agriculture, Hartford, and a director of 
the Connecticut Agricultural College and Experi- 
ment Station, at Storrs, Conn. He was one of the 
organizers of the Suffield Agricultural Society, in 
which he is still a director, and in which he takes a 
deep and abiding interest, being one of its strongest 
supporters. He is also a member of the Tobacco 
Growers Association. Notwithstanding all tin- 
onerous duties pertaining to these multifarious po- 
sitions, Mr. Halladay bravely and cheerfully exe- 
cutes his full share of them all, never lagging nor 
growing tired in their performance, and by such as 
he are the wealth, progress and stability of the Com- 
monwealth made and maintained. 

Mr. Halladay, as has been already mentioned, de- 
scends from the oldest and most respected families 
of New England, his ancestors having been among 
the gallant patriots of the Revolutionary war, which 
gave to the world its only model republic, and he 
still retains in his possession the old dint-lock musket 
used by his maternal great-grandfather, (apt. Elihu 
Kent, in that glorious struggle, and esteems it be- 
yond any money value whatever. Simon Kendall, 
grandfather of the mother of Edmund I [alladay, the 
subject of this memoir, was a native of Suffield, was 
of English descent, and was a well-to-do farmer and 
stock raiser. He marrietl Theoda Bronson, and to 
their union were born three chldren : Horace, Ma- 



844 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



hala (who was married to Calvin Spencer) and Si- 
mon. The parents were devout members of the 
Presbyterian Church, and died in that faith. 

Simon Kendall, mentioned above, was born in 
Suffield, became a well-educated gentleman, and 
passed his early manhood in school teaching. Later 
he became the owner of 200 acres of good farming 
land, to the cultivation of which he devoted the re- 
maining years of his successful life. In politics he 
was a Democrat of the Jeffersonian type. He was 
greatly respected, was honored by his contempora- 
ries, and filled many responsible offices, including 
that of selectman. He was very domestic in his 
habits, was strictly temperate, and was a devout ad- 
herent of the Baptist Church. He married Miss 
Elizabeth Kent, a native of Suffield, and a daughter 
of Capt. Elihu Kent and granddaughter of Col. 
Elihu Kent, both of whom were gallant warriors in 
the Revolution and took part in the battle of Lex- 
ington. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Simon 
Kendall eight children were born : George Fitch, 
who died in Richmond, Ya. ; Betsey and Rebecca, 
twins, of whom the latter died young, and the for- 
mer was married to Joseph W. King, now deceased, 
and resided near Cincinnati, Ohio ; Simon B., who 
died in Suffield, Conn ; Clarissa, mother of our sub- 
ject ; Mary, who married John McKibben, of Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, deceased in 189S; Henry L., who 
died in Baltimore, Md. ; and Jane Maria, who died at 
the age of ten months. Mrs. Kendall had been a 
successful school teacher, and four of her children 
were also employed in the same honorable occupa- 
tion. Mr. Kendall died in 1856, one of the most 
honored of the residents of Suffield, and Mrs. Ken- 
dall passed away in i860. 

The career of Mr. Halladay has been so pure, so 
self-sacrificing, and so devoted to the progress and 
improvement of the community in which he has 
passed his active life, that complimentary phrases 
here would be work of supererogation. 

SAMUEL WOLCOTT LADD, deceased. The 
career of this well known manufacturer, who was 
for many years a leading resident of Springfield, 
Mass., furnishes an object lesson in the virtues of 
thrift, industry and integrity. Beginning life as a 
poor boy, with but a limited education, he steadily 
rose from a subordinate place in the Wason Manu- 
facturing Co., of Springfield, to that of part owner, 
and his sound business judgment and rare execu- 
tive ability became recognized factors in the success 
of the enterprise. 

Mr. Ladd was born April 28, 1817, in the town 
of Ellington, Tolland Co., Conn., a son of Jacob 
and Rebecca (Charter) Ladd. Although his early 
life was spent upon a farm, he found agricultural 
work uncongenial, and when a young man he went to 
Springfield, Mass.,. to learn the molder's trade, 
which he followed for a number of years in Spring- 
field, Windsor Locks and other towns. While in 
Windsor Locks he met Miss Lavinia F. Fish, a na- 



tive of East Windsor and a daughter of Norman 
Fish, a prominent citizen of that locality. In 1847 
they were married, and soon afterward Mr. Ladd 
took a position as molder with Thomas W. Wason, 
a manufacturer of car wheels and railroad castings 
in Springfield, and established his home there. His 
ability and skill won him rapid promotion and having 
from time to time invested considerable money in 
the business he became the owner of a large amount 
of stock, in 1851 forming a partnership with Mr. 
Wason under the name of Wason, Ladd & Co. The 
firm continued thus until 1868, when the business 
was consolidated with the wood-working depart- 
ment which had been conducted by another com- 
pany of which Mr. Wason was the head, and incor- 
porated as the Wason Manufacturing Co. Mr. 
Ladd remained a member of the company, and acted 
as general manager of the iron department, con- 
tinuing in active business until his death, which 
occurred July 19, 1876. A handsome fortune re- 
sulted from his efforts. As a good citizen he was in- 
terested in all that pertained to the welfare of the 
community, and for many years he was a leading 
member of Trinity Methodist Church at Springfield. 
Socially he and his estimable wife held an enviable 
position in Springfield, and he was a member of 
Roswell Lee Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of that city. 

Of four children born to Mr, and Mrs. Ladd. 
the eldest, Emma, died at the age of five years ; 
Lewis died in infancy ; Everett died when eleven 
years old ; Lawrence, who is an enterprising and 
successful business man, manages the stock formerly 
owned by our subject, and now held by himself and 
his widowed mother. In November, 1877, Mrs. 
Ladd decided to return to her native town, and she 
and her son now reside upon the old Fish homestead 
where in 1881 they built a beautiful residence, 
equipped with all modern conveniences. The barns 
and other farm buildings have also been rebuilt, 
making the homestead one of the finest in East 
Windsor township. 

HON. JAMES STANLEY FORBES, repre- 
sentative in the Connecticut State Legislature from 
the town of East Hartford, and proprietor of the 
most extensive dairy in the town, as well as tobacco 
and fruit grower, descends from a family that has 
for 240 years been prominent in the town's affairs, 
as it is one of the oldest. 

The Forbes family is of Scotch origin, and the 
name first appears in the records of Hartford coun- 
ty in 1658. James Forbes (supposed to be identical 
with Capt. James Forbes), the founder of the fam- 
ily in America, came from Scotland in 1654, and in 
1660 bought land on the east side of "ye Greatte 
river," which yet remains in the family, Hon. James 
S. Forbes, the subject of this sketch, owning and 
living on a portion of this purchase. Capt. James 
Forbes, of Caithness, Scotland, was a younger son 
of Duncan Forbes, first Laird of Culloden and 
provost of Inverness ; John, the eldest son of Dun- 





■aJ. 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



845 



can, was the second to bear the title. James was a 
captain in the Royal army under the Marquis of 
Montrose, was captured in 1645 at tne battle of 
Phihphaugh, near Selkirk, Scotland, was impris- 
oned in the Tower of London until 1654, and was 
that year banished to America. On June 7, 1658, 
he purchased from John Crow twenty acres of lam 
near the mouth of the Hockanum river, but re- 
linquished this land Nov. 23, 1663, to Mr. Crow, 
as he had purchased, March 11, 1660, from William 
Westwood, a tract fifteen and one-half rods wide, 
extending from "ye Greatte river to ye bounds," 
and three miles long. Trie residence of Capt. James 
Forbes was on the Meadow Bank, a short distance 
north of what is now Pitkin street. His daughter, 
Dorothy, who was married to William Roberts, re- 
ceived six acres of this land from her father, near 
the home site, and the cellar portion of her house 
is yet visible, the property being still in the posses- 
sion of her descendants. Capt. James Forbes also 
bought land in Hartford, in 1661, from William 
Westwood. He died Nov. 27, 1692. By his wife, 
Catherine, he had the following named children : 
John, who joined the first church in Hartford in 
December, 1695, married Marv Griffin, and his pos- 
terity became sea-faring men, living at Wethersfield 
and elsewhere, and finally in New Haven ; David 
joined the First Church in March, 1695, married 
Sarah Treat, who was born in 1674, and his death 
occurred Dec. 16, 1729; Dorothy joined the Second 
Church in Hartford Feb. 12, 1698, and was mar- 
ried to William Roberts ; Mary joined the First 
Church in 1695, and was married to Daniel Gaines; 
Sarah was married to Joseph Collier ; James, born 
May 14, 1677, died in 1752, married (first) Sarah 
Williams, daughter of William and Sarah (Olcott) 
Williams, and for his second wife wedded Eliza- 
beth (Hills) Buckland. daughter of John Hills and 
widow of William Buckland. 

The children born to James Forbes (2) and 
Sarah (Williams) Forbes were : James Forbes (3), 
baptized 171 1, died April 23, 1801, married Ann 
Buckland, daughter of William and Elizabeth 
(Hills) Buckland; Jonathan, who owned the cov- 
enant, married Mehitable Cole, and was a taxpayer 
in Waterbury in 1731 ; Abraham, baptized in I7II, 
married Elizabeth Hills, and died April 23, 1809; 
Thomas was still living in 1742; Timothy, born in 
1716, is mentioned below ; Abigail was still living 
in 1742; Sarah was married to Josiah Barber; 
Elizabeth married Joseph Meacham. The father of 
this family built their first house in Scotland (now 
called Burnside), the ruins of which are still visible. 

Timothy Forbes (1) married Susannah Good- 
win, who was born in 1714, the ninth child of Dea- 
con John Goodwin and his wife Mary (Olmstead). 
They were the parents of several children, of whom 
the names of three only can be traced : Timothy 
(2) is mentioned below; Elijah, born in 1746, was 
a farmer at Scotland (now Burnside, the name 
having been changed in 1865), married Rebecca 
Gilman, a daughter of Solomon and Mary (Forbes) 
Gilman, and died in 1826; Elizabeth is the third of 



those whose record can be found. The father was 
a farmer and resided at Scotland (now Burnside ), 
where his wife died in 181 1. He died in 1776. 

Timothy Forbes (2) was born June 14, 1743, 
and died Sept. 14, 1800. He married, in 1766, Marv 
Roberts, who was born Jan. 19, 1745, daughter of 
Benjamin and Jerusha (Pratt) Roberts, and died 
Sept. 28, 1825. She became the mother of twelve 
children: Mary, born March 23, 1767, married 
Eli Barber, of Windsor, and died Dec. 24, 181 1; 
Susannah, born Oct. 15, 1768, married (first) 
Pbenezer Hills, and (second) wedded David Fit- 
kin, ana died Jan. 25, 1852; Jerusha, born Feb. 
21, 1770, died in March of the same year; Jerusha 
(2), born March 23, 1771, died May 20, 1793; 
Timothy (3), born July 3, 1773, married Ehza,- 
beth Treat; George, born Feb. 26, 1775, went to 
Virginia, came north again to New York and there 
died, leaving a family; Giles, born March 26, 1777, 
was captain of a sea-going craft, and died at sea 
in* December, 1840; Solomon, born Jan. 1, 1779, 
married Betsy Flint, and died at Manchester in 
1838; Jemima, born Jan. 6, 1781, was married to 
Joseph Brewer, a papermaker, and died Aug. 26, 
1834, in Cortland, N. Y., where her husband also 
passed away; Abigail, born Dec. 28, 1782, died un- 
married in 1800; Sarah, born Jan. 14, 1785, was 
married to Giles Church, and died in Michigan; 
and Huldah, born Sept. 25, 1786, died in 1789. 
During the Revolutionary war, when the Colonists 
borrowed money from the French Government, 
Timothy Forbes (2) was connected with the cattle 
train that conveyed it from the French vessels 
( which landed it at Newport) to his house in Scot- 
land (now Burnside). The kegs of coin were 
rolled into the west door of the house still stand- 
ing, and were subsequently taken to Philadelphia. 
This house was built by Timothy Forbes (1 ) about 
1765 and is now occupied by Miss Emma Forbes, 
sister of the subject of this sketch. 

Timothy Forbes (3), grandfather of Hon. James 
S. Forbes, was born July 3, 1773, on tne old home- 
stead, and married Betsey (or Elizabeth) Treat, 
who was born Nov. 18, 1782, at Hockanum, 
daughter of Matthias and Triphena (Risley) Treat. 
.Matthias Treat served in the company commanded 
by Capt. Jonathan Wells during the Revolutionary 
war, and marched from Boston to the defense of 
Lexington ; later he was a member of the company 
commanded bv Capt. Roswell Grant, in Col. Oba- 
diah Johnson's regiment, which was stationed in 
Rhode Island, and in 1794 became a lieutenant in 
a Connecticut Militia Company. The children of 
Timothy (3) and Betsey (Treat) Forbes were as 
follows: Eliza, born July 12, 1802, married Moses 
Chandler, a papermaker by trade, and also a mer- 
chant at Scotland (now Burnside), where she died 
April 3, 1862; Mahlon F., born Oct. 3, 1803, mar- 
ried Sarah Lawrence, and died May 8, 1891 ; Charles, 
born Dec. 2J, 1805, married Marv A. Ward, Jan. 
20, 1827, and died March 15, 1876; Jerusha, born 
Feb. 17, 1807, was married to Howell Hills, a 
merchant at Burnside and Hartford, on Jan. I, 



846 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1829, and died Feb. 14, 1849; Giles became the 
father of our subject; Abigail, born Sept. 15, 181 1, 
married Francis Hanmer, a prosperous paper-mill 
proprietor of Burnside, and died May 10, 1880, in 
Burnside; Charlotte, born June 30, 1813, was mar- 
ried to Henry Hills, a bookbinder, and died in Hart- 
ford in December, 1892; Susan, born Feb. 20, 1815, 
died July 6, 1883, was the wife of John B. Russell, 
who in the later years of his life was a broker at 
Hartford; Fidelia, born March 19, 1817, was the 
second wife of Howell Hills, and died June 30, 
1884; Sarah, born Dec. I, 1818, was married to 
John Gordon Smith, and died in Hartford Sept. 
2, 1886; George, born March 20, 1821, married 
Elizabeth Easton, and died April 13, 1876 (he was 
a farmer at Burnside, and was a bright man in 
tellectually, but became a cripple through rheuma- 
tism) ; Frances, born Jan. 8, 1824, married Henry 
M. King, of South Windsor, and died Feb. 14. 
1864. Timothy Forbes (3), known familiarly as 
"Capt. Tim," was well-known throughout Hartfor<l 
county, and was a leading man in East Hartford 
and vicinity. While not a member of any church 
society his team was always at the church door on 
the Sabbath day. 

Giles Forbes, father of Hon. James S. Forbes, 
was born in 1808, and died in 1890. The house in 
which his birth took place, and which was erected 
about 1765, is still in the family. Here he was 
reared to farming. His school days were passed 
in the old "Red" school house at Scotland, and al- 
though farming was his legitimate occupation 
through life he for a number of years was employed 
as a teamster for paper-mills at Scotland, hauling 
paper stock to and from Hartford. On March 26, 
1839, he married Sarah Pitkin Stanley, who was 
born Jan. 5, 1816, in East Hartford, a daughter of 
James and Temperance (Pitkin) Stanley. After 
marriage Giles Forbes erected his dwelling and set- 
tled on the farm, on which he continued to reside 
until his decease. Temperance Pitkin was a daugh- 
ter of Ashbel and Sarah (Forbes) Pitkin, and a 
granddaughter of William Pitkin, who was one of 
the most prominent statesmen of his day, judge of 
the county court many years, and in 1766 was made 
governor of Connecticut, which office he was hold- 
ing at the time of his death, in 1769. Numerous 
relics of the Governor are still held by the family. 

Giles Forbes was a very successful farmer, and 
an enthusiastic sportsman with gun and rod, as the 
whole of the Forbes name are. He was of medium 
height, and very active up to within a few years of 
his death. In politics he was first a Whig, later a 
Republican, was a strong anti-slavery man. and al- 
though not aggressive as a politician was ever inter- 
ested in the success of his party and active in pro- 
moting its welfare. He served as assessor for a 
number of years. In religion he was a Congrega- 
tionalist, and was an officer in the church of that 
denomination in East Hartford, of which his wife 
was also a member. She died in that faith in 1864, 
and her remains were interred in East Hartford 
cemeterv, where those of the husband were subse- 



quently laid to rest. To the marriage of Giles and 
Sarah Pitkin (Stanlev) Forbes were born four chil- 
dren: Emma S., Feb. 23, 1840; Delia A., June 2j, 
1842; James Stanley (subject), Dec. 29, 1845; 
and Julia Frances, Nov. 19, 1847. Of these, (1) 
Emma S.. who is still unmarried, resides on the 
homestead. She is possessed of a tenacious memory, 
takes great interest in collecting genealogical data, 
and furnished many of the facts connected with 
this sketch. (2) Delia A. married George W. 
Rogers, who for eight years was an engineer in 
the United States navy, and four years prior to 
the Civil war was stationed off the coast of Africa 
watching slavers. On the breaking out of the Re- 
bellion he was on the blockading squadron off 
Charleston, S. C, after which ne was transferred to 
the expedition under Farragut, and was at the cap- 
ture of New Orleans, La., in April, 1862, also in the 
expedition in Mobile Bay. Later he was the South- 
ern agent of the Hartford Steam Boiler Insurance 
Co., and the first representative of the company in 
the South. Mrs. Delia A. Rogers died Jan. 15, 
1888, in East Hartford, and Mr. Rogers passed 
away Dec. 10, 1888, in Charleston, S. C. (4) 
Julia Frances always lived on the homestead, and 
died unmarried April 14, 1883. 

Hon. James Stanley Forbes was born in the 
house in which he still lives, in the village of Burn- 
side, and first attended school in the old Scotland 
district when the school house stood in what would 
now be the middle of the street at what is now 
Burnside ; among his first teachers were his cousin, 
Martha Forbes, and Sarah Green, of W T apping. 
He next attended for three terms the graded school 
at East Hartford, where Mr. Camp was his tutor, 
and this ended his schooling. Until twenty-one 
years of age he remained on the home farm, and 
then went to Rockford, Floyd Co., Iowa, at that 
time a very new section of country, and was there 
engaged in farming for three years, selling his land 
and returning in 1870 to Connecticut. He took 
charge of his father's farm, and at once engaged in 
cultivating tobacco, where tobacco had never been 
raised before, as his father was opposed to it from 
principle. For four years Mr. Forbes devoted his 
attention to tobacco growing exclusively, then 
added small fruits, and finally dairying, whole- 
saling milk. He has 160 acres of land under his 
direction. 

James Stanley Forbes was united in marriage, 
Jan. 1, 1874, in Hillstown district, with Miss Jennie 
M. Hills, daughter of Martin O. and Cornelia 
(Spencer) Hills, the former of whom was a de- 
scendant of William Hills, Sr., who came with the 
Rev. Hooker party to Hartford in 1635, and the 
latter a descendant of Thomas Spencer, also one 
of the first settlers of Hartford. Mrs. Jennie M. 
( Hills) Forbes is likewise a descendant of Capt. 
James Forbes, the founder of this family in America, 
as Marv Forbes, daughter of David, the second son 
of the Captain, was married to Lieut. Solomon Gil- 
man, Jr.. who served in the Revolutionary war, 
and their daughter, Tabitha, was married to Gideon 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



,847 



Spencer, Jr., the great-grandfather of Mrs. Jennie 
I\i. (Hills) Forbes. One son has been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. James S. Forbes, Stanley Spencer, 
born March 22, 1876, who died April 14, 1883. 
They have two adopted children : Fanny L. M., 
born Feb. 17, 1880, and Francis, born July 15, 
188 1. 

For over twenty years Hon. J. Stanley Forbes 
has been and still is a member of the grand jury; 
for several years he has been a member of the board 
of relief, and has also held the office of selectman. 
In 1898 he was elected representative to the State 
Legislature from the East Hartford district, and in 
this august body is chairman of the committee on 
Federal Relations. In religious faith ne is a Meth- 
odist and for fifteen years has been a trustee of the 
M. E. Church at Burnside, in wnich for thirteen 
years he has served as superintendent of the Sab- 
bath school. He was a charter member of the Fast 
Hartford Grange, and he and his wife are still mem- 
bers of that organization. Mr. Forbes is also a 
member of the O. U. A. M. Staff, Lafayette Coun- 
cil, of East Hartford. 

Besides being one of the most extensive as well 
as one of the most successful farmers of the town 
of East Hartford, Mr. Forbes is thoroughly pro- 
gressive and up-to-date as a citizen. He is very 
fond of out-door recreation, and has indulged to a 
great extent in hunting, not only of the small game 
that Connecticut now affords, but of the larger ani- 
mals yet to be found in the Adirondack Mountains, 
and he is also an enthusiastic angler. He is a 
whole-souled, good-natured man, and none can boast 
of a larger circle of warm-hearted friends than he, 
while as a useful member of society no one takes 
a higher rank. His domestic relations are of the 
happiest, and his estimable wife shares with him a 
wide-extended popularitv. 

HON. ROBERT CLEVELAND USHER, one 
of the progressive citizens of Plainville, is a native 
of Connecticut, born April 19, 1841, in Plymouth, 
Litchfield county. 

Dr. Robert Usher, his grandfather, born in New 
London, Conn., practiced medicine in Westchester 
and vicinity. He was twice wedded, and by his 
first wife had five children ; by his second marriage, 
to Annie Cone, he had eleven children, Josiah C, 
father of Robert C, being the youngest. Dr. Robert 
Usher was a surgeon in the Revolutionary army, 
and his widow received a pension from the govern- 
ment. He was a son of Hezekiah Usher, a sea cap- 
tain, who lived in New London, Connecticut. 

Josiah Cleveland Usher, father of Robert C, 
born in August, 1802, in Chatham, Conn., in early 
life operated a tannery in Plymouth, whither he re- 
moved in 1825, but impaired health obliged him to 
abandon that occupation and take up farming, in 
which he engaged some fortv years. In 1845 he 
removed to Plainville, where he practically passed 
the rest of his days, dying, however, at New Brit- 
ain, in April, 1893. Originally an Abolitionist, he 



afterward became a Republican. In religious faith 
he was a member of the Congregational Church, 
and he always took much interest in church work. 
In September, 1828, Josiah C. Usher married Ruth 
Frisbie, daughter of Abel Frisbie, of Bristol, Conn., 
and children as follows were born to them: James, 
deceased at the age of seven years; Ruth Ann, wife 
of Francis H. Smith, of New Britain, formerly of 
Plainviile, and Robert Cleveland, a sketch of whom 
immediately follows. 

Robert C. Usher, the subject proper of these 
lines, was fcur years old when his parents removed 
to Plainville, and there at the district schools he re- 
ceived his education, at the age of seventeen years 
commencing a one-year term at Williston Semi- 
nary, Easthampton, Mass. Returning at the end of 
that time to Plainville, he spent two years on the 
home farm, and then enlisted in the Union army, 
an event in his life that will presently be more fully 
mentioned. On his return from the front he re- 
mained some four more years on the farm with his 
father, after which, in December, 1869, he entered 
the employ of E. N. Pierce, as clerk in his coal and 
lumber yards, continuing in that capacity until 1875, 
in which year he became a partner of Mr. Pierce, 
under the firm name of E. N. Pierce & Co., said 
partnership existing until 1893, when our subject 
sold his interest to Mr. Pierce. In August, 1891, 
Mr. Usher entered the Plainville Manufacturing Co. 
as assistant to the secretary and treasurer, and also 
acted as general superintendent for a number of 
years. He is also a director of that company. He 
was one of the incorporators of the Plainville Water 
Co., in 1885; was elected treasurer in 1891, which 
incumbency he still fills, and is a director of same. 
Mr. Usher was one of the incorporators of the Free 
Public Library at Plainville, and has been presi- 
dent of the same since its organization. 

Politically Mr. Usher is a stanch Republican, and 
has served in various offices of responsibility. In the 
term of 1885 he represented the town of Plainville 
in the State Legislature, during which period he was 
a member of the committee on finance. From 1869, 
the year in which the town was formed, to 1893, 
when he declined further re-nomination on account 
of business pressure, he served as town clerk; for 
many years has been assessor of the town ; and for 
the past six years has served as school visitor. So- 
cially he is affiliated with Newton L. Manross Post, 
G. A. R., of Forestville. In church relations he and 
his family are Congregationalists ; and he has been 
trustee of the church and chairman of the society's 
committee several years each. 

On June 15, 1870, Robert C. Usher was married 
to Antoinette Cora Pierce, daughter of Edward X. 
Pierce, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere, ami 
children as follows were born to them : Jesse Henri- 
etta married Dec. 26, 1895, Charles Rockwell Clark, 
of Plainville, and they have one son. Pierce Usher 
Clark; Maude Pierce is at home; James Edward, 
who graduated from the Plainville high school, and 



848 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



attended the Philadelphia Textile School one year, 
is associated with his father in the Plainville Manu- 
facturing Co. ; Frank Pierce, a graduate of the Plain- 
ville higii school, is also associated with his father in 
Plainville Manufacturing Co, ; Robert Cleveland, 
Jr., graduated from the Plainville high school, and 
is now attending the University of Maine at Orono, 
Maine. Howard Josiah, the youngest son, is at- 
tending the New Britain high school. 

On Aug. 27, 1862, Mr. Usher enlisted in Com- 
pany E, 20th Conn. V. L, as musician ; was soon 
afterward made orderly, and about a year after- 
ward was promoted to sergeant major. He partici- 
pated in the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettys- 
burg, later serving in the West with Hooker, and 
with Sherman on his famous march to the sea. He 
fortunately escaped being wounded. Some three 
months before the close of the war he received a 
lieutenant's commission from Gov. Buckingham, and 
June 27, 1865, he was mustered out of the service. 

HON. BENJAMIN F. CASE, manager of the 
Canton Creamery Association, and a prominent ag- 
riculturist of the town of Canton, is a representative 
of one of its most highly respected pioneer families. 
The first ancestor ot whom we have any definite 
record was John Case, who came to this county 
at an early date, locating first in Windsor and later 
in Simsbury, and whose descendants, through his 
sons John and William, are now numerous in this 
section. 

John Case (2) was born in Windsor Nov. 5, 
1662, but his youth was spent chiefly in Simsbury. 
In early manhood he engaged in farming at Terrys 
Plains, where he died May 22, 1733. On bept. 12, 
1684, he married Mary Olcott, who was born in 
1665, in Hartford, daughter of Thomas Olcott, of 
that city. In 1693 he married, for his second wife, 
Sarah Holcomb, daughter of Joshua Holcomb, and 
granddaughter of 1 nomas Holcomb, the pioneer. 
The only child of the first marriage, John, born 
Aug. 6, 1685, died in infancy. By the second mar- 
riage there were six children : John, born Aug. 22, 
1694; Daniel, who is mentioned below; Mary, born 
1698, who married Josiah Alford, and died about 
1732; Jonathan, born April 15, 1701 ; Sarah, born in 
1703, who married John Alderman; and Hannah, 
born in 1709, who married Capt. Noah Humphrey, 
and died Sept. 23, 1799. 

Sergt. Daniel Case was born in Simsbury March 
7, 1696, and made his home in Terrys Plains, where 
he engaged in farming. He was active in local 
affairs, and gained his title by service in the State 
militia. He died May 28, 1733. On May 7, 1719, 
he married Penelope Buttolph, who was born Oct. 
i, 1699, and died June 2J, 1746. They had six chil- 
dren : Daniel, who is mentioned below ; Mindwell, 
born Oct. 24, 1721, who married Lieut. David 
Adams; Dudley, born Nov. 23, 1723; Lois, born 
Sept. 20, 1726, who married Joseph Mills; Zac- 
cheus, born in 1728; and Ezekiel, born Sept. 30, 

I73I- 



Daniel Case, son of Sergt. Daniel, was born Jan. 
31, 1720, on the Case farm in Terrys Plains, Sims- 
bury, where he grew to manhood. In 1746 he re- 
moved to W r est Simsbury with his brothers and sis- 
ters, and engaged in farming at what is now Can- 
ton Center, where he built the first gristmill. Like 
his father, he was a sergeant in the State militia, 
and he was highly esteemed in his community. He 
died on his farm May 24, 1801, and is buried in the 
Dyer cemetery. He married Mary Watson, of New 
Hartford, who was born in 1724, and died in 1801, 
and they had nine children : Daniel, born April 19, 
1752, married Elizabeth Humphrey, daughter of 
Capt. Ezekiel and Elizabeth (Pettibone) Hum- 
phrey, and died Feb. 28, 1789; Moses, born March 
27, 1754, married Eunice Case, and died in 1782; 
Alary, born Feb. 25, 1756, married John Garrett, 
and died in 1832; Abigail, born Jan. 8, 1758, mar- 
ried William Taylor, and died in 1830; Lois, born 
Sept. 15, 1760, never married; Keturah, born Dec. 
11, 1762, married James Humphrey, son of Deacon 
Theophilus and Hepzibah (Cornish) Humphrey, 
and died in September, 1824; Penelope, born Dec. 
11, 1764, died June 17, 1851, unmarried; Amory 
Watson, born Oct. 23, 1767, married Betsey Harves, 
and died in 1852 ; and Elam is mentioned below. 

Elam Case, the grandfather of our subject, was 
born May 10, 1772, in Canton Center, where he spent 
his entire life, engaged in general farming and stock 
raising. He was noted for his industry and good 
management, and was temperate in his habits and 
honorable in his business dealings. He was mar- 
ried, Nov. 21, 1805, to Phoebe (Case) Andrews, who 
was born in Canton July 14, 1776, and died Dec. 
14, 1845. She was a daughter of Deacon Hosea and 
Mary Case, and widow of Philemon Andrews. Of 
their four children : ( 1 ) Rodney, born July 26, 
1807, married Calista Jay. (2) Randolph, born 
Aug. 21, 1809, died April 22, 1859. (3) Franklin 
is mentioned below. (4) Melinda, born Oct. 14, 
1813, died Dec. 24, 1853; she married Orin F. 
Brown, and had one child, Orin, a resident of 
Hartford. 

Franklin Case, the father of our subject, was 
born Jan. 17, 181 1, and died Oct. 22, 1877, his re- 
mains being interred at Canton Center. After com- 
pleting a district-school course he engaged in farm- 
ing on the homestead. He was a man of high 
moral character, a member of the Congregational 
Church, and was devoted to his family. In politics 
he was a Democrat, but he was never an office 
seeker. He was married (first) June 3, 1837, to 
Ann Edgerton, who died Jan. 9, 1840, and on April 
17, 1842, he married Lucia Case, who survives him. 
By his first marriage he had one son, Benjamin 
Franklin, born in July, 1839, who died in Novem- 
ber, same year. 

Mrs. Lucia Case was born Sept. 16, 1821, daugh- 
ter of Philetus and Lucinda (Reed) Case, well- 
known residents of Canton, and her education was 
besftm in the district schools of that town. She also 
attended the high schools in Canton Center and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



843 



Windsor, and gave especial attention to the study 
of French and music. She then taught school for a 
while in Simsbury, and her culture and refinement 
have found expression in her home life. She is a 
woman of good business ability, as is shown by her 
management of her brother's estate, of which she 
and our subject are executors. 

'Sirs. Case is a descendant of John Case, the 
pioneer, through his son William, who was a brother 
of John Case (2), from whom the father of our 
subject is descended. Amasa Case (1), son of 
James and Esther (Fithen) Case, grandson of Will- 
iam and Elizabeth (Holcomb) Case, and great- 
grandson of the original John Case, was born Oct. 
18, 1 73 1, in Simsbury, Terrys Plains. He spent his 
entire life on the Case homestead, where he was en- 
gaged in general farming, and his remains now rest 
in the cemetery at Simsbury. He was married first, 
in 1752, to Miss Elizabeth Hoskins, who was born 
in 1732, daughter of Robert Hoskins. In 17OO he 
married a widow, Mrs. Viets, who died in 1785. 
His third wife, Abigail Philips Griswold, daughter 
of David Philips, died Oct. 4, 1794, and he after- 
ward married Mrs. Charity Cornish, daughter of 
John Pettibone; after her death, which occurred 
Oct. 5, 1803, he married a fifth wife, Mrs. Sarah 
Graham, a daughter of Benajah Humphrey, who 
had herself been previously married three times. 
By the first marriage Amasa Case ( 1 ) had the fol- 
lowing children : Amasa (2) ; Aaron, born June 16, 

1755, died March 24, 181 1 ; Elizabeth, born Aug. 15, 

1756, died Dec. 2, 1822; Stephen, born Oct. 6, 1758; 
Mary, born Jan. 2, 1760; and Mehitabel, born March 
8, 1762. By his second marriage he also had six 
children: Apollos, who was born Aug. 1, 1768, 
married Polly Frazier, and died June 15, 1827; 
Ruth, who was born Sept. 30, 1770; Julius, who 
was born Feb. 20, 1773, and died May 17, 1773; 
Enoch, who was born May 10, 1774, and died July 
27, 1799; Salome, who was born Dec. 1, 1777; and 
Chloe. 

Amasa Case (2) was born Oct. 29, 1753, on the 
homestead at Terrys Plains, Simsbury, and died 
June 2^, 1843. When a young man he removed to 
what is now Hoskins Station, in the Westover 
Plains District, and engaged in farming, which oc- 
cupation he continued throughout his life. For 
many years he served as deacon in the church. His 
wife, Mercy Hillyer, was born in 1763, and died 
Sept. 3, 1809. They had ten children: Amasa (3), 
born Feb. 17, 1780, died June 8, 1851; Philetus is 
mentioned below; Stephen was born Jan. 17, 1784; 
Mercy, born July 13, 1785, married Peter Mason; 
Charlotte, born Sept. 28, 1787, married Dr. Timothy 
Phelps; Nathaniel married Ann Maria Case; Sa- 
loma married Adolphus Chaffee ; Buckland, born in 
1800, married Sally Holcomb, and died May 8, 1845 ! 
Julius ; and Chauncey. 

Philetus Case, the father of Mrs. Franklin Case, 

and grandfather of our subject, was born Feb. 2, 

1782, at Westover Plains, Simsbury, and died Dec. 

20, 1827. When a young man he removed to Can- 

54 



ton, now West Simsbury, where he bought a farm 
and spent the rest of his days, engaged in stock 
raising and general farming. Politically he was a 
Democrat, but he never sought office. On Aug. 12, 
1804, he married Lucinda Reed, who was born June 
12, 1783, and died Sept. 25, 1862. She was a 
woman of marked ability, as was shown by her suc- 
cessful management of the estate after the death 
of her husband, and under her wise and loving care 
a large family of children were reared to lives of 
usefulness. Of the children, (1) Jarvis Philetus, 
born June 9, 1805, was engaged in the clock busi- 
ness. (2) Sophia Lucinda, born Aug. 29, 1807, 
was married Aug. 18, 1844, to Jeptha Rose, now de- 
ceased. She died June 2, 1900. (3) Lavinia Mercy, 
born Feb. 14, 18 10, was married June 1, 1837, to 
Oliver Beach, now deceased, and now resides at 
Granville, Mass. She has three children, George 
Oliver, Sabra L. (Mrs. Harvy Godard) and Sophia 
(Mrs. Miles J. Rose). (4) Morgan, born March 
17, 1812, was a farmer in Avon, Conn., and died 
March 23, 1875, unmarried. (5) Sabra Parmilla, 
born June 14, 1814, died Aug. 8, 1824. (6) Sey- 
mour Nathaniel, who was a prominent lawyer of 
Hartford, was born Oct. 10, 1816, and died Xov. 26, 
1872. (7) Luna, born Dec. 10, 1818, was married 
Aug. 18, 1836, to Willis Edgerton, and after his 
death to William Beach, of Bristol, Conn. (8) Lu- 
cia, born Sept. 16, 1821, was the mother of our sub- 
ject. (9) Maria, born May 22, 1823, married Clem- 
ent Holcomb, of Granville, Massachusetts. 

The father and mother of our subject had five 
children: (1) Lucia Ann, born April 27, 1843, was 
educated in Collinsville high school, and became a 
teacher. On May 14, 1862, she married Anson M. 
Case, now deceased, and they had one child, Win- 
throp Tracy, born March 2, 1870, who was edu- 
cated in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
Boston, and is now connected with the city sun 
or's office, Boston. He married Cynthia Southey in 
1899. (2) Flora Abigail, born March 21, 1845. 
was educated in district schools, Collinsville high 
school and a young ladies' seminary at Hartford, 
and taught school at the age of sixteen. On ( )ct. 
24, 1864, she married James < ). Rose, of < rranville, 
Mass., and had one child, Arabella Harlow, h irn 
April 13, 1867, who was educated in the public 
schools, a young ladies' seminary at Hartford, ami 
the Boston Conservator) of Music, and is now a 
principal of the Peabody Kindergarten. (3; Ma- 
ron, born July 10, 1850, and educated in the Col- 
linsville high school, is the widow of Mason X. 
Case, who died Nov. 12, 1886, and now resides at 
Hartford. She has had one child, Almira \\ il< 
born May 20, 1875, who attended Mel-ran Seminary, 
Simsbury, and Smith College. She was married 
July 18, 1899, to William R. Lamb, of Philadelphia, 
Penn. (4) Harriet Maria, horn Jan. 21, 1857, mar- 
ried Daniel T. Dyer, cf Canton. (5) Benjamin F., 
our subject, was horn March 26, [86l. 

Our subject attended the district school at Can- 
ton, also Granville (Mass.; Academy, in 1876, and 



850 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



later Williston Seminary, at Easthampton, Mass., 
where he took the scientific course and graduated 
in 1880. He afterward entered the law ottice of H. 
S. and S. Barber, Hartford, where he spent two 
years, but later gave up his studies and returned to 
the home farm, where he has since been engaged in 
looking after his large estate, his farm alone com- 
prising over 200 acres. He, his mother, and Mor- 
gan Case were appointed executors of the estate of 
his uncle, Seymour N. Case, in which office he has 
served very successfullv. Since 1892 he lias also 
been secretary and treasurer of the Canton Cream- 
ery Association. For the year 1892-93 he was 
elected to the State Legislature, where he served on 
the committee on Agriculture, and from 1890 to 
1893 he was selectman of Canton. 

In 1888 Mr. Case married Mary A. Higley, of 
Canton, who was born Feb. 13, 1865, daughter of 
Howard and Mary Etta (Case) Higley. Mr. and 
Mrs. Case have two children : Rubenia Case and 
Benjamin F. Our subject has one of the finest 
houses in Canton. He is progressive, and looked 
upon as the foremost man in his district. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican, and a stanch supporter of 
his party, while fraternally he is connected with 
several orders, being a thirty-second-degree Mason. 

The Higley family, from whom Mrs. Case, the 
wife of our subject, is descended, is one of the 
oldest and best families of Hartford county. How- 
ard Higley, her father, was born in Canton in 1837, 
son of Pomeroy and Eunice D. (Humphrey) Hig- 
ley, and grandson of Obed and Rebecca ( Mills j 
Higley. [Further mention is made of the Higley 
family elsewhere.] Howard Higley grew up on the 
farm and was educated in the district schools, and 
later in life was engaged in farming and stock deal- 
ing, raising much of the stock upon his farm. He 
is now living retired, making his home with his son 
Loyal, who carries on the farm. He has always 
been a highly respected member of his community, 
a man temperate in his habits, and a regular at- 
tendant of the Baptist Church. Politically he is a 
Democrat, but no office seeker. Mr. Higley mar- 
ried in Canton Miss' Mary Etta Case, who was born 
Feb. 22, 1838, daughter of Marvin and Maria (Wil- 
cox) Case, and they had three children : Mary A., 
born Feb. 13, 1865, the wife of our subject; Loyal, 
born March 15, 1868, who married Caroline Rox- 
roth, daughter of Jacob Roxroth; and Nellie M., 
born in 1871, who married Charles Buckland, and 
died in 1895. Mrs. Higley was a good Christian 
woman, and an attendant of the Baptist Church ; she 
died April 7, 1898. 

Marvin Case, the father of Mrs. Higley, and 
grandfather of our subject's wife, was born March 
3, 1810, and died Sept. 27, 1857. He was a great- 
grandson of Noah Case ( 1 ) , grandson of Noah Case 
(2), and son of Noah Case (3) by his wife Alice 
(Case) Case, who was a daughter of Deacon Rich- 
ard and Jemima (Morse) Case, and granddaughter 
of Lieut. Richard and Ruth (Case) Case. Marvin 
Case was a farmer all his life, and a man well known 



in his community. 
Oct. 18, 1812, died 
William and Ann 
daughter of Lieut, 
had the following 
22, 1838, married 
7, 1898; Marshall 
Ellen Dudley, and 
born July 14, 1846 
rion Case, a sister 



He married Maria Wilcox (born 
Sept. 27, 1857), daughter of Col. 
(Edgerton) Wilcox, and grand- 
William and Lucy Wilcox. They 
children : Mary Etta, born Feb. 
Howard Higley, and died April 
W., born April 2, 1842, married 
died March 31, 1872; Mason N., 
died Nov. 12, 1880, married Ma- 
of our subject. 



JAMES SHEPARD, of New Britain, is a So- 
licitor of Patents and Expert in Patent Causes. He 
was born at Southington, Conn., May 16, 1838, 
where he resided mainly until 1861. The common 
schools and Lewis Academy gave him the begin- 
ning of an education, putting him in a way to 
ltarn, and he has been studying and learning al- 
most constantly ever since he carried his books 
away from the academy. Quite early in life he 
engaged in sundry vocations, but finally settled 
down as a toolmaker and machinist until 1866. 
He has always been fond of travel, and before he 
was twenty years of age he had been within the 
limits of every town in the State of Connecticut. 
On Sept. 25, 1859, he married Celia Adelaide, 
daughter of William Gaylord Curtis and his wife, 
Lucy (Preston), of Bristol, Conn. Their only child 
is Celia Antoinette Shepard, now of New Britain, 
Conn. In 1861 he removed to New Britain and in 
1862 he removed from New Britain to Bristol. He 
began the business of a solicitor of patents in 1866, 
which occupation he has never changed, excepting 
that since 1873 he has frequently testified as an 
expert in mechanics before the Lmited States Cir- 
cuit Courts in causes based upon Letters Patent. He 
has now had a successful experience of over thirty- 
four years, one-third of a century, in soliciting 
patents, and ranks among the best and most skill- 
ful solicitors in the country. He does not know 
of any person in New England now engaged in the 
patent business, either as solicitor or expert, who 
lias been in the business as long as he has. As an 
expert in mechanics he has a good reputation, be- 
ing widely known among manufacturers and patent 
lawyers generally, having testified in hundreds of 
causes on a great variety of subjects, and his testi- 
monv has been used in various circuits of the LJnited 
States Courts in all parts of the country, from Cali- 
fornia and Oregon on the west to Pennsylvania 
and Maine on the east, and from Wisconsin on the 
north to Louisiana on the south. 

Although Mr. Shepard first opened his office 
in New Britain in 1868, he did not remove from 
Bristol to New Britain until 1876. When in Bris- 
tol he was one of the leaders of the Republican 
party, serving on the town committee and being 
its chairman at the time he removed to New Britain. 
His removal was made the occasion to retire from 
active politics and all such outside matters as would 
be liable to interfere with his regular business. 

Mr. Shepard believes, however, in taking time 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



sr,i 



for recreation and has never been without a hobby 
for diverting his mind from the cares of business 
life. With his family he frequents the fields and 
woods "bunting without a gun" and "fishing with- 
out a book," for they are all great admirers of na- 
ture with no desire to either kill or catch. He has 
long been identified with the New Britain Scientific 
Association, and is an occasional writer on scien- 
tific subjects, having paid special attention to bot- 
any, mineralogy, archaeology and conchology. Val- 
uable contributions have been made by him to the 
Peabody Museum of Yale College and to the Na- 
tional Museum of the Smithsonian Institution. He 
was one of the first collectors, not connected with 
that institution, to present it with specimens of the 
silicified shells of Tampa Bay, Fla., and some of 
the species collected there by Mr. Shepard were 
never before known to science. He has received 
special acknowledgment, therefor, by having his 
name bestowed upon one of the new species dis- 
covered by him. Among other hobbies he has been 
an amateur photographer since 1884. and some 
times contributes articles for photographic publica- 
tions. He has traveled in Canada, Mexico, Florida 
and other Southern States, and prior to 1891 he had 
carried his camera over twenty thousand miles. 
He is a member of the New Britain Camera Club, 
the Connecticut Society of Sons of the American 
Revolution, also of the Connecticut Historical So- 
ciety, and is well-known as a genealogist and his- 
torian. 

Mr. Shepard's ancestry goes back to many of 
the founders of our New England towns, but be- 
fore presenting the same we will give an account 
of the name. 

SHEPARD. 

The frequent puns on our family name remind 
us that the word Shepard signifies a man who 
tends and guards sheep in a pasture. It is derived 
from sccap, sheep, and hyrde or heord, a herd, a 
flock, a guardian, and was at length bestowed upon 
some person as a surname. According to several 
authorities it is classified with trade, occupation, 
or professional names, as, for example, the masons, 
carpenters, bakers, butchers, cooks, farmers, millers 
and coopers. Charles Wareing Bardsley in "Our 
English Surnames," says. "Are we again on the 
bleak hillside? The sheep have given us our Shep- 
herds, the rams our Wethersherds," etc. The cita- 
tions in connection therewith are "Margaret le 
Sbepherde in Hundred Rolls. John le Shepherde 
writs of parliament and Josse le Shepherde Hun- 
dred Rolls." 

In Mark Antony Lower's Dictionary of Fam- 
ily Names is "Shepherd, the occupation, variously 
misspelt," with the name Pastor and Le Pastur as 
another form of name from the same occupation. 
Ill Barber's "British Family Names" we find "Ship- 
pard. Shepard, Shepherd and Sheppard" as from 
"Chebbard," a local name in Dorsetshire, and from 
"Schappert," a Dutch personal name. In German 



mythological names we find "Shippey" for sheep 
island, and in Kent, England, we find "Sibberts- 
wold," now pronounced Sheperdswell, said to have 
been anciently Swythbrihtesweald, meaning the 
wood of Swythbright. 

These various derivations and the chances that 
the occupation name may have been bestowed upon 
different persons in remote localities, makes it high- 
ly improbable that the various persons by the name 
of Shepard have any common origin. 

No extended research has been made by the 
compiler as to the antiquity of the surname "Shep- 
ard," but it does not appear in the "list of names 
of Persons in Domesday Book holding lands, and 
tenants, and under tenants," as given in Barber's 
"British Family Names," nor in his list of Norman 
names. Neither have we been able to find the name 
"Chebbard" anywhere aside from the single pas- 
sage in Barber herein before given. The earliest 
mention of the name Shepard thus far found with 
the year specifically stated is in "Palgrave's Par- 
liamentary Writs," which gives "Richard le Shep- 
herd, Manucaptor (bailsman), of Johannes films 
Gwydonis, Knight of the Shore, returned for War- 
wick 1298, and Hugh le Shepherd, Manucaptor of 
Rogerus de Barton Burgess, returned for ECings- 
ton-upon-Hull, 1305. The Margaret le Shepherde 
and Josse le Shepherde, before referred to, were 
of an early date as their names appear in "Hun- 
dred Rolls," a record that was ordered by Fdward 
I. who reigned from 1272 to 1307. 

In the "Gentlemen's Magazine," of 1830, a 
writer referring to Bibliotheca Topographies Bri- 
tania, Vol. Y, No. 52, says: "The family of Shep- 
ard is of considerable antiquity and was originally 
at Mendlesham in the County of Suffolk. The 
earliest notice of them which 1 met with there is 
an inscription on a loose stone in the vestry, which 
serves as a support to the church." I le then gives 
the inscription in latin, without date, and add-, 
"These lines I have seen translated into the fol- 
lowing doggerels, viz. : 

One mind did both of US direct, 

One love united found; 
( )ur hearts to the cue God of Love, 

Our bodies to the ground. 
We both by one and self same name 

Of Sheppard long were known; 
The wife, she was Elizabeth, 

The husband, he was fohn. 
We both did thru e thn 1 

And da fair tw ice two; 

God grant that, thus increas'd, oui 

.May i-\ er do so too. 

In the visitations of Shropshire, [623, we find 
arms from Harleian record- bearing date 1 
for "Shepard." the spelling being identical with that 
herein u^-<\ as the proper spelling. Variations in 
spelling are numerous, hut of no special significance, 
and in some English records we find the name 
abbreviated as "Sheppe." The spelling "Shep-ard" 
i- phonetically correct, contains no superflous let- 
ters, and, having been in use more than five bun- 



852 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



dred years ago. can well be accepted as a correct 
form of the name. 

The Shepards of America, in so far as they 
have descended from emigrant settlers who were 
here prior to 1650, are mainly descendants of Ralph 
Shepard, of Dedham, who came in the "Abigal," 
J 635, was later of Maiden, Mass., and generally 
known as of that place ; the Rev. Thomas Shepard, 
of Cambridge, who came in the "Defence" Oct. 
3, 1635, and is recorded at the custom house in 
England under the name of "John Shepard,'' and 
Edward Shepard, who was in Cambridge as early 
as 1639. There were three other Shepards in Xew 
England about the same time, but we have no knowl- 
edge of their posterity. Other Shepard emigrants 
who have left descendants were here not long after 
1650. The Shepards of Killingly and vicinity in 
eastern Connecticut and of East Haven, Conn., 
are the descendants of Ralph of Maiden, and the 
Hartford family of Shepards are from Edward 
through his only son, Sergeant John. 

Edward Shepard. An account of Edward 
Shepard and his descendants was published in the 
New England Historical and Genealogical Register, 
Vol. XXXII, July, 1878. p. 322, in part compiled 
by Mr. Shepard, and to which reference is made for 
matter here omitted. 

It is supposed that this Edward Shepard came 
from England, but no mention has been found of 
him previous to his appearance in Xew England, 
nor have we been able to trace any connection be- 
tween him and some half-dozen other Shepards 
who came to this country about the same time. 
Savage says that John Shepard, of Braintree, was 
a brother of Edward, and had Samuel, who died 
Aug. 29, 1 641, and that said John was one of the 
thirty-two petitioners desiring to plant at Xara- 
gansett. Edward Shepard and John Shepard were 
both made freeman at Boston May 10, 1643 [Co- 
lonial records, Vol. XI, p. 27], and they may have 
been brothers, as Savage says. Since 1878 ex- 
haustive researches have been made in England 
without getting- any new light as to Edward Shep- 
ard's English antecedents. A scrap of evidence 
has, however, been found by E. N. Shepard in a 
manuscript note book of the Rev. Thomas Sheo- 
ard, giving the "Relation of Goodman Shepard," 
meaning, it is thought, Edward Shepard. It begins 
as follows : "The Lord brought me into a family 
where I was led to see what a vile creature I was. 
Going to hear Mr. Rogers," etc. In the church at 
Dedham, Essex, England, is a mural monument 
with the figure of a man preaching and the name 
John Rogers. Oct. 18, 1636 [History of Essex, by 
a gentleman, 1772], from which we learn that Mr. 
Rogers preached at Dedham, a place fifty-nine miles 
from London. This is the only clue to Edward 
Shepard's residence in England. The account of 
his conversion savs E. N. Shepard. reads "much 
like the modern Prayer meeting confession." The 
particular sin which so much troubled him was 
Sabbath breaking. 



"Edward Shepard bought of James Herringe 
one dwelling house, with a garden, abuttelling on 
John Betts northeast, Edward Mickerson on the 
north, Mr. Andrews west, the highway (now South 
street between Holyoke and Dunster) south. More, 
a small garden on the other side of the highway, 
abutelling on John Thrumbull east and south, on 
Mr. Paine's yard west, on the highway north. More 
upon the south side of Charles river, a lot of plant- 
ing land, five acres more or less, abutelling Boston 
field east, John Thrumbull and Mr. Andrew's lands 
west and south upon the highway and creek north. 

Richard Jackson, 
Joseph Isake, 
Robert Saunders.'" 
[Cambridge Records, 1639, p. 108.] No date of 
the purchase is given, and according to the usual 
custom he probably bought this land and resided 
at Cambridge sometime before the land was re- 
corded, although 1639 is the earliest date that can 
be positively stated. 

The following is from the record of "Shepard 
and Mitchell's Church," which was made up from 
memory by Rev. Mr. Mitchell in 1658, after the 
death of Rev. Thomas Shepard : 

"Edward Shepard member in f. c. So also was 
his wife, Violet, deceased. Their children yt were 
in minority when He joyned are Abigal, now liv- 
ing at Dedham ; Deborah, now also at Dedham, and 
Sarah, now dwelling at Braintree. The eldest of 
these aged twelve, ye 2d ten, 3d seven years when 
their Parents joyned, being all baptized in Eng- 
land." It was then necessary to be a member of 
the church in order to be made a freeman, and 
therefore the date of Edward's admission to the 
church may be considered as 1643, on May 10 of 
which year he was made a freeman. His daughter, 
Sarah, who married Samuel Tomson, died at Brain- 
tree, Mass., Jan. 15, 1679, aged forty-three, and 
would therefore have been seven years of age in 
1643, the year in which we suppose Edward joined 
the church. 

From the same church record we have "Mary, 
now the wife of the aforesaid Edward Shepard. 
was dismissed hither from Ch. at Dorchester, and 
is in f. c. with us. Her dau., Mary Pond, baptized 
at Dorchester, was eleven years old at her mother's 
joyning with us." 

We have no records of their marriage, but 
Violet Shepard died Jan. 9, 1648-Q. The daughter 
of Mary Pond married John Blackman, and their 
first child was born Aug. 10, 16^6. We may there- 
fore conclude that Mrs. Mary Pond lived at Cam- 
bridge before her marriage with Edward Shepard, 
a conclusion the more probable because her first 
husband, Robert Pond, died in 1637: that it is also 
probable that she brought other children with her 
to Cambridge and that Daniel Pond, who married 
Abigail Shepard, was her son. Edward Shepard's 
name, as also that of his son. John Shepard, appears 
in the town and county records in various rela- 
tions until 1680-81, when his will was proven Aug. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



853 



20, 1680, and John sold the homestead Sept. 18, 
1 68 1, to Owen Warland. 

That he was a mariner appears from his own 
assertion in deeds to Edward Champney. March 
19, 1652, and to W. Fessenden, Feb. 18, 1679, and 
in his will dated Oct. I, 1674. Also from mention 
made in the record of the steward of Harv. Coll., 
1654, of two importations of wheat "from aboard 
Ed. Shephearde's vessel." Also from a letter from 
Thomas .Stanley, of Hartford, to Mr. Albee, of 
Boston, showing that Goodman Shepard (that is, 
Edward) was engaged in the carrying trade be- 
tween Boston and Hartford and probably other 
ports in 1652 [Suffolk County Court Records]. 

We have no means of determining the date of 
his death other than the deed to W. Fessenden, 
1679. and the proving of his will, 1680. The orig- 
inal is on file at the Middlesex probate office. East 
Cambridge, Mass., and the will is also on record 
there. 

Children of Edward and Violet Shepard : (1) 
John, born in Eng., 1627. (2) Elizabeth, born in 
Eng., 1629, and according to her father's will was 
living in 1674 and had children. (3) Abigal, born 
in Eng., 163 1, m. Daniel, son of Robert and Mary 
Pond, of Dedham, or in other words the son of her 
stepmother. She died July 5, 1661. (4) Deborah, 
born in Eng., 1633, m. Jonathan Fairbanks, Jr., 
son of Jonathan and Grace Fairbanks, who came 
to Dedham in 1641. (5) Sarah, born in Eng., 
1636, m., April 27. 1656, Samuel, son of Rev. Will- 
iam Tomson, Braintree, Mass. She died Jan. t^, 
1679, aged forty-three. There is no record of any 
children by second wife. Marv Pond. 

John, son of Edward. Mitchell's church record 
contains the following: "John Shepard (son of Ed- 
ward Shepard. before named) and his wife both in 
f. c. Their children, Rebecca. John, Sarah, Violet, 
all borne and baptized in this church. Elizabeth, 
baptized July 29, 1660; Edward, baptized Aug. 3, 
1662; Samuel Shepard, baptized July 3d, 1664; 
Thomas, baptized Xov. 18, '66." 

John, made freeman at Cambridge May 22, 
1^50 [Colonial Records, Vol. XI, p. 228]. We 
suppose that he removed to Hartford after the 
birth of Thomas, 1666, as this is the last birth 
recorded in Cambridge. The first mention of him 
in Hartford is found in the records of the "Par- 
ticular Court" [Vol. II, p. 48], in the will of 
Thomas Greenhill, dated July 16, 1653, in which he 
requires his executors "to take a deed of sale of 
land I have lately bought of my Brother John Shep- 
ard and Rebecah. his wife." He also mentions 
"my sister, Rebecca Shepard, and her children, 
John and Rebecca." Again in Conn. Colonial Re- 
port, Vol. I. p. 360, we find, "Receaued by me John 
Shepherd of my loving Vnkel Gregory Winterton, 
Thirty-four pounds wch he receaued of my Bro. 
Thomas Greenhill for lands I have sold him. for 
wch I made my Vnkel a letter of Attourney, T say 
receaued by me John Shepherd Angst 4. 1654." 

Thomas Greenhill was a son of Samuel and 



Rebecca Greenhill and sister of John Shepard's 
wife, Rebecca. The said Thomas Greenhill died 
the same year he made his will, 1053, without pav- 
ing in full for the lands tint lie had bought of his 
sister, Rebecca Shepard. In Private Controverseys, 
Vol. II, p. 1 (Hartford), is a power of attorney 
from John Shepard of Cambridge, cooper, anil 
Rebecca Shepard to Jeremiah Adams ( who had mar- 
ried the Widow Rebecca Greenhill, Mrs. Shepard's 
mother), to sue Mr. William Goodwin and Edward 
Stebbins, of Hartford, executors on the estate of 
Thomas Greenhill, deceased, "for debts (\uc upon 
account of ye land bought by said Greenhill." 
Dated March 25, 105;. The signatures of John and 
Rebecca Shepard are witnessed by Edward Shep- 
ard and John Blackman. 

In tin- records of the Particular Court, Vol. If, 
page 88, "A quarter Courte in Hartford " June 8, 
1656, "John Shepard and Rebecca Adams pits., 
Contra Mr. Will Goodwyn and Edw. Stebbing, de- 
fendts., in an action for moms due uppon the sale 
of land to the damage of 40 pounds." There was 
a letter presented to this court by "Jer. Addams" 
as from John Shepard, of Cambridge, with a marked 
passage for the court to read, referring to Mr. 
Goodwin, as follows: "I Ret nothing of him but 
harsh words not fit to bare as Imprisonment and 
Chaines a sore brush but a Cloude without Raine." 
Xo record of the court decision is found and the 
circumstances of the case are not sufficiently set 
forth to enable us to understand the application of 
the language quoted. Perhans these words had 
reference to the great religious controversy then 
going on, respecting the qualifications for baptism, 
church, membership, and the rights of the brother- 
hood, which arose from a difference between Rev. 
Mr. Stone and Mr. Goodwin (who was afterward 
the leader of "the Withdrawers"), and which so 
agitated so many churches that Doctor Mather said 
"From the fire of the altar there issued thunder- 
ings, and lightnings, and earthquakes through the 
colony." 

John Shepard's ninth child, Deborah, by her 
death record, was horn in 1070, and as the birth 
of his eighth child, Thomas, in 1000. is the last 
one recorded at Cambridge, it is supposed that 
Deborah, Abigal and Hannah were born in Hart- 
ford, and that the removal from Cambridge to 
Hartford was between [666and [670. En the Hart- 
ford Town Votes we find that John Shepard was 
voted an inhabitant of the town June 2. 1071. which 
is the first record we find of him as a resident 
of Hartford. 

Hinman says he was "a man of consequence 
in the colony.*' lie was known ;:- Serjeant John 
Shepard. The records of the Particular Court, 
Xov. 25. T07:;, is the firsl instance found where 
he is described as Serjeant, lie lived on what is 
now known a- Lafayette street, jusl south of the 
capitol. Two of his -on.. John and Thomas 1 and 
perhaps Samuel) lived on the same street. The 
that he and his four sons were al! COO] 



854 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



caused the street to be called "Coopers Lane," by 
which name it was known until changed to La- 
fayette street by vote of the Common Council on 
May 24, 1852. 

He was one of the jury of the Particular Court 
March 7, 1671-2, and again March 12 of the same 
year. He was the town packer or repacker in 1672- 
3-4 and 8 and again in 1679. In 1689 he was 
packer and sealer of measures, packer in 1681 and 
1682 and sealer of measures in 1706. 

In Hartford land records, Distributions, page 
577, land is recorded as belonging to nineteen dif- 
ferent persons, one of whom was John Shepard. 
Thev were probably the heirs of Samuel Green- 
hill. The entry has no date, but the next entry 
is dated 1681. On page 591, same book, seventeen 
acres of land "breth to Wethersfield bounds" arc 
laid out to John Shepherd Jan. 19, 1683, the first 
date given for any of his land in Hartford. 

In the records of the Particular Court, Vol. 
Ill, p. 134, Nov. 25, 1673, is the following: ''Mr. 
Way, plntf., Contra Sargt. John Shepherd, defnt., 
in an action of the case for making unsizeable Bar- 
rels for porck whereby the sayd mr. Way was 
much damnified with ye damage to the value of 
Twelve pounds. In this action the jury find for the 
Defnt." 

In 1675 [Particular Court Records, Vol. Ill, 
p. 148] he sues his wife's stepfather, Jenny Adams, 
for trespass in the illegal use of lands belonging 
to Samuel Greenhill's estate. The matter was re- 
ferred to another court. In Hartford Town Votes 
[printed edition, p. 207J, Jan. 14, 1683, land which 
should have been laid out to Thomas Greenhill 
(whose division is equal with Gregorv Winterton) 
was laid out to John Shephard Senr. By the rec- 
ords in "Private Controverseys" we find that about 
1679 he appealed from the decision sustaining the 
will of Thomas Greenhill, and later presented a 
certificate from England, the place of Greenhill's 
nativity showing his "non age" and consequent in- 
capacity to make a will. The record is long, full 
of details and somewhat confusing. In 1679 the 
will was disallowed and the executors both being 
dead Sergt. John Shepard was appointed admin- 
istrator, but the matter was still before the court in 
1682 and on March 4, 1696, "Sergt. Shepard with- 
draws his appeal." 

Rebecca, the first wife of Serjeant John Shep- 
ard, died Dec. 22, 1689, aged about fifty-five [Judd 
says she died Dec. 26, 1690.] They were married 
(probably at Cambridge, Mass.), Oct. 1, 1649. He 
married (second) Susannah, widow of William 
Goodwin, Sen., Hartford, with whom he made a 
marriage contract dated Aug. 3, 1691. This Will- 
iam Goodwin was son of Ozias. and not the Will- 
iam Goodwin referred to in John Shepard's letter 
in the court record before mentioned. The widow 
Susanna was a sister of Sarah Fruen, who was en- 
gaged to Thomas Greenhill at the time of his death. 
She died early in 1698, and he married (third) 
Sept. 8, 1698, Martha, widow of Arthur Henbury, 



of Symsbury and Hartford, who was buried Aug. 
1. 1697. 

The first probate record in Hartford of any 
Shepard estate is in Vol. VI, page 33, when the 
will of Susanna Shepard was proven April 13, 
1G98, having been made the 7th of March previous. 
She mentions only her own children and grand- 
children. The next Shepard estate recorded is 
found in Vol. VII, page 95, court side, July 7, 1707, 
when "John Shepard, of Hartford, Cooper, and 
Martha Shepard, of Hartford, Widdow, relict of 
Serjt. John Shepard. late of said Hartford (de- 
ceased), exhibited in this Court an inventory of the 
Estate." He died June 12, 1707. The distribution 
of the estate Nov. 28, 1710 [Distribution files], 
names Martha Shepard Relict, John Shepard, Sam- 
uel Shepard, Thomas Shepard, Elizabeth Goodwin, 

Rebechah , Sarah Ston, Deborah White, 

Abigal Butler, and Hannah Ensign. 

Children of John Shepard and his first wife. 
Rebecca Greenhill: (1) Rebecca, born 1650, mar- 
ried, 1671, Jonathan Bigelow, of Hartford. She 
died, and he married (second) Mary Olcott, dau. 

of , and (third) Mary Benton, dau. of 

Andrew Benton. After Bigelow's death his widow 
Mary married. May 8, 1712, John Shepard, brother 
of Rebecca. (2) John, born Jan. 22, 1653. (3) 
Sarah, born March 5, 1656, married Benajah Stone, 
of Guilford, Conn., and probably died heirless be- 
tween the date of the distribution of her father's 
estate, 17 10. and the distribution of her brother 
Samuel's estate, Dec. 18, 1753, in which no mention 
is made of Sarah nor her heirs. (4) Violet, born 

, married, Aug. 10, 1678, John Stedman. 

She died Aug. 4, 1682. (5) Elizabeth, born 1660. 
bapt. July 29, 1660, married, 1680, William, son 
of Susannah and William Goodwin, and conse- 
quently son of her father's second wife. (6) Ed- 
ward, born July 31, 1662, was a cooper, died Sept. 
9, 171 1 ; married, April 14, 1687, Abigal, dau. of 
John and Elizabeth Savage, she born July 10, 1666. 
He resided at Middletown, Conn., and was deputy 
to the General Court, 1710-11. He left three sons, 
John, Edward and Samuel. The latter was drowned 
in the Connecticut river, 1750, and was the richest 
Shepard whose estate is on record at Hartford. 
His inventory amounted to £12,964, 12s., 6d. 

(7) Samuel, born, 1664, bapt. July 3, 1664, was 
a cooper. Made his will Feb. 1. 1742, at which 
time he resided at West Hartford. Will proven 
April 2, 1745. He probably never married, as his 
brothers and sisters or their heirs were his only 
heirs. (8) Thomas, born Nov. 12, 1666, was a 
cooper. Made his will Feb. 2, 1742: proven March 
6, 1743: married first, Susannah Scott, Sept. 5. 
1695; married (second), Oct. 12, 1710, Jane Steb- 
bins, dau. of John and Deborah Stebbins, born at 
New London, Conn., Sept. 6, 1680, and widow of 
John North, of Avon, who died in 1709. The in- 
ventory of Jane Shepard's estate was taken April 
21, 1749. (9) Deborah, born 1670, married, Feb. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



855 



4, 1692. Jacob, son of Capt. Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
'White, of Middletown, Conn., where she died Feb. 
8, i/2i, aged fifty-one. He married (second), Dec. 
16, 1729, Rebecca Willett, widow of Thomas Ran- 
ney, and died March 29, 1738, aged seventy-three. 
( 10 ) Abigal. married, Aug. 6, 169 1 , Thomas, son of 
Jonathan Butler, of Hartford. Thomas Butler died 
Aug. 23, 1725. (11) Hannah, married, Dec. 1, 
1692, Thomas Ensign, of Hartford. 

Sergt. John Shepard's daughter Rebecca had 
six children ; son John had seven ; daughter Sarah 
had none; daughter Violet had two; daughter Eliz- 
abeth had ten : son Edward had three ; son Samuel 
bad none: son Thomas had twelve; daughter De- 
borah, had ten; daughter Abigal had twelve; daugh 
ter Hannah had six; making a total of sixty-eight 
grandchildren. 

Deacon John Shepard, son of Sergt. John, of 
Edward, born Jan. 22, 1653, married (first). May 
12, 1680, Hannah, daughter of Dea. Paul Peck, 
born 1656; married (second). May 18, 171 2, Mary 
Bigelow, the third wife and widow of Jonathan 
Bigelow, who first married John Shepard's sister, 
Rebecca. In Hartford Land Records [Vol. YITI, 
p. 387], Alary Shepard, formerly Mary Benton, 
daughter of Andrew Benton, of Hartford, quit 
claims all right in estate of Andrew Benton to her 
brother, Moses Benton. She was born April 14, 
1655. Administration of the estate of Mary Shep- 
ard, widow and relict of Deacon John Shepard, 
deceased, was granted unto Moses Benton, of Hart- 
ford. Jan. 3, 1753 [Vol., XVI, p. 82]. The first 
church catalogue says 'A\'idow Mary Shepard died 
Dec. 23, 1752, aged ninety and upwards." She 
was ninety-six years, seven months and twenty-eight 
days old on the said Dec. 23. 

John Shepard was a cooper by trade. He was 
packer and sealer of measures in 1684 and again in 
1705. He was one of the jurymen in the County 
Court in March, 1708-9, 1709-10, 1710-11, and in 
April, 1715. Grandjuryman in 1709, 1710. 1714 
and 1715. In 1710 he was one of the selectmen, 
sealer of measures in 1712 and 1713. He and his 
first wife, Hannah Peck, joined the first church at 
Hartford on May 2, 1686, and in 171 2 he was 
chosen one of the deacons, which office lie held until 
his death in 1736. His will, dated Aug. I.-I728, 
was proven April 6, 1736, and is recorded in Hart- 
ford Probate Records [Vol. XII, p. 359 to 361]. 
The inventory of his estate is dated April 7, 1736, 
and is recorded in Vol. XII, p. 369. The amount 
is £557. os., 7d. 

Children of John and Hannah: ( 1) John, born 
Nov., 1681, married, Oct. 9. 1707, Abigal, dan. of 
Gideon and Sarah Allen. They removed to Mil- 
ford, where both were admitted to the church July 
8, 171 1. He died about 1710, and she married 
(second), Sept. 8, 1723, Daniel Foote, of Strat- 
ford and Newtown. She died Dee. i<). 1755- aged 
over seventy. (2) Samuel, born Feb. 2, [684. 
(3) Anna, bapt. Jan. 30, 1686-7. (4) Hannah. 



horn Jan. 29, i6£8, married, May 22, 1712, Charles 
Buckland. 1 5 > Joseph, born April 29, 1689, mar- 
ried, Jan. 19, 1711, Elizabeth Flowers. Eiis wife 
was buried March 24, 1750. His will, dated Dec. 
17, 1761, was probated April 5, 17''-'. (6) Re- 
becca, born May 20, bapt. May 24, [696, died young. 
(7) Timothy, horn June 7, [697, died April 21, 
1716. (8) Rebecca, born May 20, 1698, died * >ct. 

29, 1706. 

Samuel Shepard, son of Dea. John, of Sergt. 
John, of Edward, horn Feb. 2, [684, died June 5, 
1750. He married (first) May 17, [709, Bethiah, 
daughter of John and Meletiah I Bradford) Steele. 
a descendant of George Steele from the Comity of 
Essex, England, 1032, granddaughter of Major 
William Bradford and great-granddaughter of 
Gov. William Bradford, of Plymouth, Mass., who 
came over in the "Mayflower" in [620. She died, 
1746, and he married (second) Eunice (daughter 
of John Butler), who probably died in West Mart- 
ford Oct. 29, 1772. He convenanted his son, John, 
for baptism at the South Church, Hartford. April 

30, 1710. but he and his wife, Bethiah, both joined 
the first church July 22. 1712. and the rest of his 
children were baptized there. 

Samuel Shepard and Bethiah, his wife, quit claim 
unto Ebenezer Steel "land which sometime did 
belong to Mr. James Steel, late of Hartford, de- 
ceased, grandfather to the said Ebenezer Steel and 
the said Bethiah Shepard" March I, 17 if. -17 
[Hartford Land Records. Vol. Ill, p. i.ul- A 
like deed is recorded on page 156 from Ebenezer 
Steel to Samuel Shepard. 

Administration was granted on the estate oi 
Samuel Shepard, late of Hartford, deceased, July 
30, 1750, to John Shepard and James Shepard. The 
inventory of the estate was filed Dee. 13. 1750. and 
in all amounted to £1,795, 6s., md. The estate was 
distributed to John Shepard, eldesl son, a double 
share, and a single share each to lame-. William, 
Amos, Stephen, Hannah and Sarah Shepard, chil- 
dren of the said deceased. Samuel Shepard, 
of the deceased, was appointed guardian I his 
minor brothers. William and Amos. 

Children of Samuel and Bethiah: 1 1 1 John, 
born April 28, [710, bapt. April 30, same year, mar- 
ried Rebecca. Made will June 7. [785; probated 
fune 23, [789. (21 James, bapt. May 2, 171;. 
married' 1 tirst 1, Nov. 22. [739, Sarah Hopkins. 
She died Ian [3, 17''-'. and he married rid), 

Feb. 9, [764, < Ibedience Trumbull, of Suffield, who 
survived him. Administration of his estate was 
-ranted to his sou, Levi Shepard, of Northampton, 
Mass., March 3. 1791. ObedHence Shepard. of 
Hartford, widow, relicl of James Shepard, late of 
Hartford, deceased, deeds land to her son. Levi, oi 
Northampton, Ma\ to, 1701 [Hartford Hand Rec- 
ords, Vol. KVIII, p. 494]. Her so,,. James, also 
lived at "Northampton, but it is not probable thai 
James, tin- son of Samuel.ever lived at Northampton. 
(3) Bethiah, bapt. Oct. 23, 1720. not mentioned in 



858 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



tion of being what the public calls a "self-made 
man," and an analyzation of his character reveals 
the fact that enterprise, well-directed effort and 
honorable dealing were the essential features in his 
prosperity. 

Mr. Plumb was born in Wolcott, Conn., Jan. 
23, 1829, and on the paternal side traced his an- 
cestry back to John and Elizabeth Plumb, of Top- 
pesfield, County of Essex, England. The next in 
direct descent were Robert and Elizabeth (Purcas) 
Plumb, and Robert and Grace (Crackbone) Plumb. 
John Plumb, a son of the latter couple, was born 
in the County of Essex, England, July 28, 1594, 
and in 1634 was seated in Ridgewell Hall. His 
name appears on the Colonial records of Wethers- 
field, Conn., in 1636, and he was a member of the 
General Court in 1637, and filled various other offices. 
In 1644 he removed to Branford, Conn., where he 
died four years later. Among the children born 
to him and his wife Dorothy was Robert Plumb, 
who was born in Ridgewell, England, Dec. 30, 1617, 
and came with the family to Weathersfield, Conn. 
He was one of the first settlers of Milford, locating 
there in 1639, five years before his father left 
Weathersfield for Branford. In Milford he wed- 
ded Mary Baldwin, and there his death occurred. 
Their son, John Plumb, was born Aug. 12, 1646, 
and died in March, 1728. He married Elizabeth 
Norton, and in their family was Joseph Plumb, of 
Milford and Farmington, Conn., who was born in 
the former place in 1683, and died May 27, 1742. 
His wife was Thankful Gaylord. Their son, Sim- 
eon Plumb, born Oct. 10, 1738, wedded Mary At- 
kins, and died in 18 13. The next in direct descent 
was Solomon Plumb, the grandfather of our sub- 
ject. He was born in 1769, and became a farmer of 
Wolcott. On Jan. 28, 1790, he married Lucretia 
Scarritt. Their son, Willard Plumb, the father of 
our subject, was born July 29, 1796, in Wolcott, 
where he was reared to manhood and later followed 
farming. He was married, Jan. 1, 1822, to Polly 
Hall, a daughter of Heman and Lydia (Hitch- 
cock) Hall, also farming people of Wolcott. 

The boyhood and youth of our subject were 
passed in his native town, and he received a limited 
education in its common schools. When quite 
young he went to Waterville, where he learned the 
machinist's trade with the original knife-makers 
of that place, the Waterville Knife Co., and later 
learned clockmaking with Seth Thomas, at Thomas- 
ton. By this time he was twenty }ears of age, and 
had saved $7,000, but going into the cutlery busi- 
ness at Wallingford, with the Co-operative Knife 
Co., he lost it all. Nothing daunted, he soon found 
employment with a cutlery concern in Meriden, 
where he remained five years. During the Civil 
war he was employed as a machinist in the Spring- 
field Armory, and later in the Meriden Tool Co.'s 
shop, where he worked for Mr. Beach, the patentee 
of the now famous Beach chuck. When that gen- 
tleman sold out to the Morse Twist Drill & Ma- 



chine Co., of New Bedford, Mr. Plumb went to 
that city and started the business for them. In 
April, 1868, he came to Southingcon, as superintend- 
ent of the Southington Cutlery Co.'s knife depart- 
ment, remaining with them until the big strike in 
1887, when the plant closed down, two years later, 
after the company resumed business, he returned 
to them, and remained in their employ until 1894. 

On Oct. 10, 1853, Mr. Plumb was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Maria A. Douglass, a native of 
Warren, R. I., and a daughter of Nicholas G. and 
Elizabeth (Cowing) Douglass, and dv this union 
two children, were born : Eva M., wife of Homer 
W. Terry; and Willard W. 

In religious belief Mr. Plumb inclined toward 
the Universalist faith, but was not a member of any 
church or secret cociety. His political support was 
given to the Republican party, and he held the office 
of assessor, and for ten years prior to his death 
was also first selectman of his town. He was a 
shrewd financier, in public affairs as well as in 
personal matters, and labored untiringly for the 
good of his community. He was often called upon 
to act as administrator for important estates which 
were settled in the probate court, and his fellow 
citizens had the utmost confidence in his reliability 
and uprightness. Although he met with reverses 
in life, he steadily prospered, and became a stock- 
holder in the Southington Cutlery Co., the Atwater 
Manufacturing Co., the Blakeslee Forging Co., and 
the Southington Water Co., and was also president 
of the Southington Savings Bank from 1884 until 
his death, and of the Southington Lumber & Feed 
Co., from its formation in 1870. 

DAVID BRAINARD, one of Enfield's leading 
citizens, and a prominent insurance agent, was born 
in that town Oct. 31, 1823, and is a worthy repre- 
sentative of an honored and distinguished family 
of this State. 

Mr. Brainard is a descendant in the seventh gen- 
eration of Daniel Brainard, a pioneer of Haddam, 
Conn., and in each generation in a direct line to our 
subject have been representatives in the Connecticut 
Legislature. He traces his ancestry back through 
the following to the progenitor of the family in 
this State: Jared and Mary (Pierce) Brainard; 
Frederick and Anna (Brainard) Brainard; Ezra 
and Jerusha (Snow) Brainard; Josiah and Hannah 
(Spencer) Brainard; William and Sarah (Bidwell) 
Brainard ; and Daniel and Hannah ( Spencer) Brai- 
nard. Our subject's great-grandfather, Ezra Brai- 
nard, died at the advanced age of ninety-three years, 
in the house at Haddam Neck, Conn., where he was 
born and spent his entire life. As justice of the 
peace he was noted for the many marriage ceremo- 
nies he performed, and for the fact that he usuallv 
gave the fees taken from the bridegroom to the 
bride. He was one of the most prominent and in- 
fluential citizens of his community and served 
thirty-eient terms in the State Legislature. His 







( JJeisV^csi 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



-:,•> 



son Frederick, the grandfather of our subject, was 
born in Haddam, and was the originator of the stone 
quarry business of that town. 

Jared Brainard, father of David Brainard, was 
also a native of Haddam, and in 1811 became a 
resident of Enfield, Hartford county, where he fol- 
lowed farming until called from this life, at the ripe 
age of eighty- four years. He was known as Deao m 
Brainard, having served many years as deacon in the 
Congregational Church and in the Presbyterian 
Church of Thompsonville, with which he united 
later. Jared Brainard married Miss Mary Pierce, 
who was a daughter of John and Lucy (Snow) 
Pierce, granddaughter of Ebenezer and Alary 
(Stowe) Pierce, great-granddaughter of Ebenezer 
and Man- Pierce, and great-great-granddaughter of 
John and Deborah (Converse) Pierce, of Woburn, 
Mass. The will of John Pierce was dated April 26, 
17 1 6. John Pierce, maternal grandfather of our 
subject, was for man}' years a deacon in the (. on- 
gregational Church at Millbury, Mass. Of the 
children born to Jared and Mary ( Pierce) Brainard 
four reached years of maturity: Alvira W. (wife of 
Jeremiah X. Parsons), Jared F., Harvey P. and David. 

David Brainard was reared on the homestead in 
Enfield town, and received a good common-school 
and academic education. On attaining his majority 
he turned his attention to farming and lumbering in 
Brainardville, and continued to follow those occu- 
pations until 1858. For almost half a century he 
resided near the old homestead where his early life 
was passed, in 1870 removing to Thompsonville, 
where he still resides. Since 1855 he has done a 
general insurance business, and is today the most 
popular and successful agent in that line in his 
locality. 

Mr. Brainard has been twice married, his first 
wife being Miss Caroline, daughter of Col. Jabez 
and Rebecca ( Terry) King, of Enfield, by whom 
he had three children, namely: David, Horace K. 
and Charles. After her death he married her sis- 
ter, Miss Henrietta King. 

Politically Mr. Brainard is a stanch Republican, 
and he has been honored with a number of official 
positions of trust and responsibility. In [86 1 he 
was a member of the Legislature, and the following 
year was appointed United States assessor, in which 
capacity he served for nine years. He was assessor 
of Enfield town in 180,8, and has held that office 
longer than any other man ; during the Civil war 
was chairman of the town committee of volunteers 
to fill the quota for Enfield; and was chairman of 
the committee that built the Enfield high school in 
1871, having, practically, the entire charge of the 
same. He is an active and prominent member (>i 
the Presbyterian Church, in which he is now serv- 
ing as elder, and his public and private life are alike 
above reproach. As a citizen he is ever ready to 
discharge every duty devolving upon him, and 
wherever known is honored for his sterling worth 
and exalted character. 



IK »N. JAMES FRANKLIN PRATT is one of 
the public-spirited citizens of Southington, to whose 
energy and foresight that locality is indebted for 
many improvements. While Mr. Pratt, as a pros- 
perous business man, has given close attention to his 
private affairs, he has never forgotten or ignored that 
bond of common interest which should unite the 
pie of even community, and In- has always been 
ready to promote progress in every line. 

Mr. I 'rati was horn in Southington, May 14, 
1840, a son of David and Maria 1 Dickerman) Pratt, 
in whose family were two children, the younger be- 
ing Julia J., wife of John William Gridley. The 
father was born Sept. 28, 1814, in Southington, 

I was married, Dec. 10, 1838, to Maria, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Dickerman, of Hamden, New Haven 
Co., Conn. For his second wife he married Frances 
Eliza Morton, a native of Hartford county. 

Eli Pratt, the paternal grandfather of our sub- 
ject, was born Nov. 3, 1781, and was married March 
28, 1803, to Abigail Hitchcock, by whom he bad nine 
children. He was a farmer of Southington. a man 
of great piety, and was well thought of in the com- 
munity where he dwelt. He was appointed deacon 
of the Congregational Church of Southington in 
18 14, and served in that capacity for over forty 
years. 

Stephen Pratt, the father of Eli, was born in 
Saybrook, Conn., June 30, 1740, and was thrice mar- 
ried, his first wife being Phebe Atkins, the seo 
Hannah Davidson, and the third Phebe Andrews. 
He had nine children. For several years he served 
as a soldier in the French and Indian war. before 
moving to Southington, where he died in 1823. 

Christopher Pratt, the father of Stephen, was 
born Nov. 4, 1712, and was married June 14, [739, 
to Sarah Pratt, daughter of Damrl Pratt They 
had seven children. His death occurred in Wal- 
lingford. 

' Ensign William Pratt, father of Christopher, was 

II about 1074, and was married Oct. 8, [700, to 
Hannah Hough. He lived at Pautapaug, and was 
prominent in civil and military affairs. 

Joseph Pratt, father 1 f Ensign Pratt, was a large 
land holder in the Pautapaug Quarter, and also in the 
town of Hebron. He died Aug. 12, [703, al the age 
of fifty-five years. 

Lieut. William Pratt, the father of Joseph, was 
the progenitor of the family in this countv. H 
supposed to have gone w ith Rev. Thomas I looker to 
Newtown (now Cambridge), Mass., in [633, and 
thence to i tartford, Conn. In June. [636, he mar- 
ried Elizabeth (lark, daughter of John Clark, of 
Saybrook, and afterward of Milford, and formi 
of Greal Mundon, Hertfordshire, England. Lieut. 
Pratl attended the General Court as a deputy to the 
twenty-third session, which convened in Hartford, 
May 9, [678, and died the same year. 

,t. Pratl was a son of Rev. William and 
Elizabeth Pratt, of Hertfordshire, England, the 
formerof whom was baptized at Baldock,in < October, 



^ 






860 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1562, was inducted rector of the parish of Stevenage, 
in Hertfordshire, Dec. 6, 1598, and died in 1629, 
aged sixty-seven years. Rev. William Pratt was a 
son of Andrew Pratt, who was born at Baldock, a 
son of Thomas and Joan Pratt, of that place. An- 
drew was born in February, 1539, just one hun- 
dred years previous to the date when the settlers 
of Hartford drew their home lots. 

The subject of this sketch was reared in South- 
ington and educated in the public schools and Lewis 
Academy, graduating from the latter institution in 
1857. He began his business career as clerk in the 
general store of his uncle, Samuel Pratt, in South- 
ington, and occupied that position for nearly two 
years. As his health became impaired he went 
West, and while there taught school in Minnesota, 
and spent some time on a larm in Illinois. Early in 
the fall of 1862 he returned home, and for a time 
was with his father on the farm. Later he went 
to Alenden. Conn., and was employed in the in- 
spector's department of the Snow Brooks gun shop, 
now belonging to the Parker Gun Co. Subsequently 
he was bookkeeper in a grocery store in Aleriden, but 
in July, i866,ne returned to Southington,and in com- 
pany with his cousin, Ceorge A. Pratt, purchased 
the store of his uncle, where he had formerly clerked. 
Shortly afterward he bought his partner's interest, 
and alone, or in partnership with others, conducted 
the store for twenty years, or until 1886. When he 
opened his store there that part of Southington was 
not in a very flourishing condition, and it was largely 
through the enterprise and perseverance of Air. Pratt 
that it assumed its present attractive appearance. 
Always looking to the better interests of the town, 
he was instrumental in having new sidewalks laid. 
In 1880 the Milage Improvement Society was or- 
ganized, and he was made president of the same. 
He was also elected president of the Board of Trade 
at its inception ; was one of the organizers of the 
Southington National Bank, of which he is still a di- 
rector, and was for several years its vice-president; 
was also a director of the Pultz-Walkley Co., paper- 
bag manufacturers, recently absorbed by the Union 
Bag & Paper Co., and in 1895 lie was appointed su- 
perintendent, holding that position until July 1, 
1899, when he resigned. For some time he was also 
a director of and stockholder in the Southington 
Cutlery Co., but resigned in 1897. It will thus be 
seen that he has been identified with most of the im- 
portant business enterprises of the town, and in this 
way has materially advanced its interests. 

Air. Pratt has been twice married, his first wife 
being Miss Mary Lee, of Berlin, Conn., a descend- 
ant of John Lee, of Farmington, and for his second 
wife he married Miss M. Dell Clark, daughter of 
Daniel and Mary (Cafferty) Clark, of Union, X. Y. 
By the second union there are two children: Julia 
Agnes and Annie Lila. 

Air. Pratt is an active and prominent member of 
the Congregational Church, of which he has been 
treasurer since 1867 and a deacon for many years. 



Politically he is an ardent Republican, and represent- 
ed Southington in the Legislature in 1883 and 1884. 
He is now a member of the board of regents of the 
Lewis high school. Fraternally he belongs to 
Friendship Lodge, Xo. 33, F. & A. M., of South- 
ington, of which he has been treasurer since 
1874; Triune Chapter, Xo. 9, R. A. M., of South- 
ington; and St. Elmo Commandery, K. T., of Ale- 
riden. 

EZRA C. AVER, a leading and prominent ag- 
riculturist of Farmington, belongs to an old Xew 
England family which tradition says is of Scottish 
origin. 

(I) John Aver, the first to come to America, 
crossed the Atlantic, in 1637, on the ship '"Alary 
Ann," commanded by Capt. Goos, and he was de- 
scribed on the shioping list as John Eyre, grocer, 
of Norwich. At the time he was forty-five years of 
age. He was soon joined by his family of eight 
children, and after living in Xewbury for a time 
removed to Haverhill, Aiass., Alarch 5, 1645. He 
died there in 1657, aged sixty-five years ; his wife, 
Hannah, passed away in 1675. Their children 
were : John, who married Sarah Williams ; Xa- 
thaniel ; Rebecca ; Alary ; Obediah, -who married 
Hannah Pike; Robert, who married Elizabeth Pal- 
mer ; Thomas ; Peter, who married Hannah Allen ; 
and Hannah. 

(II) Thomas Aver died at Haverhill, Aiass., 
Nov. 9, 1686. He married Elizabeth Hutchins, 
and had eight children : John ; Elizabeth ; Alan- 
Love, wife of Joseph Kingsbury ; Thomas, Samuel ; 
and two sons who died in infancy. 

(III) John Aver was born Alay 14, 1657, and 
it is supposed that he came from Stonington to Say- 
brook, Conn., where he took up land. He and his 
eldest son, John, built a. house at Ayer's Point in 
1 7 10, and being a maltster by trade, he erected a malt 
house a little south of the present residence of 
William A'. Aver, a cousin of our subject; some of 
its foundation still remains. He carried on quite 
an extensive business. He is said to have been 
a man of medium size, with only one arm, and was 
very active and energetic. He died in 1743. His 
home was torn down, in 1740, and another erected, 
on the same site. The present residence standing 
there was built in 1828, by Thomas Youngs Ayer. 
In 1684 John Ayer married Hannah Travis, a 
d&ughter of William Travis, of Haverhill, Aiass., 
and they had eight children: Hannah, wife of 
Sylvanus Harrington ; John, who is mentioned be- 
low ; Sarah, wife of a Air. Packer ; David, .who 
married Jerusha Williams ; Ruth, who died at the 
age of four years; Esther, wife of John Phillips; 
Joshua, who married a Aliss Parrish ; and Daniel, 
who died Sept. 23, 1714. 

(IV) John Ayer was born in 1688. and mar- 
ried Sarah Colt, of Lyme, Conn., a daughter of 
John Colt. He died Feb. 21, 1760. and she pass 
away Dec. 5, same year. In their family were 




CO^x^- ?6 t 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



861 



ten children, namely: Daniel, born July 23, 1716, 
married Esther Chapin; John, born Nov. I, 1718, 
married Abigail Cook; Joseph, born March 23, 
1 72 1, married Thankful Drake; Travis, born March 
16, 1723, married Rhuhannah Matson; Elisha, born 
Sept. 29, 1725, died Dec. 6, 1751 ; Sarah, born Feb. 

20, 1728, married Silas Peck; Ziparah, born Sept. 

21, 1730, married Richard Sill; Alary, born Nov. 
29, 1732, died July 20, 1739; Elizabeth, born March 
25, 1735, married Samuel Phillips; and Hannah, 
born Feb. 25, 1740, married Gibbon Jewitt. 

(V) Travis Aver was the great-grandfather 
of our subject. It is said that he attended school 
onlv one-half day, but his books and papers indi- 
cate fair scholarship. At the age of twenty-two 
years he was one of the 516 Connecticut men who 
went to Nova Scotia with Sir William Pepperell's 
expedition and captured Fort Louisburg from the 
French. Pie was discharged at Boston, and started 
for home on foot, but was taken ill with fever on 
the way, and could proceed no farther than the 
home of Mr. Matson, of Lyme, his future father- 
in-law. He was dignified and genteel, and was 
deacon of the Church for many years. He built the 
house in Saybrook where William Stebbins now re- 
sides. His will bears date Feb. 23, 1793. In 1748 
he married Miss Rhuhannah Matson, of Lyme, 
who died in 1820, aged ninety-two years, and he 
departed this life April 7, 18 12, at the age of 
eighty-nine, the remains of both being interred in 
the upper cemetery, Saybrook, Conn. They had 
only two children : Rhuhannah, who was born Dec. 

8, 1757, and died Oct. 25, 1820; and John, the 
grandfather of our subject. 

(VI) John Ayer was born Sept. 24, 1763, and 
was a man of medium height, rather heavy in 
weight, of even temper, keen wit, sound judgment, 
and prominent in public affairs. He followed farm- 
ing, and also engaged in shad fishing, and in 1810 
built the house now occupied by Edwin Ayer, at 
Ayer's Point. He represented Saybrook in the 
State Legislature. On April 5, 1786, he married 
Miss Jemima Youngs, a daughter of Judge Thomas 
and Rhoda (Budd) Youngs, of Southhold, L. [. 
He died May 28, 1840, his wife on Aug. 9, 1843, 
and both were laid to rest in the Upper cemetery. 
In their family were eight children : Hannah, born 
July 16, 1787, married Ezra L'Homadieu, and 
died Dec. 29, 1827; Laura, born Sept. 28, 1789, 
married William Willard, and died Aug. 21, 1882; 
William Travis, the next of the family, was the 
father of our subject; Thomas Y., born March 25, 
1795, married (first) Abby Whittlesey and (sec- 
ond) Sarah Covert; John, born Sept. 9, 1797, died 
Sept. 29, 1797; Deborah Matson, born Sept. 25, 

1, died Aug. 2, 1878; Mary Ann, born July 10, 
1801, died Dec. 11, 1840: and Amelia, born Aug. 

9. 1807, married Samuel Griswold, and died May 4, 

1853- 

( \ II ) \\ illiam Travis Ayer was born Dec. II, 
1791, and engaged in farming and fishing through- 
out his active business life, following the latter 
occupation for forty-two consecutive springs. In 



1824 he erected for himself a residence at Say- 
brook, where our subject was born. He was a 
soldier of the war of 1812, and was well known 
and highly respected. On Dec. 25, 1823, he mar- 
ried Miss Louisa Clark, who was born April 26, 
1796, a daughter of Ezra and Elizabeth (Whittle- 
sey) Clark, residents of Saybrook. Her father 
was born June 6, 1762, and died Jan. 6, 1858, while 
her mother was born Sept. 17, 1763, and died March 
6, 1842. William T. Ayer died Auq\ 28, 1878; and 
his wife passed away Dec. 23, 1872. They had 
eleven children: Edwin, born Oct. 15, 1824, is 
mentioned below; Maria Louise, born March 18, 
1826, is a resident of West Newton, Mass. ; Will- 
iam Travis, born July 5. 1827, died Aug. 16, 1835 ; 
Ezra Clark, born Feb. 9, 1829, is also mentioned 
below ; Mary Jane, born June 24, 1830, married 
John F. Bushnell, and died Sept. 13, 1853 ; Charles, 
born Jan. 8, 1832, died May 7. 1858; Ly.dia, born 
Oct. 18, 1833, married Samuel Ingham, of Say- 
brook, Conn.; Amelia Ann, born March 15, 1835, 
married (first) Frank Harvey and (second) 
Charles Kelsey; Isabel, born June 9, 1836, died 
Feb. 18, 1854; Andrew, born Nov. 5, 1837, is in 
the Soldiers' Home at Hampton Roads; and Plar- 
riet A., born April 20, 1841, died June 13, 1862. 
Edwin Ayer, a brother of our subject, residing at 
Ayer's Point, Saybrook, was married, Oct. 20, 
1852, to Abbie Miller Youngs, who died Aug. 28, 
1882. Her parents were Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Miller) Youngs, and her paternal grandfather 
was Capt. Joshua Youngs, a son of Judge Thomas 
Youngs, of Southold, L. I. Her maternal grand- 
parents were Rev. John and Elizabeth (Gaylord) 
Miller. Her father was born Oct. '25, 1787, and 
died Dec. 23, 1865: her mother was born Feb. 16, 
1796, and died April 23, 1855. 

(VIII) Ezra Clark Ayer, whose name intro- 
duces this sketch, spent his school days in Sax- 
brook. He learned the mason's trade at Deep 
River, Conn., after which he worked as a builder 
in Boston, Mass., for some time. In 180T he came 
to Farmington, Hartford county, Conn., where he 
remained for about a year, and on Sept. 8, 1862, 
he enlisted in Company K, 25th Conn. V. [.., for 
I service in the Civil war. At the siege of Port Hud- 
son he was so injured as to be quite deaf ever since. 
He was mustered out Aug. 28, 1863, and returned 
to Boston, where he followed the mason's trade 
until 187 r, during which year he again came to 
Farmington, and purchased a farm of the Youngs 
heirs, lie now owns and operates a valuable tract 
of 250 acres of land in Farmington, and also has a 
farm in the town of Union, Tolland Co., Connec- 
ticut. 

Mr. Ayer first married Miss Martha Lydia 
Youngs, a daughter of Thomas Youngs, and to 
them were bom two children: Elizabeth Maria, de- 
ceased; and Martha tsabel, who is a teacher in 
Unionville. For his second wife he married Miss 
Eugenia Barnes Crampton, of Fiirmington, a 
daughter of Richard and Sarah (Barnes) Cramp- 
ton, a granddaughter of Adna Crampton, and a 



862 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



great-granddaughter of Miles Crampton. By this 
union four children were horn, namely: Richard 
Crampton, who died at the age of three years ; and 
Robert Ezra, Olive Eugenia and Sarah Crampton, 
all residents of Unionville. 

Mr. Aver has been honored with several local 
offices, which he has most creditably filled, having 
served as selectman, assessor and justice of the 
peace. Socially he belongs to the Grange, Evening 
Star Lodge, No. 101, F. & A. M., and A. E. Burn- 
side Post, Xo. 62, G. A. R., of which he is past 
commander. He and his wife hold membership in 
the Congregational Church of Unionville, and are 
highly respected and esteemed by a large circle of 
friends and acquaintances. 

HOX. SAMUEL GOULD BRADLEY is one 
of the representative citizens and prominent farm- 
ers of the town of Burlington. Throughout his 
career of continued and far-reaching usefulness his 
duties have been performed with the greatest care, 
and his business interests have been so managed as 
to win the confidence of the public and the pros- 
perity which should always attend honorable effort. 

Mr. Bradley was born in Burlington, July 18, 
1835, and is a son of Selah and Susan (Durand) 
Bradley, both natives of New Haven county, Conn. 
There the father grew to manhood and learned 
the trade of shoemaker, which he later followed in 
Bristol when a young man. He next came to Bur- 
lington, where he opened a shop and worked at his 
trade for many years, at the same time owning and 
operating a small farm. Later he lived with our 
subject, who cared for him in his declining years, 
and there he died Nov. 14, 1862. He was liberal in 
his religious views, and a Whig in politics, but never 
sought or desired political honors. He was an in- 
dustrious and honest man, temperate in his habits, 
and domestic in his tastes. His wife, who was a 
woman of strong convictions, an earnest Christian 
and a good wife and mother, also died at the home 
of our "subject in Burlington, in 1873, and both were 
laid to rest in Burlington Centre cemetery. In their 
family were the following children : Maria, born Feb. 
19, 1 8 1 1 , married Jason Boardman. and died in 
Rockv Hill, Conn. ; Abigail, born Dec. 24, 1812, died 
Jan. 29, 1827; Oliver C, born Feb. 17. 181 5, died 
July 30, 1 82 1 ; Susanna, born Jan. 20, 18 17, died un- 
married ; Rosana, born Feb. 20, 1821, married Syl- 
vester Pond; Betsey, born Jan. 27, 1823, married 
Henry Judd, of Northfield ; Orilla, born April 11, 
1825, married George Holbrook, of Oxford, and died 
June 19, i860; John, born Aug. 21, 1827, died 
April 30, 1845 ; Abigail, born Jan. 16, 1830, mar- 
ried (first) Thomas Lampson and (second) Charles 
F. Olney, a resident of Cleveland, Ohio; Oliver C, 
born Dec. 9, 1832, died May 19, 1864; Samuel G., 
subject of this sketch, is the voungest of the fam- 

Our subject was reared on his father's farm in 
Burlington, and received only a district school educa- 



tion. When a young man he worked at the paint- 
er's trade for a short time, and then turned his at- 
tention to farming upon the place where he still 
resides. Here he owns eighty-hve acres of well-im- 
proved and valuable land, and also has a tract of six- 
ty-five acres elsewhere in the town. He has erected 
a fine residence, good barns and other outbuildings 
upon his place, and, in connection with general 
farming, stock raising and dairying, he is engaged 
in the lumber and charcoal business. 

On Nov. 8, 1863, Mr. Bradley married Miss 
Malissa Belden, a native of New Boston, Mass., 
and a daughter of George and Sophia (Bailey) 
Belden. During the Civil war Mr. Bradley offered 
his services to the government, enlisting at Hart- 
ford Sept. 8, 1862, in Company I, 25th Conn. Y. I., 
under Col. George P. Bissell and Capt. Hiram 
Harkness. Although he enlisted for only nine 
months, he was in the service almost a year, being 
stationed most of the time at New Orleans as a 
nurse in the hospital. He was honorably discharged 
at Hartford, in August, 1863. At one time he 
served as second lieutenant in the State militia. 

Fraternally Mr. Bradley is an honored member 
of Burnside Post, No. 62, G. A. R., in which he 
has served as adjutant ; Milage Lodge, No. 29, 
F. & A. M.. of Collinsville : and Wigwam Mascopa, 
I. O. R. M., of Unionville. Politically he is a 
stanch Republican, and he has been honored with a 
number of important official positions, having filled 
the offices of tax collector, assessor and constable ; 
was elected justice of the peace, but refused to 
qualify ; served as town clerk for a number of 
years; was probate judge six years; and in 1880 
represented the town of Burlington in the State 
Legislature, where he served on some important 
committees. He has ever proved a most capable 
trustworthy and popular official, and his public and 
private life are alike above reproach. Mrs. Brad- 
ley is a lady of culture and refinement, and they have 
a large circle of friends and acquaintances in Bur- 
lington. 

THOMAS ROACH CASE (deceased). The 
farm, with rare exceptions, produces the men who 
rise to prominence in professional and business life. 
The subject of this sketch was a member of one of 
the oldest and best known families of Hartford 
countv, which furnished many instances of patriotic 
devotion to country, and of marked success in va- 
rious vocations. Mr. Case was raised on a farm but, 
possessing in his youth a taste for mercantile pur- 
suits, he became a successful business man, continu- 
ing until his health gave w r arning to retire to the 
less exacting duties of country life. He honored the 
town of Simsbury, in which he lived for many years, 
with sage advice, and with the endeavor and upright 
life of an earnest soul. He was one of its most prom- 
inent and highly esteemed citizens, and his death 
by accident, in 1884, cast profound gloom through- 
out the community. 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



863 



Mr. Case was born in West Simsbury, on what 
is known as the Case farm, Dec. 28, 1808. The fam- 
ily traces its ancestry to John Case, who settled in 
New England more than two and one-half centur- 

igo, and a sketch of whom will be found else- 
where. William Case, son of John (1), married 
Elizabeth Holcomb. Their son James married Eliza- 
beth Fithen, of Simsbury, and to them five children 
were born, the second of whom, Josiah, was born 
April 1, 17 18, in Simsbury. In 1743 he moved to 
what was then known as West Simsbury, now Can- 
ton, where lie engaged in farming on the place known 
as Chestnut Hill. He held the commission of captain 
of local militia, and was quite active during the 
Revolution. He died on his farm in 1789, and was 
buried in Canton. He married Hester Higley, born 
in 1 719, died in 1808, and their children were as 
follows: Lois, born in 1741, died in 1759; James, 
born in 1745. died in 1790, married Phebe Tuller, 
and for his second wife Lydia Case; Hester, born 
in 1747, married (first) Thomas Case, (second) C. 
Higley, and (for her third husband) Abraham 
Penny; Hannah, born in 1750, died in 1833 (she 
married Amos Wilcox) ; Betty, born in 1752, died 
in 181 1 (she married Joshua Barber) ; Fithen, born 
in 1758, died in 1829. The family were all members 
of the Congregational Church. 

Fithen Case, born in West Simsbury in 1758, en- 
gaged in farming and spent his entire life in West 
Simsbury, now known as Chestnut Hill, Canton, 
where he was a landowner. He was known as Capt. 
Fithen, and participated in the Revolutionary war. 
He died in 1829, and was buried in Canton ceme- 
tey. He was highly respected, and was one of Can- 
ton's best known citizens. Capt. Case married Ara- 
arilla Humphrey, of Simsbury, and to this union 
the following children were born : Maria, born 
in 1 78 1, died in 1856, married Moses Case, who died 
in 1850, and who was a son of Lieut. Moses Case; 
Fithen, born in 1784, died in 1853, married Statira 
Phelps; Mamre, born March 23, 1786: Amarilla, 
bom in 1788, married Chancey Eno, of Simsbury; 
Josiah W., born in 1790, died in 1830 — married Ag- 
nes Case ; Salma, born in 1792, died in 1794 ; Lavinh 
Charity, born in 1794, married Col. Salmon Mer- 
rill : Jasper, born in 1796, married Flora Humphrey ; 
Melissa, born in 1799, died in 1874 — married Ithnel 

iley, being his second wife; Jarvis, known as 
Gen. Jarvis, born in 1801, died in 1865 — married 
Lucia Adams : Julia, born in 1805. married Ithnel 
ridley. 

Mamre Case, son of Fithen, was the father of 
Thomas Roach Case, our subject. He was born 
March 23, 1786, on the farm, and grew there to 
manhood. When a young man he peddled clocks 
in the South, and one of those ancient timepieces is 
still in the possession of the family. After his mar- 
riage Mamre Case settled on his wife's farm near 
West Simsbury Centre, where he spent the balance 
of his life, engaged in farming and stork raising, 
owning a large tract of land. He died on his farm 



Feb. 14, 1859, and was buried in Simsbury. He was 
a Whig in politics, and held various offices, besides 
representing Simsbury in the State Legislature. 
lie was a member of the Congregational" Church, 
a good whole-souled man, and was well-liked and 
respected. ( )n Xov. 4, 1807, he married, in West 
Simsbury, Abi Tuller, who was born in West Sims- 
bury, Sept. to, 1787, daughter of Elisha Tuller, of 
West Simsbury. 'Hie children born to Mamre and 
Abi Case were as follows: Thomas R.., born Dee. 
28, [808; Mary Abi, born Aug. 26, 1812, who mar- 
ried John Stowe; Luke, born Sept. 5 [814; Morris, 
born Sept. 23, 1816; Flora, born Jan. iN. [819, 
who married Edwin Goodwin; Watson E., born 
Xov. 24, 1820, who now lives retired in Xew York 
lily; Salem, born Nov. 19, [823; and one who died 
in infancy, unnamed. All of these children are now 
deceased except Watson. The mother died Feb. 
28, 1863, and was buried in Simsbury. She was a 
good Christian woman, well liked and respected. 

Thomas R. Case, our subject, was raised on the 
farm. He attended the district schools of West 
Simsbury; was also a student at Amherst College, 
and when a young man he taught school in Sims- 
bury. Possessing mercantile tastes, he started in 
the mercantile business at Simsbury, and a few 
years later removed to Hoskins Station, where he- 
engaged in mercantile business. Removing to a 
larger field at Hartford, he there conducted a suc- 
cessful dry-goods business for eight years, on the 
site of the Brown Thompson store. Mr. Case then 
decided to go West, moved to Indiana, and opened 
up at Indianapolis a store business in partnership 
with Joseph Sharp, continuing there with marked 
success for ten years. On account of ill health he 
was obliged to give up his business. Returning to 
his native home he settled on the home farm, and 
there spent the remaining years of his life, engag- 
ing in general farming and stock raising. I le died on 
his farm Xov. 25, 1884. and his death was un- 
timely, though he was well advanced in years. Re- 
turning home one evening with his team, the horses, 
it is supposed, took fright and ran away, and Mr. 
Case was dashed against a tree with fatal results, 
for when found he was dead. Owing to his influ- 
ence, and to the strong hold he had upon the af- 
fections of his friends and neighbors, hi- death 
east a gloom over the settlement. In polities Mr. 
Case was a Whig and Republican. For many years 
lie was a justice of the peace, and he served as post- 
master at West Simsbury. He possessed strong po- 
litical convictions, but was not an office seeker. 
Me was a deacon in the Congregational Church. 
Domestic in his tastes, he loved his home, and was 
a close companion to his wife and children. Tem- 
perate in his habits, a man of honor and honesty, 
he was popular and highly respected. 

Mr. Case married in Willoughby, Ohio, Sept. 
to, [851, Cornelia A. Trowbridge, who was born 
at Watertown, Jefferson Co., X. V., daughter of 
\)v. Amasa and Gloria Anna (Billings) Trow- 



864 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



bridge. Her father was a well known surgeon of 
Watertown, N. Y., was surgeon in the war of 1812, 
and was professor of surgery in Willoughby Col- 
lege, Ohio. Mrs. Case is a sister of Dr. William 
R. Trowbridge, the well known surgeon of Water- 
town, N. Y. To our subject and wife were born 
five children: (1) Josephine Cornelia, born May 9, 
1853, married Howell Hough, of Collinsville, and 
has one child, Lulu. (2) Thomas Trowbridge, born 
March 1, 1856, was born at Rock Island, 111., and 
educated at the West Simsbury district school, and 
now manages the homestead farm. He is a member 
of St. Mark's Lodge, Simsbury, F. & A. M. He 
has been postmaster of West Simsbury for five 
years, and in politics is a Reublican. (3) Frances 
Helen, born Feb. 22, 1859, married Howard San- 
born of Collinsville, Conn. (4) William Andrew, 
born' May 26, 1864, died Oct. 3, 1866. (5) Charles 
Mamre, born March 28, 1867, is at home on the 
farm. Mrs. Case is a member of an old and hon- 
ored family of Watertown, N. Y. She is a lady of 
pleasant address, well educated, and a pleasant con- 
versationalist, true in sentiment and judgment, and 
devotedly attached to her home and friends. 

HENRY PECK STRONG was a grandson of 
Anthony Strong, who was born in Washington, 
Conn., Dec. 9, 1757, and removed to Woodbury 
in later life. He was a son of Preserve Strong, 
born Sept. 8, 1712, and tracing back the family 
genealogy we come to Adino Strong (6), who was 
born at Northampton, Mass., Jan. 25, 1676, son of 
Thomas Strong, of the same place, born in 1634. 
The original progenitor of the family on this side 
of the Atlantic was Elder John Strong, who left 
England in 161 7, and settled at Hingham, Mass. 
Anthony Curtis Strong, father of Henry Peck 
Strong, was a farmer by occupation. He married 
Julia Lambert, April 9, 1820. 

Henry Peck Strong was born at Woodbury, 
July 22, 1822. His early educational training was 
of the meager sort which might be obtained at the 
ordinary district schools of the period, yet in spite 
of early disadvantages he achieved success through 
his own unaided efforts. At the age of eighteen 
he bade adieu to school and home alike, and went 
forth to battle with the world alone. He learned 
the trade of a tanner and currier at W'oodbury. 
Being anxious to rise, he went to Seymour, where 
he began business in a small way in partnership 
with John Ryder. The opening of the Naugatuck 
railway, whose route ran directly through his prop- 
erty, ruined his business within a short time. His 
next venture was in co-partnership with John Minor, 
and for three years the firm bought and sold lum- 
ber at Bridgeport. In 1855 ^ r - Strong removed 
to New Britain, buying out the coal and wood yard 
of a Mr. Allen, located on what is now the site of 
Landers, Frarv & Clark's cutlery works. In this 
business he had a partner, William W. Giddings, 
the firm name being Giddings & Strong. Later a 



corporation was organized under the firm name of 
the New Britain Lumber & Coal Co., with Henry 
Peck Strong as its president. 

In 1888 Mr. Strong was attacked by a severe 
illness, from which he never recovered. His in- 
domitable energy, however, would not permit him 
to succumb, until death claimed him, on Jan. 8, 
1897. The success of the enterprise with which 
he was identified was due largely to his own per- 
sonal efforts, he having ever been the executive head, 
and his sound business judgment always being a 
dominant influence in its counsels. His private life 
was blameless, and his personal character most 
lovable. To young men he was always a sympathetic 
friend, and in the cause of Christianity and tem- 
perance ever an active worker. On Aug. 3, 1856, 
he united with the First Church of Christ in New 
Britain, and in 1865 was chosen deacon in place 
of Albert Judd, who resigned the office. His dis- 
position was quiet and retiring, and for him the 
ordinary issues of politics presented no attraction. 

Mr. Strong was married, Sept. 8, 1847, to Sarah 
A. Bacon, a daughter of David C. Bacon and Sarah 
Wheeler, of Woodbury, the former of whom was a 
farmer. Mrs. Strong was born Sept. 17, 1825. Mr. 
and Mrs. Strong were the parents of two daughters, 
the elder of whom, Sarah Martha, was born March 
28, 1850, and died April 22, 1891. The younger 
died in infancy. 

H. O. ALLEN, M. D., a leading physician of 
Broad Brook, has not only achieved an honorable 
rank in his chosen profession but, as a citizen, he 
is identified prominently with the best interests of 
his community. 

Dr. Allen was born in Broad Brook, March 22, 
1854, a son of Luke D. and Caroline C. (Patchen) 
Allen, and a grandson of Luke and Mahitabel 
(Dwight) Allen. He is the eldest in a family of 
three children, the others being Frederick D., a 
merchant of North Adams, Mass. ; and Alice M., 
wife of George Lamb, of East Hartford. 

When our subject was about two years old his 
parents removed to Melrose, this county, and later 
went to Scitico, where the mother died in 1867. 
As he was then about thirteen years of age he was 
sent to an academy in Shelburne Falls, Mass., 
where he remained two years, and afterward he 
attended the public schools of Melrose, this county, 
for a time. In 1871 he went to Springfield, Mass., 
to take a position as clerk in a drug store, and after 
a year resumed his studies, entering the schools of 
Wilbraham, Mass., for a two-years' course. In 
1873 he began teaching, and for three years he was 
successfully engaged in that work in New Jersey, 
but as he had decided to enter the medical profes- 
sion he then undertook a course of reading with 
Dr. S. H. Hunt, of Eatontown, N. J. For three 
years he was in the office of this preceptor, and in 
the meantime he completed the regular course of 
lectures in the University of New York, graduat- 
ing in 1879. Since that time he has been in active 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



B65 



practice in Broad Brook, meeting with success 
from the start, and he is now a valued member of 
both the County Medical Society and the State 
Medical Society. As a friend of educational prog- 
ress he has served on the town school board for 
fifteen years, and his fellow citizens have shown 
their confidence in his integrity and ability by elect- 
ing him town clerk and town treasurer, he having 
held the latter office continuously since 1891. Po- 
litically he is a Republican, and for years he has 
been recognized as one of the chief advisers of the 
local organization. 

On June 12, 1883, Dr. Allen married Miss E. 
Lavinia Polhemus, and both are popular in the best 
social circles of their locality. They are members 
of the First Congregational Church of Broad 
Brook ; the Doctor is also connected with the 
Grange, and with Oriental Lodge, No. Ill, F. & 
A. M., at Broad Brook. 

HON. ADRIAN MOSES, a prominent citizen 
and leading farmer and lumberman of Burlington, 
is a worthy representative of an old and honored 
Connecticut family. 

Our subject traces his ancestry back to John 
Moses, a shipwright of Plymouth, Mass., who came 
to New England between 1630 and 1640, and whose 
son John was the father of John Moses (3), who 
was born Oct. 13, 1699, and located in Simsbury, 
Conn., on his father's farm near Mount Philip. He 
married Deborah Thrall. Joshua Moses, son of 
John (3), was born Oct. 3, 1689, and died Feb. 
6, 1773. He was married Dec. 12, 1717, to Han- 
nah Strickland, who died Jan. 16, 1718-19, leaving 
twins only three days old : Hannah, who was mar- 
ried Dec. 30, 1747, to Benjamin Mills; and Rachel, 
who was married Dec. 23, 1748, to Nathaniel Wil- 
cox. Joshua Moses was again married, June 28, 
1722, his second union being with Mary Brooks, 
by whom he had three children. Joshua, Othniel and 
John. He owned land in New Hartford and also in 
Norfolk, Conn. He died from the effects of cancer 
of the mouth. His son Othniel Moses was born 
July 1, 1730, and was a soldier in Col. Wolcott's 
regiment in 1776. He was a member of the Epis- 
copal Church. Othniel Moses, Jr., son of Othniel, 
was born Feb. 13,, 1755, and died Oct. 8, 1841. 
He married Mary Dowd, who died on the same date, 
and made his home in Bristol and later in Burling- 
ton, Conn. Their children were as follows: Chaun- 
cey, the eldest, was born May 29, 1783; Joshua was 
the grandfather of our subject; Mary, born June 
20, 1786, married Chauncey Colton ; Laura, born 
June 2, 1788, married Samuel Payne, and died Jan. 
13, 1880; Betsev, born June 20, [790, married Colton 
Kellogg, and lived in Ohio; Sophia, born March 
13, 1792, married Isaac Belden, of Burlington, 
Conn.; Chloe, born Feb. 17, 1794, married Ambi 
Hart, of Farmington ; Orrin, born May 12, i7</>, 
died Nov. 10, 1853; Isaac was born Dec. 9, 17^7; 
and Rhoda. born June 12, 1800, married Ruil Pal- 



meter, of Burlington. Joshua Moses, grandfather 
of our .subject, was born Aug. 20, 1784. and died 
Nov. 10, 1803. He was a landowner and fanner 
of Burlington, and was a soldier in the war of 1812 
under Capt. Daniel Deming. On June jy, 1811, 
he married Chloe Beckwith, who died May 8, 1S70. 
The_\- had two children: Richard, father of our 
subject; and Mary, born March 3, 1824. 

Richard Moses was born in Burlington, July 
[6, [812, and attended the district schools of that 
town, lie was engaged in general farming, stock 
raising and dairying on the farm now owned and 
occupied by our subject, and there died July 28, 
i860, his remains being interred in the Case ceme- 
tery, Burlington. Politically he was first a 
Whig, later a Democrat. He married Rachel 
Norton, of Bristol, Conn., a daughter of Joel 
Norton, and she survived him until Feb. 15, 
1900. Her remains were interred in Minne- 
sota, where she resided with her son Lucius 
Moses. Mrs. Moses was a consistent member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a most esti- 
mable lady. Our subject is second in the order of 
birth in the family of eight children, the others be- 
ing Harriet, deceased wife of Elias Baldwin; Sarah, 
who died young; Ellen, deceased wife of Asa Up- 
son, of Bristol; Emerson, a farmer at Lake Crys- 
tal, Minn.; Prof. Bernard, now on the staff of the 
Philippine commission; Richard, a lawyer of Iowa; 
and Lucius, a farmer of Lake Crystal, Minnesota. 

On the farm where he now resides Adrian Moses 
was born March 21, 1838, and he was educated in 
the districl schools of the neighborhood. He re- 
mained on the old homestead until after his mar- 
riage, when he removed to the town of Farmington 
and there engaged in farming and in the lumber busi- 
ness, handling principally railroad ties. After Si 
years spent there he returned to Burlington and pur- 

ed the home farm, comprising over two hundred 
acres, on which he has since successfully enga 
in general farming, stock-raising and dairying. I h> 

owns and operates a sawmill, and is enga 
in the manufacture of lumbi r and railroad ti< - I fe 
has added to bis original possessions until he now 
owns over five hundred acres. An uprighl and re- 
liable business man. he has met with wel rved 
success in his undertakings, and stands to-day an: 
the well-to-do and prosperous citizens of bis com- 
munity. 

In May. 1863, Mr. Moses married Miss Qar- 
inda Beckwith, a native of New Hartford, daugh- 
ter of Isaac Beckwith, and to them were born 
two children: Henrietta ("Etta") is now the wife 
of Edwin Matthews; and Arthur A., who li 
the old homestead, wedded Mary Fallows, of Union- 
ville, and has two children, Emerson and Clara 
Augusta. 

(n political sentiment Mr. Moses is a Demo- 
crat, and be has taken quite an active and promi- 
nent part in public affair-, having most acceptably 
served as representative to the State Legislature fin 



866 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1 877), selectman, assessor, school director, and chair- 
man of the school board (for many years). He and 
his wife are consistent members of the Congrega- 
tional Church at Unionville, and both are widely 
known and highly respected. 

HON. ANDREW G( )RDoN. The career of the 
gentleman whose name introduces this review illus- 
trates most forcibly the possibilities that are open 
to the young man who possesses sterling business 
qualifications. It proves that neither wealth nor 
social position, nor the assistance of influential 
friends at the outset of his career, are necessary to 
place him on the road to success. It also proves 
that ambition, perseverance, steadfast purpose and 
indefatigable industry, combined with sound busi- 
ness principles, will be rewarded, and that true suc- 
cess follows individual effort only. 

Mr. Cordon has gained recognition and pres- 
tige as one of the influential and representative 
business men of Enfield, and is to-day a member 
of the firm of Gordon Brothers, manufacturers of 
shoddy and wool substitutes at Hazardville. He 
was born in Glasgow, Scotland, Nov. 4, 1843, a 
son of William and Jean ( Bauchop ) Gordon, who in 
May, 1844, landed in New York City, and first lo- 
cated in Little Falls, N. Y. Later they removed 
to Auburn, that State, and in 1847 came to Thomp- 
sonville, Hartford Co., Conn. Here the father, who 
was a carpet weaver by trade, found employment 
with the Thompsonville Carpet Co., and remained 
with them until the failure of the corporation in 
1 85 1. The following year he removed to Hazard- 
ville and entered the employ of the Enfield Manu- 
facturing Co., supporting a family of nine children 
on wages of ninety cents per day. During the Civil 
war from 1861 until 1865 he resided at Windsor 
Locks where he was employed by the Medlicott 
Manufacturing Co., but in 1866 he returned to 
Hazardville, and has since been engaged with his 
sons, Gordon Brothers. He reared a family of nine 
children : Elizabeth, wife of Amos D. Bridge ; Mar- 
garet, wife of Andrew Holford ; David : An- 
drew ; George B. ; Jeanette, wife of Ephraim 
Bridge; Mary, wife of Samuel M. McAuley; Peter; 
and David G., a nephew. 

Andrew Gordon was brought to the New World 
during his infancy, and was reared in the town of 
Enfield, Hartford county, his education being ob- 
tained in the common schools. During his youth 
he learned the cooper's trade, and was for some 
time employed by the Hazard Powder Co. Hardly 
had the echoes from Fort Sumpter's guns died 
away when he offered his services to the govern- 
ment to help put down the Rebellion, enlisting in 
April, 1861, in the 1st Connecticut Light Battery, 
for three months and three weeks, but was never 
mustered in. On Sept. 27, 1861. ne entered the 
service as a private in Company B, 8th Conn. V. 
I., and was wounded Sept. 17, 1862, at Antietam, 
being shot in the left shoulder. On Dec. 24, 1863, 



he re-enlisted for three years or during the war; 
was promoted to the rank of corporal March 26, 
1804; was again wounded at the battle of Cold 
Harbor, June 2, 1864; and was honorably discharged 
on surgeons certificate, May 31, 1865. On his re- 
turn home Mr. Gordon served as foreman of the A. 
D. Bridge key factory for a time, and later, as a 
member of the firm of Gordon Brothers, engaged 
in the manufacture of paper sacks and tinware, in, 
which business they continued until their plant was 
destroyed by fire, in 1890. They have since en- 
gaged exclusively in their present business, which 
they established on a small scale in 1887, and which 
the_\' have since successfully conducted, their trade 
having gradually increased from the beginning. 

Mr. Gordon was married, in May, 1866, to Miss 
Miranda Lewis, a daughter of Asa and Louisa 
(Lyons) Lewis, of Enfield, and to them have been 
born three children : Lewis E., George J. and 
Eleanor M. Religiously Mr. Gordon is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and fraternally 
is affiliated with Doric Lodge, No. 94, A. F. & A. 
M. ; Washington Chapter, No. 30, R. A. M. ; Wash- 
ington Council, Suffield ; and Samuel Brown Post, 
No. 56, G. A. R., being senior vice-commander of 
the Department of Connecticut. He is one of the 
prominent and influential members of the Repub- 
lican party in his community, and is one of the 
present representatives from Enfield town to the 
State Legislature. 

FREDUS M. CASE, one of the most active, 
energetic, and enterprising business men of Rain- 
bow, is a descendant of one of the old families of 
Hartford county, and one that has been prominently 
identified with the interests of Rainbow for a num- 
ber of years. His father, Richard D. Case, was 
born Oct. 12, 1829, one mile west of Rainbow, in 
the town of Windsor, and was a son of Fredus and 
Ruth (Phelps) Case. 

The grandfather was born in the same town, a 
short distance east of the birthplace of his son, 
Richard D., and was a son of Benoni Case, who car- 
ried on operations as a farmer a short distance west 
of Rainbow. He lived to a ripe old age, and at his 
death left considerable property. His remains were 
interred at Poquonock. His children were as fol- 
lows : Benoni, a miller and fanner at Rainbow, 
became quite well-to-do ; Zophar, a surveyor, also 
served as justice of the peace, and tried many cases; 
Zardus at one time owned property in partnership 
with his brother Fredus, but died about 1830, when 
a young man ; Harlow was a farmer near Rainbow, 
and lived to an old age ; Fredus was the grandfa- 
ther of our subject; Amy married a Mr. Strick- 
land, and died in East Windsor ; Delsina married 
Harlow Moore, and died in Rainbow ; Chloe mar- 
ried Benjamin Harger, and died in East Granby ; 
and Amelia married a Mr. Vealy, and died in Rain- 
bow. 

Fredus Case was for years a farmer, and also 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



s«J7 



conducted a boarding-house at Rainbow and engaged 
in teaming, hauling the product of the mills at Rain- 
bow, Hartford and Windsor. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics, and a very devout member of the 
Methodist Church, using his teams on the Sabbath 
to haul many people to church. He was well known 
for miles around, and was recognized as one of the 
best men of the community. He died in 1836, leav- 
ing two children: Richard D., father of our subject; 
and Adelaide, who died at the age of sixteen years. 
His wife, Ruth, who was a daughter of William 
Phelps, survived him a few years, and for her sec- 
ond Husband married John 1'. Ellsworth, by whom 
she had one son, Eli, now a jeweler of New York. 
The early education of Richard D. Case was ob- 
tained in the public schools near his boyhood home, 
but after his mother's death he went to live with his 
maternal uncle, Eli Phelps, of Poquonock, with 
whom he remained until his marriage, and he at- 
tended the schools of Sufheld and also Wilbraham 
College. On Feb. 3, 1852, he married Miss Almira 
J. Moses, a native of Simsbury, Conn., and a daugh- 
ter of Abel Moses. From his father's estate he had 
inherited a small property at Rainbow, and there 
the young couple began their domestic life, while he 
turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, being 
engaged in farming more or less throughout his en- 
tire life. For many years he also hauled goods from 
Rainbow and Poquonock mills to Hartford and 
Windsor, and returned with merchandise. For 
years he was a leading citizen of Rainbow, was 
one of the best-known men in the northern part of 
the county, and did more for his locality than prob- 
ably any other man of his day, as he was liberal, 
public-spirited and enterprising. Politically he was 
always a stanch Democrat, but in 1896 he supported 
Mc Kinky for the Presidency, and he served sev- 
eral years as selectman, was justice of the peace 
some years, and ably represented his district in the 
State Legislature from 1862 until 1868, and again 
in 1879 anc l J 88o. At the time of his death he was 
senior deacon in the Congregational Church, a 
member of the Poquonock Grange, and a thirty- 
second-degree Mason, belonging to the Blue Lodge, 
F. & A. M., at Windsor; Suffield Chapter, R. A. M. ; 
Wolcott Council, of Hartford; and Washington 
Commandery, K. T., also of Hartford. It 
can be said of him that there was prob- 
ably no man living in his town whose ac- 
tivity was so great or who had been identified with 
more enterprises or business undertakings. He was 
foremost in all things, and many improvements are 
due to his influence, support and agitation. I te was 
instrumental in securing the erection of the iron 
bridge at Poquonock, the first bridge in the town, 
and was selected by the people to oversee its con- 
struction. He was also chairman of the committee 
that built the town hall at Poquonock, and was 
ever a man ot inestimable value to the commu- 
nity. 

By his first marriage Mr. Case had the following 



children: Adelaide, now the wife of C. M. Mc- 
Lean, secretary and treasurer of the American 
Mills, at Rockville, Conn.; Fredus M., our subject; 
\\ infield S., a resident of Rainbow; George, a resi- 
dent of Wallingford, Conn.; Henry, who died at 
the age of twenty-five years, and James, a resident 
of Wallingford. The mother of these children died 
Sept. J7. [890, and the father subsequently married 
Airs. C. Elizabeth (Bell) Case, widow of Henry 
Case, but she is now also deceased. Mr. Case 
passed away Feb. 23, 1899, his death resulting from 
a shock of paralysis. 

Fredus M. Case, whose name introduces this re- 
view, was born in Rainbow, April 25, [856, and be- 
gan his education in the local schools, later at- 
tended a select school at Poquonock, the Mt. Pleas- 
ant Institute, Amherst, and Comer's Commercial 
School, of Boston, where he completed the course 
and received a diploma. After his graduation he be- 
came bookkeeper for C.N. McLean, Boston, and later 
was associated with that gentleman, as commission 
men in the wool business. He went to San Antonio. 
Texas, and established the pioneer business of that 
State in the line of packing and grading wool. I In 
his return to Connecticut he located in Rainbow, 
where he was associated in business with his father 
for some time, and in May, 1890, took entire charge 
of the teaming business, transporting the products 
of the mills at Rainbow to Windsor and Hartford, 
and employing from thirty-five to forty horses and 
many wagons in the business. He makes a spe- 
cialty of heavy hauling, and had the carting and 
putting in of the huge dynamos for the Farming- 
ton River Power Co., which supplies electric light 
for Hartford; also for the plant at Tariffville, the 
water-wheel, etc. The dynamos weigh fifty-five 
tons, one piece eighteen tons, and Mr. Case designed 
and built the wagon for hauling it. It had what 
is called a pushing pole, so that teams may be use 1 
both front and back, to pull and push. Air. < 
also does a general livery business at Rainbow, has 
built all his barns and is engaged in farming upon 
sixty acres of land. He has charge of Judge S. 
O. Griswold's estate, which he successfully man- 
ages. I le owns an attractive modern home in Rain- 
bow, which was completed in 1898. 

For his first wife Mr. Case married Miss Min- 
nie I). Smith, of Poquonock, by whom he has one 
son, living, Herbert S. G., born April 23, i8X_>. 
now attending Mt. Pleasant school. After her 

death lie wedded Miss Natalie (Parsons) Merwin, 
daughter of Rev. X. T. and Martha (Parsons) 
Mei- win, of Mil ford. They are members of the Cor 
Rational Church, in which Mr. Case has served 
as superintendent of the Sabbath school for seven 

years, and is filling that office now, and takes an 
active part in church work. He is one of the most 
prominent members of the Democratic party in his 
locality, and at the early age of twenty-three years 
represented the town of Windsor in the State I 
islature. He has also served as selectman for five 



8G8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



successive years. Fraternally he is a member of 
the Masonic Lodge at Windsor and of Poquonock 
Grange. 

WILLIAM ANDREW SMITH, the well- 
known and popular postmaster at Hazardviile, is 
an important factor in business circles, being the 
leading hardware merchant of the village, and as a 
public-spirited citizen he is thoroughly interested 
in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual 
and material welfare of the community. 

Air. Smith was born in Barnesville, New Bruns- 
wick, May 4, 1844, a son of Andrew and Mary 
(Barnes) Smith, also natives of New Brunswick, 
where they continued to make their home until 
1850, in which year they became residents of Brim- 
field, Mass. There the father engaged in farming 
for ten years, and followed the same pursuit in 
Wales. Mass., for four years. At the end of that 
time he removed to Somers, Conn., where he re- 
mained ten years, and then came to Windsor Locks, 
Hartford county. Since 1883 he has resided in 
Hazardviile, and is one of the highly-respected citi- 
zens of the place. His children, six in number, 
were Jennie, deceased ; Carrie, wife of George B. 
Gordon : William A. ; James H. ; John W. ; and 
George H. 

William A. Smith, our subject, was reared in 
New England, and his educational privileges were 
such as the common schools of his day afforded. 
In 1872 he began his business career as a clerk 
for Gordon Brothers, Hazardviile, acting in that 
capacity until 1886, when he purchased the business 
in which he is now engaged. He carries a large and 
well-selected stock of shelf and heavy hardware, 
and by courteous treatment and fair dealing he has 
succeeded in building up an excellent trade. 

On May 16, 1888, Mr. Smith married Miss 
Jessie M., daughter of Franklin and Ann S. (Spen- 
cer) Smith, of Hazardviile, and to their union has 
been born one daughter, Marian L., now deceased. 
The Republican party always finds in Mr. Smith 
a stanch supporter of its principles, and in 1890 he 
received the appointment of postmaster at Hazard- 
viile, which position he is still filling to the entire 
satisfaction of the many patrons of the office. His 
public service has been most exemplary, and his 
private life has been marked by the utmost fidelity 
to duty. 

RALPH HART ENSIGN, manager of En- 
sign, Bickford & Co., manufacturers of fuses at 
Simsbnry, is a native of that town, and descends 
from two of the oldest families in the countv, the 
Ensigns and the Whitings, being of the seventh 
generation of both, counting from and including 1 
the first colonist of each family. 

On the paternal side, James Ensign was the 
first to come from England, locating in Cambridge, 
whence he came to Hartford in 1634. and the heads 
of the families for the six generations following 
have been David, Thomas, Moses, Isaac, Moses ; 



and Ralph Hart, the subject of this sketch v The 
founder of the Whiting family in New England 
was William, who was one of the earliest settlers 
of Hartford, and on this, the maternal side of the 
house, the heads of the families have consecutively 
been Joseph, John, Allen, Elijah, with Martha T. 
and our subject following in due course. 



The name 



Ensign 



is of Saxon oriofin. as will 



be seen in the biographical notices of the East Hart- 
ford branch of the family. It is traced to the En- 
sign Manor at Childham, near Canterbury, Eng- 
land, and the family arms appeared in Childham 
church. The name was known as far back as 1563 
in the counties of Essex, Norfolk and Kent, and 
was a distinguished cognomen. James Ensign, 
the founder of the American family, came to Hart- 
ford with Rev. Thomas Hooker, assisted in organ- 
izing the Second Church, and died in November, 
1670. His only son, David, was born in 1645, and 
first married Mehitable Gunn, daughter of Thomas 
Gunn, of Windsor, but they were divorced by mu- 
tual consent, and he married Sarah Wilcox, who 
died Feb. 3, 171 7. David removed to West Hart- 
ford, where he organized the Congregational 
Church, and died Dec. 12, 1727. His children were 
named David, James and Thomas. 

Thomas Ensign, youngest son of David, mar- 
ried Hannah Shepherd, daughter of John and Re- 
becca (Greenhill) Shepherd, and among their chil- 
dren was Moses, who was born in South Windsor, 
where, in 1731, he married Love Andrews, a 
daughter of Thomas and Love (Knight) Andrews, 
and among their children was Isaac, grandfather 
of Ralph H. Ensign. 

Isaac Ensign was born in West Hartford, where 
he was reared to manhood and learned blacksmith- 
ing. About 1771 he came to Simsbury and opened 
a shop near the old cemetery. He became a pronv 
inent citizen of the town, and here married Lu- 
ranah Pettibone, daughter of Jacob and Jennie 
(Cornish) Pettibone, to which union were born 
ten children : Isaac, Isaiah, Ariel, Zeba, Zophar, 
Bildad, Eri, Moses, Love and Luranah. 

Moses Ensign, the eighth son of the foregoing 
family, was born in Simsbury, and engaged in the 
manufacture of tinware. He married Martha Tul- 
ler Whiting, a native of Hartford, but a resident 
of Simsbury, at the time of marriage. She was a 
daughter of Elijah Whiting, a farmer, and was 
related to some of the best families in the county, 
among whom were the Allyns, the Lords, the Pyn- 
chons, and others of equal note. She was a noble 
woman, and the character of her children suggests 
the influence she exerted over them. These chil- 
dren were born in the following order: Isaac W., 
who went South when but twenty-three years old, 
and is now a successful merchant in Forsyth, Ga., 
and a most prominent citizen; Abbie M., widow of 
Capt. Lucius Goodrich, of Simsbury, whose biog- 
raphy appears elsewhere ; David M., deceased ; Sa- 
bra T., widow of Chester Seymour, and residing 
in Hartford : Nathan R., who passed a large por- 
tion of his life in Georgia, was in the Confederate 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



SG9 



service during the war of the Rebellion, and died 
in Simsbury, Conn.; and Ralph H., the subject of 
this sketch. In politics Moses Ensign was a Dem- 
ocrat, and although not a public man, nor one to 
push himself into general notice, was a regular 
voter, and took more than an ordinary interest in 
his party's success. He was prominent as a mem- 
ber of and officer in the Congregational Church, 
in the faith of which he died at the age of seventy 
years; his wife passed away when fifty-six. He 
was the type of citizen that posterity can feel proud 
of. and was sadly missed by the community when 
called away. 

Ralph H. Ensign was born Nov. 3, 1834, in a 
house that stood on the site of the "Elm Tree Inn." 
He attended the Hop Meadow District school in 
early youth, and among his teachers were Eliza 
Hall, jane Weston and Mrs. Merritt. He later at- 
tended the Connecticut Literary institute, at Suffield, 
at a time when it ranked among the foremost of its 
kind in the State, and still later attended Wilbra- 
ham Academy for a short time. When not at 
school, he assisted his father in the shop or was 
engaged in farming. At the age of twenty-one 
years he went to Suffield, and was employed for 
some time by Samuel Austin, an extensive manu- 
facturer of cigars, as assistant foreman. For a short 
time, also, Mr. Ensign lived in Georgia with his 
elder brothers, who were there engaged in busi- 
ness, and on his return to Connecticut accepted a 
position as clerk in Tariffville, later engaging in 
mercantile business on his own account at the same 
place. 

In August, 1863, Mr. Ensign entered the em- 
ploy of Toy. Bickford & Co., fuse manufacturers 
at Simsbury, became a member of the firm in 1870, 
and April r, 1887, when the concern was reorgan- 
ized, as Ensign, Bickford & Co., he was made man- 
ager. This firm is the oldest in America in its line, 
does the largest business in the manufacture of 
blasting fuses, and owns a branch plant in Brook- 
lyn, Alameda County, Cal. Its product is shipped 
tc all parts of the world, and its headquarters at 
Simsburv has been of great value to the town. 

Mr. Ensign married, July 21. 1863, Miss Susan 
Toy, a native of Cornwall. England, and a daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Jane (Osier) Toy, whose b 
raphy appears elsewhere. She was but a child when 
brought to the United States, and was reared in 
Simsbury. Of the five children born to this unio.i, 
Sarah T. died in infancy; Joseph K. is full}- spoken 
of in a sketch elsewhere: Susan A. and Julia W. 
reside with their parents in Simsbury; and Ed- 
ward William died in childhood. 

In politics Mr. Ensign is of Democratic pro- 
clivities, but he is not strongly partisan. In [876 
he represented his town in the State Legislai 
Fraternally he is a member of Simsbury Lodge, 
R & A. M. Mrs. Ensign in religion is an ardent 
Methodist. Mr. Ensign is known as a careful busi- 
ness man, and is a director in the Hartford Na- 
tional Bank and several other monetary institu- 
tions. 



MARVIN LEWIS (deceased), who during his 
life was one of the most respected citizens of Suf- 
field, was born on the homestead at Hastings Hill, 
in Suffield. December, [816, and was a son of John 
and Hannah (Hastings) Lewis. He was of Eng- 
lish descent, his grandfather, John Lewis, who was 
a hand-weaver by trade, haying been the first of the 
family to come from England to the United States 
and to make his home at Hastings Hill, where he 
passed the remainder of his life in the pursuit of 
agriculture. 

John Lewis, father of Marvin Lewis, was born 
on the Hastings Hill farm, which consisted of sixty 
acres, passed his life in farming, and died at the 
age of seventy-five years, in the faith of the Bap- 
tist Church; his remains, like those of his father, 
were interred in Zion's Hill cemetery. In politics 
he was a Democrat, and for several years served 
as selectman of the town. To his marriage with 
Hannah Hastings, daughter of Abijah Hastings, 
were born ten children, two of whom died in in- 
fancy ; those who reached maturity were Orvil, 
Louisa, Alvin and Marvin, all since decea-rd : I lan- 
nah D., who was married to Henry Mather, of 
Southwick, Mass.; Phebe., who married Lovatus 
Rising, also of Southwick ; Abijah, now on the home- 
stead ; and Mar}- Ann, also deceased, who married 
lames Smith, of Rhode Island. The mother of 
this family died on the farm and was buried in 
Zion's Hill cemetery. 

Marvin Lewis remained with his parents until 
Ik was twenty years of age, when he bought a small 
tract of land near the homestead (the tract is now 
owned by William Lyons), and after a residence 
thereon of fifteen years sold out, and bought the 
Abijah Remington farm of sixty acres, to which he 
added forty acres, made many improvements, and 
here died Jan. 1, 1886 — one of the most successful 
tobacco growers and farmers of Suffield. He was 
liberal in his church views, but was a true Christian, 
was charitable to all, and was of temperate habits. 
In politics he was first a Democrat, and later a 
Republican, and was altogether a useful citizen, 
respected by all who knew him. 

In 1843' Mr. Lewis married, in Suffield, Miss 
Almira C. Remington, daughter of Abijah Reming- 
ton, to which union were born two children, Gilman 
M. and Newton R., the former of whom was a grad- 
uate of the Connecticut Literarj Institute, married 
Josephine Wright, of Feeding Hills, and died while 
still young, the father of one child, Ada, who mar- 
ried George Eastman, of New York City. 

Newton R. Lewis for several years was enga 
in the hardware business in Bridgeport, Conn., and 
later in the livery business. After the death of his 
father he engaged in tobacco growing and farming 

tli,. homestead. lor his first wife he mar 
rii d Ada Freeman, only daughter of Eli Freeman, of 
West Suffield, and for In- second wife he wedded 
Grace Holmes, a native of Easl Bridgewater, Mass., 
and a daughter of Ellis W. and Julia J. (Cushing) 



870 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Holmes, who now make New Bedford their home. 
To Newton R. Lewis and wife have been born two 
children, Gwendolyn and John. 

Abijah Remington, grandfather of Mrs. Marvin 
Lewis, was a native of Suffield, was a captain in 
the Revolution, and died at his home — the farm 
now owned by Mrs. Lewis. He married Silence 
Rising, who bore him nine children : Silence, mar- 
ried to John Rice ; Desire, married to James Lewis ; 
Abijah, father of Mrs. Marvin Lewis ; Lucy, mar- 
ried to Thomas Archer; Lydia, married to Will- 
iam Hastings, who after her death wedded her 
sister, Laura ; Julius ; Mary, married to Chancey 
Sheldon ; and Cynthia, who died at the age of 
eleven years. 

Abijah Remington, father of Mrs. Lewis, in his 
young manhood taught school in winter and worked 
on his father's farm in summer. He was one of 
the first tobacco growers in Suffield, was an ex- 
tensive landholder, owning, among other property, 
the farm now occupied by William H. Peckham 
and that occupied by Mrs. Lewis. He died in 
1856, a member of the Baptist Church, and 
one of the most respected men of the county, 
his remains being interred at Zion's Hill. In poli- 
tics he was a Whig. To his marriage with Chloe 
Hanchett, were born two children : Horace, who 
died in San Jose, Cal. ; and Almira C, now Mrs. 
Lewis. Mrs. Chloe Remington lived to the ripe 
age of eighty-seven years, died, a devout Baptist, 
at the home of Mrs. Lewis, and was interred in 
Zion's Hill cemetery. 

Thomas Hanchett, a maternal ancestor of Mrs. 
Lewis, was the first of the name to come from 
England. He first located in Roxbury, Mass., in 
1620, but afterward made several removes, viz. : 
In 1649, to Wethersfield, Conn.; in 1651, to New 
London; in 1654, to Northampton; in 1679, to 
Westfield ; and in 1686 came to Suffield. To his 
marriage with Deliverance Laughton, were born 
four children — John, Thomas, Deliverance and Han- 
nah. The eldest of these, John Hanchett, born 
Sept. 1, 1649, in Wethersfield, married Elizabeth 
Pritchett, Sept. 6, 1677. She died Nov. 29, 171 1, 
the mother of the following children : Esther, born 
Aug. 1, 1678; John, Nov. 16, 1679; Samuel, April 
7, 1682, died Oct. 14, 1761 ; Bathsheba, May 19, 
1683; Mehitable, June 22, 1686; Ebenezer, Jan. 
13, 1688; and Hannah, Aug. 10, 1693. 

John Hanchett, the second of the above family, 
married Lydia Hay ward, Feb. 26, 1707. She was 
born in 1683, and died in December, 1777, the 
mother of nine children : Lydia, born in December, 
1707 (died in July, 171 1 ) ; John, Nov. 1, 1709 
(died in December, 1796) ; Lydia, in 171 1 ; Ebenezer, 
in 1716; Zacharias, in 1718; Uriah, in May, 1721 ; 
Joseph, in August, 1723; Hannah, in November, 
1725 (died in May, 1727); and Hannah (2) Oct. 
17, 1728. Of this family, John, the second born, 
married Mary Sheldon, July I, 1733. She was born' 
in 1 71 3. and died Aug. 7, 1795, mother of the fol- 



lowing children: Mary B., born May 18, 1734, died 
Oct. 20, 1750; John, oorn July 3, 1730, died in March, 
1759; Luke, born Feb. 3, 1738; Rachel, born Oct. 
3 1 * I 739> Oliver, born Aug. 17, 1741 ; David, born 
June 8, 1743 ; Lydia, born March 23, 1745 ; Hannah, 
and Mary. The father died Dec. 9, 1796. David 
Hanchett, the sixth of the above named children, 
and the grandfather of Mrs. Lewis, was a captain 
in the Revolutionary war. He married, Oct. 24, 
1765, Deborah Sheldon, who was born Dec. 26, 
1745, and died in May, 1842, the mother of the 
following family: John, born Sept. 10, 1766, died 
March 30, 1796; Deborah, born May 17, 1768, died 
March 11, 1852; Mary, born March 22, 1770, died 
May 24, 1772; David, born May 24, 1772, died 
Nov. 24, 1776; Oliver, born July 23, 1774, died 
Oct. 7, 1829; Hannah, born Feb. 22, 1777, died 
April 5, 1813 ; David, born April 13, 1779, died Feb. 
2, 1865; Erastus, born Jan. 31, 1781, died Sept. 
16, 1854; Seth, born Aug. 7, 1783, died. Sept. 5, 
1853; Chloe, born Jan. 10, 1786 (married Abijah 
Remington, and became the mother of Mrs. Lewis), 
died Oct. 15, 1872; Betsey, born Nov. 17, 1789, 
died Sept. 5, 1849; and Phineas, born May 22, 1792, 
died March 19, 1865. The father of this family 
died in 1822, a devout member of the Baptist 
Church. 

HON. JAMES BARLOW ROSE, one of West 
Suffield's most respected native-born citizens and 
retired business men, was born April 5, 1816. His 
father, Barlow Rose, was a son of Gad Rose, of 
whom mention is made in full in the biography of 
Oliver C. Rose, given elsewhere. 

Bailow Rose, in early manhood, was very suc- 
cessful as a peddler of Yankee notions, shoes, cigars, 
indigo and other articles, through the States of 
Connecticut and New York, later becoming inter- 
ested, with his brother Curtis, in conducting a saw- 
mill and distillery, and still later settling down to 
farming. In his religious views he was very toler- 
ant, and in politics he was first a Federalist and then 
a Jeffersonian Democrat ; he was noted for his 
domestic habits and integrity, as well as his genial 
disposition. He married Clarissa King, a native 
of Suffield, who bore him six children: James 
Barlow, the subject of this sketch; Cornelius, who 
died young ; Mortimer, who died in infancy ; Morti- 
mer (2), who is also deceased; Almira C, deceased 
wife of H. S. Sheldon ; and Alexander C, also de- 
ceased. The father died on his farm, the mother 
at the home of our subject, and the remains of 
both were laid to rest, side by side, in the West 
Suffield cemetery. The mother was a faithful mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, and both parents 
were greatly respected by all who knew them. 

James Barlow Rose was educated in the public 
schools and at Westfield Academy, and the first 
year after leaving school he clerked for his uncle, 
Thaddeus Lyman, in West Suffield. He then 
started on the road, and for six years peddled Yankea 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



871 



notions, whips and lashes, cigars, etc., through his 
native State, New Jersey, New York and Penn- 
sylvania. He was very successful in his trips, and 
when he relinquished peddling was offered a salary 
of Si,8oo per annum by his employer to remain on 
the road, which he declined. In 1842 he purchased 
a two-thirds interest in the mercantile establish- 
ment of William Lyman, of West Suffield. He 
induced his brother Mortimer to join him, and in 
1845 bought out Mr. Lyman entire, he and his 
brother continuing for twenty years in dealing in 
tobacco, manufacturing cigars, and in growing to- 
bacco. In 1865, Mortimer Rose withdrew and en- 
gaged in farming, when our subject admitted his 
own son, Clifton B., into partnership, the firm name 
becoming J. R>. Rose & Son. The new firm drove 
a thriving trade until 1873, when a conflagation des- 
troyed the store and stock, and J. B. Rose saw fit 
to relinquish the cares of mercantile life and to set- 
tle on a small farm, where he has since devoted his 
attention to agriculture, making tobacco growing a 
specialty. His career as a merchant was a most 
honorable one, his integrity was never called in 
question, and in his quieter pursuit of farming he 
is equally respected for his honesty and uniformly 
upright conduct. 

Mr. Rose is to-day one of the oldest Democrats 
in the town of Suffield. In 1840 he cast his first 
Presidential vote for William Henry Harrison, the 
Whig candidate, and adhered to the Whig party 
until the formation of the Know-Nothing or Na- 
tive American party, which was largely made up 
of Whigs, when he became a Democrat, and has 
since used his franchise in favor of the last-named 
political organization. He has filled all of the 
town offices, including that of selectman, and in 
1873 was elected to the State Legislature, dis- 
charging the duties of this office so ably that he 
was re-elected for a second term. For twenty- 
five years he served as justice of the peace, and dur- 
ing this long service not one appeal was ever taken 
from his decisions. While filling this office he 
once arrested and imprisoned a man for commit- 
ting some unlawful act in his presence. The 
prisoner brought suit for $10,000 damages for ar- 
rest without a warrant, and for some time Justice 
Rose was under $2,500 bonds to answer, but when 
the case was carried before a jury in the Superior 
court it was decided in his favor, as Mr. Rose proved 
that, under an old law, a justice of the peace had 
the right to make arrest for unlawful acts com- 
mitted in his presence — warrant or no warrant. 
During the Civil war, when Mr. Lose was a select- 
man, a number of citizens were drafted for mili- 
tary service, but did not desire to serve, nor had they 
the means with which to hire substitutes. It was 
suggested by Mr. Rose and other citizens that the 
town be taxed to the amount of $300 for each man 
so drafted, and that the town issue its bonds or 
notes for the payment of the funds so raised, and 
a called meeting endorsed this action. Those of 



the citizens who were exempt from service Op- 
ed the issue u\ the bonds, and sued out an in- 
junction to prevent such is>uc : but Mr. Rose had 
the people on his side, and at a second meeting the 
ctmen were empowered to continue the issue 
oi bonds, this action calling forth a second injunc- 
tion. At still another meeting Mr. Rose was em- 
powered to appoint a committee to act, and the 
names of the members of this committee were kept 
secret, so that a third injunction was avoided, the 
action of the opponents of the measure frustrated, 
Mr. Rose and bis friends were triumphant, and the 
town paid for the necessary substitutes. For a 
long time, however, the query was current on the 
streets, in the schools, at church gatherings, etc, 
and in the newspapers, "Who are the committee:" 
Hon. James 1'.. Rose, in 1*3.,. wedded Miss 
Mary M. King, a daughter of Ashel King, of Suf- 
field, and to this union were born two children: 
Clifton Barlow and Rosaline. Clifton Harlow R 
was educated in the public schools of Suffield, the 
Arms Academy, at Shelburne Fails, LVlass., and 
the Connecticut Literary Institute of Suffield. and 
then engaged in mercantile business with his fa- 
ther until [873. In 1876 he went to Arizona, where 
he spent four years in merchandising on the Apache 
Reservation, and four years as sheriff of Graham 
county, having been appointed to that office by 
< ien. John C. Fremont. I te also traveled extensively 
in California, Texas, Mexico, Xew Mexico, and 
other parts of the continent, and is now a resident 
of Suffield, Conn. lie married Miss Louise A. 
Stevens, a daughter of James Stevens, of South- 
wick-, Mass., and to this marriage was born one 
child, Harold. Mrs. Louisa A. Rose died in 1892, 
and her remains were laid to rest in Westfield, 
Mass. Clifton B. Rose, in both religion and poli- 
tics, is quite liberal, and fraternally he is a member 
of Arizona Lodge, i ; . & A. M. Rosaline Kosc died 
young, and the mother, Mrs. Mary M. (King) 
Rose, was called away May <;, [886. Mr. Rose 
subsequently married Matilda L. Graham, who lias 
also passed away, dying in the faith 1 f the Con- 
gregational Church, and her remains are buried at 
Suffield. 

Mr. Rose is a well-read gentleman, has always 
taken an active interesl in the welfare of his town, 
and his public and private life and acts have been 
such as to win for him th mi of the community 

in which he has passed SO many years of an active 
and public-spirited existence. Since Jan. 1. [852, 
some forty-eight and on< half years ago, he has 
kepi a daily diary, and can tell where I e was every 
day during that time, and gem-rally what h •• was 
doing on each day. He is now in h eigh ifth 
year. 

ROWLAND BARD >\Y. deceased. There is 
particular satisfaction in reverting to the life his- 
tory of the honored and venerable gentleman who-. 

name introduces this review, as he bore in his veins 



872 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



some of the best blood of our early Colonists and 
was a representative of one of the prominent pio- 
neer families of Hampden county, Mass. For two 
hundred and fifty years the Barlow family has been 
identified with New England history, the first to 
cross the Atlantic from England being James Bar- 
low, who settled in Suffield, Hartford Co., Conn., 
where he made his home throughout the remainder 
of his life, dying there in 1689 or 1690. His only 
child, James Barlow, Jr., was born in 1688, in Suf- 
field, where he engaged in farming throughout 
his active business life, and he died there in 1758. 

Edmund Barlow, son of James Barlow, Jr., 
and the grandfather of our subject, was born May 
18, 1732, in Suffield, whence when a young man he 
removed to Granville, Mass., where he engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. During the Revolutionary 
war he enlisted, Oct. 21, 1776, in the Colonial ser- 
vice, and was first lieutenant in Capt. Cooley's com- 
pany, under command of Col. John Wosley and 
Lieut. -Col. Timothy Robinson. He received an 
honorable discharge Nov. 17, 1776. He married 
Miss Sybil Root, of Hebron, Conn., who died in 
Granville, Mass., in 1818. Their family numbered 
nine children: Edmund, born in May, 1763, died 
in 1842; Rebecca, born in November, 1764, mar- 
ried Ashel King, and died Jan. 10, 1823; Chene, 
born in March, 1767, died in Granville, in 1777; 
Sybil, born in January, 1769, died July 2, 1833; 
James, born in July, 1771, died Sept. 20, 1837; 
Mary, born in August, 1773, died in 1777; John, 
born in 1776, died in 1777; Chene, born June, 1779. 
died in 1829; and Lucy, born in February, 1786, 
died June 23, 1859. 

Edmund Barlow, Jr., the father of our subject, 
spent his entire life in Granville, Mass., engaged in 
the occupation of farming, and was the owner of 
some good property there. He was one of the 
distinguished and honored citizens of his com- 
munity, and as a Whig took quite an active and 
prominent part in local politics. At one time he 
represented his district in the State Legislature. He 
was married in Granville, in 1786, to Miss Tabitha 
Bancroft, a daughter of Samuel Bancroft. She was 
born in 1763, and died in 1851, in Granville, while 
his death occurred in 1842, and the remains of 
both were interred in Granville cemetery. They 
were the parents of eight children, whose names, 
with dates of birth and death, are as follows : 
Elizabeth, 1787-1869; Heman, 1790-1884; Mary, 
1792-1886; Edmund, 1796-1864; Samuel, 1798- 
1876; Diana, 1803-1876; Barber, 1805 (went South 
at the age of twenty-three, and never returned) ; 
and Rowland, a sketch of whom follows: 

Rowland Barlow was born Oct. 8, 1807, in 
Granville, Mass., where he grew to manhood and 
engaged in farming until i860. His education was 
acquired in the public schools of his native town. 
On leaving there he came to North Granby, Hart- 
ford Co., Conn., where he purchased ninety acres 
of land, known as the Rowland Hayes farm, on 



which he made his home, while engaged in general 
farming, until 1892. He then sold the place and 
removed to a farm of forty acres in the town of 
Granby, where he lived retired until his death, 
June 5, 1899. 

In February, 1831, in Granby, Mr. Barlow mar- 
ried Miss Chleo Godard, who was born in 181 1, a 
daughter of Miles Godard, and four children came 
of this union: Edmund B., born in October, 1832, 
is a resident of Granville, Mass. ; Leland O., born 
in 1835, was a soldier in the Civil war, and died in 
Andersonville prison in 1864; Mary Jane, born in 
1837, cnec l m ^38 ; and Jane E., born in 1839, 
lived with her father, and tenderly cared for him 
in his declining years. The wife and mother died 
in Granville, Mass., in January, 1840, and was 
buried there. Mr. Barlow was married in July, 
1841, to Miss Lavera Kendall, who was born in 
181 1, a daughter of Noadiah Kendall. By this mar- 
riage there were also four children: Harriet 
Emeroy, born in 1842, is now the wife of Milo 
Wilcox, of Granby; Arabella Susan, born in 1844, 
died in 1850; Stella, born in 1848, is the wife of 
Frederick Rice, of Granby ; and Rolla Hubert, born 
in July, 1852, died in 1879. The mother of these 
children died in Granville, July 8, 1852, and was 
laid to rest there. For his third wife Mr. Barlow 
married her sister, Ursula Kendall, and the only 
child born to them died in infancy. Mrs. Barlow, 
who was a most estimable woman, departed this 
life Feb. 19, 1895, and was buried in Granville 
cemetery. 

Our subject was the oldest living citizen in 
Granby, as well as one of its most highly-respected 
and honored men. He cast his first vote in 1828, 
and was a Whig until the organization of the Re- 
publican party, when he joined its ranks and con- 
tinued to fight under its banner. He was never an 
office seeker, but in 1861 was the choice of the 
people of his district for representative in the State 
Legislature. He was broad-minded and liberal in 
his views, and in all the relations of life was 
found true to every trust reposed in him. He was 
always upright and honorable in all his dealings 
with his fellow men, and was justly deserving of 
the high regard in which he was uniformly held. 

HON. EDWARD PRICKETT. While "the 
race is not always to the swift nor the battle to the 
strong," the invariable law of destiny accords to 
tireless energy, industry and ability a successful 
career. The truth of this assertion is abundantly 
verified in the life of Mr. Prickett, the well-known 
superintendent of the Hazard Powder Mills, and a 
leading citizen of Enfield. 

Our subject was born in Faversham, County of 
Kent, England, Feb. 21, 1832, a son of William 
and Catherine (Wildish) Prickett, who on coming 
tc America in 1836 located in Hazardville, Hart- 
ford Co., Conn., where the father served as fore- 
man of a department of the Hazard Powder Mills 





, tjAsCcdu^ " 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



878 



until killed by an explosion there, in 1844. He was 
a skilled workman and manufacturer, and his 
knowledge and care aided materially in establish- 
ing the fame and excellence of Hazard powder. In 
his family were the following children: Ann, wife 
of J. Winthrop Parsons; Edward; Thomas; Eliza, 
wife of Willis Simons; Adeline, wife of George 
Whiton ; Ashman P. ; and William A. 

Edward Prickett was only four years old when 
he crossed the Atlantic with his parents and took 
up his residence in Hazardville, where he was 
reared and educated in the common schools. He 
began his business career as an employe of the 
Hazard Powder Co., and in 1854 left the operative 
works and entered the office. During his service 
of over forty-five years with that company he has 
steadily advanced in public favor, and has their 
entire confidence and respect. From childhood he 
has been around the mills, and as an employe in the 
various departments he soon acquired an excellent 
knowledge of the business, being educated in the 
chemistry of explosives and thoroughly qualified 
by training and experience for his present respon- 
sible position. He has regularly maintained the. su- 
perior quality of Hazard powder, and has firmly 
established its reputation. 

On May 22, 1856, Mr. Prickett was united in 
marriage with Miss Barbara Law, daughter of 
James and Jane (Crawford) Law, natives of Scot- 
land, and five children have been born of this 
union: Georgianna C, wife of M. L. Bailey; Hel- 
ena J., wife of W. H. Miner; Clifford D., who mar- 
ried Edith M. Gordon; Edward L., who married 
Hilma T. Dahlgren ; and Effie M. The family are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
merit and receive the respect and esteem of all 
who know them. Politically Mr. Prickett is iden- 
tified with the Republican party, and, as one of the 
popular and influential citizens of his community, 
he was called upon to represent Enfield in the State 
Legislature in 1879. 

HOX. EDWIN JOHN SHELDON, an enter- 
prising young tobacco grower and general farmer 
of Suffield, was born in Florence township, Will 
Co., 111., Oct. 27, i860, but is of Connecticut par- 
entage. 

William Stevens Sheldon, father of Edwin J., 
was born Jan. 20, 1833, on the farm now owned 
by Deacon Benjamin Sheldon, in the town of Suf- 
field, Conn., a biography of whom appears elsewhere. 
He was educated in the district schools and the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, and remained on the 
home place until twenty-two years of age, when he 
started for the West, for ten years living in Will 
county, 111., where he engaged in stock raising and 
grain growing. In 1865 he sold his farm and re- 
turned to Connecticut, and settled on the old home- 
stead of 160 acres where he was born, and on 
which he died Feb. 27, 1894. In politics William 
S. Sheldon was a Republican, and was honored by 
the people of Florence, 111., with election as school 



commissioner and also as road commissioner. For 
years he was a deacon in the Congregational Church, 
and his conduct throughout life was such as to 
command the respect of all who knew him. To 
his marriage, which took place in Wilmington, Will 
Co., 111., Feb. 25, 1858, with Miss Sarah Jane Rick- 
ard, who was born July 11, 1835, a daughter of 
Daniel Rickard, of New York State, were born two 
children: Edwin J., and Alary F., the wife of Henry 
R. Hemenway, of Suffield. Mrs. Sarah Jane 
Sheldon was called away by death Oct. II, 1893, 
dying in the faith of the Congregational Church. 

Edwin J. Sheldon was but four years of age 
when brought from his birthplace in the West to 
the home of his forefathers in the East, and was 
reared here to manhood. He was educated in the 
public schools, primarily, then attended the Con- 
necticut Literary Institute of Suffield, and in 1882 
took a course of instruction in the Eastman Busi- 
ness College, at Poughkeepsie, N. Y. When he 
became of age he was admitted to partnership with 
his father in the cultivation of tobacco and in gen- 
eral farming. After the death of his father, Mr. 
Sheldon purchased the homestead, and is now ex- 
tensively engaged in the same line of agriculture, 
with the additional industry of cattle breeding. The 
place has been owned and occupied by Sheldons 
ever since 1740, when the country was a wilder- 
ness. 

In 1886 Mr. Sheldon was united in matrimony 
with Mrs. Clara Easton, the widow of Edgar Easton, 
and a daughter of Charles Van Gilder, a cigar manu- 
facturer of Suffield, her native town. To the mar- 
riage of Mr. and Mrs. Sheldon were born two chil- 
dren: William Harrison, born Aug. 1, 1888, who 
died June t8, 1889; and Edwin Raymond, born 
Aug. 16, 1891. Death bereft Mr. Sheldon of his 
wife Nov. 26, 1893. 

In politics Mr. Sheldon is a stalwart Repub- 
lican, has served as assessor and justice of the peace 
of Suffield, and also as a grand juror. In 1896 he 
was elected a member of the State Legislature, in 
which he served on the committee on Towns, 
Counties and County Seats, with unusual effective- 
ness, and to the entire satisfaction of the august 
body of which he was a member. In his views of 
religion, Mr. Sheldon is liberal and somewhat Lit i- 
tudinarian, but is nevertheless a sincere Christian 
and liberal in his contributions to the support of 
the various churches of his neighborhood. He be- 
lieves in free education, and awls in every m >vement 
to advance and maintain the public schools. That 
he is a favorite with the comunity in which he lives 
is very manifest, as he has been chosen, ever since 
he readied In- majority, to till some position of 
honor and trust in which la- might converse the 
intei : his fellow citizens. 

S. TERRY WELLS, a successful agriculturist 

of East Winds >r. 1- one of the progressive citizens 

influence is felt in the community as a power 



874 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



on the side of advancement. As a member of one 
of the old families of the town he well maintains 
the reputation for good citizenship established by 
its members in past times. 

Mr. Wells is of the sixth generation in descent 
from Joshua Wells, St., who died in Windsor in 
1 72 1. aged seventy-five years. His birth place is 
not known, but is supposed to have been in this 
country. Joshua Wells, Jr., an early resident of 
East Windsor, the line extending through Lamp- 
son, the great-grandfather of our subject; Joshua 
(3), the grandfather, and Solomon, the father, all 
of whom were born in East Windsor, and resided 
there throughout their lives. The name was origin- 
ally spelled Wills, and has also been spelled Willis. 

Solomon Wells, our subject's father, was born 
July 28, 1793, and died Jan. 25, 1853. He mar- 
ried Miss Dorcas Terry, who was born July 3, 
1799, daughter of Christopher Terry, of the town 
of Enfield, this county, and she survived him many 
years, dying Feb. 15, 1878. This worthy couple 
had two children: S. Terry, our subject, and Eliza- 
beth, born Jan. 27, 1837, who married Charles H. 
Wells, of Suffield. 

Our subject was born Feb. 17, 1831, on his pres- 
ent farm, where he has always made his home. 
During his youth he attended Scantic Academy, 
Wilbraham Seminarv, at Wilbraham, Mass., and the 
academy at East Hampton, Mass., and on leaving 
school he engaged in farming with his father. Since 
the death of the latter he has had the sole manage- 
ment of the estate, and in connection with general 
farming he is extensively interested in dairying and 
tobacco culture. The homestead comprises one 
hundred acres of excellent land and he also owns a 
fifty-acre tract in the town. His interest in the 
welfare of agriculturists generally is shown by his 
active work in the local Grange, of which he has 
been master for five years, and he is prominent in 
the management of the First Congregational Church 
at Scantic, having served as clerk and treasurer 
for forty years. For forty years he has been a 
member of the local school board, and for twenty- 
five years of that time he has done effective work 
as acting school visitor. He is a stanch Republican, 
being one of the valued advisors of the town 
organization, and in 1890 was elected first selectman, 
serving with Elisha G. Morton and George A. 
Ellis. 

In 1857 Mr. Wells married Miss Sarah L. Prior, 
daughter of Harvey Prior, a well-known resident 
of this county, who' served many years as deputy 
sheriff, and was collector of taxes for twenty-five 
years, in the town of East Windsor. 

Herbert C. Wells, our subject's only son, was 
born Aug. 2, 1867, and now resides at the home- 
stead. He was educated at the Connecticut Liter- 
ary Institute, in Suffield, and has shown decided 
talent as a musician and in the art of taxidermy, to 
which he devotes much of his leisure time. In 
1897 he married Miss Jane P., daughter of Homer 



S. and Adeline (Bartlett) Allyn, of East Windsor, 
and two children, Eleanor Adelaide, and Louisa Gris. 
wold, have blessed the union. 

CHARLES H. GRAHAM, the present well- 
known treasurer of the Upson Nut Co., of Union- 
vile, was born in New Britain, Hartford county, 
Oct. 15, 1837, and is of Scottish descent, his pater- 
nal great-grandfather having been a native of Scot- 
land. His grandfather, Curtis Graham, was a resi- 
dent of Norwich, Conn., where he was engaged in 
the saddlery business. He married Paulina Lord, 
and they had three children : Gilbert, a resident of 
New Britain, Conn. ; Mary, of Indiana ; and Will- 
iam Lord, father of our subject. All are now de- 
ceased. 

William Lord Graham was born, reared and edu- 
cated in Norwich. In early life he followed the 
trade of a brass-turner in New Britain, and later en- 
gaged in the manufacture of cow bells and hames 
for harness, at that place. He died in Burlington, 
Conn., in 1869. He married Miss Almira Wihnot, 
a daughter of Thomas Wilmot, of Burlington, and 
to them were born four children : Charles H., our 
subject; Walter A., a superintendent of the Fair 
Haven & Westville railroad, and a resident of New 
Haven, Conn. ; Mary Jane, wife of Albert J. Brewer, 
of Unionville; and William J., also a resident of 
Unionville. For his second wife the father mar- | 
ried Frances Pettibone, and of the children born to 
them one son, Arthur, now a resident of Burlington, 
Conn., grew to maturity. 

Charles H. Graham passed his boyhood and 
youth in New Britain and Burlington, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools. At the age of eighteen 
vears he commenced working for Dwight Langdon, 
who founded the Upson Nut Co., in 1854, and under 
him he became thoroughly conversant with bolt 
manufacturing. The firm was later composed of 
A. S. Upson and George Dunham, who carried on 
business for a time under the firm name of Upson 
& Dunham, and it was later changed to the Upson 
Nut Co., of which A. S. Upson is president; W. A. 
Hitchcock, secretary ; and Charles H. Graham, treas- 
urer. Our subject was employed as shipper by Up- 
son & Dunham and had a contract for making bolts 
with the Upson Nut Co. ; subsequently was super- 
intendent of the factory for fifteen years ; and upon 
the death of Samuel Frisbie, became treasurer. He 
is also secretary of the Union Nut & Bolt Co., of 
New York and Chicago; assistant treasurer of the 
Union Rolling Mill Co., of Cleveland, Ohio., vice- 
president of the Unionville Water Co., and a di- 
rector in the Union Water Co., of Unionville. He 
is a practical mechanic, thoroughly conversant with 
every department of the business. Our subject in- 
vented the first automatic lathe for threading bolts, 
for which he secured a patent. 

At Unionville Mr. Graham married Miss Erne- 
line A. Upson, a daughter of Seth and Martha Up- 
son, and they have five children : Walter E., a 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



875 



bookkeeper, who married Clarabel Lusk, and has 
I two children, Kenneth and Arline; Samuel F.. as- 
I sistant superintendent of the Upson Xut Co.. and 
one of the selectman of Farmington ; Henry C, a 
j resident of Cleveland, Ohio, where he has the posi- 
| tion of paymaster for the Upson Nut Co. (in Au- 
gust, 1899, he married Alice Taylor, of Unionville ) ; 
and Lila E. and Winifred, both deceased. 

Sociallv Mr. Graham is affiliated with Evening 
Star Lodge Xo. 101, F. & A. M.. and with his wife 
is a member of the Congregational Church of Union- 
ville. He has served his fellow citizens as justice of 
the peace and as a member of the board of relief. 
He has always made the most of his opportunities, 
and his life illustrates what can be accomplished 
through industry, perseverance, good management 
and a determination to succeed. By his straight- 
forward, honorable course, he has also won the 
public confidence and the high regard of his fellow 
citizens. 

JAMES WOOD. Among the influential mem- 

- of the farming community of West Suffield, 
and one of its most prosperous citizens, is the gen- 
tleman whose name introduces this sketch. He is 
entirely a self-made man in the truest sense of the 
Word, having been the only architect of his own 
fortunes, and he has raised himself from humble cir- 
cumstances to a position of affluence, aided only by 
his own strong arms, indomitable energy and laud- 
able ambition. 

Mr. Wood was born Aug. 7, 1829, on the banks 
of the Thames, in the County of Kent, England, 
and is a son of Richard and Mary (Knowles) 
Wood, who spent their entire lives there. In their 
family were six children: John, who died in Bloom- 
field, Conn. ; George, who died in Southwick, Mass. ; 
Catharine, and Mary, who both died in England; 
Richard, who died in Somers, Conn.; and James, 
our subject. 

As his parents were poor, Mr. Wood had no 
educational advantages, and at the tender age of 
eight years began working as a farm laborer, re- 
ceiving but small wages even after becoming able 
to do a man's work. He was employed in that 
Capacity until he was nineteen, when he determined 
to try his fortune in the Xew World, where he be- 
lieved that better opportunities were afforded am- 
bitions and industrious young men. Bidding good- 
bye to their aged parents, he and his brother Rich- 
ard went to Liverpool and took passage on the 
sailing vessel "Ocean Queen," the brother advanc- 
ing the money to pay for the same. After six 
weeks spent upon the water, they landed in Boston, 
and proceeded at once to Springfield, Mass. The 
wing day our subject came to Suffield, Conn., 
where he found employment with Col. Simon Ken- 
dall, as a farm hand, and during the two years he 
remained with that gentleman he worked for eight 
dollars per month during the summer season, and 
attended school through the winter, doing the chores 



his board. The following two years he spent 
with Seth King. Both employers he served faith- 
fully and well, and they became his lifelong friends 
and benefactors. From his wages he saved $400 
which he invested in sixteen acres of land, Air. 
King assisting him in paying for the same. After 
operating it Ei r -i\ months and cutting most of the 
timber from the land, he sold the place for twenty- 
live dollars more than he paid for it. His next 
purchase consisted .of forty acres of land in Aga- 
wam, .Mass.. where he spent one year, and on sell- 
ing out returned to Suffield where he bought 
twenty acres known as the William Pomero) farm. 
There he made his home for sixteen years, engaged 
in general fanning, tobacco raising. lumbering, 
quarrying stone, and other occupations by which 
he could earn an honest dollar. In this way he was 
able to save enough to purchase a much larger 
farm, and bought his present place of seventy-five 
acres, known as the Granger farm, upon which he 
has now resided for twenty-eight years. 1 le has 
spent $4,000 in improvements upon the place, in- 
cluding the erection of tobacco sheds and the put- 
ting of a stone basement under his barn. 

In Suffield, Mr. Wood was married, in [853, to 
Miss Sophia Lester, a daughter of Milton Lester, 
and to them were born seven children: Silas L., 
a farmer; Luella J., wife of Calvin Feelen, of 
Suffield; Martha, Henry and Mary, who all died 
young; Arthur H., a farmer; and James E., a resi- 
dent of Suffield. The wife and mother, who was 
a faithful member of the Baptist Church, died in 
1885, and was laid to rest near the First Baptist 
Church at Zion's Hill. Mr. Wood was again mar- 
ried, in 1895, his second union being with Airs. Jane 
E. (Lemon) Taylor, widow of Edwin Taylor, and 
daughter of James Lemon. She was horn in 
Belchertown, .Mass. Politically Mr. Wood is identi- 
fied with the Republican party, and religiously is a 
member of the Baptist Church. In ail the relations 
of life he has been found true and faithful to every 
trust reposed in him. and he has a large circle of 
friends and acquaintances who esteem him highly. 

XORTOX ABBE, an enterprising and promi- 
nent farmer of Enfield, was horn Nov. _'. [825, on 
the old Abbe homestead in that town, which he 
now occupies, a -on of Levi and Dorcas (Wolcott) 
Abbe, natives ^i Enfield and East Windsor, re- 
spectively. 

Mr. Abbe's paternal grandparents were Daniel 
and Salla (Pease) Abbe, tin- former born Nov. 7. 

1750. and bis wife on Dee. 2, 1757. Daniel Abbe wis 

a large landowner, and left each of his surviving 

children a competency. They were: Daniel, Jr., 

'I imothy, Levi. Sally I'. I Mrs. Luther Vllen 1 ; 

rge 1 1 1. < ieorgel 2), I tarris, Erastus and 

Idard. The great-grandfather of our subject 

John Abbe, son of Thomas, the progenitoi 

tin's branch of the Abbe family in this locality, whi re 

ettled about 1725. Thomas was a son of John 



876 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Abbe, a native of Maryland, of Huguenot stock, who 
was among the pioneers of Wrentham, Massachu- 
setts. 

Levi Abbe, father of our subject, inherited 
the homestead now occupied by our subject. He 
was a prominent farmer, and lived and died on the 
homestead. His children were Marionette (Mrs. 
Seth Phelps), Dorcas (Mrs. Rufus Parsons), Salla 
(Mrs. George King), Wolcott, Pease, Mary A. 
(Mrs. George Barber), Daniel, Harriet, Gilbert, 
Maria (Mrs. Albert Abbe), and Norton, our sub- 
ject, now the sole survivor of the family. 

Norton Abbe has always resided on the old 
homestead, where he was born and reared, and is 
a progressive farmer. He married, Nov. 27, 1856, 
Eliza Turvey, a native ^f England, daughter of 
William and Sarah (Mc..__.ell) Turvey. She bore 
him four sons, Edwin W., Albert N., Herbert A. 
and Levi P. Mr. and Mrs. Abbe are members of 
the First Congregational Church of Enfield. He 
is also a member of the church committee, and was 
formerly superintendent of the Sabbath-school. 
Politically he is a Republican. 

JOHN P. JONES, now a prosperous farmer 
of the town of South Windsor, is a representative 
of one of the old Hartford county families. He is 
of the fifth generation in descent from Nathaniel 
Jones, who about 1714, migrated from the Colony 
of Massachusetts and settled upon a farm in Hart- 
ford county, Conn., the line being traced as fol- 
lows: (2) John; (3) Nathaniel; (4) John P.; and 
(5) John P., our subject. Nathaniel Jones, the 
grandfather, was a teamster in the Revolutionary 
army, he being at that time sixteen years old. He 
resided on what is now State street, east of Front 
street, Hartford, that thoroughfare not having been 
opened through the farm from Front street to the 
river until 1801. 

John P. Jones, the father of our subject, was 
born in Hartford in 1791. Until his death, in 1880, 
one of his most pleasant memories was that as a 
child of seven years, in 1798, he saw Gen. Wash- 
ington at Hartford. He became a soldier in the 
war of 181 2. He engaged in farming upon the 
ancestral home in Hartford for a few years, after 
which he engaged in the retail grocery and oyster 
business, in Hartford, continuing same about thirty 
years. In 1847 ne moved to the farm in South 
Windsor, six and one-half miles distant from Hart- 
ford, and there remained until his death, at the 
ripe age of eighty-nine years. He was a man of 
prominence, and held various public offices. Mr. 
Jones married Lucy E. Pratt, who died in 1878, 
aged seventy-seven years. To this union were 
horn eight children : Mary, who died in December, 
1843; Martha, who resides with our subject; John 
P. ; Oliver, a farmer and tobacco grower of South 
Windsor; Nathaniel, also a farmer and tobacco 
grower of South Windsor; Jane E., living with 
our subject; and Lucy and James, deceased. 

John P. Jones was born in Hartford May 15, 



1832, and was about fifteen years old when he came 
with his father from Hartford to South Windsor. 
He was educated at what was known as the Cen- 
ter school house, which stood on the site of the 
store in Hartford now occupied in part by Fred- 
erick Ellsworth. Since coming to South Windsor, 
more than a half century ago, he has ever since 
continued to reside there, engaged in general farm- 
ing and tobacco growing. 

Mr. Jones has at various times been called upon 
to fill public office. He is a Democrat in politics, 
and in 1882 was elected on the ticket of that party 
to the State Legislature. He was in 1881 elected 
selectman of South Windsor ; has for three years 
filled the office of assessor; and for two years was 
a member of the board of relief. He is an indus- 
trious and successful farmer, held in high esteem 
by the community in which he lives. 

HON. GEORGE FITCH KENDALL, State 
Senator from the Third District of Connecticut, is 
descended from several of the oldest and most in- 
fluential families of the State, and his high ideal 
of citizenship is worthy of his ancestry. As a 
business man he has shown enterprise and sound 
judgment, but his name will be longest remembered 
for his efficient and faithful work in public life. 
No movement of any merit is projected in his town 
to which his influence is not given, and as a legis- 
lator he has identified himself with the best interests 
of the State at large, winning the approbation of the 
best people of the Commonwealth, irrespective of 
party. 

Mr. Kendall's ancestors in the direct paternal 
line settled in Suffield at an early period, soon after 
their emigration from England. Joshua Kendall, 
our subject's great-grandfather, was born in Suf- 
field, and followed farming there throughout his 
life. He was an excellent citizen, and for many 
years was a leading member of the Presbyterian 
Church. His wife's maiden name was Theodosia 
Bronson, and they had three children: Horace, 
Mahala (who married Calvin Spencer), and Simon. 

Simon Kendall, our subject's grandfather, was 
born July 29, 1785, and died March 29, 1856. He 
was educated in the district and select schools of 
Suffield, and in early manhood taught schools for 
some time, later engaging in farming and stock 
raising, his homestead comprising 200 acres of 
land. He took an active part in religious affairs 
as a member of the Baptist Church, and was a promi- 
nent worker in the local Democratic organization, 
serving as selectman. His strict views on temper- 
ance were unusual for that day, and he and his 
wife, Elizabeth Kent, were both much above the 
average in intelligence and culture. Of their eight 
children, George Fitch died in Richmond, Va. ; 
Betsey (deceased) married Josiah W. King, of 
Xenia, Ohio ; Rebecca, twin of Betsey, never mar- 
ried ; Simon B. is mentioned more fully below ; 
Clarissa married Edmund T. Halladay, now de- 
ceased, and is the mother of Hon. Edmund Halla- 





d^U^ 



878 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



mandery No. i, K. T. ; Sphinx Temple, Mystic 
Shrine ; Lyman Council No. 35, O. U. A. M., of 
which he is a charter member and a past counsellor ; 
Gideon Granger Lodge No. 62, K. of P., at Sufheld, 
of which he was a charter member and first chan- 
cellor commander, and is also a past chancellor. In 
1898 he was made a member of the Grand Lodge of 
K. of P. at Norwich, Conn. In Washington Chap- 
ter No. 30, R. A. M., he has held all the offices up to 
that of high priest, to which he was elected, al- 
though he never served. Air. Kendall and his wife 
are prominent members of the First Congregational 
Church of Suffield, and for vears he has been super- 
intendent of the Sabbath-school. Mrs. Kendall is 
a member of the D. A. R., her great-grandfather, 
Gathelius Cowing, of Scituate, Mass., having re- 
sponded to the call of Paul Revere, and served from 
1775 to 1 78 1 in the Continental army. 

In 1870 Mr. Kendall married Miss Julia Anna 
Cowing, a native of Port Jervis, N. Y., and daugh- 
ter of Job and Eleanor (Cowles) Cowing, of Suf- 
field, of whom further mention is made elsewhere. 
The only son of this union, Frank W., died in 
infancy. 

HON. ALFRED W. CONVERSE. An hon- 
orable ambition, sustained by practical ability and 
unyielding energy, is a passport to success, and the 
records of the distinguished men of today furnish 
interesting illustrations of the rule. It is a pleas- 
ure to present to our readers such a forceful exam- 
ple as is found in the following biography of this 
successful business man and gallant soldier. 

Mr. Converse is a leading resident of Windsor 
Locks, and belongs to an old Connecticut family, 
and is of the ninth generation in descent from (I) 
Edward Converse, born in England in 1590, died in 
Woburn, Mass., Aug. 10, 1663; (II) Lieut. James, 
born in England 1620, died in Woburn, Mass., May 
10, 1715 ; (III) Maj. James, born in W'oburn, Mass., 
Nov. 16, 1645, died in Woburn, Mass., July 8, 1706; 
(IV) Capt. Josiah, born in Woburn, Mass., Sept. 
12, 1684, died in Brookfield, Mass., 1771 ; (V) Lieut. 
Josiah, born in Woburn, Mass., March 10, 1710, 
died in Stafford, Conn., Sept. 11, 1775, he being the 
pioneer of the family in Connecticut. 

(VI) Jesse Converse, son of Josiah, the pio- 
neer, was born in Stafford, Sept. 1, 1745, and died 
there July 8, 1805 ; during the Revolutionary war he 
served as a soldier from that town. 

(VII) Eli Converse, our subject's grandfather, 
was born in "Stafford, Sept. 28, 1770, and died there 
Nov. 5, 1853 ; he followed farming there for many 
years. 

(VIII) Hannibal Alden Converse, the father 
of our subject, was born April 9, 1807, at the old 
home in Stafford, where he grew to manhood. In 
1837 he engaged in the iron foundry business in 
Stafford, having learned the trade at Worcester, 
Mass., and in 1846 he bought a foundry at Windsor 
Locks which he also carried on. He sold out his 
business in Stafford in 1854, and removed to Wind- 



sor Locks, Conn., where he continued the foundry 
business until his death on t'eo. 15, 1881. He was a 
man of influence, and became a leading member of 
the local Republican organization ; while in Staf- 
ford he served for a time as town clerk, and later 
he was a selectman in the town of Windsor Locks. 
He was married, at Stafford, Conn., to Miss Julia 
A. Ferry, who died in 1890, in Windsor Locks. 
They had five children: Mary P., who married C. 
H. McMaster (both now deceased) ; Alfred'W., our 
subject; Julia E. (deceased), who married Yashni 
Warner; Joseph H. (deceased) ; and Clare A., wife 
of Dr. S. R. Burnap. Joseph H. was killed at Cold 
Harbor June 3, 1864, while serving as inspector- 
general on Gen. Martindale s staff, in the 18th Army 
Corps, and major of the nth Conn. V. I. He en- 
listed in April, 1861, and went to the front as 
orderly sergeant of Company C, 1st Regiment, 
three-months men ; soon after his discharge he en- 
listed in Company B, nth Regiment, was elected 
second lieutenant, and rapidly rose through success- 
ive ranks to that of maior. His memory is cher- 
ished by his old comrades, and G. A. R. Post No. 
67, at Windsor Locks, is named in his honor. He 
was married, at St. Albans, Vt., to Nellie E. Fuller, 
now resident of Hartford, Connecticut. 

Alfred W. Converse was born Aug. I, 1835, in 
Stafford, and his education was begun there, but 
later he attended the academies at Monson and Wil-j 
braham, Mass. He learned the trade of foundry- 
man in all its branches with ins father, but his ca- 
reer was interrupted by his enlistment, on Sept. 1, 
1862, in Company C, 25th Regiment Conn. V. I., 
which was assigned to duty in the 19th Army Corps, 
serving in the Department of the Gulf. He was 
mustered out in August, 1863, with an honorable 
record, having been promoted from private to ser- 
geant, second lieutenant and first lieutenant. While 
holding the latter rank he had command of the com- 
pany after the captain was killed. Upon his return 
from the army he became a member of the firm of 
H. A. Converse & Co., but for many years prior to 
the death of H. A. Converse the firm was A. W. 
Converse & Co., the father being the company. In 
1 89 1 our subject sold out to E. Horton & Son, and 
for the past twenty-tour years he has been success- 
fully engaged in the insurance business. In 1871 
the Windsor Locks Savings Bank was organized, 
and he served as treasurer of that institution from 
that time. As a member of the Legislature from 
Windsor Locks from 1896 to 1898 Mr. Converse did 
effective service, and he has frequently been called 
upon to fill positions of responsibility. He was ap- 
pointed postmaster, to fill an unexpired tern: during 
Andrew Johnson's administration, and served by 
re-appointment until a year after Cleveland's first 
election. He was again appointed by President 
Harrison, but was out during Cleveland's second 
administration, and is now serving under appoint- 
ment from President McKinley. For fifteen years 
he served as town clerk, registrar and treasurer. 

Mr. Converse was married, in Stafford. May 18, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



879 



1857, to Miss Julia Orcutt, daughter of Harvey ( )r- 
cutt, a well-known resident of that town, and the 
following- children have blessed the union : [da < .. : 
Alfred Harvey, deceased; Alfred, who died at the 
age of thirteen years; and Myrtle B., who married 
Alfred Elson, Jr., of Stafford. Conn., and has had 
two children : Alfred C. (deceased) and Florence 
C. Socially Mr. Converse and his family are highly 
esteemed, and he is connected with J. 11. Converse 
Post Xo. 67, G. A. R. ; the Army and Navy Club of 
the State; the Society of the Army of the Potomac; 
the 19th Army Corps Association; the Connecticut 
Historical Society; the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution; Euclid Lodge Xo. 109, A. F. & A. M.: 
Washington Chapter Xo. 30, R. A. M. ; Suffield 
Council Xo. 23, R. & S. M., Suffield; Washington 
Commandery Xo. I, K. T., Hartford; and Sphinx 
Temple, Mystic Shrine. 

HOX\ JOHX D. LUBY, a prominent represent- 
ative of the agricultural interests of Burlington, and 
one of its most progressive and influential citizens, 
was born in Westchester, X. Y., July 25, 1853. 

James Luby, father of our subject, was a native 
of County Tipperary, Ireland, and a son of Michael 
Luhy, who was born in the same county, followed 
the occupation of farming throughout life, and was 
a devout member of the Catholic Church. James 
Luby received only a limited education in the schools 
of his native land, and grew to manhood upon a 
farm. With the hope of bettering his financial con- 
dition in the new world, he bade good-bye to home 
and friends in 183 1, and came to America on the 
sailing-vessel "Essex," which was eight weeks in 
making the voyage. He landed at Xew York, and 
in that city and at Fort Washington worked at dif- 
ferent occupations for twenty-two years, a part of 
the time being employed as a stone-mason and 
farmer. He next went to Westchester, X. Y., where 
he worked in a foundry for three years, and then 
came to Berlin, Hartford Co., Conn. There and at 
Southington he followed agricultural pursuits for 
three years and subsequently was similarly em- 
ployed at Otis, Mass. Later he engaged in farm- 
ing at Bakersville, Xew Hartford, Litchfield Co., 
Conn., for four years, and in 1865 took up his resi- 
dence in Burlington, purchasing a farm of forty 
acres near Burlington Center, where he followed 
farming during the remainder of his life, d\ ing there 
in 1885. His remains were interred in the Catholic 
cemetery at Collinsville. He was a consistent mem- 
ber of the Catholic Church, and was a good-hearted, 
honest and industrious man. In politics he was a 
Republican. In 1836, for his first wife, he wedded 
Margaret Reardon, a native of County Cork, Ire- 
land, and four children were born to them: Nora, 
William, Margaret and Mary. The mother of tl 
died at Fort Washington, in [849, and in [852 Mr. 
Luhy married Miss Ann Duggan, a native of ( !astle- 
town-Roche, County Cork, Ireland, and a daughter 
of Thomas Duggan. She was fourteen week-- in 
crossing the Atlantic, on a sailing-vessel, when she 



emigrated to America, landing at Xew York. She. 
too, was a faithful member of the Catholic Church, 
and was a devoted wife and mother. She died in 
Burlington in 1884. and was laid to rest in the 
Catholic cemetery in Collinsville. Our .subject is 
the eldest in a family of six children, the Others 
being: Elizabeth, wife of Edward Higginson; 
James, a resident of Berlin, Conn.; Katherine, wife 
of William Stretch, of Meriden. Conn; Ellen, who 
died in infancy; and Ellen i.'i, who dii d at the age 
of three years. 

John D. Luby, subject of this sketch, was edu- 
cated in the district schools of Burlinsrton, and as- 
sisted his father in the labors of the farm, remaining 
tmder the parental roof until [887, when he pur- 
chased his present place, known as the Benham 
farm — a tract of 250 acres on which he has since 
engaged in general farming, tobacco raising, dairy- 
ing, market gardening and also lumbering, with 
marked success, becoming one of the prosperous and 
substantial citizens of his community. Me married 
Miss Julia Deenihan, a native of Hartford, ami a 
daughter of Richard Deenihan, and to them have 
been born four children, namely: Ernest, Robert 
Emmet, Ann and Ressie. The family hold mem- 
bership in the Catholic Church. 

Politically Mr. Luby is an ardent supporter of 
the Democratic party, and a recognized leader in its 
ranks. In 1893 he was elected to the State Legisla- 
ture, and filled that office with credit to himself and 
to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. I le 
has also served as tax collector, as a member of the 
school board, and as constable of Burlington for 
twenty years. Fraternally he is a member of the 
< irange, and is deeply interested in public affair- and 
the good of the community where almost his entire 
life has been passed, lie is genial, ci iurte< >us, enter- 
prising and progressive, possessed of commendable 
public spirit and the highest integrity, and reflects 
credit on the community which has honored him 
with office. 

HOX. WILLIAM II. WHITEHEAD, form- 
erly a representative in the State Legislature from 
the town of Simsbury, is one of the most highly 
esteemed residents of that locality, ami sin,, [890 
has served continuously as first selectman. Nearly 
forty consecutive years of service with the Ensign 
Bickford Manufacturing Co., \<v which he is now 
the mechanical superintendent, bespeaks unu< 
trustworthiness, especiall) as that firm is the princi- 
pal one in its line in tin- 1 Pnited States, and as well 
known as any in tin- world. 

Mr. Whitehead was born Jan. 30. 1837, in Derby, 
England, but the greater portion of his life has 
been -pent in Sim-bury. Samuel Whitehead, his 
father, was born and reared 111 Derby, and made 
his home there for some time after his man ia 
to Miss Mary A. Wood, a native of the same pi 
By occupation he was a chinawaic maker ami d 
rat >r, and, hoping for better opportunities for gain- 
ing a livelihood than his native land afforded, he 



880 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



came to America in the spring of 1837, accompanied 
by his wife and infant son, William H. After a 
voyage of six weeks in a sailing-vessel the little 
party landed in New York, in July, 1837, but owing 
to the panic of that year the father found it diffi- 
cult to secure any employment. His vain search 
extended as far as Philadelphia, and on his return 
to Xew York he had about concluded to go back to 
England when he met Joseph Eels, then connected 
with Bacon, Bickford & Co., of Simsbury, manu- 
facturers of blasting fuse. Promptly accepting Mr. 
Eels' offer of employment at Simsbury, Mr. White- 
head removed to that town, where he resided many 
years, remaining in the employ of the same firm 
during his active life, and at one time was sent by 
them to attend to some work at the old Newgate 
Prison, when the prisoners were removed to Weth- 
ersfield. His death occurred in 1850 at Simsbury, 
where his mortal remains were interred, and his 
estimable wife, who died in 1885, now rests beside 
him. Early in life they both united with the Meth- 
odist Church, and after coming to this country they 
continued in active fellowship. They were much 
respected for their earnest Christian character, and 
both their sons have done credit to their training, 
Samuel being also a prominent resident of Simsbury. 
As our subject was but six months old when he 
came to Simsbury his education was begun in the 
district schools of the town. Among his early 
teachers were Mary Weston, Ellen Cornish and La- 
vinia Goodridge, and when about fourteen years old 
he attended for one term a select school in West 
Weatogue, conducted by William L. Humison. At 
the age of seventeen he began to learn the machin- 
ist's trade with Woodruff & Beach, of Hartford, 
and on April 4, 1858, he completed an apprentice- 
ship of four years. His wages were small, rang- 
ing from $10 to $20 per month, and the first $100 
was reserved as a guarantee of good behavior, and 
paid to him at the end of his term with six per cent, 
interest. He continued with the firm for a time, 
but later went to New Haven to work for W. & E. 
T. Fitch, and on July 1, i860, returned to Simsbury 
and entered the employ of Toy, Bickford & Co., as 
a machinist. His faithfulness and skill soon made 
him invaluable to the firm, and in 1868 he was sent 
to Brooklyn, Alameda Co., Cal., to build another 
plant for them. On his return he was appointed 
mechanical superintendent, which position he has 
ever since held. His work has brought him sub- 
stantial returns, enabling him to accumulate a fine 
competence, and as a self-made man he may well 
take satisfaction in his high standing as a citizen. 
Politically he has been a Republican from his first 
vote, and his active interest in the party's success, 
together with his natural ability for political work, 
make him a leader in the local organization. For 
one year he served as a member of the town board 
of relief, and in 1889 he was elected to the Legisla- 
ture, while, as stated above, he has been the first 
selectman since 1890. As a member of the Meth- 
odist Church of Simsbury he has done much for 



the cause of religion, and for nearly thirty years he 
has been superintendent of the Sunday-school. He 
has also served as steward and trustee of the So- 
ciety, and for some years past has been treasurer. 
Socially he is identified with the Masonic Frater- 
nity, being a member of St. Mark's Lodge No. 36, 
F. & A. M., at Simsbury. 

In 1859 Mr. Whitehead married Miss Anna L. 
King, of Hartford, who died in Simsbury in 1873. 
In 1875 he married Miss Anna L. Hamblin, who was 
born July 14, 1842, at Yarmouth, Mass., daughter of 
Joshua and Olive (Ryder) Hamblin. She is a lady 
of unusual intelligence, and taught school for some 
time previous to her marriage. Her efficient aid 
has been a factor in her husband's success, and she 
is prominent in church worK as a member of the 
Ladies' Missionary Society and assistant superin- 
tendent of the Sunday-school. Mr. Whitehead has 
one son by his first marriage, Joseph R., now in the 
employ of the Ensign, Bickford & Co., making 
three generations of the family who have held po- 
sitions with that firm. Joseph R. Whitehead mar- 
ried Miss Alice Redeatte, and has three children, 
Mary, Hollis and Olive, all at home, 

CHARLES F. LEWIS, proprietor of the Wind- 
sor Mills, which occupy the oldest mill site in Con- 
necticut, was born in Chester, this State, May 23, 
1838, a son of Ansel and Deiadamie (Lynde) Lewis, 
and is of the eighth generation of hfs family in 
America. 

George and Sarah (Jenkins) Lewis, the first of 
the family in the New World, came from East Green- 
wich, county of Kent, England, to Plymouth, Mass., 
about 1630, moved to Scituate in 1633, and thence 
to Barnstable in 1637. From them our subject 
traces his descent through Thomas, of Barnstable; 
Thomas (2), of Middletown, Conn., 1700; Zebu- 
Ion, of East Haddam, Conn ; Nathan, of Haddam, 
Conn. ; Francis Robert, of Haddam ; and Ansel, of 
Chester. Francis Robert Lewis married Sarah 
Pelton, who was one of the longest-lived women 
of the State, attaining the age of ninety-eight years. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier. 

Ansel Lewis was a mechanic, and remarkably 
expert. He worked a great deal as a mason, and 
as a blacksmith could sharpen his own tools. He 
lived to be sixty-five years old, his wife to be eighty- 
seven, and of their six children, the eldest, ( 1 ) Syl- 
via Rosilla, born Aug. 19, 1823, married William 
Douglass, and died in 1898 at Colchester, Conn. (2) 
Henrietta Minerva, born Oct. 15, 1825, died young. 
(3) Harlow C, born Nov. 20, 1826, is a molder by 
trade, and resides in Chester, Conn. (4) Sally 
Maria, born Sept. 2, 1829, died young. (5) Charles 
F. is our subject. (6) Daniel W., born March 29, 
1 83 1, was a member of Company G, 1st Conn. Heavy 
Artillery, during the Civil war, and died at Gaines 
Mills, Va., of typhoid fever. 

Charles F. Lewis has fought his own fight 
through life. He was educated in the district school 
at Chester, but never attended in summer after he 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



681 



had reached his eleventh year. Later he worked out 
for his hoard and clothes, with the privilege of at- 
tending school in winter, in Chester and 1 >eep River, 
Middlesex county, and in 1857 came to Hartford 
county, and worked at Plainville in a bit-brace fac- 
tory. In 1858 he shipped on a coasting vessel, and 
for some time served on boats plying between the 
Connecticut river and New York City. Going in 
1861 to Springfield, Mass., he was for one year em- 
ployed in the polishing department of the Spring- 
field armory ; for the next two years he held the po- 
sition of assistant foreman and inspector. On Sept. 
I, 1864, he joined the 30th Company Unattached 
Heavy Artillery. Mass. Vols., which had been raised 
in Springfield, and was sent to do garrison duty at 
Arlington Heights, Ya., but subsequently detailed as 
guard at headquarters. Although the company had 
enlisted for one year it was mustered out June [6, 
1865, at Fort C. F. Smith, the war having been 
brought to a close. 

Mr. Lewis was first married June 8, 1863, at 
West Suffield, Conn., to Miss Chloe Hastings, 
daughter of Norman and Amy (Remington) Hast- 
ings, of Suffield, the ceremony being performed by 
Rev. Asa A. Robinson, of Hastings Hill, Suffield 
town, pastor of the Baptist Church there, one of the 
earliest churches of that denomination in the State. 
After the war our subject engaged in farming at 
Suffield, on shares, for four years, on the farm of 
Deacon Elihu S. Taylor. He then returned to the 
armory at Springfield, worked there some time, and 
then again came to the E. S. Taylor farm, West 
Suffield, where he reconstructed a water-power and 
started a sawmill, which he operated until the fall 
of 1877. In January, 1878, he took charge of the 
mill at Windsor, which had been purchased by Lewis 
& Hastings 1 Abijah Hastings, his brother-in-law), 
under which style it was conducted until 1881, when 
Mr. Hastings retired, and Mr. Lewis having bought 
him out has since been alone, though of late years 
his son has assisted him materially. The mill is 
largelv devoted to gristmilling. Mr. Lewis remod- 
eled it in 1888, putting in new machinery through- 
out, and is about to make fun her improvements to 
keep abreast of the times. He began the bush 
of sawmilling as a mere novice, but has learned 
every detail of the processes, including mill dn 
ing and sawing, by a careful perusal of hooks, and 
is now doing a first-class merchant-custom mill 
business. 

In politics Mr. Lewis is a Republican, and is 
regular in his attendance at the polls, but rejects 
all offices. He has been elected constable and jus- 
tice of the peace, but in both instances refused to 
qualify. Fraternally he is a member of the Blue 
Lodge, F. & A. M., at Windsor, of Tyler Lost No. 
50, G. A. R., of Hartford, and is a charter member 

ouncil No. 40, O. L'. A. M., being the present 
Deputy State Councilor of the Order, in which he 
is well-known throughout Connecticut. For three 
years he was a member of the Society Committee oi 
the Congregational Church at Windsor, and his wife 
56 



is a member of the Baptist Church at Suffield. As 
a business man Mr. Lewis 5 name stands without a 
blemish, and as a citizen he is very highly esteemed 
in both town and country. 

Mrs. Chloe Lewis passed away in [879, leaving 
one child, Charles L\, who was horn in [869. l "1 
Nov. IO, 1879, Mr. Lewis married at Hyde Park, 
near Boston, Miss Cora 11. Spear, Rev. M. P. Al- 
derman, an uncle of the bride, performing the cere- 
mony. This union has been blessed with one son, 
George F., born .May 15, [889. In [899 Mr. Lewis 
began the erection of a new home, into which he 
moved on its completion, in the spring of [900. It 
is one of the handsomest and must convenient resi- 
dences in the town. 

Bradford L. Spear, father of Mrs. Cora II. 
Lewis, was a farmer in West Suffield, where he died 
Dec. 13, 1899, at the age of seventy-eight years. 
He married Lucina 1'. Alderman, daughter of Pliny 
Alderman, and they reared a family of three chil- 
dren: Cora II.. Mrs. Lewis; Herbert L., who con 
ducts a milling business in West Suffield in the mill 
Mr. Lewis built, having bought same of our subject; 
and William A., a farmer in West Suffield. The 
mother, who in March. [900, attained the ag( 
seventy-three years, still resides on the farm in 
Suffield. 

HIRAM 11. TERRY, a well-known resident of 
Warehouse Point, is a worthy representative of an 
old and highly-respected family, and if deserving 
of prominent mention in this volume. His an 
tors were banished from France at an early day on 
account of their adherence to the Protestant faith, 
and took refuge in England, where the famil) re- 
sided many years. About 1050 1 I ) Samuel Terry, 
known in the family as "the Immigrant," came to 
this country and settled in Springfield, Mass. He 
married Ann Lobdell, and had ten children, among 
whom was a son Samuel, known as (apt. Samuel. 

(II) Capt. Samuel Tern was born in Spri 
held July [8, l66l, and died Jan. 2, [730. H 

a man of exemplary piety, being active in church 
work, and was also prominent in local affairs, serv- 
ing as selectman and in other offices, while for a 
1 umber of years he was ensign and captain in the 
militia. He married Hannah Morgan, of Enfield, 
and had six children. 

(III) Dr. Ebenezer Terry, son of Capt. Terry, 
and the next in line of descent, was horn in Enfii Id, 
March 31, 1 696, and died there Aug. _'. 1 7* >. He 
was a man of wealth and prominence, .1 successful 
physician, and at one time practiced at Kingston, 
K. I. At one time he represented his town in the 

islature. His wife, Mary Helms), who was 
born in 1702, died in Enfield April, 5. 1764. They 
had eleven children: Ebenezer, Dorcas, John. 
Mary, Selah, Mehitable (who died in childhood). 
Christopher, Helms, Hiram, Mehitable (2) and 
Samuel. 

(IV) Ebenezer Terry, our subject's gr< at 
grandfather, was horn in South Kingston, R. I., 



882 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Oct. 29, 1722, and died on his farm in Enfield, July 
15, 1817. He was married first in Enfield, on Sept. 
10, 1747, to Elizabeth, daughter of Shubael and Sa- 
rah Geer. She died Oct. 20, 1757, and on Jan. 
20, 1760, he married M indwell, daughter of Israel 
and Sarah (Booth) Pease. By the two marriages 
he had twelve children. 

(Y) Hiram Terry, son of Ebenezer and his 
second wife, was born in Enfield, Dec. 19, 1763, 
and died there Feb. II, 1802. About 1788 lie mar- 
ried Elizabeth Gibbs, who was born Sept. 1, 1755, 
and died in Enfield, Feb. 7, 1813. They had four 
children : Elizabeth, Abial Hiram, Mehitable and 
Ruby. 

(VI) Abial Hiram Terry, our subject's grand- 
father, was born March 4, 1791, and became a 
farmer and general mechanic by occupation. He 
married Sabra Holkins, who was born July 30, 
1793, and died in 1840, the remains of both being 
interred at Enfield. Their children were Hiram A. ; 
Elizabeth; Sarah; Mary Jane, who died in infancy; 
Abial H. ; and Ouartus Parsons, now living in 
Warehouse Point. 

(VII) Hiram Abial Terry, our subject's father, 
was born March 14, 1813, and died in 1894, in En- 
field. He began life as a poor boy and for a num- 
ber of years worked at anything he could get to 
do, but in time he became a mechanic of no mean 
ability, being especially efficient as a coppersmith 
and a repairer of clocks. For ten years he was 
a captain on the river, and even while thus en- 
gaged he was often called upon to repair copper stills 
in distilleries. While his early education was limited, 
his mind was naturally bright, and he was much es- 
teemed for his good qualities. On April 6, 1841, he 
married Miss Ann L. Pease, a native of Enfield, born 
Jan. 2, 1 817, and three children were born of the 
union, our subject being the youngest. (1) Ange- 
line P., born Nov. 12, 1843, married Robert S. 
Pomeroy, then of Suffield, and later of Spring- 
field, Mass., who is now deceased. (2) Martha 
A., born Oct. 8, 1847, married Luther Terry Knight, 
and is at present living in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VIII) Hiram Holkins Terry was born Oct. 
17, 1849, an d after a course in the common schools 
of Enfield attended the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute, at Suffield, under Rev. E. P. Bond. On leav- 
ing school he began farming on the old homestead, 
a tract of twenty acres at Warehouse Point, and 
under his able management it brings a satisfactory 
return. In addition to farming he follows the 
butcher's trade and has a milk route at Enfield. 
He is an intelligent man, industrious and thrifty, 
and has many friends in the community. In pol- 
itics he is a Republican, but is not an aspirant for 
public honors, and when offices have been offered 
him he has declined ; no stronger advocate of tem- 
perance can be found in the community. His fam- 
ily attend the Methodist and Episcopal Churches, 
and is much esteemed in social life. 

On Jan. 26, 1875, Mr. Terry married Miss Ellen 



F. Parsons, daughter of P. B. and Emily (Allen) 
Parsons, both natives of Enfield, and four children 
have brightened their home : ( 1) Ellen Louise, born 
June 13, 1875, died May 30, 1879. (2) Henry 
Hiram, born Dec. 10, 1876, resides at home, and is 
one of the most industrious and promising young 
men of the locality. (3) Lucy Isabelle, born July 
30, 1881, died Oct. 25, 1886. (4) Mervin P., born 
Jan. 10, 1885, i s at home. In December, 1895, our 
subject adopted Arthur Durfee, who was born in 
June, 1883. 

FREDERICK S. BIDWELL. This Common- 
wealth is represented in all parts of the country by 
an enterprising class of citizens whose ability and 
worth have been universally recognized, but fortu- 
nately there is plenty of the old stock left in Hart- 
ford county, and the subject of this biography, a 
leading merchant of Windsor Locks, furnishes in 
his successful career an example of the energy and 
foresight which are generally believed to character- 
ize the typical native. Mr. Bidwell is of the sixth 
generation of his family in this country, and the 
name has become associated with the qualities which 
constitute good citizenship. The first ancestor, of 
whom a definite account has been preserved, was (I) 
John Bidwell, who was born in September, 1679. 

(II) Roger Bidwell, son of John, was born in 
1714, and died Dec. 28, 1782. His wife, Rhoda, a 
daughter of Timothy Easton, was born in 1721, and 
died Aug. 24, 1782. They had the following chil- 
dren: Tryphena, born Nov. 5, 1749, died Sept. 30, 
1750; Ashbel; Adoniram, born August, 1753, died 
Feb. 17, 1777; Enodias ; and Darda, born Novem- 
ber, 1 761, died June, 1782. 

(III) Enodias Bidwell, our subject's great- 
grandfather, was born in East Hartford in May, 
1758, and died in 1818, at the same place. He 
served in the Revolutionary army, and for many 
years conducted "Cotton's Tavern" at East Hart- 
ford. His wife, Lucy Loomis, died in 1827. They 
had eight children, all of whom died young except 
Martin, as follows : Frederick, born September, 
1780; Tryphena, June, 1782; Darda, December, 
1783; Tryphe-a, May, 1785; Martin, 1787; Darda, 
July 31, 1789, died April 6, 1825; Lucy, July, 1792, 
died aged fifty; Giles, June, 1796. 

(IV) Martin Bidwell, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born March 5, 1787, in East Hartford, 
and died in 1861, in Hebron, Conn. He married 
Martha James, and had eight children : Caroline, 
James, Samuel, Martha, Delia, Delia (2), Nathan and 
Martin. Of these, Caroline married a Mr. Buken ; 
Delia wedded a Mr. Aldrich, of Rockville, and Na- 
than died in 1894. 

(V) Samuel Bidwell, our subject's father, was 
born Feb. 27, 1820, in Coventry, Conn., and was 
reared upon a farm in that locality, his education 
being obtained in the neighboring schools. H^ 
learned the blacksmith's trade at Enfield, Conn., and 
has followed that business all his life in the towns 
of Hartford, Enfield, and Stafford Springs, being 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



>*3 



still a resident of the latter place. He is an excel- 
lent citizen, and an active member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. In 1847 ne married Abi- 
gail Killam, a native of Enfield, who died at Staf- 
ford Springs Sept. II, 1855, aged thirty-eight years. 
Our subject was the eldest of four children, the 
others being Henry Martin, a resident of Bellefonte, 
l'enn. ; Julia Abigail, who married Frank D. Cha- 
pin, and died April 30, 1894; and Abigail Killam, 
wife of N. T. Sanger. 

(VI) Frederick S. Bidwell was born June 24, 
1848, at Hartford, Conn., but his early life was 
largely spent in Stafford Springs, where he attended 
the public schools. At the age of sixteen he went 
to Thompsonville, Conn., where his uncle, Theodore 
Pease, was engaged in the lumber business, and for 
eleven years he was connected with the firm of 
Pease & Sons. Mr. Pease then bought out the 
lumber business of H. C. Douglass & Co., at Wind- 
sor Locks, placing it in charge of Mr. Bidwell, who 
purchased the business in 1888, and has since con- 
ducted it independently. He has built all the struct- 
ures occupied by the lumber yard and store, the lat- 
ter having been erected in the fall of 1897 and 
opened for business in January, 1898. He handles 
all materials needed by the builder, farmer and 
painter, his store containing a large general line of 
paints, hardware and agricultural implements. As 
a citizen he is public-spirited, taking keen interest in 
all movements for the benefit of the community, and 
at times he has held local offices. For four years 
he was selectman, and his practical sympathies with 
educational progress is seen in some years of ser- 
vice on the school board. 

In 1875 Mr. Bidwell married Miss Annie E. 
Steele, who died Nov. 13, 1878, leaving one son, 
Frederick Steele, now a bookkeeper for his father. 
In 1881 Mr. Bidwell formed a second union, this 
time with Miss Adelaide King, daughter of Calvin 
O. King, of Enfield, Conn., and they have had six 
children: Edith Adelaide, Bessie King, Anna 
Floise, Lawrence King, Charles Oscar and Robert 
Samuel. The family is prominent socially, and Mr. 
Bidwell is well known in Masonic circles as a mem- 
ber of Euclid Lodge Xo. ioq, A. F. & A. M. 

CHARLES F. TALLARD, a well-known busi- 
ness man of Windsor Locks, has been engaged in 
tobacco growing for nearly thirty years, and has for 
some time been interested in the lumber business, 
his operations in both lines being conducted with 
the energy and foresight which command success. 

Mr. Tallard's career has been somewhat event- 
ful, not the least interesting part of his life being 
his term of service in the Confederate army. He 
was born Jan. 28, 1840, in Saxony, German}-, a 
son of Christian and Wilhelmina (Hess) Tallard, 
who came to America in 1848 with their family of 
two sons and one daughter. After a tedious voy- 
age, lasting nine weeks, the little party landed and 
for some time they made their home in Baltimore, 
Md., the parents later settling on a farm in Penn- 



sylvania, and finally locating in Harris! >urg. l'enn., 
where they both died some years ag' 1. 

Before coming to this country Mr. Tallard at- 
tended the schools of his native place, and soon 
after his arrival in Baltimore he was employed 
in a cigar factory, becoming familiar with the trade 
at an early age. In 1859 he went to Richmond, \ a., 
and in i860 he was married there to Miss Cather- 
ine Gabline. In April, 1861, he enlisted in the 1st 
Va. V. I., with which he served until Aug. 11, 
1862. On returning to Baltimore, March 7, 1863, 
he resumed his work, but in July, 1863, he went 
to New York City, and a few months later settled 
at Windsor Locks. For twenty-four years he was 
employed at cigar making by Benjamin Wood, of 
Sufiield, and in 1871 he began raising tobacco on his 
own account at Windsor Locks. In 1889 he en- 
gaged in the lumber business at Broad Brook, in the 
town of East Windsor, and at present his son, How- 
ard W., looks after his interests there. Mr. Tallard 
and his estimable wife have reared a family of six. 
children, as follows: Edwin C. (of Edgerton, 
Wis.) , William 11. (of Middletown, Conn.) and 
Charles F., Jr. (of Chicago), all of whom are 
in some branch of the tobacco business; Howard 
W., who is in the lumber business at Broad Brook ; 
Henry S., a lumber dealer at Torrington, Conn.; 
and Alice, wife of a Mr. Holzapfel, of Windsor 
Locks. Mr. Tallard has always taken an active in- 
terest in all the questions of the daw and in na- 
tional issues acts with the Democratic party, while 
in local affairs he is independent. 

ROSWELL GRANT. In Hartford county 
there are many residents whose family history ex- 
tends back for six or eight generations to the period 
of early settlement. But comparatively few of 
these can point to the continuous residence of so 
many generations upon the same ancestral home, 
and few indeed now dwell in residences which have 
sheltered six generations. The Roswell Grant home- 
stead, in the town of South Windsor, is one of the 
historical buildings of Connecticut. The original 
dwelling upon this farm, where six generations of 
Grants have lived and died, was built in [697 by 
Samuel Grant (2), grandson of Matthew Grant, 
the founder of the family in America, and is still 
standing, forming the "L" to the presenl structure, 
the main part of which was erected in 1757, by 
Ebenezer Grant. During the Revolutionarj war 
Gen. Prescott and other British officers were im- 
prisoned in the house, being guarded by Roswell 
Grant, who then occupied the place. It is -till in 
an excellent state of preservation. 

Matthew Grant, the founder of this family in 
America, was born in England, and came to the 
New World, in 1030, in the ship "Mary and John." 
being one of the original company who settled in 

Chester, Mass., in that year. In [635 he came 
to Windsor, Conn., his family arriving in April, 
[636, and he became prominent in church affairs, 
was second town clerk and principal surveyor for 



884 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



a long term of years, and local interests generally. 
From him our subject is descended through Samuel, 
Samuel (2), Ebenezer, Roswell and Frederick 
William. Samuel Grant ( 1 ) located in East Wind- 
sor in 1637, and built a house in a meadow in the 
rear of the site of the old Theological Institute, 
on a rise of ground. Owing to the prevalence of high 
water in the spring of the year, Samuel Grant (1) 
moved up to the present site of the old Grant home- 
stead, and his father' lived with his son, John, until 
his death. Ebenezer Grant was a graduate of Yale. 
He was a merchant on Main street, South Windsor, 
near the homestead, and was largely interested in 
shipbuilding at the mouth of the Scantic, owning 
many vessels engaged in the West India trade. 
He exported tobacco and horses and imported rum 
and molasses. He served with distinction in the 
French and Indian wars, and also in the Revolution- 
ary war, holding the rank of captain. Roswell 
Grant, son of Ebenezer Grant, was a colonel in 
the Revolutionary war, and afterward served as a 
member of the Legislature ; for a long time was a 
justice of the peace and was in mercantile business 
with his father. 

Frederick William Grant, the father of our sub- 
ject, was born on the ancestral home in 1799, was a 
farmer by occupation, and lived to the age of eighty- 
seven years. He was a man of considerable promi- 
nence and influence, served as a member of the 
State Legislature, was repeatedly elected select- 
man of East Windsor, and held other offices. Fie 
was a major in the State Militia, and was generally 
known as Major Grant. He married Miss Ann 
Ellsworth Stoughton, daughter of John Stoughton, 
and to them were born five children, namely : Fred- 
erick, who was drowned in the Connecticut river 
at the age of thirteen years ; Ann S., who married 
Frederick O. Newbury, and died in 1871 ; Roswell, 
our subject, and Elizabeth (twins), the latter dy- 
ing in infancy; and Lucy, who also died in infancy. 
Major Grant died Feb. 21, 1886. Mrs. Grant died 
May 24, 1900, and was buried on her ninetieth 
birthday. She was a beautiful character, beloved 
by all who knew her. 

Roswell Grant was born on the old homestead, 
July 28, 1848. He received his education in the 
graded home schools, at Monson, Mass., and at 
Delaware Institute, Franklin, N. Y. Soon after 
completing his education, and when about twenty- 
one years of age, he took charge of the old home- 
stead. Mr. Grant now owns about fifty acres of 
the old place, and other land, aggregating about 
one hundred acres. He carries on general farming, 
and gives special attention to tobacco growing. 
In politics he is a Republican, but he has avoided 
the life of an office holder, and though twice nom- 
inated for selectman has on both occasions declined 
the honor. He has, however, held the office of as- 
sessor of South Windsor, for two terms, was candi- 
date for judge of probate, and his interest in edu- 
cational matters has induced him to serve for six 
years as a member of the school board. Socially 



he is a member of the Royal Arcanum, and is also> 
one of the Sons of the Revolution. 

Mr. Grant was married, Sept. 29, 1874, to Miss- 
Annie Elizabeth Mickell, who was born in Hong 
Kong, China. Her father, Capt. Thomas Mickell,. 
was the master of a merchant vessel, and her mother 
sometimes accompanied him on his voyages to for- 
eign lands. Capt. Mickell commanded the first ship, 
the "Emerald," which entered Charleston harbor 
after the blockade of that port was raised during 
the Civil war. An oil painting of the "Emerald," 
and one of the full-rigged ships of which he was- 
master in Chinese waters at the time of Mrs. 
Grant's birth, are now in her possession. Mrs. 
Grant passed her girlhood in Cambridge, Mass.,. 
in the Boston schools received a finished educa- 
tion, and is a lady of unusual accomplishments and 
refinement. To Mr. and Mrs. Grant have been 
born three children : Maude M. ; Frederick Will- 
iam, who is employed by the Pope Manufacturing 
Co., of Hartford ; and Roger Wolcott, with the Con- 
necticut General L.iie Insurance Co. Mr. and Mrs. 
Grant and family are members of the First Con- 
gregational Church of South Windsor; for about 
thirty years our subject has been clerk of that re- 
ligious society, and for many years was also- 
treasurer. 

DAVID GORDOX, an enterprising citizen and 
prominent business man of Hazardville, was born 
June 11, 1840, in Glasgow, Scotland. He is a son 
of William and Jean (Bauchop) Gordon, and a 
grandson of David and Elizabeth (Tate) Gordon. 

The parents of our subject came to America in 
the spring of 1844, locating in Paterson, N. J., where 
they remained one year. The} - then spent two years 
in Auburn, N. Y., and in 1847 removed to Thomp- 
sonville, town of Enfield, Hartford Co., Conn. In 
1852 the family removed to Hazardville. 

David Gordon received his education in the 
common and night schools. His early advantages, 
were limited. At the age of seventeen he began 
an apprenticeship at the tinner's trade, serving three 
years, and then worked one year as journeyman. In 
1862 he embarked in the tinner's business at Hazard- 
ville, with the late Franklin Smith and John X. 
Spencer. A few years later, at the expiration of this 
partnership, his brothers were admitted to the firm, 
which was styled Gordon Brothers. The business 
extended, and peddlers of tinware were sent all over 
Xew England. The brothers gradually drifted into 
the paper and paper stock trade, and later dealt 
to some extent in woolen waste and woolen rags. 
Since 1884 they have been extensively engaged in 
the manufacture of shoddy. 

On Oct. 8, 1863, Mr. Gordon was married to 
Fidelia M., daughter of Arnold and Belinda Wood- 
worth, of Suffield, and to their union were born 
three children : Sarah B., wife of Rev. Edwin S. 
Holloway ; William W., who married Hattie Covell ; 
and Howard D., who married Hattie Kelsey. Mrs. 
Gordon died Xov. 7, 1898, and on Nov. 14, 1899,. 








Osv-zjzL o? <r~r-c/^-i^ ■ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



-sr, 



Mr. Gordon married Ada Belle, daughter of the late 
Edwin Crosby, of East Glastonbury, Connecticut. 
Mr. Gordon began life at the bottom of the lad- 
der, and by his own exertions has accumulated a 
competency. He is an active member, and for 
thirty-eight years has been a trustee and steward, of 
the M. E. Church, in which for forty years he has 
been leader of the choir. He served on the building 
committee that erected the present church edifice in 
Hazardville. In 1896 he was sent as a lay delegate 
from the Xew England Southern Conference to 
represent it at the General Conference of the M. E. 
Church, held at Cleveland, Ohio. Politically Mr. 
Gordon is a Republican. 

ALERED KILBOURXE, deceased. The Kil- 
bourne family is one of the oldest in Hartford 
county, and the subject of this memoir, formerly 
an honored resident of the town of East Hartford, 
was of the ninth generation in descent from Thomas 
Kilbourne, a pioneer of Wethersfield, Conn. By 
their industry and thrift the members of the family 
have maintained the credit of the name, while 
their public spirit and patriotism have been shown 
in both war and peace. 

(I) Thomas Kilbourne, the emigrant, was born 
in England in 1578, and in 1635 came to America, 
in the ship "increase," with his wife Frances and 
their children, landing on April 15 of that year. 
He located at Wethersfield, Conn., where he passed 
the remainder of his life. 

(II J Sergt. John Kilbourne, youngest child of 
Thomas, was baptized in Wood Ditton, England, 
Sept. 29, 1624. He became one of the prominent 
men of the Connecticut Colony, and held many 
public offices, including those of magistrate in the 
local courts, member of the Colonial Legislature, 
and member of the Colonial Grand Jury. In 1662 
he helped to procure the famous Charter of Con- 
necticut. He and his wife, Xaomi, to whom he 
was married in 1650, had several children, among 
Whom was a son, Thomas, known as Sergt. Thomas. 

(Ill) Sergt. Thomas Kilbourne was born in 
Wethersfield in February, 1651. He married Susan- 
nah, daughter of William Hills, of Glastonbury. 

I IV) Thomas Kilbourne, the next in the line 
of descent, was born in Hockanum, Conn. In 1700 
he married a daughter of Joseph Hills, of Glas- 
tonbury. 

(V) Thomas Kilbourne, son of Thomas 1 IVi, 
was born Sept. 8, 1705, at what is now East Hart- 
ford. In May, 1728, he married Mary Diggins, 
daughter of John Diggins, of Middletown, Conn., 
and among their children was a son, Thomas. 

(VI) Thomas Kilbourne, our subject's great- 
grandfather, was born Aug. 25. 1729. He married, 
and had a son, Ashbel. 

(All) Ashbel Kilbourne, the grandfafhei 
our subject, was born in East Hartford in April, 
1759, and during the Revolutionary war served as 
a soldier in Col. Webb's regiment. He suffr 
much in the cause of his country, being taken pris- 



oner by the British troops in December, 1777, and 
imprisoned in Philadelphia, from which place he 
was transported in a wagon to Hartford, Conn. 
After his return home he was obliged to put himself 
under the care of Dr. Tudor, of East Windsor, his 
feet having been frozen while in prison. Through 
neglect he had become crippled for life, and the 
"American Archives," published by order of Con- 
gress in 1848. thus refers to his case: "Mr. Kil- 
bourne was disabled while a prisoner in Philadel- 
phia; his feet being frozen his toes dropped off, 
and for want of proper care he was totally disabled." 
Congress granted him a pension and arrearages, 
and the General Assembly of Connecticut, in the 
May session, 1779, passed the following concerning 
him: "Resolved, by this Assembly, that the commit- 
tee of pay table, adjust and liquidate the accounts 
of the memorialist for his sickness, and draw an 
order on the Treasurer of the State for such Minis 
as they shall find due." This worthy patriot mar- 
ried a Miss Evans, of East Windsor. 

(VIII) Capt. Ashbel Kilbourne, our subject's 
father, was born in East Hartford, July 12, [783, 
and became a sea captain by occupation. He lost 
his life Feb. 15, 1822, being shipwrecked ^i( the 
coast of Bermuda. He married Miss Roxa Gillette, 
of East Windsor. 

< IX) Alfred Kilbourne was born July 11. [809, 
in what was then East Windsor (now South Wind- 
sor), near the site of the birthplace of John hitch, 
famous as the inventor of the first steamboat. His 
schooling was like that of the average farmer's 
bO) of the time, and he lived at home until his 
marriage, which occurred in 1838. I le then re- 
moved to the homestead now occupied by his aged 
wife and their daughter, a valuable estate given him 
by his stepfather, Roger Burnham. There he en- 
gaged in tobacco growing, being one <<i the pioneers 
of that industry in this section, and for many years 
also raised seeds for the Enfield Shaker-, carrying 
on an extensive business with them. In early lite 
he was a stanch Whig, and when the Republican 
party was formed lie became a steadfast supporter 
of its principles. So firm was he in hi- convic- 
tions, that although he was the only one of his 
family who was originally inclined to that belief, 
his convincing argument- won nearly all of them. 
His reputation as a man of sound judgmenl is 
evidenced by a remark made of him by a friend: 
"Mr. Kilbourne is always found on the right side 
of all political and moral questions." He never 

Jit office, although he served a- justice of peace 
in hi- early life, lie was one of the oldest mem- 
bers of ( xescenl Lodge, [. O. ( >. I., "i Easl I [art- 
ford. For many years he was >u1 memb< 
the Congregational Church of East Hartford, with 
whii united in [837, and was a large contrib- 
utor to n- work in which hi- wife wa- also actively 
intei In all hi- business dealings lie wa- very 
and upright, while his quiet, unassuming 
manner won for him lh<- friendship of the entire 
community. Throughout hi- life he held strong 



886 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



views on temperance reform, which he sustained by 
precept and example. He died Jan. 3, 1894, from 
the effects of a paralytic stroke, his advanced age 
hastening his death. 

Mr. Kilbourne's deepest solicitude centered in 
his home and family, his tastes being thoroughly 
domestic. On Nov. 29, 1838, he married Miss 
Jerusha Williams Roberts, and four children blessed 
the union : (1) Mary married Elijah Ackley, a pros- 
perous farmer of East Hartford, and they have 
two children — Mrs. L. D. Green, of New York, 
and William K. Ackley, now living at home. (2) 
Miss Harriet T. resides at the homestead, and cares 
for her aged mother with true filial devotion. (3) 
Ellen M. married B. P. Bishop, of Norwich, and 
has three children, Harriet K., Roberts Huntington 
and Marion Lee. (4) Alfred E. resides near the 
homestead, and is a prosperous farmer and tobacco 
buyer; he is mentioned elsewhere. Mrs. Jerusha 
(Roberts) Kilbourne was born March 18, 1819, 
daughter of the late Hon. Ozias Roberts, of East 
Hartford, formerly a State senator. (Extended 
genealogical history of the Roberts family may be 
found elsewhere.) 

THOMAS SMITH ROURKE, who is now 
prominently identified with the business and po- 
litical interests of Earmington, was born in Union- 
ville, Dec. 26, 1865, the only child of Daniel and 
Ellen (Smith) Rourke. 

Daniel Rourke, father of our subject, was born, 
reared and educated in King's County, Ireland, 
where he continued to make his home until thirty 
years of age. He then crossed the broad Atlantic 
on a sailing vessel, which was three weeks in mak- 
ing the voyage, and coming to Hartford county, 
Conn., found employment with a farmer in Union- 
ville, with whom he remained for two vears. Sub- 
sequently he worked for the family of Rev. James 
A. Smith for about thirty years, and since then has 
lived retired, enjoying a well-earned rest. He has 
been a very active member of the Catholic Church 
of Unionville, and is highly respected and esteemed 
by all who know him. He married Miss Ellen 
Smith, who was born in Ireland, and reared in 
Huntington, Mass., and is a daughter of Philip 
Smith. 

The boyhood and youth of our subject were 
passed in Unionville, and he was given a good high- 
school education, which has been of great advantage 
to him in his business career. For twelve years he 
clerked in the store of Tryon & Sanford, general 
merchants of Unionville, and for four years was 
deputy sheriff of the countv. under Sheriff Preston, 
being the youngest man on his staif. In 1892, during 
President Cleveland's second administration, he was 
appointed postmaster at Unionville, and most ac- 
ceptably filled that office for four years. He is 
now engaged in the fire insurance, real estate and 
auctioneering business at Unionville, is chairman 
of the board of directors of the Unionville Fire 
District, superintendent of the Unionville Water 



Co., and vice-president of the Mutual Plate Glass 
& Safe Insurance Co. He is a recognized leader 
in the ranks of the local Democracy, and is now 
a member of the Democratic town committee. 
Fraternally he belongs to the Knights of Columbus, 
and to Agenda Lodge, K. P. 

On June 16, 1897,, Mr. Rourke was married, in 
Collinsville, Conn., to Miss Lillian V. Kerrin. 

REV. MICHAEL ANTHONY SULLIVAN. 
Rev. Father Sullivan is one of these earnest, self- 
sacrificing, energetic clergymen of the Catholic 
Church to whom duty is preferable to ease, and 
whose faith is a higher and more controlling im- 
pulse than riches or fame. Both his parents and 
grandparents were born in Ireland. His grand- 
father, Martin Sullivan, a farmer, married Julia 
Kirby. His father was also named Martin and his 
mother Julia. His parents came to this country 
in 1849, an d his father for many years worked as 
a farmer, dying in Colchester Aug. 1, 1898. The 
mother is still living. 

Father Sullivan was born in Middlefield, Conn., 
Sept. 16, 1859. His education was begun in the 
public schools of Durham, and was pursued at 
the Bacon Academy in Colchester, an educational 
institute founded in 1801 by Theodore Bacon. 
The young man graduated from the academy in 
1876, and soon afterward matriculated at St. Bon- 
aventure's College at Allegany, N. Y., from which 
seat of learning he graduated in 1881. Feeling 
an inclination for the priesthood, he entered St. 
Bonaventure's Seminary as a theological student. 
Here he pursued his studies until 1884, when he 
was ordained a priest by Bishop Stephen Vincent 
Ryan. His first pastoral charge was the parish of 
Windsor Locks, Conn. After remaining there for 
two and a half years he was transferred to St. 
John's parish, New Haven, where he was assistant 
rector for ten years. In 1896 he was given charge 
of St. Paul's Church at Kensington, to which is 
attached, as a mission station, the Sacred Heart 
parish of East Berlin. The latter Father Sullivan 
has built up, erecting a neat church edifice, which 
is already wholly paid for. He is a man thoroughly 
respected by all, takes a lively interest in the wel- 
fare of his parish, both temporal and spiritual, and 
is an earnest worker in the cause of temperance. 
He has organized numerous societies in his church, 
has established a flourishing branch of the Total 
Abstinence and Benevolent Brotherhood, with 
thirty members in East Berlin, and total abstinence 
societies in Kensington. 



ELMORE HORTON, M. D., a prominent and 
successful physician of Plantsville, was born in 
Bristol, this county, July 29, 1832, and is a son of 
Leonard and Nancy (Gaylord) Horton, natives of 
Bristol and Wolcott, Conn., respectively. 

Throughout life the Doctor's father followed 
the wheelwright's trade, and continued to make his 
home in Bristol, where he died in 1866. In his 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



887 



family were only two children: Sarah Ann, wife 
of Garry Allen; and Elmore. Our subject's pa- 
ternal grandfather, Samuel Horton, a carpenter and 
joiner by trade, lived and died in Wolcott. His 
wife bore the maiden name of Hannah Bradley. 
His father, Elisha Horton, was a son of Samuel 
Horton, a native of England, who removed from 
2\ew Haven to Wolcott when the British captured 
the former place during the Revolutionary war. 
Our subject's maternal grandfather was Lot Gay- 
lord, a farmer of Bristol, and a son of Edward 
Gaylord. Jesse Gaylord, the father of the latter, 
was a son of Edward Gaylord, who came to this 
county from YYallingford and was one of the orig- 
inal settlers of Bristol. 

Dr. Horton spent his boyhood and youth in his 
native town, and his early education, acquired in 
its common schools, was supplemented by a course 
at the Bristol Academy. During the Civil war he 
was engaged in mechanical work, and also spent 
much time in caring for the sick. In 1871 he began 
the study of medicine with Dr. Henry X. Byington, 
of Southington; later attended lectures at the medi- 
cal school of Yale College for three years, and 
spent part of one year in the Homeopathic Medical 
College of New York. In 1875 ne received a diploma 
from the Eclectic Medical Society of the State of 
Connecticut, and at once opened an office in Plain- 
ville, where he remained for six years, in 1881 re- 
moving to Plantsville. where he has since been 
actively and successfully engaged in the practice 
of his chosen profession, having by earnest and 
honest endeavor built up quite a remunerative prac- 
tice and gained a first-class reputation as an able 
and skillful physician. He is a member of the 
Eclectic Medical Society of Connecticut, and in 
politics is a Republican. 

THEODORE B. ROGERS (deceased) was 
born in the town of West Springfield, Mass., Sep:. 
I 181 1, his parents being Asa and Lydia (Fuller) 
Rogers. 

Mr. Rogers' father had but small means, and 
Theodore's early educational advantages were lim- 
ited to such as were afforded by the primitive dis- 
trict schools of that early date. Even as a boy, 
however, he manifested a thirst for knowledge, and 
so well did be improve bis meager advantages, and 
so thoroughly did he supplement them by reading 
and study at home that lie was able to lay a broad, 
solid foundation for his remarkable success in after 
life. At an early age he found himself forced to 
face life's stern realities for himself. Going to 
Hartford be mastered the wheelwright's trade, and 
after serving his time as an apprentice went t<> 
Rocky Hill, where he entered the employ of Neff 
& Merriam, carriage builders. He remained with 
that firm for several years, his industry, natural 
aptitude, skill and fidelity securing for him the 
position of foreman, and later that of manager of 
their branch establishment at Wilmington, X. C. 
After filling this post for several years with credit 



to himself and to the entire satisfaction of his em- 
ployers, he returned to Rocky Hill, where be em- 
barked in business on his own account. After a 
few years so spent he removed to Wethersfiehl, 
where he passed the remainder of his life, lie 
was a man of rare inventive genius and bad at the 
-ame time a thorough knowledge of practical me- 
chanics. He brought these powers to practical use 
in the invention of the Wethersfield Seed Sower, 
a seed-drill at once simple, compact, strong, durable, 
portable and thoroughly efficient, lie secured a 
patent for this machine and at once entered upon 
its manufacture and sale, in which business be was 
successful almost from its inception. The career 
of such men as he affords at once an example and 
an encouragement. Beginning life as a poor boy, 
with no influential friends to aid him by purse or 
voice, he hewed out bis own way through pertinac- 
ity and pluck, and of him it may be said that be 
was one of the truest and noblest types of the 
self-made man. He lived to attain the age of 
eighty years, dying at his home in Wethersfield 
on Dec. 30, 1891. His intellect was unimpaired 
and his physical powers showed little decay, even 
at that advanced age. He was buried in Cedar 
Hill cemetery. He naturally gravitated from the 
Whig to the Republican party, and, although never 
desiring office, was a stanch supporter of its po- 
litical creed. In his religious belief he was a Con- 
gregationalist. He was a fond husband and a 
true friend; charitable in his judgment of others, 
upright in his dealings, generous in his benefac- 
tions, a friend of higher education and an tamest 
champion of the cause of temperance. 

Mr. Rogers was three times married. His first 
wife was Martha Warner, who bore him two daugh- 
ters, A. Louisa and Martha II. The first named 
married E. G. Woodhouse, of Wethersfield, and 
the younger became the wife of Prof. Henry !■'.. 
Sawyer, of Washington, D. C. His id mar- 

riage was to Meribah Ashley, of West Spring- 
field, Mass., by whom he had no 1— ne. His 

third wife was Mrs. Jerusha (Smith) G I- 

rich, a daughter of Levi Smith and widow 
of Joseph B. Goodrich, who was a son of 
Deacon Joel Goodrich. This marriage was also 
without issue. By her first marriage Mrs. Rogers 
was the mother of four children: Gertrude V. 
Frederic ( ■.. Edward J., and a child who < lie ,1 m 
infancy. None lived to reach mature years. She 

till living at Wethersfield, active and energetic 
despite her fourscore years, which rest so lightly 
upon her. Her mind is clear and her memory re- 
tentive, which characteristics, joined to culture and 
native refinement, combine to make her a delight- 
ful conversationalist. 

The Smith family, of which Mrs. Rogers is a 
member, is one of the oldesl in that part of Wethers- 
field, now known as Rocky Mill. Ezekiel Smith, 
her grandfather, was bom there May is. [756, 
sun of Levi Smith, who died Sept. 15. 1 7 5 s , leaving 

two sons. Ezekiel Smith was a fanner and land 



888 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



owner, and a soldier in the war of the Revolution. 
He married Mrs. Ruth Ames, a widow, and was 
the father of six children. Levi Smith, the father 
of Mrs. Rogers, was also born at Rocky Hill, 
where he spent his life. He was a successful 
farmer and an earnest member of the Congrega- 
tional Church. In politics he was first a Whig and 
on the disruption of that party became a Repub- 
lican. On May 7, 1806. he married Betsy Gibbs, 
who was born in March, 1785, and died Nov. 15, 
1865, at the age of eighty years. Like her hus- 
band, she was connected with the Congregational 
communion. Mr. and Mrs. Levi Smith were the 
parents of ten children, whose names, with the 
respective dates of their birth and some brief bi- 
ographical data, are given below : Emmeline, born 
April 7. 1807, married Allen W. Miller. Eliza 
Ann, born May 14. 1809, became the wife of A. C. 
Arnold. Norman, born Oct. 26, 181 1, married 
Lucy Cooler. Henry married Emmeline Goodrich. 
Delia was born Sept. 10, 1816. Jerusha (Mrs. 
Rogers) was born April 20, 18 19. Martha, born 
June 22, 182 1, married Elisha Gilbert, who died 
Jan. 19, 1900, aged eighty-three years. Levi H., 
born June 5, 1824, married Rebecca _Young and 
became the father of four children, Marv (Mrs. 
Dwight Wells), Harriet (Mrs. Edmund M. Wil- 
cox, who is the mother of one child, Dorothy), 
William E. (who married Kate Harding) and 
Margaret E. (who married C. R. Spencer). Mary 
S., born June 24, 1827, married Samuel Dimmock, 
of Rocky Hill. John L., born June 23, 1830, mar- 
ried Lucinda G. Blinn, who died Feb. 17, 1897. 

GEORGE LYMAN, one of the highly-esteemed 
citizens of Marlboro, is an honored veteran of the 
Civil war, and is also on the retired list of the New 
York police force. His present life of ease and 
quiet is in direct contrast to the exciting and ad- 
venturous career that he has passed. Brave and 
fearless in disposition, his duties were always dis- 
charged in a most commendable and satisfactory 
manner both as a soldier and as a policeman. 

Mr. Lyman is descended from an old and hon- 
ored New England family. His grandfather, Tacob 
Lyman, was a surveyor of Bolton, Tolland Co., 
Conn., where he also engaged in farming, and where 
his death occurred. He married a Miss Bolles, and 
to them were born five children : Johanna, wife of 
Joseph Eaton, of Bolton ; Ezra, who married, and 
lived in Bolton and later in Saybrook, where he died ; 
Mary, who wedded Henry Gallupp, and lived in 
Illinois for a time, but is now a resident of Iowa ; 
Jacob, father of our subject; and Sophia, who mar- 
ried a Mr. Chapman, and lived in Bozrahville. 

Jacob Lyman, father of our subject, was born in 
Bolton in 1805, and in early life, as a solicitor and 
canvasser, he traveled throughout the West. He 
also engaged in the lumber business, and followed 
fanning in Bolton, where he died in December. 1884. 
He married Dorcas Chapman, a native of Vernon, 
Conn., and to them were born eight children : Al- 



mira married John Lord, and lives in Marlboro ; 
Marietta is the wife of E. M. Burdick, of South 
Manchester ; William C. married Martha Barrows, 
and lives in Willimantic; George, our subject, 
is next in the order of birth ; Charles married Ame- 
lia Campbell, and lives in Washington, D. C, where 
he is chief of a government department, and was a 
member of the civil service commission and presi- 
dent of the board; Benjamin married Nancy A. 
Bowers, and lives in Boston ; Norman is a paper 
manufacturer of Talcottville, Conn. ; and John died 
in Holyoke, Mass., at the age of twenty-one years. 

Our subject w r as also born in Bolton, Conn., 
September 13, 1841. He began his education in the 
common schools, later attending the Manchester 
Academy and the Mt. Carroll (111.) Seminary, grad- 
uating from the latter in 1863. He then engaged 
in traveling for about six months, selling A. B. Is- 
rael's outline maps. 

On March 8, 1864, in St. Louis, Mr. Lyman en- 
listed in Company L, 12th Missouri Volunteer Cav- 
alry, and shortly after his enlistment was made sec- 
ond sergeant. The troop had charge of the military 
stores in St. Louis in 1864, and then joined Gen. 
Hooker's expedition through western Tennessee and 
northern Mississippi, en route to re-enforce Gen. 
Sherman's army in front of Atlanta. When they 
arrived at Holly Springs, Miss., orders were re- 
ceived to intercept Gen. Hood, who had evacuated 
Atlanta and had made a stand in front of Nashville, 
Tenn. In the three-days' battle at the latter place. 
Gen. Thomas almost annihilated Hood's army. 
While at Holly Springs, during the fall of 1864, 
Mr. Lyman was detailed to deliver convalescents 
and recruits to various points along the Mississippi 
river from Memphis to New Orleans, and joined 
his regiment in time to take part in the battle of 
Nashville, Dec. 15, 16, 17, where his battalion (the 
3rd) was almost destroyed. Later the regiment 
went on Gen. Stewart's expedition or raid through 
the South, but our subject was not with them, as 
he was general ward master of the United States 
marine hospital at St. Louis for about six months 
at that time. He was wounded three times in about 
a quarter of an hour while on a little expedition at 
Holly Springs. He was ordered to pick fifteen 
men for an advance guard to go to the Tallahassee 
river, where tne regiment was repairing a bridge 
on the Tallahassee & Memphis railroad, the bridge 
being over an important point for the regiment to 
cross. This little band suspected that the Con- 
federates were in the vicinity, and when they ar- 
rived on the spot they found the bridge burned. 
( )n their way back they met an advance gu?.rd of 
Col. Chalmer's out-pickets, the time being about 
nightfall, and the Rebels, armed with Mississippi 
rifles and saber bayonets, surrounded our subject's 
little company. The lieutenant who was with them 
said, "Boys, it is either fight or Andersonville 
prison," and they fought. After firing all their 
ammunition they made a charge, fighting hand to 
hand. Some escaped, but others were captured or 






j2^C , ^y^/^7^t^c cx^c^l 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



889 



killed, and our subject received three bayonet 
wounds, but escaped. After the return of his regi- 
ment to St. Louis from Gen. Stewart's expedition 
he joined them there. They were remounted, joined 
Col. Cowles' Powder river expedition, and made a 
circle round the Black Hills against the Aspersias, 
Sioux, Comanche and Arapahoe Indians, who were 
on the warpath. They had several skirmishes, ac- 
companied by a few losses, and dispersed the In- 
dians. They returned to Fort Leavenworth, Kan., 
and were mustered out April 9, 1866. 

Mr. Lyman came east and secured the position 
of buyer for Cone & Smith, wholesale grocery 
dealers at Xo. 118 Greenwich street, Xew York, 
remaining with that firm until its dissolution a 
year later. He was then appointed a policeman by 
Police Commissioner Manier in 1868, and served 
the city faithfully in that precarious capacity until 
the time limit of service — twenty years — was 
reached in 1888, when he retired. lie was on 
"police detail service" for eighteen years ; was ap- 
pointed special orhcer by a special Act of the Legis- 
lature of Xew York, and served as detective in 
the Lincoln Xational Bank five years, when he felt 
his time of service was completed and poor health 
forced him to retire. He came to Marlboro, the 
home of his wife's parents, and is now enjoying a 
well-earned rest in the quiet of the country. While 
on duty during the "Orange riot" in Xew York, 
when the procession w r as coming down Eighth ave- 
nue, near the corner of Twenty-third street and 
Ford's Opera House, the mob made a charge, and 
the Ninth Regiment, which was on duty there, fired 
a volley to frighten the crowd. The mob began 
firing also, and many who were on housetops took 
part in the shooting. Mr. Lyman was shot through 
the calf of the leg, the bullet passing clear through 
the limb. The shot was evidently fired from a 
housetop. 

On Sept. 18, 1867, Mr. Lyman married Miss 
Anna Maria Denslow, who was born in Xew Hart- 
ford, Litchfield Co., Conn., May 25, 1840. a daugh- 
ter of Samuel I iailey and Eliza (Phelps) Denslow. 
The father was appointed cornet, 1st Company, 
Governor's 1 Eorse Guards, Jan. 4, 1835, in the militia 
of this State, wnere he gave faithful service until 
his death in December, 1844. The mother subse- 
quently married Judson Russell. She died in March, 
1885. Our subject and his wife have had two chil- 
dren: 1 1 ) Belle V., born April 18, 1870, became 
the wife of Charles Daniel Way, Jr.. an extensive 
farmer and stock dealer of Gilead, Conn.: -lie died 
Nov. 10. [897, leaving one child, Walter 1). ' _• 1 
Grace D.. born April 8, 1875, is the wife of Elton 
W. Buell, a manufacturer of various kinds 

denware in Gilead, and they have two children. 
Deems H. and Dorothy Isabelle. 

Mr. Lyman is a splendid specimen of manhood, 
being six feet in height and weighing over 200 
pounds. He receives a pension from tin- police fund 
of Xew York, and has a pretty home in Marlboro, 
where he expects to spend the remainder of his 
life in ease rnd quiet. lie is a member of Phil 



Carney Post, Xo. 8, G. A. R., Department i^i New 
York, and served on the council of administration. 
Politically he is a stanch Republican. In Xew York 
he joined' the Church of Strangers, and now attends 
the Congregational Church -of Marlboro, lie has 
made many warm friend- during his residence here 
and is held in high regard by all who know him. 
Capt. Albert J. Russell, brother of Mrs. Ly- 
man, entered West Point in September, 1872. and 
graduated June 14. 1X7(1. He was first assigned to 
the Tenth United States Cavalry, hut not long 
afterward was transferred to the Seventh Cavalry, 
with which he served almost twenty years, being 
retired in May, [896, on account of disability. He 
was wounded fighting Indians. The Captain mar- 
ried Miss Harrie L. Rumney, who died April 18, 
1893, at Fort Riley, Kan., leaving three children: 
Albert Judson. Earned Rumney and Joseph I law- 
lev, who have since made their home with Mr. and 
Mrs. Lyman. On April 15, 1900, Capt. Russell 
passed away at Sierra Madre, Cal., and his remains 
rest in the Government cemetery at Santa Monica, 
that State. Mr. Lyman is guardian of the children. 

WALTER G. MURPHY, M. D., is descended 
from a Scotch-Irish ancestry. His grandfather, 
John Murphy, was a pioneer soap manufacturer of 
Albany, X. Y. His father, ThOmas S. Murphy, 
was born in Albany, and was identified with the 
bookbinding industry of that city. He married 
Elinor Crew, of Albany, and their union was blessed 
with five children: Mary S., Thomas S., James 
E., Charles S. and Walter G. 

Walter G. Murphy was horn in Albany. X. Y., 
Nov. 13, 1868. hie received his early education in 
the schools of that city, and later entered St. Paul's 
School at Salem, N. Y., where he prepared for col- 
lege. Matriculating at Albany Medical College, he- 
was graduated from that institution in [889. He 
entered Hudson River State Hospital, where he 
remained six months, and then served eighteen 
months as interne at the Albany hospital. In [891 
Dr. Murphy located in Granby, Conn., and in [893 
he settled in East Hartford. Me is a member 
of the City, County and State Medical Societies. In 
1892 the Doctor was married to Miss Henrietta 
Broughton, daughter of A. K. Broughton, of Salem, 
Washington Co., X. Y.. and they have two chil- 
dren, Elinor D. and Frances B. 

REV. JESSE E. HEALD. The world appre- 
ciates and loves a man of charity and broadened 
sympathies, and (specially does it hold in kindliest 
reverence and esteem the minister whose close 
contacl with his fellow men is nol confined to the 
members of his own parish. It is one of the dis- 
tinctive traits of Rev. Mr. I bald, rector of Trinity 
Church ;it TarifTville, thai he has mane friends in 
every religious denomination. Xo better tribute 

n tin's hare recital can be paid to one of his 

h and calling. An able minister, he is above 
all else in his relations with men kindhearted and 



890 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



genial. He is not clothed in chilling dignity, not 
wrapped about with any species of exclusiveness. 
His services at burials and at weddings are in de- 
mand as often from other denominations as from 
his own church. He is widely known, and wher- 
ever known is blessed. 

Mr. Heald's preparation for his calling was 
hedged about with trying obstacles. The family 
was formerly one of wealth and always one of 
influence, but this branch of it was in reduced cir- 
cumstances at the time of the birth of our subject, 
whose education was obtained solely by his own 
resources. As a lad he worked in a woolen mill, 
but his daily companion there was a Greek reader. 
Rev. Mr. Heald is of Vermont ancestry, descended 
from an old English family. He was born in Mt. 
Holly, Vt, Dec. 26, 1834, a son of Elliott and 
Jerusha (Wellm'an) Heald. The father was born 
in Granville, N. Y., in 181 1, the mother in Dorset, 
Vt., in 1812. The paternal grandfather of our 
subject's paternal grandmother was Capt. John 
Averil, an early settler of Westminster. Vermont. 

Elliott Heald, the father of our subject, was a 
dealer and worker in marble. He was a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church and an active 
religious worker. His brother, John Heald, was a 
Methodist minister. Elliott Heald lived for many 
years at Amherst, Mass., to which town he re- 
moved in 1838, and where he lived to the age of 
seventy; his wife survived him and died in 1889, 
aged seventy-seven years. They were buried at 
North Amherst, Mass. To Elliott and Jerusha 
Heald were born .four children: Jesse E., our sub- 
ject ; Nancy, who died unmarried, aged twenty 
years ; Charles, of Amherst, Mass. ; and Anna, 
now Mrs. Tracy, of Amherst. 

Jesse E. Heald was four years old when his 
parents moved to Amherst, Mass., where his early 
schooling was received. He attended Wesleyan 
Academy, and was graduated in 1853 from Wil- 
braham, Mass. Being an earnest, progressive stu- 
dent, he worked to secure the means to pay his 
tuition and expenses. As noted above, he com- 
bined the occupations of a mill worker and a 
Greek student, and very successfully. At the age 
of eighteen he pursued his studies under the in- 
fluences of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and at 
twenty-one was regularly ordained a minister of 
that denomination. He held several charges, and 
at the age of twenty-five years became a candidate 
for orders in the Protestant Episcopal Church. 
He became assistant minister at Trinity Church, 
Newtown, Conn., and in 1862 came to what is now 
Trinity Church, Tariffville. Rev. Heald next be- 
came rector of the Episcopal Church at Pine 
Meadow, Conn., for three years. He next took 
charge of Grace Church at Saybrook, Conn., and 
the fine stone church, costing $40,000, was erected 
during his pastorate and dedicated free from debt ; 
the rectory of that church, an unusually fine struc- 
ture, was also built through his efforts. He re- 
mained at Savbrook for ten vears, and a six-vears' 



rectorship at Millville, Worcester Co., Mass., fol- 
lowed. In June, 1884, he returned to Tariffville, 
where he has since lived continuously, only a por- 
tion of the time, however, as rector of Trinitv 
Church. 

Rev. Mr. Heald married, May 30, 1855, Miss 
Betsy Tilden, who was born at North Coventry 
Jan. 4, 1825, daughter of Walter and Rebecca 
(Jones) Tilden. Walter Tilden was an extensive 
Connecticut farmer. Of his eight children three 
are now living: Betsy, the wife of our subject; 
Catherine, now Mrs. P. W. Turner, of Turnerville, 
Conn. ; and Charles W., a farmer of Mansfield, 
Conn. To Rev. and Mrs. Heald were born two 
sons. William Elliott and Robert H., both of whom 
are now deceased. William Elliott was born Nov. 
12, 1857, at Gales Ferry. Conn., and was a bright 
and promising young man when he passed away 
at Saybrook Aug. 26, 1874. Robert H. was born 
April 15, 1862, at Newtown, Conn., and died at 
Tariffville July 26, 1864. 

As pastor Rev. Mr. Heald has met with remark- 
able success. He has frequently been called to 
officiate in ministerial work at various towns about 
Tariffville by members not only of the Episcopal 
Church but of many other denominations, and has 
been called upon to conduct the funeral services of 
Congregational deacons and prominent members of 
other churches. He has buried over 200 people in 
and about Tariffville, and a verv large number else- 
where since he began his pastoral work. On his 
twenty-first birthday he officiated at his first wed- 
ding, and the bridal pairs he has since that occa- 
sion made happy are numerous indeed. Rev. and 
Mrs. Heald are most highly respected by all who 
know them. The influences which have ever radi- 
ated from their home have been uplifting and cheer- 
ing, penetrating, like the searching sunshine, many 
a neglected nook and corner in human hearts. 
"It is more blessed to give than to receive" might 
be given as one of the life principles of our sub- 
ject, and his ministrations have been those that 
were needed most and have made his name hon- 
ored and cherished wherever he is known. 

THOMPSON SINCLAIR GRANT. For- 
tunate is he who has back of him an ancestry hon- 
orable and distinguished, and happy is he if his 
lines of life are cast in harmony therewith. Our 
subject is blessed in this respect, for he springs 
from a prominent family, and is to-day one of the 
best known and most influential citizens of Hart- 
ford county. He is now Comptroller of Connecti- 
cut, and is a recognized leader in public affairs. 

Mr. Grant was born in the town of Enfield, 
Hartford county, June 21, 1843, a son °f Harry Al- 
len and Laura Ann (Thompson) Grant. His pater- 
nal grandfather, Robert Grant, a native of eastern 
Scotland and a surgeon by profession, was witn 
the British navy during the early part of the Revo- 
lutionary war, but later he became a naturalized 
American citizen and served on Gen. Marion's staff, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



891 



as surgeon, until the close of the war. He then 
located in South Carolina, where he engaged in 
raising rice, and subsequently removed to Glynn 
county, Ga., where he owned a large rice planta- 
tion, as well as a large cotton plantation on St. 
Simons Island, near Brunswick, Ga. He died in 

1844- 

Harry Allen Grant, our subjects father, was 
born on St. Simons Island, on the Georgia coast, in 
1813, and in 1821 was sent North to be educated. 
After graduating from Union College, in 1833, he 
studied medicine in Baltimore, Md., under Dr. 
Geddings, and in the early '30s practiced in Al- 
bany, N. V., for a period of two years. In 1836 he 
went to Europe, where he spent five years studying 
in the principal hospitals of the Old World. Re- 
turning to the United States in 1841, he opened an 
office in New York City, and the following year 
came to Hartford, Conn., where he engaged in the 
active practice of his profession until 1854. He 
then removed to Enfield, where he lived retired un- 
til his death, in 1884. During the Civil war he 
served on Gov. Buckingham's stall as surgeon- 
general of Connecticut, and in 1861 was a member 
of the Lower House of the State Legislature. At 
the Baltimore Convention, in 1864, when President 
Lincoln was nominated for a second term, he was 
one of the vice-presidents of that body, and during 
President Johnson's administration he was col- 
lector of Internal Revenue for the States of Con- 
necticut and Rhode Island, with office at Hartford, 
filling that position for four years. He was twice 
married, his first wife being Louisa, daughter of 
Lynott Bloodgood, of Albany, X. Y., and to them 
was horn one son, Harry Allen, Jr., a graduate of 
Hamilton College and a lawyer by profession, who 
died in Tarrytown, X. Y., in August, 1898. The 
second wife was Laura Ann, daughter of Orrin 
and Love (Lusk) Thompson, of Enfield, Conn., 
and the only child born of this union is Thompson 
Sinclair, our subject. Orrin Thompson was the 
founder of Thompsonville, this county, and his 
sketch will be found elsewhere. He was a son of 
Matthew Thompson, who drifted to Hartford 
county during the eighteenth century, and was one 
of the early settlers of the town of Suffield, and 
later of Enfield. He was a man of great force of 
character, was an extensive land speculator, and 
accumulated a large property. During the Revolu- 
tionary war he enlisted in Capt. Walker's company, 
at Stratford. Conn., and for three years fought for 
the independence of the Colonies. He was born 
in 1763, and died in Enfield March 4. 1828. In 
1787 he married Betsy Collins, who was born in 
1770. and died May 19, 1855. She drew a Revo- 
lutionary pension under the Pension Act of 1843. 

Thompson S. Grant was reared in Enfield, and 
was fitted for college in private schools. In 1861 
he located in Xew York City, and he was success- 
fully engaged in the woolen commission trade there 
until [872, when he returned to Enfield. lb- has 
since carried on business as a farmer, and from 



1874 as a dealer in and packer of seed leaf and 
Havana seed tobacco. He occupies the old family 
residence erected by his grandfather, Orrin Thomp- 
son, in 1832. Mr. Grant was married, Ocr. 17, 
1872, to Miss Alice V. Mintzing, a daughter of 
Jacob and Louisa (Thwing) Mintzing, of Charles- 
ton, S. C. Two children blessed this union: Harry 
Allen, born Jan. 10. 1S74. died April 28, 18X3; and 
Fairfax, born March 23, 1S75. died May 13. [883. 
The wife and mother was called to her final rest 
Sept. 13. [894. 

Mr. Grant is a hading member of the First 
Ecclesiastical Congregational Church of Enfield, 
and has served ten years as chairman of the so- 
ciety committee. In 1 S- .7 and [898 he was a mem- 
ber of the Lower House of the State Legislature, 
and in the latter year was elected Comptroller of 
Connecticut for a term of two years. His politi- 
cal support is always given to tin- men and meas- 
ures of the Republican party. He is public-spirited 
in an eminent degree, and has always d< ne much in 
behalf of the general interests of hi- c 1 amunity. 
Pleasant and genial in manner, he i> quite popular, 
and is the center of a large circle of friends and 
acquaintances who honor am! n him for his 



genuine worth 



GEORGE AUSTIN" WARREN (deceased) 

was a member of one of the earliest settled families 
of East Hartford, which beyond all doubl descended 
from Richard Warren, who came to America in 
the historic "Mayflower." They lived in Silver 
Lane, so called by the French soldiers who en- 
camped there at the time of the Revolutionary 
war and wdio, it is said, stored their money in one 
of the rooms of the Warren house. The first of 
the family of whom there is any authentic ac- 
count was William Warren, who married Mary 
Andrews, and settled in East Hartford in [664. 

Asbbel Warren married Penelope Pratt, whose 
mother's name was Margaret Ely, and to them 
were born seven children: Ashbel, William Ely, 
Harriet, Sarah. Nathaniel, Frederick and Margaret. 
Of these. Ashbel married Abigail Hayes; William 
Ely was killed by lightning in [804, when still a 

ng man: Harriet was married to a Mr. ( -imp; 
Sarah never married; Nathaniel married Sarah 
Bidwell; Frederick went south: Margaret was mar- 
ried to Tames Colvin. 

Nathaniel Warren, father of George V 
Warren, w; rn Vug. 13. 1707. and on Vug Ji. 

1820, married Sarah Bidwell, who was born June 
S, [800. He was a farmer, lived on the spol which 
was the late home of our subject, and died May 
13, ' s 77- ,!i - widow resided on the old home- 
stead until her death. July 13. [878. They were the 

entS of nine children: Harriet 1\. horn Jan. 

10. [821, married Watson 1 [ayes, and lived in South 
Windsor; Lucius H.. horn March _">. [823, mar- 
ried Abbey Miner, and was ; , residenl of Milford 
a1 the time of his death: William Ely, horn June 



892 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



17, 1825, married Louisa Hills (nee Gillett), widow 
of Sherman Hills, and lived in East Hartford; 
George Austin is the subject of this sketch; Emily 
A., born July 5, 1830, was married to Edward 
Miner, and lived in Gilead ; Leverett D., born Dec. 
12, 1832, married Mary Wheeler, and lived in 
Bridgeport; Alfred Newton, born Aug. 8, 1835, 
married Ann Eliza Stowe, and lived in Dunlap, 
Iowa; Laura Jane, born April 21, 1838, married 
George Hills, and lived in Gileau ; and Frederick 
R., born Dec. 5, 1840, married Amelia Milton, who 
was born Jan. 17, 1844, and lives in Silver Lane. 

George Austin Warren was born Oct. 27, 1827, 
in a house that stood just west of the one in which 
he died. He was educated at the Willow Brook 
school, under Horace Cornwall and others, and at 
Wells Hall, under Joseph A. Hurlburt. After 
leaving school he assisted on the home farm until 
his marriage, Nov. 19, 1854, to Miss Almira Risley, 
who was born June 9, 1829, a daughter of Harvey 
and Minerva (Loomis) Risley, residents of South 
Windsor, then a part of East Windsor. In 1877 
Mr. W r arren erected his new dwelling, and here 
followed general farming and tobacco growing un- 
til his death, which occurred Sept. 6, 1898. To 
his marriage with Almira Risley were born the 
following six children: Ella M., born March 17, 
1856, was married Nov. 19, 1879, to Henry J. 
Peavy, who was born Aug. 28, 1856, and is a mer- 
chant in Byron, Ga. Mr. and Mrs. Peavy have six 
children: Sadie Almira, born Nov. 17, 1880; 
Bertha W., Dec. 6, 1882; William A., Jan. 3, 1885 
(a twin brother died at birth) ; Nellie M., March 
4, 1889; Henry W., July 24, 1893; and Annie 
Rosalind, Aug. 24, 1896. The second child of 
Mr. and Mrs. Warren was a daughter, born July 
24, 1858, who died in infancy. The third, also 
a daughter, born March 14, 1861, likewise died in 
infancy. The fourth, Harvey R., was born March 
29, 1862, married Harriet B. Lutz, who was born 
June 10, 1869, and to this union was born one 
child, Eugene, May 25, 1894; Harvey R. is now en- 
gaged in the insurance business at Seattle, Wash. 
The fifth child, Louis N., born Feb. 16, 1864, first 
married, Sept. 13, 1891, Annie M. Miner, who 
died Aug. 5, 1892, and Nov. 25, 1897, Louis N. 
married Mrs. Lillie May (Edgerly) Oliver; their 
children are Ella May and Austin James. Louis 
N. Warren is now the manager of the home farm. 
The sixth child, Sara A., was born Aug. 20, 1866, 
and has her home with her mother. 

George Austin Warren was tall of stature and 
enjoyed good health nearly all his life. In politics 
he was a Democrat, but never cared for office. He 
was a member of no secret society, being very do- 
mestic in his habits, was an upright man in all re- 
spects and was honored bv all who knew him. His 
remains were interred in the cemetery at East Hart- 
ford, and his death was a sad loss to the whole 
community, but he left to his family the heritage 
of a spotless name. 

Mrs. Almira Warren, a very kind and entertain- 



ing lady, still resides in the house erected by her 
deceased husband in 1877, greatly respected by all 
her neighbors ; as a rule she passes the winters in 
Georgia, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Peavy. 

ALFRED EVERETT KILBOURNE. The 
tobacco interests of the town of South Windsor, ris- 
ing to paramount importance as an agricultural re- 
source, have brought into prominence several buyers 
whose business is not only important to the selling 
producers, but who require ability of an unusually 
high order. From year to year there are the same 
growers of the plant to buy from. They must be 
satisfied that they are paid a reasonable price. The 
purchasing manufacturers and merchants on the 
other hand must be satisfied that their representa- 
tives have been skillful buyers. The responsible po- 
sition requires a character of high integrity, keen 
business sense and judgment of the value of the 
crop that is unerring. Among the successful buy- 
ers at South Windsor is the subject of this sketch, 
whom experience, native talent and sterling honesty 
have amply qualified for the work. 

Mr. Kilbourne was born in the town of East 
Hartford July 19, 1849, a son °f Alfred Kilbourne, 
a native of South Windsor, who is more fully men- 
tioned elsewhere. He received a common-school ed- 
ucation, completing a course at Bryant & Stratton's 
Business College, Hartford, and remained on the 
home farm until his marriage, Oct. 12, 1872, at the 
age of twenty-three years, to Miss Eliza S. Hills, 
of East Hartford. The young couple began house- 
keeping on the farm they now occupy, a part of the 
old homestead. Here he made improvements and 
for many years continued to cultivate the farm. 
In 1886, in addition to the management of the place, 
he assumed the local agency for the well-known 
firm of Rodgers & Hubbard, of Middletown, dealers 
in fertilizers, and has continued to represent them 
ever since. In 1884 Mr. Kilbourne commenced buy- 
ing tobacco for L. Osterweis, of New Haven. He 
remained with him until 1892, when he accepted 
a position with Sutter Bros., of Chicago and Phil- 
adelphia, as agent and manager of their large to- 
bacco interests at East Hartford. This firm are 
perhaps the largest buyers of tobacco in the East, 
and in the year 1898 Mr. Kilbourne purchased for 
Sutter Bros, about 3,000 cases of tobacco, and in 
1899 4,000 cases. He has charge of their two 
large warehouses at East Hartford, and during the 
buying season employs and directs at times about 
one hundred men. Mr. Kilbourne's farm is located 
about four miles from Hartford and consists of 
about sixty acres, under a high state of cultivation. 
He raises about nine acres of tobacco each year. 

In politics Mr. Kilbourne is a Republican. He 
is a charter member of the Royal Arcanum Lodge 
at East Hartford, of which he was one of its or- 
ganizers. He is a member of the Congregational 
Church and an active religious worker, especially 
in Christian Endeavor circles, his interest and en- 
listment in that line dating from the Connecticut 





&- i^i^t^<^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



>M 



State Conference held in Bridgeport in November, 
1888. He became the first president of the East 
Hartford Society, and was kept in its leadership 
through eight terms. For several years he has been 
one of the leaders in the Christian Endeavor work 
throughout the State, and was for eight consecutive 
vears secretary and treasurer of the State Union. 
In his labors along these lines he is ably assisted 
bv invaluable helpers in his own Household. Air. 
Kilbourne is deeply interested in educational work, 
and is a member of the high school board of South 
Windsor. Air. Kilbourne devotes some attention to 
collecting curios, and has quite a large and hand- 
some collection of Indian relics and rare articles of 
value. To Air. and Airs. Kilbourne have been born 
four children, namely: Edith L. ; Alfred S., who 
died in infancy; Ethel S. ; and Herman R., who 
died in 1897. 

HOX. WALDO S. KNOX, formerly a repre- 
sentative from the town of Suffield in the Con- 
necticut Legislature, is one of the leading busi- 
ness men of that town. As senior partner in the 
firm of Knox Brothers he was connected with the 
hotel in Suffield village for many years, and under 
their able management it was known to the travel- 
ing public as the best in the locality. The brothers 
have also been engaged in other lines of business 
with marked success, and their upright dealings and 
far-sighted enterprise have given them a high 
standing in financial circles. During their twenty- 
eight vears of partnership, with thousands of dol- 
lars passing through their hands, they had their 
funds in common, and for years they and their re- 
spective families occupied the same residence in 
perfect harmony. As citizens they are public- 
spirited, taking a generous attitude toward all pro- 
gressive movements, and their geniality and good 
nature attract the friendship of all who know 
them. 

Our subject was born Aug. 4, 1845, in Bland- 
ford. Hampden Co., Mass., and comes of good 
Colonial stock, his ancestors having located at 
Blandford, Mass., at an early day. Eli Knox, his 
grandfather, married a Aliss Watson and made his 
home in Hampden county, Massachusetts. 

Samuel Knox, our subject's father, was born in 
November, 18 16, in Hampden county, Mass., where 
he grew to manhood. After his marriage he re- 
sided for a time on a farm at Blandford, bul later 
he removed to Chester, Mass., and in 1866 he lo- 
cated at Suffield and took charge of the stage line 
between that village and Windsor Locks. Suffield 
was a busy center for the tobacco business in those 
days, and the line was well patronized, but as the 
old hotel in the village had been abandoned travelers 
had great difficulty in securing accommodations. 
This fact led to our subject, then a young lad, 
suggesting the advisability of furnishing suitable 
entertainment, and as Samuel Knox had accumu- 
lated a little capital by industry and economy it was 



invested in the hotel owned by Xelson Wright.' The 
venture proved successful from the start, and soon 
he was obliged to enlarge the house, so large was 
the patronage. He was a man of fine abilities and 
sound judgment and, although he started in life 
without means or education, he acquired a com- 
fortable competence. For some years he dealt ex- 
tensively in horses, but his attention was chiefly 
given to the management of the hotel, which was 
continued by his two sons after his death. In poli- 
tics he was a standi Republican^ but never sought 
or held office. In person he was short and stout ; 
although he seemed to possess a good constitution 
he did not attain advanced years, his death oc- 
curring in 1872. His remains were first placed in 
a vault, and in the spring were interred in the new 
Woodlawn cemetery at Suffield, being the first to 
be interred there. On Alay 8, 1837, he was mar- 
ried, at Hanvinton, Conn., to Aliss Emily Jane 
Catlin, a native of that town, and three children were 
horn of the union. (1) Watson E., a graduate of 
the normal school at Westfield, Alass., and Wesleyan 
University, at Middletown, Conn., is now a prom- 
inent clergyman in the Alethodist Episcopal Church, 
being stationed at present at Waltham, Alass. Few 
ministers have been as successful as he in building 
new churches and clearing others from debt, and 
he is deservedly popular wherever he has been 
sent. (2) Waldo S., our subject, is mentioned more 
fully below. (3) Wallace C. is mentioned below. 
Airs. Emily J. (Catlin) Knox, whose efficient 
help was a leading factor in the success of the hold, 
how makes lier home with her son, Wallace. She 
was born Aug. 5, 1820, and was reared at Har- 
winton, where her parents, Jacob O. and Diana 
( Wilcox) Catlin, resided upon a farm. Her father 
was a prominent citizen of that locality and for 
many years served as justice of the peace. She 
was' the youngest in a family of eight children, 
of whom she is the only survivor. Of the others, 
Anna married Isaac Fenn, of Plymouth, and died 
at Otis, Alass., aged sixty-six years; George was 
a successful merchant in South Carolina, later in 
Leavenworth, Kans., and he died in New Ha 
at the age of seventy-three; Rhoda married Syl- 
vester Palmer, of Otis, Alass., and died there, aged 
seventy-five; Sheldon G., a prominent merchant in 
South 'Carolina and later in Leavenworth, Kans., 
died in the latter place at eighty-seven years of 
ia married Ahijah B. Knox, and died 
at Westfield, Alass., at the age of eighty-six years; 
Lorenzo died when nineteen while \et at home; 

and Sophronia married George Adams, of New 
Hartford, where she died aged seventy-five years. 

A- a boy Waldo S. Knox attended the public 

schools of the localities in which his parents re- 
sided, and for a short time was a studenl in Wil- 
braham College. Hi- excellent business ability he- 
rent at an earl) age, and in the tall oi 

[866, at'ter his father had purchased the stage route 

at Suffield, he came alone to take charge of it, the 



894 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



family not arriving until the following spring. He 
drove the stage for some time, making four trips 
a day, and, as stated above, the opening of the hotel 
was at his suggestion, its success demonstrating 
his shrewd judgment, even in boyhood. After his 
father's death he assumed the cares of the estate 
readily, carrying on the hotel and stage business 
with his brother, Wallace, and continuing the trade 
in horses, which was then well established. His 
purchases were chiefly made in New York and Con- 
necticut, but he made annual trips to Iowa, bring- 
ing large numbers of horses east for sale. He be- 
came known as an excellent judge of horses, his 
deals being uniformly profitable, and in his time 
has owned many valuable specimens. The com- 
pletion of the Suffield branch of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford railroad caused the stage 
line to be abandoned, but the brothers carried on 
the hotel until 1888, when they sold out and turned 
their attention to the culture of tobacco ; for some 
years they were also interested in packing. Our 
subject was a stockholder in the Suffield Water 
Works Co., and has been identified with different 
enterprises connected with local improvement and 
the general advancement of the community, serv- 
ing ten years as president of the Suffield Agricult- 
ural Society. His political influence has always 
been used in favor of the Republican party, and in 
1890 he was elected to the State Legislature, where 
his services were marked by the same business-like 
methods that have proved so successful in his 
private affairs. 

On Dec. 28, 1870, Mr. Knox married Miss" 
Maria Brackett, a native of Blandford, Mass., whose 
father, Benajah Brackett, a well-known agricult- 
urist, settled in Suffield during her girlhood. The 
only child of this marriage, Carrie, died when nine 
years old. On retiring from the hotel Mr. and 
Mrs. Knox removed to the Baptist parsonage, and 
in the spring of 1889 our subject bought property 
on Main street from Capt. Gillett, which he and his 
brother, Wallace, occupied together for about nine 
years. In 1898 our subject finished building a 
handsome modern residence, one of the finest in 
Suffield, where he expects to pass the afternoon of 
life in comfort. He and his wife are prominent in 
social life, and he belongs to Apollo Lodge, No. 
59, F. & A. M., and Gideon Granger Lodge, No. 
62, K. P., at Suffield. 

Wallace C. Knox, the junior member of the 
firm of Knox Brothers, was born Oct. 7, 1854, at 
Blandford, Mass., and attended the common schools 
of that town and of Chester, Mass., and at Suffield, 
this county. He also studied in the Connecticut 
Literary Institute at Suffield and the Eastman 
Business College at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and be- 
ing more inclined to business life than to books 
he immediately after his father's death devoted his 
energies to the hotel in partnership with our sub- 
ject. In their present business of farming he has 
shown capacity for successful management, and has 



won a high reputation in the community, having 
been elected continuously for a number of years as 
treasurer of the. Suffield Agricultural Society. He 
is also a stockholder in the Suffield Water Works 
Co., and his enterprise and public spirit have been 
manifested in various ways. Socially he and his 
wife are much esteemed, and he is a member of 
Apollo Lodge, No. 59, F. & A. M., at Suffield, 
while Mrs. Knox is an active worker in the Con- 
gregational Church. Politically he affiliates with 
the Republican party. He married Miss Kitty 
Sykes, of Suffield, a daughter of Frank and Jane 
(Allen) Sykes, and they have one child, Helen E., 
born Dec. 24, 1890. 

EDWIN WELLES, a well-known and honored 
citizen of Newington, belongs to one of the oldest 
and most distinguished Connecticut families, one 
that has been quite prominent in both civil and 
military affairs. He is a lineal descendant of Gov. 
Thomas Welles, who was born in England in 1596, 
and at an early day in the history of this country 
emigrated to the New World. He served as gov- 
ernor of Connecticut in 1655 and 1658 and died in 
Wethersfield, this State, Jan. 14, 1659-60. From 
him our subject traces his ancestry through the 
following: 

(II) John Welles, born in England in 1621, 
followed agricultural pursuits throughout life, and 
died in Stratford, Conn., in 1659. 

(III) Capt. Robert Welles, born in 1651, was 
made captain of the train-band of the north end of 
Wethersfield in September, 1689. He died June 
22, 1714. 

(IV) Capt. Gideon Welles, born in 1686, died 
March 28, 1740. He was appointed ensign of the 
North Company of Wethersfield in May, 1725, lieu- 
tenant in May, 1731, and captain in May, 1735. 

(V) Col. Solomon Welles, born Oct. 6, 1721, 
died Sept. 18, 1802. He graduated from Yale in 
1739, and Tater was appointed lieutenant-colonel of 
the Sixth Battalion of Foot. 

(VI) Gen. Roger Welles, born in Wethersfield 
Dec. 29, 1753, died May 2j, 1795. He graduated 
from Yale in 1775, and taught school in Wethers- 
field until the Revolutionary war broke out, when 
he entered the Colonial service, taking an active 
part in the conflict until hostilities ceased. He 
was captain of a company of picked men, none 
less than six feet tall, and served under Gen. La- 
Fayette in the siege of Yorktown. He was present 
at the surrender of Cornwallis. After the war he 
was married, March 27, 1785, to Jemima Kellogg, 
daughter of Capt. Martin and Mary (Boardman) 
Kellogg, and located in Newington, where he made 
his home until his death. He was commissioned 
general in the state militia of Connecticut, and was 
a member of the General Assembly at the time of 
his death. He was a tall man, six feet, two inches 
in his stockings, had light brown hair and blue 
eyes, and was of commanding appearance. Dur- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



895 



ing the war he was wounded by a bayonet thrust 
in the leg Oct. 14, 1781, and in token of his friend- 
ship Gen. LaFayette presented him with a sword. 

(VII) Roger Welles, born Aug. 10, 1790, was 
the younger of two sons, and was left fatherless at 
the age of four years. As his brother, Martin, 
entered Yale College the whole care of the farm 
devolved upon him at the age of fourteen years, 
and from that time until his mother's death, in 
[829, he had charge of the family homestead. He 
continued to live in the ancestral home until it was 
destroyed by fire in September, 1855, when he 
erected a good brick residence near the Congrega- 
tional church in Xewington, there spending the re- 
mainder of his days, He was married, April 16, 
181 5. by Rev. Joab Brace, to Miss Electa Stanley, 
who was born in July, 1796, and died Oct. 25, 
1880. Her father was Timothy Stanley, formerly 
of Xew Britain and later of Marietta, Ohio. Roger 
"Welles died of typhoid fever Nov. 18, 1859, in 
Xewington. He was a man of large frame, broad 
shoulders and nearly six feet tall and of athletic 
physical powers, the result of a good constitution 
and a life of temperance and simple habits spent in 
personal toil upon his farm. In his youth he was 
somewhat noted as a wrestler and for his feats of 
strength and agility. He was a man of practical 
mind, sound common sense, excellent judgment, 
sterling integrity and Christian uprightness, was 
conscientious and true to his convictions. He 
carried on a distillery for some years where cider 
brand}- was manufactured, until the Washingtonian 
temperance movement appealed to his conscience, 
and he abandoned the business. For about twenty 
years he was the trusted treasurer of the Ecclesi- 
astical Society in Newington, and as a citizen was 
always prompt to help forward any good work by 
his encouragement and financial support. In 1844 
he was a member of the General Assembly, repre- 
senting the town of Wethersfield, which then em- 
braced Newington. In his family were the follow- 
ing children: (1) Frances Norton, born April 
12, 1816, was married, March 17, 1836, to Heze- 
kiali Griswold, and died Feb. 25, 1865. (2) Ed- 
win, the subject of this sketch, is next in order of 
birth. (3) Charlotte Jemima, born Dec. 20, 1820, 
#as married Dec. 20, 1841, to Baldwin Hart, of 
Madison, and died March 31, 1858. (4) Julia, 
born March 5, 1823, married, Aug. 23, T843, Henry 
Olmstead, of East Hartford, and removed to Dun- 
lap. Iowa, where she died Feb. 2, 1877. (5) Abi- 
gail, born Oct. 30, 1825, was married Nov. 25, 
1852. to John D. Seymour, of Newington. (6) 
Roger, born March 7, 1829, was married at Prairie 
du Chien, Wis., June 16, 1858, to Mercy Delano 
Aiken, daughter of Lemuel S. Aiken, of Fairhaven, 
Mass. (7) Electa Stanley, born Aug. 15, 1832, 

married April u. 1858. to Coleman E. Wheeler, 
and died Jan. to, 1861. 

Edwin Welles, our subject, was born March 
29, 1818, in the old homestead in Newington, which 
stood on the opposite side of the road from his 



present residence. He was provided with a good 
common-school and academic education, pursuing 

his studies in Xewington, Westfield, East Mar- 
aud Xew Britain. At an early age he enter. 
company of horse under Gen. Pratt, and met for 
a few times with the companv for officers' drill, 
aring in the street under Capt. Stephen Mor- 
gan, but his military career was suddenly ended 
by ill health. His entire life has been passed on 
the home farm, and in connection with agricultural 
pursuits he was engaged in business as a manu- 
facturer for a number of years. 

In Xewington, Jan. 20, 1853, Mr. Welles was 
united in marriage with Miss Lucy Lowry Robbins, 
a daughter of Unni and Sarah 1 Dunham) Robl 
granddaughter of Gideon Dunham, and a great- 
granddaughter of the somewhat famous David 
Lowry. Three children were horn of this union: 
Fanny Augusta is at home; Mary Robbins is mar- 
ried to Elford B. Eddy, of Xew Britain, and has 
three children. Elford Welles, Stanley Robbins and 
Margaret Ames; Charles Edwin is now engaged 
in the banking and stock exchange business as a 
member of the firm of Welles, Herrick & Hicks, 
Xo. 15 Wall street, Xew York City; he married 
Mary Ames de Steiguer, of Athens, Ohio, who 
died in April, 1893. 

Mr. Welles has ever taken an active interest 
in political affairs, first as a Whig and later as a 
Republican, and has held a number of town offices. 
He was also elected by the Legislature a county 
commissioner for two successive terms of three 
years each, serving from 1861 to 1867, and in 1861 
represented Newington in the State Legislature. 
He and his family are active members of the Con- 
gregational Church, and for ten years he served as 
clerk of the Ecclesiastical Society. He is also a 
member of the Connecticut Society. Sons of the 
American Revolution. He commands the respect 
and esteem of all who know him on account of his 
sterling worth and many excellencies of character. 
Mr. Welles is five feet, ten and a half inches in 
height, and of medium build. 

WILLIAM SUMNER GOSLEE (deceased). 
For many years this upright, conscientious attorney 
was a practitioner at Glastonbury. His life was an 
example of painstaking and su mal 

effort, for whatever cause he espoused received his 

earnest and thorough support. He was renowned 
as a lawyer, and practiced among the people u 1 
he had known from childhood, for he was a native 
of the town of Glastonbury. 

Mr. Goslee was a desci ndanl of an old Connecti- 
cut family, which firsl settled in Buckingham. 
James Goslee, the father of our subject, was for 
many years a farmer of Buckingham, where both 
he and his brother, Thomas, were large land holdi 
Jam' I married Polly Sumner, a native of 

Hebron, and to them were horn five children: Wil- 
liam S., our subject; Philura, who married Lai 
ette Bosworth, of Vernon, and now lives at the old 



890 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



homestead in Buckingham ; Jemima, who married 
Gilbert Strickland, of Buckingham, where she now 
resides ; Rhoda, who married E. B. Treat, a pub- 
lisher in New York city, and died in May, 1899, her 
husband and five children surviving her and living 
in New York ; and Timothy, who died young. 

William S. Goslee was born Aug. 15, 1832, in 
Buckingham. His boyhood days were spent on the 
home farm, while he attended the neighboring 
schools. Desiring a higher education, he became a 
student in the excellent academy, then at Bucking- 
ham, and later attended Williston Seminary, Wil- 
liston, Alass. While a student there, aged nineteen 
years, his father died. He returned home and took 
charge of the farm for a time, and later pursued his 
studies at the New Britain Normal School. Choos- 
ing the profession of law as his life vocation, he en- 
tered the office of Judge Loren P. Waldo, at Tol- 
land, as a student. While reading law he taught 
school during the winter in his native district. Upon 
his admission to the Bar Mr. Goslee returned to 
Glastonbury, and there began a practice which he 
continued uninterruptedly until his death. In poli- 
tics he was a Whig in early life, and later a Republi- 
can. His political convictions were deep, and he 
became a leader in the local councils of his party. 
He served the town in various public capacities, and 
for several years was town clerk. During the pe- 
riod the Legislature met at New Haven, in 1870, 
he was elected and served as State senator, having 
previously served as assistant clerk in the Legisla- 
ture, and as representative of his town in that body. 
He was a man of superior intelligence, was an oni- 
niverous reader, and, possessing a retentive memory, 
was well informed upon professional and public 
matters. 

Mr. Goslee was married, Oct. 30, 1861, to Miss 
Alary T. Storrs, who was born at Mansfield, Conn., 
May 30, 1835, daughter of Dan P. and Mary S. (So- 
lace) Storrs. To our subject and wife were born 
two children, one that died in infancy ; and Henry 
Storrs, who was born Sept. 12, 1872, and was edu- 
cated in the common and select schools of Glaston- 
bury, and at Williston Seminary. By a curious co- 
incidence, when his father died he was at the same 
school, and at the same age as his father when the 
father of the latter died. Henry Storrs graduated 
from Williston in June, 1892. He spent two years 
in New York University, and is now practicing law 
at Hartford. He was married April 28, 1898, to 
Lulu E. Wright, of Glastonbury. 

Air. Goslee, our subject, died at his home in Glas- 
tonbury, March 31, 1892, aged fifty-nine years, and 
was mourned by a wide circle of friends and ac- 
quaintances. He was a prominent member of Das- 
kam Lodge, F. & A. M., and filled the chair of 
grand master. During the Civil war he was 
drafted, but owing to deafness he did not serve ; 
nevertheless he furnished a substitute. He was a 
lifelong member of the Congregational Church, join- 
ing the church at Glastonbury at the early age of 
thirteen years. His prosperous professional career 



was the result of his own individual efforts, and the 
self-reliance which he displayed in his earlier years 
no doubt enhanced the measure of his success. ' Air. 
Goslee was a man of recognized literary tastes and 
ability, and possessed one of the finest libraries in 
Glastonbury. His life principles, exemplified in 
every act, won for him the entire confidence of his 
fellow men. At the time of his death Air. Goslee 
was engaged in the compilation of a local history of 
Glastonbury, but the valuable historical data which 
he had collected at the expense of much time and 
trouble were lost, as the manuscript could not be 
found. Airs. Goslee, his widow, still resides in the 
old home. She has proven a devoted wife and 
mother, and her faithful life has won for her the 
kind regard and high esteem of the community in 
which she lives. 

LEAVITT POAIEROY BISSELL, though one 
of the younger business men of Suffield, is an in- 
fluential factor in the welfare of that town, his 
extensive manufacturing enterprises supplying many 
people with employment. While the village is 
known as the "haven of beautiful homes," it has 
heretofore lacked any adequate means of supplying 
its laboring elements with profitable and steady 
work, and in investing his capital to meet this need 
Air. Bissell has shown a wise appreciation of the 
obligations resting upon wealth. As a manufacturer 
of cigars and dealer in leaf tobacco he has estab- 
lished a high reputation, his product being shipped 
to all parts of the United States, and each year 
sees his capital increased by his thrifty manage- 
ment. He sells his goods, keeps his own books, is 
his own confidential clerk, and is thoroughly fa- 
miliar with the details of his business, yet with all 
his industry and application he is always genial and 
courteous as a companion, and finds time to lend 
effective and generous aid to many worthy public 
movements. 

Air. Bissell is of the eighth generation of his 
family in America, being a descendant of (I) John 
Bissell, Sr., who was born about 1591 in the County 
of Somerset, England, and came to Plymouth, Mass., 
in 1682. Previous to 1640 he removed to Windsor, 
Hartford county, and in 1648 or '49 he was granted 
by the Colony of Connecticut the sole right to run 
a ferry across the Connecticut river near Hayden's 
•Station. This old ferry is still operated, but has 
been moved further down the stream. 

(II) John Bissell, Jr., son of the pioneer, was 
born in England, and died in this county in 1693. 
He inherited the ferry from his father and con- 
tinued to operate it throughout life. 

(III) Jeremiah Bissell, the next in line of de- 
scent, was born Feb. 22, 1677. He married Mehit- 
abel White and had a son, Samuel. 

(IV) Samuel Bissell died Sept. 18, 1759. He 
was married, Aug. 1, 1746, to Mary Kibbe, of En- 
field, this county, and among their children was a 
son, Isaac. 

(V) Isaac Bissell, our subject's great-grandfa- 




s€<? 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



897 



ther. was born in Windsor Jan. 25, 1749, and died 
July 28, 1822. He was the first of the family to locate 
in Suffield, and all of the name now residing there 
are his descendants. On July 4, 1776, he married 
Amelia Leavitt, who was born in 1757, and died 
Xov. 15, 1809. They had the following children: 
Amelia: Amelia (second); Isaac; Amelia (third); 
Samuel ; Sophia ; Harvey ; George ; Asaph L., who 
is mentioned below ; Betsey ; Sally ; Luthera ; and 
George (second). 

(VI) Dr. Asaph L. Bissell, the grandfather of 
our subject, was born in Suffield Jan. 1, 1791, be- 
came a successful physician and an influential citi- 
zen of that locality. His judgment in business 
matters was exceptionally good. His death occurred 
Aug. 2, 1850. On June 3, 1819, he married Lucy 
Norton, daughter of Daniel and Lucy ( King) Nor- 
ton, and they had eight children: Charles S., our 
subject's father; William X., born in 1823, died in 
1843; Francis L., born in 1825; Mary, who died 
in childhood; Mary A., born Sept. 28, 1828, who 
married Horace E. Mather; Emily L., born in 1831, 
who married X. S. Bouton, of Chicago, 111., and 
died Sept. 12. 1857; Harvey L., born in 1834; and 
Eugene, born Xov. 1, 1839. 

( VII) Charles S. Bissell, father of our subject, 
Svas born April 5, 1821, in Suffield, where he con- 
tinued to reside until his death, on Feb. 2, 1887. 
At an early age he began to manifest unusual busi- 
ness ability, and for many years he was one of the 
leading financiers of this section. He seemed to 
have an intuitive knowledge as to the worth of an 
investment, his opinions carrying much weight with 
his associates in business, and his ventures proved 
uniformly profitable. At one time he was a di- 
rector in the old Continental Insurance Co. Po- 
litically he was a strong Republican, but he never 
sought public honors as a reward for partisan work. 
In religious faith he was a Congregationalist, and 
his wealth enabled him to assist in many worthy 
movements. He married Miss Maria E. Pomeroy, 
of Suffield, and had two children: Leavitt P., our 
subject : and Charles C, a member of the firm of 
L. P. Bissell. Bro. & Co., of Suffield. The mother, 
who is still living, is now the wife of Charles ( i. 
Pomeroy, of Suffield. She was born in Suffield, 
the daughter of Chauncey and Maria < Granger Pom- 
eroy, and is a sister of the late A. G. Pomeroy, the 
well-known tobacco dealer of Hartford, formerly 
of Suffiel 1. 

(VIII) Leavitt P. Ihssell was born April 18, 
1865, and was educated in the public schools of Suf- 
field and the Connecticut Literary Institute, with 
one year of study at Wilbraham Academy. As a 
boy he gained many practical business ideas from 
observing his father's operations, and at nineteen 
he started upon his career by accepting a position 
as clerk in the home office of th Travelers In- 
surance Company at Hartford. His capabilities 
brought him one promotion after another until he 
was the second in rank in the auditing depart- 
ment, and after six years in the office he left it to 

57 



engage in business on his own account, as a mem- 
ber of the firm of W. r>. Drake & Co., cigar man- 
ufacturers of Suffield. Mr. Drake's death caused 
a change in the firm in February, 1895, our sub- 
ject becoming sole proprietor and conducting the 
linn under the name of L. 1'. Bissell with marked 
success, the output now averaging over a million 
cigars annually. Jn 1897 .Mr. lhssell became in- 
terested in the leaf tobacco business as a partner in 
the firm of R. F. Brome & ( >>., soon afterward 
buying .Mr. Brome's share in this concern. For a 
time he conducted both establishments alone, but 
in the fall of 1898 his brother joined him and they 
organized the firm of L. P. Bissell. Bro. & Co. He 
is also largely interested in growing tobacco, and 
was one of the original organizers of The Bissell 
( iraves Co., of which he is secretary and treasurer. 
They own one of the finest tobacco farms in the 
Connecticut valley, located about two miles from 
Suffield Center, where they grow from seventy- 
live to one hundred acres of tobacco annually. Mr. 
Bissell's well-proven sagacity has made hio co-op- 
eration or recognized value in other lines, and he 
has been connected with various corporate ventures; 
is a director of the Suffield Water Works Co., and 
is a trustee of the Connecticut Literary Institution. 
of which he was secretary of the hoard for several 
years. 

In 1888 Mr. Bissell married Miss Mary Weston 
Gilbert, daughter of Weston and Mary (Loomis) 
Gilbert, of Suffield, and five children have bright- 
ened his home, two of whom are living, Arthur < J. 
and Mary \V. Mr. Bissell and nis accomplished 
wife are prominent in the best s circles, and 

he 1- identified with Torrington Lodge, X". ^72, 
Ik 1'. ( ). I-:.: Apollo Lodge, Xo. 59, F. & \.'.\k, 
of Suffield; Washington Chapter. Xo. 30, R. A. 
M.; Washington Commandery, Xo. 1, K. T.. at 
Hartford; Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 

ine, at Hartford, and Gideon Granger Lodge, 
Xo. 62, K. P., at Suffield,, of which he is a charter 
member. 

ALMOX CLARK RUSSELL, memb 

of the firm of A. C. & W. E. Russell, I 
growers and general farmers of Suffield, was horn 
in Russell, Mass., Aug. 22, 1830, ami is a son of 
Abel and Emeline (Loomis) Russell, as well as 
a brother of E. A. Russell, in who tch on an- 

1 ither page will be found mentii >n ol 
ing fads touching the family historv. 

Ahnon C. Russell received a sound common- 
school education. lie remained in Russell until 
1858, when he went to Blandford, Mass., folio 
•ing farming there until 1870. Returning to Rus- 
sell he farmed there until 1880, when he came to 
Suffield and purchased from ( harks Woodworth 
what was known as the Ahnon Allen place and en 
gaged in stock raising and dairying; now the farm, 
which comprises s i\t 3, is devoted chii 

to tobacco culture. Mr. Russell was united in mar- 
riage, Oct. i, [854, with Ann Eliza Sperry, born 



898 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Dec. 4, 1836, who died April 3, 1885, a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church at Blandford ; her 
remains were interred at Suffield. To this mar- 
riage were born four children : Willis Edwin, Sarah 
Elizabeth, Eveline Sperry and Mary Emily. 

(1) Willis Edwin Russell was born July 6, 1855, 
was educated in the district schools of Blandford, 
Mass., and the Connecticut Literary Institute, of 
Suffield, Conn., and since leaving school has been 
associated with his father in farming, being the 
junior member of the firm of A. C. & W. E. Rus- 
sell. He married, June 22, 1881, at Blandford, 
Miss Emma Eugenia Culver, a native of the town, 
born Dec. 24, 1856, and a daughter of Dexter and 
Roxanna (Sanderson) Culver. Two children have 
blessed this union, Howard Frank, born March 4, 
1883, who is now attending the Suffield Institute; 
and Grace Eliza, born Jan. 10, 1888. W. E. Rus- 
sell is a Republican in politics, but has never sought 
office ; in religion he is a Congregationalist, has 
been a deacon in the Church for three years, has 
served as Sunday school teacher and superintend- 
ent, and is a member of the Society committee. 
He is a young man of more than ordinary intelli- 
gence, and is recognized as one of Suffield's most 
energetic and enterprising young citizens. 

(2) Sarah Elizabeth Russell was born March 
29, 1857, and died in Blandford, Oct. 19, 1859. 

(3) Eveline Sperry Russell was born in Bland- 
ford Dec. 2, i860, and was married in Suffield, Jan. 
12, 1887, to Emerson Wells Oatley. He was born 
Aug. 31, 1856, a son of Emerson and Charlotte 
(Herrick) Oatley, and is now living in Springfield, 
Mass., where Mr. Oatley is a trucker. One child, 
Hazel Belle, was born to Mr. and Mrs. Oatley, 
April 7, 1890, and died Oct. 4, 1899. 

(4) Mary Emily Russell was born in Blandford, 
June 6, 1863, and was married Oct. 17, 1883, to 
David Lester Brockett, who was born March 13, 
1857, and is a son of Frank J. and Maria (Gibbs) 
Brockett. To David L. and Mary Emily Brockett 
one child, Mabel Eliza, was born March 25, 1890. 

The second marriage of Almon Clark Russell, 
to Aurelia Loomis, widow of Chester H. Curtis, 
took place May 11, 1887. She was born July 7, 
1829, in Southampton, Mass., died April 24, 1895, 
in Suffield, and was interred in Russell, Mass., be- 
side her husband. 

A. C. Russell has long been a Republican in 
politics, has done his full duty in behalf of the 
party at the polls, but has never sought political 
preferment. He is somewhat liberal in his views 
on religion, but is a sincere Christian, is very active 
in educational matters, and was a member of the 
school committee in Blandford. He is recognized 
as a gentleman of sound judgment and splendid 
business ability, and is classed among Suffield's fore- 
most citizens. 

No family in Suffield has attained a higher de- 
gree of usefulness and self-earned respect than that 
of Almon C. Russell, and their long line of an- 
cestry has found in both father and son descendants 



well worthy the name, and fully capable of main- 
taining the untarnished reputation of their worthy 
sires. 

The Sperry family, from which Mrs. Ann Eliza 
Russell descended is one of old Colonial respecta- 
bility. Elihu Sperry, one of its members, was born 
in North Haven, Conn., March 21, 1747, was a 
farmer. He removed to Blandford, Mass., in 1783, 
and there died, a member of the Congregational 
Church, in which he served as deacon. He had 
married, March 10, 1774, Abigail Barnes, a native 
of Connecticut, and to this union were born, in 
North Haven, Lola (who died unmarried), Caleb, 
Elihu and Beady ; in Blandford were born David, 
May 6, 1787, and Abigail, Sept. 6, 1791. A short 
time before his death Deacon Elihu Sperry wrote 
upon the blank pages of his Bible as follows : 

I, Elihu Sperry, was born in North Haven, in the State 
of Connecticut, m the year of our Lord one thousand seven 
hundred and forty-seven, on the twenty-hrst day of March. 
As near as I recollect I became a member of the Church in 
the place of my nativity, about forty-two years ago, and 
removed to this town when I was thirty-six years of age. 
Being now in a feeble state of health, and, as I apprehend, 
near the close of life, I wish to leave the following advice as 
a testimony of my desire for the spiritual wellare of my 
family, the Church and the world: 

1. I advise my wife and children to attend especially 
to those things which are spiritual and divine; to maintain a 
constant intercourse with God by public and private prayer; 
faithfully to observe the ordinances of His House; to regard 
with kindness and affection their brethren and sisters in the 
Church; and to trust not in their own righteousness but in 
the righteousness of Christ. 

2. I desire to be thankful to the God of all mercy and 
grace for the honor which the Church in this place has con- 
ferred upon me in appointing me one of its officers; for the 
respect and kindness with which its members have ever 
treated me and for the numerous gifts and attentions which 
they have bestowed upon me. For all these favors I return 
the Church my sincere thanks. My earnest prayer to God 
is that its members may walk together in brotherly love, 
that they may enjoy the presence of the Savior, that they 
may have their graces strengthened and their numbers 
increased; that they may abound in every good word and 
work, and that the blessing of the Father, the Son and the 
Holy Ghost, may rest upon them. 

3. I also return my thanks to all my neighbors for the 
many kindnesses which they have shown me. May the 
blessing of heaven rest upon them and their families. I 
hope they and all the people in this place will feel the 
importance of a better portion than this world can give. 
May pure religion be revived in the midst of them, and may 
they be prepared for the coming and kingdom of our blessed 
Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I also wish to express my 
ardent desire for the prosperity of religion throughout the 
earth and that the Lord would arise and build up Zion and 
fill the whole earth with his glory. I also wish to express 
my firm belief that the doctrines of the Bible which are 
generally denominated the doctrines of grace are true and 
faithful. 

[Signed.] Elihu Sperry. 

Blandford, Mass., March 20, 1822. 

Caleb Sperry, grandfather of Mrs. Russell, was 
born Nov. 11, 1777, was reared a wagonmaker, 
and finally became a farmer. He married, Feb. 

3, 1807, Hulda Hawkins, a daughter of 

and Mollie (Henry) Hawkins, and died April 17, 
1858, leaving his widow and two sons. Five chil- 
dren were born to them : Rachel Mahala, born Aug. 
13, 1809, died single. May 14, 1848; David Gilbert, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



>99 



born July 10, 1813; Joseph Denslow, born Feb. 13, 
1818. died March 7, 1822; Mary Elizabeth, born 
July 13, 1824, died single June 26, 1842; and Henry 
Barnes, born Jan. 29, 1829. In December, 1866, 
(Mrs. Sperry removed to the home of her son, 
David G., in Waynesburg, Penn., and later to Ben- 
ton Center, near Scranton, Penn., where her death 
occurred Jan. 13, 1874, and where she was buried. 
David G. Sperry, father of Mrs. Russell, was 
born in Blandford, Mass., and was reared a farmer. 
On May 19, 1836, he there married Polly Parks, 
a daughter of Robert and Sarah (Shurtleff) Parks, 
Mrs. Sperry died in Blandford, Sept. 28, 1852, the 
mother of six children : Ann Eliza, who was mar- 
ried to Almon C. Russell ; Edwin David, born July 
I 15. 1838; Mary Elizabeth, July II, 1843; Dexter 
I Eugene, July 14. 1845: Eveline Maria, Sept. 21, 
1846; and Emily Josephine, Sept. 21, 1852. After 
the death of his wife David Sperry removed to 
Uniontown, Penn., where he kept a hotel for some 
years, and then went to Maple Farm, Greensboro, 
Greene county, in 1865. and to Waynesburg, in 
1866. In April, 1867, he moved to Scranton. where 
he lived until 1873, when he removed to Benton 
Center, and there he remained, engaged in farm- 
ing, until 1876, when he made his final home in 
Philadelphia; he died there Sept. 19, of the same 
year. 

For his second wife Mr. Sperry married Cath- 
erine Herbert, who was born Dec. 22, 1830, a 
daughter of Hiram and Elizabeth (Vance) Herbert, 
of Connellsville, Penn.. and to this marriage came 
two children: Frank Herbert, born Jan. 26, 1859, 
who died in Scranton, Nov. 19. 1878: and Alice 
Rosella. born April 5, 1862. The mother of these 
died in Philadelphia in 1899. 

WILLIAM SIERIXG (deceased) was an ener- 
I getic and successful business man of New Britain, 
I and part owner of the Siering & Holmes block, the 
I finest and most substantially constructed business 
building in the city, and one of the best in the State. 
For some years he was prominently identified with 
the liquor interests, and he was active in the promo- 
tion of various enterprises in his city, including the 
New Britain Telephone Co., in which he was a 
Stockholder. 

Mr. Siering was born March 4, 1851. in Eliza- 
beth, X. J., and was of German ancestry in both 
paternal and maternal lines. George Siering, his 
father, was born in 1823, in Bavaria. Germany, 
where he attended school from his seventh to his 
fourteenth year. According to the custom of his 
country, he learned a trade, choosing that of baker, 
which he followed for a short time. He served in 
the German army during the Revolution of 1848, 
and in the fall of 1849 came to America with his 
wife, Catherine Host, also a native of Bavaria, horn 
July 6, 1825. After his arrival he worked at his 
trade for a time, and later he removed to New 
Britain, where he learned the miller's trade with 
the Russell & Erwin Co. This business he followed 



until [857, when he bought a saloon and boarding- 
house at the corner of Lafayette and I irovc streets, 
in the rear of the screw shop. In the fall of 1859 
he sold out, and for some time was employed in the 
O. B. North foundry. When that establishment 
was burned, in 1863, he returned to the Russell & 
Erwin Co., with whom he remained until the strike, 
ten years later. For about three years he was in 
the employ of Taylor's Malleable Iron Works, but 
in 1870 he went to Meriden, where he worked as a 
brass molder for a year, and spent the following year 
in Naugatuck, in the same business, lie was an 
expert molder, and continued his work quite stead- 
ily until a few years previous to his death, which oc- 
curred in November, 1886. He was a member of the 
Lutheran Church, and as an intelligent citizen took 
much interest in public questions, affiliating with the 
Democratic party in politics. Mi- estimable wife 
survives him with eight children: 1 1 1 Hannah mar- 
ried Valentine Bollever. (2) William is mentioned 
more fully below. 1 3) {Catherine married (first) 
John Yost, and (second) a Mr. Speigel, of New 
1 laven. (4) George, a barber in New Britain, mar- 
ried Miss Hashfield, of Meriden. 151 Annie mar- 
ried Paul I'.erner. of New I laven. (<>) Lena married 
William Gilbert, of New Britain. 171 Louisa mar- 
ried Louis Miller. (S) Maggie married Frank Bentz. 
( )ur subject's education was begun in the Burritt 
school, New Britain, but when he was eight years "Id 
his parents removed to Curtis Hill, and he attended 
the schools of the fourth district for some time. 
After reaching the age of eleven years he only at- 
tended night school, hut through private study he 
gained a thorough knowledge of German and Eng- 
lish, and became especially well informed upon the 
German wars and our own Civil war. As a hoy 
he was employed in the Wheeler factory, in making 
curry-combs, and as core-maker in the Russell & 
Erwin shops. For some time he worked for O. B. 
North, and when his factory burned he went to the 
Malleable Iron Works. His ability secured him 
responsible positions, and the first pin machine set 
up in the Stanley Works was under his charge for 
a time. He spent one year with the New Britain 
Hosiery Co., a year and a half in the finishing de- 
partment of the Russell iK: Erwin factory, and for 
a time was employed by the Lander-. I'rar\ & 
Clark Co., and in the turning department of the 
North & Judd shops. In [867 he spent six months 
at the barber's trade, and later after a short time 
in the Union Grocery and Feed Store, he went to 
Hartford, where he tended bar for three months. 

On his return to New Britain he again worked for 

the Russell & Erwin Co., and the Stanley Co., hut 

in the fall of (868 he became interested in the bar- 
ber's track' with Christian Hess. In Vpril, 1871, he 
started in business for himself in the \ ienna Baker} . 
and in [872, he opened a barber shop under the | 
office, when- he continued for several years, having 
fourteen apprentices durine that time. In May, [881, 
he sold out and purchased Harry Watkins' saloon 
at No. 68 West Main street, and engaged in the 



900 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



liquor business. In April, 1886, he rented a build- 
ing on Commercial street, which he purchased two 
years later, and in 1889 he bought the Watkins 
property. In 1890 he began the erection of the 
Siering & Holmes block, in partnership with J. W. 
Holmes, completing it in 1893. As a stanch Demo- 
crat Mr. Siering took an active interest at times in 
political affairs, and in 1872 he served as constable. 
For fifteen years he was park commissioner, and 
during the building of St. John's Lutheran Church, 
of which he was a trustee, he was a leading worker 
in the enterprise. He belonged to the New Britain 
Rifle Club, being a noted marksman ; was also con- 
nected with St. Elmo Lodge, K. of P. ; Gerstaecker 
Lodge, I. O. O. F., a German lodge; the Order of 
Foresters; the Turnverein, and Concordia Benevo- 
lent Society. He believed in enjoying life, having 
mam- friends, and in 1883 went to Europe, intending 
to visit Germany and other countries, but after a 
brief stay in London and Paris one of the party 
died, and he returned home. 

In 1888 Mr. Siering married Miss Emma Ko- 
nold, a native of Collinsville, this county. Her 
father, Matthew Konold, a highly-respected citizen, 
was foreman in the ax factory in that place, for 
forty years, and manufactured hammers for the use 
of California gold miners. 

ALFRED W. HAXMER. Prominent among 
the enterprising and progressive business men of 
Wethersfield is the subject of this sketch — the 
junior member of the firm of Bulkley & Hanmer, 
general merchants. In business affairs he is notably 
reliable, systematic and methodical, and his sagac- 
ity, keen discrimination and sound judgment have 
made him an important factor in business circles. 

Mr. Hanmer was born in Wethersfield May 13, 
1867, and belongs to a family that was early 
founded in Massachusetts and other sections of 
New England. The first to come to Wethersfield 
was Francis Hanmer, of Boston, where he had 
married a Miss King. He became a land owner and 
general farmer of Wethersfield, where he spent the 
remainder of his life. 

Flis son, Francis Hanmer, Jr., was a lifelong 
resident of Wethersfield, and was a farmer by occu- 
pation. His remains were interred in Wethersfield. 
On May 4, 1730, he married Elizabeth Curtis, and 
they had ten children, whose names and dates of 
birth were as follows: John, Aug. 2, 1731 ; Eliza- 
beth, Aug. 16, 1732; Abigail, July 13, 1735; Francis, 
March 23, 1739: Samuel, April 16, 1741 ; Ann, Aug. 
9, 1743; Guy, Nov. 4, 1745: James. Dec. 10, 1747; 
Hannah, April 21, 1750; and Martha, Jan. 6. 1753. 

Samuel Hanmer, son of Francis, Jr., also made 
his home in Wethersfield throughout life, his time 
and attention being devoted to general farming", 
and there he died and was buried. He married 
Sarah Wills, and their children were Sarah, born 
April 25, 1769; Abigail, Aug. 15, 1770; Hulda, 
July 30, 1773; Samuel, Dec. 3, 1778; Elizabeth, 
wife of Joseph Harris, July 13, 1780; Prudence, 



Sept. 26, 1782; Nancy, wife of Caleb Pond, Feb. 
12, 1785; and Joseph, Nov. 23, 1787. 

Samuel Hanmer, Jr., spent his life in Wethers- 
field, and his remains were interred in the old fam- 
ily cemetery in that town. He married Lucy Crane, 
of Wethersfield, and to them were born nine chil- 
dren : Sarah, John, Samuel, Samuel, Lucy A., 
Nancy, Elizabeth, Henry and Charles. 

John Hanmer, the eldest son in the above fam- 
ily, was the grandfather of our subject. He was 
born, reared and educated in Wethersfield, and in' 
early life assisted in the work of the farm, but later 
he engaged in the produce business and the coasting 
trade, as captain of a schooner plying between 
Wethersfield and New York. Politically he was 
first an Old-line Whig and later a Republican, and 
he was called upon to fill several local offices, be- 
ing a man well liked and highly respected in the 
community where he resided. He died at the old 
home in Wethersfield, where his daughter, Miss 
Elizabeth, now resides, and was laid to rest in the 
Wethersfield cemetery. He married Hannah 
Churchill, a native of the same town, daughter 
of Levi Churchill and granddaughter of Jesse 
Churchill, a soldier of the Revolutionary war. The 
children born of this union were Caleb ; Elizabeth ; 
Mary, wife of Elizur Goodrich, president of the 
Hartford Street Railway Co. ; Henry C, father of 
our subject; Felicia, wife of Dudley W T ells ; and 
John, a resident of Wethersfield. 

Henry C. Hanmer was born in Wethersfield 
and educated in its district schools. He grew to 
manhood in his native town, and became one of its 
successful general farmers and tobacco growers. 
He died in Wethersfield while still in the prime of 
life, and was laid to rest in the cemetery there. He 
was a member of the first company of Governor's 
Horse Guards, was a Republican in politics and a 
consistent member of the Episcopal Church. He 
was noted for his upright, honorable dealings, and 
was held in high esteem bv all who knew him. He 
married Miss Clara E. Way, a native of Gilead, 
Conn., and a daughter of John M. Way. She is a 
most estimable lady, a faithful Christian and good 
mother, and is still living in Wethersfield. The 
children of the family were Alfred W., our subject; 
Charles, who lives on the home farm; John, who 
died in St. Louis, Mo., Feb. 19, 1895; Edward; 
and William E., of Wethersfield. 

Alfred W. Hanmer obtained a good practical 
education in the district schools and high school of 
Wethersfield, the South school of Hartford, and 
Wilbraham Academy. After completing his educa- 
tion he worked on the home farm for six years, 
and then clerked in a Hartford store for three 
years. In 1892 he formed a partnership with 
Charles Bulkley under the firm name of Bulkley & 
Hanmer, and they have since successfully engaged 
in business in Wethersfield as general merchants, 
druggists and dealers in coal, feed, having built 
up an excellent trade by fair and honorable deal- 
ing. Mr. Hanmer is a man of good business abil- 




^MzJ% 







COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



901 



ity, energetic and progressive, and carries forward 
to successful completion whatever he undertakes. 
The success that he has achieved in life is due to 
his own well-directed efforts, and commands the 
respect and confidence of all with whom he comes 
in contact. He is a Republican in politics, was 
elected first selectman in 1898, and has served as 
school treasurer in his town. Fraternally he is a 
member of Wethersfield Grange, and religiously 
both he and his wife hold membership in the Epis- 
copal Church. He was married, in 1890, to Miss 
Nellie Talcott, a lady of culture and refinement, 
who was born in Hartford, and is a daughter of 
Frank Talcott. By this union two children have 
been born : Clara and Francis. 

HOLCOMB FAMILY. Thomas Holcomb, the 
first of the name who settled in New England, 
came from England and located in Dorchester, 
Mass. In 1634 he was made a freeman. In 1635 
he came to Windsor, Conn., and in 1639 removed 
to Poquonock, where he engaged in farming. He 
died in Windsor Sept. 7, 1657. In 1639 he was one 
of the representatives of the town of Windsor at the 
convention in Hartford called to form a constitu- 
tion for the Colony of Connecticut. His widow, 
Elizabeth, in 1658, married for her second husband 
James Eno, one of the first settlers of Windsor. 
The family of Thomas and Elizabeth Holcomb was 
as follows: Elizabeth M., born Nov. 16, 1634, mar- 
ried Josiah Ellsworth, of Windsor; Mary M., born 
Oct. 3, 1635, married George Griswold ; Abigail, 
baptized Jan. 6, 1638, married. June 1 1, [658, Sam- 
uel Bissell ; Joshua was born Sept. 2J, 1640; Sarah, 
born Aug. 14, 1642, died in 1654; Benajah was born 
June 23, 1644; Deborah, born Oct. 15, [646, died 
in 1049: Nathaniel was born Nov. 4. 1048; Deborah, 
born Feb. 15, 1650, married, Nov. 5, 1668, Daniel 
Birge, of Windsor; Jonathan, born March 23, 1652, 
died Sept. 13, 1656. 

Joshua Holcomb, born Sept. 27, 1640, in Wind- 
sor, w r hen a young man removed to Simsbury, where 
he settled and engaged in farming, and where he 
spent the remainder of his life. He died in [690. 
He represented the town of Simsbury in the < !en- 
eral Assembly of Connecticut, and was honored and 
respected. He married, June 4, 1663, Ruth Sherod, 
of Sherwood, and to them nine children were born : 
Ruth, May 26, 1664; Thomas, March 30, 1666; 
Sarah, June 23, 1668; Elizabeth, April 4, 1670; 
Joshua, in 1672; Deborah, Feb. 10, 1075; Mary, 
in 1680; Hannah, in 1686; Moses, July 4, 1688 
(died in 1700). 

Joshua Holcomb, son of Joshua, was born in 
Simsbury in 1672, there grew to manhood and there 
engaged in farming all his life. He married Mary 
Griffin, May 10, 1721. Their eight children, with 
dates of birth, were as follows : Joel, Aug. 18. 1723 ; 
Joshua, Feb. 2, 1726; Kesiah, April 2, [728; Jemima 
and Zilpah, twins, Aug. 12, 1730; Ahinoam, Feb. 
J 7> ^3 2 S3- Benajah, Sept. 9, 1737: [esse, De< 
J 739- 



Capt. Benajah Holcomb, born Sept. 9, 1737, was 
an officer in the Revolutionary war. He lived in 
Simsbury, and was engaged in farming all his 
life. On Aug. 5, 1763, he married Lydia For wood, 
who was born in Simsbury, Oct. 27, 1740, daughter 
of Abel and Hannah (Phelps) Forwood. Her 
mother was a daughter of Sergt. Joseph Phelps. 
The children born to Capt. Benajah and Lydia I tol- 
comb were as follows: Benajah, Aug. 5, [764; 
Elihu, Aug. 20, 1766; and Jemima, Feb. 26, 1777. 

Benajah Holcomb, born Aug. 5, [764, when a 
young man removed to that part of Simsbury which 
now comprises the town of Simsbury, where he spent 
his entire life; he died in Granby, and was buried 
there. He married Mary Case, daughter of Martin 
Case, of Granby, whose father was a soldier of 
the Revolution, and the children born to them were: 
I lull ; l'hilo; Linus, who died in Ohio; Salmon, who 
died in Ohio; Polly; Samuel and Betsey. 

Hull Holcomb, the grandfather of our subject, 
Gavette B. Holcomb, was born in Granby, where he 
engaged in farming. He married Lucinda Buel, 
of Granby, who bore him five children: Polly, who 
married Chancey Holcomb; Edmond, father of our 
subject; Nancy, who married Asa Hoskins; Burt, 
who settled in Paris, 111.; and Laura, who died un- 
married. 

Edmond Holcomb, the father of our subject, was 
born in Simsbury, and was educated in the district 
schools of the town. He grew up on a farm, and 
when a young man peddled Yankee notions through- 
out the States of \ew York and Massachusetts, 
as well as in Connecticut. Later lie engaged in 
mercantile business in North Adams, Mass., until 
1849, when he became an argonaut, voyaging to 
California in a sailing vessel around Cape I lorn. 
After two years of prospecting, with fair success, 
he returned to his native home, making the trip by 
water, and located in Granby, where he bought a 
farm and spent the balance of his life, engaged 
principally in general farming. He greatly im- 
proved his farm, died there in 1878, and was buried 
in Simsbury. Mr. Holcomb married Harriet E. 
Gavette, who was born in Washington count), X. 
Y., daughter of John and Mary 1 Heath) Gavette, 
and to them were born four children: 1 1 1 Gavette 
B., subject of this sketch: 1 _> i Benajah, who is 
now a rancher in Valley Centre, San Diego Co., 
Cal., and who at the age of fourteen years enlisted 
in Company E 8th Conn. V. I. (he married Nancy 
Holcomb); (3) Joseph W.; and (4) Cornelia, the 
eldest of the family, who died at the age of nine- 
teen years. The mother of our subject died on 
the farm in Granby, and was buried in Simsbury 
cemetery. The father married for bis second wife 
Angeline Oatly, of Blandford, Mass., who bore 
him two children: Walter, now on the homestead 
in Granby; and Hattie, wife of Burton Nye, of 
Blandford, Mass. The family were members of the 
Congregational Church. Edmond Holcomb was a 
Democrat throughout life, and filled many town 
offices in Granby, including thai of selectman, lie 



902 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



was well known and very highly respected, pro- 
gressive, enterprising, honest and honorable in all 
his dealings, and noted for his frugal habits. Both 
his wives were good Christian women, faithfully 
devoted to their families. 

Gavette Bl t rt Holcomb, subject proper of this 
sketch, an extensive tobacco grower and general 
farmer of East Weatogue, Simsbury, was born in 
the town of Granby, on what was known as Barn- 
door Hill, June 10, 1845. He attended the district 
schools of Granby and the high school at Westfield. 
While yet a boy at school, and scarcely past his 
seventeenth birthday, he enlisted, Aug. 9, 1862, 
at Hartford in Company E, 16th Conn. V. I., 
under Col. Beach and Lieut. -Col. Cheney, and Capt. 
Babcock. In order to enlist at this age he had first 
to obtain his father's consent. The young soldier 
saw plenty of active service, and experienced the 
excessive horrors of war. He participated in the 
battles of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; Fredericks- 
burg; Suffolk; Norfolk, \ a. ; and Plymouth, N. C, 
where he was taken prisoner. April 20, 1864. He 
was confined in Andersonville prison, and at Flor- 
ence and Charleston, spending eleven months and 
six days as a prisoner of war, and was exchanged 
March 26, 1865. During his prison life he experi- 
enced the keenest suffering, and was but a living 
skeleton when released. Rejoining his regiment 
in North Carolina, he remained until the close of 
the war, and was mustered out June 24, 1865, with 
the rank of sergeant. 

Returning home, our subject made an effort to 
improve his education, attending Wilbraham Acad- 
emy, after which he taught school for two terms 
in Simsbury. In 1867 he started west and located 
at Paris, Edgar Co., 111., where he engaged in 
mercantile pursuits for a year, and then went to 
the Pacific slope, where he became an employe on 
the Union Pacific railroad for more than a year. 
Mr. Holcomb then returned to Simsbury and settled 
on the old Humphrey farm, East Weatogue, a tract 
of 200 acres. He has since been engaged in tobacco 
culture and in dairy and general farming, making 
extensive improvements to the property. 

In December, 1871, Mr. Holcomb married Ellen 
Maria Humphrey, daughter of Trumbull and De- 
luna ( Case ) Humphrey. One child has been born 
to this union, Grace Elizabeth, who first attended 
the district school, and was graduated from Mc- 
lean's Seminary at the age of sixteen years. She 
also graduated, after one year's study, from the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, Suffield, and for the 
past two years has been teaching school at Sims- 
bury. She is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, Abigail Phelps Chapter, 
Simsbury, and a young lady of character, educa- 
tion, culture and refinement, modest and unassum- 
ing in manner. She visited the Paris Exposition 
in 1900. Mrs. Holcomb, the wife of our subject, 
is devoted to her husband and daughter. In her 
home may be found the expression of beauty and 
taste, artistic embellishment and modern improve- 



ments at once revealing the housewife who de- 
lights in making home attractive, and whose in- 
tellectual perceptions and artistic intuitions are thus 
richly employed. 

The Humphrey family, of which Mrs. Holcomb 
is a representative, is one of the oldest in New 
England. Michael Humphrey, the founder, set- 
tled first in Massachusetts. Samuel, his son, born 
May 15, 1656, in Windsor, removed to Simsburv, 
then Massacoe, with his parents, and engaged in 
farming at East Weatogue. He owned a large 
tract of land, was justice of the peace under the 
Crown for several years, and represented the town 
in the General Assembly for the years 1702, 1719, 
1722 and 1725. He was commissioned lieutenant 
about 1709 or 1710 by Gov. Saltonstall, and filled 
many other positions of honor and trust. He was 
made justice of the peace of Hartford county by 
the General Assembly in 171 2, 17 14, 171 5 and 1716; 
was collector in 1687, and also served as fence 
viewer. He died in East Weatogue, June 15, 1736, 
and was buried in Simsbury. He married Mary 
Mills, daughter of Simon and Mary (Buel) Mills. 
She was born Dec. 8, 1662, and died in East Wea- 
togue April 4, 1730. The children of Samuel and 
Mary Humphrey were as follows : ( 1 ) Mary, born 
Nov. 16, 1 681, married Rev. Dudley Woodbridge, 
Dec. 7, 1699. (2) Elizabeth, born April 22, 1684, 
married, July 4, 1705, John Collyer, of Hartford. 

(3) Samuel, born May 17, 1686, died Oct. 6, 1759, 
married, first, Hannah Phelps, second, Mary Tuller, 
third, Lydia North, and for his fourth wife Mary 
Orton. He was the father of nineteen children. 

(4) Jonathan, born Dec. 2, 1688, died June 4, 1749. 
He married Mary Ruggles. (5) Abigail, born 
January, 1 716- 17, married John Case, son of John 
and Sarah (Holcomb) Case. (6) Hannah was born 
April 6, 1697. (7) Charles, who died May 14, 
1774, married Hepzibah Pettibone. (8) Noah, 
born in 1707, married Hannah Case. 

Charles Humphrey, son of Samuel Humphrey, 
was born in East Weatogue, and was also a farmer 
and a stock and corn raiser. He married, May 8, 
1723, Hepzibah Pettibone, daughter of Samuel S. 
Pettibone, and sister of Col. Jonathan Pettibone. 
The children born to Charles and Hepzibah Hum- 
phrey were: (1) Hepzibah, born Oct. 26, 1724, died 
Feb. 25, 1755. She married, Sept. 25, 1740, Sergt. 
Elisha Cornish, son of James Cornish. (2) Dorcas, 
born Feb. 4, 1727, died June 17, 1805. She mar- 
ried, April 14, 1743, Lieut. Dudley, son of David 
and Penelope (Buttolph) Case, born Nov. 23, 1723. 
(3) Judith, born July II, 1729, died June 5, 1808. 
She married, Aug. 14, 1746, Jeremiah Case, son of 
Capt. James and Esther (Fithen) Case, born July 
13, 1726. (4) Caroline, born Feb. 25, 1731-32, died 
in January, 1771. She married (first) Benajah 
Humphrey, and (second) Sylvanus Case, a son of 
Richard and Mary (Holcomb) Case. (5) Charles, 
born March 6, 1734, died in 1779. He married 
Sarah Humphrey. (6) Sylvanus, born Feb. 17, 
1735, died June 14, 1776. He married Charity 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



903 



Pettibone. (7) Marie, born April 11, 1738, 
died May 12, 1759. Sbe married Lieut. Na- 
thaniel Humphrey. (8) Abraham, born June 6, 
1740, died in 1767. He married Lois Merrill. 
(9) Lot, born May 19, 1743, died May 26, 1743. 

Sylvanus Humphrey, born Feb. 17, 1735-3''. ni 
Simsbury, engaged in farming all his life. He 
married. Sept. 22, 1763, Charity, born June 30, 
1744, died Oct. 5, 1803, daughter of John and 
Damaris ( Humphrey) Pettibone, of Simsbury. His 
widow married Elisha Cornish, and later Amasa 
Case. The children born to Sylvanus and Charity 
Humphrey were as follows : ( 1 ) Amaryllis, born 
June 10, 1764, died May 31, 1845. She married, 
Sept. 20, 1780, Capt. Fithen Case, son of Capt. 
Josiah and Hester (Higby) Case, of Canton. He 
was born in 1758, and died Aug. 25, 1829, in 
Canton. (2) Sylvanus, born Dec. 16, 1766, died 
Nov. 23, 1845. He married Betsey Humphrey. 
' 3 1 Rufus, born Nov. 26, 1770, died March 3, 
1844. He married Lucy Case. (4) Maria, born 
June 26, 1773, died March 15, 1777. 

Rufus Humphrey, son of Sylvanus, was born 
in Simsbury, Nov. 26, 1770. He was well educated. 
and was quite a prominent citizen. He followed 
farming all his life, died on his farm March 3, 
1844, and was buried in Simsbury. He married, 
June 26, 1790, at Simsbury. Lucy, daughter of En- 
sign Moses and Lucy (Wilcox) Case. She was 
born Feb. 9, 1772, and died Aug. 17, 1826. The 
children of Rufus and Lucy Humphrey were as 
follows: (1) Rufus, born Dec. 14, 1794, died Sept. 
20,1852. He married Harriet Wilcox. (2) Maria, 
born April 7, 1797, married, Nov. 5, 1829, Averitt, 
s<>n of Daniel and Esther (Merritt) Wilcox, being 
his second wife. (3) Lucy, burn Dec. 29, 1801, 
died unmarried, while residing with her sister, Mrs. 
Wilcox. (4) Drayton, born April 13, 1804, died 
April 14, i860. He married Rebecca, daughter of 
Reuben and Laura Roxana (Case) Wilcox. (5) 
Trumbull, born March 13, 1808, died April 25, 1804. 
( )n March 25, 1833, he married Deluna Case, daugh- 
ter of Friend and Sarah (Case) Case, born June 
2, 1809, died Nov. 2, 1880. Trumbull Humphrev 
was a farmer in East Weatogue all his life. He 
occupied a part of the original Humphrey farm in 
East Weatogue, and engaged in tobacco growing 
and general farming, was well known and highl) 
respected, honorable in his dealings, and on< 
Simsbury's honored citizens. II'- died on his farm, 
and was buried in Simsbury. The children born to 
Trumbull and Deluna Humphrey were as follows: 
Scotl sell, born March 13, 1834, married Julia 

Henrietta Leonard, and removed to Kansas; Eliza- 
beth Maria, born May 10, iK^f,, died April 4. [843; 
Herbert ( !ase, born Jan. 4, 1844, removed to Seneca, 
Nemaha Co., Kans., and died Sept. [9, [888; Ellen 
Maria, born Feb. 14, 1847. is the wife of our sub- 
ject: Charles Rufus, born Aug. 19, 184';, died I 
16, [899. 

Gavette B. Holcomb was elected to the State 
Legislature in 1878, as the candidate of the Demo- 



cratic party, and served on the military committee; 
he was again elected in 1888, on the same ticket. 
Mr. Holcomb has filled the office of selectman 
upward of ten years, and is still serving; has I 
chairman of the board, and on one occasion was 
nominated and elected by both parties. H< 
the people faithfully and well. He has acted as 
school visitor, and is now a member of the sch 
hoard. Socially he is a member of the < i. A. R.. 
Capt. Joseph R. Toy Post No. 83, and has filled all 
the offices of the post except chaplain: is a charter 
member of St. Mark's Lodge, F. & A. M., Simsbury, 
having joined the fraternity at Paris, Ilk. when he 
was twenty-one years old; and is a member of the 
Association of Union Ex-Prisoners >>i War. 

Mr. Holcomb is a director and stockholdei 
the Simsbury Creamery Co. He is a progressive 
and enterprising citizen, popular and most highly 
respected. ( >ne of the qualities which has con- 
tributed largely to his success has been his un- 
flagging industry. Mr. Holcomb has never been 
afraid of hard work, nor is he only a man of en- 
ergy. He has at heart the well-being of society, 
and has always manifested a deep interest in pop- 
ular education, and in those things which consti- 
tute the higher life of man. If good can come 
from evil, it may be that the year of extreme priva- 
tion which he experienced in Rebel prisons, where 
he not only himself endured the keenest anguish, 
but saw around him almost daily one comrade 
after another succumb to the final wretchedness, 
has given him a more serious and more helpful 
view of life. He has ever done as best he could 
that which lay before him, and that he has done 
well is the verdict of his fellow nun. 

WILLIAM JONES (deceased) was a re- 
spected resident of Ilockanum. Hartford county, and 
was the eldest son pf David and Mabel (Cotton) 
Jones, who had a family of eleven children: b 
parents are now deceased. 

David Jones was an only son. He was ;i shoe 
maker in his earlier manhood, but later becan 
farmer, and lived and died in Ilockanum. Mabel 
Cotton, his wife, was a daughter of John Cotton, a 
seafaring man, and the eleven children horn to Mr. 
and Mrs. Jones were as follows: Elizabeth A.., who 
is married to Watson Pebbles, of Hockanum; Will- 
iam, whose name opens this article; Mar 
married David Smith, father of tin- presenl Sheriff 
Smith: Sarah, wife of Nelson Taylor; Edwin, 
died in early manhood; .Millions,, (i), who died 
young; Albert 111. who died in infancj : Henry, 
who is a physician, - in Mounl Vernon, X. 

Y., and is married to Ruth Fleming, of that pi; 
Albert 1 _' 1. married to llallie Kip]', and lived in 

1 1 art ford ; Alphonso (2), who died in boyh 1 ; and 

Roxiana, who also died young. 

William Jones was born July 13. iK_m. in the 
house standing directly north of that o I by 

Edgar Brewer, in Ilockanum. Me received but a 
limited education, and at an early age left home to 



904 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






learn shoemaking. Becoming homesick, however, 
he returned, and, learning bricklaying, was em- 
ployed at various places in New England, and fol- 
lowed the trade nearly all the remainder of his life, 
although engaging also in farming. 

On Nov. 25, 1846, Mr. Jones married Miss Han- 
sey S. Brewer, a native of Hockanum, born March 
10, 1822, a daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Viets) 
Brewer. To this happy marriage were born two 
children : Edward Milton and George Sumner. 
Mr. Jones purchased the farm on which his widow 
now lives and built the residence in 1853, and six 
acres of the eight which constitute the farm are de- 
voted to tobacco growing. 

In politics Mr. Jones was a Democrat ; in re- 
ligion he was an attendant of the Congregational 
Church in youth, but later in life joined the Meth- 
odist Church, of winch he became treasurer, and to 
which he contributed very liberally of his means. 
He was a man of medium stature, was very intelli- 
gent and industrious. He was a kind and affection- 
ate husband and father, a true friend, and a devout 
Christian, and died in the Methodist faith May 1, 
1886, sincerely mourned by his bereaved family and 
many sorrowing friends. 

Edward Milton Jones, the elder son of William 
and Hansey S. Jones, was born April 2J, 1850, mar- 
ried Sarah E. Winn, of Carpenters, Tenn., and died 
in Memphis Nov. 5, 1888, his remains being brought 
home to Hockanum, Conn., to be interred. His 
children, three in number, are Mabel, who was born 
March 2, 1880, is married to Charles Taylor, and re- 
sides in Glastonbury; Annie D., born June 13, 1883, 
who also resides in Glastonbury ; and Thomas W., 
born Feb. 1, 1885, who lives with his mother in the 
same village. 

George Sumner Jones, the younger son of Will- 
iam and Hansey S. Jones, was born June 15, 1855, 
married Agnes Lusher, who was born in Saxony, 
Germany, July 23, 1864, and came to the United 
States June 25, 1881. To this marriage have also 
been born three children, in the following order: 
Arthur Sumner, Dec. 17, 1887; Hansey Christiana, 
Nov. 4, 1890; and Paul Anton, July 29, 1892. 

With Mrs. Hansey S. Jones, on the home place, 
lives her sister, Mrs. Caroline (Brewer) Avery, 
who has made her home there for the past seven 
years. The deceased husband of this lady, William 
Avery, was born in Groton Jan. 7, 1813, was a trav- 
eling salesman nearly all his life, was quite promi- 
nent in church affairs, and died, an honored citizen, 
Dec. 28, 1 89 1. Both Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Avery 
are greatly respected in the neighborhood, and live 
in peace and comfort in the seclusion of their neat 
and comfortable homestead. 

HON. ORSON B. MOORE. "Man's sociality 
of nature," writes the philosopher Carlyle, ''evinces 
itself, in spite of all that can be said, with an 
abundance of evidence, by this one fact, were there 
no other — the unspeakable delignt he takes in bi- 
ography." The history of this venerable resident 



of Windsor will be of more than usual interest to 
our readers, his long and useful career having won 
for him a high place in the esteem of the people of 
this section. As a useful business man, an aWe 
and faithful legislator, and a progressive, public- 
spirited citizen, his life furnishes an instructive ob- 
ject lesson. 

Mr. Moore belongs to one of the honored pionesr 
families of his town, his ancestors having followed 
agricultural pursuits there from an early day. 
Joseph Moore, his great-grandfather, lived and died 
upon a farm in that town. Elisha Moore, our sub- 
ject's grandfather, who served in the commissary 
department during the Revolutionary war, was a 
prosperous farmer and left a valuable estate to his 
sons. He married Hannah Moore, and had a large 
family, among whom were four sons : William, 
Elisha, Thomas and Orson. 

William Moore, the father of our subject, was 
born in Windsor in 1780, and after his marriage 
settled at the present homestead, where he followed 
farming many years, his death occurring in 1862, 
when he was aged eighty-two years. He was noted 
for his musical gifts, and from early manhcod was 
an excellent performer upon the violin, his old 
violin being now in our subject's possession. As 
a citizen he was much respected, but he never 
sought prominence in public affairs, although he 
was throughout his life a stanch Democrat. His 
wife, Lydia Case, was born in 1783 in Bloomfield, 
a daughter of Deacon Amasa Case, and died in 
1872, within one month of "her ninetieth birthday, 
her remains being interred in Windsor cemetery. 
They had ten children: Esther Jane, who died at 
the age of seventv-three, unmarried; Catherine, 
deceased, who married Martin Barber ; Amanda, de- 
ceased, who married Harry Halsey ; Margaret, who 
married James Roberts, and died in California; 
Lydia, who married Horace E. Roberts, and died at 
Feeding Hills, Mass. ; Julia, who married Ferdinand 
Calkins, of New York State, and died in New York 
City ; Eliza, who died unmarried ; Harriet, deceased, 
who married Henry Holman ; Orson B., our sub- 
ject; and John, formerly a partner with our sub- 
ject in farming and the brickmaking business, who 
was a successful business man and a substantial 
citizen, greatly esteemed in the community, and he 
died at the age of fifty-nine years, unmarried. 

Orson B. Moore was born May 11, 1818, at his 
present homestead, where he grew to manhood. His 
education was begun in the old "Bucktown, school 
house," Miss Laura Barber being one of his early 
teachers, and later he attended Windsor Academy. 
He was trained to habits of industry, and while as- 
sisting in the work of the farm was often employed 
in hauling brick from that neighborhood to Hart- 
ford with ox-teams for different brickmakers. While 
yet in his 'teens he was employed in a grocery on 
North Main street owned by Jeremiah Tuller, his 
wages being fixed at thirty dollars per year, but 
his employer failed at tne end of tne first year and 
he received onlv a trunk in addition to his board. 







ORSON B. MOORE 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



905 



He afterward worked for a time in New York 
State as a farm hand, and in the middle of a cold 
winter he walked all the way from Hamilton, N. 
Y., to Gnilford, Conn., to find similar employment. 
His feet were badly frozen while on this journey, 
and but for the kindness of the people along the 
way the results might have been serious. After 
an absence of five years he returned home and en- 
gaged in brickmaking and farming in partnership 
with his brother John, with whom he continued un- 
til the death of the latter. The firm was known as 
Moore Brothers, and enjoyed a high reputation in 
business circles, the product of their brickyard 
finding ready sale in Hartford, New London and 
other markets. They purchased the homestead 
from the other heirs, and as time passed bought 
other property until they became the most exten- 
sive real estate owners in the town. On the death 
of John Moore his share fell to our subject and the 
eldest sister, Jane, who died at the old homestead, 
and also left her property to him. 

Mr. Moore is a successful manager, and in his 
early days was an energetic worker, but since 1890 
his failing eyesight has compelled him to depend 
largely upon the Help of a private secretary in the 
transaction of business. With the exception of this 
affliction he has retained unimpaired his vigor of 
mind and body, enjoying excellent health for an 
octogenarian. His interest in local progress is as 
keen as it ever was, and many instances of his gen- 
erosity are to be found, notably the gift of seven- 
teen acres of land to Moore's Park Driving Asso- 
ciation for use as a park. Politically he is a stanch 
Democrat, and for many years he has been a leader 
in the local organization. In 1866 he served as a 
representative in the Legislature, and at times he 
has held town offices, including those of constable 
and collector. 

On Sept. 30, 1884, Mr. Moore married Mrs. 
Margaret J. Archer, widow of Norman C. Archer, 
and daughter of Daniel and Mary (Cleland) Mac- 
farlane. She was born April 7, 1839, at Newburg, 
X. Y., and is a member of a well-known family 
of that locality. Mr. Moore and his wife are prom- 
inent in social life, and Mrs. Moore is a member of 
the Methodist Church at Hartford. 

LOUIS AUSTIN and MAURICE EVERETT 
\\ ESTCOTT. Few men are more prominent or 
more widely known in the enterprising village of 
East Berlin than these gentlemen, who, as general 
merchants, have been identified with the business 
interests of the place for several years. They rep- 
resent a true type of American progress and enter- 
prise, and their indomitable energy, prudent busi- 
ness methods and reliable sagacity have all c un- 
billed to make them two of the ablest business nun 
of the county. 

The first of the family f o come to Hartford 
county was John Westcott, who was of Scottish 
descent. In transferring and remodeling: the ceme- 
tery in Hartford, in 1899, a tombstone containing 



the name of Waistcoat was found, and in all proba- 
bility it was the name from which Westcott has 
been derived. Edwin Westcott, son of John West- 
cott, and grandfather of our subjects, was a trades- 
man of Xewington, and married Miss Mary S. 
Hart. He went to New York State, and was never 
afterward heard from. 

Selah Westcott, father of our subjects, was born 
in Newington Nov. 15, 1823, and was the only child 
of Edwin Westcott. After the disappearance of his 
father he was bound out to the Robbins family of 
Xewington, when five years of age, and lived with 
them for four years. He then went to Farmington, 
where he learned the blacksmith's trade with his 
uncle, Chauncey Hart, and later he purchased an 
interest in the shop, the firm becoming 1 [art & West- 
cott. Subsequently he bought the interest of his part- 
ner, and for over forty years successfully engaged 
in business in a shop at the rear of the Methodist 
church in Farmington. He-sides doing a regular 
blacksmithing business he also engaged in the manu- 
facture of steel traps, hay-forks, etc. He started 
out in life penniless, but being industrious, energetic 
and persevering, he met with well-deserved success 
in his labors, and at his death left a comfortable 
property, consisting mostly of money. Me died 
Aug. 25, 1894, honored and respected by all who 
knew him on account of his upright and honorable 
life. On Nov. 17, 1842, he married Miss Catha- 
rine Lucy Dorman, of Farmington, who was born 
Feb. 10, 1825, a daughter of Israel and Esther 
(Stone) Dorman, of Burlington. She died < >ct. 30, 
1879, and was laid to rest in Farmington cemetery, 
where her husband's remains were also interred. 
He married for his second wife Miss li >rence 
Reed, of Farmington. who survives him. By the 
first union he had a family of four children: Hu- 
bert, born Feb. 15, 1844, died in Farmington Nov. 
2, 1857; Louis Austin, born June 6, [847, is men- 
tioned below; Maurice Everett, born Nov. 8, [851, 
is mentioned below; and Alice Kate, born Nov. 1 1, 
1858, is the wife of Walter White, superintendent of 
the Barber Match Co., of Akron, < >hio, and they 
have two children, Ethel and Howard. 

Louis A. Westcott was horn and reared in Farm- 
ington, and after attending the common schools pur- 
sued his studies for some time at Deacon Edward L. 
Hart's boys' school, in Farmington, from which he 
was graduated. 1 le began his business career in the 
employ of the Union Trading Co., of New Britain, 
where he remained one year, and then served as 
bookkeeper for John B. Xorthrop, a contract painter 
of New Britain, for the same length of time. He 
next entered James Thomson's general store, 
clerk, and after three years in that employ left New 
Britain and went to Hartford, where he was con- 
nected with tlie Citizens Trading I o. for a year. 
The following year he worked i*>v Alcotl & Healey, 
and at the end of that time formed a partnership 
with hi> brother, Maurice I... and opened a gro- 
cery store on Park street, Hartford, which they 
sold OUt to I lasting & Hooper in 1875. In I )c- 



906 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



cember, 1876, they purchased the general store of 
John Clark, in Poquonock, and carried it on until 
1886, when they sold to H. L. Metcalf. Removing 
to East Berlin in March, 1887, they bought the gen- 
eral mercantile store of W, K. Butler, which they 
have since conducted with signal success, and now 
enjoy a liberal share of the public patronage. 

Louis A. Westcott was married Feb. 1, 1870, to 
Miss Ellen M. Johnson, of Killingworth. Conn., 
who was born March 6, 1851, a daughter of William 
and Ellen Johnson, farming people. To this union 
came one child, Bessie Maurice, born Oct. 2J, 1871. 
She was graduated from the Middletown high 
school, and was married March 28, 1899, to Rev. 
Henry Medd, a Methodist minister of East Berlin. 
Mr. and Mrs. Westcott attend the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of East Berlin, and he affiliates with 
the Democratic party. He is a recognized leader in 
the ranks of the local organization, and is at present 
a member of the Democratic town board of Berlin. 
He was selectman from 1890 to 1895, and resigned 
in the latter year wnen appointed postmaster at East 
Berlin, during President Cleveland's second term, 
which position he most creditably filled for five 
and a half years. FYaternally he is a member of 
Harmony Lodge Xo. 20, F. & A. M., of Xew Brit- 
ain, and of Mattabessett Lodge Xo. 25, K. P., of 
East Berlin, of which he was master of finance 
when the lodge was instituted. He is a pleasant, 
genial gentleman, very fond of outdoor sports, and 
takes particular delight in horses, dogs, hunting, etc. 

Maurice Everett Westcott was also born 
in Farmington, and was educated in the dis- 
trict schools and Deacon Hart's school for 
boys in Farmington. After leaving school he 
entered Chauncey Rowe's general store in that 
town, as clerk, and held that position for 
about two years, after which he engaged in clerking 
in the grocery store of James Thomson, at Xew 
Britain, for the same length of time. He was next 
with H. J. Hawkins, in the grocery business in Xew 
Britain, until the firm was changed to Alcott & Hea- 
ley, and remained with the successors until they 
closed out the business in 1870. He then entered 
the employ of D. C. Judd, in the same line, in Xew 
Britain, and was with him until the spring of 1872, 
when he formed a partnership with his brother, 
Louis A., as previously stated. In 1885 he was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Poquonock, during President 
Cleveland's first administration, but the following 
year he resigned the office, the brothers having sold 
their store at that place. His appointment was one 
of the first in Connecticut during that adminis- 
tration. 

On June 24, 1879. Maurice E. Westcott was 
united in marriage with Miss Clara Eveline Clapp, 
of Xorth Hampton, Mass., who was born May 31, 
1855, a daughter of Merrick and Lucy (Hastings) 
Clapp. Our subject attends the Methodist Church, 
of which his wife is an earnest member, and he gives 
liberally to its support, and is always willing to as- 
sist the poor and needy. In his social relations he 



is connected with Wyllis Lodge Xo. 99, F. & A. M., 
of West Hartford, and Mattabessett Lodge Xo. 25, 
K. P., of East Berlin, in which he has passed all the 
chairs, and is at present master of finance. He is a 
well-read man, one who keeps thoroughly informed 
on the questions and issues of the day, and like his 
brother he is unswerving in his allegiance to the 
Democratic party and its principles. He always 
takes an active interest in political affairs in town, 
State and Xation, and during his residence in Po- 
quonock served as a member of the school board 
five years and assessor eight years, while he is now 
a member of the board of relief in Berlin. As a 
citizen he ever stands ready to discharge every duty 
devolving upon him, and has done much to advance 
the interests of his town and county. 

ROBERT BRUCE MORRISOX (deceased) 
was one of the honored and highly respected citi- 
zens of Thompsonville, and for almost half a cen- 
tury was one of the leading merchants of that 
place. In his life span of seventy-three years he 
accomplished much, and left behind him an hon- 
orable record, well worthy of perpetuation. 

Mr. Morrison was born in the eastern part of 
Enfield town, Hartford county, Feb. 19, 1817, and 
was a son of Robert and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Morrison. His paternal grandfather, John Morri- 
son, came from Boston to Enfield prior to the 
Revolutionary- war and engaged in farming here un- 
til his death: his wife was Elizabeth Giffin. ? 
daughter of Simon Giffin, a large land holder of 
Halifax, Xova Scotia. Robert Morrison, our sub- 
ject's father, was a lifelong resident of Enfield and 
was also a farmer by occupation. 

Robert B. Morrison, subject of this review, 
devoted his life to the mercantile trade, entering 
it as a clerk at the age of fourteen years. In 1840 
he embarked in business for himself on Enfield 
street with H. S. Belcher, under the firm name 
of H. S. Belcher & Co., and six months later re- 
moved to Thompsonville, where they continued 
business together for thirteen years, or until the 
death of Mr. Belcher. Later Mr. Morrison formed 
a partnership with James Raynolds, under the firm 
name of Morrison & Raynolds, and when Mr. Ray r 
nolds retired, in 1873,' our subject continued to 
conduct the business alone until 1886, when he also 
retired, after a successful business career of over 
forty-six vears. He became connected with the 
Thompsonville Trust Co. at its organization, and 
was chosen vice-president, serving in that capacity 
until 1880, when he was elected president, which 
position he filled until his death. 

Mr. Morrison was twice married, his first wife, 
whom he wedded Dec. 29, 1842, being Miss Clarissa 
King, a daughter of Col. Jabez King. To this union 
came one son, Robert King, born May 13, 1844, 
who is a resident of Xevacla. Mrs. Morrison died 
June 5, 1844, and Dec. 16. 1847, Mr. Morrison mar- 
ried Miss Julia M., daughter of Peter and Anna 
(Terry) Raynolds, of Enfield. To them were born 




<^U^£fc 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



907 



eight children : Ella, who became the wife of Will- 
iam Campbell, and is now deceased; Charles H., 
deceased; Frank B., of Thompsonviile ; George W., 
deceased; James R., deceased; Anna E. ; Clara L., 
deceased ; and Mary L. Mrs. Morrison's paternal 
grandfather was Samuel Raynolds, a resident of 
Enfield, and a son of Rev. Peter Raynolds, a Con- 
gregational minister, who was connected with the 
church in Enfield for the long period of forty-three 
years. 

In religious faith Mr. Morrison was an Episco- 
palian, and served as vestryman of his church. He 
held numerous town offices, represented Enfield in 
the Legislature several terms, and gave his support 
to all worthy enterprises for the good of the com- 
munity. Politically he was a stanch Democrat. He 
passed away Sept. 28, 1890, after a life of indus- 
try, and rich in those rare possessions, which onlv a 
high character can give. In business dealings he 
was upright and honorable, and he was faithful to 
his church, to his country and to his friends, and in 
his home was an exemplary husband and father. 

BENJAMIN SHELDON, deacon of the West 
Suffield Congregational Church and a highly re- 
spected citizen of that place, was born Jan. 6, 1831, 
on the farm on which he still resides in West 
Suffield, on the line of East Granby, and is a de- 
scendant of Capt. Jonathan Sheldon, the founder 
of the family in Suffield. 

Capt. Jonathan Sheldon, son of Isaac and Me- 
hetabel Sheldon, was born at Northampton, Mass., 
May 29, 1687, and married Mary, daughter of Will- 
iam Southwell, of Northampton, Dec. 30, 1708. 
Eight children were born to them at Northampton. 
In 1723-24 he removed to Suffield, Conn., settling 
in the west precinct of the town, and there two 
children were born to him. The records indicate that 
he was prominent in town and society affairs. 
He was a large land holder, settling five of his 
sons — Jonathan, Daniel, Phinehas, Elijah and 
Gershom — on farms (with each a house and barn) 
along the street — of about a mile in length — on 
which he lived, and which has ever since been 
called "Sheldon" street. A large part of this land 
still belongs to his lineal descendants. Capt. Shel- 
don died April 10, 1769; Mary, his wife, born Feb. 
25, 1688, died Jan. 1 1, 1768. This is inscribed 
on the tombstone standing at the head of their 
graves in the West Suffield cemetery: "Parents, 
Grandparents and Great-grandparents of 166." 

Phinehas Sheldon, Esq., son of Capt. Jonathan 
Sheldon, was born in Northampton, Mass., June 
27, 1717, and came to Suffield, Hartford Co., Conn., 
with his father and mother. Deacon Benjamin 
Sheldon, the subject of this sketch, is descended 
from him through the following named generations 
touching whom some interesting remarks will be 
made : Phinehas Sheldon was reared to farming. He 
first married Deborah Hathaway, June 7, 1743. and 
by her became the father of five children : Apphia, 
Deborah, Phinehas, Joseph and Benjamin. Mrs. 



Deborah Sheldon died Jan. 22, 1753, and Mr. Shel- 
don afterward married Mrs. Ruth (Harmon) Smith, 
who bore him nine children : Asaph, Lydia, Ezra, 
Anna, Alexander, Increase, David, Beulah and Si- 
lence. Phinehas Sheldon passed away Sept. 17, 
1807. He served many years as a justice of the 
peace, and he was active during the Revolutionary 
war as an ardent supporter of the Colonial cause, 
being a member of a committee of supplies in the 
town of Suffield. Of his children, Alexander, the 
fifth by the second marriage, graduated from Yale 
College and became a doctor by profession. He 
married Miriam King, of Suffield. Settling in 
Montgomery county, N. Y., he became a leading 
politician of that State, representing his district in 
the State Legislature, in the Lower House, of which 
body he was the speaker for a session, and later 
served one term as representative in the lower 
branch of the Congress of the United States. His 
son, Smith Sheldon, was the founder of the Sheldon 
& Co. publishing house in New York City. Alex- 
ander Sheldon's daughter, Delia, married Clinton 
Jackson, and their son, Rev. Sheldon Jackson, D. 
D., became moderator of the Presbyterian General 
Assembly of the United States ; he had served 
previously as superintendent of Presbyterian mis- 
sions in Alaska, where he was also commissioner 
of education, appointed by the Government, and 
under the auspices of the Government, he carried 
out his idea of introducing reindeer into the ter- 
ritory. 

David Sheldon, the youngest son of Phinehas 
by his 'second marriage, was a prominent farmer 
of W T est Suffield, and resided in the house on his 
farm in which he was born, and which is still 
standing, now occupied by Edwin J. Sheldon. 
David Sheldon married Betsey Hall, and both he 
and his wife were endowed with wonderful tenacity 
of life, she dying at the age of ninety years, while 
he survived until ninety-three years old. Their 
son, David Newton Sheldon, became a doctor of 
divinity in the Baptist Church, visited Paris. France, 
as an exponent of its doctrines, later visited Halifax, 
Nova Scotia, on a similar mission, and finally be- 
came president of Waterville College, of Maine. 
He was also an author of some repute, and his work 
on "Sin and Redemption" was very widely read. 
Late in life a change came over his religious con- 
viction and he became a Unitarian. His son, Henry 
N. Sheldon, also attained eminence, becoming a 
lawyer of note in Boston, Mass., and later a judge 
of the Supreme Court of the State. Rev. Charles 
M. Sheldon, of Topeka. Kans., author of "In His 
Steps" and other religious literature, is also a lineal 
descendant of Capt. Jonathan Sheldon, of Suffield, 
through his son, Asa, who settled in New Marlboro, 
Massachusetts. 

Benjamin Sheldon, the youngest son of Phinehas 
Sheldon, by his first marriage, was born on the 
homestead Jan. 11, 1753, and outlived the struggle 
for American independence, in which he partici- 
pated a short time. In 1806 he built the house in 



908 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



which our subject now resides, and passed all his 
life on this farm, where his death occurred Sept. 
23, 1815. On January 8, 1784, he married Eliza- 
beth King, and they became the parents of eight 
children, whose births and deaths are recorded as 
follows: Benjamin, Jan. 20, 1785, July 10, 1789; 
Elizabeth, Dec. 28, 1786, Oct. 3, 1838 (she married 
Adam Smith) ; Phinehas, Feb. 2, 1789, April 5, 
1790; Diantha, Sept. 29, 1791, Oct. 23, 1825 (un- 
married) ; Ruby, July 31, 1793, Sept. 13, 1871 (un- 
married) ; Deborah, March 16, 1795, Sept, 25, 1839 
(unmarried) ; Benjamin, Aug. 22, 1797, Oct. 15, 
1825; and John Adams, Aug. 4, 1800, June 15, 
1867. The mother of this family passed away 
March 20, 1825. 

John Adams Sheldon, father of our subject, 
was born Aug. 4, 1800, on the home farm, and 
spent the greater part of his life on the farm now 
owned by his son, Deacon Benjamin Sheldon. Later 
he moved to the farm now owned by his grandson, 
Edwin J. Sheldon, where he ended his days June 
15, 1867. In his early manhood he had been a 
Whig in politics, later became a Republican, and 
for two years served as selectman of the town of 
Suffield. On Dec. 3, 1829, he married Miss Han- 
nah Eliza Stevens, a daughter of Deacon Viranus 
Stevens, of West Suffield, and this marriage was 
blessed with five children: Benjamin, the subject 
of this sketch ; William Stevens, born Jan. 20, 1833 ; 
Mary, born Sept. 15, 1835, died March 28, 1837; 
Harriet Eliza, born June 26, 1837, died June 5, 
1839; and Edwin, born May 31, 1840, died Nov. 
26, 1866. The mother of these children died Oct. 
11, 1 87 1, a most devout member of the Congre- 
gational Church, and her remains were interred, like 
those of the Sheldon family of West Suffield, in 
the cemetery at that place. 

Deacon Benjamin Sheldon received a very good 
English education, begun in the district schools of 
West Suffield, and finished in the Connecticut Liter- 
ary Institute, Suffield, well known as one of the 
best educational institutions of the State. For 
four seasons after graduation he taught school in 
West Granby, Poquonock, and Hartford, teaching in 
winters and working the farm summers, as was the 
custom in those days, and achieving a fair reputa- 
tion as an instructor. He then went to Madison 
county, N. Y., where for two years he was em- 
ployed as a clerk in a mercantile house, thence re- 
turning, 1853, to the home farm, and after recuper- 
ating his somewhat impaired health he taught school 
again two seasons, one each in Suffield and Windsor 
Locks. In year 1861 he assumed the care and man- 
agement of the old homestead of 125 acres, which 
he soon owned by purchase, made some improve- 
ments 011 the place, and, after reaping a comfort- 
able competence through his labors in general farm- 
ing — he having since 1871, for conscience sake, 
discarded the raising of tobacco — now enjoys in 
dignified ease the reward of a well-spent and useful 
life. 

Deacon Sheldon was united in marriage, in 



Suffield, Sept. 3, 1859, w ^h Miss Caroline Mather, 
a native of Windsor, and this marriage has been 
blessed with four children: (1) Charles Benjamin, 
who was born May 23, i860, graduated from the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, and in 1882 from the 
State Normal School, and now manages the old 
home farm ; he married, June 20, 1888, Lettie Aus- 
tin, daughter of Alfred F. Austin, and has three 
children: Alfred Charles, born April 20, 1893; 
Walter Austin, Dec. 18, 1894; and Lawrence 
Mather, May 12, 1897. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican : served on the local school board from 1887 
until 1893; was elected justice of the peace in 1896; 
was re-elected in 1898; and stands high in the es- 
teem of the public generally. (2) Harriet Eliza, 
who was born Sept. 20, 1861, died July 22, 1889. 
(3) Sarah Jane was born Dec. 5, 1863, is now the 
wife of Edwin S. Seymour, of Suffield, and is the 
mother of five children : Harriet Esther, Carrie 
May, Mary Emma, Ruby Sheldon and Frances 
Mather. (4) John Adams, who was born May 5, 
1867, died Sept. 9, 1889. After nearly thirty happy 
years of married life, Mrs. Caroline Sheldon passed 
away Feb. 15, 1889, and two children were called 
away the same year, a sad affliction, indeed, to the 
bereaved husband and father. 

In politics Deacon Benjamin Sheldon was first 
a Whig, later becoming a Republican, and by the 
latter party was nominated as a candidate for the 
State Legislature, but, owing to the immaturity at 
that time of the later powerful factor in the politics 
and government of the nation, he was defeated at 
the polls. In 1884 he became a Prohibitionist for 
conscience sake, and, though claiming to be inde- 
pendent in politics, and belonging to no party, has 
for the most part ever since worked in the interests 
of this party, by which he was also nominated for the 
State Legislature ; however, owing to the same con- 
dition of affairs that had existed when he was the 
candidate of the Republican party, he again failed 
on election day. In 1864 he was selected by the 
members of the Congregational Church of West 
Suffield as deacon, and since 1866 has been treasurer 
of the ecclesiastical society connected with the Con- 
gregational Church. He has, in fact, been an ardent 
and active church worker all his days, has been 
Sunday-school teacher and superintendent, and in 
every office he has been called upon to fill has served 
faithfully and satisfactorily. The Deacon is well 
read in Biblical and modern history. He is of a 
kind and genial disposition, and is respected by his 
fellow citizens of all classes. 

HON. THOMAS DO WD (deceased) was an 
honor to his race in his day, was a leader among 
men and was frequently intrusted with positions of 
trust and responsibility by his fellow townsmen, 
and when the end of his useful life occurred left 
the rich inheritance of an untarnished name to his 
surviving family. He was a descendant in the 
eighth generation from Henry Dowd, who came 
from Guilford, County of Surrey, England, in 1639, 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



909 



with a colony under Rev. Henry Whitfield, and set- 
tled in Guilford, Connecticut. 

Eleazer Dowd, father of Thomas, was a son 
of Cornwell Dowd, and was born in Middletown, 
Conn., where he learned the trade of blacksmith- 
ling. Later he moved to Wethersrield, where he fol- 
lowed his trade for many years, and afterward to 
Springfield, Mass., dying there at the home of his 
daughter, Airs. Ellsworth Chapin. Eleazer Dowd 
married Laura Cornwell, and their union was 
crowned with eight children: Laura, born in 1812, 
was first married to Henry Cook, later to Judge 
Elisha Sill, and lived in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio ; E. 
Gaylord, born Aug. 8, 1814, married Olive M. Wells, 
and was a carriagemaker in Wethersrield and later 
in Hartford, where he died March 28, 1899, the 
last of the family; Henry, born in 1816, was a 
tinner by trade, but later a hotel keeper in Cuya- 
hoga Falls, Ohio, married Maria Pease, and died 
in Norwich, Conn., in 1877; Thomas, the subject of 
this sketch, was born Sept. 3, 1818; Martha, born 
in 1 82 1, married Oliver Woodworth, who owned 
paper mills in Waterford, but resided in New Lon- 
don, which city was his home; Marv, born in 1822, 
died in 1827; Horace, born in 1825, married La- 
vinia White, and died in 1883 in Norwich; and 
Mary, born in 183 1, was married to Ellsworth 
Chapin, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 

Thomas Dowd, the subject proper of this mem- 
oir, was born in Middletown, Conn., was educated 
in the common schools of that city, and when ayoung 
man came to Hartford, where for a number of years 
Tie was employed as a bookkeeper by Isaac Hills 
■& Sons, grocers on State street. On quitting this 
employ he for a short time carried on a grocery 
on his own account, and later entered the employ 
of Joseph S. Woodruff, who kept a meat market in 
the city hall, at the same time managing his farm 
in East Hartford. 

Thomas Dowd was most happily united in mar- 
riage, in 1839, w i tn Miss Nancy Williams, who was 
"born Oct. 21, 1815, a daughter of Ezra and Nancy 
(Hills) Williams. These two families — the Will- 
iams and the Hills — were among the early pioneers 
of the town of East Hartford, and the farm on 
which Mr. Dowd lived and died and which is now 
occupied by his descendants, was purchased from 
the Indians by an early member of the William* 
family. To the union of Mr. and Mrs. Dowd came 
five children: Arthur H., born in 1840, died in 
1844: Anna Josephine is now living on the home- 
stead ; Louisa W. is also at home ; T. Winthrop is 
unmarried and living in Sullivan county, N. Y. , 
and Clara A. is the wife of Alfred C. Howe, a 
native of Shelbourne Falls, who is now managing 
the Dowd estate (to this marriage two children 
Tiave been born, Louise Nancy, on Nov. 5, 1896, and 
Eleanor J. Y., on Nov. 6, 1899). 

Mr. Dowd was a Republican in politics, and 
represented his town in the State Legislature in 
l86r, just at the opening of the war of tin- Rebel- 
lion. He was very patriotic, and although he did 



not serve in the war he recruited soldiers, paid 
them their bounties and assisted all he could. at 
home, and was the prime mover in causing the 
erection of the soldiers' monument at East Hart- 
ford and in collecting the money for that purpose. 
During his early manhood he was a member of the 
Light Guards under Col. (afterward Gov.) Sey- 
mour. Mr. Dowd was elected town treasurer in 
1865, and served five terms; served as assessor and 
later as tax collector, and was registrar of electors 
at the time of his death, a position he had held from 
its creation in 1868. He was diligent, faithful and 
efficient in every position he held. Fraternally he 
was a member of the Odd Fellows, and was captain 
of Putnam Phalanx, of Hartford, commanding the 
first company eight years; he commanded the 
Plialanx on the occasion of the battalion's pilgrim- 
age to the Nathan Hale monument, in South Cov- 
entry, several years ago. He was on the major's 
staff for seven years. Mr. Dowd's death took place 
Feb. 21, 1888; he had enjoyed good health nearly 
all his life. He was followed to the grave by his 
widow Dec. 20, 1893, and their remains were in- 
terred at East Hartford. Mr. Dowd had an ex- 
tensive acquaintance, and was greatly respected for 
his many sterling qualities, his family sharing this 
honorable position. Mr. Dowd was prominently 
identified with the establishment of the Hoekanum 
Ecclesiastical Society, and did much to contribute 
to its well-being. 

PHILO ANDREWS. The Andrews family is 
of good old Colonial stock, and the subject of this 
sketch, a prominent resident of New Britain, is of 
the eighth generation in descent from John An- 
drews, an early settler at Farmington, or. as the old 
records have it, "ffarmingtowne." This worthy 
pioneer became one of the eighty-four original pro- 
prietors of that town, which was at one time known 
as Tunxis, from the tribe of Indians located there. 
His homestead was situated about two miles north 
of the present village, on the east side of the river, 
near the canal aqueduct built in 1825. I lis wife 
Mary, and three sons and one daughter, united with 
the Congregational Church in Farmington on April 
2, 1654, and on May <j. [658, the name of John An- 
drews was added to the list of members. 

(II) Joseph. Andrews, fourth son of the pioneer, 
was born at Farmington May 26, [651, and was 
baptized there in April. 1054. About 1077 he mar- 
ried, his first wife's name being Rebecca, and their 
homestead was located ab< ul the center of \ewing~ 
ton, then a part of Wethersrield. His name appears 
on the tax-list of Wethersrield in [693. The first 
record found concerning his real estate is of a vote 
of the town, March 19, [683, or '84, by which he was 
given a small piece of land, near his mill, upon 
which he built a house and ham. To this property 
he seems to have added from time to time, as the 
"Andrews Memorial." an interesting history of the 
family, states that he became an extensive land 
holder. At the time of his death, which occurred 



910 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



April 27, 1706, he was regarded as one of the repre- 
sentative men of the town. 

(III) Dr. Joseph Andrews, eldest son of Joseph 
(II), was born in 1678, and died Jan. 18. 1756. He 
was a successful physician of the parish of New- 
ington, Wethersfield, and is mentioned in the public 
records of "Dr. Joseph Andrus." He left an estate 
valued at £180, 9s, 8d, and seems to have been active 
in religious work, taking a prominent part in the or- 
ganization of the church in his parish. In May, 
1 7 I 5> Joseph Talcott and Aaron Cook were ap- 
pointed by the General Court as a committee to fix a 
location for the "meeting-house" to be built by the 
Society, and they chose a site within thirty rods of 
the Doctor's residence. On Nov. 18, 1706, Dr. An- 
drews married Sarah Curtis, of Southold, L. I., 
who died May 23, 1760. 

(IV) Elijah Andrews, third son of Dr. Joseph, 
was born Feb. 16, 1719, and died of cancer Sept. 
3, 1792. On Feb. 21, 1745, he married Phcebe Hurl 
burt, who died Nov. 13, 1772. Tradition says that 
he resided on Wolcott Hill, north of the present 
brick school house. 

(V) Elijah Andrews, Jr., third son of Elijah 
(IV), was born at Newington Oct. 16, 1752, and 
was baptized Oct. 21, of that year. He became a 
tanner and shoemaker, learning the business with 
Deacon Timothy Stanley, of New Britain, and by 
his industry gained a fair competence. His disposi- 
tion was kind and his manner courteous, while his 
conscientious piety won him the respect of all who 
knew him. He died at his home on the Farming- 
ton road, near Bass river bridge, on Nov. 24, 1839. 
aged eighty-seven years. On March 2, 1775, he 
married Rachel Gridley, who was born Nov. 10, 
1753, daughter of Ebenezer and Azuba (Orvis) 
Gridley, of Kensington and Farmington, and died 
Oct. 20, 1836, when she was aged eighty-three. 
They reared a large family of children, and accord- 
ing to the "Andrews Memorial'' all "were remark- 
ably fine-looking when grown to maturity." 

(VI) Ebenezer Andrews, second son of Elijah 
and Rachel (Gridley) Andrews, and the grand- 
father of our subject, was born Dec. 24, 1778, and 
baptized July 7, 1793, by John Smalley. D. D., then 
pastor of the Congregational Church of New Brit- 
ain. He learned the carpenter's trade with Deacon 
John ( )sgood, of New Britain, and followed it suc- 
cessfully for many years. He was a man of amiable 
disposition, modest and unassuming, and was uni- 
versally respected. He served in the militia, hold- 
ing rank as an officer, and on Oct. 6, 181 1, he united 
with the First Congregational Church at New Brit- 
ain. In October, 1800, he married Miss Mary Gris- 
wold, who was born in 1783, daughter of Ashbel 
and Elizabeth (Woodruff) Griswold, and he re- 
sided on the main road between New Britain and 
Farmington, at the old Griswold homestead, which 
he bought and improved. He died Aug. 5, 1827, 
and his widow died Oct. 18, 1858, in Rochester, 
New York. 

(VII) Philo Andrews, our subject's father, and 



the third son of Ebenezer (VI), was born May 8^ 
1806, and died Dec. 20, 1831. He married Miss 
Amelia Kelsey, who was born April 20, 1807, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Kelsey, of Kensington, this county, 
and for some years after his marriage resided at 
the Kelsey homestead. By occupation he was a 
shoemaker, his shop being located on the home- 
stead, and as his means increased he bought a farm, 
north of the Kelsey property. He was a man of 
fine appearance and much ability, but his death, at 
the age of twenty-five, cut short a promising career. 
His wife, who died May 7, 1871, at the age of sixty- 
four, was active in religious work as a member o£ 
the Methodist Church at New Britain. They had 
two sons, Samuel Kelsey and Philo, our subject. 
Samuel Kelsey Andrews, born Sept. 18, 1829, in- 
herited with our subject the Kelsey homestead from 
his mother, and the growth of the city in that direc- 
tion made it very valuable property. Although of 
a retiring disposition, he was a respected citizen of 
his town, his excellent judgment in business and 
other affairs being fully recognized. Politically he 
was a Democrat, and while he never sought office,, 
he served at one time on the local board of relief. 
His death occurred Feb. 6, 1872. 

(VIII) Philo Andrews, the subject proper of 
this biography, was born May 29, 1831, on Stanley- 
street, New Britain, and was educated chiefly in. 
the academy and private schools of that town. His 
mother was a successful teacher, and devoted much 
attention to the education of her sons, in whose abili- 
ties she took natural and justifiable pride. At the 
age of sixteen he went to Hartford to take a position 
as clerk in the dry-goods store of Wellis & Kellogg,, 
with whom he remained until their failure, a year 
later. After clerking a short time in another store 
in Hartford he found employment in the lock de- 
partment of Russell & Erwin's factory at New Brit- 
ain, and when Augustus & Gad Stanley established 
their rule factory (on the site of P. & F. Corbin's 
present shop) he entered their employ. As time 
passed he took a contract for the company, in part- 
nership with Elford B. Eddy, and after twenty 
years in the factory, at the death of his brother, he 
retired in 1872 with a fair competence, his property 
including a farm adjacent to the city, which is now 
being encroached upon by the rapid development of 
the place, and has risen greatly in value of late 
years. In early years Mr. Andrews was a Demo- 
crat, but since 1872 he has voted the Republican 
ticket at every National election. He has never been 
particularly active in politics, but has at times been 
requested to take office, but refused. However, he 
has been a member of the Sewer committee, and has 
served one term as assessor and two years (1896-97) 
as alderman from the Second ward, acting as a 
member of the committee on Streets. For fortv- 
seven years he has been a member of Trinity Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church at New Britain, in which he 
has held various offices, and is now trustee. For 
fourteen years he was superintendent of the Sunday- 
school. , , 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Oil 



On Nov. 8, 1853, Mr. Andrews married Miss 
Mary L. Butler, who was born April 21, 1832, 
daughter of Martin Butler, a well-known resident of 
\\ est Hartford. Their only daughter, Ella Maria, 
born Sept. 23, 1854, married Edward W. Thomp- 
son, formerly of Broadalbin, N. Y., and now a 
druggist at New Britain. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson 
have two sons: Erederick lv., born June 8, 1876, 
who married Miss Anna L. Emmons, of New Brit- 
tain ; and Harold E., born April 1, 1881, now a 
student in the high school. 

MUSES LOOMIS (deceased), son of Jonathan 
and Hannah (Barber) Loomis, was born August 
13, 1805, on the farm now owned and occupied by 
his daughter, Mrs. Louisa Hubbard, and always re- 
sided there, the present brick residence having been 
built by him in 1838. He was a hard worker, having 
been trained to habits of industry from boyhood, 
and he not only carried on farming successfully, but 
was engaged in the manufacture of brick. He was 
over six feet in height, and well-built, with a large 
frame, and even after his retirement from business 
at the age of seventy-two, he continued his accus- 
tomed activities to some extent. Honesty and in- 
tegrity were leading traits in his character, and he 
was a loyal and patriotic citizen, and a helpful 
worker in the Congregational Church at Windsor, 
contributing liberally and serving as a member of 
the Ecclesiastical Society. He placed a high esti- 
mate on education, and was an earnest advocate 
for better schools in his town. In politics he was 
first a Whig, later a Republican, but he never sought 
office, and beyond voting regularly did not take an 
active share in party work. He died Oct. 24, 1888, 
leaving a good estate, but his descendants can find 
in the inheritance of his honored memory a better 
source of satisfaction, and though of an humble, 
retiring disposition he left a lasting influence for 
god behind. Born at an age before modern inven- 
tions were thought of, and hardships were the com- 
mon lot in life, he was from the beginning a hero, 
and as he advanced in years strove to do his part 
toward building up a country and the improvement 
of his own town that would in after years be a 
blessing and happiness to others. 

On May 3. 1834, Mr. Loomis married Miss 
Nancy C. Loomis, daughter of Asher Loomis and 
Rocinda (Cook), of Windsted. Sine was a gentle 
lovable lady. She died Sept. 23, 1886, and the re- 
mains of both repose in the cemetery at Windsor. 
They had two children: Jane, born Sept. 24, 1838, 
died Oct. 29, 1857; and Louisa (widow of F. B. 
Hubbard), born Xpril 27, 1845. 

The first ancestor of the late Moses Loomis, 
of whom any record has been preserved, was (I) 
Joseph Loomis. a native of England, who came to 
Windsor in 1668. (II) Deacon John Loomis, the 
next in the line of descent, was born in England, 
in 1622. (Ill) Sergt. Daniel Loomis, son of Deacon 
John, was born June 16, 1657. (IV) Isaac Loomi>, 
born Aug. 23, 1694, married Hannah Eggleston. 



(V) Joseph Loomis, son of Isaac, was born Aug. 29, 
1725, and was married Jan. 23, 1752, to Keziah 
Loomis, by whom he had a son Jonathan. 

(VI) Jonathan Loomis was born March 25, 
1757, and served as a soldier in the Revolutionary 
army. In 1801 he married Hannah Barber, and he 
died in 1814, leaving three sons: Moses, the subject 
proper of this memoir; Timothy (Nov. 17, 1808- 
Jury 23, 1829); and Jonathan Jr., (Aug. 6, 1811- 
Nov. — , 1874), who was one of the tallest men in 
this section in his day. The family was left in some- 
what limited circumstances, and the mother spun- 
and wove in order to keep her children together, her 
old spinning-wheel being now a prized relic in the 
house of Mrs. Louisa L. Hubbard. Mrs. Jonathan 
Loomis was a daughter of Moses Barber, one of the 
leading pioneers of Windsor, in whose house was 
held one of the first three schools ever opened in the 
town. He was a soldier in the French and Indian 
war, and his powderhorn, bearing the date of 1758, 
is now in Mrs. Hubbard's possession. Moses Barber 
was a direct descendant of Thomas Barber, one of 
the first settlers of Windsor, and a volunteer in the 
early Indian wars under Capt. Mason. 

Louisa Loomis, the only surviving child of the 
late Moses Loomis, was born in the town of Wind- 
sor, Hartford county. After completing the course 
of study offered in the Stony Hill school she at- 
tended Windsor Academy for a time, and then lived 
at home until her marriage to Franklin B. Hubbard, 
She and her husband began housekeeping in Bloom- 
field, but in 1869 they removed to Hartford, and 
after his death she returned to the old Loomis 
homestead, where she has since resided. She is 
a member of the various auxiliary societies con- 
nected with the Congregational Church at Wind- 
sor, and is vice-regent of the Abigail Wolcott Ells- 
worth branch of the Society of Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

Franklin B. Hubbard was born Oct. 31, 1841, 
in the town of Bloomfield, this county, son of Trum- 
bull and Rhoda (Barber) Hubbard. lie was a de- 
scendant of George Hubbard, who was born in Eng- 
land in 1 60 1, a descendant of the Vikings, and died 
March 18, 1684, in Middletown, Conn. Mis name 
first appears as a settler of Hartford in i'»,V). lie 
married Elizabeth Walls, and they had seven chil- 
dren. Dosethius Hubbard, of the fifth generation 
in descent from George, was born Nov. 8, 17(1-', 
and died Dec. 24, 183 1. He married Tamar Hitch- 
cock, daughter of Dr. Hitchcock, of Bloomfield, 
and they became the parents of nine children, of 
whom Trumbull, born April 7, 1800, died April 3, 
1886. On Nov. 23. [836, he married Rhoda Bar- 
ber, who was descended, on her mother's side, from 
Sir Francis Drake, and, on her father's side, of 
Thomas Barber, one of the first settlers of the town. 

F. B. Hubbard was reared a farmer boy, and fol- 
lowed agricultural pursuits more or less throughout 
his entire life. For a number of years he was also 
interested in brick making at Hartford, where he 
died Feb. 26, 1887, his remains being interred at 



912 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Bloomfield. Politically he was a Republican, and 
while he was never an aspirant for official honors, 
he fulfilled every duty of citizenship, winning the 
esteem of all classes in the community. His death 
cut short a most promising career, which was not the 
less useful because of his unassuming disposition. 
On March 22, 1865, he married Miss Louisa Loomis, 
and three children blessed the union: (1) Anna L. 
Hubbard, who was educated in the Hartford gram- 
mar and high schools, and is an estimable lady ; she 
married Burton S. Loomis, of Windsor, and has two 
children, Grace H. and Theodore R. (2) Alvin L. 
and (3) Rosa A. (twins) were born May 26, 1885, 
and are living with their widowed mother. 

DEACON JEDEDIAH DEMING died at his 
home in Newington June 26, 1899, after a life of 
industry, and rich in those rare possessions which 
only a high character can give. For manv years 
he labored with all the strength of a great nature, 
and all the earnestness of a true heart, for the bet- 
tering of the world about him, and when he was 
called to the rest and reward of the higher world 
his best monument was found in the love and re- 
spect of the community in which he had lived so 
many years. 

Mr. Deming was born March 15, 1820, in a 
house a little below his last residence, but upon 
the same farm. His father, Jedediah Deming, Sr., 
born in 1790, was a farmer by occupation, took an 
active part in church work, and supported the Whig 
party, but never took much interest in political af- 
fairs. He died in 1867. His wife, who bore the 
maiden name of Mary Lusk, was a daughter of 
Maj.-Gen. Lusk. She was born in 1790 and died 
in 1827. The Deacon's grandfather, Elias Dem- 
ing, was also born on the old homestead, and was 
a direct descendant of John Deming, who came to 
this country from England and located in Wethers- 
field about 1 716. 

Deacon Deming received a liberal education, and 
at an early age became thoroughly familiar with 
every department of farm work. He always re- 
mained upon the old homestead, comprising 125 
acres of valuable land, and successfully engaged 
in agricultural pursuits until fifty years of age, 
when he laid aside business cares. In November, 
1846, he married Miss Nancy Angeline Whaples, 
a lady beloved by all, and noted for her kindness 
and benevolence to the poor. She was a member 
of, and active worker in, the Newington Congre- 
gational Church, where until her death, in 1877, her 
sweet voice was prominent in the choir. By that 
union there were two children : ( 1 ) Ellen Amanda, 
born in 1852, was married to Frank H. Corbin, and 
had three children, of whom Jedediah Deming, born 
June 18, 1878, is the only survivor; he is now a 
successful farmer upon the Deming homestead, 
where he and his mother reside. Walter F., born 
July 8, 1880, died in June, 1882. The other child 
died in infancy unnamed. (2) Alice Cornelia, 
born in 1856, married Daniel J. Clark, pastor of 



the Congregational Church of East Haven, and has 
one son, Harold Deming, born Oct. 13, 1884. Dea- 
con Deming was again married, in 1881, his second 
union being with Mrs. Augusta E. Griswold Mor- 
ris, of Washington, D. C, widow of John Morris, 
a Yale graduate, who took a very active part in po- 
litical affairs, was executive clerk in the United 
States Senate, and editor of a Charleston (S. C.) 
newspaper. 

Deacori Deming cast his first Presidential vote 
for William Henry Harrison and took great interest 
in that campaign. He joined the Republican party 
on its organization and cast his last ballot for Will- 
iam McKinley. In 1855 ne wa s elected to the 
State Legislature from Wethersfield, which then 
included Newington, and during that term the bill 
was passed prohibiting the continuance of the coun- 
ty court, for which he worked untiringly. In 188 1 
he was again elected to that body, and he also served 
as selectman in Newington at various times. He 
succeeded his father as deacon in the Congregational 
Church, and was ever one of its most influential 
members. At his funeral Rev. Herbert Macy re- 
ferred to the existence of the Newington Congre- 
gational chapel as having been doubtful if Deacon 
Deming had not risen in his seat, after the needs of 
the church in this direction had been presented 
from the pulpit, and volunteered his help by nam- 
ing his subscription toward the cause, and he urged 
others to do the same. He was a very kind-hearted 
man, charitable, benevolent, honorable and trust- 
worthy, and was looked up to by all. 

CHAUNCEY D. HOLCOMB, one of the pro- 
gressive and successful farmers of West Simsbury, 
was born at Barndoor Hills, Granby, March 11, 
1830. The Holcomb family are descendants of one 
of the first settlers of Simsbury, and many of its 
representatives have held positions of honor and 
trust, both in Colonial days and under the present 
government. Many also took an active and import- 
ant part in the great struggle for freedom. 

Thomas Holcomb, the founder of the family in 
America, came from England, it is supposed, on 
the ship "Mary and John." Pie settled in Dorches- 
ter, Mass., and in 1634 was there made a freeman. 
Thence he removed to the town of Windsor, and 
settled at Poquonock, where he engaged in farm- 
ing, and where he died Sept. 7, 1657. He repre- 
sented Windsor and Hartford at the framing of the 
constitution of the Colony of Connecticut in 1639. 
He married Elizabeth, who later, in 1658, married 
James Eno, becoming his second wife. The chil- 
dren born to Thomas and Elizabeth Holcomb were 
as follows : Elizabeth, who married in 1654 Josias 
Ellsworth, of Windsor; Mary, who married Oct. 3, 
1655, George Griswold, of Windsor; Abigail, bap- 
tized Jan. 6, 1638, who married June II, 1658, 
Samuel Bissell, of Windsor; Joshua, baptized Sept. 
27, 1640; Sarah, baptized Aug. 4, 1642; Benajah, 
born June 23, 1644; Deborah, born Oct. 15, 1646, 
who died in 1649; Nathaniel, born Nov. 4, 1648; 




-<£^/£^£-^& 





COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



913 



Deborah (2), born Feb. 15, 1650, who married 
March 5, 1668, Daniel Birge, of Windsor; Jona- 
than, born March 23, 1652. 

Nathaniel Holcomb, son of Thomas, was born 
in Windsor Nov. 4, 1648. He removed to Massa- 
coe, now Simsbury, where he engaged in farming 
through life. He represented the town of Sims- 
bury in the General Assembly for the years 1703, 
1704, 1705, 1706, 1720 and 1722. On Feb. 27, 1670, 
he married Mary Bliss, who was born in Springfield, 
Mass., and their children were : Nathaniel, born 
June 11, 1673; Alary, born May 17, 1675; Jonathan, 
born in 1678; John, born in 1680, married March 19, 
1706, Anna, daughter of John Pathline; Esther, 
born in 1682, married Feb. 17, 1708, Brewster Hig- 
ley; Catharine, born in 1689, married Jan. 22, 1707, 
Joseph Messenger; Sarah, born in 1691, married 
Dec. 17, 1722, Samuel Barbone; Benjamin, born 
Feb. 15, 1697, married Oct. 12, 1727, Hannah Case. 

Nathaniel Holcomb, son. of Nathaniel, and 
grandson of Thomas, was born in the town of Sims- 
bury, now Granby, where he grew to manhood and 
was engaged in farming all his life, and was a large 
land owner and a stock and grain grower. He 
married Nov. I, 1695, Martha Buell, of Simsbury, 
who bore him children as follows : Nathaniel, born 
Oct. 25, 1696, married Oct. 9, 1717, Thankful 
Hayes, of Simsbury; Elizabeth, born March 13, 
1699-1700, died April 13, 1700; Martha, born March 
15, 1701, died Jan. 29, 1725 (she married Feb. 21, 
1723, Jonathan Buttolph) ; Jonathan was born Nov. 
25, 1702; Elizabeth, born Jan. 14, 1704, married Jo- 
seph Wilcox Feb. 28, 1725 ; Judah died at the age of 
ninety-eight years; David; Mary; Benjamin; Sa- 
rah; and Peter was born in 1715. Nathaniel, father 
of these children, married for his second wife, Jan. 

17, 1723, Sarah Owen, widow of Joseph Owen, of 
Windsor. He was a deacon of the church, and was 
a member of the General Assembly in 1748 and 
1749. In business he was successful, and in char- 
acter above reproach. 

Peter Holcomb, son of Nathaniel, was born in 
171 5, in that part of Simsbury which now com- 
prises the town of Granby. There he grew to man- 
hood, and engaged in farming all his life. He 
was a lieutenant in the State militia, and gave sev- 
eral sons to the cause of the Revolution ; one son 
died in the French and Indian wars. He married 
first, Oct. 15, 1740, Margaret Case, widow of Jacob 
Holcomb, who died July 27, 172,7- The children 
born to Peter and Margaret Holcomb were: (1) 
Martin, born July 27, 1741, married Deiva Spen- 
cer. (2) Jacob, born April 1, 1743, died in the 
'French and Indian war. (3) Nodiah, born Sept. 5, 
1744, died Feb. 22, 1745. (4) Margaret, born Feb. 

18, 1746, married Col. Pettibone, of Norfolk, Conn. 

(5) Rushmore, born Nov. 30, 1747, died young. 

(6) Nodiah (2), born Oct. 4, 1749, married Aphia 
Butler, of Granby. Margaret, first wife of Peter 
Holcomb, died Oct. 14, 1750, and for his second 
wife he married, Dec. 10, 1751 , Tryphenia Goss, 
who bore him children as follows: (7) Ashel, 

58 



born Oct. 15, 1752, married Abigail Hoskins, of 
Simsbury; (8) Theodocia, born May 16, 1754, died 
Nov. 25, 1775; (9) Keziah, born Nov. 23, 1755, 
married Elijah Spencer, of Suffield ; (10) Tryphe- 
nia, born Dec. 10, 1757, died Nov. 12, 1775; (11 J 
Peter, born July 24, 1759, married Zillah Hoskins, 
of Simsbury; (12) Ebenezer, born May 14, 1761, 
married Chloe Bacon; (13) Cyrus, born Dec. 14, 
1762, married Anna Cadey, of Hartland; (14) Ja- 
cob was born Oct. 27, 1764; (15) Abel, born Nov. 
2, 1766, married Roxey Higly, of Simsbury; (16) 
Beulah, born Sept. 8, 1768, died young; (17) 
Naomi, born May 12, 1771, married Taylor Higly, 
of Simsbury; (18) Deborah, born July 15, 1774, 
never married, and lived to be over seventy-five. 

Jacob Holcomb, son of Peter, was the grand- 
father of our subject. He was born Oct. 27, 1764, 
and was not yet in his 'teens when the Revolutionary 
war began, but he took the part of a soldier in that 
great struggle. He located on the homestead at 
Barndoor Hills, now Granby, and there spent his 
life, being a land owner, and engaged extensively in 
farming. He was active in public matters, and 
when the town of Granby was taken from Sims- 
bury he was a strong supporter of the change. He 
lived to the ripe old age of ninety-two years, and was 
buried in Granby. In politics he was an Old-line 
Democrat. He married, Feb. 22, 1791, Theodosia 
Beacon, born in 1766, who bore him children as fol- 
lows : (1) Chester, born Dec. 17, 1791 ; (2) Ora- 
tor, born April 25, 1794; (3) Theodosia, born Feb. 
5, 1796, married Nelson Reed; (4) Chauncey, born 
Aug. 12, 1798; (5) Pliney, born April 15, 1803, 
died young. Theodosia, wife of Jacob Holcomb, 
died Aug. 6, 1804, and for his second wife he mar- 
ried, Jan. 22, 1805, Susan Roe, born in 1775. She 
bore him several children. (6) Pliney, born 
March 28, 1806; (7) Sylvester, born March 27 ', 
1809; (8) Charles R., born Jan. 6, 181 2, died in 
1897. Susan, the second wife, died Oct. 17, [834, 
and for his third wife Jacob Holcomb married. Nov. 
9, 1836, Hannah Holcomb, widow of his brother 
Ashel. Jacob Holcomb died Oct. 15, 1856. 

Orator Holcomb, father of our subject, was born 
April 25, 1794, on the old homestead in Granby; 
attended the public schools of the district, and as- 
sisted in the work of the farm. When a young man 
he, with little help from his parents, boughl a farm 
near the old homestead, and there spent his life, en- 
gaged principally in general farming, dairying and 
stock raising. He lived to the age of eight} three 
years, and died on his farm in 1877. In politics he- 
was a Democrat. He was noted for his honesty and 
upright character, and was deeply attached to his 
home and family. In his religious views he was 
liberal, and always lived up to the Golden Rule. He 
married, in Granby, Cyrena Reed, who was born in 
West Granby, a daughter of David Reed, a well-to- 
do farmer of West Granby. To this union nine chil- 
dren were born : Covil, deceased ; Harriet, who 
married James Ebby, of Enfield ; Luna, who mar- 
ried Horace Griffin ; Munson, now living in Granby ; 



914 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Osborn, of Aurora, Kane Co., 111. ; Chauncey D., our 
subject; Ann, who died young; Electa, who mar- 
ried Wadsworth Pond, of Boston, Mass., and Burt, 
who died in 1899 at Westfield, Mass. The mother 
of our subject died on the farm in 1870 aged seventy 
years, and was buried in Granby cemetery. She 
was a member of the Granby Methodist Episcopal 
Church, a good Christian woman, and a devoted 
mother and wife. 

Chauncey D. Holcomb, the subject of this sketch, 
attended the district schools of Granby, also the 
Granby Academy. He was reared on the farm, and 
remained with his parents until he was twenty-two 
years old, but during his youth he worked out among 
the farmers in Granby. At twenty-two he started 
in business for himself, peddling jewelry and silver- 
ware, traveling through the States of Massachu- 
setts, York State and Vermont, and continued in 
that business for six years. He then returned 
home, was married, and settled down to a farmer's 
life in West Simsbury, settling on the homestead of 
his father-in-law, wdiere he has since been engaged 
in tobacco culture and dairying and general farm- 
ing. He has added largely to the original farm, and 
is now operating a tract of 250 acres, upon which he 
has made many improvements. Besides farming he 
has engaged in stock dealing, and for several years 
has handled carriages, wagons, etc., selling in the 
local markets. He is a man of good business judg- 
ment and ability, is a good judge of stock, and a 
successful farmer and stock raiser. Mr. Holcomb 
is one of Simsbury's most progressive citizens, is a 
stockholder and director of the Simsbury Creamery 
Company, and takes a deep interest in all enterprises 
that are beneficial to the town and people. He is 
honorable in his dealings, and noted for his honesty 
of purpose. In 1859 he married, in West Sims- 
bury, Hannah Buell, a native of that village, and 
daughter of Peter O. Buell. The marriage of our 
subject has been blessed with five children: Anna 
was educated in the district schools and the Con- 
necticut Literary Institute, Suffield, and is a school 
teacher ; Elora, who attended the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute, is the wife of Frank Alford, of West 
Simsbury, and has one son, Stuart A. ; Irene also 
attended the Connecticut Literary Institute, and 
married Elbert Wilcox, of Granby, now a resident of 
Springfield, Mass., by whom she has two children, 
I Lelen J. and Howard H. ; Buell T., who studied at 
the Connecticut Literary Institute, is living at home; 
Dexter is at home. Mr. Holcomb is a member of 
St. Mark's Lodge, F. & A. M., of Simsbury. In 
political faith he is a Democrat, but is not an active 
politician. The family are members of the Con- 
gregational Church. Mr. Holcomb has won, by his 
business successes, his public spirit, his integrity and 
loyalty, the general regard and respect of the com- 
munity in which he lives. 

HOSEA DAYTON HUMPHREY traces his 
line of descent from Michael Humphrey, of England, 
who is believed to have come to America prior to 



1648, although the precise date is uncertain. He 
married Priscilla, a daughter of Matthew Grant, of 
Windsor. His second son was Samuel H., a lieu- 
tenant in the Colonial militia, who was born at 
Windsor, Conn., May 15, 1659, and married (prob- 
ably at Windsor) Mary Mills. She was a daugh- 
ter of Simon and Mary (Buel) Mills, and was born 
Dec. 8, 1662. He removed to Simsbury, about 1669, 
and became an influential citizen of the place. 

The next in line of descent was Ensign Samuel 
Humphrey, who was born at Simsbury, May 17, 
1686. He was a prosperous trader and man of 
prominence in the community. He was the father 
of Lieut. Samuel (2), also of Simsbury, who was 
born Oct. 15, 17 10, and married Mary, a daughter 
of Joseph S. Wilcox and his wife, Abigail Thayer. 
She was born in 1719. Their son, Theophilus, was 
born, probably in 1744, at West Simsbury, now 
Canton. He was the first deacon of the First Con- 
gregational Church in that town, and filled the office 
many years. He was twice married, his hrst wife 
being Hepzibah Cornish, and his second, Diana 
Averill. 

Following the genealogical record, the next in 
order is Hon. Loin Humphrey, the grandfather of 
the gentleman whose name appears at the head of 
this memoir. He was born Dec. 31, 1771, at West 
Simsbury ; was an enterprising and successful 
farmer, and owned a large estate. He was a man 
of talent and influence ; for twenty years or more 
a justice of the peace, and a member of the Legisla- 
ture in 1824 and 1829. He was first selectman for 
three or four years, and held other minor offices. 
He bore the title of captain. He died at Canton 
(formerly Simsbury) Nov. 16, 1854. He married 
Rhoda Case, whose parents, Hosea and Rhoda Case, 
were residents of the same town as himself. 

Hosea Dayton Humphrey, the son of Loin 
Humphrey, and father of the present owner of tha 
name, was born at Canton, Aug. 3, 1809. He was 
a lawyer by profession, and a man of high educa- 
tion. He graduated from Amherst College, and 
read law in the office of Henry Starr, Esq., of Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio. He traveled from Connecticut to 
( )hio on horseback, and finally located at Crawfords- 
ville, Ind., about the year 1832, where he engaged 
in practice. He entered into partnership with Ben- 
jamin T. Ristine, the firm name being Humphrey 
& Ristine. Mr. Humphrey was a strong Democrat 
and his partner an equally pronounced Whig, and 
during the Harrison campaign of 1840 they were 
active on opposite sides, the former opposing Mr. 
Flarrison's candidacy, although he was his personal, 
friend. He was a man of intense individuality and 
strongly marked characteristics. Not long after 
the founding of Wabash College, which was estab* 
lished in 1834, he was offered, and accepted, the 
chair of mathematics in that institution. Me died 
Sept. 20, 1845. On Sept. 23, 1835, at Warren] 
Conn., he married Caroline, a daughter of George 
and Lorain (Carter) Starr, who was born July 8, 
181 1. They were the parents of six children 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



915 



Henry, George Starr, Frank Warren, Austin Rus- 
sell, Flora and Hosea Dayton. 

The last named was born at Crawfordsville, Ind., 
Jan. 18, 1846. He received a rudimentary educa- 
tion in public and select schools at Warren, and 
completed his scholastic course at the "Gunnery" at 
Wasmngton, Conn., passing through the entire 
curriculum, with the exception of the languages. 
In 1862 he graduated and came to New Britain. 
Here his first employment was as a clerk for Swift 
& Whittlesey, whose place of business was an old 
building standing on the site of his present store. 
He remained with this firm for five years, and then 
accepted the position of shipping clerk at the Mall- 
eable Iron Works. In a year, however, he re- 
turned to work for Mr. Whittlesey, who had pur- 
chased Mr. Swift's interest in the concern, and con- 
tinued to occupy a clerical position for some three 
years, but in 1874 bought the interest of his employ- 
er's new partner, a Mr. Felt, and was admitted as 
a partner, the firm name becoming F. Whittlesey & 
Co. In 1887 Mr. Humphrey purchased his part- 
ner's interest and entered upon a new era in his 
prosperous business career. He is to-day one of the 
oldest dry-goods merchants in New Britain. In 
addition to his private business he has been for 
eighteen years auditor of the Stanley Works, and 
for the past three years a director in the New Britain 
Savings Bank. He is a man of broad, well-educated 
public spirit, an illustration of which fact is afforded 
by his connection with the securing of a better water 
supply for New Britain. Mr. Humphrey was in- 
strumental, with other members of the water board, 
in securing from the State Legislature, in the face 
of great opposition, the charter by which the city 
of New Britain was enabled to take the waters of 
Roaring brook, in the town of Wolcott, six miles 
distant, and convey them to Shuttle Meadow reser- 
voir, thus insuring a permanent water supply for 
many years to come. The work of laying pipes, etc. 
was done at a time most advantageous ; had it been 
delayed two years it would have cost the city at 
least $150,000 more. The plan was thoroughly 
feasible, but its execution involved a municipal out- 
lay of some $300,000, and to secure its adoption was 
a task of no small magnitude. Being elected a 
member of the board of water commissioners for 
three terms, Mr. Humphrey with his colleasrues 
was able to secure its accomplishment, thereby plac- 
ing the city under a heavy and lasting obligation. 
Politically Mr. Humphrey has always been an 
ardent Republican, and an active worker for his 
party's success. For six years he was a member of 
the town committee, and has also served as chair- 
man of the committee for the Third ward. Sociallv 
he is a man of affable manners and genial disposi- 
tion, a true friend, and liberal in his contributions 
to the cause of charity. He is a member of the 
New Britain Club, as well as of the Order of the 
United American Mechanics and the A. O. I T . W, 
and is a past regent in the Royal Arcanum. His 
religious creed is that of the Congregational Church, 



of which he is an active, liberal and consistent mem- 
ber. He is connected with the South Congrega- 
tional Church of New Britain, has been superin- 
tendent of the junior department of its Sunday- 
school for six years, and is now clerk and member 
of the society's committee. 

On Oct. 4, 1871, Mr. Humphrey married Harriet 
Loomis, who was born at New Britain Feb. 
J 4, !847, and they have two children: Howard 
Starr and Flora Loomis. The elder was born ( >ct. 
6 > l8 75> graduated from the Sheffield Scientific 
School of Yale College in 1897, and for a time was 
connected with the importing firm of A. B. Heine 
& Co., of New York, being now with the Parker 
Shirt Company, of New Britain. The daughter, 
Flora Loomis, is a pupil at the New Britain high 
school, in the class of 1901. 

GEORGE E. HADLEY, deceased. A some- 
what detailed history of Mr. Hadley's family may 
be found in the biographical sketch of Reuben \\ . 
Hadley on another page. 

George E. Hadley was born in Dudley, Wor- 
cestershire, England, on Feb. 13, 1839, a son of 
George Hadley. He was educated in the schools 
of his native place, and after coming to Winsted at- 
tended night school and received some private in- 
struction from a Mr. Pease, who was connected 
with the Normal School. His training in the or- 
dinary English branches was fairly good, and the 
knowledge acquired in his boyhood has been sup- 
plemented by a course of well-directed reading, he 
having always kept himself closely in touch with the 
history of passing events, as well as with general 
current literature. 

In the spring of 1854 Mr. Hadley went to work- 
in the shovel and tongs shop, of which his father 
was superintendent. On the purchase of the busi- 
ness by Russell & Erwin and its removal to New 
Britain he entered the employ of that concern, 
with whom he was connected for forty years, en- 
joying the distinction of being the oldest employe 
in consecutive service in the employ of the house. 
On the death of his father he assumed the contract 
held by him. and continued to perform his part tin 
under until Jan. 12, 1899. lie was one of the last 
two contractors to surrender his privilege, in the 
execution of which he had been singularly success- 
ful, having, at times, as many as twenty-six men 
in his employ. Mr. Hadley died Oct. 16, 1899. 

Mr. Hadley was always an active worker in the 
cause of the Republican party, both locally and 
nationally, lie represented the Third ward of the 
city of New Britain in the council in [876 and 
again in 1886 and 1887. lie was appointed a mem- 
ber of the fire commission during the first year 
of its organization, and was from [860 to [870 a 
member of the volunteer department. With the 
institution of the paid fire departmenl of New 
Britain he connected himself with that branch of 
liie city's service, filling the post of foreman of I [ose 
Company Xo. 1 for two years and acting a- assistant 



916 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



chief for one year. His natural fondness for mil- 
itary service led him to enlist in the State militia, 
in which he was commissioned first as second lieu- 
tenant, and afterward rose to the grades of first 
lieutenant and captain in Company E, of the 12th 
Regiment. He held the latter rank at the time of 
his resignation. Socially he was a member of Har- 
mony Lodge, No. 20, A. F. & A. M., and of the 
Royal Arcanum ; was also a director in the New 
Britain Building & Loan Association. His re- 
ligious faith was that of the M. E. Church, of which 
body he was a devout and consistent member. 

To Mr. Hadley's marriage with Anna J. Allen 
have been born two children, one of whom died 
in infancy, the other being Edward W. The mother 
of these died in 1871, and in 1873 Mr. Hadley mar- 
ried Helen T. Jackson, daughter of William and 
Harriet (Lewis) Jackson, of Bristol. Of this union 
were born William L., Robert G. and Helen May. 

HON. ABNER SLADE HART, a well-known 
and highly esteemed citizen of Unionville, Hart- 
ford county, was born July 15, 1823, in Barkham- 
sted, Litchfield Co., Conn., and is a descendant of 
Deacon Stephen Hart, who was born in Braintree, 
England, in 1605, anc l came to the New World on 
a vessel which dropped anchor in Massachusetts 
Bay about 1632. After living for a time in Cam- 
bridge, Mass., he came to Hartford with the Hook- 
er Colony, in 1635, and tradition says that the town 
was called Hart-ford from the ford he discovered 
and used near the foot of what is now Morgan 
street. He took the lead in settling among the 
Tunxis Indians in Farmington, and bought a large 
tract of land in what is now called Cider Brook. 
He was one of the first representatives in 1.647. 
He was twice married, his second wife being Mar- 
garet, widow of Arthur Smith. He and his first 
wife were constituent members of the church or- 
ganized at Farmington in 1652. 

(II) Thomas Hart, the third son and youngest 
child of Deacon Stephen Hart, was born in Wind- 
sor, Conn., Oct. 24, 1649, and on reaching man- 
hood married Ruth, daughter of Anthony Hawkins, 
a distinguished man of Farmington. He took a 
very prominent part in both military and civil af- 
fairs; was commissioned ensign in May, 1678, and 
lieutenant in 1693. He was deputy to the General 
Court in i6cn ; was deputy from Farmington in 
1690, 1692, 1694, 1695, 1696, 1697, 1698. 1699, 1700, 
1704, 1705 and 1706; was speaker of the General 
Court in 1700, 1704, 1705 and 1706; commissioner 
for Farmington in 1692, 1693, 1694, 1695 an d io 97; 
and justice for Hartford county in 1698, 1701, 1702, 
1703, 1704, 1705 and 1706. He inherited a por- 
tion of his father's homestead in Farmington ; was 
a man of wealth, activity and usefulness, and he 
and John Hooker were the two most prominent men 
of the town and conspicuous in the Colony. Capt. 
Hart died Aug. 27, 1726, and was buried with mil- 
itary honors. 

(III) Hawkins Hart, the next in direct descent 



to our subject, was born in Farmington in 1677,. 
and was married, Sept. 7, 1701, to Sarah Roys. 
On Oct. 4, 1705, he moved to Wallingford, Conn., 
where he died May 24, 1735. He represented Wall- 
ingford in the General Court for nine consecutive 
years, from 1714 to 1723. 

(IV) Nathaniel Hart, born in Farmington June 
19, 1702, was married, Dec. 21, 1727, to Martha, 
daughter of Capt. Stephen and Elizabeth (Roys) 
Lee, and died Oct. 2, 1750. He had eight children, 
of whom Hawkins was the fourth in order of birth. 

(V) Hawkins Hart, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born in February, 1736, in Meriden,. 
Conn., and throughout life followed the carpenter's 
and joiner's trade. He was married, Feb. 12, 1761, 
to Abigail Hall, a daughter of Peter and Rebecca 
(Bartholomew) Hall, and died May 26, 1824. He 
served with distinction as a lieutenant in the Rev- 
olutionary war. He had nine children, of whom 
Hawkins Hart, the father of our subject, was eighth 
in the order of birth. 

(VI) Hawkins Hart was born in Wallingford 
Jan. 28, 1 78 1, and in 1789 removed with his par- 
ents to Barkhamsted, where he died Oct. 8, 1836. 
He was also a carpenter and joiner by trade. On 
Dec. 5, 1805, he was united in marriage with Miss 
Lois Slade, who was born April 6, 1785, and they 
became the parents of eleven children : Chester, 
born July 16, 1806, married Julia Case, and is de- 
ceased ; Rebecca, born March 6, 1808, died in April, 
1842; Betsey, born May 6, 1810, died Feb. 6, 1822* 
William H. H., Dorn Aug. 28, 1812, married Eliza 
Scovil, and died while serving in the Union army; 
Fanny, born Nov. 10, 1814, died Jan. 3, 1816; Fanny 
Amilla, born Jan. 2, 1816, died in January, 1840; 
Sarah, born Jan. 24, 1818, is a resident of Belvi- 
dere, 111. ; Olive, born Sept. 2, 1820, died Feb. 5, 
1822; Abner S., our subject, is next in the order 
of birth; Lois, born Sept. 14, 1825, died in Decem- 
ber. 1825 ; and Hannah A., born July 8, 1827, is a 
resident of Brodhead, Wisconsin. 

Abner S. Hart was reared in Barkhamsted, and 
was educated at a select school. After the comple- 
tion of his education he engaged in teaching school 
for fourteen years, alternating this occupation with 
farming during the summer months. In 1866 he 
established himself in the drug business at River- 
ton, Litchfield Co., Conn., and three years later 
was appointed postmaster at that place, which po- 
sition he filled for twelve years. Selling out bis 
business to his sons, Myron and Leverett C, he 
came to Unionville, Hartford county, and in March, 
1878, opened a general store in company with his 
son, H. W. Hart, under the name of A. S. Hart 
& Son. In April, 1896, feeling some of the in- 
firmities of old age after being in active business 
pursuits for a period of more than fifty years, he 
sold his interest in the store to his son, H. W. Hart, 
who now carries on the business under the name 
of H. W. Hart & Co. 

In April, 1848, Mr. Hart was united in marriage 
with Miss Julia Rose, who died June 8, 1863, leav- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



917 



ing three children: (i) Myron, born Jan. 17, 1849, 
married Carrie Ransom, now deceased, and resides 
in Springfield, Mass. ; his children are Gertrude, 
Mamie, Julia and Elma. (2) Leverett C, born 
Sept. 9, 1850, is engaged in the grocery business on 
Albanv avenue, Hartford, Conn. ; he married Sarah 
•Gilbert, and has two children, Berdina and Myrtle. 
(3) Henry W., born Aug. 8, 1858, has been en- 
gaged in mercantile business in Unionville since 
1896. He married Jennie Amidon, and has one 
child, Aleta. Mr. Hart was again married, at 
Barkhamsted, his second union being with Mrs. 
Margaret Maria (Driggs) Williams, a daughter of 
Sterling and Flavia (Brace) Driggs. Her father, 
who was an old resident of Barkhamsted, died Nov. 
37, 1882. 

Socially Mr. Hart is affiliated with Evening 
.Star Lodge, F. & A. M., and religiously is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to which his 
wife also belongs. Politically he was first a Whig, 
later a Republican, and cast his first Presidential vote 
for Henry Clay in 1844. He has been honored with 
a number of local offices, including that of acting 
school visitor, which he creditably filled for four- 
teen years, has also been chairman of the board of 
relief, and in 1887 represented Farmington in the 
State Legislature. In all his varied relations of 
life he has maintained a character and standing that 
has impressed all with his sincere and manly pur- 
pose to do by others as he would have others do 
by him. 

HENRY H. NICHOLS (deceased), who was 
for many years one of the leading and progressive 
citizens of Piantsville, was born in Trumbull, Conn.. 
May 14, 1840, a son of Abijah M. and Permelia 
Nichols. He continued to make his home in his 
native town until 1862, when he came to Piants- 
ville and accepted a position with the S. Stow Man- 
ufacturing Co., since merged into the Peck, Stow 
& Wilcox Co., with which he was connected until 
his death, and by faithful and satisfactory service 
he advanced to the position of foreman and shipper 
of the tinners' machines and tools manufactured by 
their Piantsville branch. He enjoyed to a remark- 
able degree the confidence of his employers, and 
was highly respected by those working under him. 

On April 13, 1876, Mr. Nichols was united in 
marriage with Miss Kate Spellman, a daughter of 
William L. and Eliza (Beckwith) Spellman, of 
Piantsville, and to this union was born one son, 
Harry M., on April 6, 1878. Industrious, frugal 
and economical, Mr. Nichols acquired a handsome 
competence, and was able to leave his family in 
comfortable circumstances. He was public-spirited 
and progressive, and always took a deep interest in 
everything pertaining to the material prosperity 
of the village in which he resided. He was <>ne of 
the directors of the Southhigton Water Co., and was 
identified with other enterprises which had for 
their object public improvement. He was a prom- 
inent member of Friendship Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. 



M., and was an ardent supporter of the Republican 
party. He died March 2, 1896, honored and re- 
spected by all who knew him. 

WILLIAM HENRY ROBINSON. The Rob- 
inson family, from which this well-known resident 
of Collinsville is descended, is one of the oldest in 
the New England States, the line being traced to 
Rev. John Robinson, who is regarded as the Father 
of Congregationalism. He was born in one of the 
midland counties of England in 1575, and in 1592 
he entered Corpus Christi College, at Cambridge, 
England, where he received a fellowship in 1598. 
This he resigned in 1604, having become converted 
to the Puritan faith, and from that time his life was 
devoted to preaching its doctrines. He intended to 
come to America, but he died in the town of Leyden, 
Holland, March 1, 1625, aged fifty years, during the 
plague. He married Bridget White, and had 
children: James (or John) ; Bridget, who married 
May 26, 1627, John Grynwich, a student of theol- 
ogy ; Isaac ; Mercy ; Fear ; and Jacob. 

Isaac Robinson, born in 1610, came to New 
England in 1631, and settled first in Plymouth, 
Mass. He was a freeman of the Colony in 1653. 
He removed to Scituate in 1636; to Barnstable in 
1639; to Falmouth in 1663 ; and in 1673 went to Tis- 
bury, on Martha's Vineyard, where he remained 
until November, 1701. He then returned to Barn- 
stable, where he died in 1704, aged ninety-four 
years. For over ten years he had been a member 
of the Barnstable Church. On June 27, 1636, he 
married Margaret Hanaford, of Scituate, a half-sis- 
ter of Edward Foster, who came from Kent, Eng- 
land, in 1633, and settled in Scituate. They had 
children as follows : Susanna, born in 1637, died in 
childhood; John, born in 1640, married Elizabeth 
Weeks; Isaac, born in August, 1642, was drowned 
at Falmouth Oct. 6, 1668; Fear, born in 1644, mar- 
ried Samuel Baker; and Mercy, born in 1647, mar- 
ried William Weeks, March 16, 1669. The mother 
of this family died soon afer the birth of the last 
child, and by his second wife, Mary, Mr. Robinson 
had children as follows : A daughter, born June 6, 
1649, died in infancy; Israel, born in 1651 ; Jacob, 
born in 1653; Experience; Joab ; Isaac; Mary; Pe- 
ter ; and Thomas. 

Lieut. Peter Robinson was born in Barnstable, 
or Falmouth, about 1654, and made his home in 
Scotland, Windham Co., Conn. His wife, Experi- 
ence Manston, was a daughter of John Manston, of 
Tisburv. She died at their home in Scotland April 
30, 1727. They had a large family of children, as 
follows: Sarah, born 1688, who was married Nov. 
15, 1725, to Hezekiah Mason; Abiah. wife of Rich- 
ard Andrews; Israel, born in 1696, who married Sa- 
rah Sabin; Peter; Thomas: Abigail, born in 1701, 
who was married Sept. 30, [72.5, to Elihu Palmer; 
Simeon, who married Jerusha ECingsley; Benjamin, 
who married Jerusha I'.ringham; Joseph, burn in 
1706, who married Mehitable Read; [saac and Vnn, 
(twins), born Aug. 28, 1798; Mary, wife of John 



918 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Johnson; Rhoda, who married Noah Carpenter; 
Martha ; and Elizabeth. 

Peter Robinson, son of Lient. Peter, was born 
in 1697, and was married June 30, 1725, to Ruth 
Fuller, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Thack- 
er) Fuller, of Mansfield. He died March 22, 1785, 
and his wife on Jan. 9, 1795, their remains being 
buried in Scotland cemetery. They had twelve 
children: Samuel, born July 6, 1726; Experience, 
April 22, 1728; Peter, May 19, 1730; Elizabeth, 
Nov. 6, 1732; Joab, Aug. 14, 1734; Nathan, July 
J 9> J 736; Abner, the next in the line of descent; 
Ruth, Dec. 14, 1740; Eliab, Aug. 22, 1742 (who 
married Lucy Williams) ; Rachel, March 30, 1744; 
Bathsheba, July 31, 1746; and Joshua, Sept. 24, 
1748, who was married in 1771 to Sybil Webb. 

Capt. Abner Robinson, a soldier of the Revolu- 
tionary army, was born at the homestead in Scotland 
Feb. 22, 1738, and died there Nov.- 24, 1815. By 
occupation he was a farmer and blacksmith, employ- 
ing in his shop and on his farm three hired men. 
On receiving the news of tlie battle of Lexington all 
four enlisted and went to Boston, the shop was 
closed, and the farm was run by his wife and daugh- 
ters, the eldest of whom, when he went away, was 
but twelve years old. He was ensign of a company 
at the battle of Bunker Hill, and later became lieu- 
tenant and captain, serving in the latter capacity to 
the close of the war. On April 7, 1763, he married 
Mehitabel Palmer, daughter of Eliezer Palmer, of 
Scotland. She died Oct. 15, 1819. They had chil- 
dren as follows: Philena, born March 24, 1764; 
Lois, Nov. 15, 1765; Mehitabel, Jan. 29, 1768; Ab- 
ner, March 1, 1770, who married Clarissa Webb; 
Mary, April 10, 1772; Elizabeth, Aug. 6, 1774; 
Septimus, who is mentioned below ; and Polly, 
March 30, 1780. 

Septimus Robinson, son of Abner, was born in 
Scotland April 14, 1777, and died there Sept. 14, 
1842. His life was spent in agricultural pursuits. 
In 1850 he represented Windham in the State Leg- 
islature. He was married Feb. 6, 1803, to Sarah 
Webb, who was born Jan. 31, 1782, daughter of 
Stephen and Content (Hewett) Webb, and died at 
Hartford Dec. 2J, 1852. They had the following 
children: Marcia Pamela, born Aug. 19, 1805, was 
married Sept. 14, 1831, to Thomas J. Litchfield, of 
Hartford; Henry Webb, father of our subject, is 
mentioned more fully below; Nathan Leach, born 
Dec. T3, 1810, was married Nov. 23, 1835, to Louisa 
C. Matson, of Glastonbury; William Pitt, born 
Nov. 20, 1813, died Jan. 29, 1852; Alfred Augustus 
was born Oct. 3, 1815; George Edward, born April 
6, 1823, died May 23, 1845. 

Henry Webb Robinson, father of our subject, 
was born in Scotland June 6, 1807, and after receiv- 
ing a common-school education learned the black- 
smith trade. He located at Collinsville, then South 
Canton, where he found employment in the Collins 
Ax Factory, which was then in its infancy, only 
eight other men being then employed, namely: 
Charles Morgan, foreman; Myron H. Morgan and 



Thomas H. Smith, ax makers ; Charles Beach, 
blacksmith; Daniel Bourne, striker; David Lane, 
grinder; William Brainerd, grinder; Elisha Farn- 
ham, polisher. Henry W. Robinson remained 
with the company until his death, which occurred 
on Aug. 18, 1874, making a period of forty-six 
years of active service. He was a Democrat until 
the Civil war ; when he became a Republican, but 
never sought office, and was a member of the Uni- 
versalist Church. Mr. Robinson married Caroline 
M. Willoughby, of Canterbury, Windham Co., 
Conn., and they had four children, of whom two 
lived to maturity; William Henry; and Julia, wife 
of John E. Wheelock, of Collinsville. The mother, 
who was a devout member of the Congregational 
Church, died Oct. 4, 1893, on her eighty-fourth 
birthday. 

William Henry Robinson was born at Collins- 
ville Sept. 16, 1835, and attended school there. At 
the age of eighteen he went to Bristol, where he 
worked in a store for seven years, afterward re- 
turning to Collinsville and engaging in mercantile 
business with John E. W'heelock. In 1862 he en- 
tered the Collins Works, being employed first in 
making bayonets, and for the past thirty-seven years 
he has worked for them in different capacities, and 
for several years has been engineer in the shops. 
He was married, Jan. 30, 1861, to Sophia E. Allen, 
daughter of Deacon Frederick Allen, of Bristol. She 
died April 22, 1864, leaving no issue, and was buried 
at Bristol. On June 2, 1869, Mr. Robinson mar- 
ried Minerva A. Hotchkiss, of Pine Meadow, Litch- 
field county, and daughter of Willard Hotchkiss. 
Our subject is a Republican, but no office seeker, 
and in religious convictions is a member of the Epis- 
copal Church. Socially he belongs to Eclectic 
Lodge No. 64, I. O. O. F., Collinsville, and to Cus- 
ter Council No. 85, O. U. A. M., of Hartford, being 
a charter member. 

The Hotchkiss family, of which Mrs. Robinson 
is a member, is also of pioneer stock. Samuel 
Hotchkiss, the first of this name in this country, 
was a native of the county of Essex, England, and 
came to New Haven, Conn., in 1641. In August, 
1642, he married Elizabeth Cleverly, and his death 
occurred Dec. 26, 1663. Of his six children, John, 
born in 1643, was married Dec. 4, 1672, to Eliza- 
beth Peck, daughter of Henry Peck ; Samuel, born in 
1645, was married in 1678 to Sarah Talmage; 
James was born in 1647; Joshua is the next in the 
line of descent; Thomas, born Dec. 16, 1654, was 
married Nov. 26, 1677, to Sarah Williams, and died 
in 171 1 : Daniel, born June 8, 1657, was married to 
Esther Sperry June 20, 1683, and died in T712. 

Joshua Hotchkiss was born Sept. 16, 1651, and 
was a prominent citizen of New Haven. Eight 
children were born to him : Mary, born April 30, 
1679; Stephen, who is mentioned below; Martha, 
born Dec. 14, 1683, who married Thomas Brooks in 
1702; Priscilla ; Abraham; Desire; Isaac; and 
Jacob, who remained on the homestead. 

Deacon Stephen Hotchkiss was born Aug. 12, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



019 



1681, and spent his life in Cheshire, Conn., where 
he owned property. On Dec. 12, 1704, he married 
Elizabeth Sperry, of New Haven, and they had 
twelve children: Joshua, born Aug. 26, 1705; 
Elizabeth, born in 1706; Mary, born Jan. 1, 1708, 
who married Nathan Barnes; Hannah, born Jan. 10, 
1710, who married Stephen Atwater; Elizabeth (2), 
born Feb. 18, 1712; Deacon Gideon, born Dec. 5, 
1716, who was the father of nineteen children, and 
attained the age of ninety-one years ; Stephen, the 
next in line of descent; Silas, born Nov. 22, 1719, 
who married Widow Olcott; Hannah, born Feb. 23, 
1722; Bathashua, born Sept. .1, 1724, who married 
Ralph Lines; Benjamin, born Feb. 1, 1728, who 
married Elizabeth Roberts ; and Noah, who was 
born Nov. 24, 1736, and died Jan. 16, 1760. 

Stephen Hotchkiss was born Dec. 20, 17 18, and 
died May 16, 1807. He married (1) Thankful 
Cook, who died Sept. 14, 1760, and on March 2, 
1762, he married Anne, widow of Daniel Johnson, 
and daughter of Eaven and Rachel Royce. She 
died, and he was married a third time, Sept. 13, 
1782, to Thankful Brooks, a widow. He had in all 
seven children. Of these, Esther, born Oct. 23, 
1743, died Oct. 15, 174Q. Thankful, born March 

14, 1745, was married to Stephen Cook. Susannah, 
born Aug. 3, 1747, died Oct. 15, 1749. Esther {2) 
was born June 9, 1750. Susannah, born July 20, 
1752, married Zebulon Frisby, who died May 21, 
1806; she entertained Gen. Washington while he 
was marching through Burlington, Conn., and her 
death occurred there in 1838. Stephen, born July 

15, 1754, died Feb. 15, 1802. Samuel is mentioned 
more fully below. 

Samuel Hotchkiss, a soldier in the Revolutionary 
war, was born in Cheshire, Conn., Oct. 22, 1755. 
and died March 19, 1843. He settled in Burling- 
ton, and engaged in farming. He was married in 
1777 to Rachel Upson, of Bristol, who was born in 
1754, and died June 23, 1833. Of their children, 
Mary Newell, born August, 1779, married Daniel 
Andruss. Isaac, born May, 1781, married Lucy 
Goodsel, and was killed July 14, 1819, by falling 
in the barn. Rachel, born in March, 1783, was re- 
markable for her beauty; in 1804 she married Capt. 
John Spencer, who was born Aug. 8, 1782, and by 
whom she had ten children; she died in May, 1820. 
Zenas, born in December, 1785, married Lydia 
Phelps. Lucretia married Elisha Cleveland. Sam- 
uel is mentioned below. Anson, born June 10, 
1793, married Chloe Cook, and died May II, [856. 
Lovisa, born in 1794, was the second wife of Capt. 
John Spencer, referred to above. Carlos, born in 
1797, married Phila Clark, and settled in Burling- 
ton, on the old homestead. 

Samuel Hotchkiss was born in Burlington Oct. 
5, 1789, and died in New Hartford Jan. 6, [859. 
He was a woodworker by occupation, and he took 
an active part in politics as a Whig, serving as a 
member of the Legislature. He was a Free- 
mason, and religiously a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church. On May 29, 18 14, he was married 



to Chloe Marsh, who was Lorn Sept. 21, 1792, and 
they had children as follows: Eliza Ann, born 
April 19, 1815, died June 14, 1817. Abigail Marsh, 
born Nov. 2, 1816, married Selden Millard, and 
died June 15, 1898, at Areata. Willard is men- 
tioned below. Wolcott, born July 17, 1820, died 
Dec. 7, 1839. Correll Upson, born July 22, 1822, 
was married April 14, 1850, to Laura Boyden ; their 
daughter, Miss Louise Hotchkiss, has been a school 
teacher of Collinsville. Eliza Ann, born May 29, 

1824, was married May 22, 1846, to Francis N. 
Holley, of Torrington, and died May 15, 1866. Mi- 
nerva Rossiter, born June 2, 1826, was married Sept. 
19, 1846, to Nelson G. Hinckley, of Hartford. Rob- 
ert was born June 9, 1828. Harriet, born May 28, 
1830, died Jan. 24, 1874. George, born Feb. 21, 
1833, now deceased, was a resident of Eureka, Cal. 
Eugene, born June I, 1839, died in Iowa Sept. 21, 

1845- 

W illard Hotchkiss, father of Mrs. Robinson, 
was born Aug. 18, 1818, at New Hartford, near 
Town Hill, and died May 18, 1868. He received 
a common-school education, and learned the trade 
of pattern maker, which he followed in New Hart- 
ford in connection with farming, becoming a suc- 
cessful man financially. He was prominent in local 
affairs, and held various offices, including that of 
justice of the peace, being elected on the Republi- 
can ticket. On July 23, 1843, ne was niarried at 
Pine Meadow, Litchfield Co., Conn., to Sarah Cro- 
mack, who was born at Leeds, England, Jan. 25, 

1825, daughter of Samuel Cromack. She died in 
1897, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Codaire, of 
Canton. Their children were: Mary, wife of 
Bentley Frazier, has one daughter, Clara, who is 
married to George Wilcox, and has one son, Frazier 
Bentley. Isabella married W. S. Gould, of South- 
ington, Conn., and had two sons, Willard J. and 
Harry H. (deceased) ; Willard J. married Emma 
Nelson Clark, and nas two children, Doris ( lark and 
Clark Gould; Minerva A. is the wife of William I !. 
Robinson, our subject. Alfred, deceased, formerly 
a merchant in Collinsville, left one son and one 
daughter, Nellie T. and Edwin A. (now a student 
at McGill University). Jennie Find, wife of G. A. 
Codaire, has had six children: Bessie II., Minnie 
R., Alfred H., George A. (deceased ), and Ruth and 
Robert, twins, the latter deceased in childhood. Wil- 
lard, a farmer of Burlington, married Belle Wilson, 
of Harwinton, daughter of Cyrus Wilson, and 
has two sons, Willard K. and Henry II. 

ROLLIN W. NEALE, the well-known super- 
intendent of the Peck, Stow & Wilcox Co., of 
Southington, was horn in thai town Dec. 7. 1828, 
a son of Jeremiah and Charlotte I Mills) Neale. 

The father was also born in Southington, in 
1802, and for many years was engaged in the man- 
ufacture of stocks, collars, shirts, etc., in I'lants- 
ville, but later turned his attention to the manu- 
facture of brass goods in company with others, 
and for a time was a member of the firm of Wight- 



920 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



man & Neale, merchants of Southington Center. 
In his family were the following children : Rollin 
W., our subject; Walter S. ; Joel, born March 21, 
1835, who died in December, 1839; Anna F., wife 
of Dr. Charles E. Sanford ; Sarah J., wife of John 
Lines ; Henry H., who died Sept. 14, 1862, while 
in the Union service during the Civil war, and is 
buried in Rockville, Md. ; Elmira L., who is the 
widow of Charles Minor, who died July 21, 1899; 
and Charles J. 

Our subject's maternal grandparents were Elias 
and Sally ( Curtis) Hills, of Plainville. The grand- 
father was born in that place, and was a wheel- 
wright and builder by trade. His parents were 
Chauncey and Eleanor (Gillette) Hills, of Farm- 
ington, and his wife's parents were Abner and 
Mabel (Squires) Curtis, of the same town. The 
Hills are said to be descended from William Hills, 
a native of England, who came to America in 1632 
and was one of the original settlers of Hartford, 
where he died in 1683. 

Jeremiah Neale, the paternal grandfather of our 
subject, was born in Southington in 1757, and was 
married, Dec. 4, 1780, to Anna Fuller. He lived 
in West street, where he died Nov. 8, 1827, and his 
wife died Dec. 9, 1823, at the age of sixty-six years. 
His father, John Neale, was born in Southington 
Oct. 28, 1 7 19, and was a son of Edward Neale, 
who died in Southington in April, 1768. The latter 
is supposed to have been a son of Edward and 
Maria (Hart) Neale, early settlers of Westfield, 
Massachusetts. 

Rollin W. Neale, subject of this sketch, was 
reared in Southington. and educated in the public 
schools and Lewis Academy. He began his busi- 
ness career as a mill hand in Plantsville in 1846, 
and since 1850 has been in the employ of the con- 
cern now merged into the Peck, Stow & Wilcox 
Co. For a number of years he was engaged in con- 
tract work for them, and he has held his present 
responsible position of superintendent since 1880. 
His labors have always given the utmost satis- 
faction, and he has the entire confidence and respect 
of his employers, as well as of those working under 
him. He is an earnest and faithful member of 
Gospel Mission Chapel, and politically is an advocate 
and supporter of Prohibition. 

Mr. Neale has been twice married, his first 
wife being Martha Harrison, a daughter of Rollin 
and Harriet (Meshurul) Harrison, of Southing- 
ton, and to them was born one daughter, Alice E. 
For his second wife he married Addie T. Morse, 
a daughter of Barzillai and Jennette (Dawson) 
Morse, of West Haven, Conn. Mrs. Neale died 
Nov. 20, 1895. 

HON. CHARLES DIMON PARSONS, who 
has entered into rest, was one of those rare char- 
acters whom to know is to love, and whose daily life 
is a daily lesson. "The memory of the just is 
blessed." 

Mr. 1 'arsons was born at East Hampton, L. I., 



in August, 1826, and at the age of sixteen years 
entered upon a four-years' apprenticeship to the 
carpenter's trade at Sag Harbor, L. I. Three years 
after becoming a journeyman he removed to Man- 
chester (1849) an d entered the employ of Colum- 
bus Parker, then the leading builder of the town. 
At the end of a year he determined to embark in 
business on his own account as a contractor and 
builder. At that time the town was rapidly grow- 
ing, and building was being pushed on every hand. 
The tireless energy which was one of Mr. Parsons' 
prominent characteristics soon enabled him to forge 
ahead of his competitors. His business rteadily in- 
creased, and at times he had scores of men in his 
employ, his reputation for skill, fidelity and "push" 
bringing him contracts from many of the neigh- 
boring towns. For many years he continued in 
this line of work, during which period he erected 
many of the dwellings and not a few of the mills 
in Hartford county that were put up by Cheney 
Bros., and the work of this firm finally became so 
large that he abandoned taking other contracts and 
entered their employ, at a large annual salary, as 
superintendent of their operations. This position 
he filled with characteristic energy and integrity 
until about twelve years before his death when he 
gave it up to engage in farming. To this pursuit 
he brought the same qualities which had already 
won for him such phenomenal success in the world 
of business. His farm at Manchester Green was a 
model, his stock always sleek and well cared for, 
his farm buildings commodious and well arranged, 
and his home an ideal one, ruled by love that was 
enlightened and purified by the guiding principle 
of Christianity. 

Politically Mr. Parsons was a Republican, and 
at no time throughout his long and useful life did 
he seek office; yet in such high esteem was he held 
by his fellow citizens, who well knew his fearless- 
ness in defense of principle and his incorruptible 
integrity, that in 1878 he was elected a represent- 
ative of the town in the State Legislature, and in 
1879 was chosen the first selectman. The latter 
office he held continuously until the time of his 
death, with the exception of one year, when he de- 
clined a renomination. To the performance of his 
public duties he gave the same thoughtful, consci- 
entious care that he devoted to the conduct of his 
private affairs, and his long retention in office tells, 
more eloquently than words, the story of a faithful, 
intelligent administration of the town's business. 

Charles D. Parsons passed from the world on 
April 4, 1890, leaving behind him a fragrant mem- 
ory. If he had faults, they were superficial ; his 
many virtues were inwrought in the very fibre of 
his nature. He was a devout and consistent mem- 
ber of the First Congregational Church, and served, 
several years as a member of the committee of the 
First Society ; and his daily life, even in its minor 
and commonplace details, gave evidence of the con- 
trolling influence of a sincere Christian faith. His 
mind was of a fine order, well trained and always at 
his command ; while his physical manhood was 










'/ZAj&Z^r*? 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



921 



equally well developed. Neither his brain nor his 
band was ever idle. His capacity for work appeared 
to know no limit, yet it was equaled by his intense 
desire to be always "up and doing." It was said of 
bim after his death that "his work can never be 
measured by years; gauged by that standard, it is 
no figure of speech or exaggeration of facts to say 
that they would have fully rounded out a century." 

Mr. Parsons' first wife was Elizabeth Miller, 
by whom he had one daughter, Elizabeth H., now 
the wife of Henry H. Schellenger, of East Hamp- 
ton, Long Island. 

On Nov. 5, 1867, Mr. Parsons was married to 
Miss Ellen, daughter of Edwin and Fannie (With- 
rel) Perry, of Manchester. The fruit of their 
union was one son, Charles Foster, born Aug. 20, 
1869. Mrs. Parsons and son still survive our sub- 
ject, and reside at Manchester. 

JULIUS ALONZO CASE (deceased) was 
for many years one of the most highly esteemed 
and valued citizens of Wethersfield. A native of 
Hartford county, he was born in Poquonock, in the 
town of Windsor, Dec. 13, 1832, and was a worthy 
representative of one of the oldest and most hon- 
ored families of Windsor and Simsbury, a full ac- 
count of which will be found elsewhere. 

Julius Case, father of our subject, was born in 
Simsbury, May 22, 1790, a son of Amasa and Mercy 
(Hillyer) Cas.e, also natives of that town. The 
former served in the Revolutionary war as a private 
in the company commanded by Capt. Joel Case. 
When a young man Julius Case removed to Windsor 
and took up his residence in Poquonock, where he 
engaged in farming throughout the remainder of his 
life, dying there Nov. 11, 1834, and his remains 
were interred in the Poquonock cemetery. He 
wedded Miss Mary Phelps, who was born Aug. 4, 
1803, a daughter of Noble Phelps, and died Nov. 
22, 1843, being laid to rest by the side of her hus- 
band. Their children were Jane, wife of Robert 
Moffett, of Akron, Ohio ; Charlotte, wife of Horace 
Baxter, of Poquonock ; and Julius Alonzo, our 
subject. 

Julius A. Case was only two years old when his 
father died, and he was reared by his aunt, Mrs. 
Phelps. He attended the district schools of his na- 
tive town and also Wilbraham (Mass.) Academy. 
When in his teens he went to Hartford, where he 
clerked in the store of Johnson & Ransom for three 
years, and at the end of that time purchased Mr. 
Johnson's interest in the business, which was then 
conducted under the firm name of Ransom & Case, 
dry-goods merchants. At the end of two years 
Mr. Case sold out and formed a partnership with a 
Mr. Pratt in the wholesale millinery business, under 
the firm name of Pratt & Case. Several years 
later Mr. Prentice became a member of the company, 
and the name was changed to Case & Prentice, and 
the business was successfullv carried on by them 
until 1878, when they met with reverses. Being a 
man of honor, and noted for his honesty, Mr. Case 



sacrificed all that he possessed in the world to meet 
his creditors, and accepted a position as salesman 
in the silk department of Brown & Thompson's 
store, where he spent several years. His health 
finally broke down, and he died at his home in 
Wethersfield after much suffering, Sept. 20, 1886, 
his remains being interred in Cedar Hill cemetery. 
He was a prominent and active member of the 
Episcopal Church, and served as vestryman in 
Christ Church and Trinity Church, Hartford. He 
was temperate in his habits, domestic in his tastes, 
was charitable and generous, and was a good cit- 
izen, a kind friend, and a devoted husband and fa- 
ther. His business reverses seemed to crush him, 
however, and blight all of his future hopes. He 
was one of the original members of the city guard, 
and was a Republican in politics. 

At Hartford, Sept. 24, 1857, Mr. Case was mar- 
ried, by Rev. Dr. Turnbull, to Miss Jane Crosby, 
who was born in Bridgeport, Conn., June 17, 1839, 
a daughter of Nathaniel and Jane (Goodsell) 
Crosby, also natives of that place. She is a most 
estimable lady still living in Wethersfield. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Case were born six children: Minnie, 
born Feb. 14, i860, is the wife of James Anderson, 
of Wethersfield, and they have four children, Gert- 
rude, William, James and Frank. William Mather, 
born Dec. 13, 1862, died June 2, 1866. Frank Burr, 
born July 16, 1867, died Dec. 27, 1884. Leila Wood- 
ruff, born Jan. 16, 1871, married Charles Hanmer, 
and has one child, Charlotte Case. Charlotte Grace, 
born Jan. 25, 1873, was educated in the district and 
high schools of Wethersfield, and also St. John the 
Baptist School, New York, where she was gradu- 
ated in 1891; she taught school in South Windsor 
one year, and for the past five years has successfully 
engaged in teaching in the South School, Hartford. 
Edward Welles, born April 10, 1877, is employed in 
Buckley & Hanmer's store in Wethersfield. The 
family are members of the Episcopal Church, and 
are people of prominence in the community where 
they reside. 

Mrs. Case traces her ancestry back to Thomas 
Goodsell, a native of Wales, who came to this 
country from Liverpool, England, about 1078, and 
located in East Haven, Conn. In 1679 he married 
Sarah Heminway. Their son, Rev. John Goodsell, 
born Dec. 21, 1705, was educated at Yale College, 
and was appointed the first minister of the Church 
of Christ, on Greenfield Hill, in 1726. He died in 
1763. He married Mary Lewis, of Stratford, and 
among their children was Kpaphras Goodsell, who 
was born May 23, 1742. He married Jane Brad- 
ley, who was born April 21, 1733, and died Dec. 
5, 1765. Tie was sergeant in Capt. Dimon's com- 
pany, of Fairfield, Conn., in May, 1775: and he 
afterward enlisted, Jan. T, 1777, in Capt. John Mill's 
company, 2nd Regiment, Connecticut Fine, com- 
manded by Colonel Charles Webb, which regiment 
was wintered at Valley Forge in 1777-78, and was 
present at the battle of Monmouth. 



Q?s> 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Capt. William Goodsell, son of Epaphras, mar- 
ried Prudence Nichols, a descendant of Sergt. 
Francis Nichols, a native of England, who located 
in Stratford, Conn., in 1639, among the first settlers. 
He married Anna, daughter of Barnabas Wines, of 
Southold, L. I. Their son, Isaac Nichols, died in 
Stratford, in 1695. His wife's name was Margaret. 
Isaac Nichols, Jr., son of Isaac, died in Stratford, 
in 1690. Richard Nichols, son of Isaac (Jr.) and 
Mary Nichols, was born Nov. 26, 1678, and was 
married June 3, 1702, to Comfort Sherman, a daugh- 
ter of Theophilus Sherman. She died Feb. 11, 
1726. and he died Sept. 20, 1756. Theophilus 
Nichols, son of Richard, was born March 31, 1703, 
and married Sarah Curtis, a daughter of Lieut. 
Ebenezer Curtis, Jan. 2, 1723. She died Sept. 26, 
1769. Their son, Philip Nichols, born Jan. 5, 1726, 
was married Oct. 9, 1753, to Mehitable Peet, and 
died May 13, 1807. He was a man of much influ- 
ence in public affairs, and served as magistrate for 
many years. He was a large land owner, and also 
owned' several vessels which were engaged in the 
West India trade. William Nichols, son of Philip, 
was born March 10, 1755, and married Patience 
Edwards, of Chestnut Hill, Bridgeport. Their 
daughter, Prudence, married Capt. William Good- 
sell, before mentioned, and to them was born a 
daughter, Jane, who married Nathaniel Crosby, 
the father of Mrs. Case. Mrs. Case is also a de- 
scendant of Capt. John Edwards, who was born in 
Scotland, in 1662, and came to this country in 1700. 
He wedded Mary Hanford, daughter of Rev. Mr. 
Hanford, of Norwalk, and their son, John Edwards, 
married Rebecca Porter. Patience, daughter of 
John and Rebecca (Porter) Edwards, married Will- 
iam Nichols, before mentioned. 

DANIEL KINGSBURY, M. D., of Glaston- 
bury, is one of the oldest and best-known physi- 
cians of this section, and although now less active 
than in past years, his advice is constantly sought 
in difficult cases, and he has a large office prac- 
tice. 

The Doctor was born in Hartford Jan. 22, 1828, 
and soon after his father, Sandford Kingsbury, es- 
tablished a new home in Tolland county, where he 
was engaged in farming for many years, his death 
occurring in 1856. Our subject's mother, whose 
maiden name was Cynthia Baxter, was a native of 
Tolland county, and a daughter of Ira Baxter, a 
well-known farmer. Of the five children of San- 
ford and Cynthia Kingsbury, (1), a daughter, died 
in infancy; (2) Simeon married a Miss Baxter, 
and settled upon a farm in Tolland county, where 
he died some years ago; (3) John married Miss 
Roselta I 'ease, and died in Mansfield, where he 
had been engaged in farming in connection with 
the stone-mason's trade; (4) Daniel is our sub- 
ject; (5) Henry, who never married, was a sailor, 
and died and was buried at sea. 

Dr. Kingsbury's early educational opportuni- 
ties were not of the best, as his parents were in 



limited circumstances. He attended a common 
school for a short time, but was compelled at an 
early age to begin earning his own living. For- 
tunately he found a home with Dr. Sperry, of Hart- 
ford, who lived on Hudson street, and at that time 
had an office on Main street, three doors north of 
the Centre Church, two stores being between. Later 
he had an office on Pearl street, and then on Grove 
street. Our subject began as office boy at seventy- 
five cents per weey and board, but Dr. Sperry soon 
became interested in him, seeing even then a prom- 
ise of the success which he has attained in life. Dr. 
Sperry encouraged him to study medicine, and after 
four years of preliminary reading under this kind 
preceptor, he attended a course of lectures with the 
Connecticut Botanical Society, from which he re- 
ceived a diploma. Early in 185 1 he engaged in 
practice at New London, but spent the following 
winter with Dr. Sperry, and on June 2, 1852, he 
opened an office at Glastonbury in the house of Asa 
Wells. While there he married his first wife, and 
soon afterward he removed to the house now oc- 
cupied by the widow of Frary Hale. In 1858 he lo- 
cated at his present home, which he purchased. 
While he has never been active in politics, he is a 
stanch Republican. He is a member of the F. 
& A. M., Daskam Lodge, No. 86. He and his fam- 
ily are members of the Episcopal Church ; at one 
time he held the office of senior warden, is now 
treasurer, and has been most of the time since the 
organization of the parish. 

In October, 1853, the Doctor married Miss 
Mary Chapman Loomis, a native of Tolland coun- 
ty, and daugnter of Elmer and Cynthia (Davis) 
Loomis. Her father was born in Tolland, Conn. 
She died Aug. 10, 1859, and on June 12, 1862, our 
subject married Miss Lucy M. Cone, who was born 
in East Haddam, Aug. 22, 1829, daughter of Eras- 
tus and Lucy B. (Beebe) Cone. By his first wife 
the Doctor had two children : ( 1 ) Frances E., born 
April 13, 1856, was married Dec. 31, 1880, to Rev. 
Thomas H. Gordon, an Episcopal minister at 
Chews, N. J.; (2) Miss Carrie A. is at home. By 
the second marriage there are three children : ( 1 ) 
Miss Mary A., born Julv 3, 1865, was educated in 
( rermany, and taught school for a time in New 
York, but is now employed in the Erasmus Hall 
library, Brooklyn. (2) William Sanford, born Sept. 
17, 1867, attended a district school and the Glas- 
tonbury Academy, and later a select school con- 
ducted by his brother-in-law, Rev. Mr. Gordon, in 
Faulkland, Del. He then went to the Hartford Pub- 
lic High School, on graduating entered Trinity Col- 
lege, later took a course in the Yale Medical School, 
graduating in 1896, and served for a year as in- 
terne in St. John's Hospital, Lowell, Mass. He is 
taking up his father's practice with remarkable suc- 
cess, and bids fair to maintain the reputation of the 
Kingsbury name in medical circles. On Sept. 28, 
1898, he was married to Miss Mary L. Raymond, 
of Boston, and thev reside next door to our subject. 
(3) Miss Lucy E., born July 4. 1869, has been a 
teacher for the past six years in the East Hart- 




£ 



Clsy\*j.j 




^IwJ JK J) 






924 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



loved by his neighbors and friends for his kindly, 
helpful life. Liberal with his means and influence 
to the support of every good cause, generous to the 
needy and unfortunate, and active in religious work 
as a member and deacon for years of the Man- 
chester Congregational Church, he won a place in 
the hearts of his fellow man, which could only be 
filled by one of his sympathetic and unselfish dispo- 
sition, and his death, which occurred very suddenly, 
from heart disease, was widely mourned through- 
out the vicinity of his home. Physically he was 
five feet, nine inches in height, and weighted 160 
pounds, and he was ever an abstemious man, re- 
fraining from stimulants in any form or immodera- 
tion of any kind. He was upright and honorable 
in all his relations with men, and the influence of 
his honorable life will long be felt in the community. 
Simeon A. Spencer was married, Oct. 15, 1823, 
to Miss Clarissa McLean, who was born June 19, 
1800, and survived him many years, dying Dec. 
9, 1897. Mr. Spencer passed away Dec. 5, 1864. 
Five children were born to this union, as follows : 
John Olds, who died in June, 1890, was a resident 
of New London, Conn., and up to within a few 
years of his death was engaged in the wholesale 
and retail tea business, spending his last years in 
retirement; Abbie T., who died Oct. 15, 1870, was 
the wife of George Parkhurst, of Manchester; 
Dwight was third in the order of birth ; Charles 
S. was a carriage manufacturer of New Plaven, 
Conn., where he died Feb. 20, 1869; George M. is 
a practicing attorney of San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia. 

Dwight Spencer was reared on the farm on 
which he was born, and commenced his education 
in the district schools near his home, at Buckland's 
Corners, where among his first teachers were Walter 
McKee and Edward Hayden. For some time he 
was a student in the Manchester Academy, at Man- 
chester Center, and the year after leaving this in- 
stitution taught school in the West District. After 
his marriage he continued to make his home on the 
farm mentioned until 1855, when he purchased and 
removed to a place in the town of Manchester, living 
thereon until 1876. On April 23, 1852, Mr. Spencer 
wedded Miss Mary Fitch White, who was born 
July 7, 1828, daughter of Miner White, a prominent 
resident of Manchester, and two children came to 
this union, Nellie W. and Frank F. The daughter 
is now the wife of W. H. Childs, of Brooklyn, N. 
Y., who was formerly a successful grain merchant 
of Manchester, and they have tw r o children, Richard 
S. and Mary W. Frank F. Spencer is a prominent 
young business man of Manchester, engaged with 
the Grand Union Tea Co.; he married Miss Mary 
Parker, and they have two children, Dwight Par- 
ker and William White. Mrs. Mary F. (White) 
Spencer passed away March 6, 1870, and on Mav 7, 
1885, our subject married for his second wife Miss 
Lucy G. Ford, who was born Jan. 10, T845, in the 
town of Hebron, daughter of John P. Ford, and 
granddaughter of Luther Ford, both of whom 



were natives of the town of Hebron. John P. Ford 
was a lifelong farmer, remaining in the town of He- 
bron until 1873, when he purchased the fine resi- 
dence now occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Spencer, and 
where he lived until his death, which occurred Jan. 
7, 1894, when he was eighty- four years of age. He 
was a devout member of the Congregational Church 
from the age of fifteen years, and was always an 
active worker and regular attendant, taking a deep 
interest in religious work. He contributed $5,000 
toward the building of the new Second Congrega- 
tional church at Manchester. He married Miss 
Lucy J. King, a native of Vernon, Conn., daughter 
of Joel King, and they had two children, Lucy G., 
Mrs. Spencer; and Ellen G., who died in 1884. Mrs. 
Ford, now in her eighty-first year, makes her home 
with Mr. and Mrs. Spencer. 

Mr. Spencer was active in the commercial life 
of Manchester for about twenty years as an exten- 
sive dealer in coal, and he also erected what is known 
as the Spencer block, in that town, in 1874. He 
was never active in public life as an office-seeker or 
holder, but he has always taken a loyal interest in 
the progress of his town, and as a prosperous mer- 
chant was an important factor in the building up of 
the town in which he has made his home. He is 
respected wherever known, and his acquaintance in 
Manchester and surrounding towns is a wide one. 
Politically he has always been an ardent supporter 
of the principles of the Republican party. He and 
his wife are active and earnest members of the 
Second Congregational Church of Manchester, and 
they hold a high place in the esteem of their neigh- 
bors and friends, who are numerous in the com- 
munity. 



HON. HENRY E. PHELPS. Few citizens 
of this section are as widely and as favorably known 
as this prosperous and enterprising agriculturist of 
Windsor, and his popularity speaks well for his 
personal worth. The following history of his life 
and ancestry will be of general interest, as any rec- 
ord of purposeful effort and achievement has for 
humanity an inspiration. 

Mr. Phelps comes of good old Massachusetts 
stock, and is not related, so far as known, to the 
families of that name who have been identified 
with Windsor from pioneer times. Elijah Phelps, 
our subject's grandfather, was born in Massachu- 
setts May 13, 1754, and became a successful farm- 
er near Wilbraham, in that State, where he died 
May 16, 1823. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Mary Gibbs, was born Aug. 16, 1755, and died 
March 25. 1849, at the advanced age of ninety-four 
years. This worthy couple had the following chil- 
dren : Nathaniel, born Jan. 22, 1770,. died June 1 
1815. Polly, born May 21, 1780, died Feb. 9, 1855. 
Elijah, born Jan. 31, 1782, died in i8iq. Betsey, 
born July T2, 1783, died May 2, 18^1. Benjamin, 
born June 3, 1787, was a hotel-keeper in Spring- 
field, where he died in 1838. Seth was born on 
April 12, 1789. Asenith, born March 10, 1791, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



925 



died Jan. 6, 1832. Francis, born Sept. 9, 1793, died 
in May, 1836. William was born Oct. 3, 1795; 
Henry, our subject's father, is mentioned more 
fullv below. Caroline, born March, 1799, married 
a Mr. Tidd, and lived in New York. Doratha (now 
deceased) was born March, 1801, and married a 
Mr. Coman, of New York State. 

Henry Phelps, our subject's father, was born 
April 20', 1797, at Wilbraham, Mass., and was 
reared to farm work at the old homestead. As a 
young man he came to Windsor, being the first of 
"his family to locate there, and although he began 
in business without other capital than his own 
ability and energy he managed to acquire a hand- 
some competence. He became the owner of a farm, 
near Hay den's Station, and for many years manu- 
factured brick on the place. About 1836 he bought 
the "Stiles farm," now occupied bv our subject, and 
the present residence, which is one of the most sub- 
stantial houses in the town, was partly built by 
him from brick made in his yards. As a citizen he 
was much respected, and at times he held local of- 
fices, being an active worker in political lines, first 
as a Whig and later as a Republican. He was 
a member of the Congregational Church, to which 
his wife also belonged. His death occurred Feb. 
20, 1875, and his remains were interred in the cem- 
etery at Windsor. In 18 19 he married Miss Ra- 
chel Jacobs, who was born July 19, 1799, and died 
June 29, 1882. She was the youngest of four chil- 
dren of William Jacobs (born Dec. 22, 1766) and 
his wife Sarah Owen (born July 16, 1768), who 
were married Feb. 9, 1792. Her father was a cab- 
inet maker near Hayden's Station for some years, 
but his last days were spent in New York State. 
Henry and Rachel Phelps had a large family of 
children, as follows: Nathaniel G., born Feb. 17, 
1820, went to Missouri and later to Texas, where 
he now resides. Samuel O., born April 8, 1823, 
died in early manhood. Edgar, born Jan. 23, 1826, 
is a farmer at Wilson's Station, Windsor town; 
Mary A., born Nov. 17, 1828, married Chas. Den- 
slow',, and removed to Mendocino, Cal., where she 
died in 1884; Ebenezer Tidd, born July 9, 1833, 
died at Needham, Mass., where he was engaged 
in business as a horse collar maker ; Henry E., our 
subject, was next in the order of birth; William J., 
born Jan. 12, 1838, was a prominent railroad man, 
rising from a clerkship to the position of General 
Passenger Agent of the Connecticut River railroad, 
and his death occurred at Springfield, Mass., April 
2i, 1882. Abraham, born Jan. 24, 1840, is a ma- 
chinist at Brooklyn, New York. 

Our subject was born near Hayden's Station 
Nov. 14. 1834, and for some years attended the 
schools of his neighborhood and the Bell school 
in District No. 5, so named because it boasted a 
bell, which was a rarity in those days. Among his 
early teachers was Col. Phelps. He also attended 
the academy at Windsor and a private school con- 
ducted by J. B. Woodford, while he was given prac- 
tical instruction at home in the ancient and honor- 
able science of agriculture, under the able direction 



of his father. Having a desire to see something of 
the world he went West, and later settling at Pe- 
tersburg, Pike county, Ind., spent two years as a 
clerk in a store ; but this experience satisfied him, 
and since his return home he has followed farming 
at his present homestead. For a time he worked 
the place "on shares" for his father and afterward 
for his mother, but he now owns it, having pur- 
chased the claims of the other heirs. He has twen- 
ty-five acres, and is engaged to some extent in rais- 
ing tobacco. He is a thrifty manager, obtaining 
good results from his work, and in addition to the 
cares of his farm he is interested in other lines, be- 
ing director in the Moore's Park Driving Associa- 
tion and a stockholder in the Windsor Creamery, 
which he helped to organize as a member of the 
first board of directors. In politics he is a strong 
Republican, and he has served his town as first se- 
lectman, tax collector and representative in the Gen- 
eral Assembly. Socially he and his wife are prom- 
inent, and he belongs to Washington Lodge, No. 
70, F. & A. M., at Windsor, and to the Episcopal 
Church, in which he holds the office of vestryman. 

On Oct. 18, 1876, Mr. Phelps married Miss Su- 
san Olin, and one daughter, Carrie E., brightens 
their home. Mrs. Phelps possesses unusual mental 
gifts, and when she first met her husband was en- 
gaged in teaching in Windsor. She was born April 
22, 1853, at Packersville, Conn., daughter of George 
W. and Zippiette Elizabeth (Green) Olin, and was 
the third youngest in a large family of children. 

CORNELIUS ANDREWS is a descendant, in 
the seventh generation, of John Andrews, one of the 
early settlers of Connecticut, who emigrated from 
England with his wife, Mary, in 1640. From him 
the line of parentage runs as follows: Daniel (Sr.), 
Daniel (Jr.), Hezekiah, Ezekiel, Alfred and Cor- 
nelius. The family has ever been one of the most 
honored in the State, and a biographical record of 
this branch, even though necessarily brief, cannot 
fail to be of deep interest. 

John Andrews, the American progenitor, was 
one of the first eighty-four proprietors of the ancient 
town of Tunxis, now Farmington. He was an in- 
telligent man, of simple tastes and plain habits, and 
cultivated a farm some two miles north of the pres- 
ent location of Farmington, at what came to be 
called Waterville, in 1871. The property remained 
in the possession of his descendants until the year 
last mentioned. His wife, Mary, united with the 
Congregational Church, April 12, 1654, and he him- 
self on May 9, 1658. They were the parents of 
nine children: Mary, John, Hannah, Abraham, 
Daniel, Joseph, Rachel, Stephen and Benjamin. 

Daniel Andrews, Sr., was born in 1650. His 
name occasionally appears in the town records of 
those early days as taking pari in public business, 
and in 1702 the General Assembly, having been in- 
formed that great differences had arisen in Far- 
mington about the choice of town officers, confirmed 
the appointment of John Hooker, Samuel Gridley, 



926 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



John Wadsworth, Samuel Cowles and Daniel An- 
dross. The latter name, as spelled, is without doubt 
a corruption of Andrews. He was a large land- 
holder, and left several distinct parcels of realty at 
his death. He united with the Church, May 24, 
1692, and died April 16, 1731, in his eighty-second 
year. He was the father of ten children, whose 
names and dates of birth are as follows : 
Daniel, Jr., March 9, 1672; Mary, Dec. 9, 1674; 
Joseph, Aug. 10, 1676; Thomas, June 3, 1678; 
John, June 10, 1680; Martha, July 17, 1682; Han- 
nah, Jan. 13, 1684; Paul, June 2, 1686; Stephen, 
Aug. 6, 1689; and Ebenezer, Aug. 28, 1692. 

Daniel Andrews, Jr., the eldest son, married, 
Oct. 30, 1707, Mabel, a daughter of Jacob and 
Margery (Ingersoll) Goff, of Wethersfield. She 
was born Oct. 31, 1690. Her family claimed re- 
lationship with Goffe, the regicide. In 1729 
Daniel and his brother, John, gave a note, or 
bond, for £50, to the town of Newington, in con- 
sideration of permission to connect themselves 
with the "Great Swamp Society," a parish lying 
in the town of Farmington. His home was near 
the boundary line between the towns of Farming- 
ton and VVethersheld. He died Aug. 21, 1748, 
in his seventy-seventh year, and his widow on 
May 9, 1768, at the age of seventy-seven years and 
six months. He was buried near the southwest 
corner of Christian Lane cemetery in New Britain, 
his grave being marked by a red sandstone. His 
eight children were as follows : Joseph, born about 
171 1 ; Abigail, July 22, 1713; Mabel, June 6, 1715 ; 
Eunice, Sept. 18, 1717; Daniel, May 12, 1720; 
Hannah, Sept. 8, 1723; Jacob, June 24, 1729; and 
Hezekiah, Aug. 14, 1731. 

Hezekiah Andrews, the youngest child of 
Daniel Andrews, Jr., was born on the homestead. 
He was the first of those who "owned the half- 
way covenant," and became a full member of the 
Congregational Church in full communion on Aug. 
17, 1768. He built the first saw-mill on the Quin- 
nipiack river (called the "Pond river" in the early 
records), although a fulling mill had been prev- 
iously established on that stream a little below the 
"Dead Swamp," and it is probable that there had 
already been a saw-mill erected near the "Great 
Pond" in White Oak. His wife was Anna Stead- 
man, a daughter of Thomas Steadman and Mary 
Sage. She was born on Steadman Hill, in Weth- 
ersfield, June 20, 1736, and married Mr. Andrews 
May 26, 1757. Shortly thereafter her parents re- 
moved to New Britain. Hezekiah Andrews was 
of a gentle, quiet temperament, respected by all 
who knew him for his many virtues, and beloved 
because of his amiable sympathetic disposition. Fie 
died April 19, 1796, at the age of sixty- four, leav- 
ing a very considerable estate, accumulated from 
his farm and mill through his own industry and 
thrift. His widow united with the church Dec. 
6, [802, and followed him to the grave on Sept. 
17. [809, aged seventy-three years. The issue of 
their marriage was a family of eight children, 



named and born as follows: Hezekiah, June 22, 
1758; Anna, Sept. 6, 1760; Lois, Dec. 1, 1763; 
Elizabeth, June 8, 1766; Hannah, June II, 1768; 
Be Thankful, April 17, 1771; Rebecca, March 21, 
1773 ; and Ezekiel, May 25, 1775. 

Ezekiel Andrews, son of Hezekiah and grand- 
father of Cornelius Andrews, inherited his father's 
homestead, together with the saw-mill and a large 
farm, much of the latter consisting of woodland. 
In person he was rather above the average height 
and of singularly handsome — almost faultless — 
form and features. While he inherited from his 
mother a proud spirit and indomitable will, his 
impulses were generous and noble. He was public- 
spirited and patriotic. In May, 1809, Gov. Jona- 
than Trumbull commissioned him a captain in a 
militia regiment, and he was ever afterward given 
that title. He also served through the war of 
18 1 2 with the same rank. While deficient in the 
training to be derived from study at school, his 
education was obtained in the broader field of en- 
ergetic action. Fie was fearless in the face of dan- 
ger, resolute in action and strong in endurance. 
He was a hard worker, and at his death, which oc- 
curred at New Britain on Sept. 3, 1852, he left 
real property exceeding $16,000. The bounty lands 
to which he was entitled as a soldier were only 
partially entered by him, the remainder being 
claimed and reduced to ownership by his widow. 
He was a member of the Congregational Church. 
Mr. Andrews was twice married. His first wife 
was Roxana Hinsdale, a daughter of Elijah Hins- 
dale, of New Britain, by his first wife, Ruth Bid- 
well. She was born June 10, 1778, and was the 
mother of his large family of children. She was 
an earnest Christian and a member of the same 
church as her husband. She died Jan. 14, 1832, 
aged fifty-four years. She left behind her some 
most interesting literary reminiscences of her own 
religious experience and spiritual life. The chil- 
dren of this marriage were as follows, their names 
and the dates of their birth being given below: 
Alfred, Oct. 16, 1797; Thesta, Dec. 16, 1798; Al- 
lura, April 16, 1801 ; Edwin Norton, June 2J, 1804; 
Mary Bidwell, April 13, 1807; Ezekiel, July 19, 
1809; Nathan Hosmer, June 22, 1812; Roxana, 
April 6, 1815; Jane Louisa, Feb. 2, 1818; Elijah 
Hinsdale, Aug. 11, 1820; and Ellen Maria, Sept. 
18, 1824. On Oct. 21, 1833, Mr. Andrews married 
for his second wife Huldah Goodrich, the widow 
of Luther Moses, who was born Jan. 6, 1788, at 
Simsbury, Conn. She died at Hartford May 10, 
1871. 

Alfred Andrews, son of Ezekiel, and next in 
line of descent from John, was a man of versatile 
genius and rare moral worth. He attended the 
district schools and an Episcopal academy at 
Cheshire, Conn. In 1815, at the age of eighteen, 
he began teaching the common branches in the 
common schools, and later became an instructor 
in academic branches. He had a natural aptitude 
for the work, and, being an earnest Christian 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



927 



worker, began his career as a Sunday-school teacher 
in 1816. For fifty-five years he labored in the 
latter field, as teacher and superintendent, and it 
may be said of him that as a secular and religious 
instructor he probably trained the minds of nearly 
or quite four thousand pupils. No good work 
appealed to his sympathy in vain, and he was a 
zealous worker in the cause of temperance. His 
home was nearly opposite that of his father ana 
grandfather, on the southern side of West Main 
street, about two miles west of the center of the 
city of Xew Britain. The house was built in 1820, 
and is still standing, near the Quinnipiack and 
Gilbert rivers, the first named of which flows into 
Long Island Sound, while the latter is a tributary 
of the Connecticut, into which it empties near! 
Middletown. While yet a young man Mr. Andrews 
was a partner in the firm of A. & E. Andrews, 
manufacturers of wagons and carriages, who made 
the first cast-iron plow ever turned out in that 
locality. In 1836, however, losses occasioned by 
a disastrous fire and Southern repudiation forced 
the concern to the wall. He was a pronounced 
anti-slavery man, and it is likely that his failure 
thus brought about did not tend to modify his po- 
litical views. He filled several offices of public 
trust and was repeatedly called upon to act in the set- 
tlement of estates. He was always an active worker 
in the cause of religion, having been appointed on 
the standing committee in 1823, and made deacon 
in the First Congregational Church of New Britain 
on Oct. 23, 1851. He took a lively interest also in- 
the genealogical history of both his own and his 
wife's families, of both of which he published 
historical memorials. He entered upon this work 
con amove, and completed the former in 1870 and 
the latter a few years later, after he had reached 
the age of seventy-five. Previously, in 1867, he 
had published the "Ecclesiastical History of New 
Britain," the preparation of which he had com- 
menced nine years before. He went to his reward 
April 13, 1876. 

Mr. Andrews was twice married. His first 
union was with Caroline Bird, daughter of Abijah 
Hart, of New Britain and New York City, and 
his wife, Anna Hall, of Middletown. She was born 
April 15, 1798, at New York, where she was a 
school teacher before her marriage, which was 
solemnized Dec. 16, 1818. She died Aug. 22, 1823, 
of spotted fever, in her twenty-sixth year, leaving 
two children: Julia Ann, born Nov. 15, 1819, 
and Caroline Hart, born Dec. 4, 1822. Mr. An- 
drews' second marriage took place Sept. 15, 1824, 
when he wedded Mary, daughter of Joseph Ship- 
man and Polly Lee. She was born April 14, 1805, 
and in her earlier years was a school teacher. She 
bore her husband four sons and four daughters: 
Margaret, Aug. 30, 1826; Eliza Shipman, April 
8, 1828; Edwin Norton, Sept. I, 1833; Cornelius, 
Nov. 1. 1834; Alfred Hinsdale, Dec. 25, 1836; Jane 
Louisa, April 22, 1842; Herbert Lee. Time 6, 1844: 
Jane Louisa (2), Aug. 10, 1847. The youngest 



daughter married Lyman A. Mills, now lieutenant- 
governor of Connecticut. 

Cornelius Andrews, a citizen of Xew Britain, 
whose name appears at the commencement of this 
article, was, as has already been said, born Nov. 1, 
1834, and he was baptized in the following Maw 
He graduated from the New Britain high school 
at the age of eighteen. He remained at his father's 
home, and still resides on the old homestead, which 
he owns, and to which he has made valuable modern 
additions. Although having learned a mechanical 
trade, he prefers an agricultural life, in which lie 
has met with success. He has also been some- 
what interested in the manufacture and sale of 
school furniture. 

While taking no active part in politics, Mr. 
Andrews' political faith is that of his ancestors, 
and his affiliations are with the Republican party. 
His religious creed is also that of his forefathers dur- 
ing half a dozen generations. He united with the 
First Congregational Church of New Britain on 
April 8, 1854, and has always taken a deep interest 
in promoting its welfare. For two years he has 
been clerk and standing committee of that body. 
In 1899 he was elected deacon to fill the office 
formerly held by his father. On June 25, 1862, 
he was married to Miss Ann Eliza Andrews, a 
daughter of Samuel J. and Chloe Ann (Francis) 
Andrews, of Wethersfield. Mrs. Cornelius An- 
drews was born Jan. 19, 1836, and had been a 
school teacher. Two children have blessed their 
union: Mary Lincoln, born April 14, 1865, who 
died at the age of twenty-eight years; and a son, 
born Oct. 31, 1871, who died on the day of his 
birth. 

NORMAN LOOMIS ANDERSON (de- 
ceased) was in his day one of the best-known and 
prosperous agriculturists and officials of the town 
of East Hartford, where he was born May 7, 1830, 
on his father's homestead. 

The Andersons are of Scottish origin, and Nor- 
man Anderson, father of Norman Loomis Ander- 
son, was born on the present family homestead 
July 8, [799, and there passed his entire life, dying 
in 1864. He married Emeline Culver, who died in 
1887, the farm being now occupied by Mrs. Nor- 
man L. Anderson and A. S. Bidwell, who married 
a niece of our subject. 

Norman L. Anderson received his preliminary 
education in the district schools of his native town. 
and later attended the academy in East Hartford, 
now known as Wells' Hall, after which he re- 
turned to the homestead, which he materially as- 
sisted his father in improving. Being flu- second 
in a family of seven and the eldest having become 
settled in life, he naturally became the main reliai 
of his father in the management of the home pla 
even assisting in the erection of the present dwelling 
about 1860. 

Tn the year last named Mr. Anderson married 
Miss Jennette Burnham, daughter of Alfred and 



928 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Eliza (Dart) Burnham, and granddaughter of Ely 
Burnham, a descendant of one of the earliest set- 
tlers of Hartford county. Mr. and Mrs. Alfred 
Burnham had a family of three children, Jennette, 
Mrs. Anderson, being the eldest; Martha died 
young and was buried in the Vernon cemetery; 
and Alfred married, and died in Norfolk, Neb. 
Mrs. Anderson was born in -South Windsor Jan. 
10, 1833, lived in Vernon and then in Rockville, 
Tolland county, until her marriage, when she came 
with her husband to her present home. No chil- 
dren having been born to Mr. and Mrs. Anderson 
they adopted, as their own, Emma Brewer, men- 
tioned above as the wife of A. S. Bidwell. She 
was born in 1856, daughter of Elisha C. and Sarah 
(Anderson) Brewer, the former a prominent citi- 
zen of East Hartford, the latter a sister of Mr. 
Anderson. Emma Brewer passed the greater part 
of her early years with Mr. and Mrs. Anderson, 
who most tenderly cared for her until her mar- 
riage. 

Mr. Anderson served as selectman of his town 
in 1874, and also filled several minor offices, in all 
of which he was faithful and efficient, and as as- 
sessor he was ever impartial and just. In religious 
faith he was a Spiritualist, and consequently liberal 
in his views, as he was with his purse in aid of the 
religious societies of his neighborhood. He was 
a profound reader and possessed a remarkably re- 
tentive memory, which enabled him to keep pace 
with current affairs and make his mark as one of 
the remarkable men of his neighborhood. A lov- 
ing husband, an affectionate and steadfast friend, 
he passed away Nov. 13, 1889, leaving a void in 
his family and in the community never to be filled. 

HON. SHERMAN SANFORD. The pros- 
perity of any community depends upon its business 
activity, and the enterprise manifest in commercial 
circles is the foundation upon which is budded 
the material welfare of town, State and Nation. 
The most important factors in public life at the 
present day are therefore men who are in control 
of successful business interests, and such a one is 
Mr. Sanford, whose attention is now principally 
given to lumbering. 

Our subject was born in the town of Avon, 
Hartford county, March 18, 1835, and belongs to 
one of the old families of the county. His grand- 
parents, Jesse and Ellanor (Collins) Sanford, were 
farming people, and spent most of their lives in the 
town of Berlin. The father, Jesse Sanford, Jr., 
was born, reared and educated in Berlin, but when 
a young man removed to Avon, where he followed 
farming throughout his active business life. In 
politics he was first a Whig and later a Republican, 
and as one of the leading and influential citizens of 
his town he was elected to the State Legislature. 
He died in Avon at the advanced age of eighty- 
eight years. There he had married Miss Almira 
North, and to them were born four children: (1) 
Ellen, who died in childhood; (2) Edmund, who 



died leaving three sons, Henry (now deceased), 
Frank and Charles; (3) Truman, deceased; and 
(4) Sherman, our subject. 

The boyhood and youth of our subject were 
passed in Avon, at the schools of which locality he 
received his earlier education, later attending a 
select school in Norfolk, Conn. In Avon he con- 
tinued to make his nome, engaged in farming and 
lumbering, until 1861, when he removed to his 
present residence in Unionville, which had been built 
Dy him. Of late years his principal business has 
been that of lumbering. 

In Avon Mr. Sanford was united in marriage 
with Miss Helen M. Humphrey, of Pennsylvania, 
and to them were born five children : ( 1 ) Ed- 
win, a resident of Unionville, married Flora Mason, 
and had three children, Edwin (deceased), Helen 
and Harold. (2) Clara is deceased. (3) Will- 
iam died in infancy. (4) Bertha married Gustave 
Lawson, of West Haven, Conn. (5) Blanche is 
the wife of Oliver Tew, of Unionville. 

Mr. Sanford's political support is always given 
to the Republican party, and in his community he 
ranks among its most honored counselors. He 
has been called upon to fill a number of minor of- 
fices, and in 1884 capably represented the town of 
Farmington in the State Legislature. He is a 
member of the Congregational Church of Union- 
ville, to which his wife and daughter also belong, 
and commands the respect and confidence of all 
with whom he comes in contact. 

RANKIN FAMILY. This family, while not 
one of the oldest in Hartford county, is among the 
most distinguished, many of its members having 
been noted for ability in various lines of effort, es- 
pecially in connection with religious and reformatory 
movements. The family originated in Scotland, and 
is first mentioned in an account of the troubled times 
in the latter part of the seventeenth century, when 
two brothers of the name were assassinated. In 
1689 others of the family fled to County Donegal, 
Ireland. William Rankin, of County Donegal, had 
three sons, Adam, John and Hugh, who came to 
America in 1720, landing at Philadelphia, Penn., 
and all settled upon farms in Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania. 

John Rankin was married in Ireland to Jane 
McElvee, and two sons, Thomas and Richard, were 
born there. Richard, who removed to Augusta 
county, Va., at the close of the Revolutionarv war, 
had five sons : John, Richard, Joseph, Anthony and 
James. 

Thomas Rankin, son of John, was a farmer in 
Pennsylvania, and at the close of the Revolutionary 
war sold his property for Continental money, which 
proved worthless. In 1784 he went to Greene 
county, Tenn., where he and his descendants made 
the name notable for good citizenship. The office 
of ruling elder in the New Bethel Church, Greene 
county, Tenn., was held by him and others of the 
family for ninety-five consecutive years. Thomas 
Rankin lived to the age of eighty-eight years, and 




-^>^^>i^n. ^w-4#Aot/ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



9:29 



had twelve children. Of his six daughters no rec- 
ord has been preserved, but the sons were : John 
(1754-1825) ; Richard (1756-1827) ; William (1758- 
1833) ; Samuel (1760-1828) ; Thomas (1762-1821) ; 
and James, born 1770. The first four sons fought 
under Washington for American independence, and 
five were elders in the Presbyterian Church. 

Richard Rankin, son of Thomas, married Jane 
Steel, and to them were born eleven sons and one 
daughter. Four of the sons — Samuel S., Thomas, 
David and William — served in the war of 1812 
with Jackson. Four— John, William, Alexander 
and Robert — were Presbyterian ministers, and many 
of their descendants are now in the ministry. 

Rev. John Rankin, son of Richard and Jane 
Rankin, was born in February, 1793, on a forest 
farm in eastern Tennessee, and grew up with few 
advantages except those which would tend to the 
development of a strong physique. Occasionally 
he was permitted to spend a few months at the dis- 
trict school, two miles from his home, but the 
greater part of his education was secured by his 
own exertions, the result being that he had wise 
confidence in the conclusions of his own investiga- 
tions. This enabled him to maintain in after years 
his position on slavery, though almost alone in the 
defense of truths which he accepted and advocated. 
As early as his seventh year the Holy Spirit in- 
fluenced his mind to prayer, and gave him a deep 
desire to be a possessor of the religion of the 
Savior, but not having the nurture and care so 
easily obtained in our times he passed years in doubt 
and in conflict with such doctrines as those of pre- 
destination and God's Sovereignty. When he at 
last gave his heart to Christ, he determined to 
obtain an education and preach the Gospel. Ac- 
cordingly he entered Washington College, eastern 
Tennessee, where he was graduated in 1814, and 
in the meantime he had married Miss Jane Lowry, 
a granddaughter of Rev. Samuel Doake, 1). D., the 
president and founder of the college. She among 
other accomplishments knew how to use her needle 
and shears, so that she made her husband's wedding 
coat, and he made his own shoes. In 1816 he was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Abingdon, and in the 
fall of 1817, with his wife, and child, later Rev. 
Adam L. Rankin, started for Ohio, a few articles 
of furniture being carried in their two-wheeled 
carriage, drawn by one horse. He had not yet 
discovered the fact that the Bible condemned slav- 
er}-, but with his sympathetic nature he could not 
live where it existed, so he determined to seek a 
free State. He was persuaded, however, while pass- 
ing through Kentucky, to preach in Concord, where 
he had stopped for the Sabbath, and at the urgent 
request of the church members he remained with 
them for four years, finally arriving at his destina- 
tion, Ripley, Ohio, in May, 1822. For forty-four 
years he was pastor of the Presbyterian Church 
there, but while laboring to build up the cause of 
Christ as a pastor, a new work seemed to be thrust 
upon him, viz. : the discussion of the question of 
59 



slavery from a Bible standpoint. His brother, 
Thomas, had written him a letter informing him 
that he had purchased a slave. The letter was 
dated Dec. 2, 1823, and he at once began a series 
of letters on the question in the Castigator, published 
at Ripley ; these letters were afterward published 
in book form, and a copy fell into the hands of 
Lloyd Garrison, who wrote to the author, acknowl- 
edging his indebtedness for the argument, and 
closing with the words : "With profound and lov- 
ing veneration of his anti-slaverv disciple and hum- 
ble co-worker in the cause of emancipation." So 
that Mr. Rankin is entitled to some regard as a 
teacher of the great Abolitionist. 

Mr. Rankin's book was adopted by the Ameri- 
can Anti-Slavery Society, and he was appointed for 
one year a lecturer for the society, his congrega- 
tion consenting to release him for that period of 
time. In furtherance of this same work he and 
Dr. Boynton were the chief instruments in form- 
ing the American Reform Tract and Book Society, 
Mr. Rankin being chosen president and Dr. Boynton 
corresponding secretary, and for many years he was 
one of the mainstays of the society. It published 
many tracts and articles from his pen, all urging 
obedience to the Golden Rule: "Whatsoever ye 
would that men should do to you, do ye even so to 
them," and that other truth : "God will punish na- 
tional sins by national judgments." After resign- 
ing his position in Riplev, Ohio, Mr. Rankin 
preached for some years in Ohio and Kansas, where 
his beloved wife died, after many years of intelli- 
gent and untiring work as a helpmeet. He was 
pastor of the church at Richmond, Ohio, and or- 
ganized the church at Lyndon, Kans., while he filled 
other pulpits as opportunitv offered until age and 
its infirmities came on. His last days were spent 
at the home of his granddaughter, Mrs. Lida Gray, 
at Ironton, Ohio, his death occurring March i<), 
1886. He was a remarkable man, abounding in 
labors for the cause of Christ and humanity, and 
as a preacher and expositor of Scripture he had 
few equals. His Scotch- Irish parentage was fa- 
vorable to an evenly-balanced temperament, and his 
mental faculties had been developed, strengthened 
and sanctified by a sensible early education in piety, 
making his character one of singular strength, force 
and beauty. For years his home on the hilltop 
above Ripley was known to the panting fugitives 
as the entrance to the "Underground Railroad," 
which would take them safely to Canada, and it 
is said that many of the incidents in "I facie Tom's 
Cabin" were furnished by those whom he had 
aided to escape. He was a born reformer, and 
naturally opposed everything which he conceived to 
be contrary to the welfare of the human family, 
especially slavery and intemperance. In almosl 
every town in the southern part of the State the 
voice of John Rankin was heard in strong and 
fearless utterances against the curse of slavery. 
For a quarter of a century he lived to see the 
slaves free men, and his name will ever live in his- 



930 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



tory and in the affection of the race for which he 
did so much. On Thursday, May 5, 1892, a mon- 
ument was unveiled and dedicated in Ripley, Ohio, 
to his memory, as the Pioneer Abolitionist, it be- 
ing in the form of a bronze bust modeled by Mrs. 
Ellen Copp, his granddaughter. On the pedestal 
is inscribed : 

^fahn -Rankin 

1793-1886 

%rniz Lawn) his wife 

1733-1878 

Freedom's Hemes. 

The ceremonies were attended by many of their 
children and descendants. 

The thirteen children of John Rankin are as 
follows : Adam L., a minister, served as captain in 
the 113th Reg. 111. V. I., during the Civil war; 
Isabelle Jane ; David ; Richard Calvin, first lieu- 
tenant of Company H, 12th O. V. I., went at the 
first call as first sergeant of the 4th Independent 
Company, of an Ohio Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 
serving from August, 1862, to July, 1865, an d ms 
death occurred May 17, 1899, at Ripley, Ohio; 
Samuel Gardner Wilson is mentioned below more 
fully; Julia Doake; John Thompson went out with 
1 1 6th Illinois, and was afterwards made quarter- 
master of a U. S. colored regiment ; Andrew Camp- 
bell, a physician, was assistant surgeon of the 88th 
111. V. I., and was retained several months after 
the war in charge of Hospital No. 5, at Camp 
Nelson, Kentucky ; Mary Eliza ; William Alexander 
was commissioned as captain and assistant quarter- 
master, and served on the staff of Col. LeGrange, 
Gen. McCook, commanding, First Div. C. C. M. 
D. M., and later of Gen. Wilson, commanding, 
C. C. M. D. M.; Lucinda; Arthur Tappan, now in 
Utah, was a Presbyterian minister, stationed for 
twenty-five years at Greensburg, Ind. ; Thomas 
Lovejoy. Rev. John Rankin gave more sons for 
the defense of the Union than any other minister, 
and it is claimed that to Jane Lowry Rankin be- 
longed the proud distinction of being the mother of 
more soldiers in the Civil war than any other 
woman, and all of them were officers. 

Samuel Gardner Wilson Rankin was born in 
Ripley, Ohio, Dec. 28, 1822. It was not unnatural 
that the question of liberating the slaves commanded 
much of the boy's attention, as the method of free- 
ing the slaves in a secret manner familiarly known 
as the "Underground Railroad" originated at his 
father's house. Mr. Rankin attended school and 
graduated at a college then located in Ripley, and 
afterward studied for the ministry at Lane Sem- 
inary, in Cincinnati. While at the seminary he 
came under the instruction of Dr. Lyman Beecher, 
and first met Harriet Beecher Stowe. In the latter 
part of the forties he took his first pastorate, at 
Sardinia, Ohio, and about 1850 he came to Con- 
necticut, having received a call to the Center Con- 
gregational Church in Portland, where he remained 



nine years. On leaving Portland he became pastor 
of a church in Westchester, and in 1863 he removed 
to Glastonbury, purchasing the Andrew T. Hale 
place on Main street, where he died Nov. 20, 1897 
During the latter years of his life he devoted con- 
siderable time to farming, but many pulpits in the 
vicinity were supplied by him during his residence 
in Glastonbury, and he filled a place in the com 
munity that, because of his diverse gifts, no one else 
can fill. He could deliver an excellent sermon, 
give an address appropriate for a national holiday, 
a political meeting or a donation party with singular 
effectiveness, or give an interesting account upon 
the lecture platform of his family experiences and 
efforts for the slaves. When it came to business 
affairs his good judgment and thorough and prac- 
tical knowledge of men and affairs always favored 
him, and being endowed with a keen intellect and 
strong will he easily mastered many questions that 
would have annoyed a less versatile man. He was 
extremely fond of horses and few knew the pe- 
culiarities of the animals better than he, or more 
thoroughly enjoyed driving them. He voted for 
William Henry Harrison in 1840, and it was an 
easy step for him to pass from the Whig party to 
the Republican and vote for John C. Fremont in 
1856. A man of wide and lasting sympathies, he 
made many friends, and he was a loyal supporter of 
the Congregational Church during his residence in 
Glastonbury, uniting with it by letter in 1864. He 
also held several town offices, and he was also con- 
nected with the Christian Commission, doing effi- 
cient work. 

On Aug. 2y, 1845, Mr. Rankin married Dolly 
Goodrich, whom he met in Cincinnati. She was 
born in Portland, Conn., Aug. 30, 1823, and died 
Jan. 31, 1893. Among her ancestors was Rev. 
Timothy Stevens, the first minister in Glastonbury. 
Of the children of Samuel and Dolly Rankin, the 
eldest, Susan J., born May 25, 1846, married H. 
E. Loomis, a farmer in Glastonbury ; Samuel F., 
born Aug. 11, 1852, died May 12, 1854; Helen P., 
born Sept. 8, 1854, married D. W. Williams, of the 
firm of J. B. Williams & Sons, of Glastonbury, the 
originators and manufacturers of Yankee Shaving 
Soap; John D. (twin of Helen) is mentioned be- 
low; Lucy Virginia, born Jan. 14, 1857, married 
Milton S. Tracy, and resides in Glastonbury on the 
homestead (to her we are indebted for much of this 
information) ; Charles G. (mentioned below) was 
born Oct. 2, 1859, and is now a physician in Glaston- 
bury; Hepsibah, born Jan. 24, 1863, died in the 
same year. 

John Dfxos Rankin was born Sept. 8, 1854, 
in Portland, Conn., while his father was filling a 
pastorate there. He accompanied his parents to 
Glastonbury when he was nine years old, and his 
education was begun in the district school of that 
town. Later he attended Williston Academy, and 
on leaving: school he turned his attention to busi- 
ness, 



his strong love for horses naturally 



leading^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



931 



him into a career as a dealer in these noble ani- 
mals. Going west he formed a partnership with J. 
Warren Kiefer, Jr., son of Gen. Kiefer, of Spring- 
field, Ohio, and located on Mr. Kiefer's ranch near 
Superior, Neb., engaging in buying and selling 
Texas horses. They would buy the animals in 
lots of 500 in Texas and drive to Nebraska, where 
they were sold, the trip from Nebraska to Texas and 
return requiring a whole summer. They were 
among the largest dealers in horses in the West, 
and at one time they made a shipment of ten car- 
loads of horses from Wind River Mountain, in 
Wyoming, by special train, and all were sold in two 
weeks. Later Mr. Rankin went to Oregon, con- 
tinuing in the same line of business, and he shipped 
horses to almost every State in the Union. His 
judgment as to the good or bad points of a horse 
was remarkably accurate, and his enerev and en- 
terprise were leading factors in his success. He 
remained in the West about fifteen years, and then 
came to Glastonbury and purchased the farm for- 
merly known as the "John Moseley" place. He 
here engaged in dealing in Iowa horses, and he was 
also an extensive tobacco grower, and in 1899 
planted about fifteen acres. Like his father, he is 
a strong Republican, but never held office. In re- 
ligion he inclined toward the Congregational 
Church, of which his widow is a member. He was 
married, in Tilden, Neb., to Miss Sadie Harvey, 
a native of that place, and they had five children : 
the first, Willard, died in infancy and is buried in 
Nebraska ; Samuel H., John D., Jr., Anita and 
Charles are at home. Mr. Rankin died March 
14, 1900. 

Charles Goodrich Rankin, M. D., a well- 
known physician of Glastonbury, was born Oct. 
2, 1859, in Portland, Conn. After receiving an 
elementary education in the common schools and 
the academy at Glastonbury he entered Williams 
College, where he was graduated in 1882, with the 
degree of A. B. He has also taken the Master's 
degree. The same year he began the study of med- 
icine with his uncle, Dr. A.C.Rankin, and in March, 
1886, he was graduated from the Chicago Medical 
College, connected with the Northwestern Uni- 
versity. For one year he served as assistant physi- 
cian at. the Armour Medical Mission in Chicago, 
and he then practiced at Reynolds, Neb., for two 
years, and at Southbury, Conn., for three, but since 
1890 has been in active practice at Glastonbury. 
He has a large general practice, and enjoys the 
confidence and esteem of his fellow townsmen in 
an unusual degree. Politically he is a Republican, 
and has served as health officer of Glastonbury 
since October, 1893, was the town treasurer in 
1896-97, and is now director and treasurer of the 
Glastonbury Public Library, which owes its exist- 
ence in a great measure to his personal efforts. 
He belongs to the American Medical Association, 
the Connecticut Medical Society, and the Hartford 
City and County Medical Societies. Dr. Rankin was 
married, Jan. 1, 1887, to Miss Lucretia Barret Pink- 



ham, who was born June 14, 1861, in Loda, 111., 
daughter of Frederick and Mary (Barret) Pink- 
ham. Her father was a sailor, and a descendant 
of good old New England stock, his ancestors hav- 
ing settled near Nantucket, Mass., in pioneer times. 
Dr. Rankin and his wife have one son, William 
Goodrich, born July 12, 1896. 

EDWARD PATRICK CARROLL, one of 
East Hartford's best-known market gardeners, and 
one of the very few gardeners in the town exclu- 
sively devoted to that branch of farming, com- 
bines among his many estimable qualities rare 
business ability and that hearty geniality which 
makes him ever companionable. For twenty years, 
or since April, 1880, he has been a wholesaler of 
vegetables as the junior member of the firm of E. 
P. Carroll & Co., who have one of the most thor- 
oughly equipped and well-appointed gardens for 
supplying the Hartford trade with garden truck. 

Mr. Carroll is a son of Edward J. and Mary 
(Ruth) Carroll, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where. Our subject in his youth attended the pub- 
lic schools of East Hartford and Hartford, com- 
pleting his education with a course at Hannum's 
Business College, Hartford. He began active life 
as a market gardener at the place where he is now 
located, the land having been used for that pur- 
pose for many years ; it was formerly the home of 
John B. Smith. Mr. Carroll has proven a very 
successful business man. He possesses a thorough 
knowledge of gardening in every detail, is progres- 
sive in his methods, and by reading and experiment 
is ever ready to make improvements and keep 
abreast with modern requirements. 

On Nov. 15, 1893, Mr. Carroll married Miss 
Annie B. Mulligan, a native of Hartford, and 
daughter of James Mulligan, who for forty years 
was foreman in the shops of Lincoln & Co., iron 
founders and manufacturers; he was a brother of 
John Mulligan, who in his lifetime was president 
of the Connecticut River railroad. Mrs. Carroll is 
a graduate of the New Britain Normal School, class 
of '89, and prior to her marriage taught school 
three years. To Mr. and Mrs. Carroll have been 
born two children: Edward C. and Ellen C. < >ur 
subject and wife are members of St. Mary's Cath- 
olic Church at East Hartford. In politics he is a 
stanch Republican, is a member of the town Repub- 
lican committee, and for several years served as a 
justice of the peace. Fraternally he is a charter 
member of Nutmeg Lodge, No. 55, A. O. U. W., at 
Mast Hartford. lie was one of the original commis- 
sioners of the East Hartford Fire District, and ;>t 
the close of his first term was honored by a re- 
election for a term of three years. During his term 
of service this commission have introduced electric 
lighting, have purchased the water works Erom the 
East Hartford Water Co., and are now (1900) con- 
structing a system of sixteen miles sewerage. Mr. 
Carroll takes an active interest in all that pertains 
to the prosperity and growth of his town. In De- 
cember, 1893, Mr. Carroll completed the commodi- 



932 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ous and tasteful modern home which he now oc- 
cupies, and which is equipped with every conven- 
ience that the town affords. 

Thoroughly progressive and alert to every im- 
provement and advancement, well-informed in hor- 
ticultural, political and current affairs, having at- 
tained a commendable share of success and prosper- 
ity, Mr. Carroll is devoted to his work, developing 
the same grand characteristics that honored his 
father, and evincing to the many who know him a 
standard and highly-respected type of American 
citizenship. 

DAVID E. MARSHALL. Among the rural 
communities of Hartford county a high quality of 
citizenship prevails, the members of the old pio- 
neer families being especially noted for their abil- 
ity and personal worth. The subject of this sketch, 
a leading agriculturist of the town of Windsor, 
is deserving of prominent mention in this volume 
as a man whose progressive and enterprising busi- 
ness methods, and regard for all the best interests 
of the community, make him a valuable and valued 
citizen. 

Mr. Marshall comes of good Colonial stock, 
and by intermarriages he is related to the Phelps, 
Griswold, Wolcott, Wilton and other leading pio- 
neer families. His first direct ancestor of whom 
we have record was (I) Capt. Samuell Marshall, 
one of Windsor's first settlers. He had a lot in 
the palisade in 1637 before Huit's party came, so 
he probably came with Wareham s party, or in 
1633. He was probably born in Dorchester, Eng- 
land, 161 5. On May (6, 1652, he married Mary 
(daughter of Lt. David and Catherine) Wilton. 
When King Philip's war broke out he was actively 
engaged in military service; was appointed (Oct. 
14, 1675) ensign in Maj. Treat's army, and was 
one of the five captains who led the Connecticut 
forces in the famous attack on the Narragansett 
fort, Dec. 19, 1675, where he fell at the head of 
his troops. Windsor lost in him an honored citizen 
and a brave soldier. Capt. Samuell Marshall had 
nine children, namely: Samuell, born May 27, 
1653 ; Lydia, Feb. 18, 1655 ; Thomas, April 23, 1659, 
died young; David, July 24, 1661 ; Thomas, Feb. 
18, 1663; Mary, May 8, 1667, died Aug. 25, 1683; 
Fliakim, July 10, 1669; John, April 10, 1672; and 
Elizabeth, born Sept. 27, 1674. 

(II) David Marshall, a son of Capt. Samuell, 
was born July 24, 1661, and married Abigail Phelps 
Dec. 9, 1686. They had the following children: 
Abigail, born Jan. 9, 1688; Hannah, born Dec. 8, 
1689; David, born April 14, 1692. 

( III) David Marshall (2), the next in the line 
of descent, was born April 14, 1692, and married 
Sarah Phelps Dec. 15, 1721. Their children were 
David, born June 1, 1723, died 1725; Sarah, born 
April 4, 1727; David, born Oct. 21, 1728; Han- 
nah, born Feb. 15, 1730-31. 

( IV) Lieut. David Marshall (3), our subject's 
great-grandfather, was born Oct. 21, 1728, and died 



March 13, 1776. He married Naomi Griswold, 
who died Sept. 30, 1824, aged eighty-nine. They 
had the following children: Naomi, born Sept. 30, 

1758, died March 19, 1830; Sarah, born March 21,. 

1759, died Feb. 6, 1761 ; Elisha, born April 16, 
1763, died aged twenty-seven; Elihu, born March 
21, 1765; Olive died in August, 1846, aged eighty- 
four. 

(V) Capt. Elihu Marshall, the grandfather of 
our subject, was born March 21, 1765, and became 
a farmer by occupation. He married Sabrina Gris- 
wold, daughter of Joab and Elizabeth (Collins) 
Griswold. They had the following children: 
Chauncey, born 1794, died May 8, 1838, at Little 
Falls, N. Y. ; Elizabeth, born 1796, married Guy 
Griswold (she died at Poquonock Nov. 30, 1856) ; 
Elisha died Sept. 24, 1803, aged five years; Elihu, 
our subject's father, conies next; Gaylord died 
Sept. 15, 1803, aged twelve months; Elisha Gay- 
lord, born March 24, 1805, was a physician and 
died at the old homestead Oct. 13, 1857; David died 
at Seneca Falls, N. Y., Aug. 19, 1834, aged twenty- 
five years. 

(VI) Elihu Marsh ALL,our subject's father,was 
born July 12, 1800, on the estate now owned by our 
subject. Being reared a farmer boy, he had only 
a district-school education, but he made the best 
of his advantages, and taught successfully when a 
young man. His reading was extensive in later 
years, and he was recognized in local affairs. In 
politics he was first a Whig, later a Republican, and 
he was always a regular voter. With the exception 
of a few years spent in the paper-mill business in 
New York State with a brother, he passed his life 
at the old homestead, his attention being given to 
agricultural pursuits. 

On June 10, 1829, Mr. Marshall married Miss 
Mary Caroline Griswold, born March 3, i8o6,daugh- 
ter of John and Mary Griswold. Mary Griswold 
was one of several daughters of Dr. Elihu Griswold, 
who married Mary, a daughter of Dr. Alexander 
Wolcott, the son of Gov. Roger and great-grand- 
son of Henry Wolcott, the Pilgrim. Mrs. Mar- 
shall was a descendant of Edward Griswold ; she 
was a devout member of the Congregational 
Church, and while her husband was not connected 
with any denomination he contributed generously 
to religious works. He died March 7, 1876, Mrs. 
Marshall on April 18, 1871, and the remains of 
both were interred in the cemetery at Poquonock. 

Our subject is one of a family of seven chil- 
dren, the otners being: Frances Elizabeth, born 
March 21, 1830, died July 24, 1843. Mary Caro- 
line, born March 13, 1833, married Charles Spen- 
cer; she died in Chicago Aug. 13, 1866. Ellen 
Griswold, born Oct. 24, 1834, died Dec. 18, 1841. 
Anzonetta Rebecca, born Nov. 27, 1836, is the 
widow of Sidney Morgan and resides in Syracuse, 
N. Y. Estclle Wilhemina, born July 1, 1840, mar- 
ried Jerome E. Fuller, of Poquonock, and died 
July 21, 1900. Ellen Elizabeth, born Aug. 8, 1846, 
is now Mrs. Addison Lamphear, of Poquonock. 





1a~*s 




■^UjO 








Z^i^^^^o 








^ ffe 




^rca^ 



o 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



933 



(VII) David E. Marshall, who represents the 
seventh generation of his family in this country, 
was born at his present residence Aug. n, 1843, 
and was educated in the schools of District Xo. 8 
and in the academy at Windsor Center. He was 
trained to farm work as a boy, and has always re- 
sided at the homestead, an attractive estate compris- 
ing' more than sixty acres of excellent land. Polit- 
icallv he is in svmpathy with the Republican partv 
in National affairs, but he does his own thinking-, 
and at times votes independently when local issues 
seem to require it. 

On Dec. 30, 1875, Mr. Marshall married Miss 
Charlotte A. Phelps, who was born Oct. 6, 1854, 
a daughter of Eli and Abigail (Humphrey) Phelps, 
well-known residents of Poquonock, of whom an 
account is given elsewhere. Her education was 
begun in the same schools which our subject had 
attended a few years earlier, but on completing the 
course there she was given opportunities for more 
advanced study in the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute, Suffield, acquiring an excellent preparation for 
her duties as the mistress of a refined home. Two 
children have blessed the union : David Wilton, 
born July 15, 1877, and Carrie Phelps, born June 
22. 1883, both of whom reside with their parents. 
The family is identified with the Congregational 
Church, of which Mrs. Marshall and her daughter 
are active members. 

LORENZO PORTER and JAMES TODD 
LEE. The first American ancestor of these brothers 
was John Lee, who came to America in 1634. It 
is known that he was born Aug. 8, 1620, in Essex, 
England, and probably at Colchester, and he left 
England while yet a mere child, under the care 
of William Westwood, for a year living with that 
gentleman at Cambridge, Mass., and in 1635 remov- 
ing with him to Hartford, Conn., where he passed his 
early years. There is no authentice record as to his 
course of educational training, but it is supposed that 
he studied under the tutorship of Samuel Stone, a 
famous pedagogue of that day, who died in 1659. 
In 1640 white men first settled in the territory where 
the town of Farmington now stands, and the follow- 
ing year young Lee, then in his early manhood, 
joined their company, and became one of the eighty- 
four original proprietors of the town. The terri- 
tory acquired by them embraced an area fifteen 
miles square, and included the present towns of 
Farmington, Southington, P>ristol, Burlington, New 
Britain, Berlin and Kensington. Many hundred 
acres of land were assigned to him, and portions 
of the same, lying in Southington, Bristol and New 
Britain, are yet owned by his descendants, the title 
thereto having remained in the family for 250 years. 
In 1658 he took to himself a wife, Mary, a daughter 
of Deacon Stephen Hart. 

Stephen Lee, second son of John Lee, was the 
first settler in the tract which came to be called 
the "Great Swamp" in 1707. Kensington in 1720 and 
New Britain in 1754. He took an active part in 



effecting the organization of the New Britain So- 
ciety, and was a substantial man, accounted wealthy 
for his time ; and his home, long known as the 
"Hinsdale House," has been described by an earlv 
chronicler as "one of the grandest houses in New 
Britain," and remained standing until 1834. On 
Oct. 1, 1690, he married Elizabeth Royce, a daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Elizabeth (Lathrop) Royce, and 
died June 7, 1753. 

Dr. Isaac Lee, son of Stephen Lee, born at 
Kensington, was a physician of wide repute at 
Farmington and Middletown, as well as at the place 
of his nativity. On Dec. 3, 171 3, he married Mary 
Hubbard, who was born at Hartford in February, 
1688, a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Kirby) 
Hubbard. Dr. Lee died Aug. 6, 1780. His son, 
Col. Isaac Lee, in 1754 gave New Britain her name. 
The Colonel was thrice married, first, on July 10, 
1740, to Tabitha, a daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth 
(Galpin) Norton, who was born at Kensington 
Dec. 20, 1718, and died Nov. 2, 1770. His second 
marriage was on Dec. 30, 1772, to Elizabeth Grant, 
of East Windsor, who died May 17, 1782, and on 
Oct. 9, 1783, he was united to Mrs. Mary Hall, 
widow of Amos Hall, and daughter of Ephraim 
Johnson, of Wallingford. Col. Lee died Dec. 13, 
1802, and his widow on Dec, 22, 1810. He was 
a man of prominence in the community, and his 
name frequently occurs in the records of town, 
church and State. No one of his day exerted a 
more potent influence upon public affairs, both civil 
and religious, and for many years he was familiar- 
ly called the "Father of the Town." For thirty 
years he was a magistrate, administering justice 
with wisdom and impartiality, and his counsel was 
constantly sought in matters affecting the general 
policy of the Colony and later of the State. With 
the exception of four years he represented his town 
in the Colonial Assembly from 1761 to 1775, in 
the State Legislature from its first session, in 1776, 
until 1779, and again from 1783 to 1791. He was a 
member of that earnest and devoted band of patriots, 
members of the General Assembly of the Colony, 
who, headed by Gov. Jonathan Trumbull and other 
State officers, took the oath of fidelity to the United 
States in October, 1776. 

During the dark days of the Revolution and 
throughout the years which followed Col. Lee stood 
shoulder to shoulder with the patriots of his time, 
and shared with them the. arduous duties and the 
grave responsibilities of those years when wisdom 
and statesmanship alone could guide the ship of 
State through a tempestuous sea and along a 
rocky coast. He served for many wars in the 
militia, being appointed captain in the Sixth Co- 
lonial Regiment in May, 1707. lieutenant-colonel 
in the following October, and colonel of the 15th 
Regiment in 1775. His manner was courtly and 
dignified, his presence commanding. He was one 
of the two citizens of New Britain— Rev. Dr. Smal- 
ley being the other — who were always accorded a 
respect akin to reverence. His physical strength 



936 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



joy, had been murdered in Alton, 111., but a short 
time before. Just before the organization of the 
Republican party the Free-Soil party nominated 
their last candidate for United States senator from 
the Third District of Connecticut, and. Mr. Hum- 
phrey was their choice. Though he failed of elec- 
tion to that position he served the Republican party 
afterward in many local offices, including that of 
justice of the peace, and in 1859 and 1872 he repre- 
sented Canton in the State Legislature. Socially 
he was much esteemed in his community, and as a 
music teacher and public singer he achieved notable 
success. He was a member of the Congregational 
choir for sixty years, dating from the time he was 
eighteen years old, and he was a member of the 
Church for fifty years, and a deacon for twenty- 
five years. On Sept. 4, 1835, Mr. Humphrey mar- 
ried Mary A. Adams, daughter of Gen. Ezra 
Adams. She died March 21, 1843, an( l on April 
3, 1844, ne married Mrs. Eliza Ann Moses, who 
died April 3, 1873. On Oct. 22, 1874, he formed 
a third union, this time with Mrs. Henrietta R. 
Bidwell, who is mentioned below. Mr. Humphrey 
died Feb. 6, 1896. He left no children. 

Mrs. Henrietta R. Humphrey, the widow of our 
subject, is a descendant of one of the oldest fam- 
ilies of Massachusetts. Her father, Hiram Pike, 
was born in New Marlboro, Mass, May 25, 1799, 
and was reared a farmer. . He married Olive Rood, 
who was born in Canaan, Conn., Sept. 25, 1797, 
daughter of John Rood, and soon afterward set- 
tled in Canton, where he spent the rest of his life 
in agricultural pursuits. He died Nov. 13, 1838, 
his wife on July 21, 1887, and their remains were 
interred in the cemetery at New Hartford. They 
had the following children : Julia A., born June 
20, 1826, married, on Jan. 25, 1849, William Wil- 
cox ; Henrietta R. is the wife of our subject; 
Celestia, born June 17, 1829, married William Wil- 
cox ; Olive, born Aug. 9, 1830, married Nelson 
Humphrey; Mark H., born Feb. 4, 1832, died in 
1892; Mary E., born July 5, 1833, married Ed- 
mund Chapin; John R., born Nov. 26, 1836, is now 
a farmer of Canton; Aretus, born March 2, 1837, 
died Aug. 30, 1837; and Catharine, born Feb. 11, 
1839, married William Case, of New Hartford. 
Mrs. Humphrey was born in New Marlboro, Mass., 
June 27, 1827, and now resides at Canton, where 
she has spent much of her life. She is a good 
Christian woman, and possessed of much business" 
ability. Her first husband was Albert Frederick 
Bidwell, and by him she had five children, three of 
whom are now living: Frederick A., George E. 
and Thomas Scott. 

GEORGE WILCOX, trustee, elder and busi- 
ness manager of the Church Family of Shakers, 
Shaker Stat inn, in the town of Enfield, was born 
in Foster, Providence Co., R. I., March 14, 1819, 
a son of David and Betsey (Fry) Wilcox, natives 
of tin- same town and county, who, with a family 



of five sons and one daughter, joined the Shaker 
Community of Unfield in 1827. Both parents lived 
and died with the Shakers, the father passing away 
April 5, 1836, and the mother in August, 1877. 
Their children were : Richard, John, George, Dan- 
iel, Phebe and Ezra. Of these, Richard was killed 
by accident in 1884; Daniel drifted away, married 
and reared a family, and died in Quincy, HI., at 
the age of fifty-six ; Ezra died April 6, 1836, at the 
age of eleven; and John died Feb. 4, 1900, aged 
eighty-three. George and Phebe still survive and 
are members of the Church Family of Shakers, 
Enfield. 

In the latter part of the eighteenth century 
there was an active revival of religion through the 
various churches in this region. In due time they 
heard of a small band of people located near Al- 
bany, N. Y., who had migrated from iingland in 
the year 1774, and were preaching and practicing 
a true Christian life, after the pattern of the 
Apostolic Church shortly after the crucifixion of 
Jesus, embracing the principles of peace, virgin 
purity and community of goods. Finally some of 
the subjects of the revival visited those strange 
people, and ultimately became convinced and con- 
verted to their doctrine, and after awhile some of 
those people visited Enfield and planted their testi- \ 
mony in the hearts and souls of a few families, 
principal among them being the Meachams, Tif- 
fanys, Billings, Slate Allen and others with their 
families, who grew up and established these com- 
munity families, living together as brothers and sis- 
ters. They have continued thus, with various ac- 
cessions, for something over one hundred years. 

George Wilcox, our subject, has been identified 
with the Church Family of Shakers since the age of 
eighteen years, one year after the death of his father. 
He has been an elder since 1844, first as assistant 1 
to Elder Asa Tiffany, whom he succeeded upon the i 
retirement of the latter in 1851, and this important 
position he has since' successfully continued to fill, 
having supervision of over one thousand acres of 
land belonging to the Church Family. The North, 
South and Church Families have in all about three I 
thousand acres in one body. 

The Shakers are engaged principally in agri- 
cultural pursuits, but also own and operate a ma- 
chine shop, a sawmill and a gristmill. They deal 
to some extent in stock, and grow their own dairy 
stock. They sell from eighty to one hundred and 
twenty-five tons of hay annually. The work is 
done principally by the members of the commun- 
ity, though in the busy season outside help is some- 
times employed. The women do fancy work, which 
is disposed of to visitors. 

At tne age of eighty-one Elder Wilcox is hale 
and heartier than most men of sixty, and bids fair 
to reach the century mark. He is a genial and 
courteous gentleman, and has served in the ca- 
pacity of trustee for thirty years, and as chairman 
of the board of trustees for the three families in 
Enfield during the latter part of that time. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



937 



ELAM S. KILBY, for many years a prominent 
business man of Kensington, is a native of Weth- 
ersfield, 'iartford county, born March 14, 1848. His 
grandfather, who died while he was very young, 
was a tanner, and his father, Franklin Kilby, was 
a blacksmith. 

Franklin Kilby was born in 1818 in Wethers- 
field, and died July 4, 1870. Both his name and 
tradf, harmonize with the sturdy integrity of his 
character. In 1840 he was married to Harriet 
Slater, of New Britain, who passed away when 
young Elam was a child of six years, and was laid 
to rest in her native town. During her fourteen 
years of married life she bore her husband three 
children: Benjamin Franklin, Hattie and Elam 
S. The eldest son received serious injury while a 
child, but lived until 1893, in which year he died, 
unmarried, at the age of forty-nine. Hattie mar- 
ried Abraham Howell, a tea merchant of New 
Britain. After the death of his first wife Franklin 
Kilby married Mary Ann O'Rouke, of Wethers- 
field, and of this union four children were born, 
two daughters and two sons. The eldest child, 
Lena, married Edward Carter, of Los Angeles, Cal. ; 
James E., the first-born son, is serving in the 
United States army at Wingate, N. M. ; Frederick, 
the second son, also located in the regular army 
in 1882, but since that year his family has heard 
nothing of his whereabouts ; Isabella, the youngest 
child of the second marriage, is now the wife of 
Elmer Ripple, of Berlin, who is in the employ of 
the Russell & Erwin Co., of New Berlin. Mr. 
Kilby's second wife survives him, making her home 
with her daughter, Mrs. Ripple. At the outbreak 
of the Civil war Franklin Kilby, despite his forty- 
three years, felt his pulse throb and his heart beat 
quicker when Beauregard fired the first Rebel gun 
aimed at Sumter. He promptly enlisted in the 
Conn. V. I., his regiment being the first three-year 
one to go to the front from the State. 

Such early education as Elam S. Kilby received 
was obtained at the Wethersfield common schools, 
but necessity compelled him to go to work at an 
early age, his first practical experience being as a 
farm bawd. He worked some seven months for 
Deacon Stanley Griswold, of Wethersfield, and 
about the same length of time for Deacon Stillwell, 
earning six dollars a month. His next employers 
were Franklin Griswold and Deacon Chauncey 
"\\ clles, for each of whom he worked one summer. 
He then removed from Wethersfield to Kensington, 
where he secured work as a polisher in the shops 
of the Hart, Bliven & Meade Co. After a year 
he entered the "square" department of the same fac- 
tory, where he was employed for eighteen months. 
At the expiration of that period (in 1871) he opened 
the "Kilby House," near the Berlin station of the 
N. Y. & N. H. railroad. In mentioning this, his 
first business venture on his own account, attention 
should be directed to the fact that on coming to 
Kensington Mr. Kilby's entire cash capital con- 
sisted of three dollars, and the fact that within two 



and a half years he was able to undertake an en- 
terprise of this sort speaks volumes for his industry, 
sobriety and economy. For twenty-one years he 
remained in charge of the original "Kilby House," 
which he conducted with such skill and attention 
to business that in 1892 he erected a new "Kilby 
House," on the line of the New Britain and Berlin 
trolly road. He continued to manage this estab- 
lishment until 1897, when he leased the hotel to 
John Carey. Since then he has devoted himself to 
the conduct of his livery stable, which is one of 
the best equipped of its size in the county. Through 
business sagacity, perseverance and integrity he has 
accumulated a comfortable competence. In 1896 
he erected a handsome modern residence adjoin- 
ing his new hotel. In addition to his hotel property 
and residence he owns eight dwellings in Kensing- 
ton, besides several business buildings, known as 
Kilby's Corners, which he put up in the immediate 
vicinity of the "Kilby House," as well as the post- 
office building, the storerooms occupied by Nelson 
Taylor and by the West Market, the adjacent bar- 
ber shop and the building nearest the Berlin depot. 
He is also a property owner in New Britain, among 
his other holdings there being the Fielding block 
on Main street, adjoining Dennis Riordan's dry- 
goods store. 

On Aug. 31, 1869, Mr. Kilby was married to 
Miss Annie M. Cushman, who was born in East 
Hartford April 5, 1853, and they have one child, 
a son named Louis Elam. The latter was edu- 
cated at the Kensington common schools and the 
New Britain high school, and after graduating 
from the last named institution took a commercial 
course at Hannum's Business College in Hartford. 
For two years he was engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness in Kensington with William Taylor under the 
firm name of Kilby & Taylor, and is at present 
connected with the W. L. Davis Brick Co. ; he also 
has charge of his father's business in New Britain. 
He has been a grand juror since he was twenty-two 
years of age, and in 1898, greatly against his wish, 
was nominated by the Democratic party for the 
office of representative, but was defeated. 

Mr. Kilby is thoroughly independent in poli- 
tics, his motto being "men rather than party." For 
himself, he has never sought office, finding that the 
successful conduct of his own extensive business 
' affairs called for all his time, thought and energy. 
He is a member of the Sons of Veterans and of 
Meriden Lodge, No. 35, B. P. O. E. He is one 
of the best-known men of either Kensington, Berlin 
or New Britain, in all of which places his frank, 
genial nature, no less than his high moral char- 
acter, has made for him many friends. 

Mrs. Elam S. Kilby, whose maiden name, as 
has been said, was Annie M. Cushman, is descended 
from original Puritan stock, some <>f the best blood 
of the early Pilgrims of New England coursing 
through her veins. She is of the eighth genera- 
tion in din et line from Rev. Robert Cushman, who 
was horn in England before the year 1600. He 



988 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



was one of the passengers on the "Speedwell," 
the sister ship of the ".Mayflower," which sprang 
a leak and was obliged to return to port, while the 
"Mayflower" proceeded on her voyage. In 1621, 
however, Robert Cushman crossed the water, land- 
ing at Plymouth, where he preached the first ser- 
mon ever heard in New England. He remained at 
Plymouth for a few months, when he was sent to 
England as an agent for the Colony, and while pre- 
paring to return to America he died. His son, 
Thomas, who was a boy of fourteen years when he 
accompanied his father to the New World, became 
a ruling elder in the church, dying in that part of 
Plymouth which afterward became a portion of 
Kingston. He was the father of a family of sons, 
one of whom, Isaac, was the first minister settled 
at Plympton. He also had a numerous progeny, 
one of his sons, Nathaniel, being the great-great- 
grandfather of Mrs. Kilby. Nathaniel settled at 
Lebanon and his eldest son, also named Isaac, re- 
moved to Stafford, Conn., where he died in 18 13, 
aged seventy-seven years. This Isaac (2), Mrs. 
Kilby's great-grandfather, had three sons, David, 
Solomon and Jonas. Solomon was born Oct. 13, 
1778, and was the father of ten children, the young- 
est of whom, Ambrose, was the father of Annie 
M. (now Mrs. Elam S. Kilby). He was born in 
West Stafford Feb. 18, 1813, and after leaving 
school worked upon his father's farm. In Feb- 
ruary, 1837, he married Abigail L. Stowe, the 
daughter of a farmer of Mooers, N. Y. Six chil- 
dren were born to them, whose names and dates of 
birth are as follows: Luanda, Oct. 31, 1839; 
Candice, in 1841 ; Jefferson, Feb. 18, 1846; Erskine, 
Aug. 25, 1848; Annie M., April 5, 1853; and 
Arthur J., April 5, 1855. 

HON. EDWIN MORGAN RIPLEY, M. D., 
of Unionville, has won for himself an eminent po- 
sition in the medical world. He is a man of deep 
research and careful investigation, and his skill 
and ability have won him a large and lucrative 
practice. Prominence in his profession comes 
through merit alone, and the high position which 
he occupies attests his superiority. 

The Ripley family is of English origin, and their 
coat of arms is thus described : Per chev. dove- 
tailed, and vert., tnree lions ramp., countercharged. 
Crest, a demi-lion, ramp-reguard, vert., collared or 
holding between the paws an escutcheon per chev. 
or. The first to come to the New World was Will- 
iam Ripley, who with his wife, two sons and two 
daughters, left Hingham, England, in i<'>38, and 
located in Hingham, Mass. For his second wife 
he married Elizabeth, widow of Thomas Thaxter, 
on Sept. 29, 1654. He died July 20, 1656. His 
children were John, who died Feb. 2, 1684; Abra- 
ham; Sarah, who was married, Oct. 18, 1653, to 
Jeremiah I'eale; and another daughter. 

(11) John Ripley, of this family, had land 
granted him at Hingham, Mass. He married Eliz- 
abeth Ilobart, daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, the 



first pastor of the church at Hingham. They had 
seven children; John, born Jan. 20, 1055, died 
Sept. 7, 1720; Joshua, born May 9, 1658, lied May 
18, 1739; Jeremiah, born in September, i562; Jo- 
siah, born May 12, 1667; Peter, born Oct. 21, 1668, 
died April 22, 1742; Rebecca, born Jan. 18, 1670, 
died Oct. 1, 1670; and Hezekiah, born Lee. 15, 
1672. 

(III) Joshua Ripley was married, Nov. 28, 
1682, to Hannah, daughter of William Bradford, 
Jr., deputy governor of the Plymouth Colony, and 
granddaughter of Gov. William Bradford, who 
came to this country in the "Mayflower" in 1620. 
She was born May 9, 1662, and died May 28, 1738. 
From Hingham, Mass., Joshua Ripley and wife 
moved to Norwich, Conn., Oct. 10, 1688, and to 
Windham March 23, 1691. He was the first town 
clerk and treasurer of the latter place, and also 
served as justice of the peace. His children were 
Alice, who was born Sept, 17, 1683, and married 
Samuel Edgerton, of Norwich, Conn. ; Hannah, who 
was born March 2, 1685, and married Samuel 
Webb, of Wmdham ; Faith, who was born Sept. 
20, 1686, and married Samuel Bingham; Joshua, 
born May 13, 1688; Margaret, born Nov. 4, 1699; 
Rachel and Leah (twins), born April 17, 1693; 
Hezekiah, born June 10, 1695, died Feb. 7, 1779; 
David, born May 20, 1697, died Feb. 16, 1781 ; 
Irene, born Aug. 28, 1700, married Samuel Man- 
ning; and Jerusha anu Ann (twins), born Nov. if 
1704, the former of whom married Edward Brown,, 
the latter wedding Dr. Wheat. 

(IV) Joshua Ripley, born May 13, 1688, died 
Nov. 18, 1773. On Dec. 3, 1712, he wedded Mary 
Backus, of Windham, Conn., by whom he had nine 
children: Mary, born Nov. 18, 1714, married 
Joshua Abbe, and died in October, 1769; Phineas, 
born Nov. 21, 17 16, died Aug. 4, 1746; Hannah, 
born June 12, 1719, died Nov. 18, 1773; Nathaniel 
was born June 30, 1721 ; Elizabeth, born Nov. 4, 
1724, married John Alden ; Joshua was born Oct. 
30, 1726; Ebenezer, born June 22, 1729, died June 

11, 181 1 ; William was born Feb. 12, 1734; and 
John, born March 31, 1738, died Jan. 27, 1823. 

(V) John Ripley, born March 31, 1738, died 
Jan. 27, 1823. He was married, June 7, 1769, to 
Abigail Marsh, of Hartford, and had eleven chil- 
dren: Henrietta, born March 13, 1770, died Oct. 
23, 1795; Elisha Payne, born Dec. 12, 1771, died 
May 26, 1773; Abigail, born Sept. 28, 1773, died 
Nov. 24, 1777; Polly, born Nov. 3, 1775, died Nov. 
22, 1779; Hannah, born Oct. 7, 1777, died Oct. 
10, 1777; Lucy, born Sept. 12, 1778, died Jan. 23, 
1853; John Bradford, the grandfather of our sub- 
ject, was next in the order of birth; William Brad- 
ford, born July 14, 1784, died Sept. 15, 1785; Jabez, 
born May 24, 1786, died in 1822; Oliver, born Nov. 

12, 1788, died April 19, i860; and Julia, born May 
16, 1792, married Henry Terry, of Enfield, Conn., 
April 29, 1810. 

(VI) John Bradford Ripley was born July 6, 
1780, and died May 14, 1852. He made his home 
in Hartford for many years, and served as sheriff 









COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



939 



of the county, but about 1812 he moved to Bland- 
ford, Mass., where he engaged in farming until his 
death. He married Elizabeth Barnard, of Hartford, 
and to them were born twelve children : Hen- 
rietta, born Sept. 11, 1803, married Edwin Bar- 
nard, of Waterville, Wis. ; Mary Bradford, born 
March 21, 1805, married Horace Newberry, of 
South 'Windsor, Conn. ; Abigail Marsh, born Jan. 
30, 1807, married H. B. Harris, of Blandford, 
Mass.; John Darrow, born Jan. 15, 1809, died 
March 4, 1886; Oliver, born Oct. 19, 1810, died 
March 23, 1892; Frederick A., born Aug. 8," 1812, 
died July 21, 1891 ; William Johnson, father of our 
subject, is next in the order of birth; Henry May, 
born May 4. 1816, died Nov. 17, 1840; Elizabeth 
Lane, born May 2, 1818, married David Bates, of 
Blandford, Mass. ; Lucy, born Nov. 8, 1820, married 
Dr. P. M. Hackley, of Berlin, Wis.; James. Dyer, 
born Oct. 13, 1822, lives in Granville, Mass.; and 
Edwin Barnard, born Nov. 2J, 1823, lives in South 
Windsor, Connecticut. 

( YII) Rev. William J. Ripley, an Advent min- 
ister, was born in Blandford, Mass., Aug. 30, 1814, 
and died Jan. 15, 1884. He first married Weltha 
Noble, who died April 17, 1842. Later he mar- 
ried Eveline Jones, a daughter of Orville Jones, 
and to them were born two children: Edwin M., 
our subject; and Orville H., born May 24, 1864. 
The mother died Sept. 22, 1899. , 

(Y1II) Dr. Edwin M. Ripley, whose name in- 
troduces this sketch, was born at Pleasant Valley, 
in the town of Barkhamsted, Litchfield Co., Conn., 
July 31, 1847, ar, d was educated for his profession 
at the Xew York Eclectic Medical College, from 
which he was graduated Feb. 11, 1871. Immedi- 
ately afterward he formed a partnership with Dr. 
Albert Fox, of Pawling, N. Y., with whom he en- 
gaged in practice for a year, when ill health com- 
pelled him to return home. A year later he went 
to South Dover, N. Y., where he practiced his pro- 
fession for nearly four years with great success, 
and in 1876 came to Unionville, Conn., opening 
an office in Merriam's block. In his many years' 
practice in this place he has met with gratifying 
success, and is widely known as a learned physi- 
cian and agreeable gentleman. Dr. Ripley has 
been president of the Connecticut Eclectic Medical 
Association for three years ; has been a member of 
the National Association since 1879, and was sec- 
retary of Section A, World's Fair Medical Con- 
gress, held in Chicago in 1893. He is local medi- 
cal examiner for the ^Etna Life, Travelers, the 
Masonic Life Association of Trenton, N. J., Hart- 
ford Life, New York Life and National Life In- 
surance Companies, and the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen. He is not a believer in the germ 
theory of disease, and is an active enemy of com- 
pulsory vaccination, concerning which he has writ- 
ten some interesting: papers. 

Dr. Ripley is quite prominent in Masonic cir- 
cles ; has been master of Evening Star Lodge, No. 
101, F. & A. M. ; in 1893 was elected grand patron 



of the Order of the Eastern Star, and is now patron 
of Adah Chapter, No. 30, O. E. S. He has also been 
receiver of Centennial Lodge, No. 41, A. O. U. 
W., for the past eight years. Since making his 
home in Unionville Dr. Ripley has also been prom- 
inent in political affairs, having been elected rep- 
resentative in 1889, the only Republican in the 
town elected to office that year. In 1892 he was 
nominated for governor by the Peoples party, and 
in 1896 was the Democratic nominee for comptroller 
of the State. 

On Feb. 10, 1870, the Doctor married Miss 
Helen E. Elton, daughter of the late Romeo Elton, 
of Burlington, Conn., and they have two sons : 
Edwin Elton and Herbert Jones. The latter is 
a member of the firm of Woodford & Ripley, 
brokers, N0.7, Central Row, Hartford. Herbert 
J. Ripley enlisted in Company K, First Conn. Vols., 
for service in the Spanish-American war, and 
served until the regiment was discharged. 

CHARLES ROBERT HAWLEY, a member 
of the well-known firm of Sanford & Hawley, 
lumber and hardware dealers of Unionville, is one 
of the most enterprising and energetic business men 
of that place. He has done much to promote its 
commercial activity, advance the general welfare 
and secure the material development of the town 
and is therefore numbered among its most valued 
citizens. 

A native of Hartford county, Mr. Hawley was 
born in the town of Avon July 31, 1859. His grand- 
father, Zera Hawley, M. D., was also a native of 
that town, was a graduate of Yale College, and was 
the first dentist in New Haven, but his last days 
were passed in Avon. He married Miss Harriet 
Sherman, of New Haven, and to them were born 
three children : Edward ; Harriet, wife of George 
Woodruff; and Robert, father of our subject, all of 
whom are now deceased. 

Robert Hawley was born, reared and educated 
in New Haven, and throughout his active business 
life engaged in farming. In Avon he was united 
in marriage with Miss Maria Hamlin, a native of 
Litchfield, Conn., and to them were born six chil- 
dren : Margarette, a resident of Guilford, Conn.; 
Marion, wife of Frank Sanford, of Unionville; 
Clarence, a merchant of Guilford; Harriet, also a 
resident of Guilford; Charles Robert, our subject; 
and Ellsworth, <>f Guilford, who married Maria 
Clark and has three children. Ellsworth. Sherman 
and Robert. During the Civil war the father en- 
listed in Company A, 16th Conn. V. I., and after 
three months of active service was killed in the 
battle of Antietam. The family then removed to 
Guilford, where all now reside with the exception 
of our subject and Mrs. San ford. 

Charles R. Hawley is indebted to the schools of 
Guilford for his educational advantages, and there 
he continued to make his home until [884, being 
employed for a time as bookkeeper by D. X. Hen- 
ton, a general merchant, and by the Sachem's Head 



940 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






Canning Co. In 1884 he went to Seattle, Wash., 
where he was bookkeeper for the Puget Sound 
Iron Co., and thence returned to Connecticut. He 
has since resided in Unionville, and has carried on 
business as a member of the firm of Sanford & 
Hawley with marked success. 

In Guilford, Conn., Mr. Hawley married Miss 
Harriet E. Fowler, a native of that place, and they 
have two children: Marguerite and Clarence 
Kent. He was made a Freemason in St. Albans 
Lodge, No. 38, F. & A. M., at Guilford, but now 
belongs to Evening Star Lodge, No. 101, F. & 
A. M. He and his wife are members of the Con- 
gregational Church at Unionville. Mr. Hawley 
is highly respected and esteemed by all who know 
him. 

NATHANIEL W. FRENCH. Perhaps the 
highest type of character is displayed by the ju- 
dicial mind. He who can carefully weigh evidence 
and dispense justice evenly, especially among his 
friends and neighbors, must possess that clear in- 
sight into the groundwork of human right which 
sooner or later appeals strongly to the people, and 
to maintain the judicial office continuously through 
a period of thirty or more years is the best evi- 
dence of worth and integrity. In the town of Glas- 
tonbury "Squire" French, as he is popularly called, 
is one of the best known citizens, representative of 
its best and most typical interests. 

Mr. French was born in Coventry, Conn., June 
3, 1823, a son of Eleazer and Fannie (Wood- 
ward) French, and the descendant of an old New 
England family. Aaron French, his grandfather, 
migrated more than a century ago from western 
Massachusetts with his brother, John, and settled 
in Coventry, Tolland county. He married Abigail 
Brown, and to them were born nine children: (1) 
Stephen, who left home when young and was never 
heard from; (2) Eleazer, father of our subject; 
(3) John, who was one of the first post mail riders 
in Connecticut (carried the mail horseback), and 
who later migrated with his family to Orleans coun- 
ty, N. Y., where he farmed; (4) Jonathan, who 
also migrated to Orleans county, N. Y. ; (5) Selah, 
who became a farmer of Meredith, N. Y. ; (6) 
Irene, who married Nathan Dexter, and lived in 
Coventry; (7) Oliver, who when a boy ran away 
and enlisted in the army during the war of 1812, 
under the name of John Rose (too young to carry 
a musket, he served as a teamster, and participated 
in the battle of French Mills ; he married Jane 
Doane and was a farmer at Coventry until his 
death); (8) Nabby, who died unmarried in Cov- 
entry; (<■)) Aaron, who was a stage driver (he 
married Avis Dart, lived in Avon, Conn., and died 
there of smallpox). 

Eleazer French, the father of our subject, was 
born in Coventry Feb. 20, 1783. He received a fair 
schooling for his time, and in his youth acquired the 
shoemaker's trade, which he followed for a time, 
and, as was then customary, bought leather and 



went from house to house in the fall of the year, 
remaining at each house until all the needed cob- 
bling was completed. He made a pair of top-boots 
for Col. Porter, who commanded the regiment that 
went to the defense of New London. Later he en- 
gaged in farming in North Parish, Coventry, where 
he remained until his death. He was a man of 
more than ordinary intelligence, and lived to the 
ripe old age of eighty-three years, passing away 
Aug. 12, 1866, and was buried in Coventry. He 
married, April 30, 1807, the acquaintance of his 
boyhood, Miss Fannie Woodward, who was born 
April 13, 1792, daughter of Nathaniel and Eliza- 
beth (Ensworth) Woodward. She died Oct. 15, 
1869, and was buried beside her husband in Cov- 
entry. The family of Eleazer and Fannie French 
consisted of eight children : ( 1 ) Eleazer W., born 
in 1807, was a cooper in early life, and for some 
years a resident of Illinois. He married Amanda 
Brundage, and in later life farmed in Coventry, 
where he died. (2) Mary E., born in 1809, mar- 
ried Charles Lee, a blacksmith of Vernon, whence 
they removed to the old homestead in Coventry, 
and there died. (3) Oliver B., born in 181 1, mar- 
ried Jane K. French, and was a farmer in Geneseo, 
Henry Co., 111., where he died, leaving a daugh- 
ter, a grandson and a great-grandson. (4) Annie 
E., born in 1818, married Henry Goodwin, a farmer 
of Coventrv. (5) John B., born in 182 1, married 
Jane Porter. He was a blacksmith, and lived and 
died in Coventry. (6) Nathaniel W., our subject, 
was the sixth child. (7) Daniel A., born in 1826, 
married Dorcas Bissell, followed blacksmithing 
many years, and now lives retired in Coventry. 
(8) Abbie S., born in 1833, is the widow of Ro- 
land Clark, a farmer of Mansfield. 

Nathaniel W. French, our subject, when a child 
of six years went to live with his uncle, Nathaniel 
Woodward, who was a bachelor and resided at 
Coventry. He received a good common-school ed- 
ucation, and at the age of seventeen years began 
teaching school. Eager for a higher education, at 
the age of twenty-one he was a student for three 
terms at Williston Seminary, East Hampton, Mass. 
Proceeding to Hartford, he there took a boat for 
Springfield, and thence proceeded to East Hamp- 
ton, where he remained nine months, being a school- 
mate- during that time of Judge Calhoun. His 
funds exhausted, he returned to the home of his 
uncle, remaining there until the latter's death, in 
•1843. Inheriting a portion of the latter's farm, our 
subject went to New York, where for two years he 
was employed as bookkeeper by Samuel Smith in 
the Knickerbocker brewery. He then returned to 
Coventry and taught school during the winter 
months, farming in summer. In all he taught six- 
teen winters. During the winter of 1848-49 he 
taught at Hillsdale, Mich., then the terminus of 
the Michigan Southern railroad, holding school in 
an old dry-goods store, fitted up with slab seats, his 
pupils numbering 103, ranging in age from three 
to twenty-one years. 

Returning to Coventry in the spring of 1849, 



^ 




1 










^ 



<$ 




^, 




■y 



^ 




1 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



941 



our subject married, May 5, 1850, Miss Catherine 
P. Brown, who was born July 22, 1824, daughter 
of Zolvah and Mary (White) Brown, her mother 
being a descendant of Elder John White, a wealthy 
and prominent citizen of Midd.letown. To our 
subject and wife were born two children, N. 
Dwight and Charles B., both now deceased. N. 
Dwight was born Dec. 29, 1853. He conducted a 
grocery and meat market at Suffield and Windsor 
avenues, Hartford, until failing health compelled 
him to give up business. He died March 20, 1883, 
and was buried in Glastonbury, the remains later 
being removed to Cedar Hill cemetery. He mar- 
ried Ada G. Tylor, and their one child, Anna E., 
is now also deceased. Charles B., the second son, 
was born Dec. 7, 1858. He died unmarried Oct. 
3, 1885, and was buried in Glastonbury. Mrs. 
French is a memoer of the Congregational Church. 

In 1853 our subject removed from Coventry to 
Glastonbury, and for thirty years he was employed 
by the Curtis Manufacturing Co. in Naubuc. He 
purchased a farm near the river, and in 1867 bought 
his present place from Frederick Sellew, and has 
since engaged in farming in connection with his 
other duties. In 1875 ne built for his son a resi- 
dence immediately south of his own home. In pol- 
itics our subject was in earlier life a Henry Clay 
Whig, giving him his first vote in 1844. Upon the 
organization of the Republican party, in 1856, Mr. 
French gave it his support, and has since been a 
loyal advocate of its principles. About 1859 he 
was elected justice of the peace, and he held that 
office until age exempted him from service. After 
the death of 'Squire Wells he was for many years 
the only trial justice in town, and for a time held 
court nearly every day. He was a member of the 
board of relief, and in 1880 was elected from his 
town to the State Legislature, serving in the House 
as clerk of the committee on Forfeited Rights. 
'Squire French is now a notary public, and is fre- 
quently called upon to draw deeds and other legal 
documents. He has perhaps written more wills 
than any other man in Glastonbury. 

'Squire French is a citizen of the highest in- 
tegrity, and his advice and counsel are frequently 
sought, not only by his friends and acquaintances 
in Glastonbury, 1 ut by the residents far and wide 
in the surrounding country. Fie is widely known, 
and wherever known most highly respected, his 
sterling character, keen business judgment and pub- 
lic spirit commending him warmly to all right-think- 
ing people. 

LEWIS BISSELL (deceased), late of the town 
of East Hartford, was of the eighth generation of 
his name to live in the State of Connecticut, the 
line of descent being as follows : 

(I) John Bissell, born in 1591 or 1592 in the 
County of Somerset, England, came to Plymouth, 
Mass., in 1628. Previous to 1640 he removed to 
Windsor, this county, and in 1648 or 1649 he was 
granted by the Colony of Connecticut the sol: 



right to run a ferry across the Connecticut river 
near Hayden's Station. This old ferry is still 
operated, but has been moved further down the 
stream. He died in Windsor in 1677. (II) Sam- 
uel, born in England, died in Windsor. (Ill) 
John, born in Windsor in 1659, died in 1684. (IV) 
Capt. John, born in Windsor in 1682, died in Bol- 
ton, Conn., March 8, 1771. (V) Capt. Ozias, 
born in Bolton May 13, 1732, died in Vernon, 
Conn., March 16, 1828. (VI) Ozias, born in 
Bolton in 1779, died in Andover, Ohio, in 1853. 
(VII) Lewis G., born Aug. 15, 1801, in Man- 
chester, Conn., died in South Windsor Nov. 24, 
1892. (VIII) Lewis is our subject. 

The dates of birth and death having been given 
of the heads of the eight generations, with the 
exception of the present, which will be mentioned 
further on, it is necessary to mention only the 
principal events which marked the life of each fam- 
ily head from the fourth generation in the State 
up to the present time, to give a fair idea of the 
importance of the family. 

Capt. John Bissell (fourth generation, 1682) 
joined the legal fraternity of Hartford in 1714 
and was appointed King's Attorney for Hartford 
county in 1727. He was early at Bolton, where he 
was a selectman in 1721 and 1722, had land set out 
to him in the first apportionment of town lands in 
1722, and in October of that year was elected and 
confirmed lieutenant of the company or train-band 
of Bolton, was later promoted to the captaincy, 
and in May, 1739, was appointed a justice of the 
peace, after which he was more frequently desig- 
nated as "Squire." He also represented the town 
in the Assembly, and was in many ways a prominent 
man. On Feb. 22, 1711, Capt. Bissell married Han- 
nah. Denslow, to which union were born four chil- 
dren : John, Elisha, Ozias and Sarah. 

Capt. Ozias Bissell (fifth generation, 1732) lived 
and died in that part of Bolton now known as 
Vernon. He served nine years in the French war, 
was at the battle of Lake George in 1755, was 
taken prisoner at Havana in 1762 and was held 
nearly eight months. Fie served as a private in the 
Second Company, First Regiment, raised for the 
subjection of Crown Point in April, 1775, and was 
in service twenty-eight weeks (the Point surrender- 
ing in May). He raised one of the first companies 
of the Revolutionary war by the Colonies against 
Great Britain, and was appointed first lieutenant 
of the Second Company, Fourth Regiment (his 
commission dated April, 1775). marched to Boston, 
took part in the siege of that city and was then 
promoted to captain. He was at the battle of Long 
Island in August, 1776, and was taken prisoner 
March 12, 1778; after his release he was com- 
missioned captain of the First Battalion, Connecti- 
cut Line, served nine months, and June 2, 1779, 
was appointed to captain of a foot company in 
Col. Wells' regiment, and with the latter was cap- 
tured near Horseneck, Conn., Dec. 10, 1780, and 



Q±2 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



held till June, 1781. He had served five years and 
eight months in the war of the Revolution, was in 
three general actions and seven skirmishes, was 
thrice wounded, once severely, was twice taken pris- 
oner and held in all about two years. He was 
well acquainted with Ethan Allen, and he, his sons 
and grandsons saw about 125 years in the military 
service of the Colonies and the States. 

The first wife of Capt. Ozias Bissell was Mabel 
Roberts, and his second wife was Sarah Hoffman. 
His children, in order of birth, were: David, a 
farmer, who fell from a load of hay and broke his 
neck; Tyler; Benjamin, a hotelkeeper in Chicago, 
who with his son was burned to death in a railroad 
accident in the West ; Orville, for twenty years a 
policeman in Brooklyn, N. Y. ; Ozias, of whom 
further mention will be made ; Caroline, who was 
married to Capt. Peter Buckland, the latter drowned 
in the Hockanum river at Oakland in 1829; Fanny, 
married to Ralph Owen, of Belchertown, Mass. ; 
Lncretia, married to a Mr. Rice. The Captain was 
small of stature, but his children were all large. 
He was very wiry and active, and at an advanced 
age his pranks on the dancing floor were remark- 
able. At a very advanced age, also, he with his 
son, Ozias, made the trip on foot from Ohio to 
Connecticut, a distance of 600 miles, within twelve 
days. His death took place March 16, 1828. 

Ozias Bissell (sixth generation, 1779), born in 
Bolton, worked when a young man as a farm hand. 
At Manchester he met and married Sarah Bidwell, 
eldest daughter of Hon. Zebulon Bidwell, a native 
of Tolland county, Conn. Mr. Bidwell was a Rev- 
olutionary soldier, was very wealthy and prominent 
and was a member of the United States Congress. 
Ozias Bissell began life a poor young man, but 
he had the nerve and intelligence that characterized 
his ancestors. He began by clearing off new land, 
buying woodland with his savings; from this he 
chopped off the trees, converted them into cord- 
wood, hauled it to Hartford and sold it, and lived 
in Manchester, in that part now known as Oak- 
land, until the fall of 1833, when he went to Ohio 
and located in the town of Andover, Ashtabula 
county, took up his home in the then wilderness, 
and there remained until his death. His wife, Mrs. 
Sarah (Bidwell) Bissell, had met a sudden and 
tragic death at their home in Connecticut the 
evening of July 25, 183 1. Just after supper she 
was passing from the kitchen to the parlor through 
the hall, a light shower of rain prevailing at the 
time. A string of gold beads encircled her neck, 
and in her hand she bore a bunch of keys. Sud- 
denly there was a flash of lightning, and she was 
the victim of the so-called electric fluid. Sixteen 
of the gold beads of her necklace and the keys in 
her hand were melted, and she was no more. 

The six children that survived their parents, 
Ozias and Sarah Bissell, were Lewis Glover, father 
of our subject; Nelson, who married a Miss Percy, 
of Stafford Springs, Conn., went to Ohio with his 
father, caught a severe cold while digging a well 



and died from its effects, leaving one son, John, 
a carpenter of Stafford Springs, Conn. ; Sarah also 
went to Ohio with her father, married a Mr. Per- 
kins, and died in Andover, aged seventy-nine years, 
leaving three children ; Ozias, Jr., a farmer of South 
Windsor, also went to Ohio, but returned, married 
Miss Mary Parker, of Talcottville, and died at 
the age of sixty-five years, the father of three chil- 
dren, of whom one son was killed in the army ; Law- 
rence B. is mentioned further in the paragraph fol- 
lowing; and Emma, Mrs. Manley, died aged sixty- 
five years in Ohio. 

Lawrence B. Bissell, son of Ozias, Jr., was born 
March 25, 1814, was a farmer until twenty-one 
years of age and then became a mechanic, for fifty 
years filling the position of foreman in various 
factories — twenty-seven in a coffee-mill in Meriden. 
In 1883 he retired to South Windsor. His first 
wife was Sabra Carrington, of Farmington ; his 
second and present wife is a native of South Wind- 
sor, was the Widow Elmina Greene when he mar- 
ried her, and is a daughter of Chester and Martha 
(Fowler) Barber. Lawrence B. Bissell has two 
children: Louise, widow of Nathan Upham, of 
Brooklyn, N. Y. ; and Julius B., judge of the Court 
of Appeals and a prominent attorney of Denver, 
Colorado. 

Ozias Bissell, Jr., was a powerful man, stood six 
feet in his stockings, and weighed from 165 to 180 
pounds. He was a great worker and started in life 
by cutting wood into two-foot lengths and hauling 
it to Hartford, then a great market for fuel of the 
length mentioned ; frequently he cut a load by 
moonlight and hauled it to market next morning. 
He was a member of the Congregational Church 
and in politics was a Whig, but had no aspiration 
for public office. While living in Manchester he 
was the captain of a militia company, but an ac- 
cidental cut of his knee-pan incapacitated him from 
further military service. He eventually acquired a 
competency, but met with death through a peculiar 
accident. While mowing with a scythe, his foot 
was caught in a hole, throwing his body forward 
upon the implement, which cut a gash in his side, 
the result being that he died a few days later. 

Lewis Glover Bissell (seventh generation, 
1801) was reared in Manchester and there received 
the schooling afforded by the meager opportunities 
of his early youth. He was reared on the home 
farm, and while still assisting his father found time 
to learn the shoemaker's trade, at which he worked 
during the winter seasons for several years during 
his early manhood, and later had a well-appointed 
shop on his own farm, which the neighboring man- 
ufacturers supplied with batches of work at con- 
tract prices. 

Lewis G. Bissell married, in Lebanon, in 1824, 
Miss Parmelia Beckwith, who was born June 2), 
1802, in that town, and descended from one of 
its oldest families. He then went to housekeeping 
near Oakland, in the town of Manchester, on an 
acre of ground which had been given him by his 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



943 



father to enable him to vote. He made improve- 
ments from year to year, however, and in the fall 
of 1833 removed to South Windsor, purchased sev- 
enty acres, and continued to purchase until he owned 
a tract half a mile square. This .farm he improved 
until it was the best in the town, but this place at 
his death did not represent one-half of his posses- 
sions. He made all his wealth at his trade and by 
farming— through hard work and not by speculation. 
He never cultivated tobacco, although he allotted 
to his sons several small plats for that purpose. 
His chief attention, as a farmer, was devoted to 
live stock, and some of his oxen netted him $350 
per yoke. Mr. Bissell was six feet in height, was 
wiry and tough and weighed about 160 pounds. 

in his earlier days Mr. Bissell was a very so- 
ciable and companionable man, but as years rolled 
on he became a constant reader and a close student 
of the Bible. He was a member of the Methodist 
Church at North Manchester, in which he was a 
class leader. In politics he was a Whig and took 
pride in voting at every election from his majority 
until his latest hour, but thought more of his own 
business than he did of politics. He was noted for 
his physical strength in his early manhood, and it 
is related of him that, at Burnside, he once lifted 
a piece of machinery that weighed 500 pounds, 
and at another time took up a barrel of cider at the 
press and placed it in his wagon unaided. A fore- 
noon's work to him was equal to a full day's work 
to the average man ; even at the age of eighty-five 
years he cradled grain, and at the age of eighty- 
seven mowed, with a scythe, one and one-half acres 
of grass in a forenoon. He was one of the most 
prosperous of farmers, as well as one of the most 
honored of men, in his neighborhood. He lived 
to be ninety-one years and three months old, and 
absolutely wore himself out. His remains were in- 
terred in Wapping cemetery, beside those of his 
wife, who departed this life Jan. 16, 1872. 

The children of Lewis G. Bissell and wife were : 
Harriet, who lived to be sixty-nine years old, and 
died unmarried in March, 1896, in South Windsor; 
Lewis, whose name opens this article ; George, who 
lives in retirement in East Hartford ; and Charles 
H., a farmer of South Windsor. 

Lewis Bissell (eighth generation) was born in 
Manchester July 6, 1829, on a piece of land that had 
been presented to his father in order to qualify 
him for voting under the law as it then stood. 
His education was received in the common schools, 
then greatly inferior to what they are at this day, 
and in the old Manchester Academy, from which 
he graduated. He worked on the home farm until 
twenty-five years of age and the work was hard 
enough as well as plentiful, election day, in April, be- 
ing about the only holiday farmer lads were per- 
mitted to enjoy. 

In the. fall of 1854 Mr. Bissell married for his 
first wife Miss Cornelia A. Palmer, a native of 
Vernon and a daughter of Uriah and Theresa 
(Strong) Palmer, Theresa Strong being connected 



with a prominent old family of Bolton. On this 
occasion Mr. Bissell's father presented him with 
some land, valued at $500, on which to begin house- 
keeping, besides which he had saved $700, which 
he had earned by working out when his father did 
not need his services at home. Mr. Bissell was 
also a natural trader when young and a shrewd 
buyer of grain, which he had ground into flour 
and which he sold in Hartford, realizing some 
money from this enterprise. He began farming 
on his newly acquired place, on which he lived 
until 1859, and then farmed at other places until 
1862, when his health failed and he relinquished 
the vocation. In 1867 he bought and located at 
Griswold Place, the old Bissell farm in Manchester, 
erected new buildings thereon, and in 1871 moved 
to East Hartford, where he made his home until 
his death, Sept. 1, 1900. However, he still retained 
important real estate interests there. In 1890 he 
erected his fine dwelling on Main street, one of 
the best houses in the town. 

By his first marriage Mr. Bissell had born to 
him one child, Robert P., now a merchant of Man- 
chester. Mrs. Cornelia A. Bissell was called away 
Aug. 7, 1892, and on Jan. 2, 1893, Mr. Bissell 
married Miss Ida Griswold, a native of Manchester 
and a daughter of E. Hubbard and Harriet (White) 
Griswold, the latter a daughter of Minor White. 
E. Hubbard Griswold was a school teacher in his 
younger days and achieved a fine reputation as an 
instructor ; his four daughters were also highly 
educated and followed the same vocation. They 
were : Ella, Mrs. Joseph Albertson, of Manchester ; 
Ida, who taught twelve years in Manchester, and is 
now the wife of Lewis Bissell ; Hattie, Mrs. Bart- 
lett, of Danielson, Conn. ; and Elsie, Mrs. Howard 
C. Gaines, of East Hartford. 

Mr. Bissell's life in Manchester was one of the 
greatest activity. He engaged extensively in build- 
ing operations and erected the largest business 
block in the village, including the hall that bore 
his name. A Republican in politics, he was called 
upon to fill the office of selectman, and in this 
position served six consecutive years, two as first 
selectman, though in his later years he withdrew 
from politics. After moving to East Hartford he 
did much toward the substantial improvement of 
the town and built a number of residences. He 
settled several estates, and no man was so frequently 
called to appraise property as he. He himself 
owned a large number of building lots and other 
realty in the town and elsewhere, and was thor- 
oughly posted as to the valuation of property. A 
number of years ago he foresaw the future of 
East Hartford's building property, and invested ad- 
vantageously. His sound judgment and strict integ- 
rity won for him a competency, and this statement is 
substantiated by the fact that he began his business 
life with but little capital, but won a standing among 
the most substantial residents of Hartford county. 

At the time of his death Mr. Bissell was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church at East Hart- 



U44 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ford, and was up to a short time previous a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church at North Man- 
chester, with which he united when a resident of 
that town ; he fully lived up to its teachings. His 
funeral services were conducted by Rev. W. B. 
Tuthill, pastor of the First Congregational Church, 
and were largely attended. 

OLIVER PHELPS MILLS. The salubrious 
air of this section is certainly favorable to longev- 
ity, and the subject of this sketch, a highly-es- 
teemed resident of the town of Windsor, is one of 
many who can bear testimony to the fact, more 
than threescore and ten years having passed over 
his head without impairing his health or clouding 
his jovial, genial nature. His long and useful life 
has won him many friends, and the following his- 
tory will be read with more than usual interest. 

Mr. Mills was born Jan. 2, 1827, in the same 
house which he now occupies as a residence, and 
his ancestors were prominent among the pioneer 
farmers of the county. Deacon Elijah Mills, his 
grandfather, was born in Bloomfield, but removed 
to Windsor in early manhood, and for one year 
was employed by Daniel Talcott, receiving ninety- 
six dollars. Later he engaged in business on his 
own account, as a brickmaker and farmer, and 
through his thrift and enterprise he accumulated 
a comfortable competence. He was a man of av- 
erage size and weight, and was industrious in his 
habits. As a citizen he was much respected, and 
his interest in all political affairs of his time led to 
his support of the Federal party. He was accident- 
ally killed in 1831, at the age of seventy years, while 
hauling wood from the forest, the load having fallen 
off and thrown him under a cart wheel, which ran 
over his body. He was married, in Windsor, to 
Huldah Drake, who survived him some years, and 
they had eight children : Oliver was killed in boy- 
hood by a kick from a horse, while leading it from 
the stable; Alathina married Frederick Mills, of 
Bloomfield, and died in the "Black River country," 
New York State; Huldah married (first) Florace 
Turner, of Hartford, and (second) Roswell Marsh, 
of New Hartford ; Samuel W. is a resident of 
Windsor town, this county; Laura married Rev. 
Ebenezer Latimer, a Methodist clergyman, both 
now deceased; Oliver W., our subject's father, is 
mentioned more fully below; Timothy D., a very 
ingenius man and natural mechanic, who resided 
in Windsor, died fiftv or more years ago ( he mar- 
ried Sarah Wells, of Wethersfield, who now lives 
in Hartford, at the age of ninety-three years) ; 
Julia A., who died in Hartford, married (first) 
Trumbull Hubbard, of Bloomfield, and (second) 
Henry Goodwin, of New Hartford, Connecticut. 

( )liver W. Mills was born in Windsor in July, 
1796, and became a successful agriculturist, making 
his home at our subject's present farm, where he 
died July 3, [866. lie made many improvements 
on tlie place, erecting all the buildings, and was 
interested in tobacco raising to some extent, while 
for many years he also conducted a brick yard, his 



efforts being rewarded by substantial success. 
While he never sought official honors he was ac- 
tive in local politics, first as a Whig and later as a 
Republican, and his opinion on all subjects was 
respected among his associates. In early life he 
was a Congregandnalist, afterward uniting with the 
Episcopal Church, and when St. Gabriel's church 
was built in Windsor he made a liberal contribu- 
tion to the work. For many years he served as 
vestryman. Whatever the weather might be he 
never failed to drive to church, as he was a most 
rigid observer of the Sabbath. On Feb. 23, 1825, 
Mr. Mills married Miss Annie Theresa Phelps, who 
was born in 1804, on "the Island," in Windsor town, 
and died June 30, 1896, aged ninety-two years. 
Our subject was the eldest of their five children. 
Helen A., born Oct. 30, 1828, was married, May 
12, 1853, to Nathan F. Drake, whom she survives, 
now residing in Hartford. Mary A., born Sept. 
27, 1835, married Daniel Mason, and lives in Lnion- 
ville, Conn. Alfred W., born May 5, 1838, is a 
resident of Charlton City, Mass. Arthur M., born 
March 7, 1845, was m Canada when last heard 
from. 

Oliver P. Mills attended the "brick school" in 
District No. 1, of Windsor, and has a good word 
for the efficiency and thoroughness of the methods 
of instruction then in force. He also spent two 
winters in study at the high school in Amherst, 
Mass., and two in Williston Seminary, at East- 
hampton, Mass. His vacations were spent at home, 
where he assisted his father in farming and brick- 
making, and on leaving school he was employed 
by his father for a time. In February, 1849, he 
started for California with Oliver M. Drake, a 
neighbor, and others from this section, and at New 
York they shipped aboard the "Henry Lee" for 
the trip around Cape Horn. The voyage lasted 
seven months, a head wind at the Cape delaying 
them at that point for six weeks. On landing in 
San Francisco he engaged in mining operations, 
but as he did not meet with success he went to 
Sacramento, where he found employment at ten 
dollars a day with a Mr. Schwartz, a German 
ranchman, his skill as an ox driver proving to be an 
advantage to him in securing the place. He would 
have remained, but John Lattimer, a member of 
his party from Bloomfield, was threatened with 
fever, and requested him to return home with him. 
As they were warm friends Mr. Mills gave up his 
position temporarily, as he supposed, and came 
back, taking the Panama route, but as his parents 
objected to his going so far from home again he 
finally decided to stay near them, and engaged in 
the meat business near New Hartford, doing his 
own butchering; after a year he sold out, as a 
partnership upon which he had entered had proven 
unsatisfactory. For about fourteen years follow- 
ing he was in a similar business on his own ac- 
count, and during that time he bought a farm near 
New Hartford, which he conducted in connection 
with his other work. In 1864 he removed to the 
town of Windsor, where he rented a farm, and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



945 



in 1867 he purchased his father's old homestead, 
where he has since resided. As a general farmer 
he is notably successful, also carrying on a profit- 
ably dairy business, and is well known as a dealer 
in cattle. He still attends to the duties of his farm, 
and is remarkably active for a man of his years. 
Politically Mr. Mills is an ardent Republican, and 
for some time he held die office of justice of the 
peace. In religious faith he is a Congregationalist, 
and as a chairman of the church committee and 
credential committee he has been active in the af- 
fairs of the society at Windsor. 

On May 3, 1859, Mr. Mills was married, at 
Windsor, to Miss Sarah E. Loomis, and three chil- 
dren have blessed the union : Annie E., born Nov. 
9, 1863, married Theo E. Phelps, of Omaha, Neb. ; 
Oliver W., born April 10, 1867, resides at the home 
place; and Charles H., born July 26, 1873, is also 
residing at home. 

Mrs. Mills passed away Dec. 19, 1899, at the 
age of sixty-five years, after a short illness from 
pneumonia. She was a most estimable woman, 
and her husband takes pride in acknowledging the 
fact that her advice and aid were of great assist- 
ance to him in his career. She was born April 7, 
1834, daughter of Collins and Sally (Capen) 
Loomis, well-known residents of Windsor, of whom 
an account appears elsewhere, he being a noted 
blacksmith. Her education was obtained in part 
at the Bell school, in part at Mr. Woodford's private 
school in Windsor, and later she learned mil- 
linery at Hartford, where she was employed for 
several years previous to her marriage as a clerk 
in a millinery establishment. 

JOHN HEMINGWAY, who is now success- 
fully engaged in the insurance and real-estate busi- 
ness in Southington, was born in that town Feb. 27, 
1842, a son of Ruel and Mary Ann (Dudley) Hem- 
ingway. 

The father, a farmer by occupation, was born in 
1812, and spent almost his entire life in Southinsj- 
ton, where he died in 1863. He was a son of Abi- 
hua Hemingway, in early life a farmer and oyster- 
man of East Haven, who prior to 181 5 removed bv 
ox-team from that place to Southington and there 
died. Our subject's maternal grandfather, Elias 
Dudley, was a stone-cutter bv trade, and a resident 
of Cheshire, Conn., where his death occurred. He 
married Laura Preston, daughter of Titus and Abi- 
gail (Merriman) Preston, of Wallingford. His 
parents were Jedediah and Lois (Merriman) Dud- 
ley, also residents of Wallingford, the former a 
native of England, and a farmer by occupation. 

John Hemingway was reared in Southington, 
and educated in its public schools and Lewis Acad- 
emy. After attaining his majority (1863) he en- 
tered the United States service, in New Haven, and 
served as commissary clerk, procuring the supplies 
for from 500 to 800 soldiers. During this year his 
father died, and Mr. Hemingway returned to South- 
ington and took charge of the farm left him, which 

60 



he afterward sold. In 1868 he went to New Haven 
as shipping clerk for Blair & Dudley, having an in- 
terest in the business, and when in January, i860, 
the firm opened a store in New York Mr. Heming- 
way became connected with that branch of the busi- 
ness until July, 1870; he then returned to Southing- 
ton, and built his present residence. In 1871 he 
was appointed collecter of taxes by the selectmen, 
and was elected by the people to that office for the 
eight succeeding terms. Since 1872 he has been in- 
terested in the fire-insurance business, and is now 
representing twenty-four of the leading companies 
of the world. He also deals in real estate in South- 
ington and vicinity, and in his undertakings is meet- 
ing with good success. In 1882 he was associated 
with the late R. A. Neal and Samuel Pratt in the 
organization of a National Bank in Southington, 
and obtained the charter, solicited subscriptions, and 
collected in the first installments of nearly one hun- 
dred thousand dollars before the cashier was se- 
cured, and he was a director up to 1890. He is also 
a director of the Middlesex Mutual Assurance Co., 
of Middletown, Conn., and at present is president 
of the board of fire commissioners. 

Mr. Hemingway has been twice married, and 
by the first union has two daughters, Rosalind and 
Jennie. His present wife was in her maidenhood 
Miss Lanette O. Woodruff, a daughter of Ard and 
Orpha A. (Cowles) Woodruff. She is a repre- 
sentative of an old Southington family, and is a 
member of Hannah Woodruff Chapter, D. A. R. 
Fraternally Mr. Hemingway is connected with 
Friendship Lodge No. 33, F. & A. M., and Unity 
Council No. 11, O. U. A. M. ; politically he is identi- 
fied with the Republican party. In 1880 he was 
appointed postmaster at Southington by President 
Hayes, was re-appointed in 1884 by President Ar- 
thur, and filled the office for eight years and five 
weeks with credit to himself and to the satisfaction 
of the general public. In 1888 he was elected a 
representative from the town to the General As- 
sembly, and served on the committee on Insurance, 
as clerk. For the past five years he has been a 
member of the board of wardens and burgesses of 
Southington, and he is now (19001 serving as 
superintendent of streets. 

WILLIAM WARNER, a substantial citizen 
and prominent agriculturist of South Glastonbury, 
where for more than thirty-five years he has been 
engaged in his chosen vocation, is widely and favor- 
ably known throughout his section of the country. 
Mr. Warner is descended from a sturdy New Eng- 
land ancestry in both paternal and maternal lines, 
who by marriage were allied with some of the old- 
est and most prominent families of Hartford coun- 
ty,* among them being the Robbins, the Boardmans 
and the Hales. 

(I) William Warner, the emigrant ancestor of 
this branch of the family, was born Oct. 20, 1594, 
in Boxted, county of Essex, England, a son of Sam- 
uel Warner. He came to America and settled in 



91G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Ipswich, Colon}- of Massachusetts, in 1637, and 
died there in 1048. From this first American an- 
cestor our subject is in the eighth generation, his 
line of descent being through Daniel, William, 
Daniel (2), William (3), John and Levi Warner; 
while on his mother's side he is descended from 
Isaac Larkin, who was born in Boston, Mass., and 
settled m \\ ethersfield, Conn., in 1745. 

(II) Daniel Warner, son of William the emi- 
grant, born in England, in 1618, married Elizabeth 
JJenner. He died at Ipswich, Mass., in 1688, and 
she passed away in 1659. 

(III) William Warner (2), son of Daniel, born 
in 1G4O, at Ipswich, Mass., married, in 1667, Han- 
nah Robbins. He located in Wethersfield, Conn., 
in 1660, and died in 171 3 or 17 14. His wife died in 
1714. He bore the titles of deacon and lieutenant, 
and served as deputy to the General Assembly for 
Wethersfield in 1097, 1700, 1703, 1704, 1706, 1708, 
1709, 1710. 

(IV) Daniel Warner (2), son of William (2), 
born in 1680, in Wethersfield, married in 1706, Mary 
Boardman, born in 1683. 

(V) William Warner (3), son of Daniel (2), 
born in 171 5, married in 1752, Prudence May, born 
in 1726. 

(VI) John Warner, son of William (3), born 
in 1762, in Wethersfield, married in 1784, Abigail 
Hale, who died in 1840. He died in 1838. He was 
a farmer throughout life. His children were: John, 
married Rebecca Coleman, and was a farmer in the 
southern part of Wethersfield; Prudence married 
George Coleman, a farmer, and lived and died in 
Wethersfield; Abigail married Oliver Wells, a 
farmer, and lived in Wethersfield, where both died; 
Clarissa married Chauncey Wells, a farmer, and 
lived in Wethersfield; and Levi, who was the fa- 
ther of the subject of this sketch, is referred to in 
the following. 

(VII) Levi Warner was born Dec. 22, 1800, 
in Wethersfield. His father was a large farmer, 
and young Levi was reared on the farm, and re- 
mained occupied in rural pursuits throughout his 
life time. He married, in 1822, Sarah Larkin, who 
was born Aug. 25, 1803, in Wethersfield, where she 
died April 13, 1887. He died Oct. 11, 1872. Their 
children were: (1) Mary Warner, born Aug. 25, 
1823. married May 15, 1850, Sylvester Seymour, a 
farmer. (2) William Warner, our subject, born 
Aug. 16, 1825, is referred to farther on. 

(3) Samuel L. Warner was born June 14, 1828, 
at Wethersfield. After having completed the course 
in the common schools in his native village, he 
went through a preparatory school. He taught 
school for four years in his early life, and subse- 
quently studied law with Judge Matson, of Hart- 
ford, after which be entered Yale Law School. He 
completed his course by a two-years' stay at the 
Harvard Law School, and in 1854 was admitted 
to the Bar in Suffolk, Mass. He returned to Hart- 
ford, intending to practice law in that city, but 
through the influence of Gov. Seymour he obtained 



the appointment of executive secretary to Gov. 
Pond. Gov. Pond was taken ill, and the duties of 
the office devolved upon Mr. Warner, who dis- 
charged them with great credit. In the spring of 
1854 he removed to the town of Portland, Conn., 
and commenced the practice of law. His increased 
business made it necessary for him to open an office 
in Middletown, where he afterward resided and 
made a reputation for himself. In his earlier days 
of practice the best talent of the. btate was repre- 
sented at Middletown court, and he had occasion to 
come into contact with such men as Hon. Charles 
J. McCurdy, Hon. William D. Shipman, Hon. L. 
S. Poster, Hon. Isaac Toucey, R. G. Baldwin, Henry 
Dutton, Charles Chapman, Thomas C. Perkins, and 
others of like celebrity. Mr. W^arner's application 
to and study of his cases soon made him proficient 
and successful in his practice. His continued suc- 
cess made him popular with the people, and in 1862 
he was elected mayor of the city, an office he held 
four years. It was chiefly owing to his labors that 
the present system of water works were established 
and placed on a substantial basis. In 1858, during 
his residence in Portland, he represented that town 
in the State Legislature. At the close of his term 
as mayor of Middletown he was nominated for Con- 
gress, but was defeated by his opponent, Gov. Eng- 
lish. The following term he again received the 
nomination of the Republican party, and was elected 
by a large majority. In 1865 the Republicans again 
honored him with the nomination, but he declined 
to accept. He was a member and one of the secre- 
taries of the convention that nominated Abraham 
Lincoln for President for a second term. In 1861 
Mr. Warner purchased the Nehemiah Hubbard 
homestead on Main stret, Middletown, where he re- 
sided up to the time of his death. It has been said 
by some of the judges of the Supreme Court of 
Errors that none of the briefs submitted to them 
showed more or better preparation than his. In 
his examination of witnesses he was always severe, 
and if he became convinced of the untruthfulness of 
a witness he spared him not at all, but often caused 
him humiliation and confusion by a pitiless examina- 
tion that nothing but truth could withstand. He 
delivered the address at both the Lincoln and Gar- 
field memorial services held at the North Church, 
and also delivered the oration at the Centennial cel- 
ebration of Middletown, held July 14, 1884. As a 
historical address it was carefully prepared, and 
could not have been improved upon. Mr. Warner 
was interested in many cases of large interest during 
his life, the last of which was the Brainard will case, 
in which he appeared as counsel for the heirs in 
connection with Judge Elmer, of Middletown, and 
together they won a splendid victory. There is 
hardly a man of legal age in Middlesex county that 
has not beard of Mr. Warner before the Superior 
Court, where he practiced almost exclusively. For 
some years before his death he had been a sufferer 
from stomach troubles, and at times was confined 10 
his bouse. During his last illness little hope was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



947 



entertained for his recovery after a few days of his 
affliction. His case was heard of with regret by a 
large circle of friends and members of the legal pro- 
fession generally, in whose estimation he stood high. 
On April 30, 1855, Air. Warner was married to Mary 
E., daughter of John Harris, of Norwich, and by her 
had two children: Harris, born Oct. 26, 1861, and 
Charles W., born Nov. 20, 1863. 

(4) Levi Warner was born Oct. 10, 1830. After 
four years of study under the direction of his brother 
Samuel L., late of Middletown, at Yale Law School 
and at Cambridge, Mass., he was admitted to the Bar 
at Boston, Mass., in January, 1858. In that same 
year he was admitted to the Middlesex County Bar 
in Connecticut. In 1858 he opened an office for the 
practice of law at Norwalk, Conn., where he has 
since practiced, and later one in Bridgeport, same 
State. He is a resident of Norwalk. He was a mem- 
ber of the XLYth L nited States Congress. He mar- 
ried in June, 1865, Mary S. Adams, of Norwalk, 
Connecticut. (5) Sarah A. Warner, born May 16, 
1832, married Nov. 28, .1861, Ira Standish, who was 
a farmer in Wethersfield ; she died July 6, 1891. (6) 
John Warner, born Sept. 1, 1835, married (first) 
March 21, 1864, Cornelia Dix. She died, and he 
married, Feb. 16, 1869, Catherine Buckley, and is 
now residing in Wethersfield, engaged in farming. 
(7) George Francis Warner, born Sept. 10, 1837, 
married heb. 7, 1871, Harriet Hale; he is a farmer 
in Wethersfield. (8) Albert E. Warner, born Dec. 
12, 1839, married, Nov. 28, 1867, Mary Hanmer. 

(\ ill) William Warner, our subject, was born 
Aug. 16, 1825, in Wethersfield, on the farm now oc- 
cupied by his brother George F. He attended the 
district schools of his native town, and the Wether- 
field Academy for several winters, one of his teach- 
ers being Charles Hunger ford. He remained at 
home until his marriage, then lived on a part of the 
home farm until 1864, in which year he purchased 
his present farm of Gen. James T. Pratt, which was 
known as the "Hollister place." Here he has since 
been engaged in general farming and tobacco grow- 
ing. Mr. Warner has been progressive and kept 
pace with the times, improving and making attract- 
ive his home and the farm. He bears the esteem, re- 
spect and good will of the community in which he 
has so long lived, and where his ancestors for so 
many previous generations have lived, and has been 
successful in his life work. The active management 
of the place is now left to his son William F. Mr. 
Warner's political affiliations are with the Demo- 
cratic party, but though active in its welfare he has 
never been persuaded to accept office. 

On March 27, 1850, our subject was married, 
to Adeliza Deming, born April 11, 1827, in Weth- 
ersfield, daughter of Henry and Alary (Wells) 
Deming, he being a carpenter and farmer by 
occupation. To tnis union have been born chil- 
dren as follows: (1) William Franklin, born April 
12, 1852, married Rosella Matson, and they have 
two children, Mary A., and Harris C. William F. 
is now managing and carrying on the homestead. 



(2) Arthur C, born March 31, 1856, died June 18, 
1870. (3) Frederick, born Sept. 7, 1859, died Oct. 
13, 1859. (4) Levi Francis, born Nov. 11, 1864, mar- 
ried June 12, 1895, Elsie H. Young, a native of 
Montreal, Canada, and has one child, Robinson, born 
April 30, 1898. He is a successful physician in New 
York. Mr. Warner belongs to no church or secret 
society. 

WILLIAM P. WICKHAM. Merit, if real, is 
ofttimes non-assertive. The possessions of marked 
abilities and qualities of distinction are not un- 
usually found in individuals of quiet and retiring 
manner. The subject of this sketch is a prominent 
farmer, genial but unostentatious, possessing many 
traits that are prized and honored by his fellow 
men, winning success in his chosen vocation, and 
developing a character during his lifelong residence 
in Hartford county that is most highly respected. 

Mr. Wickham is a representative of an old New 
England family. He was born at Glastonbury 
April 30, 1840, son of John Wickham, and grand- 
son of Hezekiah Wickham, both residents of Glas- 
tonbury, the latter of whom was a son of Hezekiah. 

Grandfather Wickham was twice married. By 
his first wife, Mary (Miller), he had three children: 
Joseph ; Lucy, who married a Mr. Ransom ; and 
Lucretia, who married a Mr. Loveland. By his 
second marriage, to Elizabeth Perrin, there was 
only one child, John, the father of our subject. 
Hezekiah Wickham was a deacon in the Congrega- 
tional Church of Glastonbury (East Parish) for 
about twenty-six years, and served in the war of the 
Revolution. 

John Wickham, the father, had an intimate ac- 
quaintanceship with the .hardships and difficulties 
of life. He was "put out," as the expression was, 
at the tender age of three years, and as a boy 
had very limited educational advantages. He 
grew up on the farm, married Miss Malinda Cul- 
ver, a native of Hebron, Conn., daughter of Ben- 
jamin Culver, and settled in Glastonbury. Soon 
after marriage misfortune overtook him in the 
form of a fire, which swept away all his earthly 
belongings, but, nothing daunted, he renewed his 
efforts to win comfort and independence, and 
triumphed in goodly measure. He became a highly 
respected and influential citizen, reared an excel- 
lent family, lived to the age of sixty-four years in 
comparative affluence in his later years, and be- 
queathed to his children the heritage of a good 
name and an upright example. His widow survived 
to the age of seventy-nine years and .six months, 
and both were buried in .Manchester Center cem- 
etery. Their children were as follows: Horacs 
J., a retired manufacturer of Manchester, who be- 
gan life without means and became a successful 
man; .Maria, now Mrs. Albert Brewer, of Bloom- 
field ; Jane, who married Frank Smith, and is now- 
deceased ; William P., our subject; and Emma, 
who married Samuel Newberry, of South Windsor. 



948 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



The early days of William P. Wickham were 
spent in the district schools near the residence of 
his parents; later he attended the East Academy 
at Manchester. He was reared on the farm, and 
except for a short time spent in New Haven re- 
mained at home, assisting his father, until his mar- 
riage, Oct. 8, 1861, to Miss Ann S. Sanders, who 
was born in Windham county, Vt., May 30, 1839, 
a daughter of Oren and Sally (Canedy) Sanders. 
She was the youngest of nine children, all of whom 
except one, Aaron, who died at the age of eighteen 
months, lived to maturity, as follows : Susan, de- 
ceased ; Thomas, of Hadley, Mass. ; Sarah, de- 
ceased; Benjamin, of Canton, Conn.; Joseph, de- 
ceased; Lucy, deceased; Fylura, now Mrs. H. J. 
Wickham, of Manchester, Conn. ; and Ann S., the 
wife of our subject. Oren Sanders, the father, 
lived to the age of seventy-seven years ; his wife 
died at the age of sixty-seven. Ann S. began her 
own support at the age of nine years. At fourteen 
she began teaching school at the salary of one dol- 
lar per week, and "boarded round," often walking 
one and one-half miles between temporary home 
and school house. Later she received one dollar 
and a half per week for her educational work. 
She was employed when a young lady in New 
Haven, and worked in a factory where cases for 
daguerreotypes were made. 

Mr. Wickham lived with his parents, and en- 
gaged in farm work for some time. For a year he 
lived at Sturbridge, Mass. He was night watch- 
man for two years at the Government Envelope 
Works in Hartford. Returning to Manchester he 
conducted a farm for his brother for some time, 
and in 1888 he removed to the property which he 
now occupies, known then as the Jeremiah Strong 
farm. After renting it for a year Mr. Wickham 
purchased the place, and here he has ever since most 
successfully followed farming. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Wickham have been born the following children : 
Almeron W., of Burnside, Conn., foreman in a pa- 
per-mill, for two years State representative from 
East Hartford, and a prominent citizen of that town ; 
Edward J., a dairy farmer of Manchester; Anna 
M. ; Neva L. ; and Horace C. Of these Almeron W. 
married Margaret McCabe, in April, 1885, and they 
have two children, William E. and Martha E. Ed- 
ward J. married Ada Dawes, in June, 1887, and they 
have four children, Hattie A., Edna A., Raymond 
E., and Leila S. Anna M. married George E. 
Churchill, of Newington, in August, 1888, and they 
have two children, Almeron S. and Louisa A. 
Mr. Churchill was representative in 1899, from 
the town of Newington in the State Legislature. 
Neva L. married Charles P. Cummings, in April, 
1893, and their children are George W. and Horace 
C. Horace C. married (first) Grace M. Hills in 
March, 1896; she died in July, 1897, and he wedded 
(second) Ida F. Bancroft, in April, 1900. 

In politics Mr. Wickham is a stanch Democrat. 
In 1899 he served as treasurer of the school district. 
Himself and wife are members of the Hillstown 



Grange. They are attendants at the Congregational 
Church, and are good Christian people, kind-hearted 
and hospitable, and have reared a family which is es- 
sentially creditable. Mr. Wickham has one of the 
best kept farms in Hillstown, and is a self-made man 
in the fullest and best sense of the term. 

JOHN EDWARDS TRYON. Our rural com- 
munities are noted for a high type of citizenship, 
and the subject of this sketch, a leading agricult- 
urist of the town of Glastonbury, furnishes an ex- 
cellent example. His fine homestead, which is 
beautifully situated on the bank of the Connecticut 
river, in the southwestern part of the town, shows 
wise and energetic management, and in the various 
movements which make for progress in his locality 
he has always taken a prominent share. 

The Tryon family is of good Colonial stock, 
and Eliztir Tryon, our subject's grandfather, was 
a well-known agriculturist in Glastonbury in his 
day, and was .also interested in river traffic. He 
built the old house which stands near our subject's 
residence. He reached the age of ninety-one, while 
his wife, whose maiden name was Lucy Kilbourn,. 
lived to be ninety-four. They had a large family 
of children. 

Noah Tryon, our subject's father, was born in 
the house mentioned above, and his life was spent 
mainly in farming at the homestead, although he 
was at one time engaged in fishing along the Con- 
necticut as a business. He received in his youth 
such educational advantages as were afforded in the 
district schools and the local academy, and as a 
citizen he was highly esteemed for his excellent 
qualities of character, serving with ability in various 
town offices, and in 1842-43 as a member of the 
State Legislature. In political sentiment he was 
a Democrat. Mr. Tryon was a captain in the State 
militia, and offered his services during the war of 
1812. He died at the age of eighty-two years, 
while his wife, Elizabeth (Goodrich), a native of 
Chatham, was ninety-one at the time of her death, 
and the remains of both now rest in the old Church 
cemetery in South Glastonbury. Mr. Tryon was 
an Episcopalian in religious connection. Our sub- 
ject was the youngest in a family of five children, 
the others being: Henry R., a mason in Hartford,. 
married (first) Jane Stevens and (second) a Mrs. 
Gregory ; he died March 18, 1898. Noah G. lo- 
cated in the South, and died in Shreveport, La.,. 
111 1862. Elizabeth married Nelson Shephed, a 
farmer of Portland. Ann J. married Joseph Wil- 
cox, a farmer of Cromwell. 

Our subject was born Aug. 31, 1828, in the 
house in which he now resides. As a boy he at- 
tended the district schools and the academy in 
South Glastonbury, then conducted bv Orange 
Judd, and he also studied at the "Grist Mill Sem- 
inary" for a time. He relieved his father of much 
of the care of the homestead until the death of the 
latter, when he took sole charge of the place, carry- 
ing on general farming. Mr. Tryon owns some 
300 acres in the town. His genial nature is un- 










W/P-I^J 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



949 



affected by his close attention to business, and he 
finds time for active work in the local Grange, in 
which he has served as master. In politics he was 
a Democrat until 1855, and in 1856 he helped to 
organize the Republican party in Hartford. He 
represented his town in the Legislature in 1863- 
64. and has served four terms as selectman and 
seven years as road commissioner. He and his 
family are members of St. Luke's Episcopal Church 
at South Glastonbury, and at present he holds the 
office of vestryman. 

In 1850 Mr. Tryon married Miss Julia Stevens, 
daughter of Joseph Stevens, a well-known agri- 
culturist of Glastonbury. She died in 1853, and 
Sept. 17, 1856, he married Miss Ruhamah F. Sparks, 
a native of Last Glastonbury. By his first mar- 
riage he had two children : Julia L. married Al- 
bert H. Clark, of Glastonbury, and has three chil- 
dren, Herbert F., Mabel and Elizabeth Goodrich ; 
John G. is at home. By the second marriage there 
were four children : James H. is at home ; Charles 
Osmar, who married Annie Hollister, resides in 
South Glastonbury, and is an energetic and enter- 
prising fruit grower and a leading citizen, hav- 
ing served as representative in the Legislature in 
1897; Anna P., who is at home, is an accomplished 
young lady, having finished her education at Mt. 
Holyoke Seminary ; Edward S. is engaged in busi- 
ness in Hartford as a joiner and builder. 

J. BURDETTE HUBBARD. This prominent 
citizen of Hartford county was born in the town of 
Glastonbury Jan. 4, 1844, his father, Jonathan Hub- 
bard, being a native of the same place. He is a 
grandson of Ira Hubbard, a cabinet-maker by trade, 
who was a farmer in the later years of his life. Mr. 
Hubbard's mother was Mary Andrews, daughter of 
Elisha Andrews, a large owner of real property 
in Manchester, and it was there that Mrs. Hubbard 
was born. J. Burdette Hubbard was the only child 
of his parents. Jonathan Hubbard removed from 
Glastonbury to Manchester in 1854. He, like his 
father, was a cabinet-maker, but had supplemented 
his knowledge of that trade by learning painting as 
well. Yet he, too, loved the soil, and after coming 
to Manchester he took up his residence on the farm 
now owned by Conrad Kish, where he died in 1880, 
at the age of threescore. Both he and his first wife 
were members of the Congregational Church. Af- 
ter her death he married again, his second spouse 
being Miss Alary Willis, who bore him two chil- 
dren, Mary and Jennie, both of whom arc still liv- 
ing in Manchester. 

J. Burdette Hubbard was ten vears old when 
his father moved from Glastonbury to Manchester. 
At the age of sixteen he went to New Britain, to 
learn the trade of a painter with his uncle. Seven 
years later he and his uncle removed to Cleveland, 
Ohio, where they engaged in business, and where, 
after fourteen months, his uncle died. Mr. flu!' 
bard thereupon returned to Manchester, and began 
working at his trade in the employ of Cheney Bros. 



i:i the spring of 1868. In 1871 he was made fore- 
man of their painting department. He remained 
with this firm until the spring of 1893, when he en- 
gaged in business for himself. He has a well- 
stocked store, carrying wall-paper as well as paints 
and painters' supplies, and in addition to this is an 
extensive contractor in painting and paper-hanging. 

On Nov. 29, 1868, Mr. Hubbard was married 
to Miss Emma J. Kenney, the only child of Chester 
W. and Sarah (Evans) Keeney, and granddaugh- 
ter of George W. Keeney, all of whom were born 
in Manchester. Her father began life as a poor 
boy, and rose to be a successful, prosperous manu- 
facturer of paper, having learned the practical trade 
in his youth. His first mill was at Buckland's 
Corners. Later ne formed a partnership with 
Patrick Fitzgerald, and established a factory in the 
western part of the town of Manchester. He sub- 
sequently disposed of his interest in the business to 
Mr. Fitzgerald and associated himself with Hud- 
son White, their copartnership continuing until Mr. 
Keeney 's death, on Sept. 22, 1896, at the age of 
seventy-six years. 

Mr. Hubbard is a member of King David Lodge 
No. 31, I. O. O. F., Manchester; Manchester Lodge 
No. 7S> F - & A. M.; Pythagoras Chapter No. 17, 
R. A. M., Hartford; Wolcott Council No. 1, Hart- 
ford; Washington Commandery No. 1, K. T., of 
that place ; and the Mystic Shrine, Sphinx Temple. 
He is a Republican in politics, and was a member 
of the Legislature in 1887. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Hubbard are members of the Episcopal Church of 
South Manchester. 

EDWIN G. LEWIS, a leading citizen, promi- 
nent merchant and popular official of Southington, 
was born in that town June 1, 1858, a son of Henry 
and Sarah H. (Gridley) Lewis, representatives of 
pioneer families of Southington, being descendants 
of the Roots, Gridleys and Harts. 

The progenitor of the Lewis family in America 
was William Lewis, a native of England, who came 
to this country on the ship "Lion," landing in Bos- 
ton Sept. 16, 1632. He was admitted a freeman 
the following November, and joined the Braintree 
company which in August, 1633, removed to New- 
town (Cambridge). In 1636 he came with a com- 
pany to Hartford, but in 1659 again moved, be- 
coming one of the founders of Hadley, Mass., which 
town he represented in the General Court in 1662. 
In 1664 he lived in Northampton, Mass., and in the 
fall of 1677 removed to Farmington, Conn., where 
he died Aug. 2, 1683. 

(II) William Lewis, son of the founder of the 
family in the New World, was born in England, and 
in 1644 was a resident of Farmington, where he 
served as the first recorder after the incorporation 
of the town. His first wife was Mary I [opkins, his 
second Mary Cheever. lie died Aug. 18, 1690. 

(III) Samuel Lewis, son of William, Jr., was 
born Aug. [8, 1648, and died Nov. 28, 1752. He 
held the military rank of sergeant. 



950 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



(IV) Nathan Lewis, son of Samuel, was born 
Jan. 23, 1707, and was married July 28, 1730, to 
Mary Gridley, daughter of Samuel and Mary 
(Humphrey ) Gridley. He lived in the Marion dis- 
trict of Southington, where he died Sept. 7, 1799. 

(V) Job Lewis, a son of Nathan, was born April 
20, 173 1, and was married Nov. 13, 1755, to Han- 
nah, daughter of Rev. Jeremiah and Hannah (Burn- 
ham) Curtiss, of Southington. He was a tanner 
and shoemaker by trade, and lived in the northern 
part of Southington, where he died Dec. 5, 181 3. 

(VI) Selah Lewis, son of Job, was baptized 
Sept. 2, 1764, and was married Jan. 1, 1792, to Mary 
Carter, daughter of Abel and Rhoda (Lewis) Car- 
ter. He was a large land holder and merchant, and 
lived in the northern part of bouthington, where he 
died Sept. 12, 1827. 

(VII) Henry Lewis, son of Selah, and grand- 
father of our subject, was born Dec. 1, 1806, and 
married for his first wife Elizabeth Root, a daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel and Sally (Dunham) Root. Sne 
was the grandmother of our subject. For his sec- 
ond wife he married Nabby C. Carter, daughter of 
John and Esther (Tinker) Carter. 

(VIII) Henry Lewis, the father of our subject, 
was born in Southington May 28, 1832, and was 
there reared and educated, graduating from Lewis 
Academy- On Dec. 24, 1854, he married Sarah 
Gridley, daughter of Edwin and Esther ( Hart ) 
Gridley, and by this union three children were born : 
Rosella, wife of Charles S. Judd; Edwin G., our 
subject; and Laura E., wife of E. E. Crawford. 
After his marriage the father engaged in farming 
for a time, and later was in the employ of Peck, 
Smith & Co. On July. 49, 1862, he commenced re- 
cruiting a company in Southington, which was mus- 
tered into the United States service as Company E, 
20th Conn. V. I., and of which he became second 
lieutenant. On Sept. 1 1, of that year, they left 
New Haven, and joined the Army of the Potomac. 
Mr. Lewis participated in the battles of Chancellors- 
ville, May 3, 1863, and Gettysburg July 3, 1863, a ^ _ 
ter which his regiment joined the Army of the 
Cumberland. In January, 1864, he was commis- 
sioned first lieutenant of Company K, same regi- 
ment, and May 15 of that year he was slightly 
wounded at the battle of Resaca. Four days later 
he participated in the capture of Cassville, and a 
month later was taken ill and removed to the hos- 
pital in Nashville. He rejoined his company Aug. 
15, and accompanied Gen. Sherman on his march 
to the sea, arriving in Savannah Dec. II, 1864. 
While there engaged in cutting a road for a bat- 
tery, with his company, he was struck by a stray 
shot and wounded below the knee, from the effects 
of which he died Dec. 26, 1864. His remains were 
brought back to Southington, and interred in ( )ak 
Hill cemetery. He was a brave and conscientious 
officer, and was honored and trusted by his com- 
mand. 

(IX) Edwin G. Lewis, whose name introduces 
this sketch, was reared in Southington and com- 



pleted his education at the Lewis high school, from 
which he was graduated in 1875. He then engaged 
in clerking in the shoe store of C. D. Barnes, and 
while thus employed gained an excellent knowledge 
of every detail of the business. He served in that 
capacity until 1885, when he purchased a half inter- 
est in the business, and in 1895 ^ ie became sole pro- 
prietor, being now at the head of a large and flour- 
ishing business, and numbered among the leading 
business men of the town. 

On Nov. 19, 1885, Mr. Lewis married Miss Min- 
nie J. Dunham, a daughter of Robert C. and Joseph- 
ine (Park) Dunham, of Southington, and they have 
one daughter, Marian H. Mr. Lewis is a promi- 
nent member of the First Congregational Church, 
and has been clerk and treasurer of the Society for 
over fifteen years. Socially he affiliates with 
Friendship Lodge No. 33, F. & A. M. ; Triune 
Chapter No. 40, R. A. M. ; S. S. Woodruff Camp 
No. 21, S. of V. ; and the Order of United American 
Mechanics. Politically he is a supporter of the Re- 
publican party and its principles. In June, 1879, he 
was appointed assistant town clerk ; was elected 
clerk of the borough in 1889; and town clerk and 
treasurer in 1896, still serving as town clerk and 
treasurer, and borough clerk. His official duties 
are always conscientiously discharged, and he is 
numoered among the valued and useful citizens of 
his community. 

CHARLES H. ROSE has during his twenty- 
eight years' residence in Manchester, become well- 
known to the citizens of that town and the surround- 
ing country as a successful business man, and a< a 
citizen of integrity and upright character. 

Mr. Rose was born July 15, 1857, in the town 
of Bolton, Conn., where he lived up to the age of 
nine years, after whicn his home was in Willimanticj 
this State. He received his education in the latter 
place, attending the public schools, and when thir- 
teen vears of age began working in the silk mills of 
that town, remaining there until his removal to Man- 
chester, in 1872. For a time he was employed in the 
Cheney silk mills here, and subsequently for a year 
was engaged as clerk in the Union Manufacturing 
Co.'s store in Manchester, in 1877, entering the drug 
store of Moses Scott, with whom he clerked for 
three years. At the end of this period, on April i r 
1880, he purchased the business of Mr. Scott, con- 
tinuing same in the original building until it was de- 
stroyed by fire, on Jan. 4, 1889. when he bulit the 
line three-storv brick block in which he is now lo- 
cated, on the same lot. His building is one of the 
finest modern structures in the town, and his drug 
store is one of the most completely equipped in Hart- 
ford county to be found outside the city of Hart- 
ford. Mr. Rose is manager of the Telephone Ex- 
change and I'ostal Telegraph Cable, which are lo- 
cated in his store, and in the other store in the build- 
ing he carries on a well-stocked news stand. As a 
progressive and obliging business man he has made 
an enviable reputation throughout this part of the 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



951 



county, and his success has been well deserved, for 
he has risen by his own efforts, widening his inter- 
ests until he has made for himself a firm footing 
among the substantial citizens of this locality. Un- 
til Cleveland's administration Mr. Rose was acting 
postmaster of Manchester under Mr. Scott, and in 
1898 he was appointed to the office, which he is now 
holding to the satisfaction of all concerned. 

In December, 1880, Mr. Rose was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Jessie Tuffs, and they have had a 
family of five children: C. Harold (who is de- 
ceased), Bessie M., Ernest L., Arline W. and Leslie 
C. They attend the Methodist Church, of which 
Mr. Rose has been a member for about twenty years. 
Fraternally he holds membership with King David 
Lodge No. 31, i. O. O. F., and A. O. U. W., of 
Manchester. His political allegiance is given to the 
Republican party. 

CHARLES MARION SMITH, the pioneer 
coal dealer of East Hartford, and that type of a 
citizen whom any community might feel proud to 
claim, was born in East Haddam, Conn., Nov. 25, 
1 85 1. He was brought by his father to the home 
of his grandparents in East Hartford in the sum- 
mer of 1854, and is the only male representative of 
his generation of the family now living in the town. 

Elihu Smith, grandfather of our subject, was a 
farmer, and lived on Forbes street, East Hartford, 
south of Maple street, on the same farm which is 
now owned and occupied by Charles M. He was 
born in Glastonbury, however, in 1801, a son of Ebe- 
nezer Smith, who conducted a grist-mill where 
Clark's paper-mill now stands. Elihu Smith mar- 
ried Mrs. Sophronia (House) Porter, widow of 
Anson Porter, of East Hartford, and to them were 
born two children, Augustus Stanley and Elihu, the 
latter of whom went to California in 1849, an( l i- s 
now a resident of Georgetown, that State. Elihu 
Smith was a short, straight man and weighed from 
125 to 130 pounds. He was a good farmer, a man of 
good business ability and strict integrity, and his 
advice was often sought by his neighbors, by whom 
he was frequently entrusted with the settlement of 
estates. He was quite prominent in public affairs 
in East Hartford, and filled a number of offices, 
serving as assessor, selectman, justice of the peace 
(for a number of years) and representative in the 
State Legislature. He died Jan. I, 1879, and his 
remains were interred in the Hockanum cemetery, 
Mrs. Elihu Smith died at the age of eighty. She 
was a daughter of John House, of Glastonbury, 
who was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. liy 
her marriage to Anson Porter she became the 
mother of two sons: Albert, a millwright, of East 
Hartford, and Anson, who first located in Bloom- 
field, and next in Farmington, where he is now fol- 
lowing his trade of wagonmaker. 

Augustus Stanley Smith was born April 6, 1825, 
in East Hartford, on the place where our subject 
now lives, but when a young man went to East I lad- 
dam, and there married Electa Swan. In early 



manhood he learned the trade of shoemaking in 
New Hartford, Conn., after which he went to East 
Haddam, and for years worked for Silliman IJros. 
To his marriage with Miss Electa Swan, Charles 
Marion was the only child born, and he was a mere 
infant at his mother's death in March, 1854. Au- 
gustus S. Smith married a second time, but within 
a few years again lost his wife, after which he sold 
his home in East Haddam, and removed to New 
London, where he engaged in the retail shoe trade. 
In that city he married Sarah M. Chipman, who has 
borne him one son, Stanley A., now yardmaster for 
the Central Vermont Railway Company, in that 
city. 

Charles M. Smith was reared from infancy in 
East Hartford town by his grandfather, Elihu 
Smith, on the farm he now owns, and first attended 
the South Middle district school, with the Misses 
Julia Bidwell and Silena Stevens as his teachers. 
He was thoroughly trained by his grandfather in 
general farming, which was generally followed un- 
til the cultivation of tobacco was introduced. At 
the age of twenty-five years he married Miss Emma 
Smith, a native of New Hartford, and a daughter 
of Edmund Smith. To this union were born five 
sons : Edmund S., a printer by trade, and married 
to Julia Wolcott, of East Hartford; Frank E., at 
home ; Charles D. ; G. Robbins ; and Joseph J. Mrs. 
Emma Smith passed away June 27, 1885, a sincere 
member of the Congregational Church. Mr. 
Smith's present wife, whom he married Dec. 3, 
1890, bore the maiden name of Ida Lee Ensign, and 
is a daughter of Owen L. and Anna Eliza Ensign, 
of Willow Brook. To this union has been born one 
child, Marion E. 

In September, 1882, Charles M. Smith em- 
barked in the coal trade in East Hartford, and was 
the first to receive shipments of coal by rail. He 
also handles fertilizers, and carries on farming and 
tobacco growing, owning a total of 117 acres, partly 
in Glastonbury and partly in East Hartford. In 
politics Mr. Smith is a Republican, and he has filled 
several offices, having served as selectman two or 
three terms, being first elected in 1879; as chairman 
of the board of assessors, for three years; has been 
on the town committee, and has served as its treas- 
urer several years, and is secretary and treasurer of 
the South .Middle school district; he was treasurer 
of a committee of the Congregational Societ} 1 I 
Hockanum before the organization of the congn 
tion, and although not a member of the Society, yet 
handles its funds. Mr. Smith lias also been a mem- 
ber of the Putnam Phalanx since March, [886, and 
holds the rank of sergeant, lie is a useful, enter- 
prising, public-spirited citizen and business man, 
and none is better or more widely known, and few 
as highly esteemed. 

CHARLES ECELL< >GG AT\\< >< >D is one of 
the leading and influential citizens of Xewington. 
and has taken an active part in promoting its sub- 
stantial improvement and material development. 



952 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



For many years he has been prominently identified 
with the agricultural interests of the community, 
and still owns and operates a fine farm of ninety 
acres, which is under excellent cultivation and well 
improved. 

Mr. Atwood was born Dec. 24, 1820, in the house 
where he still lives, the farm having been in the 
possession of the family for several generations. Dr. 
Thomas Atwood, a native of England and a captain 
in Cromwell's army, was the founder of the family in 
the New World, and settled in Wethersfield, Conn., 
where he died. His son Josiah was the first to lo- 
cate on the farm in Newington town (in what was 
then Wethersfield), Hartford county, where our 
subject now resides. There the birth of Asher At- 
wood, our subject's great-grandfather, and Ezekiel 
Atwood, grandfather of our subject, occurred; the 
latter was a soldier for a short time during the 
Revolution, being only sixteen years old at the time 
of his service. The father, Josiah Atwood, was 
born on the same place, and spent his entire life 
there, owning at the time of his death 400 acres of 
land. He died in 1863, at the age of sixty-nine 
years, and his wife, who bore the maiden name of 
Prudence Kellogg, died in 1868, at the age of 
seventy-seven years. She was born on the Kellogg 
homestead in Newington, a half-mile west of the 
church, and was a daughter of Martin and Hannah 
(Robbins) Kellogg. Josiah Atwood was a promi- 
nent man in his day, served as county commissioner 
for three years, and was once candidate of his party 
for State senator, but was defeated. He was a 
major in the Connecticut militia. Charles K., our 
subject, is the eldest in his family of seven chil- 
dren. Josiah Elbert, a farmer, was killed on the 
third-rail road in the western part of Newington in 
August, 1898. Thomas Robbins is engaged in 
farming with our subject. John Mitchelson, now 
living on a farm near Wichita, Kans., was graduated 
from Trinity College in 1849, as valedictorian of his 
class, and later engaged in the practice of law in 
Princeton, 111., finally removing to Wichita, Kans., 
where he was judge of the city court. Harriet Pru- 
dence married John S. Kirkham, of Newington, and 
is now deceased. Mary Kellogg is the present wife 
of John S. Kirkham. Julia Norton, who was in- 
jured at the time her brother was killed, makes her 
home with our subject. 

Charles K. Atwood, the subject of this sketch, 
passed his boyhood and youth upon the home farm, 
and his primary education was obtained in the pub- 
lic schools of Newington. Subsequently he at- 
tended school in Glastonbury and Berlin for one 
term each ; was for a time a student in the academy 
in Newington ; and for one year took a private 
course of study under the direction of Rev. Dr. 
Brace, then pastor of the Congregational Church of 
Newington. In 1839 he entered Yale, where he 
pursued the regular course, and was graduated in 
1843, after which he studied law in Hartford for 
one year with Gov. Toucey. and for the same length 



of time with Francis Fellows. He was admitted to 
the Bar during the March term of court, 1846, and 
for a time successfully engaged in practice in Hart- 
ford, but finally, in response to his father's urgent re- 
quest, he returned home to assist in carrying on 
his large farming interests, and has since remained 
on the old homestead, his time and attention being 
devoted to agricultural pursuits. 

Mr. Atwood is a gentleman of culture and re- 
finement, and keeps well posted on the leading ques- 
tions and issues of the day. He has always been a 
stanch Democrat in politics, but being opposed to 
the free coinage of silver at a ratio of sixteen to one 
he voted for Palmer and Buckner in 1896. In 1872 
he was elected to the State Legislature as the first 
representative from Newington, which the year 
previous had been separated from Wethersfield. At 
the first town meeting he was made first selectman, 
and most acceptably filled that office for several 
years, until he refused to hold it longer. Frater- 
nally he is a member of Newington Grange. Since 
1870 he has served as deacon of the Congregational 
Church, and has always taken a prominent part in 
church work. During the long years of his resi- 
dence here he has championed every movement de- 
signed to promote the general welfare, has sup- 
ported every enterprise for the public 'gfood, and has 
materially aided in the advancement of all social, 
educational and moral interests. 

JAMES HENRY HASKINS, one of the best- 
known and most progressive of the tobacco raisers 
of Suffield, was born in Washington, Berkshire 
Co., Mass., Aug. 11, 1829. 

Amos Haskins, grandfather of James H. Has- 
kins, was a native of Salisbury, Conn., where he 
was reared to manhood, and whence he removed 
to Washington, Mass., there engaging in farming 
and stock raising. He married Lovisa Bills, and 
the union was blessed with nine children, as fol- 
lows : Orrin, Amos, James, John, Charles, Sara, 
Lovisa, Mary and Nancy, all now deceased with 
the exception of Mary, who lives in Joliet, PL, 
and Charles, who makes his home in Rockford, 
same State. The father of this family was a Whig 
in politics. He and his wife both died on his farm 
in Washington, in the faith of the Congregational 
Church. 

Orrin Haskins, father of our subject, was born 
in Washington, Mass., was reared on the home farm 
and was educated in the comon schools. When quite 
a youth he was drafted for the war of 1812, and was 
stationed at Boston. He served as selectman of his 
native town for some years, and he followed agri- 
cultural pursuits on the old homestead until 1847, 
when he sold his place and came to Suffield, Conn., 
purchasing the place known as the Beamont farm. 
There he passed away in 1853, in the fifty-eighth 
year of his age. He was very liberal in his church 
views, and in politics was a Democrat, but was no 
office seeker. Orrin Haskins married Celestia 




J^c^T^d fl> f&^M^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



953 



Spellman, a native of Granville, Mass., and to this 
union were born seven children : Levi, who died 
at the age of eleven years; James H., our subject; 
Saloma, wife of Jarvis Norcott, of Becket, Mass. ; 
Maria, who married Andrew Barnes, of Middle- 
field, Mass. ; Marion, deceased ; Sarah, who died 
when two years old ; and a twin that died unnamed. 
After the death of Orrin Haskins his widow mar- 
ried George Fuller, but of this union there was 
no issue. The mother of the above named family was 
a pious member of the Congregational Church ; she 
died in 1876, and her remains were reverently laid 
to rest beside those of her husband in the Suffield 
cemetery. 

James H. Haskins, the subject proper of this 
sketch, received only an ordinary district-school 
education in Washington, Mass., and was eighteen 
years of age when he came with his parents to 
Suffield, Hartford Co., Conn., remaining with them 
until the father's death, when he paid off all claims 
and assumed sole charge of the farm. He made 
extensive improvements thereon, and engaged 
largely in the cultivation of tobacco, as well as in 
general farming and stock raising, until 1892, when 
he came to his present home. Here he has also 
made extensive improvements and is very pleas- 
antly domiciled. He owns one hundred acres, and, 
as he thoroughly understands the theory and prac- 
tice of agriculture, has met with complete success 
in his various operations. His surroundings speak 
well for his industry, taste and skill, and his farm 
is a model of its kind. 

Mr. Haskins was joined in matrimony, April 
. 25, 1854, in Suffield, with Miss Mary Ann Hast- 
ings, a native of the town, and a daughter of Will- 
iam and Lydia (Remington) Hastings, also na- 
tives of Suffield. This marriage has been blessed 
with five children: Ida M., who died young; 
James O. ; William Henry, who passed away at 
the age of four years ; Nellie M., wife of Apollos 
Fuller, of Suffield ; and Charles Edward, the pres- 
ent occupant of the old homestead in Suffield owned 
by his grandfather and later by his father. Charles 
E. Haskins married Lizzie K. Fuller, who has 
borne him one son, Edward N. 

In politics Mr. Haskins is a Democrat, and at 
different times he has been a candidate for repre- 
sentative to the State Legislature, but the town 
being strongly Republican he was defeated. He 
served as a selectman of Suffield from 1881 until 
1883, during his last year in that incumbency being 
instrumental in bringing about a final settlement 
of the boundary line between Suffield and Granbv, 
which had been in dispute for several years. After 
the case had been in litigation for a. time the court 
appointed a commission of three men to settle the 
question, and most of the points were decided ac- 
cording to Mr. Haskins' original claim. Our sub- 
ject has also served as a grand juror. He and his 
wife, with their surviving children, arc adherents 
of the Baptist Church, and all are highly respected 
for their individual merits. 



WALTER WING COWLES has done his full 
share in adding lustre to a name already respected 
and "familiar as household words" in Hartford 
county, especially in Manchester and the neighboring 
towns. His' trout preserve, one of the finest, if not 
the finest, in the State of Connecticut, is known to 
all who have any interest in that direction in this 
part of the country. 

Mr. Cowles was born Feb. 15, 1844, on the farm 
in the town of Manchester where he makes his 
home, son of Francis W. Cowles, and grandson of 
Stephen Cowles, a native of Springfield, Vt., who in 
about 1834 came with his family to Hartford coun- 
ty, Conn., locating at Hilliardville, where he began 
work in the woolen mills. The trip was made in 
the winter time, with sled and ox-team. Stephen 
Cowles passed away in 1847, at the advanced age of 
ninety-two years. He was tall and spare in build. 
His family consisted of nine children: Stephen, 
Austin, Eliza, Francis W., Paulina, Nancy, Martha, 
Mary and Walter. 

Francis W. Cowles was born July 4, 1805, in 
Springfield, Vt., and in early manhood came to 
Hartford county, where he became one of the most 
influential men of his day. He was a self-made 
man, having few opportunities in his younger life, 
for when a mere boy he began work in the Hilliard 
woolen mills, and when sixteen years of age he went 
to Buckland's Corners, where at that time there was 
a hotel and stage stables located on the old stage 
road between Boston and Hartford. Here he was 
employed until he reached his majority, when he 
purchased the old tavern, and he conducted it suc- 
cessfully until 1846, when he removed to the farm 
now owned and occupied by his son Walter W. in 
Manchester town. He carried on general farming 
and stock raising, breeding Jersey cattle, and for 
the first few years had a general store in connection 
at Buckland's Corners. Mr. Cowles became inti- 
mately identified with the history and advancement 
of Hartford countv, and his personal worth and pop- 
ularity may be estimated from the fact that up to 
the time of his death he and Dr. C. W. Jacques and 
Ralph Cheney were the only Democrats who repre- 
sented the town of Manchester in the Legislature 
since it was set off from the town of East Hart- 
ford, in 1834. A more complete mention of this 
esteemed citizen will be found in the sketch of his 
son, Clinton W., elsewhere. 

On Nov. 12, 1834, Francis W. Cowles was mar- 
ried to Miss Harriet Wing, of East Hartford, daugh- 
ter of Sylvanus Wing, and they had a family of five 
children : Albert F., who is a farmer of Manchester 
town; Harriet, who died in 18^8: Clinton \\\, a 
prominent citizen of Manchester; Walter W. ; and 
Martha J., deceased wife of Dwight A. Moulton, 
of California, who is at present assistant State treas- 
urer of that State. .Mr. Cowles' death occurred in 
Manchester, March 10, 1880, when he was seventy- 
four years of age. 

During his early life Walter W. Cowles re- 



954 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ceived every opoprtunity for obtaining a good ed- 
ucation, attending the common schools of tiie home 
neighborhood, the Suffield high schools and Lit- 
erary Institute of Suffield, and Last Grenwich Sem- 
inary, remaining at school until he was twenty 
years of age. Returning to the home farm, he was 
engaged tnereon until in 1869 he and his brother, 
Clinton W., engaged in the hotel business at Man- 
chester, having purchased the "Weaver Hotel," 
which has since been known as the "Cowles Hotel." 
After 1873 our subject had entire charge of the 
business until 1881, when he again took up his res- 
idence on the farm, and here he has since remained. 
This is a highly improved and valuable tract of 200 
acres, and in addition to extensive operations in gen- 
eral farming Mr. Cowles is engaged in stock-rais- 
ing and the care of his trout preserve, breeding Jer- 
sey cattle and a standard grade of fine driving horses. 

\\ bile on a summer visit to the seashore, in the 
vicinity of Plymouth, Mass., Mr. Cowles became in- 
terested in the trout preserves so numerous in that 
locality, and recalling the fact that a large number 
of springs start up on his farm in various parts of 
the estate, feeding the brook which runs its entire 
length, he was convinced that he could make a suc- 
cess of the industry at home. 1 he idea took sub- 
stantial form in 1895, when he had his first pond, 
covering an area of three acres, made, and in 1897 
a second, about the same size, was constructed. Be- 
sides there are dozens of pools along the little stream, 
and Mr. Cowles at present has at least 500,000 young 
trout, and about four tons of two and three-year-old 
fish. The place is equipped with every facility for 
the successful conduct of this business, our subject 
owning his own trout hatchery, etc., and in 1899 he 
gave four million trout eggs to the State to be used 
in stocking streams. His fish find a ready market, 
selling at from sixty cents to one dollar per pound. 
In this connection Mr. Cowles has become especially 
well known, for he was instrumental in passing a 
bill through the Legislature during the past session 
making it lawful to market trout from Feb. 1 to 
Oct. I, the previous law having limited the time to 
three months in the year, from April 1, to July I. 
Mr. Cowles has also been closely identified with the 
affairs of his own locality, and has served efficiently 
as road commissioner (for eleven years) and jus- 
tice of the peace, giving unbounded satisfaction. 
Like all the members of his family, he is a stanch 
supporter of the Democratic partv. Fraternally 
he is a member of Manchester Lodge, No. 73, A. 
F. & A. M. 

On May 28, 1879, Walter W. Cowles was mar- 
ried to Miss Hattie Fuller, a native of Manchester, 
and their union has been blessed with five children : 
Florence, born June 6, 1880; Clinton W., Dec. 7, 
1882; Arline, Nov. 17, 1888 (who died Feb. 1, 
1893) ; Robert, Oct. 8, 1894 ;and Mark, July 2^, 1899. 

SAMUEL C. THRALL. The Thrall home- 
stead in the town of Windsor is one of the most 
valuable estates in Hartford county, and is of spe- 



cial interest to the historian, as it has been in the 
possession of the family from pioneer times. The 
fertility of its broad acres, extending along the 
banks of the Farmington river, has never been ex- 
hausted, the judicious use of scientific methods o£ 
farming having prevented the failure of soil so 
often deplored in our older settlements. The pres- 
ent commodious brick residence was built in 1879, 
taking the place of a building erected by William 
Thrall, our subject's uncle, and it is one of the 
largest and most substantial in this section. The 
subject of this sketch is a man whose long and use- 
ful life has won for him the respect and esteem of 
the entire community, and in giving a prominent 
place to the following history we are but paying a 
just tribute to his personal worth. 

The spelling of the family name was somewhat 
varied in the old days, the records giving it as 
Thrale, Thrail, Trail and Thrall. The first an- 
cestor of whom a definite account has been pre- 
served was W r illiam Thrall, who came to Windsor 
before the Pequot war, in which he took an active 
part. In 1646 he joined with Robert Winslow in 
the purchase of "Hoyte's Meadow" from Simon 
Hoyte, and later he settled there with his family. 
As they were quite a distance from any neighbors 
and were thus exposed to sudden night attacks from 
the Indians, the Court exempted him from the duty 
of "watch and word," to which all able-bodied men 
in the settlement were liable. Ever since his time 
the land has been the home of the Thralls, suc- 
cessive generations maintaining the reputation of 
the family for thrift, industry, public spirit and all 
that constitutes good citizenship. 

David Thrall, our subject's grandfather, fol- 
lowed farming at the homestead throughout his 
life. He married Zuhma Denslow, and had four 
sons : Joel, William, Harvey and Horace. There 
were also several daughters, of whom Sarah mar- 
ried Elijah Griswold; Mary married Hezekiah Gris- 
wold, and moved to New York State ; another 
daughter, Hulda, never married. 

Hon. Florace Thrall, the father of our subject, 
was born July 26, 1795, in a house which stood a 
short distance to the east of the present residence 
of our subject. He was always engaged in agri- 
cultural pursuits, and his fine mental gifts and high 
character gave him much influence among his wide 
circle of acquaintances. Politically he was a strong 
Democrat, and at times he served in local offices of 
trust and responsibility, while for one term he rep- 
resented his town in the State Legislature. On 
March 14, 1855, he married Miss Eliza J. Wilson, 
who was born Aug. 16, 1806, daughter of Capt. 
Calvin and Submit (Denslow) Wilson. Her father 
was a Revolutionary soldier, and a leading citizen. of 
Windsor town, residing in Poquonock. She died 
April 22, 1846, and Dec. 25, 1848, Mr. Thrall mar- 
ried Miss Elizabeth Elliott, who was born July m 
1816, and died May 17, 1850. On March 14, 1854, 
he married Juliana Treadway Huntington (widow 
of Simeon Huntington), who was born Sept. 11, 
1808, and died May 16, 1880. His death occurred 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



955 



Jan. 31, 1865, and was strangely predicted by himself. 
On Sunday, Jan. 29, 1865, he hitched up a team of 
black colts, that he owned, and went out for a drive. 
He returned shortly before noon, apparently as well 
as ever, as he was a well-preserved man, but took to 
his bed almost at once, stating to his family that he 
was going to die on the Tuesday following at 10 
p. M. It seemed unlikely, but on Monday he settled 
up his affairs, talking as intelligently as ever and 
dictating all dispositions to be made of his prop- 
erty. His son Thomas M. was to have been mar- 
ried on Feb. 14, but fully believing that he would 
not live until that day he requested that the cere- 
mony be performed during his lifetime, and it 
was solemnized on Jan. 31, the day he died aged 
sixty-nine years and six months. As he had pre- 
dicted the hour of his departure from this earth, 
watch was closely kept. He showed no signs of 
passing away until the clock struck ten on Tuesday 
evening, when he suddenly lost consciousness, and 
one hour later had passed away. This strange oc- 
currence attracted wide notice, and was witnessed 
by many. 

Mr. Thrall had a large family of children, all 
by his first marriage: (1) Charles W., born Sept. 
19, 1824, died Jan. 14, 1862, at Poquonock, unmar- 
ried. He was a farmer and merchant, and at one 
time a gristmill owner. (2) Horace H.„ born July 
7, 1825, died December, 1897. For twenty-two 
years he was engaged in paper-mill work, being a 
foreman for much of that time, and he was also 
interested in mercantile business at Poquonock and 
later in farming. He was a leading Democrat, and 
served as second selectman for many years. In 
November, 1856, he married Charlotte A. Watrous, 
and they had two daughters, Gertrude A., wife of 
\Y. G. Clark, of Poquonock; and Eliza M., wife of 
Ler-oy Sykes, of Suffield. (3) Laura Z., born Jan. 
30, 1829, married Salmon Clark, Sept. 8, 1850, and 
died in Windsor, Dec. 22, 1883. She had three 
children, Eliza A., Charles O., and a twin of the 
latter who died in infancy. ( 4 ) Oliver W., born 
July 11, 1830, was a farmer at the homestead, where 
he died Dec. 28, 1892, unmarried. (5) Joseph G., 
born Sept. 14, 1831, is a resident of the town of 
Windsor. On Sept. 8, 1880, he married Vesta E. 
Bartlett. (6) Samuel C. is mentioned more fully 
below, (y) Edward F., born Feb. 6, 1837, married 
Flavia A. Howe. (8"» Thomas M., born Nov. 23, 
1840, died May 21, 1889 (further mention is made 
of him elsewhere). (9) Willard A., born Aug. 24, 
1842, is a farmer of the town of Windsor, and is 
known as the pioneer peach grower of that locality, 
and the most extensive one. He received excellent 
educational advantages, as he had four years at 
Windsor Academy, and two years at private school 
in Poquonock. He is one of the prominent Demo- 
crats of the town, and is exceptionally popular as an 
official, his work as assessor being quite thorough 
and efficient. He married Miss Helen Churchill, of 
Little Palls, N. Y., and has three children, Henry 
W., Howard C, and Laura H. 



Samuel C. Thrall was born at the homestead 
May 30, 1833, and was educated at the old brick 
school house in District No. 7, of Windsor, where 
many of the best citizens received their early in- 
struction. Among his first teachers were Jeff Aus- 
tin and a Mr. Barlow. He was reared to farm 
work, and on leaving school turned his attention to 
the management of the old farm. He and his broth- 
ers were all healthy, muscular boys, Oliver being the 
heaviest, our subject the lightest, and at one time 
the nine children, including the sister, had a com- 
bined weight of more than two thousand, two hun- 
dred pounds ! As the work of the homestead did 
not require the constant help of all the boys, some 
of them were employed by neighboring farmers, but 
in i860 Oliver, Joseph, Samuel, Thomas and Wil- 
lard formed a partnership and took charge of the 
homestead. Desiring more land, they purchased 
tracts from time to time until they had a farm which 
taxed even their energies to cultivate. The part- 
nership lasted several years, the utmost harmony 
prevailing in their settlements, which were infor- 
mally made between themselves, but as one after an- 
other married the immense estate was divided, and 
our subject is now the only one remaining at the 
homestead proper. While he is in excellent health,, 
being physically and mentally active, he has re- 
tired from business, the control of the farm being 
given to his nephew, Frederick H. Thrall. Al- 
though our subject has never married, his material 
needs have been well cared for, as his brother Thom- 
as married a most excellent wife and settled at the 
homestead, which is a model of neatness and com- 
fort under her skillful management. In his manner 
Mr. Thrall is unassuming, and his kindliness of 
heart is well known, as he has alwavs been ready to 
aid in any case of need. It is a rule in the family 
that no one shall ever be turned from the house hun- 
gry, and hospitality is never refused. to the way- 
farer. Like all of his family he is a stanch Demo- 
crat, and takes keen interest in the party's welfare, 
but beyond voting regularly he is not active in the 
practical work of the organization. 

WILLIAM PEARCE, the well-known superin- 
tendent of the Atwater Manufacturing Co., Plants- 
ville, has the distinction of having won the proud 
American title of a self-made man. lie possesses 
fine ability in mechanical lines, and this, together 
witli his great determination and energy, has enabled 
him to overcome all the difficulties and obstacles in 
ln's path, and work his way steadily upward to pros- 
perity. 

Mr. Pearce was born in Aylesbury, Buckingham- 
shire, England, Dec. 23, 1846, a son of Edward and 
Sarah ( Mead ) Pearce, who came to America in 1848 
and located in Hartford, Conn., where the father 
conducted a bakery for a short time. He then re- 
moved to Glastonbury. Conn., and engaged in the 
manufacture of spectacles until 1870. when he came 
to Southington and worked in the shops, first with 
the H. D. Smith Co., and later with the Atwater 



956 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Manufacturing Co. He died in Southington, April 
27, 1884. In his family were the following chil- 
dren : Charlotte, wife of Robert McNaughton ; Ed- 
ward T. ; William ; Mary, wife of William Ferry, 
and later of Robert Swanton ; and Mercy, wife of 
Richard Cowles. 

Mr. Pearce was two years old when brought by 
his parents to the United States, and in Hartford 
county he was reared and educated, attending the 
public schools. In early life he served a three-years' 
apprenticeship to the machinist's trade with Wood- 
ruff & Beach, of Hartford, and later worked as a 
journeyman for ten years. In January, 1875, he 
entered the employ of J. B. Savage & Co., of South- 
ington, as foreman of their machinery department, 
and served in that capacity for three and one-half 
years. In July, 1878, he accepted the superintend- 
ency of the Atwater Manufacturing Co., of Plants- 
ville, which responsible position he has since most 
creditably filled. He has also been a director of and 
stockholder in the company for fifteen years. Mr. 
Pearce is of an inventive turn of mind, and has taken 
out some forty different patents, among the most im- 
portant being an ox-shoe, reducing the cost of man- 
ufacture from seventy-five dollars to eleven dollars 
per ton; also a patent nail-puller, the object of 
which is to pull the nail straight as well as easily, 
that it may be used a second time or more, and at 
the same time lessen the cost of production. He 
has also made several inventions on carriage coup- 
lings, now used extensively throughout the world, 
the Atwater Manufacturing Co. being the principal 
manufacturer of these in the United States. Mr. 
Pearce is known among his fellow townsmen for his 
reliability in all trade transactions, and justly merits 
their confidence and regard. Socially he is a mem- 
ber of William Perry Lodge, No. 50, K. P. 

In 1866 Mr. Pearce was united in marriage with 
Miss Eva F. Brown, a daughter of George L. and 
Alma A. (Cook) Brown, of Providence, R. I., and 
to this union two children have been born ; Edward 
L. ; and Bertha G., now the wife of William Hartley. 

JOHN DEXTER ANDREWS, secretary and 
treasurer of the Collinsville Savings Society, is a 
man whose probity and sound business judgment 
lend strength and prestige to any enterprise with 
which he may be connected. The bank has a sur- 
plus of about $65,000, the largest percentage of any 
savings bank in the State, and since Mr. Andrews 
became associated with the institution the number 
of depositors has increased from 400 to 1,700. Mr. 
Andrews is a self-made man, having begun his 
career as a carpenter and joiner, contractor and 
builder with no capital except his abilities, and his 
success affords a pleasing illustration of the old 
adage, "Where there's a will there's a way." 

Our subject was born March 15, 1833, in Ash- 
field, Mass. At an early day three brothers named 
Andrews came from England, one settling in Mas- 
sachusetts, one in Connecticut and one in Georgia. 
James Andrews, our subject's grandfather, was 



born in Massachusetts, and made his home there 
throughout life. He died at the age of fifty, but 
his wife, Sarah, lived to the advanced age of 
eighty-four, her death being caused by a fall from 
a coach in a runaway. They had several children, 
among whom was a son, Rodolphus. 

Rodolphus Andrews, our subject's father, was 
born and reared in Massachusetts and became a 
farmer and general mechanic, being able to make 
almost anything from a waterwheel to a clock. He 
located at Ashfield, Mass., and later in New York 
State, and his death occurred in Illinois in 1856. 
His wife, Lois Kellogg, who died in 1843, was a 
native of New Hartford, and a daughter of Capt. 
Michael and Sarah Kellogg. Her family has been 
prominent in New England from an early period, 
and numbers among its members Clara Louise Kel- 
logg, the famous singer. Capt. Michael Kellogg 
resided at New Hartford, and, realizing the value 
of the water power at the North End, he built the 
first mill there, disregarding both advice and crit- 
icism from less acute and far-sighted business men. 
Our subject was the youngest of a family of six 
children. (1) The first child, a son, died in in- 
fancy. (2) Almira died at the age of twenty-one. 
(3) Louise married Andrew Slawson, and died at 
Piqua, Ohio, leaving four children. (4) Sarah 
married Charles Van Velzor, of Princeton, 111., 
and had six children, four of whom are living. (5) 
George W., a bridge builder, died at Rockport, 
Ohio, leaving a widow and three children. 

In 1837 the family removed to Baldwinsville, 
N. Y., then a newly settled district, and as our 
subject was then about four years old his early 
recollections cover an interesting phase of pioneer 
life. At fourteen he came to Connecticut to re- 
side with an uncle, George Kellogg, of Winsted, 
later spent tw r o years with an uncle in New Hart- 
ford, and then went to the home of another uncle, 
where he remained until he reached the age of eight- 
een. He learned the trade of carpenter and joiner 
in New Hartford, and while serving his apprentice- 
ship refused a tempting offer to break his agree- 
ment with his employer. The latter rewarded him 
by giving him his time after two and one-half 
years, and in September, 1854, he settled himself 
in. business in Collinsville. Many houses in that 
vicinity stand as evidence of his skill. 

In 1858 Mr. Andrews became connected with 
The Collins Company and later entered the machete 
department, spending two and one-half years in the 
handle room ; for some years he took contracts for 
the company. In 1869 the foreman of the machete 
department died and Mr. Andrews took the posi- 
tion of foreman, which he held nearly twenty-three 
years, resigning June 15, 1891. In the meantime he 
became interested in the Collinsville Savings So- 
ciety, in which he served as chairman of the board 
of trustees for some time, and in 1891 he took his 
present position, in 1868 he opened a grocery in 
Collinsville, in partnership with Mr. Codding, under 
the name of tne Union Trading Co., with the ob- 





■angy J 

-> 




^ pit* 


9 

v.. 






Br 





t^tyyf 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



957 



ject of providing the necessaries of life at low 
cost. The people of the village had previously been 
obliged to pay exorbitant prices for such supplies, 
and their patronage of the new firm showed their 
appreciation of the fair dealing which characterized 
its transactions, the business amounting to about 
$20,000 annually. The store was kept open only 
at night, and Air. Andrews, after his work as fore- 
man in the shop during the day, would spend his 
evenings over the books, but in 1883 he withdrew 
from the firm. Politically he is a Republican, and 
at one time was a "Know-nothing." For years he 
was active in local affairs, and he has served as 
grand juror and trial justice, and for twelve years 
was a justice of the peace, but of late he has been 
obliged to devote his attention more exclusively to 
business. His kindness of heart found ample scope 
for action during his judicial service, as his good 
advice led to the reform of many evil-doers. Our 
subject is a man of liberal mind, eminently just in 
his opinion of men and affairs, and, while he had 
but limited advantages in youth, his keen observa- 
tion of life and his wide range of reading have 
given him a good practical education. Physically 
he has never been robust, but by constant care he 
has avoided serious illness, his love of out-door 
sports in youth having contributed much to his 
good health. He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity. 

In November, 1859, Mr. Andrews was married 
in Collinsville, to Miss Abbie Jane Horton, daugh- 
ter of Leonard and Delia Horton, residents of that 
place. Three children were born of the union : 
Hattie C, who died aged five years ; May, who died 
at the age of two and one-half years; and J. 
Leonard, who died aged three and one-half years. 

1 

HIRAM EMERSON HODGE, the present 
first selectman and a leading citizen of Marlboro, 
is a worthy representative of an old and honored 
New England family. His paternal grandparents 
were Benaja and Rhoda Hodge, of South Glaston- 
bury, where the grandfather followed the occupa- 
tion of farming until his death. They had a family 
of nine children, whose names and dates of birth 
were as follows: Hiram, Oct. 20, 1797; Hatsel, 
March 19,, 1799; Selden, May 2y, 1801 ; Benjamin, 
Jan. 6, 1805; Orin, Nov. 6, 1809; Prudence, Nov. 
15, 181 1 ; Rhoda, Nov. 8, 1813; Lucy, July 17, 1815; 
and Alsup, July 22, 18 18. 

Alsup Hodge, the father of our subject, was 
born in wSouth Glastonbury on the farm now occu- 
pied by his son-in-law, Roderick Hollister, and there 
spent his entire life, his time and attention being de- 
voted to agricultural pursuits. He died June 11, 
1877. He married Miss Betsy Pearson, who was 
born April 23, 181 1, and died at the home of her 
daughter, Mrs. Hollister, in South Glastonbury, Jan. 
3, 1898. In the family were three children, of whom 
our subject is the youngest. Emeline, born Dec. 15, 
1845, is the widow of Ansel Bidwell, a teamster of 
North Glastonbury; and Olive, born July 29, 1848, 



was married June 1, 1872, to Roderick Hollister, a 
farmer of South Glastonbury. 

Hiram E. Hodge, our subject, was born on the 
home farm in South Glastonbury, March 23, 185 T, 
and attended the district schools and also a select 
school held in the basement of the M. E. Church 
in East Glastonbury, presided over by E. M. An- 
thony, a minister. On leaving school, at the age of 
sixteen years, he returned home, and aided in the 
work of the farm and also did teaming for his father, 
who operated a stone quarry which was located upon 
his place. For many years our subject was also in- 
terested in burning charcoal. In early life he spent 
one year working on a farm in Batavia, N. Y. After 
his return to Connecticut he was married, and lived 
on the home farm for a couple of years. He then 
went to East Hampton, Middlesex county, where he 
engaged in charcoal burning for Hudson Hollister, 
and in 1878 came to Marlboro and purchased the 
W. L. Hills place. He did teaming for the Marl- 
boro Mills while they were in operation, and car- 
ried the mail between Marlboro and East Hampton, 
making two trips daily. He also hauled stone, 
wood, etc. Subseciuentlv he purchased his present 
farm from William Dickinson,- then comprising 221 
acres, but he has since added to it a ninety-acre 
tract, and now has a fine farm of 311 acres, which 
he has placed under a high state of cultivation, and 
on which he is now successfully engaged in general 
farming. 

On Jan. 21, 1875, Mr. Hodge was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Lavina Root, a native of East 
Hampton, and a daughter of Henry and Fidelia 
(Archer ) Root. To the assistance of his thrifty wife 
our subject attributes much of his success. They 
have six children : Leslie, who is now living in 
Westchester; Harrison, who died young, his death 
resulting from a kick of a horse ; and Dwight, Har- 
old, Grace and Jennie, all at home. The family is 
one of which any parent might be justly proud. 

Mr. Hodge is a hard-working, energetic man, 
and his success is due entirely to his own well-di- 
rected labors. He attends the Methodist Church, 
and politically affiliates with the Democratic party, 
taking a very prominent and influential part in 
political matters as one of the leading members of 
the party in Marlboro. He was chosen selectman 
in 1894, 1896, 1897, 1898, 1899 and 1900, and when 
representative in 1894-5, received two-thirds of the 
vote of the town, which fact plainly indicates his 
popularity, and the confidence and trust that his 
fellow citizens repose in him. 

ANDREW J. SHIPMAN, one of the best- 
known hotel men in the Eastern States, was born 
Jan. 12, 1830, son of Samuel Shipman, and grand- 
son of John Shipman. 

John Shipman was born in Rocky Hill, and was 
a man of no little prominence in the community, 
being a large land owner. He married a Miss Hol- 
lister, by whom he had four children : Samuel, our 
subject's father; John, who died in childhood; and 



<>:>s 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Catherine and Julia, both of whom married men by 
the name of Hunt. John Shipman attained the ex- 
traordinary age of ninety-two years, and died en- 
joying the esteem of the entire community in which 
he passed his life. 

Samuel Shipman, the father of Andrew J., was 
born in 1783, in Rocky Hill, Conn. He received 
his early education at the district schools, and at the 
age of eighteen began the life of a farmer, which 
pursuit he followed until 1837, in that year remov- 
ing to Rocky Hill, where he purchased the well- 
known "Rocky Hill Hotel." He changed the name 
to "Shipman's Hotel," and under the management 
of himself and his successors it became one of the 
most famous country hostelries of New England. 
He was a jovial and popular landlord, and familiarly 
known as "Uncle Sammy." The house is of great 
antiquity, having been built by Simeon Williams one 
hundred and fifty years ago, and was also famous 
for its fish and game dinners, being particularlv 
noted for the many excellent ways in which shad 
was served. It was a favorite resort of the wealthy 
citizens of Hartford, among whom may be named 
the Trumbulls, the Stewarts, and a Mr. Colt (one 
of Mr. Shipman's best patrons), of the Colt's Arms 
Company, whose establishment was frequently vis- 
ited by officers connected with the armies of foreign 
countries, and occasionally by scions of royalty it- 
self, who were anxious to become familiar with the 
improvements which Mr. Colt's inventions had 
wrought in the manufacture of fire arms. On the 
occasion of such visits as these it was Mr. Colt's 
custom to take his guests aboard his little steam 
yacht "Dauntless" and carry them down the Con- 
necticut river to "Uncle Sammy's" tavern, for a 
dinner of shad or game. The house was situated 
on what was known as the old Middletown turn- 
pike, running from Hartford to New Haven, and 
was extensively patronized by travelers along the 
route. Samuel Shipman married Maria Rogers, 
daughter of Asa Rogers, of. Hartford, and a sister 
of the well-known Rogers brothers, manufacturers 
of silver plated ware. She became the mother of 
five children, of whom Andrew J. (our subject) was 
fourth in the order of birth ; Frank, the eldest, was 
also a well-known hotel man, of East Haddam, 
where he died in 1863; Albert died in 1867; Maria 
lost her life through an accident, in 1835 ; and Ellen 
is the widow of Henry Smith, of Hartford. Samuel 
Shipman died in March, 1875, and his wife, who 
was seventeen years his junior, having been born in 
1800, survived him only four years. He was a sol- 
dier of the war of 1812. 

Andrew J. Shipman was quite young when his 
father took charge of the "Rockv Hill Hotel." lie 
attended the district schools of his native place, and 
supplemented the training there received by a course 
in Ellington Academy. Both by instinct and train- 
ing his inclinations were bent in the direction of 
hotel-keeping. At the age of twenty he went to 
Hartford, where he became clerk in the "United 
States I lotel," holding that position for a year. The 



next year he passed at a hotel in Wallingford, and 
from that point went to Pittsburg, Penn., where he 
was similarly employed for four years. From Pitts- 
burg he removed to New York City, and after being 
employed for two years in a hotel there went to 
Wilmington, N. C, where he remained until the 
outbreak of the Civil war, in 1801. Returning to 
New York, he soon found employment in his own 
chosen pursuit; and from that time forward his 
summers were spent at Newport, R. F, where he was 
steward of the famous ■'Ocean Hotel." The latter 
post he occupied for thirty-one consecutive years, 
alternating his summers (during a portion of the 
period) by performing the duties of steward in the 
"Fifth Avenue Hotel, ' in New York, in 1897 lie 
retired from active ousiness pursuits, and bought his 
father's old hotel at Rocky Hill, which he converted 
into a modern residence for himself and family. 
Mr. Shipman is naturally much attached to the old 
homestead, where his father passed so many suc- 
cessful years and attained such an enviable reputa- 
tion as a host. His father's record and associations 
are also a source of legitimate pride to him. Mr. 
Shipman is a Democrat in political sentiment, and 
was elected to the State Fegislature in 1889 and 
1890. Fie is a member of the O. U. A. M. 

On Dec. 2*7, 1865, our subject married Miss Mat- 
sie J. Godbee, the daughter of James and Mary 
(Rogers) Godbee, of Sag Harbor, L. I. They have 
had no children of their own, but have reared four 
boys, one from infancy. 

James Godbee was a sea captain, his first mari- 
time experience having been gained as a cabin boy 
on a whaling vessel, on which he shipped when he 
was but sixteen years of age. His first cruise lasted 
three years, and from that time until 1847 ne f°l~ 
lowed a sea-faring life almost without intermission. 
In the year last mentioned, in company with several 
other men of Sag Haroor, he bought and fitted out 
the bark "Hamilton," on which the owners made a 
voyage to California. Arrived at San Francisco, he 
disposed of his interest in the vessel and purchased a 
schooner, with which he engaged in the trade along 
the California coast, dealing in vegetables and fruits. 
On his return trip to the Past the vessel on which 
he sailed was wrecked off the coast of lower Califor- 
nia, but he, with a few others, was rescued, and 
succeeded in saving some valuable express packages 
committed to his charge, which he safely delivered 
upon his return to New York. 

Shortly after his return to his home at Sag 
Harbor Mr. Godbee secured a government contract 
for the building of life-saving stations along the 
Long Island coast, which he carried out with the 
fidelity and keen business sense which character- 
ized all his business career. He was much trusted 
by his fellow citizens, who frequently souglrt his ad- 
vice, which was always freely given. He was one 
of the trustees of the Sag Harbor Savings Bank, 
and retired from active business in 1880, because of 
failing eyesight. He died in 1886. His widow is 
still living, at the ripe old age of eighty-five years, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



U59 



and makes her home with her daughter and son-in- 
law, Air. and Mrs. Andrew J. Shipman. Mr. and 
Mrs. Godbee had a family of live children: J. Ed- 
gar, now of Hartford, who is secretary of the 
Woven Wire Mattress Co. ; Ellen, widow of B. J. 
Hurand, who resides in New York City; Mary. Mrs. 
Theodore Fields, deceased ; William L., of Bridge - 
hampton, L. I. ; and Matsie J., Mrs. Shipman. 

CAPT. ARTHUR B. KEEXEY is descended 
from a long-lived ancestry, who have been born and 
bred on the old homestead farm in Hartford county, 
which they have tilled for more than one hundred 
years. His great-great-grandfather was Tell Kee- 
nev. and his son, Richard Keeney (our subject's 
great-grandfather), attained the phenomenal age 
of 105 years. His grandfather, Russell Keeney, 
died at the age of eighty-eight, and his father, Por- 
ter Keeney, lived to be nearly eighty. All his pa- 
ternal forefathers were farmers. 

Russell Keeney married Jerusha Dart, and had 
five children: Porter (our subject's father), Betsey 
(who married Ira Keeney), Minnda (who became 
the wife of Horace Keeney), Woodruff and Hulda. 

Porter Keeney, our subject's father, married 
Emily Bidwell, who was born April 19, 1806, and 
died April 17,